Dark Souls II PC

Dark Souls II Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2283 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dark Souls II brings the franchise’s renowned difficulty & gripping gameplay innovations to both single and multiplayer experiences.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Apr 27, 2014
    100
    You'll get everything the fantastic console version had: a feeling of insecurity, respect for the apparently insurmountable, an unparalleled combat system. A nigh on perfect game.
  2. Apr 24, 2014
    98
    The PC version of Dark Souls II is the definitive one to own. It’s a good step up in the graphics and performance departments, annoying load times are drastically reduced, and players can even opt to play with the mouse and keyboard if they so desire. It shows that From Software spent a considerable amount of time attempting to come up with controls that would feel natural on the PC.
  3. Apr 25, 2014
    95
    Dark Souls II keep marking his very own label that players love. If you're a fan of the series, you’ve got a new journey to play and replay until the world fall back into darkness.
  4. Apr 24, 2014
    90
    Dark Souls 2 for the PC is a far cleaner port attempt than the first Dark Souls port.
  5. May 7, 2014
    90
    Dark Souls II, as its blessing and its curse, is not another Dark Souls. It is, however, more Dark Souls - and it makes good on its hallowed name.
  6. 90
    Dark Souls 2 offers glimpses of hope and illumination, but they always feel just out of reach. Scratching just below the surface to take on the challenges Dark Souls 2 has for you is where this game's appeal lies. The game will not be for everyone, but for those willing to tackle this game, it is a rewarding experience.
  7. Apr 24, 2014
    80
    This game is art in the good and bad sense of the word. It represents some of the best things that video games have to offer: at its most immersive, it offers a beautifully and thoughtfully rendered world to be explored that reveals itself not just through what is seen on the screen, but through the brutal and challenging experiences the player guides the in-game avatar through. The negative part of that is that the story of the game and the motivations and reasoning behind what is happening are obscure and unclear. A lot of the onus is on the player to piece things together. This is a kind of experience that is not necessarily designed to appeal to a broad swath of people, but its pitch perfect execution and strict adherence to its draconian design principles earn it a place in the pantheon of great games.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jun 19, 2014
    10
    Anyone giving this a negative review is playing it on the wrong system, this is a console game, not a computer game. on the ps3, it wasAnyone giving this a negative review is playing it on the wrong system, this is a console game, not a computer game. on the ps3, it was awwwweeeeessssooommmmeee. So much fun. Expand
  2. May 1, 2014
    10
    The game has been updated on Steam (PC), work for all now, no justification for this score by the HATERS, the game is beautiful, graphics isThe game has been updated on Steam (PC), work for all now, no justification for this score by the HATERS, the game is beautiful, graphics is modest, but nothing to panic (I liked) no border-aliasing, full FPS, good textures, and the game-play is REALLY GOOD on PC's, continues with the essence of Demon/Dark Souls. For me this game is EPIC... Battle, grade and equipment system is the most complex in the game EVER, the story-line (Lore) is amazing, the enemies are so hard! But I found easier than previous, nothing to spoil the game! Do not listen to any of these bad reviews below, buy the game and then tell me it was not worth it! Buy ORIGINAL and have no such problems! Expand
  3. Apr 28, 2014
    10
    UPDATE: The other review was negative,because the game didn't work.
    Finally the game it's working,(after the update) and All I can say,it's
    UPDATE: The other review was negative,because the game didn't work.
    Finally the game it's working,(after the update) and All I can say,it's awesome,beautiful,incredible and more hard than before.
    The multiplayer finally get fixed,now the connection it's super-fast and really good,good job from software.
    Expand
  4. May 13, 2014
    8
    This game took me around 2 1/2 weeks to finish. Off and on. It is definitely worth the money just for the amount of replayability after youThis game took me around 2 1/2 weeks to finish. Off and on. It is definitely worth the money just for the amount of replayability after you beat it, the time it takes to beat it and the amount of depth, artwork and beauty they added into the game. I just beat it as of 5/11/14 and I hope you guys enjoy the game as much as I did! Expand
  5. Mar 13, 2016
    6
    I can't believe this game has a better score than the first one.

    Thankfully, this one runs on 60fps and has a good optimization but that's
    I can't believe this game has a better score than the first one.

    Thankfully, this one runs on 60fps and has a good optimization but that's about it. The thing that annoys me in this game is the level design. It lost that feeling of being interconnected and stopped making sense, sea level changing to wherever the player is at. They also **** the durability system. It wasn't a good way of balancing OP weapons. No, it was **** to have your weapon break in the middle of a boss fight.
    They then decided to nerf miracles to the ground. Most damaging spells disappeared and got less cast uses. Same happened to pyromancies. At least they had variety.
    But then they decided to buff the hell out of magic and dark magic, which was already OP as fk in the first one.
    I could go on forever with flaws this game has, like boring boss fights, too many useless weapons, some lame designs and dexterity being trash.
    But hey, at least the DLC's were pretty good.
    Expand
  6. Jan 11, 2016
    3
    this game is just the most unprofessional game ever . so low graphics so boring with no story . you do only the same things again and again inthis game is just the most unprofessional game ever . so low graphics so boring with no story . you do only the same things again and again in all the game . it is so unprofessional that seems to me like minecraft but with a bit better graphics . it is a pity that someone can waste so many hours of his life on this game . i swear this game is so so low that it looks exactly the same with the games of ps2 Expand
  7. Jun 3, 2014
    0
    this game is not made to be difficult. just made to make ppl deal with an oldgame style bugged game. its just bugs on bugs and u just have tothis game is not made to be difficult. just made to make ppl deal with an oldgame style bugged game. its just bugs on bugs and u just have to deal with them to like the game.. we are not talking about difficulty.. seriously the saga and the story are great.. the gameplay tho is really trashy bugs everywhere no translations on some points and glitches to be done in order to get an easy way out.. GG this came is really bad imo :S Expand

See all 516 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2014

    The Best Videogames of 2014 Image
    Published: December 22, 2014
    We reveal the best and worst games for each platform in 2014.