Counter-Strike: Source PC

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9849 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 5, 2010
    6
    Hardcorest of hardcores. I don't think there's a place for new players in this game. It's a test of speed and reaction. Most of maps are really nice and easy-to-learn. But i hated this game's community. At least three curse words in every sentence. If you play too good, you are declared a cheater and get kicked out of the server, if you play bad - team yells at you.
  2. May 5, 2011
    5
    Counter-Strike: Source
    Average User Score: 9.0
    10 Counter-Strike: Source Image this is a classic as we all know but overrated and those that play this 10 year old game should stay where they are. css is a loud mouth community of really good shooters (or possibly cheaters) because they are like internet jocks that like to taunt anybody who is level 1. there is no room for noobs in css so i
    Counter-Strike: Source
    Average User Score: 9.0
    10
    Counter-Strike: Source Image
    this is a classic as we all know but overrated and those that play this 10 year old game should stay where they are. css is a loud mouth community of really good shooters (or possibly cheaters) because they are like internet jocks that like to taunt anybody who is level 1. there is no room for noobs in css so i always discourage anyone new to fps games to stay away from css. it is a decent game but the community back when i played was filled with hackers who aimbot you coming around corners. was so ruined by hacks it might be better now but who knows. either way it set the benchmark for tactical game play so i give it 5 stars,
    Expand
  3. Dec 18, 2011
    6
    If you hate CS:S, it's because you love CS 1.6.
    If you hate CS, it's because you play CoD.
    But anyway, there are good things, and bad things about this game. First of all, the game's concept is good. The fact that when you die, you don't respawn, make it slightly more realistic. The game's concept hasn't changed at all since CS 1.6, which I am really glad of. I'm glad that Valve decided
    If you hate CS:S, it's because you love CS 1.6.
    If you hate CS, it's because you play CoD.
    But anyway, there are good things, and bad things about this game. First of all, the game's concept is good. The fact that when you die, you don't respawn, make it slightly more realistic. The game's concept hasn't changed at all since CS 1.6, which I am really glad of. I'm glad that Valve decided not to put in a cheesy story mode into a game that is meant to be for multiplayer, and perfecting your reflexes.
    However, this game can get horribly buggy at times. Reason? Well, sometimes you are right in front of your opponent, and shooting them heaps of times, but the game thinks that the bullets missed and the opponent doesn't lose HP, and they realise you're there and shoot you and you die. This happens to me about 20% of the time.
    Now if you thought that was bad, there's more. There has been an update to CS to try and make the AWP 'less overpowered', and sometimes, like written above, you shoot the opponent, what used to be a one-hit kill, became a miss. Quick-scoping screws up the accuracy, only scoping once screws up the accuracy, and when you miss, it's almost as if the game is screwing with you, and it makes you rage most of the time.
    However, overall, this game is very fun to come back to every now and then, and the CS franchise probably won't be ending any time soon (hoping that CS:GO won't be disappointing).
    As for the price, it could be a little overpriced. I got it on a sale, for $5, which is definitely worth it, but since the regular CS game can get a little boring without any kinds of mods, I reckon $10 or $15 is more of a reasonable price.
    The achievements are fun to get, though some of them can take a while (example: Kill 1000 people with the awp, or example: kill 10,000 enemies).
    I hate how in games like this, many of the achievements are to kill a whole tonne of enemies.
    Despite everything that I have said above, I would still recommend this game for everyone except people who hate FPSes.
    All CS needs now is a CS 2.0. That is what the CS franchise is lacking at the moment.
    Expand
  4. Nov 30, 2011
    6
    Undisputedly solid gaemplay mechanics, controls and strategy. Plenty of modded servers online as well as offline bots. What fascinates me is how the actual game itself- the round based gameplay- gets boring too quickly. Everything becomes too predictable because the maps are so linear. I spent barely any time playing the actual game and more time exploring mods and deathmatches and newUndisputedly solid gaemplay mechanics, controls and strategy. Plenty of modded servers online as well as offline bots. What fascinates me is how the actual game itself- the round based gameplay- gets boring too quickly. Everything becomes too predictable because the maps are so linear. I spent barely any time playing the actual game and more time exploring mods and deathmatches and new maps. Of course there are plenty of intense moments but even if this is the case, there's never anything new. You've seen everything there is to see before the gmae starts. Yes it's a good thing so that inexpereinced players can jump in and play, but I feel that with the recent updates Valve could have added new game modes instead of just adding achievements, stats tracking (a bit late for that after 6 years the game had been out) and the updated game engine. To really enjoy this game how it should be played you need to either play at a LAN party with people you know just for fun or if you play online make sure you're on a decent server. There's so many intolerant players that are arrogant and have no respect for newcomers. What's most difficult is finding servers to suit your ksill level. One full of noobs becomes boring, as does getting headshotted immediately by pros who shoot at the floor with AK47 and somehow kill you. It's definitely not a game that you just go out, buy, play and enjoy. Expand
  5. TrentJarrell
    Jan 8, 2007
    6
    The game USED to be a really good game. Until it switched to Steam. And Steam trying to add all of these new updates and all it does is make the game worse. Ex. Hit Reg/Dmg Boxes/And getting stuck on things that arnt even there. Besides all of that it is a really gg.
  6. Sep 27, 2012
    7
    I purchased this game about 3 weeks ago. I can for sure say that it is a fun, action-packed FPS. However, there is a much larger emphasis on staying alive than in a COD Free For All or a COD Team Deathmatch, which makes it much more hardcore. Note: these people have been playing it for years. I have spent over 50 hours on the game and I do not even compare to the experts (I can barelyI purchased this game about 3 weeks ago. I can for sure say that it is a fun, action-packed FPS. However, there is a much larger emphasis on staying alive than in a COD Free For All or a COD Team Deathmatch, which makes it much more hardcore. Note: these people have been playing it for years. I have spent over 50 hours on the game and I do not even compare to the experts (I can barely break even K/D ratio). CS:GO is a more noob friendly game (albeit not as friendly as something like COD or TF2). Also, CS does not have Free for all mode, so it isn't as chaotic as a small FFA map with 30 players on COD, however GunGame (Arms Race in CS:GO) becomes chaotic as there is no respawn time-- IMO very fun. Honestly I think CSS is better than CS:GO, but it is really personal preference (I think COD fans would like GO better). Expand
  7. Dec 10, 2011
    5
    I've briefly tried out this game at my friend's house, and it was decent. The game is engaging; you can buy, customize weapons, plant bombs, and just go raging all over (and die). However if you are noob this game will be very hard to play; like "AA3" there are no respawns and it's all really a cycle of kill-shoot-kill. If you're a obsessive valve gamer or a critic who loves the fps genreI've briefly tried out this game at my friend's house, and it was decent. The game is engaging; you can buy, customize weapons, plant bombs, and just go raging all over (and die). However if you are noob this game will be very hard to play; like "AA3" there are no respawns and it's all really a cycle of kill-shoot-kill. If you're a obsessive valve gamer or a critic who loves the fps genre I might recommend the game. But remember; you will drop the game in a few hours. Expand
  8. DanielJohansson
    Jul 1, 2007
    5
    my game dosent work i buyed it but after i have installed and start the game im just coming to a damn shop and it says that i must buy it. but i have played it with my coussin he have it to and for him it works and he don't now why my game is like it is , but liked it, but it don't works so, and if someone nows how i can fix it so please send an -mail to tt95-hockey@hotmail.com
  9. ArkadiyIssayev
    Feb 20, 2008
    7
    This game is super and has a good graphic! But it my favorite game. All i hate is hackers. i want this game to be protected by hacks! I like some mods it good but it not hack at all it just make you gun look different! If you want to see the model or to make for you too, here the link http://www.fpsbanana.com/skins/games/2 it hard to understand for you maybe! Enjoy it!!! It my favoriteThis game is super and has a good graphic! But it my favorite game. All i hate is hackers. i want this game to be protected by hacks! I like some mods it good but it not hack at all it just make you gun look different! If you want to see the model or to make for you too, here the link http://www.fpsbanana.com/skins/games/2 it hard to understand for you maybe! Enjoy it!!! It my favorite game too! I love those people who make this games! I want to thanks to those people too!! Expand
  10. meandhim
    May 14, 2006
    6
    Great graphics, gameplay was lost from CS 1.6, the more upgrades the worse the game seems to get... Sort the hitboxes and make it harder to use AWP/Scout etc and it could be 9/10.
  11. Nov 1, 2011
    5
    Counter Strike is a good multiplayer shooter. You probably will find hours of fun if you enjoy online shooter game. The mechanics of the game is simple but works well. Players purchase weapons and accessories with money they have received. Money is received in portions determined by the server each round plus bonuses for the following: team win, kills, completed objectives, and otherCounter Strike is a good multiplayer shooter. You probably will find hours of fun if you enjoy online shooter game. The mechanics of the game is simple but works well. Players purchase weapons and accessories with money they have received. Money is received in portions determined by the server each round plus bonuses for the following: team win, kills, completed objectives, and other miscellaneous factors. The game does offers a great depth of strategy for each individual player and teamwork is fairly important in it. The major failure of the game is it's one of the most hacked games ever. Because the the engine is open-source, modders creates lots of hacks to automatically aim their weapons for them. But right now they probably already moved to team fortress 2, so the game is still worth to pick up. Expand
  12. Nov 14, 2011
    5
    i know im pretty late but seems as many people still play this game im going to put my review in, i picked it up from steam becasue a freind urged me i should and i wish i hadent, it seems people just play it becasue its counterstrike and the only reason its still alive is becasue people have modded it and tweaked it so much, it may be the most played fps in the world but it definatelyi know im pretty late but seems as many people still play this game im going to put my review in, i picked it up from steam becasue a freind urged me i should and i wish i hadent, it seems people just play it becasue its counterstrike and the only reason its still alive is becasue people have modded it and tweaked it so much, it may be the most played fps in the world but it definately isnt the most fun Expand
  13. Jun 25, 2015
    5
    I laugh a lot when i see that this **** page says that the ccs is better than the cs go,css better than cs:go JAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJA
  14. Jun 22, 2016
    7
    An iconic multiplayer FPS of the "oughts", my most played game between the age of Tribes 2 and that of Team Fortress 2. I would not say it's aged well, but the diversity of mods and occasional quality of life updates have ensured it's lasting playablity.
  15. WesleyyL.
    May 6, 2006
    7
    I don't like you have to wait for a next round to begin if your dead... Just when you're warmed up you get out of your ritthim cuz of the waitin'
  16. ManiF.
    Jun 2, 2006
    7
    on my PC the newest cs-update has caused a bad game performance!
  17. JamesK.
    May 26, 2007
    7
    Good graphics, solid platform and server browsing. Gameplay is solid enough, at its core its the same, but then engine lends itself to poor hit detection. The rampant hacking and immature nature of the community bring the experience down. Overall a good, quick online shooter that lacks in depth.
  18. StevenC.
    Apr 25, 2008
    5
    It's bad because it doesn't have the aspects of the 1.6 game, it's thrown off a lot from the first game so it isn't really good at all.
  19. DanG
    May 18, 2009
    6
    Been playing since 07, and the game is pretty fun, only thing is that a lot of the shots that should have landed are wayy off, and the random sprayer bullets are the ones that land headshots. Its an ok game and worth a try, but don't be surprised when that shot you made that should have been a headshot didn't land, and instead the sprayer from across the map headshots you.
  20. TeodorIkonomov
    May 21, 2006
    5
    The Best Game Ever
  21. TomReynolds
    May 7, 2006
    6
    The game in itself is pretty decent, but the cheaters and hackers and mismatched weapons can ruin a game in one round.
  22. NikoM.
    Aug 23, 2006
    7
    Great game, i would give it a 9-10 but there are so much little bugs like hitboxes etc.
  23. Caddy
    Oct 5, 2007
    7
    This game offers excellent time wastage, giving good players excitement and fun. If your new, stick to it because in a few months you might start enjoying it as well. Very dissapointed with the Physics engine, bouncing off barrels and cabinets, not to mention being able to campin in one. I find the game is extremely laggy and registering my shots is unbearably painfull. Flashbangs blind This game offers excellent time wastage, giving good players excitement and fun. If your new, stick to it because in a few months you might start enjoying it as well. Very dissapointed with the Physics engine, bouncing off barrels and cabinets, not to mention being able to campin in one. I find the game is extremely laggy and registering my shots is unbearably painfull. Flashbangs blind you when they land 10ft behind you, Headshots are more rampant than the hostages Ai, maybe camping slaps should be improvised to allow minimal time wastage due to those extreme players who love to awp... or just p90 one position. I now enjoy this game becuase I have played it so much, but I was very close many times to just deleting it and watching tv. Anti cheat is good, Anti hack is better, raciscm and derogitry remarks should be banable and inexcusable. Out of the many fps shooters I have played, this one is fantastic, yet it can still leave me very, very dissapointed. I'm glad I purchased it though. Expand
  24. AndrewMacKay
    Mar 5, 2007
    7
    Good game. HL2 engine makes it. Very little has actually been changed from 1.6, and what has changed isn't necessary better. Flashes are very poor from a competitive standpoint. Awp and Deagle have been made better comparatively when they were fine in 1.6 (surprise! everyone's favorite.) The character models are much more slugish when they run, and when they are shot, they areGood game. HL2 engine makes it. Very little has actually been changed from 1.6, and what has changed isn't necessary better. Flashes are very poor from a competitive standpoint. Awp and Deagle have been made better comparatively when they were fine in 1.6 (surprise! everyone's favorite.) The character models are much more slugish when they run, and when they are shot, they are unphazed by it. Source is defintely one of the best games out there now, but could use just a bit of balancing that would make it a leagues above. Expand
  25. Novi4ekNone
    Mar 6, 2007
    7
    good game
  26. NathanV.
    Jul 5, 2007
    7
    Good game, decent graphics, but quite a few cheaters and physics flaws that dampen the games full potential, if some more bugs were fixed it be an easy 10.
  27. YiuC.H.
    Aug 9, 2007
    7
    Although superb graphics and the gameplay from counter-strike is retained, the game movements in counters-strike source is not as smooth as counter-strike, where animations and movements are rather stiff, and the realism in graphics could be a drag for some slower PCs and for online play.
  28. FredK.
    Sep 12, 2007
    6
    Good GFX and fun if not very simple gameplay and can be very enjoyable. If your new to the FPS genre then this will surfice but there is alot of better options out there that are less frustraitng. but If you can't tolerate campers, hackers, excesively loud music, 13 year old kids, pornographic sprays, flashbang spam, the AWP, The Desert Eagle, terrible hitboxes and the need to Good GFX and fun if not very simple gameplay and can be very enjoyable. If your new to the FPS genre then this will surfice but there is alot of better options out there that are less frustraitng. but If you can't tolerate campers, hackers, excesively loud music, 13 year old kids, pornographic sprays, flashbang spam, the AWP, The Desert Eagle, terrible hitboxes and the need to download something every time you join a server then this game is probably not for you. Expand
  29. JoepH.
    Oct 4, 2008
    6
    Allthough it's nothing bad, the pace is a bit too slow. CS 1.6 was fun, fast and encouraged normal gameplay. CSS however, punishes rushing and fast play. With everyone camping till the last minute, and than suddenly killing each other with 5 shots (if you shoot more your aim is gone), the fun was gone for me.
  30. AlanV.
    Mar 17, 2008
    6
    A poor, poor update to an amaizing game. Known as "CS for n00bs", any real CS player will be disappointed at the core physics changes, such as weapons that are too accurate or inaccurate, over or under powered, and maps that are simply lack the old counter strike feel. Put your big boy pants on and go old school with the pros!
  31. OupsV.
    Jun 1, 2008
    6
    Good FPS, unfortunately this game begin to be quite old and Team fortress 2 is a way better.
  32. AdrianP.
    Jan 9, 2009
    7
    I think its a 7 because tbh its a really good game but it can have a lot more stuff added into it. This game would be perfect if it had some features like the ones in a game called warrock (im not saying all) but like the ability to prone and ability to lean so its harder to shoot someone sounds pretty cool. Hopefully they come out with a new cs thats similar but adds in new features and I think its a 7 because tbh its a really good game but it can have a lot more stuff added into it. This game would be perfect if it had some features like the ones in a game called warrock (im not saying all) but like the ability to prone and ability to lean so its harder to shoot someone sounds pretty cool. Hopefully they come out with a new cs thats similar but adds in new features and even perhaps new guns. Expand
  33. NicholasP
    Apr 15, 2009
    6
    First of all the netcode creates so many ridiculous interpolation moments where other players models are being show clientside several ms behind where the server records them, the game just doesn't sync everything well at all. Any area where someone is watching an entrance the player 'peeking' into the entrance has a huge advantage because they will see the person watching First of all the netcode creates so many ridiculous interpolation moments where other players models are being show clientside several ms behind where the server records them, the game just doesn't sync everything well at all. Any area where someone is watching an entrance the player 'peeking' into the entrance has a huge advantage because they will see the person watching before the player watching sees them, most of the time the 'peeking' player will already have time to stop and be ready to shoot before the watching person sees them. The models were made larger and the maps were filled with extra junk laying around, like barrels which are randomly placed everywhere along with many other little objects. This makes the game feels really cluttered and makes it easier to 'frag', half the time you can enter an area and have no need to aim because the models fill up the space. The 'updated' flashbangs are random in that you cant dodge them consistently which takes a lot from the game. Smoke grenades are explotable because in certain areas you can see shadows through them but not from the other side which is another flaw. Not to mention that the slow blooming of the smoke makes the game easier for the players watching the smoked area. The model movement speed especially walk speed is slowed down, which also makes the game easier. A combination of the larger models and tightly cramped map areas allows for a lot of random lucky bullets to headshot people when a player is running around spraying. Overall css is just a dumbed down, 'pretty', version of cs. I would recommend sticking with cs1.6 which is so much more of a polished and challenging game. Expand
  34. ChrisS
    Jul 3, 2009
    7
    CS:Source is a fun game, spectacular graphics.. But-Physical object are bugged (ex: Stand on a physical barrel you'll fall into it and the barrel will tip over.) NOOBS CAN PLAY THIS GAME WELL! Just a quick heads up if you're not a quick shot or a good one some noob will probably "run & spray" and take you down, or they'll crouch and the horrible recoil and spray in this CS:Source is a fun game, spectacular graphics.. But-Physical object are bugged (ex: Stand on a physical barrel you'll fall into it and the barrel will tip over.) NOOBS CAN PLAY THIS GAME WELL! Just a quick heads up if you're not a quick shot or a good one some noob will probably "run & spray" and take you down, or they'll crouch and the horrible recoil and spray in this game will cause them to pop your head.. Other than those few things, I pretty much love the game I mean I do play it competitively, although it always seems to make me mad that the random sprayer pops my dome 7/10. Expand
  35. Jamesb
    Mar 28, 2010
    7
    Graphics are pretty good. the rego or hitbox sucks really bad and it really needs to be fixed. Theres a alot of other ppl that go WTF when they miss when they was on the dot for a headshot. I think the counter strike source hacks make the game how it should be , like the aimbot and no recoil and u hit where ur aiming. Fuc game but its really unrealistic and hard to hit where u want. I Graphics are pretty good. the rego or hitbox sucks really bad and it really needs to be fixed. Theres a alot of other ppl that go WTF when they miss when they was on the dot for a headshot. I think the counter strike source hacks make the game how it should be , like the aimbot and no recoil and u hit where ur aiming. Fuc game but its really unrealistic and hard to hit where u want. I give it a 7. Expand
  36. Joel
    Nov 1, 2006
    5
    Mediocre shooter. Flashy graphics, outdated ragdoll and physics effects, and the worst ballistics/netcode I've ever contended with. I'd have an easier time picking things off with a Sten MK. II in reality. Yet, it remains to be one of the more popular games of its time.
  37. BenJ.
    Oct 17, 2006
    6
    It is a great game, but it is full of bugs, hitboxes dont work etc. I think I speak for most of the compeditive 1.6 players when I say that they have ruined the game, the physics are incomplete and at times an annoyance, the maps have been changed, walls are no longer spamable and it looks as tho valve is not going to improve these things. I highly doubt that source will make it to It is a great game, but it is full of bugs, hitboxes dont work etc. I think I speak for most of the compeditive 1.6 players when I say that they have ruined the game, the physics are incomplete and at times an annoyance, the maps have been changed, walls are no longer spamable and it looks as tho valve is not going to improve these things. I highly doubt that source will make it to competitions like cpl and wsvg because the compeditive side has been removed. Expand
  38. JohnYu
    Oct 24, 2006
    7
    All is fine except for the headshot box is bigger than the broadside of a barn.
  39. NiGhTmArEL33T
    May 12, 2006
    5
    I agree that its a great game, but it would have been greater if it didnt demand so much from your computer. With that i mean that you almost have to buy an "High-End computer" so be satisfied enough. I still enjoy CS 1.6 as much as i did about 4 years ago or so. But they both are great games. NiGhTmArE [SWEDEN)
  40. CraigK.
    May 18, 2006
    6
    Just dosent deliver enough excitement. Also dosent lan as well as i would like. DOD is much better in both aspects.
  41. Osiris
    May 25, 2006
    7
    Been playin bout 18 months now, not a bad game not fantastic either. Weapon accuracy sux ass summit rotten for a start... but when ya get the hang of it it becomes... acceptable. nice graphics, nice feel to the engine although HDR is a pointless waste of fps in my opinion. Hit boxes really REALLY blow, way to laggy. valve need to do summit with ther anti cheat software too... uber h4xz0rz Been playin bout 18 months now, not a bad game not fantastic either. Weapon accuracy sux ass summit rotten for a start... but when ya get the hang of it it becomes... acceptable. nice graphics, nice feel to the engine although HDR is a pointless waste of fps in my opinion. Hit boxes really REALLY blow, way to laggy. valve need to do summit with ther anti cheat software too... uber h4xz0rz aplenty! all in all probs not worth £25 but better than sum of the fps bs out there. Expand
  42. MikeB.
    May 7, 2006
    7
    It's a nice game but its unstable on my system.. shutting down css takes about 1.5 minute while other harder games just shut down and dont need to load windows again (what it looks like)
  43. KittyE.
    May 9, 2006
    6
    I like it. probably not one of the best games when it comes to the aim and fire part. Hits that create blood on your opositios face are often ignored by the game. As well as a few other minor factors with hit registry. The Tactical sheild is gone so prepare to get awped on ofice. I don't know what "new weapons" these guys are talking about, you still have every thing here. Not a I like it. probably not one of the best games when it comes to the aim and fire part. Hits that create blood on your opositios face are often ignored by the game. As well as a few other minor factors with hit registry. The Tactical sheild is gone so prepare to get awped on ofice. I don't know what "new weapons" these guys are talking about, you still have every thing here. Not a single "New" weapon on the list. Custom maps got better with the port ( i sudgest finding "the matrix" it was a fun DE map) the new maps Port is huge and hard to get around. alot of the weapons lost some of their acuracy while others gained it. All of these flaws aside though, the game is a fine port. only worth the twenty bucks if you dont want to buy the older versions. Me and my sister play it all the time. i give it an average score for an average game. Expand
  44. MikeD.
    Jun 1, 2006
    7
    It's an overal good game, but unrealistic because the hitbox is in my opinion calibrated wrong. Other than that, everything else is very good.
  45. TheUnDeRtAk3r
    Jul 7, 2006
    6
    Yes CSS is nice from graphic,but i think it's too easy a blind player can hit there a headshot quite easily.... The griphic is real nice.
  46. RickyM.
    Aug 1, 2006
    7
    well the game is way easier then 1.6 so if you enjoy an esier experience buy this game if not buy counter strike 1.6.
  47. GreenyG
    Aug 18, 2006
    7
    Great graphics and sound but it requires to much power for some low computerised graph cards so the game is only recommended for people with powerful computers but its defintelly recommend to give a shot cause its super addictive Nice work STEAM :)
  48. DaveQ.
    Aug 2, 2006
    6
    A visually impressive game whos excellent sound effects add greatly to the immersion effect, Counterstrike is ruined by its lack of playbalance. Eventually, Counterstrike becomes a repetitive rush to gain the most powerful weapons, such as sniper rifles that kill in one hit with absolute accuracy even when running and even jumping. Compounding the problem is the unprecedented amount of A visually impressive game whos excellent sound effects add greatly to the immersion effect, Counterstrike is ruined by its lack of playbalance. Eventually, Counterstrike becomes a repetitive rush to gain the most powerful weapons, such as sniper rifles that kill in one hit with absolute accuracy even when running and even jumping. Compounding the problem is the unprecedented amount of hacking, (though I have not played Diablo) resulting in people that shoot through walls and are themselves nearly immune to damage. The Valve Anti Cheat system seems only to allow more hacking. Expand
  49. StefanM.
    Jan 25, 2007
    7
    Very nice graphics, but poor models moving. A big step forward from CS 1.6. Still, the firing is unrealistic, too many head shots... I'll give it a 7. The good thing in buying the DVD is that you get the HL2:Deathmatch and DayOfDefeat: Source, making the DVD worth buying.
  50. YuraT.
    Feb 25, 2007
    6
    No comment
  51. BobM.
    Jun 1, 2007
    5
    Hackers & Cheaters! too damn many of them. what is valve doing to solve this extensive problem? I hope they put as much effort into dealing with the hackers as they did with creating one of the BEST graphics engines to date.
  52. YarrrPirate
    Aug 23, 2007
    5
    The graphics are good, but the gameplays isn't quite as good as CS1.6. For example, you get headshots too easily. It seems that this game was made as simple as possible, to make it a popular game, rather than one that required a little skill, like CS1.6.
  53. PhilO.
    May 13, 2008
    5
    Cause im evil... Idk 1.6 wins. I prefer unrealistic real life figures then cartoon looking people shooting at me.
  54. jasjang
    May 7, 2008
    7
    Fair, because they could make it better.
  55. MichaelE
    Jul 4, 2008
    5
    This game is okay except that it has way too many problems. This game is in no way tactical and it's all just a run and shoot game. It's too noob friendly. 1.6 is where the tactical gameplay is.
  56. RyanR
    Oct 16, 2009
    6
    This is an excellent game but because it requires online play one of the most important factors is a fair playing field and unfortunately this is no longer possible as the VAC anti-cheat system does not work fast enough to detect the newest cheaters. Many of the downloadable cheats for this game are updated before VAC updates. The cheats that are being used are usually aimbot set to This is an excellent game but because it requires online play one of the most important factors is a fair playing field and unfortunately this is no longer possible as the VAC anti-cheat system does not work fast enough to detect the newest cheaters. Many of the downloadable cheats for this game are updated before VAC updates. The cheats that are being used are usually aimbot set to toggle "on" or "off" on a key bind (usually middle mouse click mouse wheel down) and click it whenever they need that last second headshot or pretty much whenever they feel like it. I have competed at multiple LAN tournaments and never had problems like you see in online play. Registering and competing in CAL is another way to find a more even playing field. It is a good idea to keep in mind also though that many players are banned from the game every year during competition for cheating also. The only real fun for veteran CS players in this game anymore will most likely be running and managing your own server to make up where the VAC system fails or playing with a close group of friends. One of the more creative and fun sides of the game are the custom maps that allow mini games of all kinds from climbing, rpg, hide and seek, surfing, dodge ball and others. Expand
  57. AexDaemon
    Feb 6, 2009
    7
    Sort of a good game, but as all of the games I've played before made by Steam - Bit a Bit. Let's take a look at the ANTI-Cheater - as one guy said, it is good, but not so much. I tried to cheat (for experiment) and I've been banned after the 120+ time I cheated. Other say, graphics are cool - adding a bit would make it cool. 7 For the game.
  58. JohnC
    Apr 1, 2009
    5
    The game is fun. But the service is horrible. It cracked down my computer. Servers wont pop up half the time. I cant save any in a favorites. Its not worth buying. You have a better chance playing a flash game of Counter strike. Because atleast you will know you will play. I cant find any servers, and its not my firewall. or my internet. my internet is great, Verizon fios. im in a great The game is fun. But the service is horrible. It cracked down my computer. Servers wont pop up half the time. I cant save any in a favorites. Its not worth buying. You have a better chance playing a flash game of Counter strike. Because atleast you will know you will play. I cant find any servers, and its not my firewall. or my internet. my internet is great, Verizon fios. im in a great suburb aera. Its the game dont buy it. Expand
  59. HelpU
    Jul 19, 2009
    6
    I found out the hard way that this isn't counter-strike. Its a bunch of noobs playing counter strike. The start of the round is apparently just like in Scooby Doo when Fred says,"Lets split up and look for clues". It takes strategy to even play the other CS but that is only sometimes present in this game. I thought I got out of the TF2 and L4D noob swamp, its not as bad, but I'm I found out the hard way that this isn't counter-strike. Its a bunch of noobs playing counter strike. The start of the round is apparently just like in Scooby Doo when Fred says,"Lets split up and look for clues". It takes strategy to even play the other CS but that is only sometimes present in this game. I thought I got out of the TF2 and L4D noob swamp, its not as bad, but I'm not out of it yet. Collapse
  60. JoshT.
    Nov 20, 2006
    5
    Counter Strike: Source for the first 2 years it has been out was great all new maps coming out and looking better than before. New player models that look stunning. But now that valve has added in the new priceing system it is not as fun as it use to be. Now I am back to playing cs 1.6. Although I must say valve did a bad job with the Hostage AI(It is way better in Counter Strike Counter Strike: Source for the first 2 years it has been out was great all new maps coming out and looking better than before. New player models that look stunning. But now that valve has added in the new priceing system it is not as fun as it use to be. Now I am back to playing cs 1.6. Although I must say valve did a bad job with the Hostage AI(It is way better in Counter Strike Condition Zero) and also the world view...Climbing ladders doesn't look like your actually climbing. Swimming is not shown as in cs 1.6 has in it. Maybe the next time valve makes and update they will add better AI and new world view features. Expand
  61. TheMagicalHippieKiller
    Dec 12, 2006
    5
    This game would be more fun to play if it was a bit more tactical. Now it is a bunch of frantic running about, and the fact if you haven't played everyday since it's original release menas you are no good takes a lot out, too. Some of the game modes that have been created are fun, like zonbie mods and gun games, but I cannot ever get anything done in the regular game mode. The This game would be more fun to play if it was a bit more tactical. Now it is a bunch of frantic running about, and the fact if you haven't played everyday since it's original release menas you are no good takes a lot out, too. Some of the game modes that have been created are fun, like zonbie mods and gun games, but I cannot ever get anything done in the regular game mode. The Dynamic Weapon Pricing also makes sure someone of little skill at the game, such as myself, cannot purchase guns like the D. Eagle and the M4, limiting thier effectiveness in the game. The bots are Ok, definitely better than the ones in Half-Life 2, and I never got why they did not just put them in that game. All in all, unless you are a god at the game, you are in for a mediocre experience. Only buy this if you are an actual representation of fps_Doug. Expand
  62. SlingShot
    Dec 30, 2006
    6
    Everything is great, except for the gameplay, compare it to 1.6 and you miss the fast action, you can like walk around corners as a madman and shoot everyone. The gameplay of 1.6 compare with the rest of source would be 10
  63. ZaneP.
    Apr 15, 2006
    7
    Its a great game..Love it..Only one flaw...I hate the fact that the AWP shoots perfectly straight no matter what--i mean you can jump around a corner and while doing it shoot somebody in the head..Its just lame...Other then that its PERFECT.
  64. JanusG.
    May 23, 2006
    7
    This game is so close to being so good, I dont understand the lack of follow up. First off, little things on the ground shouldnt incapacitate me from walking over them, and secondly if 1 shot to the head kills you, whats the point in buying a helmet for an extra 400 bucks? From online gameplay I've noticed that the better connection speed gets the first shot off. Not all connections This game is so close to being so good, I dont understand the lack of follow up. First off, little things on the ground shouldnt incapacitate me from walking over them, and secondly if 1 shot to the head kills you, whats the point in buying a helmet for an extra 400 bucks? From online gameplay I've noticed that the better connection speed gets the first shot off. Not all connections are created equal. Gun balance is insane and gameplay is inconsistent overall. However its still decently fun, but I've played better. Expand
  65. FerrisM.
    May 27, 2006
    7
    Since cheating is inevitable, I'd rather they used client side hit detection rather than the ugly server side hit detection. The physics are so unrealistic that they should either remove them or remove the physical interaction of pointless/useless objects. A perfessional chracter modeler can usually finish a character within 2 days. They should of finished all the player models by Since cheating is inevitable, I'd rather they used client side hit detection rather than the ugly server side hit detection. The physics are so unrealistic that they should either remove them or remove the physical interaction of pointless/useless objects. A perfessional chracter modeler can usually finish a character within 2 days. They should of finished all the player models by now but yet they have not. And last, for being the number 1 fps in world for some time they should have done a much better job on the game and to me it only seems to get worse as far as gameplay goes. Expand
  66. snowpapy
    May 29, 2006
    5
    only five because it s a nice game with a new and great gaming experience but there are more bugs of map with fps shutting down and lot of problems with hitboxs and sometimes you finished to prefer going out.
  67. CSSucks.
    May 29, 2006
    6
    I found that if you aim at the guys knees and unload the whole clip while you pull down on the mouse, you get lots of headshots. Loelz.
  68. FrancoG.
    Jul 31, 2006
    6
    Tbe graphics are really great and sometimes the gameplay gets really demanding. Unforunately, when shooting a guy's foot you randomly get a headshot. I've come to the conclusion that Valve has successfully made the head's hitbox the size of a refrigerator.
  69. RobertG.
    Aug 16, 2006
    5
    Good game with good graphics. But battlefield offers so much more. And with talk of hacking and people that look like they are hacking without doubt just leaves you wondering if people are hacking or not. And then you get the couple of high scoring players that whine when they die, like they aren't supposed to die or be invincible or maybe there hack failed them ?? Who knows..
  70. LuukasV.
    Aug 24, 2007
    7
    Graphics are very good, and even with slower PC you can play. But Like Yar said, its too easy. I mean if you started from CS1.6 and just then entered cs;s than you wont get so much exitement as in cs1.6. but you just started in cs:s than its good to learn.
  71. ColinD.
    Sep 11, 2008
    6
    Good, but not near Counter-Strike 1.6's competitive edge. If you want an easy, casual gaming experience with the cool headshot here and there then Source is the way to go. With overly detailed maps and odd player model hitboxes, Counter-Strike: Source will often leave the player saying, "WTF?"
  72. JoeS.
    Nov 16, 2006
    6
    Terrible. Unrealistic aiming. You can aim at their chest, pump'm, it'll say "headshot," if you actually kill'm. You stand no chance if you don't do immediate headshots. Casual players, like me, are killed in seconds, because of the losers who play nonstop, and abuse the many glitches of the game. I can't give any credit for graphics either, it's just Hal Life Terrible. Unrealistic aiming. You can aim at their chest, pump'm, it'll say "headshot," if you actually kill'm. You stand no chance if you don't do immediate headshots. Casual players, like me, are killed in seconds, because of the losers who play nonstop, and abuse the many glitches of the game. I can't give any credit for graphics either, it's just Hal Life 2. If you don't react in atleast .25 seconds, you're dead. No fun Expand
  73. Feb 12, 2011
    7
    Counter Strike : Source is a game which takes the Counter Strike mod for Half Life to the next level, featuring the Source Engine's capabilities. The problem which I have with this game, is the same as the one I have with Counter Strike, it's (how may I say it?) plain and not very "noob" friendly. I would only advice players who are experienced with FPS's to buy this game.
  74. Oct 11, 2010
    7
    I can definitely see the appeal this game might have on some people, I did not find it to be that special, maybe I like my shooters not to be so realistic. Keep in mind this is based on my personal taste. Overall this is an excellent game for those that enjoy this type of multipayer experience.
  75. Sep 5, 2013
    6
    There is not much reason to be playing this after Counter-Strike: Global Offensive was released. Everything about it is dated in comparison. Most importantly, there are only two or three servers that play official maps with a ping lower than 100 and with populated matches in my region.
  76. Dec 21, 2011
    7
    CS is, along with quake, the very definition of old school FPS and is quite unique compared with the majority of shooters released today. What I don't like about it is the core gameplay, the way you aim - there is only hipfire and no weapon can spray even remotely accurately (which redenders the LMG m249 completely useless). The good things about however are that there is a strongCS is, along with quake, the very definition of old school FPS and is quite unique compared with the majority of shooters released today. What I don't like about it is the core gameplay, the way you aim - there is only hipfire and no weapon can spray even remotely accurately (which redenders the LMG m249 completely useless). The good things about however are that there is a strong community around it, and there are lots of user created maps and game modes, such as gun game, surf or mini game. Expand
  77. Feb 29, 2012
    7
    A fun and addictive shooter. Watching someones ragdoll slump to the ground after a well aimed headshot is extremely rewarding. My problem comes from the weapon balance. The M4 and AK47 dominate but are hard to master. That simple fact alone makes it really hard to get good at this game. Most of the other guns are complete rubbish (ump45) and the AWP is one of the most overpowered guns IA fun and addictive shooter. Watching someones ragdoll slump to the ground after a well aimed headshot is extremely rewarding. My problem comes from the weapon balance. The M4 and AK47 dominate but are hard to master. That simple fact alone makes it really hard to get good at this game. Most of the other guns are complete rubbish (ump45) and the AWP is one of the most overpowered guns I have ever seen in a game. There is just no exuse for a gun where you can instantley look down the scope and hit somebody almost anywhere and it instakills them Expand
  78. Mar 13, 2012
    7
    A awesome fps for really hardcore players but also that maybe the bad side,as this game is mainly played by pro`s it is extremly hard for new players to pop in because they will get raped so bad.This game is rather old so the graphics aren't too great but the game is rather life like and the community has created many mods and new maps so for me well worth 10 bucks.
  79. Dec 31, 2012
    7
    Maybe a bit more interesting than the other tactical FPS. If you like that genre, then this is a good title for you. Personally I prefer FPS arena, so it's not a game that I play so much, but it's for sure better than COD/Battlefield, it requires more skill and teamwork.
  80. Mar 10, 2015
    5
    As of 2012, this game still has a huge online presence and comes with a decent map editor, but those are about the only good things I can say. The community is immature, unintelligent, rude, and very narrow minded as to what a good game or map(level) is. de_dust for life!, and all that... I might come back to play with my friends, but every time quit because this game is too arcade, theAs of 2012, this game still has a huge online presence and comes with a decent map editor, but those are about the only good things I can say. The community is immature, unintelligent, rude, and very narrow minded as to what a good game or map(level) is. de_dust for life!, and all that... I might come back to play with my friends, but every time quit because this game is too arcade, the maps are small and boring, and there are too many "WTF" moments. Expand
  81. May 6, 2013
    7
    I really liked the transistion from the uncomparable 1.6 to Source; although there is a certain amount of problems: i bought this game to have fun, even though it was already 23 seconds in to the game and i had already been killed. This game is purely for professionals and hardcore gamers, and my only regret was that i bought the game, everybody was pro in it and they wouldn't give aI really liked the transistion from the uncomparable 1.6 to Source; although there is a certain amount of problems: i bought this game to have fun, even though it was already 23 seconds in to the game and i had already been killed. This game is purely for professionals and hardcore gamers, and my only regret was that i bought the game, everybody was pro in it and they wouldn't give a chance to "n00bs". Expand
  82. Jun 24, 2013
    7
    I don't think it is the best FPS or even the best CS in the world, but it is certainly a really good mixture of tactical and a simple shooter (at some servers..), but it has a huge bad point. It's community is awful. I mean the noob who says you are cheater because you play great and the pro who says you are a noob when you play not so well... And the swearing in chat and in microphoneI don't think it is the best FPS or even the best CS in the world, but it is certainly a really good mixture of tactical and a simple shooter (at some servers..), but it has a huge bad point. It's community is awful. I mean the noob who says you are cheater because you play great and the pro who says you are a noob when you play not so well... And the swearing in chat and in microphone almost every minute is really annoying. If you didn't play with any of the older CS games, you should try it out.... but 1.6 is better... Expand
  83. Mar 11, 2016
    7
    A lot better than CS: GO, but faces out dated graphics, even at the time. However, if there was one Counter-Strike I would recommend, it would be this.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 90
    The game looks more beautiful than ever, with structures that feel weighty and solid and little visual touches throughout. The flash-bangs look fantastic.
  2. Valve has done a sterling job of moving a flagship franchise over to a new engine. Whilst the gameplay guts come over correct and intact, (which may disappoint some), Counter-Strike: Source is an even more engrossing and captivating experience, capable of sapping hours of your time, and even the worst "1337 g33zers" abusing voice chat can't spoil the fun you'll have with it.
  3. Counter-Strike: Source is, once you've gained a knack for it, the most consistently rewarding and surprising team-based shoot-'em-up available on the PC today. It's been dressed up nicely for its relaunch in 2004, but it wasn't broken, and Valve hasn't fixed it.