Dark Void PC

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 67
  2. Negative: 25 out of 67
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 17, 2016
    4
    Dark Void is ultimately a game that should have been great, but falters in almost every area that matters.

    The game does a some things SO well; the jetpack controls are tight, the vertical shooter gameplay is great, and you can approach missions from almost any angle to gain a tactical advantage. Unfortunately, it's ridiculously unfinished. The story is garbage (with thinly veiled
    Dark Void is ultimately a game that should have been great, but falters in almost every area that matters.

    The game does a some things SO well; the jetpack controls are tight, the vertical shooter gameplay is great, and you can approach missions from almost any angle to gain a tactical advantage. Unfortunately, it's ridiculously unfinished. The story is garbage (with thinly veiled stolen plot sequences from The Matrix), the missions have no build-up, and the transition between cutscene and gameplay never stopped being jarring. Also, the later levels were completely unfinished, with tiled textures being extremely obvious on completely flat terrain. Not to mention I finished the game in under six hours.
    Expand
  2. Aug 20, 2013
    4
    this game had a nice start and i thought it would be awesome but then it went to be one of the most terrible game i ever played game play is horrible and so repetitive simply skip this game
  3. Dec 28, 2011
    0
    Broken game. Always crashes at cutscenes and the only fix is skip them as fast as you can. There isn't support from developer so this game is wasted money IMO. Crapcom sucks!
  4. [Anonymous]
    Mar 24, 2010
    1
    *lets out a MASSIVE sigh* One of the worst games ever.... I'll give this game a 1/10 just for the concept; if not for that the game would've been a 0. Usually I think most of the games here on Meta deserve a higher score. This one here though..... it deserves its score to be cut in 1/4s. For the life of me I can't see how it got anything above a 20. I **know** this review *lets out a MASSIVE sigh* One of the worst games ever.... I'll give this game a 1/10 just for the concept; if not for that the game would've been a 0. Usually I think most of the games here on Meta deserve a higher score. This one here though..... it deserves its score to be cut in 1/4s. For the life of me I can't see how it got anything above a 20. I **know** this review is very long, but if you're thinking about buying, you should honestly read it, it's worth it. It won't take up THAT much of your life. I was waiting for this game for months, and bought it the day it was released. Jetpacks and vertical combat? I gotta have it!! So far, I've made it past the initial Jetpack scene and about 5 minutes of the FPS beginning.... thats about 10 minutes total, if that. I've resigned myself to believethat buying it was just one of those mistakes you make when it comes to buying games. Wasting money is never fun but it happens. I'll start with the FPS half of the game. I didn't find much wrong with it except for the fact that, somehow, the game constantly made me nauseous after only a few minutes. The odd part about this is that Im an FPS vet and I'm playing 4-5 of them every day right now as is usually the case. Therefore, it's not the fact that its an FPS with quick turn-arounds and the like, I just really don't know WHAT it could be :/ Now the flight.... *shakes head*. I have NEVER seen such horrible flight mechanics. I'm absolutely SHOCKED that I haven't seen similar complaints in these reviews, I would be insanely surprised if it was just me who felt this way. Along with FPS and RPG games, flight games are my next fav so it's not flight itself that is making this so difficult. The controls (even customized (with my G19 gaming KB and G500 gaming mouse) as best as possible) and mechanics are just bottom-notch. It may be better with a joystick, but I didn't bother to try just to somewhat salvage this terrible game. The entire experience is an adventure into "What the &%$# is going on?!?! This is ridiculous!". The last thing I have to complain about, is very odd. I've never come across this problem before in my life. I am a graphic/game designer, so I have a very high- end rig along with large monitors, and top of the line gaming peripherals (KB, mouse, gamepad, stick, headset, speakers.... this has a point). That being said, I have NEVER had to adjust the sensitivity of my mouse ingame before as I have way of doing it in realtime on my mouse and KB. This game however, required me to spend almost an hour tweaking the sensitivities of the mouse during ground and air movrments (each has its own sensitivities). That's a HUGE pain that completely takes away from the fun of the game. Even with the sensitivities tweaked as much as possible I STILL had to constantly use my DPI switcher depending on what I was doing at the time (running, aiming, platforming, free-flying, dog-fighting). Unforgivable.... Ridiculous. So I say to you few who read this insanely long review, or the people who just skipped to the last paragragh.... Avoid this game like the Black Plague. It had a good concept, but I've never seen a game mess up a good concept so entirely. If you happen to be a masochist though.... this is the game for you, hands down. One of the worst games I've ever bought, and I've purchased more games than I can remember or care to admit. Expand
  5. EliasN
    Feb 5, 2010
    3
    While I was waiting for this game to finally be released way back in 2008 I must say the preliminary game site and player reviews have me a little worried. Many state they were very disappointed in what they saw and how the game played overall. I usually wait for my fellow gamers and critic reviews before I purchase a game but for some reason I went ahead and bought the game. It took me a While I was waiting for this game to finally be released way back in 2008 I must say the preliminary game site and player reviews have me a little worried. Many state they were very disappointed in what they saw and how the game played overall. I usually wait for my fellow gamers and critic reviews before I purchase a game but for some reason I went ahead and bought the game. It took me a few moments to rearrange my keyboard mappings and mouse to the way I prefer but right off the bat I was thrown into a hellish aerial firefight with all kinds of alien and human craft darting in and out. I couldn't tell who was friend or foe while I struggled to figure out how to control the jetpack. I couldn't hit a goddam thing, only after I readjusted up the mouse sensitivity and made a few more keyboard changes was I able to make hits and take downs. I was finally able to jump on one of the alien spacecrafts and take it over just like in the slick looking previews. Anyway, my impression is that they worked really hard at getting the eye candy, audio and music just right but kinda left the story to fit in any where it could making it very thin. The upgrade feature feels tacked on, you collect blue, red or purple glowing orbs strategically scattered in inaccessible locations all over the levels. Find an orb you get points towards upgrading your weapons, pretty simple except the upgrade interface is overly simplistic and tt looks like it belongs in a indie game instead of one striving to be a first class FPS. It would have made more sense to implement a system like maybe finding and using alien tech laying around under bushes or trees and fashioning better gadgets and improved weapons then the one in place now. The Journal and its pages also seem like a poorly contrived plot device added to help move the idiotic storyline along. Apparently they're are provided to act as backfill for the story but all they seem to do is add more confusion to the already muddy plot. The most absurd sequence in the game occurs when both protagonists encounter the villagers for the first time and are introduced to Nikola Tesla. Neither one of them had the good sense to ask the most obvious, basic questions like "Hey, How did you get here"? or "What the hell are those robot things and why the hell are you all running around half naked"? or "WHERE THE HELL ARE we"? Instead we are treated to a cutscene where Tesla gives them both rocket jetpacks he somehow magically put together. Tesla gives them an important goal, shoves them out the door then promises more will be revieled later, weird. The game does have a nice open world feel to it, you're not prevented from exploring a good ways away from the beaten path. The AI enemies are pretty stupid, they just stand there taken hit after hit until they fall down. It takes a butt load of shots to drop one but by the time it does more enemies come boiling up out of no where takenb potshots at you, nice. Overall I'm giving the game a 3 because of the poor storyline, stupid AI and tacked on weapons upgrade system. Don't drop $40.00 bones for this game like I did just rent it. Collapse
  6. LeoM.
    Jan 27, 2010
    4
    This game is not good graphic like halo 3(the greatest game of all time) and not FPS. Patch this game for FPS and I will give it a 6. This game are also lacking deep characters and story like the classic halo and gears of war series. Instead of buying this game, buy a real classic like MW2 or the soon to come out halo reach!
  7. Mazuko
    Jan 22, 2010
    2
    I played this game thinking that Rocketeer OMG!! Only to realize yet again...why I have never enjoyed any attempts at flight in video games outside of actual simulators. The 3rd person ground game is ..... eh .... nothing really special. There is a few cool scenes and a few cool ideas but most of it is the same repetetive crap that you saw 10 minutes before but ina different location. The I played this game thinking that Rocketeer OMG!! Only to realize yet again...why I have never enjoyed any attempts at flight in video games outside of actual simulators. The 3rd person ground game is ..... eh .... nothing really special. There is a few cool scenes and a few cool ideas but most of it is the same repetetive crap that you saw 10 minutes before but ina different location. The flight mechanic is a distaster. Fly straight up? You do a loop and go flying straight into the ground. It takes WAY too long to turn around and even aim properly. Often I found myself flying into my objective as I could not turn around. Even the camera goes all loopy on you when fly as it is very hard to keep your vision "level" so one second you are flying dead on, the next you are looking at a crooked angle and BAM you hit a wall. The sound track however, is freaking amazing. By far the best part of this game, if I had a chance right now, event hough I know it is being release soon, I would go buy the sound track to this game and get a refund on the game itself. Expand
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22
  1. PC Zone UK
    53
    A criminal waste of time and energy, as standard and generic a game as you could hope to find. [Feb 2010, p.74]
  2. Game Informer
    70
    Unfortunately, the shining strengths of the game are buried underneath a thick layer of rust that only the thirstiest of air-junkies should bother chipping through. [Feb 2010, p.95]
  3. And once the brutally short campaign is over, Dark Void is over.