Chivalry: Medieval Warfare Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 893 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: CHIVALRY: Medieval Warfare is a first-person medieval combat game that seeks to deliver the intensity of epic hollywood medieval block busters to the hands of a gamer. CHIVALRY hurls the player into a fictional yet realistic medieval world where the Agathian Knights are battling against theCHIVALRY: Medieval Warfare is a first-person medieval combat game that seeks to deliver the intensity of epic hollywood medieval block busters to the hands of a gamer. CHIVALRY hurls the player into a fictional yet realistic medieval world where the Agathian Knights are battling against the newly formed Mason Order for control of the lands of Agatha. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Oct 19, 2012
    90
    I'm rather enamoured by the unique flavour of online combat presented by Chivalry. It's fresh and fun, and like the very best games is easy to get into yet incredibly hard to master. I've honestly not had this much competitive online joy since Battlefield 3, and to think a $25 indie title can provide a level of enjoyment up there with a $100 million game like Battlefield is testimony to the skill of the developer.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Dec 12, 2012
    85
    Excellent multiplayer slasher, full of sound, fury and blood. More object maps, please. [Dec 2012]
  3. PC Gamer
    Feb 1, 2013
    81
    Chivalry is Quake to War of the Roses' Battlefield, and those seeking a faster-paced bloodier experience will undoubtedly prefer Chivalry's type of steel. [March 2013, p.65]
  4. Oct 31, 2012
    80
    Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is up to a better start than War of the Roses. Torn Banner Studios have shunned any historical accuracy or character editing options, but their fighting system is easier to learn, while at the same time offering a surprising amount of depth. Dynamic rather than authentic, these skirmishes are much easier to enjoy.
  5. Oct 18, 2012
    78
    It offers loads of fun and a simple but deep at the same time fighting system. Still far from perfect, but it could get closer to it with a few patches or updates.
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    75
    Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is an interesting first person melee combat simulation, quite similar to the Mount & Blade series. The game made by Torn Banner Studios is funny and beautiful but doesn't have its own identity.
  7. Nov 9, 2012
    59
    Compared to the similar War of the Roses you get tighter controls and more game modes, but it lacks in entertainment value.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 54 out of 304
  1. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Buy this game! The combat is better than any other melee game I've played. its hard to believe this is from an indie studio. If you like fastBuy this game! The combat is better than any other melee game I've played. its hard to believe this is from an indie studio. If you like fast paced, smart, melee combat, this game is for you. Expand
  2. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    Chivlary is a good game,you have to time your attacks and blocks it's fun to play the only class that is not good it's the Archer,the combatChivlary is a good game,you have to time your attacks and blocks it's fun to play the only class that is not good it's the Archer,the combat is very good to other melee games
    -try it or buy it!
    Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2012
    9
    At a glance, I was skeptical of this game, since I didn't know of it during it's development. I decided to splurge and buy a 4 pack on Steam,At a glance, I was skeptical of this game, since I didn't know of it during it's development. I decided to splurge and buy a 4 pack on Steam, for me and my friends. The first few games I had I was totally confused with the controls (Even with prior experience with similar games), but after being explained the proper controls the game instantly became one of my favorites. The crashing and bugs are to be expected even after release due to being developed by a small indie developer. These problems are easily changed with a few hot fixes and patches which the team so far have been making quite frequently. As a user of Eyefinity, It requires a little configuration to work, which is actually way easier to setup then most games.

    I can't wait to see what is to come from this game with the incoming release of mod tools.
    Expand
  4. Oct 19, 2012
    8
    The fact that this game is indie should not be a factor in your purchase. The fact is this game delivers on it's promises to create one hellThe fact that this game is indie should not be a factor in your purchase. The fact is this game delivers on it's promises to create one hell of a realistic experience. The graphics are beautiful, far beyond what an indie studio should be able to produce on such a small budget. The game play is good, but it's not great. There needs to be tweaking done to balance the weapons, and some upgrades to the hit box system would be nice. However all of the flaws are minor, for the most part it works how you would expect it to work. The maps are well designed, however you can get stuck on seemingly non-existing rocks or invisible walls from time to time.

    Conclusion: The game is good for what it is, those who expected more shouldn't play a combat game based around such a simple time. Everything works, it runs smooth, and there are no huge balance issues. It can only get better from here. I rate the game an 8, as no game is perfect, and this game has it's flaws. It is indie after all.
    Expand
  5. Oct 16, 2012
    7
    I'm not sure, but all signs point to it being Age of Chivalry (old Source mod) remake.
    Even though it didn't exactly leave beta status,
    I'm not sure, but all signs point to it being Age of Chivalry (old Source mod) remake.
    Even though it didn't exactly leave beta status, judging by amount of stuff missing, occasional server drops and UI problems, it's still nicely playable, looks good in every aspect and is most fun you can have in medieval slashing game.
    Compared to recent War of the Roses, Chivalry:MW beats it in every aspect, being better thought out and having much better controls.

    Few patches, extra game modes, and it'll be perfect.
    Expand
  6. Jul 25, 2013
    6
    As much as I want to like this game, the frustrating parts of it really kill the fun of the game.

    first off, the idea is solid, it just was
    As much as I want to like this game, the frustrating parts of it really kill the fun of the game.

    first off, the idea is solid, it just was half-implemented. melee combat is interesting and they did add a little bit of depth into it, but it is far from being a well done combat system at all.

    beware of MANY issues with the combat, the biggest being lag, they have not addressed lag well enough, as a melee game is extremely intense and you MUST have split second control over your attacks. the lag in this game makes it VERY hard to properly land hits and block. not just that but many times, when you try to swing your weapon, it takes half a second for your character to actually start swinging, the input lag is variable, it can vary from no problem to holy crap, why is my guy acting so retarded? SWING THE DAMNED SWORD YOU STUPID IDIOT!

    I dont like how they implemented the level unlocks, it is completely UNnecessary, and it ruins the balance. there seem to be weapons that are just plain WAY better than the others, and you often see very high level players only using those.

    also, when it comes to parrying attacks, its a crapshot, sometimes the game lets you, other times it just decides to let the enemy's attack through, almost always ending up with you getting 1-shotted. not just that but the damage system seems a little out of whack, I remember getting 1-shotted many times while I had my TOWER shield up against the enemy, then they proceed to 1-shot me with a dagger... WHAT?!?

    This game is a buggy and laggy mess, I can see what they wanted to do with it, but the execution was sub-par, leaving many major issues that really kill the fun in the game.

    oh, one last thing, DONT TRY TO REBIND YOUR KEYS! it doesnt work... It will not rebind mouse buttons properly after the first setup, so if you choose something for your extra mouse buttons, its permanent, you cant change it.
    Expand
  7. Aug 26, 2016
    0
    Total **** game. Broken mechanics, worthless unbalanced classes, and garbage netcode. Good in design, complete **** in implementation.Total **** game. Broken mechanics, worthless unbalanced classes, and garbage netcode. Good in design, complete **** in implementation.

    150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char150char
    Expand

See all 304 User Reviews