User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9731 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MartinM.
    May 6, 2006
    2
    The only thing that is better than in usual counter-strike, are the graphics and physics. It makes me sad, that you have no chances in this game if you do not have 4000 USD right now to buy a super-computer. Also there is a huge hitbox bug, as you can see in this video:
    http://media.putfile.com/css_hit_b0x_bb
  2. IceBrodie
    Jun 27, 2006
    0
    The sad part is people think this gameplay is at all practical.
    The fans of it are so die hard that if you suggested anything else they insult you rather than considering the possibility that Counter-Strike isn't the only game on the planet. The gameplay is alright but the players WILL ruin the experience for any who are not among the few, the loud, the narrow minded.
  3. MikeO
    May 12, 2007
    3
    This game can be fun if you want to take the time to build up your twitch reflexes. However, the hitboxes seem random. Valve could fix these issues if they took the time too. I've never been a game and didn't see at least one other person complaining about how screwy hitboxes tend to be. Yes, I realize lag can be part of the issue sometimes, but sometimes it's not. ValveThis game can be fun if you want to take the time to build up your twitch reflexes. However, the hitboxes seem random. Valve could fix these issues if they took the time too. I've never been a game and didn't see at least one other person complaining about how screwy hitboxes tend to be. Yes, I realize lag can be part of the issue sometimes, but sometimes it's not. Valve needs to optimize the code, plan and simple. As far as the casual gamer is concerned, you may not enjoy this game. You have to spend a lot of time building up your twitch relfexes which is hard. The poorer players or the players who understand teamwork tend to die first, often feeling unsatisfied. There is little to no teamwork in pub play, which is a shame. Valve needs to add more incentives for teamwork (this is not a team oriented game and don't let anyone tell you differently). All in all, if they would cater less to one man armies and optimize their code, the game could be fun. Expand
  4. BigBenMarkly
    Jul 16, 2006
    1
    This game is OK for casual players, but if you are competitive than it is a total waste as Counter-Strike 1.6 is where most of the community is still at.

    There are many bugs in Source that make it impossible to play competitively for the most part, one of them being the ability to block a door with a gun, or prevent a bomb defusal with a a defuse kit. Sound weird? Yeah, that's
    This game is OK for casual players, but if you are competitive than it is a total waste as Counter-Strike 1.6 is where most of the community is still at.

    There are many bugs in Source that make it impossible to play competitively for the most part, one of them being the ability to block a door with a gun, or prevent a bomb defusal with a a defuse kit. Sound weird? Yeah, that's because it is.

    It's ok if you want to pub around and just want to have fun. But in terms of being a "port to the HL2 engine," it fails miserably.

    I would give it a 5, but I think the meta score needs to be brought down a lot so I'm going to give it a 1, though it's a "5" quality game.
    Expand
  5. NathanFreeman
    May 28, 2006
    2
    A community that is a cancer to all other video game communities: rampant racism, profanity, gay-bashing, and grotesque celebration of recently aquired cursing skills all lead to a gameplay experience equivilant to riding in the back of a Jr. Highschool bus. When the 13 year olds finally decide to "branch out" into other games, they demand that it be changed to a clone of CS, most notablyA community that is a cancer to all other video game communities: rampant racism, profanity, gay-bashing, and grotesque celebration of recently aquired cursing skills all lead to a gameplay experience equivilant to riding in the back of a Jr. Highschool bus. When the 13 year olds finally decide to "branch out" into other games, they demand that it be changed to a clone of CS, most notably demanding 1 shot sniper kills on all sniper rifles. Cutting edge gameplay... from 8 years ago. Terrible balance issues. Terrible pacing issues. No iron sights. No fire and manuever game play (run and gun is NOT fire and manuever). No team work. Small levels. No room/ cover to flank. Graphics and sound are the only things that kept me from giving this scourge a 1. Expand
  6. AjAxFox
    Feb 27, 2007
    0
    this game is totally crap.......full of hackers that seem to know just how to circumvent Copy protection, Cheat protection and any other measures put in place to stop this.

    The game (Steam) hogs so many system resources that the low end systems find it nigh on impossible to play. Sorry, but i own many steam games and get frustrated with the blatant hackers who join servers and Boast
    this game is totally crap.......full of hackers that seem to know just how to circumvent Copy protection, Cheat protection and any other measures put in place to stop this.

    The game (Steam) hogs so many system resources that the low end systems find it nigh on impossible to play.

    Sorry, but i own many steam games and get frustrated with the blatant hackers who join servers and Boast that they are hacking and that there is NOTHING we can do about it.
    Fix these issues and these games WOULD be better, but for now, i say that they are crap.
    Expand
  7. JustinD
    May 25, 2006
    1
    I give it a 1 because grapics are good and so is sound... its hsitty i mean cmon same bullshit headshots n what not... lets have some fun not some luck... also like orignal lacked the capablity to have fun unless those campers go away or unles guarding thats fine... but then u got afk's whitch make round go a draw when some retard dosnt figure it out... and then the fact first teamI give it a 1 because grapics are good and so is sound... its hsitty i mean cmon same bullshit headshots n what not... lets have some fun not some luck... also like orignal lacked the capablity to have fun unless those campers go away or unles guarding thats fine... but then u got afk's whitch make round go a draw when some retard dosnt figure it out... and then the fact first team who wins get more $$$ and u get fucked with an smg or pistol and they got aks, m4s n whatnot... w/e Expand
  8. TamirF
    Jan 20, 2010
    0
    This game is so booring, A new player need to play one month untill he realizes that he should aim at the floor, and THEN he will hit the enemy's head! I dont get why there is a crosshair in this game if its not accurate?!seriously this game is AWFUL
  9. Sep 13, 2011
    2
    I got this game a while ago when it was ony $5, it was my first cs game, and it wasnt even worth $5. I have since then moved over to cs 1.6, and im glad i did. CS:S is just... no.CS:S..... this game is too easy, too boring, too stupid, and too child filled. it has less recoil, ESPECIALLY on the m4, resulting in that gun being OP, the maps are smaller in height, the player models areI got this game a while ago when it was ony $5, it was my first cs game, and it wasnt even worth $5. I have since then moved over to cs 1.6, and im glad i did. CS:S is just... no.CS:S..... this game is too easy, too boring, too stupid, and too child filled. it has less recoil, ESPECIALLY on the m4, resulting in that gun being OP, the maps are smaller in height, the player models are larger, the hitboxes are easier, and its just pathetic. the maps are just eye candy, and physics... i like the physics, but they scatter the most random **** around the map to get the point across taht there is a physics engine, and instead of being something cool or interesting, they just get in your way and annoy the **** out of you. the gameplay is boring, the game is easy, its filled with kids, and the game just bombs its legendary background from 1.6. this really was an uneccesary "downgrade" to an already perfect game. it couldve been half decent like dod:s, but it isnt. If you want to get into the cs fad, get the original, the only reason i would reccomend this game is for gmod content. Expand
  10. DeadAgain
    Feb 23, 2007
    4
    February 23, 2007
    Just for reference, I
  11. RanchyMcSwiftBurger
    Jan 19, 2010
    4
    Annoying and Boring as hell. Now at first when I played this game I was getting killed by every single player on the server. After dieing about 12 times I realised something. That this sucked erect monkey scrotum. Even if I was sad enough to waste at least 3 months learning how to get good at this it would still be boring as hell. I tryed out the bots aswell and they were ok I guess but Annoying and Boring as hell. Now at first when I played this game I was getting killed by every single player on the server. After dieing about 12 times I realised something. That this sucked erect monkey scrotum. Even if I was sad enough to waste at least 3 months learning how to get good at this it would still be boring as hell. I tryed out the bots aswell and they were ok I guess but still boring as hell. And then I discovered the custom maps and how awfully made they were. And its obvious that valve didnt spend to much work on the v_models because you could see right fucking through them. I cant belive I wasted 14,99 Expand
  12. Mar 4, 2012
    4
    i got counter strike source because it was recommend by a friend and he really wanted me to have this game he gave me a 50 % voucher for it so i got it. when i tired a normal server i rage quited so quickly because it is mainly search and destroy which if fine unless you just get flashed banged 50 times a round. then i found the light at the end of the tunnel. it had a team deathmatchi got counter strike source because it was recommend by a friend and he really wanted me to have this game he gave me a 50 % voucher for it so i got it. when i tired a normal server i rage quited so quickly because it is mainly search and destroy which if fine unless you just get flashed banged 50 times a round. then i found the light at the end of the tunnel. it had a team deathmatch server which is better but it has no total score limit, it is basicly who can spawn trap each other first. the other good server i found was a zombie server and this was very good because there was normal a big boss which would take a thousand bullets before it got bored and flew away. overall if there was no tdm or zombie servers i would rate it a 2 at the highest. Expand
  13. SantaClause
    Dec 22, 2006
    0
    Zero points couse steam. i have spending time two days, try to setup steam and css. First, i had to format my all hard drives couse steam´s updating system not workin at all... i have high speed internet connecton (800 kb/s), still steam downloading css updates only about 5 - 6 kb/s. Why, why... i´m so angry... fucking steam, great css, even i cannot play css, couse steam... !!!
  14. MikeD
    Jun 2, 2008
    1
    This game is terrible...an absolute waste of time and money. Buy COD4 and play online.
  15. TerenceC.
    May 23, 2006
    0
    This is one of the worst games ever, partly because all it is is the original Counter Strike with better graphics and less maps. Another flaw is that on almost every server in my experience there have been abusive idiots that have said some offensive comments just for using autosnipers and magnum sniper rifles.
  16. Anon
    Jun 10, 2007
    0
    Let's face it, CS:S was never meant to be a realistic game. Headshots can be made 9 or more times in a row, one man with a Famas can kill an entire team, and the AWP is ridiculously powerful - a .50 cal is not needed in most FPS games. Physics are crazy - bodies catapult out of windows through grenade blasts and bodies are flung back when the players are shot. The maps are linear. Let's face it, CS:S was never meant to be a realistic game. Headshots can be made 9 or more times in a row, one man with a Famas can kill an entire team, and the AWP is ridiculously powerful - a .50 cal is not needed in most FPS games. Physics are crazy - bodies catapult out of windows through grenade blasts and bodies are flung back when the players are shot. The maps are linear. Awful game, and 1.6 is much better value for money. Expand
  17. SamuelMartin
    Aug 2, 2009
    1
    This game failed at improving counter-strike as the competitive game it should be. It lacks the feel and the competitiveness that goldsrc counter-strike has. The graphics don't make up for it (heck, they don't even update css to the latest source engine version). Hopefully the guys at cspromod will make a better job.
  18. JamesP.
    Jul 25, 2006
    1
    The engine is too choppy. mainly because the game was designed around a graphics engine not a physics engine. The game just doent feel right. It looks nice, just runs very bad. one of the worse fps games to date.
  19. RobertB.
    Jun 7, 2006
    0
    Absolutely terrible gameplay, very monotonous.
  20. JamesR.
    Oct 7, 2008
    4
    There are much better multiplayer shooters out there. Guns don't feel right like they do in other games like the brill rainbow six vegas. It just was no fun and you can tell it originated from a half life mod. This is just my opinion and i have heard many who have enjoyed this game. There are good points to the game but there are not many, buy team fortress 2 instead.
  21. NotReal
    Aug 10, 2006
    1
    Horrible Graphics worst FPS of all time, people in the game are immature and rude. I give it 1/10 the game is just horrible.
  22. jd
    Oct 11, 2007
    4
    Hm I enjoyed 1.6 quite a lot before eventually deciding to also purchase source so as play with a good friend of mine. When playing by myself I always find myself switching back to 1.6. It feel as if the old game has been raped. Why? There's nothing that's been improved from the smooth-running, skill-desiring 1.6 unless you like the new graphics (which I personally findHm I enjoyed 1.6 quite a lot before eventually deciding to also purchase source so as play with a good friend of mine. When playing by myself I always find myself switching back to 1.6. It feel as if the old game has been raped. Why? There's nothing that's been improved from the smooth-running, skill-desiring 1.6 unless you like the new graphics (which I personally find horrendeous). In 1.6 I still consider myself a newbie after 4 years of play (I do work and have a social life) and get real excited when once in a while you have a great score.. In source, it's nothing to do with skill, just spray and you'll shoot head.. Never a need for a "new" cs! Rape of the best game ever created! Back to 1.6! Ban css! Expand
  23. bobsmith
    Nov 30, 2007
    0
    This game was the best game ever!!!!!!!!!!!...untill steam ruined it! best game i ever played, but I cant play the game because of the service of steam. is says: preparing to launch counter strike:scource, but then nothing. ive contacted steam and have never heard back. if anyone has a solution, please tell me!!!! game is a 10, steam is a 0
  24. GaryKirkland
    Mar 31, 2007
    3
    Good game, poor players. they constant bunny hopping and exploitive playing of most "players" of this game takes away any fun that may have been there for people with a life. the lack of realism is this games main downfall. and its main strong point for the people not skilled enough to play real FPS games
  25. Michelgrandpa
    Jul 7, 2007
    1
    fucked up game wats this fucking recoil IT SUCKS OMG... you cant even shoot someone fucking crap shit

    AND NOW YOU CANT PLAY THE GAME wtff... dude common yeh sorryr the game is unavalble at the moment please try later fuck you i got a day free and even cant play fucking CRAP GAME AND STEAM SUCKS!!!!!!!!
  26. ruilago
    Feb 20, 2008
    2
    I play this game and i feel among this years that this comunity is very bad, along with the fact that at the begining of the game their font code was robeed and is at the web for anyone yo wanna buy it, and valve2 anticheat system is so por makes this game a cheating paradise, when you buy this game cheats are among the pack, lol, and in the web to all, thanks once more for another gameI play this game and i feel among this years that this comunity is very bad, along with the fact that at the begining of the game their font code was robeed and is at the web for anyone yo wanna buy it, and valve2 anticheat system is so por makes this game a cheating paradise, when you buy this game cheats are among the pack, lol, and in the web to all, thanks once more for another game like this, it will be the last multiplayer online i will ever buy again till someone present a true anticheat, regards Expand
  27. JamesR
    Apr 20, 2008
    1
    Not worth the money, Game looks horrible bad gameplay, not fun at all.
  28. BillH.
    Nov 21, 2006
    4
    Frustrating to learn from day one, but addicting, beautifully rendered with enjoyable rag doll physics if improbable. Horribly balanced gameplay, some weapons are one hit one kill weapons, while others are inexplicably ineffective. Valve has recently patched the game with updates that limit the options you have when setting up your own games. They've also altered the weapon Frustrating to learn from day one, but addicting, beautifully rendered with enjoyable rag doll physics if improbable. Horribly balanced gameplay, some weapons are one hit one kill weapons, while others are inexplicably ineffective. Valve has recently patched the game with updates that limit the options you have when setting up your own games. They've also altered the weapon procuement system of the game to make it all but impossible to enjoy a quick 20 minute game as it takes that long to have enough money to buy your preferred armament. It had a lot of potential, but has slowly degraded with continual updates that limit options and methods of gameplay, rather than enhance them. Expand
  29. BegalJ.
    Nov 23, 2006
    4
    It's such a great game but steam is the worst thing in the world, so is DWP take that stuff off it's horrible. The game gets so buggy with all these crap updates you bring, just make more maps/maps to bring to cal one day.
  30. LukeM.
    May 28, 2006
    0
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  31. stna
    Jan 11, 2008
    1
    NO IT IS NOT A "cool" game ... WTF man ? the difference between SOURCE AND 1.6 is HUGE .... and .... for the record ... THE players are more hard to see .. graphics are .. nice ... but ... U MUST STARE AT THE MONITOR TO SEE THE PLAYERS ... IT IS NOT GOOD ... what is wrong with you people ? ? ARE YOU BLIND ? ?
  32. JonathanR
    Apr 15, 2009
    0
    Counter-Strike: Source is a terrible knockoff of the original Counter-Strike and is definitely not worth buying. The graphics of Counter-Strike: Source may be slightly more polished than that of its predecessor, the original Counter-Strike, however you will tire of the game quickly and easily as every other aspect of the game sucks beyond all belief. The game is a joke in the professional Counter-Strike: Source is a terrible knockoff of the original Counter-Strike and is definitely not worth buying. The graphics of Counter-Strike: Source may be slightly more polished than that of its predecessor, the original Counter-Strike, however you will tire of the game quickly and easily as every other aspect of the game sucks beyond all belief. The game is a joke in the professional gaming community so if you want to make a living off of professional gaming, the original Counter-Strike is the way to go and not this version. The game has terrible game play, extremely over hyped graphics and physics which in reality aren't that great and border on crap, and the game is just overall a terrible, dysfunctional knockoff of the original and hit game Counter-Strike. You wouldn't catch me dead playing this over Counter-Strike. This game is a 0/10 with no doubt in my mind. Expand
  33. steve
    Apr 15, 2009
    0
    This game was made so that people who played the old game could switch over and we all bought it with expectations of it being good but the makers didnt really care about the player and they ended up producing a game that was not ready to be released.
  34. YuraT.
    Apr 17, 2009
    0
    No comment
  35. CoopC
    Apr 17, 2009
    0
    Worst rip off of Counter-Strike 1.6 and a mockery to cs's competitive edge. With overly detailed maps and odd player model hitboxes, Counter-Strike: Source leaves the me saying, "WTF?"
  36. BraddanH
    Apr 17, 2009
    0
    this game isnt as great as the original. it has better graphics, yes, but the physics and all that sucks balls sack.
  37. JasmineC
    Nov 16, 2009
    0
    Headshots are too easy. hitbox system is fail-frigging tacular. The fact you have to lead in anything under a multi-mile long distance shot is astoundingly unrealistic. And yet, in Counter Strike Source you will find yourself leading practically at point blank range. I have never in my entire life seen a more horrible hitbox system than CS:S. The map graphics are decent. Anything else is Headshots are too easy. hitbox system is fail-frigging tacular. The fact you have to lead in anything under a multi-mile long distance shot is astoundingly unrealistic. And yet, in Counter Strike Source you will find yourself leading practically at point blank range. I have never in my entire life seen a more horrible hitbox system than CS:S. The map graphics are decent. Anything else is meh. In addition, too much frigging waiting, combined with too many one hit kills = RAGE. Headshotting someone with a stray machine-gun bullet is funny as hell, until it happens to you. In general this game is extremely frustrating and not so much noob friendly as it noob unfriendly and cheap douchebag friendly. Expand
  38. Dec 11, 2010
    0
    I have been playing since the beta versions of Counter-Strike, and I have to say, I'm very disappointed with this release, why you ask? Because everything they have done has ruined the game which made Counter-Strike 1.6 a phenomenon, graphics aside, game play is just not the same, they've changed all the recoil patterns and re textured all the weapons, I only bought this to play CS:Pro ModI have been playing since the beta versions of Counter-Strike, and I have to say, I'm very disappointed with this release, why you ask? Because everything they have done has ruined the game which made Counter-Strike 1.6 a phenomenon, graphics aside, game play is just not the same, they've changed all the recoil patterns and re textured all the weapons, I only bought this to play CS:Pro Mod which is 1.6 gameplay style with Source Graphics. Just horrible. Expand
  39. Dec 31, 2010
    4
    This game isnt that good.The first thing is its almost impossible for new players to learn how to get good online second its basically pointless.There is no rank system so you just go around shooting
    people i got really bored of this fast.
  40. Feb 27, 2011
    3
    My online FPS history started with the original UT and later UT3. Both excellent yet strategically void games. Then I tried CS:S for a while, only to conclude that it is simply a broken game: Barely any strategy going on, dominated by aim grunts and rather backward balancing (better players get more weapons and armor?!). But then I hit upon DoD:S and have several hundreds hours of playMy online FPS history started with the original UT and later UT3. Both excellent yet strategically void games. Then I tried CS:S for a while, only to conclude that it is simply a broken game: Barely any strategy going on, dominated by aim grunts and rather backward balancing (better players get more weapons and armor?!). But then I hit upon DoD:S and have several hundreds hours of play time on it now. It feels like CS:S to some extent, but the player base is generally more mature, it's almost perfectly balanced, and encourages strategy and thought a lot more. I was awful at DoD:S for quite a while, but at least I wanted to keep playing during that time, where CS:S continuously managed to make me angry. It's a pity that DoD:S never got the wide market appeal that it deserves, even though the game is excellent without it too of course. Expand
  41. Mar 3, 2011
    4
    This game is mediocre at best. The problem isn't boring gameplay, but rather horrible flaws. The hit detection is simply terrible, and people just tell you to put this and that into console to fix it or simply tell you your aim sucks. Nothing that i've tried works to fix it. I even once spectated someone shoot an enemy in the LEG and had it count as a headshot. In addition, the weapons areThis game is mediocre at best. The problem isn't boring gameplay, but rather horrible flaws. The hit detection is simply terrible, and people just tell you to put this and that into console to fix it or simply tell you your aim sucks. Nothing that i've tried works to fix it. I even once spectated someone shoot an enemy in the LEG and had it count as a headshot. In addition, the weapons are terribly unbalanced. 99% of all players use from a small selection of the best guns and anyone who uses anything different will usually get stomped. And finally, the community is just terrible. If you're better than someone, you're accused of cheating. If you're worse than someone, you're mocked. There are some nicer groups out there that have good sportsmanship, but they're rare.

    I do have to give the game some credit though; The graphics are good, and when the hit boxes aren't bugging, the game can actually be somewhat fun. Overall, the game itself isn't bad, it's just broken. Broken enough to make it more frustrating than fun. I bought it, played it for a few hours, then just gave up. The only lasting thing it has brought me in the long run is textures and models for Garrysmod, which isn't really worth 20 bucks. I'd say if you're REALLY interested in the game and must insist on getting it, at least wait until it's on sale, that way if you regret buying it, you won't regret it quite as much.
    Expand
  42. May 6, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game used to ROCK. But valve is always trying to make this game even better by updating all its content. This game doesn't make any sense since 2010. Valve, continue the bad work and you are going to see many players quitting and nobody buying this game. UNFORTUNATELY. Expand
  43. Jun 13, 2011
    2
    Quite possibly the most OVERRATED game of all time.

    This game defies all logic to me as to how this game got this high amount of positive reviews from anybody. Even if all the problems I'm going to list can be fixed, other games, like the Modern Warfare series for example, have already done the same thing CS:S has been doing and much better. The points below are here to summarize my
    Quite possibly the most OVERRATED game of all time.

    This game defies all logic to me as to how this game got this high amount of positive reviews from anybody. Even if all the problems I'm going to list can be fixed, other games, like the Modern Warfare series for example, have already done the same thing CS:S has been doing and much better. The points below are here to summarize my gripes about this game and my overall experience.

    -The menuguncharacter selection system is uselessbroken.-
    When you first enter a servermap, you will get the usual welcome screen followed by a generic shadow board showing if you want to join the Counter-Terrorist (CT) or Terrorist (T) side. The only thing you will want to see on this page is whether you're on one of the 2 ONLY game modes in the game, Bomb Defense or Hostage Rescue.

    Character selection is just very generic character models including 1 out of place SNOW terrorist who you will never use in the majority of maps. (You can't use them for movie making either, they don't have face bonesposing, something standard in every Valve game.)

    After choosing a character, you'll immediately go into the game, BUT FIRST you have to buy your weapons. How? Pressing the B button in the short amount of time when the round starts in the small spawn or you can't buy anything. Each time you select a weapon, the menu closes, so if you have to get a bunch of equipment, be prepared to to go into it A LOT. You can't make money either unless you kill other players or complete objectives, making it difficult to acquire moneyweaponsvests.

    Much of the notes spread throughout the Menus aren't important at all and will just be a waste of time to read.

    Even those who love this game will say not to bother with the menus and just start binding keys to buy weapons, a very tedious job.

    -Difficult as hell You're not the target audience!-
    This game was made for the obsessive compulsive, tourney-league players you hear about.

    The guns are difficult to use with hitboxes, bullet paths, and cross-hairs never being where you think they might be. No joke, I had to double check replays, spectating, and forums to find out that to get a headshot with the AK-47, YOU HAD TO AIM ABOVE AND TO THE RIGHT OF SOMEONES HEAD BY A FOOT. I'm not making this up, a lot of people are having problems trying to find out WHERE to shoot there guns, even CS:S fans having arguments on how to use them.

    They can shoot straight, but your cross-hairs are fairly useless with a lot of bullets shooting outside the box if you fire too many rounds.

    Free tip, "always take out the combat knife for maximum speed..." Why? Who knows.

    There is no such thing as team work in any server. You're on your own.

    Standing still is ill-advised unless you're sniping since EVERY HIT YOU TAKE SLOWS DOWN YOUR SPEED BY HALF.

    No health re-filling of any kind either; no medkits, regen, or buyable upgrades. Once you die, you're dead for the round, which can take several minutes to complete.

    Both game modes are essentially the same, they're the "Hard-core Search and Destroy"Arena-type mode you see very few people playing on any other video game and usually played by the 'l33t skills' type of people who can headshot across a map with a pistol.

    Majority of the maps look like crap, like no one even bothers to fill or design most of them with objects to make things pop out and interesting to be in. Some should say "Map Design by Minecraft!"

    -It gets worse-
    THIS GAME HAS A TON OF HACKERS!

    To put this in perspective, I have 1100 hours in Team Fortress 2 and found 8 obvious hackers. In CS:S, I found 5 highly suspicious players, 3 confirmed, and A ENTIRE SERVER OF PEOPLE HACKING IN 8 HOURS! Skyward bunny hopping, aim-bots, speed hacks, they're the norm. It's no wonder when you have a game made for Tourney players being hacked so much, too many people suck and don't care about the Steam account ban.

    The population of the game is between ages of 8 - 20 and is the most annoying type of people you could find. Turn off the headset so your ears won't bleed too.

    There is no such thing as team work or help in any public server, you're on your own

    -The upside?-

    Some maps don't looks bad for there age.

    Gun models look okay.

    ...Very difficult to even come up with anything nice to say.
    -Conclusion- This game is **** awful. Avoid Counter-Strike: Source like the plague and you'll be a happier person in life for doing so. There is almost no redeeming value in this game. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!
    Expand
  44. Sep 14, 2011
    1
    What can i say? It's counter-strike... where the stupid annoying words that every idiot can't ever stop saying such as "Noob, nub" ect and "Pwn" were invented. Where wall hacks and aimbots were pioneered. Where jerk offs and clans that treat violent video games like its Church or Bible study to censor profanity even though there is blood all over the walls. It gets a 1 because this TitleWhat can i say? It's counter-strike... where the stupid annoying words that every idiot can't ever stop saying such as "Noob, nub" ect and "Pwn" were invented. Where wall hacks and aimbots were pioneered. Where jerk offs and clans that treat violent video games like its Church or Bible study to censor profanity even though there is blood all over the walls. It gets a 1 because this Title paved the way with its great gameplay for modern FPSs, but with it came the Clans, Cheaters and Trolls. Gameplay is one thing for a game... its community is another. Expand
  45. Oct 16, 2011
    0
    Since the update (2010) this game sucks hard ! fix the hitbox, fix the ragdoll and fix the r_aspectration omg ! WE WANT THE OLD CS:S BACK ! thanks and the 0/10 is for you valve. Thanks.
  46. Dec 27, 2011
    3
    the shooting mechanics are good, but the plot and chracter development are absolutely minimal, which i didnt think was valves style. alot of the plot doesnt make any sense, really poor effort there :(
  47. Nov 17, 2011
    2
    The game is okay as long as you are mentally retarded. This game is the definition of boring. In it's entirety it doesn't even face any competitive means nor the vibe of unlocking something new. I wouldn't want to compare Battlefield 3 to such a mediocre game, but I have to since they both share the boring gameplay. A gamer doesn't want to stick with the same boring crap throughout theThe game is okay as long as you are mentally retarded. This game is the definition of boring. In it's entirety it doesn't even face any competitive means nor the vibe of unlocking something new. I wouldn't want to compare Battlefield 3 to such a mediocre game, but I have to since they both share the boring gameplay. A gamer doesn't want to stick with the same boring crap throughout the entire game, they want something new. That is why Call of Duty is the best and I have no idea why people would still play this horsecrap. Expand
  48. Aug 6, 2012
    4
    Allright, this comes from a HC Gamer i have bunch of bucnh of games on steam etc im only PC gamer. Yes you see 4/10. One of my first games was cs 1.6 on PC like when i was 8--10 years old. This game is so HC and unforgiving and hard :S! Really way too bad crosshairs etc i dont like it at all. Im tired of many FPS's these days already like BF3. But this is just too HC.

    Only thing is that
    Allright, this comes from a HC Gamer i have bunch of bucnh of games on steam etc im only PC gamer. Yes you see 4/10. One of my first games was cs 1.6 on PC like when i was 8--10 years old. This game is so HC and unforgiving and hard :S! Really way too bad crosshairs etc i dont like it at all. Im tired of many FPS's these days already like BF3. But this is just too HC.

    Only thing is that with mods or maps it can be fun :)! ze, zm, surf, jb(NotForMe) are good fun ways to chill :)! ze being my favourite and its fun. But normal CSS? Too HC, you need to be crazy player if u want to succeed.
    Expand
  49. Jul 6, 2012
    0
    Counter Strike: Source is a very over rated game. It holds nothing special from any other shooter. The only reason I play it is because of surf. The game play is so repetitive and gets boring very quickly. I played it a lot and thought it was fun at first, but after a while it just got boring. There is nothing special to it. The mods are so much more fun than the actual vanilla game.Counter Strike: Source is a very over rated game. It holds nothing special from any other shooter. The only reason I play it is because of surf. The game play is so repetitive and gets boring very quickly. I played it a lot and thought it was fun at first, but after a while it just got boring. There is nothing special to it. The mods are so much more fun than the actual vanilla game. Idiots play the zombie game mode. It's completely unfit for a zombie game mode. Garry's Mod is much better suited for it or an actual ZOMBIE GAME. Jail break is fun, but it gets repetitive. I don't see what's so fun about this game. The only fun parts are created by the users. Without the users, this game would be nothing. There would be hardly any maps, no other game modes, ect. The shotgun is over-powered as hell. It's ridiculous how much damage it does with distance. You can be 20 ft. away from someone and it only takes one shot to kill you at full health. This game is decent at best. Expand
  50. Aug 8, 2012
    3
    After downloading this game in 2012, playing it for one or two hours, I did sort of enjoy the fast paced action, but some of it was a little too hectic, it didn't really have the same feel as the FPS games i'm used to playing, granted this is an old game by now, but I just didn't want to carry on playing.
  51. Jan 3, 2013
    0
    This game is terrible,a simply pure bad game,headshot headshot headshot hackers everywhere,walk to a corner,i got headshotted again,the only reason to buy it is the jailbreak mode and the zombie mode,also the gmod textures
  52. JayP.
    Sep 5, 2006
    1
    since steam was part of CS ive been havin problems with speed.. disconnecting randomly, keeps freezing, no point of playin the game i got sick and tired of it, now i hear CS Source is out and read the reviews about how they r having the same problems.. just bring back 1.5 nd get rid of steam, the game was fun until they messed eveyrthing up.
  53. JoseB
    Apr 16, 2009
    0
    Horrible remake of Counter-Strike 1.6. Models are too big, grenades are weird, gameplay is just terrible. If you actively play this game, purchase Counter-Strike 1.6 and actually ENJOY gaming.
  54. PeterT.
    Nov 4, 2004
    3
    If anything, this game remake was a waste of time (my opinion). They only took some maps and remade them, some phisics changes, graphical improvements, ect. Nothing to be excited about. And they expect you to pay alot of money for something anyone could have made themselves as a simple free download modification. Besides that, I still give it points for catching media and public interest.
  55. MattS.
    Apr 4, 2006
    1
    This is a terrible remake and has lost the CS feel, it is just like any another FPS now. When will people learn it takes more that eye candy and realism to make a great game. There are significantly less people playing source than the original. Enough said.
  56. RickyH
    May 11, 2006
    2
    To many glitches, and its way ahead of its time. You all should have tested this game better befor releaseing it to the public. Not to mention the fact that 1.6 is and always will be the better cs game.
  57. KP
    May 30, 2006
    4
    To anyone that has played 1.6 they will know this "new" update has basically slapped a load of sugar on and not really fixed any of the problems it had before. Graphics over Gameplay dosent work online..it looks pretty but the gameplay is still bugged. Valve, dont do an Electronic Arts on use and just churn crap out that looks good but plays crap.. Good Points - Graphics, Way Forward Bad To anyone that has played 1.6 they will know this "new" update has basically slapped a load of sugar on and not really fixed any of the problems it had before. Graphics over Gameplay dosent work online..it looks pretty but the gameplay is still bugged. Valve, dont do an Electronic Arts on use and just churn crap out that looks good but plays crap.. Good Points - Graphics, Way Forward Bad Points - Low/Jerky FPS, Poor hit boxes . Expand
  58. KetalR.
    May 8, 2006
    3
    Too many great things lost since CS1.6 Disappointing.
  59. AlexK.
    Feb 21, 2007
    3
    I hate this game! Realistic??? Only headshots and if you didn't hit with the first shot you get shot because your opponent will turn around and kill you with only one shot (as I said only headshots!). I spactated one game and counted the headshots. 78% headshots and rest normal. In FEAR for example there are only 9% headshots (as I counted them) Can somebody explain me that? And if I hate this game! Realistic??? Only headshots and if you didn't hit with the first shot you get shot because your opponent will turn around and kill you with only one shot (as I said only headshots!). I spactated one game and counted the headshots. 78% headshots and rest normal. In FEAR for example there are only 9% headshots (as I counted them) Can somebody explain me that? And if you hold fire and you hit => headshot ?!?!?!!? What's that? I really hate this game... Expand
  60. PaulP.
    Jun 1, 2007
    0
    Damn lagging game with so much bugs and a endless list of cheaters!!
  61. LuisR.
    Jan 25, 2008
    1
    Counter Strike is the best online game ever!
  62. LewisW.
    Feb 9, 2008
    2
    They Should rename it Camper-Strike, it takes too long to learn to play this game well and the fact that you cant respawn makes it the most frustrating game in the world. Imagine walking out of the spawn zone to be shot in the head without ahving chance to react, then you wait 5 minutes to come back to life so they can do it again!
  63. Rickybright
    Apr 20, 2008
    2
    In and of itself the game is not bad. The major problems come from the fact that the developers seem to have tried to balance the game backwards. They give the better players an advantage, how will that ever create a balanced game. That, and the fact that you spend about 90% of the game watching someone else play pretty much ruin it.
  64. heyy.
    May 4, 2008
    0
    Only bad players in this game, just noob and kids.
  65. (Anonymus)
    Jan 6, 2009
    1
    This game has bad graphic,and the gameplay offer nothing new and the only good thing about this game is that there is no problem finding server and it is so many noobs so it is fun watching. I want to give this game a 0 but, i cant stop laugh when the noobish players running around and team-killing so i give it a 1.
  66. ChrisM
    Apr 15, 2009
    0
    CS:S Detracts from the overall value of cs 1.6 because it allured all the professional gamers with stories of money and glory due to the increase in gfx etc. Promising more coverage on source.. most 1.6 leagues died and what is source now? Nothing. Source is still underplayed, and cs 1.6 is still superior in player-base and skill.
  67. FireBladeX
    Apr 15, 2009
    0
    Perfect game!
  68. AnonymousMC
    Nov 14, 2006
    2
    I do not know, what i have to think, instead of the fact, that "Steam" really ruins this game. As i bought this game, i was really happy to possess this game, i know CS, and i have seen a lot before the release. But, as i installed CS:S, the first thing i hate was Steam. After Install it first have to Update for more than 6 hours with 48KB/s (DSL-Lite User)... anyone think about theI do not know, what i have to think, instead of the fact, that "Steam" really ruins this game. As i bought this game, i was really happy to possess this game, i know CS, and i have seen a lot before the release. But, as i installed CS:S, the first thing i hate was Steam. After Install it first have to Update for more than 6 hours with 48KB/s (DSL-Lite User)... anyone think about the modem-user? After a long while i was able to play it and the next failure of this game, better said at "Steam", was the fact, that the player isn't able to switch to "Offline-Mode" manually by changing it in any menu. Instead of that, i really have to block my internet to play CS:S offline without lags or nasty pings, 'cause i do not have the best connection all day. (Trust me, even if you play alone against bots, CS:S works over the internet and you have to fight also against ping/lags).

    The only things, that could rescue CS:S for me:
    1. A direct Download to an Updatepackage, so i do not have to update this game per steam every time i reinstall it.
    2.It may be brilliant that at any day there is an Steamupdate, which adds a button to switch to Offline mode. So i do not have to disconnect to the Internet before playing CS:S... (or easily a normal LAN-Mode for CS:S, which automatically works outside of the I-net ;D)
    Expand
  69. JakeH.
    Oct 24, 2006
    4
    It is a good game over all, but it is way too hard to become good with all the people who have played since the original CS so its not fun.
  70. AnonymousMC
    Mar 25, 2006
    2
    An ok game, a above average shooter, but since they removed all of the things like being able to shoot through walls, made every gun accurate and basically made it even more simple than it was, it lost "counter-strike" somewhere and became "CT vs T shooter". The extra physics are pointless (like the barrels that you "bounce" off) should be removed as they are pointless and just slow thingsAn ok game, a above average shooter, but since they removed all of the things like being able to shoot through walls, made every gun accurate and basically made it even more simple than it was, it lost "counter-strike" somewhere and became "CT vs T shooter". The extra physics are pointless (like the barrels that you "bounce" off) should be removed as they are pointless and just slow things down. ALso, the maps made of "glass" were in CS1.6 so you don't nede source to play them!. Still gets points for being a ok generic shooter Expand
  71. ShaneR.
    May 13, 2006
    2
    Disappointing, I expected more from the source mods overall, game play has been limited from 1.6 in both cs and dod. CS:S is a port and nothing more and still suffers from that same problems of hackers/scriptkiddies as well as unbalanced weapons. I wasn't a fan of cs before the port but now its just a joke. I stick to DoD:s and when i play CS:S i still have a chance even though the Disappointing, I expected more from the source mods overall, game play has been limited from 1.6 in both cs and dod. CS:S is a port and nothing more and still suffers from that same problems of hackers/scriptkiddies as well as unbalanced weapons. I wasn't a fan of cs before the port but now its just a joke. I stick to DoD:s and when i play CS:S i still have a chance even though the game play is so different. Where are all the benefits of the physics and materials that were being showed off in the demos? Expand
  72. BraddT.
    May 6, 2006
    1
    While updating the graphics Valve lost everything that made Counter-strike 1.6 so fantastic. While the game looks good it lacks the gameplay that made its predecessor so successful. A pretty but poor game that rides on the successor of the far superior game it followed.
  73. M.Dove
    Aug 23, 2006
    0
    Been updating now for over 24 hours with 3-7 hours left to go and a 600k connection, what an absolute joke... every other of my 120+ installed games however runs like a dream... once again, valve take the apex of gaming and enviroments and simply put people off by making updates slow, laborious and in most cases frustrating
  74. DylanR.
    Aug 29, 2006
    3
    while this game could be fun, for the average person with a nice computer, it is a poor, nay, awful imitation of cs1.6. The game feels slugish and slow paced. While the graphics are amazing, this game doesnt come anywhere close to cs1.6, which IMO is the greatest fps of all time. The competitive aspect of this game is also awful compared to 1.6.
  75. MarkV.
    Jan 14, 2007
    1
    An extremely poor attempt at recreating a classic title that still out performs it to this very day (Coutner-Strike 1.6). If this was a stand alone game under a different title, it would be moderately decent... but because it uses the Counter-Strike name, it fails to live up to expectations. Everything that made the original counter-strike so great is gone, even the famed money system has An extremely poor attempt at recreating a classic title that still out performs it to this very day (Coutner-Strike 1.6). If this was a stand alone game under a different title, it would be moderately decent... but because it uses the Counter-Strike name, it fails to live up to expectations. Everything that made the original counter-strike so great is gone, even the famed money system has been nerfed in Source. If you are looking for a game to test your new computer, buy Half-Life 2... if you are looking for a game that lasts, that has skill, fun, and an insanely large community... go with Counter-Strike 1.6, not Counter-Strike: Source. You will thank me later. Expand
  76. JackJ.
    Jan 25, 2007
    0
    A massacre of one of the most addictive games of all time. Such a shame they turned it into a game where success is no longer proportionate to skill. i.e. person who sprays first wins.
  77. JustinB.
    Jun 13, 2007
    0
    It seems as though you ruined the original CounterStrike. Not a fan of this game.
  78. JoeG.
    Jun 22, 2007
    0
    Worst online community. Tedious. Fails at being an action game. Fails at being realistic. It's a bast^rd caught somewhere in between. Watching 2 people camp on opposite sides of map for 2 minutes. Horrible community. 13 year old racist homophobes. This game is just garbage. Why do people play it?
  79. OmbarK.
    Apr 1, 2008
    2
    I have never ever been so disappointed with a game in all my gaming life. Seriously this game is slow paced and is entirely made for campers, the friggin' en. On top of it luck decides pretty much everything even for pros since there's NO AIM DOWN THE SIGHT EXCEPT FOR SNIPES, SERIOUSLY WTF? If you want a good FPS that's fast paced and relies on skill, go buy call of duty I have never ever been so disappointed with a game in all my gaming life. Seriously this game is slow paced and is entirely made for campers, the friggin' en. On top of it luck decides pretty much everything even for pros since there's NO AIM DOWN THE SIGHT EXCEPT FOR SNIPES, SERIOUSLY WTF? If you want a good FPS that's fast paced and relies on skill, go buy call of duty I've had so much with it. All that CSS brought me was frustration and waiting for next rounds cause a dude got a lucky headshot, will forever be my worst buy I guess I just can't see what good people see in it and no I haven't played CS 1.6. Expand
  80. ObbyS.
    Apr 19, 2008
    0
    Im sorry but I'd love to give this game a 1000000000 but there are just too many new games out there that are, however, so much better! And its so f***ing annoying 'cause you can't aim down the sight. only with snipers. If you want a good game, please go get COD4 or something and NOT THIS STUPID-@$$ S***-FOR-A-GAME THAT EVERYONE (NERDS) SEEMS TO F-ING PLAY!
  81. ChristophT.
    Jun 29, 2008
    0
    Noob game. Everyone can make a HS in this crap game.
  82. CharlesBR
    Nov 5, 2009
    3
    I recently borrowed a friend's Steam account so as to play this game among others, and frankly, I was shocked. For a game so legendary and infamous, it really was drab and lacking. The weapon purchase system creates severe imbalance, the maps do little to deter campers, and quite simply, this game is not as fun as other games by a great margin. I could easily while away weeks on the I recently borrowed a friend's Steam account so as to play this game among others, and frankly, I was shocked. For a game so legendary and infamous, it really was drab and lacking. The weapon purchase system creates severe imbalance, the maps do little to deter campers, and quite simply, this game is not as fun as other games by a great margin. I could easily while away weeks on the original Unreal Tournament, but within few hours this game had shoved me away. In all honesty, this game is not terrible - fun shines through in the rare moment that tactics become applicable, but the hype set me up in false hope. Where I was expecting a revelation, all I found was a deflated shadow of a game. If you want multiplayer fun, Left4Dead, TF2, and (if your desires bend towards something akin to CS:S), Rainbow Six Vegas should satisfy. Apologies to die-hards. Expand
  83. fernandop
    Dec 1, 2009
    0
    People moan on every multiplayer game about hitboxes but this is rediculous. The game cant keep up with such a basic thing as movement and you hit, or are hit even when the crosshair has streaked past its target and is feet away, (especialy waching some sniper kills). Invisible textures will bounce grenades back over open sky above walls and off most door edges. The graphics are dated People moan on every multiplayer game about hitboxes but this is rediculous. The game cant keep up with such a basic thing as movement and you hit, or are hit even when the crosshair has streaked past its target and is feet away, (especialy waching some sniper kills). Invisible textures will bounce grenades back over open sky above walls and off most door edges. The graphics are dated with ragdoll a minor +. A poor weapon choice with poor damage calculator doesnt help gameplay and its the first game to make everything deliberately hard to pick up and play. As part of hl2 bundle this game is outclassed in the graphics, with cs textures apparently taken from medal of honour 1. spend £30 and buy cod2,3,4, anything will look better and be less frustrating than this. tg its free p.s before people say noob with slow pc. its 3.2ghz with 3gb ram :p cs need to fix the hitboxes and hit reg before the realism of the game means anything Expand
  84. JacobS
    Apr 1, 2009
    0
    Its crappy. The graphics suck even with a nvida 9800gt. The game lags with the great internet of Comcast. Cant find servers, says something about a master connection? wth? lmfao dont buy it im telling u now.
  85. TylerG
    Apr 15, 2009
    0
    Game was horribly designed for competition and public play. Everything that was supposed to be as real as it gets, got more phony... The original counter-strike... is 10x better. Thats what happens when you try to capitalize on a game that isnt possible to make any better... steam ruined it... lol.
  86. JoshL
    Apr 15, 2009
    0
    All graphics, no competitive aspect to it. Plus this game is dead after the downfall of CGS. 1.6 for the win
  87. TomC
    Apr 16, 2009
    1
    A cheep nock off of an already fine game. It changed the graphics to look better but the game play is far worse.
  88. ScottH
    Apr 17, 2009
    0
    An attempt to build off the success of Counter-Strike with the graphics the Source engine provides. A horrible failure in terms of gameplay and overall playability.
  89. MatthewM.
    Apr 17, 2009
    0
    Absolutely terrible game. Looks are not what they say to be, physics are weird, and gameplay is awful.
  90. ShaunC
    Apr 17, 2009
    0
    Unrealistic physics, the recoil isn't accurate enough. System requirements are too high for my computer. A lot of hackers and not enough admins. Hitboxes seem to be way off of the target.
  91. LaurensM.
    Oct 12, 2006
    0
    I'm still sticking to CS 1.6 because Source has been modified so bad it just screws up your gameplay. Nice graphics of course but that just doesn't make the game.
  92. Ziv
    May 17, 2006
    2
    Grafix: 10/10 Exellent grafix! Physics: 6/10 It is better then cs1.6 but still not close to HL2 GamePlay: 4/10 Lost the CS touch. Toolz: 4/10 Bad weapon balance ,No tactical shield ,Need new weapons Maps: 2/10 Littel new maps from valve must are just remakes Hackers: 2/10 Way too many hackers! Lag: 0/10 The updates take way way too long!!! PC Needs: 2/10 For a game like this one it sure Grafix: 10/10 Exellent grafix! Physics: 6/10 It is better then cs1.6 but still not close to HL2 GamePlay: 4/10 Lost the CS touch. Toolz: 4/10 Bad weapon balance ,No tactical shield ,Need new weapons Maps: 2/10 Littel new maps from valve must are just remakes Hackers: 2/10 Way too many hackers! Lag: 0/10 The updates take way way too long!!! PC Needs: 2/10 For a game like this one it sure demands too alot! ,Too much if you ask me!(And sens your reading this I think you are xD) Players/Servers: 6/10 Need more servers and not nearly as many players as in CS1.6 Now this might not end up with a 2/10 but the update time takes them all(especially sens I`m waiting for an update to finish right now...) Expand
  93. KanaK.
    Jun 17, 2006
    2
    FPS with a potential, however the elitist 12 year old players, cheaters and whatnot, and the potential instability of source engine destroy the game.
  94. FelipeC.
    Jul 11, 2006
    2
    The game is show! but a protection of cheaters in the game is fail again!
  95. AnonymousMC
    Jan 19, 2008
    3
    A pray and spray crapshoot. No real skill involved, and the tournament winners take stimulants to get their reactions going too fast. Also, anybody that can spray a P90 in-game wat head level wins the level, that is all there is to it. Do not waste your time on this game.
  96. May 20, 2013
    3
    Cheating is very available on this game such a headshot aimer assists. Kills the game to a point where it is utter most boring. I saw players one shot headshots with shotguns at over 100 metres. Do not buy.
  97. Jan 14, 2014
    4
    A boring, repetitive, multiplayer-only shooter which has spawned a terrible community. The gameplay mechanics are cheap and create a game that just isn't worth your time.
  98. Dec 31, 2013
    0
    I hated this game so much. I played it for a couple of hours just trying to get use to the bulky and slow controls. Then once I found out how to finally control my character and play the game well I found it to unrealistic and dumb. I read some reviews and some said that the game is very realistic. I shot a guy with 7 rounds from a 9mm he didn't die. Plus not being able to aim down yourI hated this game so much. I played it for a couple of hours just trying to get use to the bulky and slow controls. Then once I found out how to finally control my character and play the game well I found it to unrealistic and dumb. I read some reviews and some said that the game is very realistic. I shot a guy with 7 rounds from a 9mm he didn't die. Plus not being able to aim down your sights unless you have a sniper rifle. What kinda of fps is this. People say that this game is great for team work and is just a great game overall when I'm constantly being yelled at for not doing good, but then when I learn the stupid controls and actually do amazing I'm called a cheater and still be called names. The community is worse than any other fps I have ever played. The terrible game play does not help either. Your options are move, jump, squat and shoot. What I can't even lay down. I've play iPad games better than this. In all honesty this game is a total piece of crap and is not worth spending your time trying to figure out how it works while being yelled at by your team mates and called some of the worst things and told to go do some very inappropriate stuff. Like blanking my dead father log. Yes I was told to do this by every player in a server, in many different ways. This game should be discontinued. Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 90
    The game looks more beautiful than ever, with structures that feel weighty and solid and little visual touches throughout. The flash-bangs look fantastic.
  2. Valve has done a sterling job of moving a flagship franchise over to a new engine. Whilst the gameplay guts come over correct and intact, (which may disappoint some), Counter-Strike: Source is an even more engrossing and captivating experience, capable of sapping hours of your time, and even the worst "1337 g33zers" abusing voice chat can't spoil the fun you'll have with it.
  3. Counter-Strike: Source is, once you've gained a knack for it, the most consistently rewarding and surprising team-based shoot-'em-up available on the PC today. It's been dressed up nicely for its relaunch in 2004, but it wasn't broken, and Valve hasn't fixed it.