User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 529 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 529

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    This is a fantastic game. I was expecting a cheap God of War Clone, but it's far better than that. For one thing the Horseman War is far more interesting a character than Kratos, whose one-note vengeance act is wearing pretty thin. Great atmosphere, fun combat, very creative puzzles, and some of the best creature design ever. It's a long game with tons of bosses, and they're all awesomeThis is a fantastic game. I was expecting a cheap God of War Clone, but it's far better than that. For one thing the Horseman War is far more interesting a character than Kratos, whose one-note vengeance act is wearing pretty thin. Great atmosphere, fun combat, very creative puzzles, and some of the best creature design ever. It's a long game with tons of bosses, and they're all awesome looking. New elements are constantly introduced to keep it fresh--grappling hook, horseback combat, and even some Portal dynamics near the end. The biggest criticism is that Darksiders doesn't do anything new, but combining all these great elements from other games so successfully IS something new. Expand
  2. Jul 23, 2012
    7
    The game is descent. Perhaps it is good for a console, but it is just ok for the PC:
    basically, you run around with a sword, and kill nasties with different combo moves which basically are performed only using left mouse button. The story is cheesy - i mean, come on - Angels Fighting Demons! Man! Who's God then?.. Anyway, the graphics are good, but you are stock in a narrow point of
    The game is descent. Perhaps it is good for a console, but it is just ok for the PC:
    basically, you run around with a sword, and kill nasties with different combo moves which basically are performed only using left mouse button. The story is cheesy - i mean, come on - Angels Fighting Demons! Man! Who's God then?.. Anyway, the graphics are good, but you are stock in a narrow point of view mode which you cannot change. There is no leveling up system - but your weapons do level up and increase in damage with time (depending on kills). The store (where you can buy stuff for souls) actually sucks asc - some character customization would be much more welcome (let's say a green-glowing scythe), than a combo move (you can actually kill anything without combos)!
    Overall, a 7/10 game. Killed a few hours with it. Switching to Fallout: New Vegas!!!! ):D
    Expand
  3. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    i got this game free when i bought Space Marine off steam. It was 2 days before space marine was released so i decided to play this....3 days later space marine was availiable but i wouldnt play it untill i finished this. this game is pure awsome. if u like hack n slash type arcade games with a good story and easy fun gameplay with alot of cool upgrades then i definately reccomend this. Ii got this game free when i bought Space Marine off steam. It was 2 days before space marine was released so i decided to play this....3 days later space marine was availiable but i wouldnt play it untill i finished this. this game is pure awsome. if u like hack n slash type arcade games with a good story and easy fun gameplay with alot of cool upgrades then i definately reccomend this. I will buy the 2nd one when its out in a heartbeat! Expand
  4. Mar 6, 2012
    8
    Before I even played the game I knew that I would enjoy it. It is rare for a game to do something like this because of something called "story" which is something a lot of people tend to not care about anymore these days. For those of you who don't know and have been missing out, story is this fascinating thing that makes games more than just fun, but entertaining and involving. WhileBefore I even played the game I knew that I would enjoy it. It is rare for a game to do something like this because of something called "story" which is something a lot of people tend to not care about anymore these days. For those of you who don't know and have been missing out, story is this fascinating thing that makes games more than just fun, but entertaining and involving. While playing the game I felt myself driven to keep going not only because the combat was exciting and enjoyable to watch (which it was) and not to just unlock all the items and powers (which are all fun in their own right) but because I wanted to know what happens to War! Its brilliant, and more games need it. In my opinion even games that are poorly executed should have one of these two features: A unique and interesting story that makes you WANT to know what happens next, just like a good book. And if it doesn't have that then it should allow you to make that story for yourself. And Darksiders does that first one to a well polished shine. As far as gameplay goes that's really where the score of 8 is coming from. Its fun and wonderful to watch but button mashing is really all you need followed by a good dodge every now and then, puzzles are well and good but we've all seen puzzles before. However what isn't really a strong argument is the keymapping. Which yes DEFAULT keymapping is awkward, but surprise guys, you have the power to change all that which I did, and I was able to set it up to where it wasn't awkward anymore; amazing how the ability to change the keymapping can fix crappy key configurations. You'll get your money's worth and more, pick it up and enjoy. Expand
  5. Jun 8, 2012
    9
    I hate to break it to the folk out there that are crying "console port!" on this one, but this is a game that was built around the controller. The PC controls are playable, but for this one you'll need a controller. If you don't own a controller, then you shouldn't get this game if you ain't a console port fan. And honestly, you SHOULD own a controller if you're always complaining aboutI hate to break it to the folk out there that are crying "console port!" on this one, but this is a game that was built around the controller. The PC controls are playable, but for this one you'll need a controller. If you don't own a controller, then you shouldn't get this game if you ain't a console port fan. And honestly, you SHOULD own a controller if you're always complaining about console ports. That would probably solve your gripes right from the start. Now, as far as the actual GAME goes, I find it fantastic. This is DMC meets Zelda, and it satisfies both styles very well. I would recommend this one to any fan of action RPGs with a sweet story, awesomely detailed characters and interesting personalities, as well as graphics that execute the comic book style pretty much perfectly. Again, this is a must on a controller, and only a controller! Expand
  6. Aug 19, 2011
    9
    A truly awesome game showcasing an epic story and incredible attention to graphical detail. So much blood & gore hack n' slash fun with Steam achievements! Each boss offers a unique character and provides an impressive battle. A game controller is highly recommended to play this console port. There are two levels that are really lengthy puzzle environments which can cause frustration toA truly awesome game showcasing an epic story and incredible attention to graphical detail. So much blood & gore hack n' slash fun with Steam achievements! Each boss offers a unique character and provides an impressive battle. A game controller is highly recommended to play this console port. There are two levels that are really lengthy puzzle environments which can cause frustration to the point of not wanting to continue playing. One comes very early at the Cathedral. All I have to say is stick with it. By no means is this game easy, but the experience is well worth it. Expand
  7. Apr 8, 2011
    8
    This is a really good adventure/action game. Kind of a mixture between Zelda and God of War. It doesnt reach the quality of any of these games, but it does faily well to be recommended. If you like this types of games, give Darksiders a try. You might be surprised!
  8. Sep 24, 2011
    7
    My feelings toward this game were constantly changing as I played it. At first It seemed epic action game with the only flaw being it's graphics but I got over it and I was still thinking it's an awesome game. After some time (the bat-dragon-like-thing boss) I started to get irritated. Puzzles in this game are too hard, and maps are horribily designed (they look like remaked maps from 2DMy feelings toward this game were constantly changing as I played it. At first It seemed epic action game with the only flaw being it's graphics but I got over it and I was still thinking it's an awesome game. After some time (the bat-dragon-like-thing boss) I started to get irritated. Puzzles in this game are too hard, and maps are horribily designed (they look like remaked maps from 2D platformers, most of them at least). I managed to get stuck too many times or died because of the not very responsive controls. I never finished this game, but I think it's worth it if you can get over the map design, the irritating puzzles and the average controls. The audio was nothing special. The story seemed a bit stupid, but I liked it after all. I recommend it if you want some fast impressive action on your screen and you have nothing better than 7/10 . Ty for reading it's my first review. Expand
  9. Jun 3, 2012
    9
    Only one negative thing about the game: hard port from console, which makes graphics preset to specific settings ana sometimes difficult controls.
    Otherwise, its a brilliant game.
    Some Prince of Persia, some Devil May Cry but very unique story and a FUN game. Casting all religious aspects aside (its just a fiction) you will remember those 15 or so hours on gameplay on APPOCALYPTIC
    Only one negative thing about the game: hard port from console, which makes graphics preset to specific settings ana sometimes difficult controls.
    Otherwise, its a brilliant game.
    Some Prince of Persia, some Devil May Cry
    but very unique story and a FUN game.
    Casting all religious aspects aside (its just a fiction)
    you will remember those 15 or so hours on gameplay on APPOCALYPTIC difficulty
    and unforgettable ending..
    Well done, the game is a must buy for adventure lovers
    Expand
  10. Dec 7, 2011
    8
    This game is like taking God of War and the Legend of Zelda and forging them togheter by the hands of Ronnie James Dio, all for 20 bucks? and on my PC! that sounds like a good deal for me.
  11. Apr 29, 2012
    9
    I bought this game for its apocalyptic setting. I thought it was a great prelude for the great duel between Heavens and Hells coming in Diablo III (truth be told, Christian Lichtner is the art director for both titles). I was right! Darksiders is a small gem! It struck me for great combat mechanics, very unique setting and atmosphere, as well as the creature design. The gameplay is fun,I bought this game for its apocalyptic setting. I thought it was a great prelude for the great duel between Heavens and Hells coming in Diablo III (truth be told, Christian Lichtner is the art director for both titles). I was right! Darksiders is a small gem! It struck me for great combat mechanics, very unique setting and atmosphere, as well as the creature design. The gameplay is fun, very diversified and compelling. The music is as epic as it should be. The bosses' difficulty is high and engaging. It's a very good title, made to resemble some AAA titles on the market and yet unique! The only glitch I found is that the engine is not very well optimised for PC: graphics glitches and FPS drops are a common nuisance. Also I'm not quite sure that is has a replayability that could make Darksiders enter the gaming hall of fame. For these reasons, I give it 9 out of 10. Expand
  12. Aug 12, 2012
    10
    Darksiders is a game that kept me wholly entertained throughout it's 26 hour campaign. (30hours with all the collectables). It borrows gameplay elements from the likes of Zelda and Metroid and utilizes them well. The combat is fluid, raw, and very entertaining. The story is well constructed and the characters are believable and interesting. The game looks quite beautiful in full 1080p andDarksiders is a game that kept me wholly entertained throughout it's 26 hour campaign. (30hours with all the collectables). It borrows gameplay elements from the likes of Zelda and Metroid and utilizes them well. The combat is fluid, raw, and very entertaining. The story is well constructed and the characters are believable and interesting. The game looks quite beautiful in full 1080p and the art design fits the game well. I really have nothing bad to say about Darksiders other than I wish it was even longer. I cannot wait for Darksiders II. If you haven't played this one yet, you're really missing out. Expand
  13. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    One of the most awesome hack & slash games out there after God of War. The campaign, although short, will keep you in front of the PC for days. There are lost of places to explore and admire (the art style of the game is fantastic), lots of enemies to kill and a very addicting story.
  14. Feb 5, 2012
    9
    It's been a long time since I enjoyed an action game on my PC (it goes back to Legacy of Kain: Soul Reaver) and this game really did it. Nice storyline, the main character is cool (even if he kinda looks like Arthas from Warcraft III) and the amount of fighting in the game isn't boring. I can't wait for the sequel, Darksiders II!
  15. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    Really awesome game! The fight is really enjoyable with good combos and weapons, the puzzles remind me of Zelda: Ocarina of time and even the story is good. Overall its a very entertaining game with good graphics and controls.
  16. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    So, I just finished the game. I only can say one thing: This franchise needs to be saved! Its so awesome, the boss fights are epic, the story is great. I really love the combo's you can do and the setting of the story.

    It would be a shame of the game industry to let the franchise rot now THQ is gone.
  17. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    I wasn0t sure if I should buy this game first. I'm not that much of an action-gamer. Bought it cheap anyways and was amazed how much fun I had. Darksiders opened a compelte new world of games for me - thanks alot for that.
  18. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    That game is amazing. They basically copied Zelda games (i really mean it, it's impossible to play without thinking of Zelda) then added a devil may cry combat style, more RPG elements and better storytelling. My only point against this game is its short length (approximately 20h for me)
  19. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played. The story is great and the atmosphere of the whole Hell vs Heaven conflict is a killer! The style of the game is amazing - you will not find this horrible cartoonish style in this game.

    Slashing through the hordes of enemies is very satisfying and makes you want to play it more and more! I can't wait for part II. Highly recommended! PS.
    One of the best games I have ever played. The story is great and the atmosphere of the whole Hell vs Heaven conflict is a killer! The style of the game is amazing - you will not find this horrible cartoonish style in this game.

    Slashing through the hordes of enemies is very satisfying and makes you want to play it more and more!

    I can't wait for part II. Highly recommended!

    PS. Get a gamepad to fully enjoy the game, It's way better on a pad than on K+M
    Expand
  20. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Purchased this game for $5 during the 2012 Steam Summer Sale and was very pleasantly surprised. Great story and characters. Good graphics. Good controls. Better than God of War and we loved God of War. We need more games like this! Eagerly anticipating the sequel.
  21. Oct 16, 2012
    8
    At first glance Darksiders looked to me just like any other 3rd person adventure hack and slash. In fact in the first level or so there is nothing more to it, but after that the game really picks up and gets interesting. I was mostly drawn in by its great setting that takes place in a post-Armageddon world where both angels and demons deem you as an enemy. The art style and theAt first glance Darksiders looked to me just like any other 3rd person adventure hack and slash. In fact in the first level or so there is nothing more to it, but after that the game really picks up and gets interesting. I was mostly drawn in by its great setting that takes place in a post-Armageddon world where both angels and demons deem you as an enemy. The art style and the environments were really beautiful as well, what enhanced the atmosphere. After you've gotten past the first level, that's when your character starts to learn new moves, making combat very fun and engaging. In addition you get some new weapons as well, like the Scythe, for more crowd control, and also a Tremor Gauntlet, if you fancy power punching. Among all the combat, the boss fights especially stood out for me. Each and every boss fight was both challenging and enjoyable at the same time and this is perhaps the game's biggest strength in my opinion. The cool cutscenes and the special kills were an icing on the cake. Although there are so many good things about this game and although I've given it a 9, I also have several criticisms. First of all, the game is not exactly a very good console port. The keyboard and mouse control scheme was more or less playable, but it's the fact that you couldn't change graphics options apart from resolution. Of course this isn't much of a problem for someone with a powerful PC, but for those of us with average machines, even on low resolution there is a noticeable drop in framerate in some areas of the game, making it quite stuttery. Another thing that I disliked - some areas were just a bit too long, like the Hollows and the Ashlands. Not sure whose bright idea it was that the sewers and the desert are good candidates for lengthy levels, since those usually tend to be amongst the most boring of the environments in any game. The Black Throne level was perhaps the biggest offender. Although it was a very beautiful level with some cool battles, it had way too much backtracking and also made you do the same thing 3 times! And my last criticism would be towards the puzzles. Although there were some great puzzles in the game, some others were really annoying. They weren't hard or anything. You could figure out most of them right away. It's just that to execute those solutions usually took too long, requiring too much running and jumping about, as well as tonnes of trial and error, and hence that was breaking the pace of the game. All those criticisms are quite strong for me and I guess if I wasn't so charmed by the game's setting and art style, I probably would've given it an 8 rather than a 9. Overall the game is highly entertaining and worth checking out. Going to be trying out the second one no doubt. Expand
  22. Aug 6, 2012
    8
    First I have to point out: don't listen to those saying it is a cheap console port, it is not. Controls are good, rarely I had problems with it. Graphic is still good and if someone downvotes game purely based on slightly out-dated graphic... The story is truly epic, I like characters, finally game with some memorable ones. Voice-acting is done very well. Combat is fun, fluid and can beFirst I have to point out: don't listen to those saying it is a cheap console port, it is not. Controls are good, rarely I had problems with it. Graphic is still good and if someone downvotes game purely based on slightly out-dated graphic... The story is truly epic, I like characters, finally game with some memorable ones. Voice-acting is done very well. Combat is fun, fluid and can be quite complex if you want to. The game is relatively long (took me around 12-15 hours to finish it on the highest difficulty) but it wasn't boring, it was still pushing the story forward. I highly recommend this game to God of War, Devil May Cry or maybe Prince of Persia fans. This game is often on -75% sale and for that price it is a steal. Expand
  23. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    One of the best games this gen totally and utterly underrated !!!!! get this without hesitation, this game deserves so much more attention than what it gets.
  24. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    A lot of action, nice graphics and art style, reminds me of Warcraft 3, fluid gameplay but garbage console port controls. I loved it, THQ somehow always manage to amaze me with their games.
  25. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    So far I am 3 hours into the game, and am having a lot of fun doing so! Combat is a mix of Space Marine and God of War, which certainly is not a bad thing. Fluent combat is what makes this game shine, and when different weapons and different combos are mixed together into a single flurry of attacks, the game is incredibly enjoyable. However, the only downside is that it is easy to forgetSo far I am 3 hours into the game, and am having a lot of fun doing so! Combat is a mix of Space Marine and God of War, which certainly is not a bad thing. Fluent combat is what makes this game shine, and when different weapons and different combos are mixed together into a single flurry of attacks, the game is incredibly enjoyable. However, the only downside is that it is easy to forget the amount of combos available to the player, and many will keep pressing 'Attack' rapidly, forgetting about the possibility of combos and just slashing their way to victory, pulling the game's score down to 9 instead of 10. If the game encouraged you to mix combos to create a greater variety of attacks, this game would easily receive a 10. Expand
  26. Sep 9, 2012
    9
    A fantastic game with an epic storyline. I see many complain about the controls, I finished it twice with an xbox controller and it's flawless... maybe some games are just meant for a gamepad. Otherwise, though, there is only one bug that I (and apparently the community) know of. I give it a 9 only for the grief it gave people w/o gamepads
  27. Aug 28, 2012
    8
    Great game BUT you NEED a controller. Keyboard control is HORRIBLE. I really don't know what they where thinking when making it... You can save EVERYWHERE for the people complaining about the way point... PRESS start. look bottom of the screen. You see Data? Click on it, you can save and load from there.

    The story is cool, music too (they give you the soundtrack when you bought the game
    Great game BUT you NEED a controller. Keyboard control is HORRIBLE. I really don't know what they where thinking when making it... You can save EVERYWHERE for the people complaining about the way point... PRESS start. look bottom of the screen. You see Data? Click on it, you can save and load from there.

    The story is cool, music too (they give you the soundtrack when you bought the game FINALLY a company who really think buying a game = buying the soundtrack too). Combat can be sometime repetitive and sometime you see they made the game longer with annoying things like=OH there is a door to open but 3 locks. To open one lock, you have to play for like 30-45 min.

    Anyway if you see this game on steam sales and you were thinking about buying it before. GET IT.
    P.S. i got this game free when i pre order: Space Marine
    Expand
  28. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    This is a very good game. It feels like a very good hack and slash game, the graphics are good for its time, the story line its not perfect but its good. On the mouse and keyboard option for pc is feeling all right but its still recomended to play with a controller. I suggest everyone to buy this game!
  29. Oct 2, 2014
    8
    The game borrows HEAVILY from Zelda, but that doesn't make it bad, in fact it makes it amazing.

    I have always wondered, with the widespread critical acclaim of the Zelda series why more games don't imitate it. Well, Darksiders 'borrows' and does it very well. Very very fun game, plot is iffy but very epic. Took me 22 hours to beat, loved every second. Cons: no real options as far
    The game borrows HEAVILY from Zelda, but that doesn't make it bad, in fact it makes it amazing.

    I have always wondered, with the widespread critical acclaim of the Zelda series why more games don't imitate it.

    Well, Darksiders 'borrows' and does it very well. Very very fun game, plot is iffy but very epic. Took me 22 hours to beat, loved every second.

    Cons: no real options as far as graphics settings. If you have an old computer you're outta luck. I always opt for performance over graphics but sadly this game doesn't even let you.
    Expand
  30. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    Darksiders is indeed a good game.It's an innovative and addictive game...I spend some good time trying to find all chests,treasures and secrets but that was not a bother since darksiders has a pretty fun gameplay and a nice story.It may not be perfect but it is perfect to me.It's been a while since I played a good game like this and I recommend it to you dearly!
  31. Jan 13, 2013
    9
    For me it's a totally win! Remembers me a little to "legacy of kain" series but better! Great story, love the config of controls (i'm playing with an xbox 360 controller), plenty of hours to play, the only down that i find it's in the graphic departure...everything else is perfect!
  32. Mar 10, 2013
    6
    A beautiful world and an entertaining combat system is not enough to mask the emptiness of this game. Story and actually gameplay were dull and could not pull me through half the game. Visuals and visceral hack n' slash gameplay are all this game has to offer.
  33. Oct 13, 2010
    8
    I began playing with pretty bad motivation. I prejudiced this is going to be total crap. After going Darksiders through, gotta admit I was wrong. Especially liked the last quarter of the game. Combat itself is quite simple, but overall it worked least for me. Some puzzles made me pull my hair off, they had quite logical solutions, but couldn't get some of them. Some have referred this toI began playing with pretty bad motivation. I prejudiced this is going to be total crap. After going Darksiders through, gotta admit I was wrong. Especially liked the last quarter of the game. Combat itself is quite simple, but overall it worked least for me. Some puzzles made me pull my hair off, they had quite logical solutions, but couldn't get some of them. Some have referred this to Zelda. Well I'm not big fan of 'em. But Overall this was a positive surprise. Sequel seems to be coming, probably going to least try that too. Have seen better ones, but worse too. Expand
  34. Oct 11, 2010
    10
    Spectacular! Graphics, music, sound effects, design, levels, monsters, characters. Everything is made extremely well and combined tight and solid. Nice and original setting, non-repetitive gameplay, a lot of combat, simple yet fun puzzles, awesome voices and dialogs. I just can't stop playing. And there are not too many good slashers on PC. Worth every cent.
  35. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    Darksiders is a masterpiece. If you missed it on consoles, make sure to give it a chance now that it has arrived on PC. It is a game not to be missed. Can't wait for the sequel!
  36. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    Absolutely fantastic! If you do not purchase this, you will miss out on one of the years best! For an older gamer like me the pacing is just right.The graphics are better than what has been discussed. A must buy!
  37. Dec 20, 2010
    8
    Storyline and characters are well thought through, strikingly original artwork and models brings to life all the NPCs and environments along the way. Don't expect nonlinearity, but if you like a good story, battling in style and kicking the crap out of everything in sight with a choice selection of weapons and capabilities, this is the right game to play.
  38. Dec 24, 2010
    7
    Overall this game a well done Xbox 360 port. The controllers for the PC are atrocious and the game is obviously much better suited to be played on a Xbox controller for windows. Overall the story offers a linear progression, with additional goodies being added with each phase of the game, giving you the ability to backtrack to previously visited areas to see if you missed anything.Overall this game a well done Xbox 360 port. The controllers for the PC are atrocious and the game is obviously much better suited to be played on a Xbox controller for windows. Overall the story offers a linear progression, with additional goodies being added with each phase of the game, giving you the ability to backtrack to previously visited areas to see if you missed anything. While you have the ability to backtrack if you wish (with some scaled baddies to fight in the area), it just seems like a one play wonder. I personally played it through once and then moved on. Worth the asking price of $40? I personally don't think so. It is a game that is more attune to a $20 price tag. Expand
  39. Aug 3, 2012
    10
    Nie wiem czemu, ale ominą mnie cały hype związany z tą produkcją (o ile jakiś był). Przyznam się, że kupiłem grę ze względu na pudełko i zostałem miło zaskoczony. Gra jest fantastyczna, bardzo rozbudowana jak na produkcję tego typu. Pod wieloma względami przypomina Księcia z Persji (przemierzanieNie wiem czemu, ale ominą mnie cały hype związany z tą produkcją (o ile jakiś był). Przyznam się, że kupiłem grę ze względu na pudełko i zostałem miło zaskoczony. Gra jest fantastyczna, bardzo rozbudowana jak na produkcję tego typu. Pod wieloma względami przypomina Księcia z Persji (przemierzanie lokacji) i Kratosa (system walki i zbieranie kuleczek:P), choć to nie przeszkadza w rozgrywce, a gra się naprawdę miło. Całości dopełniają ciekawie zaprojektowane postacie. Główny bohater, robi wymiot jak przystało na jednego z jeźdźców apokalipsy. Dla mnie jedna z ulubionych gier + naprawdę udany zakup:) Expand
  40. Apr 22, 2012
    8
    As far as i can say it's an awesome game, it has the style as Devil May Cry, a fantastic story, full of epic moments ! I would recommend this game to anyone, and if is in sale...don't waste time thinking about ! Just get it !
  41. gas
    Mar 23, 2011
    7
    Just bought the game for 7,75 euros, im not a fan of action games, im a pc user keyboard+mouse, never had joypad and i will never get one.
    Anyway i was attracted by the setting of this game and for this price i decided to try it.
    The game sadly is a console hard port, and this ends ofc to have no graphic options and controls developed for a joypad in mind, which is the main and prolly only
    Just bought the game for 7,75 euros, im not a fan of action games, im a pc user keyboard+mouse, never had joypad and i will never get one.
    Anyway i was attracted by the setting of this game and for this price i decided to try it.
    The game sadly is a console hard port, and this ends ofc to have no graphic options and controls developed for a joypad in mind, which is the main and prolly only issue of this game for the pc release.
    All the options and menus are not pc friendly, but they are not too bad at the end.
    Controls are customizable to a point where game is enjoyable, anyway when needed to use ranged weapons aiming is a bit a pain, very imprecise compared to any fps game, but especially when you wanna select multi targets to be hit, you need to press 3 buttons to perform the action which is really far from something logical.
    At the end on some fights you are fighting your controls more then the bosses.
    Weird that it result quite hard to correctly aim with ranged weapons, which should be the easy part playing with a mouse in theory, but for some reason in this game even if changing settings the controls about it remain quite crap.
    Anyway beside the aiming issue playing with a mouse, generally the melee fights are enjoyable, fast, and you can control your toon very well.
    The graphics are bit dated, prolly it was not the best even at release, no AA etc, but i have to tell generally the palette, level design and mobs models are nice and got style and personality so its pleasing under this aspect.
    Also the cutscenes are appealing and nice to see, the audio is good, voice acting bit better then usual, music nothing impressive but generally nice (the game comes with the soundtrack stand alone as bonus content actually).
    Game is very fast peace on combat but its not a hack n' slash fest, you will spend a lot of time solving "puzzles" to go on, there are a good number of hidden "chests" etc to discover.
    Some of the puzzles are quite interesting, some are also not so easy to solve if you wanna skip the internet guides and find yourself what to do, but some other goodies are bit weird and non-sense, so about that i can tell as average the puzzle side of the game is quite good and interesting, but sometimes its a bit frustrating or just impossible to figure out if not destroying or trying to interact with every single object present in a level.
    The game is linear but the level design is good, most levels are quite big and you are free to roam into them, especially for puzzle solving you will find yourself moving a lot and backtracking is a must in this game, as many areas/rooms are not accessible without items you will find later in the game.
    This backtracking actually adds a bit of longevity and its not bad as idea as you will have portals zones in every area to choose where to go instantly, but it can be a bit tedious sometimes.
    Weapons have a level up system and can be upgraded during game, also your character will gain new combat moves and abilities / items.
    About that i can tell the game requires a bit of grinding cause to level up weapons and especially to gain "credits" to buy upgrades you will need more then once to backtrack and kill a lot of trash mobs which respawns in the old zones, this adds again some longevity but its not very fun after a bit.
    At the end im pleased with this game, its fun, combat is overall nice and most of the puzzles are involving, also i consider that ive spent actually less then 10 euros.
    Only im complaining to the controls which could have been a lot better without the need of an incredible re-work i guess.
    Ive wrote this review mostly cause i think a game like this , with a minor work on the pc release to rework controls (also graphic options but its less important) could have been really another level and its a shame to see most of the games ported in the last years to be hard ported without any upgrade, at the end pc gamers are paying the full price for a new game (at release i mean ofc), so some minor changes / customization to the menu and controls should be included in the porting.
    Expand
  42. Oct 13, 2010
    8
    A nice additionto the 3rd person action genre. While not bringing anything particularly new to the table, what Darksiders does, bring is well polished and simple hack and slash fun at its finest. Sadly alot of the equipment is torn straight from other games and almost no effort is made to hide it, as if its slapping them in the face and saying "look at me I can do it better, with a biggerA nice additionto the 3rd person action genre. While not bringing anything particularly new to the table, what Darksiders does, bring is well polished and simple hack and slash fun at its finest. Sadly alot of the equipment is torn straight from other games and almost no effort is made to hide it, as if its slapping them in the face and saying "look at me I can do it better, with a bigger sword". Any way the core of this game is the combat and with the range of weapons and moves, the combos that you can pull off are extensive and enjoyable. The other side which the game is the puzzles and adventure aspect. Where it doesnt hold up quite as well as the combat, its still enjoyable and some of the later puzzles will get you thinking. Graphically the game is quite impressive, however the limited enemy roster with repainted skins can get irritating. Overall the game is a solid 3rd person action adventure which will appeal to most of the genres fans and will give you a good 20 hours of gameplay, especially on the harder difficulty setting. Expand
  43. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    Though this game have little originality & actions which are copied & pasted from DMC & GOW , still one of the best experience in recent pc games. It is a great addition in the time of crysis for good pc games. It has a over the average storyline, fingers breaking action, numerous variety of enemy. Though graphics option are restrained for pc version, still looks good. Those who like toThough this game have little originality & actions which are copied & pasted from DMC & GOW , still one of the best experience in recent pc games. It is a great addition in the time of crysis for good pc games. It has a over the average storyline, fingers breaking action, numerous variety of enemy. Though graphics option are restrained for pc version, still looks good. Those who like to take down huge bosses, solve some creative puzzles & extra sauce of story this is just the game for them. Expand
  44. Oct 29, 2010
    9
    Brilliant. A collection of all the best gameplay elements combined into a final product that is just pure entertainment. Definitely a title that deserves a place on your hard drive.
  45. Oct 3, 2010
    9
    Lets get one thing out here off the bat, I actually find this game to have very little to do with God Of War. I find it to be more Devil May Cry. The story is very well done. It has interesting characters and background. The combat system doesn't have to be complex but it can be. The LoZ aspects of the game are quite nice. Finding new items and using them to gain access to areas isLets get one thing out here off the bat, I actually find this game to have very little to do with God Of War. I find it to be more Devil May Cry. The story is very well done. It has interesting characters and background. The combat system doesn't have to be complex but it can be. The LoZ aspects of the game are quite nice. Finding new items and using them to gain access to areas is interesting to say the lest. I encountered no glitches which surprises me since it is a port after all. Aside from it crashing from time to time, which I think has been fixed in a patch for it has not happened for awhile. My one major complaint is that the bosses need to be harder. I found the bosses to be lacking somewhat. Except with the exception of the bosses where you rode on horseback, that was just fun as **** Graphics are not phenomenal, but they don't suck either. The controls, hell I have to say I'm impressed. I expected to have to use my gamepad for it. Vigil actually makes me eat my words when saying that mouse and keyboard can't be used with hack and slash games (I played DMC4 on my pc, its a pain in the ass on M&K). My one grip with the controls is using spells. You have to hold Caps lock then press a number. You don't have any controls over the graphics either, just screen resolution. So make sure your comp can run it before you buy it.

    All in all if anything give this game a play through for the story at least. If there is one thing anyone can agree on is that Vigil created one fantastic story.
    Expand
  46. Feb 9, 2011
    10
    Well, for being my first action-adventure that I have actually played through, this game was not bad at all. I see some of you comparing it to this or that, or parts of this or parts of that, to tell you the truth it's all actually quite new to me. The other part is I hear some of you complaining about the graphics, and that there are no graphics options, actually I appreciate that theyWell, for being my first action-adventure that I have actually played through, this game was not bad at all. I see some of you comparing it to this or that, or parts of this or parts of that, to tell you the truth it's all actually quite new to me. The other part is I hear some of you complaining about the graphics, and that there are no graphics options, actually I appreciate that they did that for me beforehand, because it helped me get to the game ASAP, as opposed to me worrying about the frame rate and pushing the polygons and/or if it runs on my pc or not, you know all that extra shebang that comes with most PC games. Once I got to the core game play of this game, all my worries about graphics went completely down the drain, in fact I lowered my resolution to 1280x720 to make that gameplay smoother, and hooked up my wireless xbox360 controller to my PC ( also I hooked up my pc to my HDTV!). So I firmly believe that in this game gameplay is far more important than graphics.

    As for the gameplay, you may need to hit up the IGN guides to find your way through some of the puzzles that are not right of the bat obvious, and for the location of vital items that you can't miss. But, in my opinion, I would recommend this game most of the time, than not. so there we go, make your choice = )
    Expand
  47. Feb 16, 2011
    8
    Darksiders is definitely a good game. The animation style is really interesting. The combat system is fun but has room for improvement. It is worth a try.
  48. Jan 1, 2011
    9
    I'll start by saying that Darksiders is my private PC action game of the year for 2010. It's been a while since I enjoyed such game that much. I spent over 22 hours playing it and most of this time was pure pleasure. I even took my time to hunt down all the secret chests and artifacts. What's best is that the game introduces new gameplay elements all the time and so avoids gettingI'll start by saying that Darksiders is my private PC action game of the year for 2010. It's been a while since I enjoyed such game that much. I spent over 22 hours playing it and most of this time was pure pleasure. I even took my time to hunt down all the secret chests and artifacts. What's best is that the game introduces new gameplay elements all the time and so avoids getting repetitive. There's quite a lot of puzzles, most of them quite interesting, well designed and varied. There was only one or two that bordered on annoying. And while overall the puzzling elements are balanced quite well, I fell like the developers overdid it a bit in Black Throne levels. The pace there slowed down too much, and the puzzles started to be tiring at the end.

    And while Black Throne is the low point of the game, the Ashlands section where you get your hands on the rocket launcher like weapon is just so much fun that you don't want it to end. Pure, mindless fun and orgy of destruction.

    Technically, the game is not a masterpiece. However, it makes up for it with great art direction and design. I believe that in few years time, it will still be able to appeal visually to gamers. Character designs are fantastic, levels are varied and well designed. Each has it's own unique look and feel. The beasts you will slain look great, and there's plenty of bosses to kill. And War finishes the beasts in great style, resulting in tons of blood. Luckily, there's no quick time events except for using the 'finishing move' button.

    The other aspect that deserves a mention is the music. The soundtrack for Darksiders is the best game soundtrack I have heard so far. It beats all three God Of War soundtracks hands down. It's the only game music I ever listened to on it's own, and I don't normally listen to game or movie music. It's that good.

    Now, the game is by all means not perfect. The Black Throne I already mentioned. Unfortunately, I experienced a few crashes, which was rather annoying. Fortunately, the checkpoints are plenty so I never had to repeat too much of the level because of this. And my brother had no such problems on his rig. The gamepad controls worked great, except for aiming. No matter how I set sensitivity, it always felt wrong. I eventually got used to it, but it still left a bad impression.

    And the last gripe I have about the game is War. The main character. Looks great and it's a pleasure to watch as he deals with the beasts. But he has no character. You would at least expect he's a bad-ass. But he's not. He should be. The story is all about his vengeance and implies that he's a bad-ass. But it just does not feel like it. For most of the game, he feels like an errand boy. Only in the late part of the game, he starts to show a little bit of depth, but it's just too little too late. The potential for this character is great, but I feel it was pretty much wasted. Too bad.
    Expand
  49. Mar 19, 2011
    9
    This is a great game, if not a little on the short side for what it is. I finished in about 21 hours of play. That sounds like a lot, but when a Zelda game pushes 50+ its a little short. However, that should not deter you from playing, and if you are more meticulous than I am about finding all the items, then you can probably lengthen this out. One thing I was pleasantly surprised at wasThis is a great game, if not a little on the short side for what it is. I finished in about 21 hours of play. That sounds like a lot, but when a Zelda game pushes 50+ its a little short. However, that should not deter you from playing, and if you are more meticulous than I am about finding all the items, then you can probably lengthen this out. One thing I was pleasantly surprised at was the differences in the areas of the game. Some areas are destroyed city, dark and dank, then others are green lush and bright and it really adds a sense of atmosphere and change. The combat is tight and responsive, and for me, never got old. It was always fun trying to execute different combos to take down enemies faster and cooler. Weapon upgrades are fun and useful, however the secondary and third weapons are really just slots to hold character upgrades. You will rarely need anything but your primary sword for combat. (I never leveled the Scythe or Fist to even the first level)

    The puzzles are fun, if not a little on the easy side... that is until you get to the temple where you have to free the angel of death. That temple was challenging in a fun way and I wish that the other temples would have been more like that.

    I highly recommend this game, and am hoping for the 3 sequels. I think they did a great job with this and it would be great to play as the other three horsemen.
    Expand
  50. Jan 8, 2011
    9
    This is a really great game. It had enough gameplay variety and a storyline that kept me interested throughout the game. It's a 3rd person action/adventure game similar to Zelda Ocarina of Time, but with Devil May Cry graphics/storyline. The adventuring side of things remained challenging and satisfying throughout the game. The combat was enjoyable but I found it to be rather basic, once IThis is a really great game. It had enough gameplay variety and a storyline that kept me interested throughout the game. It's a 3rd person action/adventure game similar to Zelda Ocarina of Time, but with Devil May Cry graphics/storyline. The adventuring side of things remained challenging and satisfying throughout the game. The combat was enjoyable but I found it to be rather basic, once I found a few combos and upgraded my character/weapons I managed to finish the 2nd half of the game without dying at all (on normal setting). Although it is possible to race through the game in several hours, I spent a fair amount of time seeking out the various hidden objects and achievements. It's one of the few games I could see myself playing again.

    One criticism of the PC version (at least via Steam) is that sometimes the game will not register achievements (annoying but not a deal breaker). I've also read some complaints about playing this game with a PC gamepad or mouse/keyboard combo, but I had no such problems with the Xbox360 controller.
    Expand
  51. Mar 23, 2011
    8
    Beautiful environments, visceral combat that is quite fun and awesome characters give this game a ton of charm and character. The graphics are reminiscent of World of Warcraft but much much better and darker. If you like Legend of Zelda or Devil May Cry I would recommend this game without hesitation. PC controls are surprisingly smooth.
  52. Mar 28, 2011
    8
    Well, I've never played God Of War for much more than a few minutes, it was repetitive predictable and just boring. I don't want to compare this game to God Of War, or even Mark of Kri, this game is much closer to Zelda-64 or something along those lines. There is lots of exploring, getting lose, solving puzzles, and hacking and slashing.

    The Graphics are decent. They are stylized and
    Well, I've never played God Of War for much more than a few minutes, it was repetitive predictable and just boring. I don't want to compare this game to God Of War, or even Mark of Kri, this game is much closer to Zelda-64 or something along those lines. There is lots of exploring, getting lose, solving puzzles, and hacking and slashing.

    The Graphics are decent. They are stylized and fun. Granted, I wish I had the option to beef up the Anti-Aliasing, the over all feel is very stylish with a lot of attention to little details.

    The sound is decent as well. voice acting is great, Mark Hamel yet again proves to be one of the world's greatest voice actors. My only complaint is that the echoy effect is a bit over the top, kind of sounds like you are playing the game inside a metal box.

    Controls suck. They make no sense and were not optimized in the porting process what so ever. They just took controller buttons and mapped it to abitrary keys. Switching between Reg/Aim/Focus modes is annoying, switching weapons is annoying. The only thing they got right with controls was combat, which works for the most part, though i don't know why the block and dash key are the same key.

    Gameplay is where this game shines. There is tons of enemys, tons of enviroments, tons of puzzles, well to sum it up, tons of variety. The biggest problem with these Action/Adventure games always is becoming monotonous. Zelda always got right but games like Devil May Cry and God Of War turned into chores. Now the game isn't perfect, some areas last to long, some puzzles are tedious and just take unnecessary amounts of time (not thinking), but its mostly forgivable. My Biggest complaint is the lack of enemy health bars. Minions aren't that big of a deal, but things like Minibosses and Bosses become hard to strategize against since you have no idea how much health they have left, leaving you blindly slashing and hoping to kill them before you run out of health. tl;dr version. Highly stylish fun action/adventure game, with some minor, but forgivable, flaws.
    Expand
  53. Jun 16, 2011
    9
    Although the game has simplistic combat, the level design of the temples and bosses are very good. The game is perfectly playable with a keyboard & mouse although the Alt button for dodge feels unnatural at first. The first couple of hours are quite boring and repetitive but then the temples kick in and the game becomes fun. The overworld isn't very big, but the game encourages explorationAlthough the game has simplistic combat, the level design of the temples and bosses are very good. The game is perfectly playable with a keyboard & mouse although the Alt button for dodge feels unnatural at first. The first couple of hours are quite boring and repetitive but then the temples kick in and the game becomes fun. The overworld isn't very big, but the game encourages exploration for treasure chests. The game may be a bit to easy for hack and slash veterans on normal so you should start on "Apocalyptic" difficulty, if you are. The final dungeon may be considered a "puzzle fest" for some people. I enjoyed it but it may have annoyed some. The story has a twist and has a satisfying ending. I enjoyed this game. All of the reviewers who decided to discredit the game on its orginality didn't mention that the game managed to add something that hasn't been included in the portal series: the ability to shoot portals through portals.

    Recommended, especially at its current price.
    Expand
  54. May 22, 2011
    10
    Awsome game! I was uncertain about purchasing this game originally as it is a console port. However I am glad I did. The game play, storyline and graphics are great. The game is challenging and entertaining without being an arduous slog. The benchmark has been set, I only hope the sequel is up to the same standard.
  55. Aug 21, 2011
    8
    An awesome button masher or just another God of War remake? This game gives many people mixed opinions but I don't understand why! The graphics are amazing, the sound too, the story is alright and animations are spectacular! Let's start with story. One of the Four Horseman from the bible, War is called to Earth to help the end of the world go on but it turns out he was framed and doesn'tAn awesome button masher or just another God of War remake? This game gives many people mixed opinions but I don't understand why! The graphics are amazing, the sound too, the story is alright and animations are spectacular! Let's start with story. One of the Four Horseman from the bible, War is called to Earth to help the end of the world go on but it turns out he was framed and doesn't know who sent the call of the Horsemen and War embarks on an epic journey to defeat the demon boss who was released to attack Earth in the first place. The story I didn't much care about, I'd give it a C+ at best but the gameplay I enjoyed thoroughly with its puzzles and epic animations and, to my excitement, no quick time events! The creatures and bosses are very imaginative as the weapons are too which I own all of them yet I never used any but the default one, Chaoseater, because use of weapons levels them up and by level three I was super man with this sword! Overall I give it an eight because of the stories lack of true depth to me though it still holds up well enough with its collectibles and achievements (if you're on Steam). Expand
  56. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    There really isn`t many games about the bible theme thus 10, pretty old-school game with great puzzles, cant wait for DS2.

    If you like some "uncommon" or original games you should really try this.
  57. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    THIS GAME IS AWESOME !! There is fantastic graphic, epic story and epic bosses. Fighting is rewarding, models of monsters are pretty. What more could you want ?
  58. Oct 9, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a brilliant and awesome game.

    Let's start off with the combat/gameplay
    A very good combat system, easy enough for the hack-and-slash noobs and complex for the more elite players.
    What makes the combat so unique is everything... aside the combat!
    (small spoiler>)throughout the game you get acces to different kind of equipment: from a grapling hook to a portal gun! (i'm serious)(
    Expand
  59. Sep 12, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is like a shiny apple you see in a store, which you buy and start to eat. The first few bites are very delicious - the graphic, the hack-and-slash feeling, the sounds, all feel very nice. But, when you bite deeper you find out a squashed part - in order to master the game, you need to master its controls, and the controls are so numerous, and so poorly ported from console, that they incur a heavy strain on the average player.
    Then you bite even deeper - you encounter the first true boss, Tiamat- and you find a rotten part. There is nothing that prepares you for this boss, and the tactics, while very easy conceptually, are just very hard to implement properly. Moreover, if you fail to do proper tactics immediately, it becomes exponentially harder to finish this boss.
    Nevertheless, you decide to take one more bite, but you find worms crawling in the deep core of the game. The number of controls one needs to master to advance through the game increases by every "level", and the inability to see the "health" of a boss, or in that sense any indicator that you are doing any damage to the boss, is extremely frustrating ! This is particularly frustrating on the worm boss, where you run in circles, shooting at the boss, for a random amount of time, until the boss falls dead ? This is an insult to any mature player in my opinion.
    Overall, this game had a lot of potential, maybe this potential is fulfilled in the console game, but the PC version is just frustrating to play...
    Expand
  60. Oct 5, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Game is awesome!!! Just like to watch a movie, want to play more and more! Videos in the game also good! Ah, can't wait the second part of the game! Hope it will be soon. So, good game for everyone) enjoy! Expand
  61. Oct 3, 2010
    9
    Absolutely amazing game, great story, plenty of "baddies" to kill and an absolutely kick a$$ character to play as. Very dark atmosphere helps to fill the game with a sense of over looming peril and helps to pull you even more into the game.

    A must have for any hack and slash fan alike!
  62. May 12, 2011
    10
    Gave it a 10 to offset the low scores with braindead comments. Gameplay is fun - who cares about graphics if a game is fun...seriously go get an IQ above 100 and then try to make an intelligent comment. I've played through once and one of my sons has twice - we both enjoyed the puzzles and fighting. If I wasn't trying to offset the very low scores I would probably give it a solid 8.5
  63. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    Darksiders Is an Outstanding game overall. Great game play, fun hard puzzles, great characters and storyline, and amazing attack combos! If you like Zelda or God of War you will love this!
  64. lhw
    Jul 17, 2011
    8
    As I had never owned any type of gaming console and therefore never played any of God of War or Zelda franchise, this game was well worth the money I spend on it. Overall it took me a good 10 hours to get through the game.
    It's often mentioned in other reviews that this game heavily copies from other games but I think considering they had to merge all these games into one they did a pretty
    As I had never owned any type of gaming console and therefore never played any of God of War or Zelda franchise, this game was well worth the money I spend on it. Overall it took me a good 10 hours to get through the game.
    It's often mentioned in other reviews that this game heavily copies from other games but I think considering they had to merge all these games into one they did a pretty decent job. - The graphics might not be top notch but the comical style conceals the obvious flaws. - The overall control handling was okay from a PC gamers point of view. - The puzzles might have been a bit repetitive but not to a level where it is annoying. - The story is actually quite interesting and I didn't skip any of the cinematics.

    All in all a decent amusement but of course most of the puzzles and items have to be credited to their originial creator (especially the portal gun).
    Expand
  65. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game is great in terms of gameplay. The aesthetic details both figures, scenes, fx, etc. are cared for perfectly. It is a game that is a compelling story and fighting for players and, in turn, generates pure addiction! Expand
  66. Jun 21, 2011
    8
    A little too much puzzle stuff, and not quite enough combat (I'm a Golden Axe fan), but I truly enjoyed this game. The first boss is way too tough, but you'll get by (watch youtube videos). I played with keys/mouse and enjoyed the solid controls (unlike The Witcher 2, which drove me to a healthy "delete local content"). Multiplayer could make this game really fun. Yesterday I completed theA little too much puzzle stuff, and not quite enough combat (I'm a Golden Axe fan), but I truly enjoyed this game. The first boss is way too tough, but you'll get by (watch youtube videos). I played with keys/mouse and enjoyed the solid controls (unlike The Witcher 2, which drove me to a healthy "delete local content"). Multiplayer could make this game really fun. Yesterday I completed the game and that is something I can say hasn't happened in a while. Kept me interested. Expand
  67. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    Wow, this game was such a nice surprise. I picked it up on Steam on a whim and when I first played it I was thinking that I was over this style of game. However, I played it a little longer and got absolutely hooked. The first stage gives no indication of just how good this game becomes. I loved the battles, the worlds, the graphics, and the moves that you can acquire. Great game, totalWow, this game was such a nice surprise. I picked it up on Steam on a whim and when I first played it I was thinking that I was over this style of game. However, I played it a little longer and got absolutely hooked. The first stage gives no indication of just how good this game becomes. I loved the battles, the worlds, the graphics, and the moves that you can acquire. Great game, total surprise, and I really look forward to the sequel next year. Expand
  68. Jul 12, 2011
    8
    This game is great, but it has its issues on the pc. The most annoying one so far is having to constantly use ctrl and alt which is awkward with the wasd setup. Other than that the game is pretty awesome. I love the story and the portrayal of the demons and angels from christianity, the graphics and scenery are very detailed, the use of different combos and secondary weapons and rangedThis game is great, but it has its issues on the pc. The most annoying one so far is having to constantly use ctrl and alt which is awkward with the wasd setup. Other than that the game is pretty awesome. I love the story and the portrayal of the demons and angels from christianity, the graphics and scenery are very detailed, the use of different combos and secondary weapons and ranged weapons is intuitive, the puzzles are challenging but not overly difficult, the voice acting is good and the voices fit the characters well. You pretty much have to play the game twice if you want to get all of the content and hidden chests. The boss battles aren't particularly hard because you gain more health bars quickly and are more about mechanics than brute force. The insta-kill moves get monotonous quickly but you don't have to use them to kill enemies every time. If you hate quick-time events fear not because this game doesn't have any. Overall a solid game that I will be replaying at least once more. Expand
  69. Jul 14, 2011
    10
    Great stuff !! Overlord meets Diablo and Tomb Raider .. 30 hours and more finest game-play full of Action, Quests and cool ideas !! The RPG -Elements are perfectly integrated for enhances gameplay .. Balancing is perfect, only few critical savepoints could be better .. Postal-Elements are also included, what a great idea !
  70. Aug 4, 2011
    9
    Picked this up for 5$ during the Steam Sale and it turns out that was a steal... game was great at over 20 hours of playtime to collect a lot of the side-artifacts... It felt like Legend of Zelda for adults.
  71. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    I got this game as a promotion to another game, just to keep me entertained till the real game were released. Now that it has been released I find it hard to let War and Ruin be and start the other game. I would never have thought that it would be so much fun to kill angels and daemons with over-sized weapons. But it is ! And on top of a great game-play there is the atmosphere, the storyI got this game as a promotion to another game, just to keep me entertained till the real game were released. Now that it has been released I find it hard to let War and Ruin be and start the other game. I would never have thought that it would be so much fun to kill angels and daemons with over-sized weapons. But it is ! And on top of a great game-play there is the atmosphere, the story and the music. All combines to make this game really unique and fantastic. Expand
  72. Jan 13, 2011
    9
    Game is realy cool, quests, fights, gears enchantments, hidden treasures. I passed game 2 times at apocalyptic. Only things that made me sad it's cartoon graphic.
  73. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    Excellent. My most favorite game. The plot, setting, all at the highest level. Played and could not stop long with me this was not. Level design and atmosphere make fall in love with the game.
  74. Mar 23, 2011
    6
    For a game in which plot is an afterthought, characters are one-dimensional jokes, and PC options are nil (as this is a hard port from console,) Darksiders is still surprisingly decent, with a mix of God of War-ish hack n' slash combat, Zelda style dungeon crawling and puzzle solving, and the occasional minigame sections to work out your anger blasting angels and demons into whatever comesFor a game in which plot is an afterthought, characters are one-dimensional jokes, and PC options are nil (as this is a hard port from console,) Darksiders is still surprisingly decent, with a mix of God of War-ish hack n' slash combat, Zelda style dungeon crawling and puzzle solving, and the occasional minigame sections to work out your anger blasting angels and demons into whatever comes after Kingdom Come.

    It suffers in platforming scenes, and controls are an unintuitive mess on PC, but beyond that is a fun enough game. Wait for a sale.
    Expand
  75. Apr 5, 2011
    7
    Laughably boring main character, uninteresting plotline, and a steep learning curve for combat. That being said, the game is literally floating in a sea of blood, surrounded by leeches, being eating by bloodhounds, being massacred by torture machines from Saw movies. "Gore" or "Bloody" doesn't cut it. The combat is exciting to watch - due to the massive amounts of blood, especially - andLaughably boring main character, uninteresting plotline, and a steep learning curve for combat. That being said, the game is literally floating in a sea of blood, surrounded by leeches, being eating by bloodhounds, being massacred by torture machines from Saw movies. "Gore" or "Bloody" doesn't cut it. The combat is exciting to watch - due to the massive amounts of blood, especially - and the graphics are great, though not customizable to any extent. The boss fights are entertaining. The voice acting isn't a marvel, but it does the job without sounding crappy, fake, or poorly scripted. All in all, it isn't really worth 40 bucks, but definitely worth it if you can get it on sale, and if you have money to spare perhaps you can drop the full price for it. If you could enjoy, say, God of War, but without the storyline, characters, or great voice acting, then you could probably enjoy this game. Expand
  76. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    Had a blast playing the game. Just bought part 2 and would recommend the game to anyone. It has a few bugs and nuances due to it being a pc port but not a big deal. Game looks great on 1080 and performs great overall. Would recommend.
  77. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    One of the greatest hack slash games on PC.The artwork in the game is absolutely gorgeous and very detailed.The puzzles are brilliant the gameplay is terrific.Item collection involves a lot of backtracking which will leave you well satisfied and intrigued at the same time giving you a feeling of nostalgia .The variety of Boss battles are amazing.Just remembers to play the game with "sweetOne of the greatest hack slash games on PC.The artwork in the game is absolutely gorgeous and very detailed.The puzzles are brilliant the gameplay is terrific.Item collection involves a lot of backtracking which will leave you well satisfied and intrigued at the same time giving you a feeling of nostalgia .The variety of Boss battles are amazing.Just remembers to play the game with "sweet FX" and adjust the brightness and contrast levels. Expand
  78. Sep 3, 2011
    0
    This is the worst console port I have ever played. I have not even SEEN the first mob in game because my camera is stuck facing down. I have unplugged one, the other, and BOTH of my USB-360 controllers and still, the camera is stuck. A Google reveals that this is a common bug for certain users of the game, there has been very little support for it obviously as I have not seen any officialThis is the worst console port I have ever played. I have not even SEEN the first mob in game because my camera is stuck facing down. I have unplugged one, the other, and BOTH of my USB-360 controllers and still, the camera is stuck. A Google reveals that this is a common bug for certain users of the game, there has been very little support for it obviously as I have not seen any official forums, just all Yahoo-Ask. I saw one review that said, "I wish Steam gave refunds." To that, I agree. Expand
  79. Jan 3, 2011
    6
    This is a hard port from console to PC, the controls downright unintuitive for the mouse and keyboard, the graphics are quite outdated and I'm running on a modern graphic card in excess of 100 FPS with absolutely NO OPTION TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT THE GRAPHICS. On the flip-side, this also means people with past generation cards will be able to play this at decent FPS. Most of the puzzles areThis is a hard port from console to PC, the controls downright unintuitive for the mouse and keyboard, the graphics are quite outdated and I'm running on a modern graphic card in excess of 100 FPS with absolutely NO OPTION TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT THE GRAPHICS. On the flip-side, this also means people with past generation cards will be able to play this at decent FPS. Most of the puzzles are moderately interesting, but some are tedious to the point that I just decide to switch the game off, fights are actually pretty good if not for the awful controls. I personally don't recommend this to most people, especially the casual gamers like myself that only got a couple of precious hours a day. As above, this is a hard port from the console, enough said. Expand
  80. Sep 5, 2011
    0
    The term "console port" gets thrown around all too much these days, but in this games case it is completely accurate. This is a console port in all its faded glory, straight from controller to keyboard with little adjustment to gameplay, menu's, maps, inventory screens or even graphics selections and options. If you want to play this game, play it on a console.
  81. Aug 7, 2012
    3
    Mindless monster bashing, strictly linear. No way of avoiding fights, you can only win brute force. The story doesn't really touch the player, it's too far fetched. No free saving possible, only at save points.
  82. Dec 15, 2012
    3
    It looks pretty and starts out fun, but you quickly realize that the controls will be badly explained and you're health will be penalized for any misstep. Boss fights will be after pointless walking from the save point that makes you go back again and again.
  83. Jul 9, 2011
    3
    If you are a young teen this might be a blast, but the game is full of bugs and horrible mapping of the controls. Especially if you use steam because of the steam friends shortcut. Secondly, the save game system is so stupid that I've wanted to ram a fist through my screen several times. What is also the point in being able to save at a location, if you still have to start from a waypoint?If you are a young teen this might be a blast, but the game is full of bugs and horrible mapping of the controls. Especially if you use steam because of the steam friends shortcut. Secondly, the save game system is so stupid that I've wanted to ram a fist through my screen several times. What is also the point in being able to save at a location, if you still have to start from a waypoint? It just blows my mind how stupid and utter retarded console games are and I wish Steam gave refunds. Even quitting the game has to be a hazzle, where you press start, wait for a mandatory animation and then you can select quit. This is my last console port ever..darkriders 2? How about you fix the first load of crap. Expand
  84. Apr 21, 2011
    4
    PC gamers often complain about the issues of porting console (action) games. To be truth, I find many of the arguments elitist and a little empty (take the issue of Portal 2 showing a â
  85. Dec 13, 2010
    4
    Some of the finishing moves are pretty brutal, and some of the models are pretty, otherwise it's pretty mindless. Best played with your thumbs and a button.
  86. Jun 4, 2012
    4
    People that relate this game to Zelda have no idea what they are talking about. If I was to make a comparison, the closest game Darksiders resembles is Force Unleashed II. There is not one puzzle in this whole game as far as I could tell in my play through. The game always told you exactly what to do, and if there was something that could be a puzzle in a room, the auto-camera makes surePeople that relate this game to Zelda have no idea what they are talking about. If I was to make a comparison, the closest game Darksiders resembles is Force Unleashed II. There is not one puzzle in this whole game as far as I could tell in my play through. The game always told you exactly what to do, and if there was something that could be a puzzle in a room, the auto-camera makes sure to zoom onto objects and paths that need to be explored, eliminating any thought process that might otherwise be needed.
    Its a straight up hack-n-slash. If that's what you are into, get this title. If you were looking for a puzzle game, save yourself some frustration and keep looking.
    Expand
  87. Sep 24, 2011
    0
    Played this expecting something worth my time but I was wrong. Boring linear game play, and almost no character progression, not exactly a recipe for a winner. I wasn't able to play much of it which that in itself says it all. I know some people will say, "how do you know if you didn't even play all the way through." and to that I say, you don't have yourself locked into torturous humanPlayed this expecting something worth my time but I was wrong. Boring linear game play, and almost no character progression, not exactly a recipe for a winner. I wasn't able to play much of it which that in itself says it all. I know some people will say, "how do you know if you didn't even play all the way through." and to that I say, you don't have yourself locked into torturous human experimentation lab on the off chance that you might get a lollipop when you leave. Expand
  88. Jun 14, 2013
    7
    Had to watch the ending on YT. I just couldn't bring myself to finish it. I don't know, i find it too boring for my taste. Maybe the story or the characters are not really that interesting.
    However, i don't think its a bad game. In fact i think its pretty decent but not what i expected.
    Maybe i'll find Darksiders 2 more appealing.
  89. Aug 7, 2011
    5
    This game was barely worth the 5 bucks I paid for it on sale. I can't believe games like this thrive on consoles with their bad dialogue, laughable voiceovers, weak stories, and average gameplay. Combat is extremely repetitive an environments while open and nicely designed there is a serious lack of foes to fight that make the oversimplified combat mechanics unnecessary. The worst partThis game was barely worth the 5 bucks I paid for it on sale. I can't believe games like this thrive on consoles with their bad dialogue, laughable voiceovers, weak stories, and average gameplay. Combat is extremely repetitive an environments while open and nicely designed there is a serious lack of foes to fight that make the oversimplified combat mechanics unnecessary. The worst part of this game is rewarding the players for smashing junk. Since "souls" = currency with which to buy upgrades and weapons to achieve the better equipment one is almost required to smash every little object out there. And since when does a derelict automobile have a soul to gather anyway?

    This game also tries to mimic the overall game-play of the Soul Reaver series and at that it fails miserably. The game is by no means terrible. But it certainly isn't anything more than barely average.
    Expand
  90. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    is this a good game: Yes. Does this game steal heavily from Zelda, God of War and many other games: Yes. but is that why it's awesome: Yes. this game is a conglomerate of every thing that is good from a huge list of games. Even if your knit picky and say "it's a rip off of all these game" it's still a great game.
  91. Feb 19, 2012
    3
    Interesting story, great graphics, and extreme fun....for about 30 minutes. Untill you are met with impossible controls (if you play on PC), which will leave you climbing and leaping over lava pits, just to be knocked down over and over and over and over, until you are pissed off enough to slam your keyboard and walk away.

    Piss poo adaptation of a console twitch game, which could have
    Interesting story, great graphics, and extreme fun....for about 30 minutes. Untill you are met with impossible controls (if you play on PC), which will leave you climbing and leaping over lava pits, just to be knocked down over and over and over and over, until you are pissed off enough to slam your keyboard and walk away.

    Piss poo adaptation of a console twitch game, which could have been a great RPG. Biggest disappointment this year.
    Expand
  92. Dec 27, 2011
    2
    A very poorly done port. Horrible controls, no graphics options and crashes constantly. I write this as a warning; do not buy this game.
  93. Apr 6, 2013
    2
    i dont really like hack and slay games but dark souls was my game of the year.. so i thought i will try this game out it just feels bad to me combat is very boring you just spam your X key xbox controller till the enemy dies you can jump around so you wont get hit but overall it just feels repetetive to me. dark souls for example is known to be hard... but its actually not hard becausei dont really like hack and slay games but dark souls was my game of the year.. so i thought i will try this game out it just feels bad to me combat is very boring you just spam your X key xbox controller till the enemy dies you can jump around so you wont get hit but overall it just feels repetetive to me. dark souls for example is known to be hard... but its actually not hard because every time you die its your fault while in darksiders its just a grindfest of 100 mobs attacking you and you spamming your x and rb key well story: i heard the story would be great and epic but i didnt got hooked by it. maybe some teens will enjoy this more than me. I dont recommend it but if you enjoy grindfest games where you spam 1 key till the end try it out Expand
  94. Nov 13, 2012
    8
    Darksiders is a more action-oriented brother to The Legend of Zelda. It focuses more on visuals and exciting combat. The puzzles are less complex and focuses more on difficult fights. This would all make for a fantastic game, except that the combat feels a bit dumbed down (e.g. you do the same moves over and over again, and your massive sword feels like it's lacking in power). TheDarksiders is a more action-oriented brother to The Legend of Zelda. It focuses more on visuals and exciting combat. The puzzles are less complex and focuses more on difficult fights. This would all make for a fantastic game, except that the combat feels a bit dumbed down (e.g. you do the same moves over and over again, and your massive sword feels like it's lacking in power). The progression of acquiring items to unlock new zones is exactly like in Zelda. Finally, the boss battles are epic and diverse, but I feel like some of them were too difficult- I had a very hard time with the first battle and the last battle relies on Quicktime events that were difficult to execute on my computer (I had to tap the action button at a specific rate to win, and you have to do this three times- mashing the button didn't work, and it took me over a dozen tries to find the rhythm the first time, and then I had to replicate the same rhythm two more times, which was was far more difficult than it should have been). Overall, I recommend the game. Expand
  95. Apr 11, 2013
    2
    It was fun at early stages of the game; the hack and slash combat system was great and intense. Then fun quickly diminished with countless platform puzzle solving. Granted, the puzzles weren't hard, but they paused the monster killing spree excitment. There are just too much boring puzzles for a hack and slash action game that I was hopping the game will end soon, so I can say I beat itIt was fun at early stages of the game; the hack and slash combat system was great and intense. Then fun quickly diminished with countless platform puzzle solving. Granted, the puzzles weren't hard, but they paused the monster killing spree excitment. There are just too much boring puzzles for a hack and slash action game that I was hopping the game will end soon, so I can say I beat it and uninstall. And then the story send you back to places you already visited to collect seven shards for story to continue. I collected few shards until I got fed up with this boring-visit-again trick just to add more gameplay hour. My patience ran out and alt+F4 and uninstalled this crap game. Expand
  96. Oct 24, 2013
    8
    Some people just shouldn't write reviews.

    You WILL get used to the controls of this game and, when you do, you will be able to focus on the story and gameplay, which, is realy fun. This ain't a 10 score game, but it's a damn fun ride. Did I use the word FUN allready ? Darksiders has a..."different" story. The gameplay brings nothing new. It's just a fairly good execution of things
    Some people just shouldn't write reviews.

    You WILL get used to the controls of this game and, when you do, you will be able to focus on the story and gameplay, which, is realy fun. This ain't a 10 score game, but it's a damn fun ride.

    Did I use the word FUN allready ?

    Darksiders has a..."different" story. The gameplay brings nothing new. It's just a fairly good execution of things that games like Devil May Cry, God of War and Prince of Persia (PS2 era) presented us in the past. But the story makes up for that. Well, at least if you are into apocalyptic stories and like a badass main charcater with a lot of moral fiber.

    This is not a bad game. I enjoyed very much and if you like the genre, I promisse you, you WILL like this.
    Expand
  97. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    Quite a masterpiece of bold creativity.
    Fascinating story,character design and combat.
    War is cool! No too many words praising. The default key set of this one is a bit inconvenient for keyboard playing,so I needed to remap the keys. I am going through the story firstly in the apocalyptic difficulty and feel that the pace of the game is mostly quick and intensive and this means its
    Quite a masterpiece of bold creativity.
    Fascinating story,character design and combat.
    War is cool!
    No too many words praising.
    The default key set of this one is a bit inconvenient for keyboard playing,so I needed to remap the keys.
    I am going through the story firstly in the apocalyptic difficulty and feel that the pace of the game is mostly quick and intensive and this means its "enter aiming mode,aim down,shoot,quit aiming mode" maneuver is annoying and destructive to the fluency,though players need to execute this "combo" quite often.
    Sometimes hints are not obvious enough for new players like me,for that I got a little confused with the complicated set of skills and enhancement.
    Rotating map is common among many action games but impractical at all compared with the mini maps in Blizzard's WOW.
    After completing all of the elements of the game,I should say that it is a masterpiece which is of the same level of those more famous games,like Diablo,Warcraft,Biohazard franchises.Though I don't think the traditional RPG parts of Darksiders 2 is interesting enough,but boring,I hope that Nordic Games treasure,develop this beautiful story and let more people try,taste it with more fascinating,clean Darksiders games.
    A bad glitch showed up:toggling among the game and other program while I was playing it may cause the achievement tracking/counting system/function no longer effective,which disturbed some of the achievements completion and urged me to have some parts replayed.
    Another glitch,the cloud save of this game is a vanity,maybe still is.
    A suggestion,a roaming mode after the end of the main story,having the game divided into parts of levels and bosses,and allowing replaying the story with all the collectibles completed,which would be convenient for players to patch up the missed achievements and enjoy beating the game cleanly.
    Expand
  98. Sep 9, 2013
    8
    A good puzzle, action, jump, slash game. Not the best, but good.
    Pros: Cool looking bosses, fun fighting, fun puzzles.
    Cons: Playing with a controller sometimes the aiming in fights is a bit annoying. A lot of times the camera angle is retarded. Ideally you would like to see yourself, the enemy and where you are going, most of the times you get two out of three. The story is generic as
    A good puzzle, action, jump, slash game. Not the best, but good.
    Pros: Cool looking bosses, fun fighting, fun puzzles.
    Cons: Playing with a controller sometimes the aiming in fights is a bit annoying. A lot of times the camera angle is retarded. Ideally you would like to see yourself, the enemy and where you are going, most of the times you get two out of three. The story is generic as hell. Considering this game is a complete rip-off of Soul Reaver one might expect that they could produce a better story considering the Legacy of Kain series (of which Soul Reaver is a part) has the best story in gaming history.

    So to sum up, fun but not a game of the year.
    Expand
  99. Sep 5, 2013
    6
    I really enjoyed the game the gameplay and the story were pretty cool. The fighting, the puzzles, the graphics and many others it's all great. After about 14 hours of the game I thought this game deserves an 8 or even a 9. Unfortunately, after this many hours, I encountered a glitch, that made the game impossible to continue. Fortunately, I made a second save about 3 hours of playingI really enjoyed the game the gameplay and the story were pretty cool. The fighting, the puzzles, the graphics and many others it's all great. After about 14 hours of the game I thought this game deserves an 8 or even a 9. Unfortunately, after this many hours, I encountered a glitch, that made the game impossible to continue. Fortunately, I made a second save about 3 hours of playing earlier. However, if I wouldn't, I'd be forced to start the game from the beginning (what happened to many gamers before, as I found out on the Internet). In my opinion glitches like that should be fixed as soon as possible but this one was not. Pity. Expand
  100. Sep 2, 2013
    8
    My overall experience with Darksiders was enjoyable. The aspects of the game that it took from previous titles such as Zelda and God of War were all well implemented. While the game may not be as good as the titles it takes mechanics from, it is a decent title that I would recommend picking up.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. 80
    PC answer to God of War is not without flaws but the lack of competition on the PC platform makes Darksiders an unconditional winner. Be warned - No fun without a joypad! Forget about playing Darksiders with a keyboard and mouse only. [Issue#197]
  2. Dec 25, 2010
    80
    Not the most innovative of games, but give Darksiders a go and you'll most likely be pleasantly surprised. [Issue#246, p.106]
  3. Oct 25, 2010
    83
    Sure, you've seen it all somewhere before, but Darksiders manages to tie together just about every adventure-game idiom and make it all work.