Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1044 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in 2047, Prophet is on a revenge mission after uncovering the truth behind Cell Corporation's motives for building the quarantined Nanodomes. The citizens were told that the giant citywide structures were resurrected to protect the population and to cleanse these metropolises of the remnants of Ceph forces. In reality, the Nanodomes are CELL's covert attempt at a land and technology grab in their quest for global domination. With Alien Ceph lurking around every corner and human enemies on the attack, nobody is safe in the path of vengeance. Everyone is a target in Prophet's quest for retribution. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Jun 10, 2013
    92
    You are an enhanced super-soldier, the ultimate killing machine developed through nanotechnology, and that fact is fleshed out during gameplay- you can do all the things that you would expect you could do. [April 2013]
  2. Feb 25, 2013
    90
    Crytek's last work is an excellent product. Crysis 3 on PC offers an awesome gaming experience, thanks to stunning graphics and a fast paced gameplay.
  3. Feb 27, 2013
    85
    On the PC, Crysis 3 is certainly better compared to the console versions, with Cry Engine 3 able to give the game true visual splendor, without asking for exorbitant hardware resources.
  4. Feb 19, 2013
    80
    A self-assured but largely unambitious game, content to refine the experience of the previous games in the series without deviating very far from the standard that they set.
  5. Feb 19, 2013
    75
    Crysis 3 is stunning to look at, successfully portraying an uneasy partnership of the natural and the artificial. As the story presses on, the conflict deepens and the visuals darken; it's as if you can feel the evil spreading throughout the city. As a piece of technology, Crysis 3 lives up to the series' legacy. As a game, it doesn't reach the same heights.
  6. Mar 13, 2013
    70
    Crysis 3 looks stunning and ticks all the right boxes, but the game doesn't do enough to distinguish itself in order to earn the higher marks.
  7. Feb 25, 2013
    50
    Crysis 3's campaign disappoints; its story isn't compelling, the storytelling itself doesn't help it, the level design remains an ordinary one, the difficulty is not well-balanced, and overall, there's no real risk taken creatively at any point in it. It's a game of appearances without substance; visually strong, but that's it. The multiplayer kind of saves the deal, most notably thanks to the Hunter mode.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 205
  1. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Awesome game!Greatest graphics and various gameplay.
    Crysis series continued with prophet and Psycho.Most wonderful art design for levels and
    great lighting effect,very good textures,awesome dx11 effects and solid gameplay.
    Welcome to next gen fps by crytek.
    Expand
  2. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    Game of the Year 2013 in my opinion. Very good continuation of one of the best PC games stories. Superb gameplay, a lot of fancy weapons, pretty tough opponents and the best graphics I've ever seen No other game can face the pageantry of the campaign... 10/10

    PS: dont bother to look at the negatives from people that probably cant even launch the game because of the high requirements...
    Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    Incredible game! Graphic is just amazing! I really love the bow very cool stealth killings... You still need think make some strategy... This game is really for people who love mix of first shooter, strategy and best graphic ever! I saw some bad reviews about going in stealth all the way but that's kind-a a point... time your moves with stealth and get on top...

    Anyhow.. I loved it..
    Expand
  4. May 30, 2014
    7
    This game was the worst of the series, in my opinion, but it was still pretty decent overall. The visuals are obviously great--but that's a given these days. The story is not terrible, but not great either. Then again, storyline never was the big selling point for the Crysis series. Unfortunately, the game introduces almost no new features from the previous title--so it's just more of the same. The nanosuit upgrade system is a little more fleshed out, and there's new bow weapon, but that's about it for new features. While lacking the open-world environment of the original Crysis, this title does at least provide an interesting city/jungle hybrid environment. In the end, the thing that really made this game lose points with me was that it felt like it was designed to be easy: most areas have only small pockets of enemies, which can be stealthily dispatched at your leisure. You usually have the time to just pick them off one by one until you clear the area--and even if you alert them, you can play hide-and-seek with your cloak all day. Also, there were almost no intense fights: one of the few things I really liked about Crysis 2 was the parts where you just have to stand your ground and fight off big waves of alien attackers. In this game, about the only time you have to fight anything is when you get spotted whilst sneaking. Overall I still think it's worth playing, if you are a fan of the series, but sadly it just doesn't live up to its predecessor in most areas... Expand
  5. Jan 8, 2014
    6
    Worst game in trilogy. No more original interesting story, no more atmosphere. Crysis 3 from next-gen sci-fi with original gameplay shooter become a boring copy of previous parts in trilogy. Crysis 3 has only good graphics, but a good game can not be built only on graphics, without story and characters. Expand
  6. Apr 19, 2013
    5
    Crysis 3 feels like it was all made for the crossbow, since it's the sole new thing they added, and the only equipment you will ever need through the whole campaign, Gameplay feels dull and empty, All i was doing is get cloaked, Kill some enemies with the crossbow (while still invisible), Go back behind cover to charge the nano-suit, and repeat the cycle, Ya doing that, and using the crossbow, was actually fun, but after a short while it gets boring and repetitive..
    i barely finished that game, the ending was worth it though, it was epic, But still the peak point at the final mission was just as boring as the rest of the game and even more, Even with the intense sound track and fancy flashy visual it was still a very tedious mission.
    And the story, the story is actually just another aliens cliche, Crytek is trying disparately to make it look somehow unique and special, but truth is, it has a dumb cliche plot..
    I'd give it 4/10 but one more point for the great ending.
    Expand
  7. Jul 27, 2014
    0
    Years after release i gave Crysis 3 a try after this disaster in Crysis 2. But it seems they learned nothing! The only thing in what this game is any good are the graphics. Beside of that most of the time i receive (Crysis 3 is not working anymore...) WTF? My hardware is fine, no overheating etc. and works with every other game. After some research i found out that a lot of people are having the same problems. So what is this BETA version all about? Then i continued playing. Some kind of hunter kicked my ass and i was flying through the ground deeper and deeper till everything around was white and the level was like 2 km above me??! LOL Srsly? Such bugs years after the release? Sorry but i stopped playing at this point. This game is not even worth 5 bucks. Expand

See all 205 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.