User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 67
  2. Negative: 25 out of 67
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarlonBrando
    Jan 22, 2010
    5
    Good IP but the execution is lack-luster. Story doesn't do all that it could... no set up for mission etc. Boils down to mediocre shooter with arcade style flight sim tack-on.
  2. Jan 16, 2011
    6
    All in all this is a fun game. I picked it up for 10 EUR and am glad I did but am also glad I didn't pay more. Gfx are ok but not outstanding, game play is fun once you get used to the controls (I strongly advise against flight controls for flying, i.e. don't invert the y-axis), the combat is quite intense if a tad repetitive. Checkpoint saving is terrible, since there are really fewAll in all this is a fun game. I picked it up for 10 EUR and am glad I did but am also glad I didn't pay more. Gfx are ok but not outstanding, game play is fun once you get used to the controls (I strongly advise against flight controls for flying, i.e. don't invert the y-axis), the combat is quite intense if a tad repetitive. Checkpoint saving is terrible, since there are really few checkpoints. The story is one big mess - don't even bother to really understand it. I still don't know which purpose the natives in the beginning served. Turn your brain off and do the mission. Speaking of mission: the last level is a big disappointment - easy and very short. But all in all this is good enough to kill some time but nothing I would play twice because I have an urge to collect all bonus items (= incomprehensible diaries) etc. Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2010
    7
    This is far from a bad game. It's currently going for £5 in tesco in the UK and at that it's a steal. It isn't brilliant, but it is a competent 3rd person shooter with some wacky aerial combat. The real surprise though is the on the ground vertical combat, which will have you trying to remember which way is up ! Sure, the story is tacky but the graphics are pretty good,This is far from a bad game. It's currently going for £5 in tesco in the UK and at that it's a steal. It isn't brilliant, but it is a competent 3rd person shooter with some wacky aerial combat. The real surprise though is the on the ground vertical combat, which will have you trying to remember which way is up ! Sure, the story is tacky but the graphics are pretty good, the soundtrack is nice and the combat is great fun, if not up to Gears of War. To the reviewer (sorry, fanboy) who says it's not up to Halo3 (in his words, 'the greatest game ever !') then that's down to taste. I, for one, think Halo 3 is the most over-rated rubbish to have wasted my time on but I would pick Dark Void over the scurrying little alien drones in halo any day. Give it a try, it's a fiver ffs ! Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2011
    7
    I very much liked the game. It is a relaxing title with similar dynamics to Just Cause. Almost everything is lite here. Small story, small weapon choice, small mission variations. The shooting is ok, and it has interesting ideas like using the jet pack, jumping on the ledges. The controls are very easy, the ui is simple. There are some nice places here that make this game worth playing.I very much liked the game. It is a relaxing title with similar dynamics to Just Cause. Almost everything is lite here. Small story, small weapon choice, small mission variations. The shooting is ok, and it has interesting ideas like using the jet pack, jumping on the ledges. The controls are very easy, the ui is simple. There are some nice places here that make this game worth playing. The simple best about this game are the maps. It is very fun to use the jetpack to hover above the enemies shooting, throwing grenades. There are plenty of great shooting setups that make a good use of a very simple covering system. The thing is that in the end you start wondering what made you especially remember this game for. Well, not much. Good for a weekend walkthrough. Expand
  5. Aug 30, 2010
    6
    This game wasn't, too bad. I felt that the flying combat felt a bit repetive, just flying in circles untill you can lock on to your target. Other then that it was a solid game but slightly lacket execution @LeoM Don't compare games like halo to this game, its not even the same genre. Its no wonder no one found your review helpful
  6. LRose
    Feb 5, 2010
    6
    Dark Void basically consists of an attempt to meld two games into one: a standard third-person shooter (TPS), and an arcade-like flight combat game using a jetpack. The TPS portion of the game is fine, but not innovative (save for the instances of "vertical cover" which are good but limit you to pretty much a predetermined path). The flying/jetpack sequences are better, that is once you Dark Void basically consists of an attempt to meld two games into one: a standard third-person shooter (TPS), and an arcade-like flight combat game using a jetpack. The TPS portion of the game is fine, but not innovative (save for the instances of "vertical cover" which are good but limit you to pretty much a predetermined path). The flying/jetpack sequences are better, that is once you get used to the wonky and somewhat unresponsive controls. (I used a keyboard and mouse, but I understand that a controller works better.) The graphics are adequate, but nothing to write home about. The story is weak and poorly presented (although the voiceover work is generally fine), and the game itself is very short; at most, maybe 6-7 hours of gameplay. The best part of the game, by far, is the soundtrack. All-in-all, the game is average, I enjoyed parts of it more than others, but I doubt I'll go back to it anytime soon, if at all. I do think that it's worth playing, if you can get it on big-time sale. At $40, it's overpriced. Expand
  7. Nov 3, 2013
    7
    A B-movie amongst games. The plot is a little silly and the game takes a while to get off the ground but once you get the jet pack things become a lot more fun. Controls can be a bit of an issue as the thing handles like a greased piglet in flight, but I thought Dark Void had some very nice touches, worthy of special mention is Bear McCreary's soundtrack.
  8. Jul 27, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game wasn't as bad as i thought it would be. The use of jet packs and .45 cal machine guns is very inventive but the overall plot is kind of lacking some realness. All in all the game was fun, a bit to easy at times but still very fun. The flying battles were boring and repetitive and the final boss battle was too easy and was over before i knew it. Overall this game is a solid one, nothing that is a must have though. Expand
  9. Mar 30, 2013
    7
    A Very good solid 3rd person action adventure shooter game. The Story is about humans vs robots basically but it got boring for me and uninteresting after awhile. The Gameplay offers lots of variety in shooting with flying around, upside down, etc. The Graphics are solid, it has a sort of cartoonish vintage cinematic look and feel to it. Overall, its a very good shooter but the storyA Very good solid 3rd person action adventure shooter game. The Story is about humans vs robots basically but it got boring for me and uninteresting after awhile. The Gameplay offers lots of variety in shooting with flying around, upside down, etc. The Graphics are solid, it has a sort of cartoonish vintage cinematic look and feel to it. Overall, its a very good shooter but the story didn't draw me in enough to make me want to continue playing. Expand
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22
  1. PC Zone UK
    53
    A criminal waste of time and energy, as standard and generic a game as you could hope to find. [Feb 2010, p.74]
  2. Game Informer
    70
    Unfortunately, the shining strengths of the game are buried underneath a thick layer of rust that only the thirstiest of air-junkies should bother chipping through. [Feb 2010, p.95]
  3. And once the brutally short campaign is over, Dark Void is over.