Command & Conquer: Generals PC

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 245 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 245
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 5, 2016
    10
    It's just a great game ! After so many years , I decided to pay tribute to the wonderful game , which began my journey in the gaming industry . I cry with joy , but tears of happiness. THANKS FOR THIS!
  2. Feb 3, 2016
    10
    This game was my childhood! I am sure I have more than 1000 hours invested, and I could still go back and get my ass handed to me by some hardcore bots. I never had the chance to play it online, but I did skirmish like nobodies business, and the bots were fun to play against obviously. Generals is comparable to it's predecessors: Red Alert 1&2 + Yuri's Revenge, as well as the Original C&C.This game was my childhood! I am sure I have more than 1000 hours invested, and I could still go back and get my ass handed to me by some hardcore bots. I never had the chance to play it online, but I did skirmish like nobodies business, and the bots were fun to play against obviously. Generals is comparable to it's predecessors: Red Alert 1&2 + Yuri's Revenge, as well as the Original C&C. Generals is awesome as a stand alone, and with the Zero Hour expansion your world can get rocked upside-down. Unfortunately all of the games that follow C&C Generals really were complete trash... every last one. It seems like they tried to focus to hard on the graphics, and forgot completely about the game mechanics. If only EA would just let me direct just one of the current games, I could bring this series back from the grave. Expand
  3. Apr 14, 2015
    10
    The last time I played this game was many years ago, and I recently purchased it once again. It is definitely the best RTS ever created. It brings in a decent difficulty as well as addictive gameplay. Allowing soldiers to go into vehicles and take them to places? What about having soldiers stay inside a building until enemies walk by? I will warn you that it does not have 1920x1080The last time I played this game was many years ago, and I recently purchased it once again. It is definitely the best RTS ever created. It brings in a decent difficulty as well as addictive gameplay. Allowing soldiers to go into vehicles and take them to places? What about having soldiers stay inside a building until enemies walk by? I will warn you that it does not have 1920x1080 resolution, but it still plays just fine. If you ever wanted to play a very good RTS, purchase this game! Expand
  4. Oct 15, 2014
    9
    This was my first video game, by far one of the funnest. This game is so fun and is WORTH getting. The best strategy game I have seen before. Great campaigns, differences between teams and strategies. The Campaign definitely gets more difficult as you go, but it is good. The one complaint I have is the final mission for the Chinese campaign. That mission is damn near impossible! (For me.)This was my first video game, by far one of the funnest. This game is so fun and is WORTH getting. The best strategy game I have seen before. Great campaigns, differences between teams and strategies. The Campaign definitely gets more difficult as you go, but it is good. The one complaint I have is the final mission for the Chinese campaign. That mission is damn near impossible! (For me.) This is a good game for new gamers, and regular gamers and isn't inappropriate. There is no cursing or anything like that. I mean, it IS a war strategy game. I definitely recommend this game, buy it! :D Expand
  5. Oct 13, 2014
    9
    Boy, is this game fun! This is the only C&C game that I've ever played. I haven't played the others because the futuristic (Tiberium series) and the alternate history (Red Alert series) themes somehow don't excite me. This is the only game in the franchise that has the modern warfare theme. You play as either the USA, China or the antagonist, the GLA (Global Liberation Army). AI is veryBoy, is this game fun! This is the only C&C game that I've ever played. I haven't played the others because the futuristic (Tiberium series) and the alternate history (Red Alert series) themes somehow don't excite me. This is the only game in the franchise that has the modern warfare theme. You play as either the USA, China or the antagonist, the GLA (Global Liberation Army). AI is very challenging and even frustrating, but frustrating enough that will make you come back. Have never played online, but you can play with bots in skirmish modes and that alone is fun, so imagine online play (which is still possible thanks to GameRanger). My only complaint is that sometimes your units don't defend themselves when attacked. Nevertheless, play this game. Right now, it's only available with the C&C Collection. And despite what I said about not liking the themes of Red Alert and Tiberium, I might give them a chance one day, if the gameplay is like Generals. Expand
  6. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    Whilst not the deepest, most hardcore RTS ever made, C&C Generals still sits on my hard drive ever since it was released around 10 years ago. Why? Simple - it's just so much fun, and isn't that the whole point of gaming?

    When Westwood were bought by EA, and me being a longstanding fan of the C&C series from the days of the very first C&C, I thought the series was doomed. But I was so
    Whilst not the deepest, most hardcore RTS ever made, C&C Generals still sits on my hard drive ever since it was released around 10 years ago. Why? Simple - it's just so much fun, and isn't that the whole point of gaming?

    When Westwood were bought by EA, and me being a longstanding fan of the C&C series from the days of the very first C&C, I thought the series was doomed. But I was so surprised to see what a great job EA had done with it and brought C&C forward into the 21st century. EA have moved the series forward whilst keeping the classic C&C formula. For example, you still have the classic rock-paper-scissors formula i.e. tanks kill tanks but are vulnerable to rocket men, who in turn are vulnerable to the basic infantry units. But the resource system is now much better. In the past, whoever owned all the tiberium / ore, etc won the game. Strategy would usually involve annihilating your opponents harvesters / ore trucks, etc and starve them of cash. With the introduction of buildings / units that can generate an infinite amount of resources, players can no longer adopt this strategy. This means that more emphasis is placed on combat rather than waiting for your harvester to deliver a load of tiberium so you can build a tank and a man!
    This may not be to everyone's taste, but I think it works well. Tank rushes are still possible, but the AI opponents can opt for this strategy too (and frequently do).

    I don't generally enjoy playing RTS games online against players, and so spend most of my time playing C&C against AI opponents with or without mates. I always feel that the difficulty of this game is about right for me - it's challenging without being ridiculously impossible on the easiest difficulty setting (take note CoH2!) . Perhaps I'm just hopeless at RTS games, but "hard" really means hard, and "easy" really means easy in C&C Generals.

    At time of release, the graphics were impressive but although now clearly dated, they aren't laughable. I expect this game is cheap to pick up now and any RTS fan should pick this game up. Judging by the number of positive reviews on here, as opposed to negative ones suggests that this game is a must.
    Expand
  7. Jan 27, 2013
    10
    C&C Generals is in my opinion one of the best strategy games ever released. Unlike many other games that call themselves "strategy" games, Generals really requires a good strategy to play well. It is very well balanced and very entertaining while it isn't as needlessly complex as many other strategy games are. Even though the game was release quite a few years before I write this review, IC&C Generals is in my opinion one of the best strategy games ever released. Unlike many other games that call themselves "strategy" games, Generals really requires a good strategy to play well. It is very well balanced and very entertaining while it isn't as needlessly complex as many other strategy games are. Even though the game was release quite a few years before I write this review, I still consider it a must-buy for people who enjoy strategy games. Collapse
  8. Jan 18, 2013
    3
    Playability is awful, you can't scroll trough the map with keys, you must select buildings to build troops unlike other games in the saga, and the button configuration of the mouse is plainly retard: the left mouse button is used to both select and give orders, meanwhile the right button is used only to deselect.
    Also units don't return enemy fire unless you set them on guard, by default
    Playability is awful, you can't scroll trough the map with keys, you must select buildings to build troops unlike other games in the saga, and the button configuration of the mouse is plainly retard: the left mouse button is used to both select and give orders, meanwhile the right button is used only to deselect.
    Also units don't return enemy fire unless you set them on guard, by default they stand by till death.
    Expand
  9. Sep 3, 2012
    7
    For me, C&C Generals was succeeding a very well made RTS, Red Alert 2, even though its a different type of C&C title. Although I do not believe overall that Generals is a better game, it is still a decent game and fun to play. It also importantly includes 2 great features, Online Multiplayer and a map editor. Online is fun against other players, challenging, and usually the connection isFor me, C&C Generals was succeeding a very well made RTS, Red Alert 2, even though its a different type of C&C title. Although I do not believe overall that Generals is a better game, it is still a decent game and fun to play. It also importantly includes 2 great features, Online Multiplayer and a map editor. Online is fun against other players, challenging, and usually the connection is pretty solid. The map editor includes a lot of options, definitely worth checking out if you like making your own games. I do like how this game has a realistic aspect to it, the units and buildings are of a "modern genre" and makes for an interesting battle. There are some flaws though, at times the game is a bit "immature" and I think its missing some of the basic C&C feel. It is important creators of the series don't shy away from the fast-paced, intense combat of the past or the titles may suffer. I will admit right now that I am extremely excited for C&C Generals 2, I think it as the potential to become a superb RTS, please EA please! Expand
  10. Jan 1, 2012
    6
    While this basicly is a decent game it becomes hurtfully obvious that EA is mismanaging the C&C franchise releasing such games. First of all this game has basicly nothing to do with C&C. It is just named this way for marketing purposes. And as second this game could have been outstanding if EA would have invested more in it. But they simply didnt. It got released with horrible bugs, aWhile this basicly is a decent game it becomes hurtfully obvious that EA is mismanaging the C&C franchise releasing such games. First of all this game has basicly nothing to do with C&C. It is just named this way for marketing purposes. And as second this game could have been outstanding if EA would have invested more in it. But they simply didnt. It got released with horrible bugs, a horrible cheating ai and plain retarded mistakes in campaigns scripts that simply should be impossible to happen. Like for example players starting base beeing set in the same corner of teh map where the ai is repeatedly launching its super weapons from so the player can not defend himself against the attacks. Expand
  11. Oct 13, 2011
    5
    This C&C game introduces something new with a new sidebar similar to the Starcraft and Warcraft series, better resolution and 3D graphics under SAGE. The lack of a good story, terrible buggy AI and unbalanced gameplay makes the game way off the mark.
  12. Sep 26, 2011
    8
    The major changes make Generals a more generic RTS, but it is still fun and original enough for it to hardly matter at all. Worth picking up in a sale.
  13. Mar 26, 2011
    5
    Monotonous, repetitive, boring: a shadow od a fantastic franchise. It completely lack originality, and often becomes a bit of a cliche. I did enjoy it for some time, but became bored surprisingly quickly.
  14. Keenan715
    Mar 1, 2007
    7
    C&C Generals is a pretty good game. Three sides to the conflict, USA, GLA, and China. Basic strategy game controls (quite similar to C&C 1) make it easy to play. Buuuuut, it carries the C&C title,so where is GDI,NOD,the Aliies,the Soviets,Cabal,or Yuri? This game is a ripoff to Command and Conquer fans everywhere! This is not a true C&C game. An OK game but not a true C&C game. Strategy C&C Generals is a pretty good game. Three sides to the conflict, USA, GLA, and China. Basic strategy game controls (quite similar to C&C 1) make it easy to play. Buuuuut, it carries the C&C title,so where is GDI,NOD,the Aliies,the Soviets,Cabal,or Yuri? This game is a ripoff to Command and Conquer fans everywhere! This is not a true C&C game. An OK game but not a true C&C game. Strategy game fans, there are better games out there. True C&C fans, stay far away. Expand
  15. TomG.
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    Does so many things right. The 3 teams you can play as (USA, GLA, and China) are all well balanced, and have very unique units and abilities. The skirmish feature gives a lot of replay ability to the game, and can give you a well challenge when you crank up the AI. The story feels like an actual military conflict, even though this is set in the early 2010s, and you're sitting 4 Does so many things right. The 3 teams you can play as (USA, GLA, and China) are all well balanced, and have very unique units and abilities. The skirmish feature gives a lot of replay ability to the game, and can give you a well challenge when you crank up the AI. The story feels like an actual military conflict, even though this is set in the early 2010s, and you're sitting 4 inches away from a computer screen. While we may be experiencing the same point, click, kill, win gameplay that's been seen for quite a while, this can give you numerous decisions to make. Storm the enemy, defend the base, set up shop somewhere else, take to the skies, make an armored division, make a nice foot-soldier unit, etc. There are so many decisions to make, and so little time to make them. Command, Conquer, and win at any cost. 10 out of 10. Expand
  16. TysonP.
    Jan 15, 2005
    3
    The worst C&C to date, finish it in half a day, and reflect on its shocking balance of the three forces (GLA is far too strong vs the other 2 teams). Crap Controls, your units will always wander into danger, Long range weapons will NEVER fire unless told to. U can't even ROTATE, even though its a fully 3D game. I hate it, EA has insulted a once great series.
  17. Generals
    Dec 2, 2004
    10
    When released, the best action strategy of all time. Why? Top Graphics, engine with high performance even with mainstream computers. Detailed and varied textures. High quality sound. Excellent Multiplayer. You never know what your opponent will do. Especially with allt the options this game offers. I simply see it as a game specialised in multiplayer combat. Where the creators have done When released, the best action strategy of all time. Why? Top Graphics, engine with high performance even with mainstream computers. Detailed and varied textures. High quality sound. Excellent Multiplayer. You never know what your opponent will do. Especially with allt the options this game offers. I simply see it as a game specialised in multiplayer combat. Where the creators have done som serious thinking before the creation. Antoher plus is the 1.7 patch to this game, that corrects and balances details that makes this a solid and stable game. I recommend this one for everyone who want a top action strategy game. Theres only one that i miss, and its the possability to zoom out a bit more, to get a better overview. However this was mostly something i thought of in the beginning. Expand
  18. MartinS.
    Nov 6, 2004
    10
    A superb action and strategic game!!
  19. Galleztommy
    Apr 6, 2004
    9
    Almost even good as zero hour!!!!!
  20. MafiaGuy
    Nov 1, 2003
    8
    Fun to play, and the graphics are good...but there should have been naval units - it would be more fun.
  21. Trooper111k
    Jul 16, 2003
    10
    This game is too nice.
  22. AndyH.
    May 10, 2003
    9
    One of the best c&c games ever! needs more units and missions though. overall its the best!
  23. BranFlakes
    May 10, 2003
    3
    Pretty graphics, same crappy AI. Here we are in 2003, using 2003 hardware, and yet the AI of the units feels no different than the ones from Dune 2, over 10 years ago. Westwood's AI abilities and programming priorities are a joke.
  24. AmericanGeneral
    Apr 29, 2003
    10
    I love this game, Buy this game period.
  25. RichardT.
    Apr 25, 2003
    10
    I would just like to say that generals is the best real time strategy game made, i'm hooked on it and the medal of honor franchise, I'm currently playing the single player spearhead expansion, EA makes the best of the best games, way to go EA keep up the good work!
  26. GXtreme
    Apr 21, 2003
    10
    This Game is Simpy great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  27. Wetwebwork
    Apr 16, 2003
    7
    Graphically, this is probably as good as it gets (well, til next year), but you really do need a top end PC. If you're lacking in way, it's going to suffer. Loading times? Looong. Frame rate drops and pauses? Oh yeah. So you tend not reload and try again when you lose a level because it's just so much hassle. And that's a shame, because there are some sweet touches Graphically, this is probably as good as it gets (well, til next year), but you really do need a top end PC. If you're lacking in way, it's going to suffer. Loading times? Looong. Frame rate drops and pauses? Oh yeah. So you tend not reload and try again when you lose a level because it's just so much hassle. And that's a shame, because there are some sweet touches when it comes to the gameplay. And I agree with Ed S that the view is too small; and clicking the map can often jump your to somewhere *near* where you needed to be, but, fatally, not near enough. Recommended, though highly recommended at a fraction of the price in a couple of years on a good PC. Expand
  28. IzZO
    Apr 15, 2003
    7
    Fantastic game!! one of da most addictive games i've played!! thot da single missions waz too short( 7 levels each)thot US waz too powerful as well, but this game shines in mutliplaya,n its kinda easy compared to old c&c titles.but still this game rocks, its a must buy!
  29. S.A.SOperative
    Apr 1, 2003
    9
    Almoust Perfect. Briliant. Great Graphics, amazing interface. The best of the C&C.
  30. TerryL.
    Mar 29, 2003
    6
    Overall, its better than other RTS games..but..but...i think EA left out the SEA UNITS????? what are you thinking EA??
  31. KCL.
    Mar 23, 2003
    8
    The gameplay is good, but lacks the depth that games like warcraft3 and starcraft have. The balance for the 3 sides are totally off, firstly, China which is suppose to be like the zerg there(weak units, but cheap and easy to mass), has got one of the most powerful units there, and their units are not that weak. and USA which is suppose to be the expensive and powerful, is expensive, butThe gameplay is good, but lacks the depth that games like warcraft3 and starcraft have. The balance for the 3 sides are totally off, firstly, China which is suppose to be like the zerg there(weak units, but cheap and easy to mass), has got one of the most powerful units there, and their units are not that weak. and USA which is suppose to be the expensive and powerful, is expensive, but the latter needs serious tweaking. the tanks are like not really great, yet the daring costs of it. the strength of USA is suppose to be in its air, but how can its only craft capable of anti air lose to China's ONLY plane!? glaring may the unbalance be, seasoned players adept to it and the climatic battles tend to make players overlook that aspect. the multiplayer support is quite good, although the player matching system could use a little tweaking. Overall, this game has great graphics, good gameplay(sweet and lite, nothing too serious) and is fast paced. For those of you doing some research on this game before deciding to buy and reading reviews and pl's comments, this game is a good go, i'm just being detailed on its flaws =] Expand
  32. MikeS.
    Mar 14, 2003
    9
    Great gameplay. The game feels like you are truly waging a massive war. It would have been nice if it had the show you where the unit was going Tib. Sun. thing, but I can do without. I can stop playin this game even though I'm playin it on a piece of junk (500mhz celeron, 256 mb ram, 32 mb video). At least the AI isn't brutal(Warcraft 3), and in most RTS's they are just as Great gameplay. The game feels like you are truly waging a massive war. It would have been nice if it had the show you where the unit was going Tib. Sun. thing, but I can do without. I can stop playin this game even though I'm playin it on a piece of junk (500mhz celeron, 256 mb ram, 32 mb video). At least the AI isn't brutal(Warcraft 3), and in most RTS's they are just as dumb. I'm just hapy there is no unit limit( except to the point where my computer can't run it anymore ) like in Warcraft 3 or AOE 2. Expand
  33. DanielL.
    Mar 6, 2003
    4
    Very stupid how you have to build units. It was so easy to build units in Red Alert 2 but now you have to actually click on a building to build the units. Westwood seemed to structure it EXACTLY like warcraft 3. Red Alert is the greatest command and conquer game ever, and one of the best war strategy games. looks great though!
  34. EricC.
    Feb 28, 2003
    8
    I'm finally glad to see a new take on my favorite real-time strategy series. The style of combat has been given a complete makeover and, for the most part, EA has come up with a great game. The graphics have tremendously improved over every other real-time strategy game. The new units and structures add a large variety of ways to win on the battlefield and the fast paced combat is I'm finally glad to see a new take on my favorite real-time strategy series. The style of combat has been given a complete makeover and, for the most part, EA has come up with a great game. The graphics have tremendously improved over every other real-time strategy game. The new units and structures add a large variety of ways to win on the battlefield and the fast paced combat is still present, as in other C&C games. My biggest gripe comes from the computer A.I. It seems that my units have no impulse to attack when they are being shot at and sometimes my units need to be reminded where I told them to go. The story isn't really that strong either, and there are no cut-scenes to help, like in the previous games. While Red Alert 2 had a better overall feel in story and gameplay, C&C: Generals does succeed in being the next great strategy game on the market since Warcraft 3. Expand
  35. BillG.
    Feb 18, 2003
    9
    This game ROCKS! I wish they'd left in the one-stop shopping that made the rest of the series so easily accessible, it still has the insanely fun gameplay of the classics.
  36. EdS.
    Feb 15, 2003
    5
    Graphics a good game does not make! The AI is weak. The view is not wide enough -- I was frustrated when AOM thought that it was more important to have fancy graphics over the display of a large area of the battlefield -- this game has even less of a view. I have to constantly scroll. Also the controls are not intuitive. Deselecting units is awkward (esc just brings up the game menu Graphics a good game does not make! The AI is weak. The view is not wide enough -- I was frustrated when AOM thought that it was more important to have fancy graphics over the display of a large area of the battlefield -- this game has even less of a view. I have to constantly scroll. Also the controls are not intuitive. Deselecting units is awkward (esc just brings up the game menu leaving units selected). I have to say that I have had some fun, but this is not up to the level of it's predecessors. Expand
  37. ThanhaDenSargoth
    Feb 12, 2003
    5
    Great graphics, but damn the Ai are so stupid! We're in the 21th century and developpers are unable to program AI that can reply to enemy fire when on standby! Come on, EA you've got enough money for that!
  38. Robert
    Feb 10, 2003
    8
    Looks good but unfortunately it doesn't allow a proper over-view. The battlefield can't be zoomed out to what i want. The gameplay is also good even though i think it's too slow.
  39. Jan 27, 2013
    0
    C&C Generals is in my opinion one of the best strategy games ever released. Unlike many other games that call themselves "strategy" games, Generals really requires a good strategy to play well. It is very well balanced and very entertaining while it isn't as needlessly complex as many other strategy games are. Even though the game was release quite a few years before I write this review, IC&C Generals is in my opinion one of the best strategy games ever released. Unlike many other games that call themselves "strategy" games, Generals really requires a good strategy to play well. It is very well balanced and very entertaining while it isn't as needlessly complex as many other strategy games are. Even though the game was release quite a few years before I write this review, I still consider it a must-buy for people who enjoy strategy games. Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. netjak
    89
    The graphics and animations are the best I have yet to see in a RTS, and the in-game effects are powerful. Just get ready to laugh like a maniac at what the units say during the game.
  2. 100
    Generals has a rock-solid single-player game and the most addictive multiplayer skirmishes of the year... A gaming masterpiece.
  3. With amazing visuals and an arsenal that would make Saddam Hussein soil his prayer mat, C&C Generals is war at its flashiest.