Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. One of the best horror games to come out this fall, with horrifically imaginative creatures and dark, blood-covered environments.
  2. 80
    Unlike many squad-based shooters that don't require the use of the whole team, Jericho's premise relies on it. What's equally important is that each character is genuinely worth playing.
  3. I would've enjoyed more variety in the enemy fodder, but what's available is certainly creepy and intense. Clive Barker should develop more games. [Nov 2007, p.65]
  4. A solid shooter marred by poor design. Excellent visuals and some fine FPS gameplay are to be had in Jericho, but I wouldn't pay full price for it.
  5. Jericho is definitely a case of inventive design married all-too-unhappily to old school thinking, and the result is a game that is almost fatally broken.
  6. The developers' love for detail, which is apparent in the characters of the Jericho team, is missing otherwise: the levels are linear and sometimes monotonous, the enemies always act the same way.
  7. I guess I would recommend it to Clive Barker fans. Bear in mind that there are obvious drawbacks to it, too. If you can live with the abovementioned issues (mostly concerning the tedious elements in the level design and its appearance), you will find stuff that you can like in this one.
  8. I can't promise you a perfect horror FPS in Jericho, in fact I can promise you that it won't be, but somewhere between the dense oppression of its atmosphere, the unapologetically, almost decadently horrific nature of its production design, the satisfaction of its gameplay when it's firing on all cylinders, and some rather broken protagonist characters who I was surprised to grow rather attached to by the end despite the script not making the most of their backstories, I find myself unable to write it off.
  9. Utterly unremarkable. [Jan 2008, p.72]
  10. Ironically, the story is better-suited to a summer Hollywood horror flick, and it falls flat as a premise for driving action in a video game. With a number of great releases on the horizon, there's no reason to let this aberration anywhere near your hard drive.
  11. The action is quite a laugh and oddly refreshing. But it repeats and repeats and repeats. [Dec 2007, p.78]
  12. Poor level design poisons Jericho's awesome but unrealized potential.
  13. If the AI worked as it was intended, and if there was a cover system beyond "stand behind that pillar and the splash damage 'might' not kill you," Jericho would be great. But it doesn't, there isn't, and it's not. [Dec 2007, p.82]
  14. On one hand it's a near-broken video game, packed full of so many gaming no-nos that it ought never to be spoken about again, but on the other it's original, atmospheric and sickeningly good fun.
  15. If broken gameplay mechanics and community college acting didn’t weigh down the game, it might actually be worthwhile.
  16. Jericho doesn't really bring anything new to the gaming world.
  17. Jericho shows a great deal of thought put into the final product, but it just doesn’t rise above its own problems, unfortunately.
  18. 60
    For fans of Clive Barker, Jericho could provide some degree of entertainment, and as we stated at the beginning of this review, it's not totally devoid of rewards. At the same time, it's difficult to recommend a game with so many lackluster elements in a world full of Gears of Wars and BioShocks (both of which managed to be scarier than Jericho).
  19. The end result is just to routine to be scary. [Holiday 2007, p.84]
  20. 56
    Instead of getting caught up in the struggle against a demonic force that threatens the continued existence of your race, you're left with tacked-on squad elements, poor friendly and enemy AI, repetitive encounters, and unabashedly linear levels. Jericho has a few memorable moments, but they're not worth the cash.
  21. The sheer number of things that had to go wrong to keep Clive Barker’s Jericho from being a raging success is almost unbelievable, because when it comes right down to it, this game had the makings of a real hit. The fact that the credits roll at the exact same moment you finally find yourself on the edge of your seat cements the overall feeling of incompleteness the game gives off from the beginning.
  22. The game's failure to monopolise on its squad dynamic relegates it to a shooter-by-numbers, and its appeal is then further undercut by the fact that, while Barker clearly has a sense for the grotesque, it is the only note that Jericho plays. [Dec 2007, p.91]
  23. So what you have is by the numbers, lead you by the nose shooter with decent graphics, some neat special powers, and a crazy (but still kind of cool) Clive Barker story—that isn’t scary in the slightest. This is perhaps the game’s greatest failing: it’s just not scary.
  24. Given how much repetition is in the game, one would think it was much longer than its six to eight hour length. The lack of any kind of multiplayer hurts it further. And the final stake to the heart is the appallingly abrupt and inconclusive ending.
  25. 40
    The action and violence are satisfying enough to make the game marginally recommendable, but only barely. Add in the complete lack of any multiplayer options, a terrible ending, and Clive Barker’s Jericho feels like a game where the good parts are overwhelmed by the shortcomings.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 185 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 61
  2. Negative: 12 out of 61
  1. ClaudioB.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    Sure this isn't the best FPS ever (more on that later), BUT, my friends: a) the plot, the visual & the mood come from Clive Barker, a Sure this isn't the best FPS ever (more on that later), BUT, my friends: a) the plot, the visual & the mood come from Clive Barker, a writer that I personally adore: to be honest the idea of an ancient evil radicated into the history of man so that you can change scenario with a meaning sounds good to me, while you go deeper you go past historical eras and forgive me but this is a fantastic idea; at the same time, you can (and must, to survive) control a whole squad with specific weapons and powers and this is also a great idea (instead of "oh i've found a new great weapon" of the others FPS!); b) levels are linear, enemies come out from spots...but when they do so, emerging from the myst, or a dark tunnel, well, my heart always lose a beat or two: I really don't understand other comments all over the net, this game scares me! (but again maybe its ME); always after a combat I think "wow thanks god there is a save point-that one was pretty hard"; c) bad things: powers aren't always easy to use (you have to place the character with extreme care, in THAT place and not two millimetres away!), an open ending (eh eh, space for a sequel-that's business my friends) and -but that's MY problem- the language translation in italian (totally sucks, I just play in english). To me, this game rocks: if you read Barker, buy it; if you enjoy a game with a marvellous mood, great characters and great plot and don't mind little repetitive schemes... buy it! It's worth it. Full Review »
  2. MoisesH.
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    Good Graphics,cool timetravel,cool memberswitching,short but worthwile game.
  3. WebsterB.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    You'll love or hate this game. Games are often not reviewed as other media is. While many people are happy with movies that don't You'll love or hate this game. Games are often not reviewed as other media is. While many people are happy with movies that don't win awards or treasure books that no literary scholar will ever critique or recommend, every gamer seems incredibly defensive about their favorite games and outright hostile about games they dislike. This is very unfair, for this game excels at what it is. Nothing is broken about the game, it accomplishes exactly what it sets out to do- create allot of action against Cenobite-like enemies in an interesting setting with a fun squad-based game mechanic. The game feels like a cooperative class based multiplayer game, with the player primarily taking the part of the medic but with the option to play all the other classes- soldier, heavy, sniper, spy etc. It's as linear as an on-rails shooter, but that doesn't stop it from being allot of fun- which is the point. The writing is not Shakespeare, it's Barker, and it feels allot like his fiction in parts, in fact the inventiveness( or you may feel corniness) of the concept is classically Barkerian. Don't listen to the reviews, try the demo, read some Clive Barker, and think for yourself. This game won't please all, but for those that it does, it will please allot. Remember to have fun with your games. Full Review »