Darksiders II PC

Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 603 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Darksiders II follows the exploits of DEATH, one of the four horsemen of the Apocalypse, in a weaving tale that runs parallel to the events in the original Darksiders game. This epic journey propels DEATH through various light and dark realms as he tries to redeem his brother WAR, theDarksiders II follows the exploits of DEATH, one of the four horsemen of the Apocalypse, in a weaving tale that runs parallel to the events in the original Darksiders game. This epic journey propels DEATH through various light and dark realms as he tries to redeem his brother WAR, the horseman who was blamed for prematurely starting the Apocalypse in Darksiders. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Sep 25, 2012
    96
    Being a fan of almost every genre this game has smashed together into one has made it highly enjoyable, and the ending had me hoping that the next installment (should they choose to make it) gets in the development queue soon.
  2. 90
    Darksiders 2 rises above the rest as a perfect example of what an action-adventure game should be, and if I had my way, Vigil Games would be making them all.
  3. Aug 29, 2012
    90
    It has everything – great environmental puzzles, Prince of Persia style acrobatics, spectacular combat and an advanced character development system. It's definitely the best slasher available on PC and X360 and one of the best in genre's history. [10/2012, p.48]
  4. Aug 14, 2012
    83
    Darksiders 2 may not be perfect but it is a great action game nonetheless and guarantees hours of thrilling entertainment.
  5. Oct 11, 2012
    80
    Loot interacts with combat far better than Death's abilities. [Oct 2012, p.68]
  6. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    An exciting and lengthy adventure with interesting characters and a host of items and features that make its mix of combat and puzzle-solving very attractive. It's better if you also played the original game, but even if you didn't, Darksiders II is definitely worth looking at.
  7. Aug 24, 2012
    60
    I can say, though, that Darksiders 2 plays really, really well on a decent PC, so what it lacks in fidelity it at least partially makes up for in smooth framerates.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 138
  2. Negative: 29 out of 138
  1. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    great game. Most people will complain about the lack of graphics options. however, this game just proves that those arent necessary when yougreat game. Most people will complain about the lack of graphics options. however, this game just proves that those arent necessary when you have a great game, great art and jasper kyd as your composer, who once again does an outstanding job with the music. Its one of the most fun games ive played in a while. The cons are minimal compared to what it has to offer. dont be an elitist, be a gamer and appreciate what this game is doing. In a world populated by FPS and lame games like COD, this is a gem of a game, which surpasses the first one by miles. I trusted thq to give me a good game and they delivered by giving me an awesome game. Expand
  2. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    this great game i love it i keep playing it on pc cause it fun the more i get into it more i love this one better then first one this onethis great game i love it i keep playing it on pc cause it fun the more i get into it more i love this one better then first one this one show more design more open world world Expand
  3. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I hear very often that the game sucks for PC, but I'm reviewing the PS3 version.

    The graphics are stunning, and Death himself is a badass. The new loot system, the talent trees, and getting my horse at the very beginning was much better than having to wait until over halfway through the game like the last one. Death is not War in any way, and that's great. He's his own person, has his own (wondrously unsavory) personality, and turning into the Grim Reaper as much as you do is satisfying. The puzzles are just as entertaining and frustrating as the last game. Though Dust can, at times, be a bit confusing when you're trying to find the right way, you'll usually figure it out (after a bit of head scratching).

    I was disappointed when I did not see Fury and Strife, as Vigil had promised us that, but perhaps the White and Black Riders will get their own games, eh?
    Expand
  4. Jan 20, 2013
    8
    So, after enjoying the first game I went straight for the second one. In Darksiders II we play as the Death horseman, who sets out to clearSo, after enjoying the first game I went straight for the second one. In Darksiders II we play as the Death horseman, who sets out to clear his brother Expand
  5. Aug 25, 2012
    8
    An all around time sink. This game's story is quite average with no new ground breaking or thought provoking moral themes, but it serves theAn all around time sink. This game's story is quite average with no new ground breaking or thought provoking moral themes, but it serves the purpose well. The combat is reactive and fast pace, although I found everything to be a cake walk as soon as i built up some critical chance and got Achidna's fangs from the story--even on the hardest difficulty. The aesthetics in this game are very well done although disappointing because of the slightly below average port. The texture work is bad. Without changing the focus i can see whole millimeter pixels in the shadows. For some odd reason inventory is mapped to "o" and "i" just pauses. In order to remap keys you actually have to go into the items screen. The map system is annoying requiring you to click and drag a small white box over the location, but these end up being only slight hindrances. The video options are sparse through and through, but seeing as this is a port, remains unsurprising. The controls have failed me more than once in a high stress platforming situation; I often found Death doing the wrong context sensitive action in a lava-is-rising-you-need-to-get-out-now situation but never enough to cause a rage quit. Over all this is a solid game, not revolutionary, that is barely held back by the transfer from consoles to PCs. Expand
  6. Oct 8, 2012
    7
    Fairly enjoyable game, great fun/active combat with a very simplistic story line, and moderately short play-trough. The game is well worth theFairly enjoyable game, great fun/active combat with a very simplistic story line, and moderately short play-trough. The game is well worth the full price at launch ($59), I did think I got the price's worth of fun from this game within the first few hours of playing it alone. The game feels tight, fluid with very short loading times (not common in console ports), very immersive combat and visually decent. The bad things about the game mainly strain from the fact is a console port. A BAD CONSOLE PORT at that. Very little effort from the developers to port the game to PC with the full range of options expected by PC gamers. Thanks to this the game suffers mainly in the visuals, which have an amazing art but very VERY poor textures and graphic fidelity. It also suffers in the sound quality, controls, and other details around the game not worth mentioning. It's sad to take points from this game due to this, but it's true. No developer deserves a good score if they don't put the very least effort to port their game correctly to PC. Compared to other recently released RPGS, like Kingdoms of Amalur, this one falls short in the replay-ability department, it's much easier to jump into and understand the game at its fullest, but at the same time I don't see myself playing this game over a third time. The game itself is moderately short, not short enough to make you say "that 'it?" though. Conclusion: Overall the game is fun and easy to jump into, which makes it a good RPG well worth its price tag. Most people don't expect much more from an Action-Combat RPG anyways, so it's a fine game for today's standards. Most of the problems strain from the fact it has a very poor port to PC, otherwise it would've been a 9/10 in my book. Don't expect a Mass Effect quality of storyline, nor a Kingdoms of Amalur quality of world/replay-ability. It's still a very good Action-Combat RPG overall tough. Expand
  7. Mar 25, 2014
    0
    darksiders 2 is overall a fun game, but it was pretty inconsistent. most of the enviroments are amazing. some of the dungeons are also prettydarksiders 2 is overall a fun game, but it was pretty inconsistent. most of the enviroments are amazing. some of the dungeons are also pretty atmosphereic and cool. puzzles are overall mediocore. sometimes they are good but some times theyre boring and not fun to do. the music in the game is mostly good and pretty epic, though sometimes its a bit anoyying. and combat system is overall great, but like the puzzles, it gets tedious near the end of the game. the pacing in the game isnt really good. the best thing about the game is the boss fights. they are just thrilling and really fun to do. every boss fight feels unique, even though they dont really innovate.
    the game has few problems though. graphics arent really good. because the enviroment looks good, it makes up for it a bit, but when theres a cutscene and you have close-ups on characters and objects, you see how bad textures and character models are.the animations are inconsistent. finishers look great and opening doors is also pretty cool. combat animation are good, though they can be better. the running animation is pretty bad though. running also feels too slow. the story is bland. writing and characters are bad. voiceacting is also for the most part bad. the game tries to make a cool universe but it fails. the story was pretty forgetable. the open world is useless and doesnt make any real purpose. your horse is also pretty useless as you barely use him. the game is also a bit buggy. the aim redicle is just bad, and its a shame they released it. the aim redicle feels like a cheap port, and there are barely graphics options.
    overall, i sometimes enjoyed the game. it has a lot of problems, but sometimes i just couldnt stop playing because it was so amazing, but sometimes it was really boring and i didnt really want to play it. the game is just inconsistent in almost every aspect. if you like this kind of game, you will enjoy it and in its best moments it will be great, just sometimes expect some boring segments and a bad port.
    Expand

See all 138 User Reviews