Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 20
  2. Negative: 4 out of 20
  1. A silent and deadly change from the usual WW2 percussion. Refreshing. [Mar 2006, p.98]
  2. Commandos Strike Force sounds at first like sacrilege, but surprisingly, it remembers its roots. The mix of stealth and action works well and the pacing is good. The game is a fun, basic stealth shooter, nothing more, nothing less. [May 2006]
  3. Overall, however, I was pleasantly surprised to see that the spirit of the old games somehow managed to live on in the FPS iteration.
  4. 75
    I'd say that fans of the series ought to check this one out, but those of us who've gotten spoiled by Brothers in Arms and Call of Duty will only see glimpses of that intensity and cinema.
  5. There have been several crucial moments that made me laugh out loud, and others that made me feel a sense of cerebral accomplishment - feelings that are all-too rare when playing an FPS.
  6. Dull and boring, not too many will play it longer than one sit through. For the fan of the series, you may want to rent since there is no nostalgic moments to reminisce about.
  7. There's no use mincing words. Commandos Strike Force is a dumbed down version of the Commandos series. It's more accessible, more forgiving and for the right player it can be a whole lot of fun.
  8. Too much is lost in the translation between third-person strategy and first-person shooter, with insufficient respect paid overall to the FPS point of view. [Jun 2006, p.52]
  9. It's certainly more of the same when it comes to the stealth action and FPS genres that it follows, and doesn't really rise above or try anything particularly new in order to provide that little bit of an edge that it needs to make it out of the realm of mediocrity.
  10. 65
    Commandos is mildly entertaining, adds a few twists to the gameplay that are a bit refreshing, but ultimately falls short.
  11. Commandos: Strike Force does have some unusual ideas that it brings to the war first person shooter, such as peeking through keyholes and sneaking around strangling Nazis while dressed as one of them, but it's simply not enough to earn it a promotion through the ranks, not with so many great shooters out there.
  12. Though based on a great series of innovative tactical action/puzzle games, Commandos Strike Force comes off as just another middling World War II shooter, despite some good ideas.
  13. If I had more space I could detail the game's numerous flaws in control, design, and AI, but I don't. Thank God. [Jun 2006, p.112]
  14. It looks okay, it plays okay, it has some nice touches, but it lacks the spit and polish required to elevate it above the rest in an already crowded genre.
  15. 50
    Even if some parts are lackluster there's not much that's truly awful about it, and its unique elements are more than enough to make up for things like the handful of missions spoiled by suicidal Allies.
  16. An uninspired shift to first-person saps this Commandos instalment of that special strategic touch.
  17. There was one mission that brought out the intensity that I expected, but it was over too soon and right back to the problems that preceded it.
  18. The game is so immensely frustrating and linear that moments of fun are few and far between. [Apr 2006, p.124]
  19. Only the Sabotage online mode, where teams attempt to interrogate rivals for parts of a six-number code, stands out as unique. One mode won't win the war, much less our gaming money for the month.
  20. Commandos: Strike force tries to shoehorn these series hallmarks into a first-person shooter but fails on nearly every level. [July 2006, p.57]
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Aug 4, 2013
    8
    Odličan ambijent, solidna grafika, raznolikost misija, velike mape..................................................................................... Full Review »
  2. Jan 31, 2014
    10
    This is very interesting stealth shooter for its time, but it is very even Inters play now as a new generation of gamers, and old old school along with battlefild office and call Duty Full Review »
  3. Oct 27, 2013
    6
    Yeah, this is from back in the day when everyone though everything had to be first person... Thank god we've moved on from that idea back to allowing a myriad of genres to exist. It's not awful, it's just not great. Full Review »