Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Dec 22, 2010
    70
    Its lack of vitality, sluggish menus and missing multiplayer element rob it of a lot of the fun.
  2. Dec 22, 2010
    70
    In many ways, Cities XL 2011 is similar to Civilization V. Although not nearly as grand in scope, there's a sense of pride after taking a squalid ghetto and nurturing it into a pristine metropolis.
  3. Dec 27, 2010
    67
    More an update to the original experience than a sequel, Cities XL 2011 It's too easy and linear compared to other, older representatives of the same genre. Our advice is to keep playing Sim City 4.
  4. Jan 13, 2011
    79
    Cities XL 2011 is an astoundingly complete game, which further enhances the quality of the previous game. It has almost infinite gameplay options, and although we miss a more human approach to our inhabitants, it has incredible management options for our city.
  5. Oct 20, 2010
    75
    Cities XL 2011 is a good and realistic city-building simulator, but a bit conventional.
  6. Jan 11, 2011
    68
    If you like the management games genre, keep in mind that CITIES XL tries to simplify every aspect of the gameplay you are accustomed to, but you still might like it.
  7. Jan 3, 2011
    60
    At the present time, Cities XL is an ambitious but incomplete product that will surely need further work from Focus Home Interactive to reach proper quality standards. The game experience is in fact fun and challenging but also limited in many ways, proving unable to create real commitment from the players.
  8. Oct 20, 2010
    70
    Cities XL 2011 is a complete city-building simulator, but it lacks of many basic features to become a really nice game. More realistic than deep, the game will give many hours of fun to urban management fans but those who enjoyed similar games in the past may not be attracted by this new offer. Let's wait for the mods.
  9. 60
    Great visuals cannot hide the fact Cities XL 2011 game works only on well-established principles and brings no revolution to this genre. Everything works well but there is no space for surprise for anyone. [Issue#199]
  10. Oct 21, 2010
    60
    This new iteration of Cities XL just lacks a little depth. But the solo gameplay is now more comprehensive (thanks to the inclusion of public transport, for example) even though there are still some issues like the freight. Unfortunately, the multiplayer disappeared in this refinement process of the previous iteration, without much to make up for the loss in challenge. Indeed, you'll have to do with the joys of management alone, or, of course, the simple pleasures of building lovely cities.
  11. Dec 22, 2010
    75
    It's good that Focus offered a significant discount to anyone who had already bought Cities XL, as otherwise there would be little here to entice old players. New people to the franchise who've longed for a decent city-builder should definitely try this out though.
  12. Dec 20, 2010
    88
    Considering many of the missteps that the newer SimCity games have taken I am more than happy to say that Cities XL is more than able to contain the mantle of spiritual successor.
  13. Dec 20, 2010
    71
    A complex and wellbalanced sim that's troubled by a severe lack of long-term objectives and dearth of character.
  14. Dec 20, 2010
    79
    In the end, Cities XL 2011 is far superior than the previous game and its only downfall is that it may be a little too complicated for some.
  15. Oct 20, 2010
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  16. Dec 20, 2010
    60
    Beautiful graphics don't make up for the oddly empty feeling inside. [Issue#185, p.68]
  17. 75
    It's not a technical failure, but it just doesn't offer anything new to the genre that was created and has remained the same since Caesar and SimCity.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 14
  2. Negative: 6 out of 14
  1. Feb 8, 2011
    6
    City building games have sadly been ignored by the game companies for a long time. Simcity Societies was a huge disappointment and Sierra's city builder-series seems to have ended with Caesar IV. Therefore it's nice to see a new addition in this genre. Cities XL 2011 is a worthy successor to Simcity 4. Many things which I found irritating in SC 4 are much better in Cities XL such as micromanagement with utilities and public transportation. This allows the player to concentrate in the more enjoyable parts of city building. The trading aspect from original multiplayer Cities XL is still there and it encourages to specialize the cities so that the player can trade utilities and products between them. There is a lot of nice landmarks and special buildings which offer a nice challenge to build.

    This all is very nice and makes for a very addictive city building experience. However, the game suffers from major technical issues that make playing it a pain. The game slows down to an unplayable crawl very quickly because some memory leak issues. Focus hasn't so far done anything to fix these issues and therefore the game is not enjoyable to play as it is. Unless these issues are patched I really can't recommend buying Cities XL 2011.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 5, 2011
    2
    This game is a huge disappointment. I bought the original Cities XL limited edition when it was first released and it was one bungled affair. The re-release of the same game as XL-2011 is a mocking kick in the face to original players. There are still issues with the game play that have gone unresolved since first launch, and the fact that the game was originally intended as a MMO (which failed miserably) still leave certain elements of the trading and city specialization aspects grossly underutilized. The road system and upgrades make future planning major headaches. If you want a great city simulator, go back and install SimCity3k. While this game has some great visuals and other more advanced elements (like curved roads) that the old city sims don't have...you should not be rewarding a company that has underachieved and misled its loyal users over and over again. Bad companies deserve to fail, no matter how mediocre the product is. Full Review »
  3. Jul 10, 2011
    3
    I have a number of deal-breaker problems with this game and the company that made it. Overall, the game is bordering on fun, but the problems that I have run into have made it unbearable to play.

    First, the graphics system implementation seems to have missed a few steps in the testing process. I have a Radeon HD 5800 series video card in my laptop which is a fairly common series. Add into this the fact that I keep the drivers up-to-date and don't make drastic customizations to the display/card settings and I feel confident in saying that I shouldn't run into many out-of-the-box problems. However, I have yet to get the game to successfully change resolution. I've tried all the resolutions that my monitor and card combination will support (including an external monitor), but it all ends with a stuck on top white box and an not responding game. Since I run the game through Steam, where I purchased it, I automatically have the latest version of the game and still no change.

    Second, related to the first problem, is the absolute lack of support from the publisher. I've e-mailed them, checked their website, and even tried to get into their non-existent forums and the result has been total silence. No, auto-response email telling me that the e-mail I sent arrived and they will get to it when they are good and ready (not even one telling me to "check my drivers"). As with other companies I have dealt with in the past where the only reliable response was no response, I have to assume that they aren't listening and will probably appear in a short news story about another developer bankruptcy. I think that I have a pretty reasonable expectation in terms of support from most developers when I ask that they post a few FAQs and maybe a functional forum with posts about known problems.

    Finally, is the mixed bag that is the game play itself. I like the models and rendering that is used in the game, and I think the interface is functional if a bit simplistic. The removal of a lot of the normal city simulation micromanagement is tolerable since it has struck an acceptable balance between detailed control and needless effort. I really enjoy the supply and demand implementation that gives very quick, visual feedback concerning your addition of new services and zones. Unfortunately, the road system is very difficult manage and makes it very difficult to set up a grid system city. In addition to the overly, snap oriented road system is a camera control system that makes it extraordinarily difficult to get a useful perspective on what you are trying to do with your city.

    In summary, the game has great potential with poor implementation and absolutely awful technical support. I'd recommend not buying it and using the money to convince someone to make a real sequel to the Maxis SimCity games.
    Full Review »