Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Feb 2, 2016
    90
    Cobalt is an instant classic for side-scrolling brawlers. The combat is varied and addictive, the mechanics sufficiently complex to satisfy dedicated players, and the competitive modes can entertain all sorts of fans. Throw in the pretty fun story mode as well as the support for the Steam Workshop, through which players can devise their own maps, and you have a great investment.
  2. Feb 13, 2016
    80
    Cobalt is a metroidvania action shooter 2D featuring a deep battle system and a satisfying loot system. It offers a very good challenge for skilled players and several single-player and multiplayer game modes, competitive and cooperative both offline and online. Old school side-scrolling and brawlers fans will love it.
  3. Feb 8, 2016
    80
    A nice mixture of genres that lacks any graphical punch that support its wonderful gameplay.
  4. Feb 7, 2016
    80
    A challenging experience centered around gameplay that has you deflect bullets by rolling head first into danger.
  5. Feb 17, 2016
    78
    Cobalt is an entertaining indie game. It has enough content to keep you busy for a while, and it's crafted with great care.
  6. Feb 11, 2016
    75
    Cobalt has a deep learning curve. Is tough and challenging, thanks to slow motion mechanics, and tons of weapons. We have the story, playable both in single and co-op, but also a large number of funny arcade modes.
  7. Mar 19, 2016
    70
    Cobalt is a complex, demanding game. Sometimes even frustrating, when forcing to replay the same level over and over again. Despite that, the quick and flashy combat system is a lot of fun.
  8. Feb 19, 2016
    70
    What we have here is a charming little action game with a lot of detail—not every detail matters, but there's solid effort put into making the machine work.
  9. Feb 8, 2016
    70
    I really enjoyed Cobalt, mainly due to the slick gameplay. The game feels hectic, fast-paced and it has some funny moments. The levels and enemies are well thought out and designed, and I really enjoyed playing around with various weapons to destroy enemies. It will take a bit of time getting used to the controls and movement, but once you get it, it feels awesome. I would certainly recommend this game if you like a challenge, that feels rewarding.
  10. Feb 29, 2016
    65
    For a game with such novel and simple mechanics, they're a bit too hard to get to make it a casual battle couch game. The story never grasped me entirely, and although it's mildly enjoyable, it never gets much better than that.
  11. Feb 21, 2016
    65
    ​Cobalt sometimes is a very entertaining action-platformer. You want to love it, but Cobalt comes with too much unmeant frustration​ to really deserve that love.
  12. Feb 12, 2016
    60
    Without being a bad game, Cobalt disappoints because of its solo mode. The strength of the title strictly rests in its multiplayer modes that will seduce the gamers who like the competition and the strategy.
  13. Feb 16, 2016
    40
    In a word, Cobalt is clunky. It has a lot of decent ideas, but it doesn't execute them very well.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Under its surface there’s a complexity to Cobalt’s systems and a surprising depth that will keep you playing.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 5 out of 19
  1. Feb 3, 2016
    10
    To me this game is already a timeless classic.

    Story: 8/10. A solid plot with plenty of humour. Not a masterpiece, but the story is
    To me this game is already a timeless classic.

    Story: 8/10. A solid plot with plenty of humour. Not a masterpiece, but the story is conveyed excellently through the campaign style. Story mode is not the primary focus of Cobalt, but it is a lengthy, challenging and rewarding campaign. The lore behind the game is intriguing and leaks through into some of the arcade mode maps, which I think is a really nice touch.

    Graphics: 9/10. It's not beautiful pixel art and it's no Mona Lisa, but playing some of the custom maps completely convinced me that this game can look really amazing.

    Sound: 9/10. The music is catchy and memorable and the sound fx perfectly match what is happening in-game, slowing down when the time dilation kicks in. I can't think of anything I would change here.

    Gameplay: Beyond 10. In an age of games where the gameplay is often left to one side, Cobalt turns around and says "here's what it means to be a gameplay focused game." The entire game is physical and feels very natural after a while at the controls. There are really endless possibilities to what can be done inside the Cobalt engine, which is why I'm incredibly excited to see that there are already modding possibilities. Never before have I played a game that creates so many awesome moments. Doing a backflip over a missile whilst shooting your gun at a grenade so it bounces off a wall and into another player is just tame to me now. This is the game that will make you squeal, will make you sweat and will make you feel like the most awesome person in the universe.

    Cobalt sets the bar for gameplay now. Forget Mario, forget Smash Bros, forget every other game under the sun. I will never be able to look at another game again the same way. If you think this is just another arena brawler like Duck Game and Towerfall then think again. I can't play those kind of games anymore without thinking "man, I'd rather just be playing Cobalt."
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 2, 2016
    9
    This game has refreshing mechanics that lead to a very unique and unexpected experience. If Cobalt could get more publicity, it definitelyThis game has refreshing mechanics that lead to a very unique and unexpected experience. If Cobalt could get more publicity, it definitely deserves it for its refreshing feel and gameplay. Full Review »
  3. Jun 29, 2016
    5
    Really mediocre across the board.
    -story: tries to go for funny but misses the mark.
    -controls leave a lot to be desired. So you shoot a lot
    Really mediocre across the board.
    -story: tries to go for funny but misses the mark.
    -controls leave a lot to be desired. So you shoot a lot in this game but you really don't have much control over your aim. It's either straight forward or push up or down to auto aim. It would be better if you could use the right analog stick to aim but you can not. Also you can't arc grenades which....why?
    -Gameplay: The most interesting part is that you deflect bullets when rolling but it's not all that useful. Levels don't have a real flow to them.
    -Graphics: art style is generic but not bad.
    Full Review »