Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 71 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 609 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The story of Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight takes place after the events of the critically acclaimed Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars. The year is 2062 and humanity is at the brink of extinction. With only six years left until the mysterious crystalline structure Tiberium renders the earth entirely uninhabitable, the two opposing factions - Global Defense Initiative (GDI) and the Brotherhood of Nod - inevitably find themselves in desperation for the same cause: to stop Tiberium from extinguishing mankind. The unthinkable becomes reality and Nod’s enigmatic leader Kane takes off for GDI headquarters. What is Kane planning in the heart of his enemies’ base? Command & Conquer 4 draws the epic conclusion to the beloved Tiberium universe, where fans learn the fate of Earth, Nod, Tiberium, GDI and most importantly, Kane’s motivations behind his decade-long plan. In addition to the two campaigns on the epic battles of GDI and Nod, which players will get to conquer alone or in a cooperative mode, Command & Conquer 4 also features a new 5v5 objective-based multiplayer mode, promoting teamwork and cooperation and delivering a social real-time-strategy experience never seen before in a Command & Conquer game. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 71
  2. Negative: 11 out of 71
  1. C&C4 feels much more refined as a result of these changes - as though great pains have been made to nudge the series into new territory. It's all the better for it, feeling like a breath of fresh air. [May 2010, p.77]
  2. 80
    The developers are trying to take the franchise in an interesting new direction, and the fruit of their labor is worth checking out.
  3. 74
    But the inconsistent and ultimately disappointing campaign and awkward unlock system restricts the game to the realm of the good but non-essential.
  4. All C&C fans can be upset by rights. In spite of some interesting changes involving both the gameplay and the story, Command & Conquer 4 ends up being too much arcade and shallow, having focused so much of its structure only on combats.
  5. It's nothing at all like Command & Conquer, but - eventually - it's a thoughtful and bombastic multiplayer RTS that's welcoming to everyone.
  6. Tiberian Twilight finds the series at a crossroads, with its glory days gone and its future uncertain. [May 2010, p.100]
  7. Command & Conquer 4 is atrocious, end of story.

See all 71 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 154
  1. SamuelK
    Mar 23, 2010
    10
    Despite what other users said I think that this game is completly worth your time and money. It is indeeed not like her ancestors. But all the action gameplay, crawlers, cooperation between players needed, balanced units... This game isn't bad it's DIFFERENT. You either move along and enjoy epic battles or if you don't like it go and play something else. Would you like to rather have copy of previous CnC games (which were copied by almost all of RTS) with new graphics? Or you prefer something new, something you could explore, something fast but tactical, something different? Collapse
  2. LeccerL
    Mar 19, 2010
    5
    They shouldn't try to follow in the same direction relic did with Dawn of war. The concept that made me play previous C&C game was the strategic you would get into establishing a base and showed your enemy who's boss.... I presonally think this game won't be able to compete with these years realeses such as Starcraft 2 and Dawn of War; Chaos Rising. Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    3
    A garbage ending o a phenomenal series. The only thing familiar here are the cut scenes as everything else has been remodeled from scratch. This makes it not c&c at all. The game play is shoddy, the learning curve steep and unit count very low. You have to be online in order to progress too making it frustrating as hell when your internet connection is lost for few seconds 40 minutes into a level. TL;DR Too Don't buy Expand
  4. JamesB
    Mar 17, 2010
    1
    It is not C&C in any way whatsoever. In fact it is a game aimed at 8 year olds who do not like losing as you cannot lose.. I hate EA and am going to boycott all their games due to their lack of interest (respect) in the people who played and loved the original C&C game. Expand
  5. BriceD
    Mar 28, 2010
    1
    Wow, just wow. I got into the hype on C&C4 watching the game trailers. I sat there day after day watching the website count down to the release. I had the game preordered the minute I could apply on line. RTS is my favorite gaming genre and I have played every C&C title since the original. Ever since EA took over the franchise from Westwood studios, all the games in this series have been lacking. Each ones seems to miss the original elements that made these RTS, C&C, C&C:Red Alert, different from the others. Generals was terrible, RA3 and C&C3 seemed like EA hit copy + paste and re-skinned the units. Westwood took time on their games. Each one was new in multiple ways, from gameplay to graphics, story, etc. Even though the games changed they held the core values of what it was to be an RTS in the style that Westwood created. EA makes sports games, they copy + paste all of their work. Why they tried to make an RTS is beyond me. They lack the talent and technical skills to pull it off successfully. What's done is done, it's a terrible game and we are left with nothing new to play. I just hope the "developers" of this monstrosity realize that they failed and their game really, really "sucks". Expand
  6. Sep 4, 2014
    0
    The worst C&C game ever, they did crap in this game, THIS IS NOT COMMAND & CONQUER THAT I KNOW ! Don´t waste time with this. The others C&C games is much better ! Expand
  7. C&C1fan
    Mar 24, 2010
    0
    WOW way to kill C&C EA! Are you too ***** cheap to have a collectors edition and color manual... maybe a paper cover for the DVD case. The game-play is terrible and not a part of the RTS genre. Its more of a sub-play mode that focus on tactics and small groups of units. It's ALWAYS fast paste with simple tactics and no real strategy. The combat looks like toy cars fighting one another. A lot of the units feel the same, they have no individual kick. What happened to tiberium covering the world, why is tiberium chunks collected from platforms? EA took ideas from other games with no understanding as to how they work within their game mechanics and created this crap of game with C&C art. If I where to compare this game play as more like a Demigods game to supreme commander. The Missions are weak because of a lack of good story telling, EA really... 30 sec mission and character introductions? The leveling system is stupid for single player, missions are not designed around new abilities gained by the player because you can unlock units from multi-player and use them in any mission. Cant EA design missions that will teach us how to use each base type and unit formation? Both the managers and designers should be fired for this disgrace of a game! Maybe then they'll have some time to play a real RTS like Star Craft 2. I wish Blizzard had the IP for C&C. They would had talent and business sense to make a great game that sells because its great. NOT WORTH BUYING, I hope all the good designers in EA wont support this poor equal brand anymore and leave Electronic Junk!!! and let the manager and share holders who call the shots, drowning in this sinking ship. Stop buying and destroying good IP! Expand

See all 154 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.