Metascore
41

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 12 out of 17
  1. Damnation is a useless action game especially for core gamers. If only the developers had fulfiled their promises, we could have had a pretty cool game. Now you can enjoy the vertical architecture and nothing more. [May 2009]
  2. Blue Omega’s vision is buried under so many layers of clumsy gameplay and painful cinematics that the glimmers of the game that could have been just can’t stem the tide.
  3. Technically, Damnation is not up to date, it looks like a game from the 20th century with overly complicated controls. It's a shame, because it could have been so much better. Blue Omega, please try again.
  4. Damnation fails at pretty much everything it attempts to do. The story has never heard of coherence, climbing shouldn't be attempted if the gamer wishes to retain his sanity, bullets might as well be thrown with Rourke's bare hands and visually, Damnation could've been entirely in grey and nobody would notice the difference.
  5. Damnation is so deeply generic and boring, so it gets the sort of mark that it deserves. [Aug 2009, p.71]
  6. Epic, steampunk fail. [Aug 2009, p.96]
  7. The big picture is impressive, but if the devil is in the details, this is his pitchfork jabbed right up your fundament. [Aug 2009, p.86]
  8. Damnation's good ideas are unfortunately never matched by its rough, unfinished and unsatisfying execution. [Issue#21, p.56]
  9. It's ill-thought from the very start, which is demonstrated by the contradictions and flaws evident throughout the entire game.
  10. Summing up, the first game of the moviemakers of Blue Omega is not as good as they expected. They have to work hard to polish the errors committed in this game, which better argument is the Steampunk aesthetics so enjoyed in underground genres.
  11. This third-person shooter is a trip into hell.
  12. Damnation sucks at every front. The futuristic cowboy setting is lame, the shootouts are boring and the story is just stupid. Damnation will ruin your day, your marriage and even your life.
  13. A sad story. The game had an interesting concept and a good amount of potential but it just never came together.
  14. The game's ambition far outstrips its creator's abilities: damned by execution rather than intent, but damned nonetheless. [July 2009, p.99]
  15. 25
    The gameplay isn't fun, the levels are too long, the sound is bad, and the story isn't interesting. There are more problems, but I'll leave my written flogging at that. Avoid this game at all costs.
  16. Eight hours of sheer boredom spread over a few equally gray (in all senses) levels.
  17. Damnation had potential, but manages to do everything wrong. The game looks and controls awful and never gets fun to play.
User Score
4.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 29
  2. Negative: 17 out of 29
  1. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    First time I tried to play I hated the game but when I got really bored one day played it again with my partner and we had more fun than most games we have played. the story is a bit lacking but the game play and scenery are amazing I'm guessing most people did what we did the first time round but never went back to try again. I really wish it had better reviews as we would have both loved a second to come out:( Full Review »
  2. Jan 10, 2014
    1
    Don't believe the users that give 10 to this useless game. They surely are employees. Don´t buy these don´t even play it for free. It could be a good PS1 game or a regular PS2 title. Full Review »
  3. Sep 8, 2013
    5
    The campaign for this game is definitely meant to be played co-op, since I would imagine that it would be pretty boring playing single-player. The story and the varied gameplay make it fairly interesting from beginning to end, but it can get tedious at certain points. The campaign is way too easy, which can make for a boring playthrough, but the weird, choppy game mechanics would have made a hard difficulty very frustrating. The cutscene graphics look horrendous, like something from a ps2-era game, but the in-game graphics are average for a 2009 title.

    I just wonder why this spent so much time in development from the 2006 release of the Damnation mod for UT2004, to this 2009 release, based on the UT3 engine. It was worth the $1.50 I paid for it though.
    Full Review »