Darksiders PC

Darksiders Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 621 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The time for the great Apocalypse of legend has come in Darksiders as you take on the role of War, one of the four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, and rain judgment and destruction down upon the Earth. However, not all is as it seems when you discover that you and your fellow Horsemen have beenThe time for the great Apocalypse of legend has come in Darksiders as you take on the role of War, one of the four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, and rain judgment and destruction down upon the Earth. However, not all is as it seems when you discover that you and your fellow Horsemen have been implicated for the premature destruction of Earth and are swept up in a conspiracy between the forces of Heaven and Hell. Banished and stripped of your powers, embark on an epic quest of revenge and redemption as you battle angels and demons to restore your awesome abilities and seek out who betrayed you. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Darksiders looks great on PC, thanks to the greater resolution and the lack of tearing. The game itself comes with excellent graphics and nice artistic direction, but its strength lies in its gameplay: War faces hundreds of different enemies, using many different weapons, and there are plenty of puzzles to be solved in each level. Definitely a fantastic action/adventure game, an exercise in game design that can't leave you indifferent.
  2. My feelings towards Darksiders haven't changed a lot since its original release back in January and I'm not hesitating to recommend it despite its technical nitpicks. PC gamers (considering you have a powerful system) have no right to skip this one, it's worth your time and your money.
  3. It is, however, a polished, entertaining product and while not a gaming milestone by any means, it represents a solid example of an AAA title, which delivers exactly what it promised.
  4. Darksiders can only be recommended, because it's one of the best hack'n'slay games on the PC. Period.
  5. If you missed Darksiders the first time or if you just stick only to PC gaming, then this one's worth a shot.
  6. It's a shame there was no bonus content to justify the eight-month long wait, but the excellent core game is kept intact, and is sure to entertain PC gamers, assuming they have a gamepad to play the game comfortably.
  7. PC Format
    Dec 25, 2010
    80
    Not the most innovative of games, but give Darksiders a go and you'll most likely be pleasantly surprised. [Issue#246, p.106]

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 139
  1. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    This is a fantastic game. I was expecting a cheap God of War Clone, but it's far better than that. For one thing the Horseman War is far moreThis is a fantastic game. I was expecting a cheap God of War Clone, but it's far better than that. For one thing the Horseman War is far more interesting a character than Kratos, whose one-note vengeance act is wearing pretty thin. Great atmosphere, fun combat, very creative puzzles, and some of the best creature design ever. It's a long game with tons of bosses, and they're all awesome looking. New elements are constantly introduced to keep it fresh--grappling hook, horseback combat, and even some Portal dynamics near the end. The biggest criticism is that Darksiders doesn't do anything new, but combining all these great elements from other games so successfully IS something new. Expand
  2. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    Quite a masterpiece of bold creativity.
    Fascinating story,character design and combat.
    War is cool! No too many words praising. The
    Quite a masterpiece of bold creativity.
    Fascinating story,character design and combat.
    War is cool!
    No too many words praising.
    The default key set of this one is a bit inconvenient for keyboard playing,so I needed to remap the keys.
    I am going through the story firstly in the apocalyptic difficulty and feel that the pace of the game is mostly quick and intensive and this means its "enter aiming mode,aim down,shoot,quit aiming mode" maneuver is annoying and destructive to the fluency,though players need to execute this "combo" quite often.
    Sometimes hints are not obvious enough for new players like me,for that I got a little confused with the complicated set of skills and enhancement.
    Rotating map is common among many action games but impractical at all compared with the mini maps in Blizzard's WOW.
    After completing all of the elements of the game,I should say that it is a masterpiece which is of the same level of those more famous games,like Diablo,Warcraft,Biohazard franchises.Though I don't think the traditional RPG parts of Darksiders 2 is interesting enough,but boring,I hope that Nordic Games treasure,develop this beautiful story and let more people try,taste it with more fascinating,clean Darksiders games.
    A bad glitch showed up:toggling among the game and other program while I was playing it may cause the achievement tracking/counting system/function no longer effective,which disturbed some of the achievements completion and urged me to have some parts replayed.
    Another glitch,the cloud save of this game is a vanity,maybe still is.
    A suggestion,a roaming mode after the end of the main story,having the game divided into parts of levels and bosses,and allowing replaying the story with all the collectibles completed,which would be convenient for players to patch up the missed achievements and enjoy beating the game cleanly.
    Expand
  3. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    I wasn0t sure if I should buy this game first. I'm not that much of an action-gamer. Bought it cheap anyways and was amazed how much fun II wasn0t sure if I should buy this game first. I'm not that much of an action-gamer. Bought it cheap anyways and was amazed how much fun I had. Darksiders opened a compelte new world of games for me - thanks alot for that. Expand
  4. Jan 20, 2016
    8
    Darksiders is a game that contains many elements from many different titles, mixed together to create the ride to hell of War. It has itsDarksiders is a game that contains many elements from many different titles, mixed together to create the ride to hell of War. It has its problems, yes, but that does not mean the game is not on a great path. Expand
  5. Feb 16, 2011
    8
    Darksiders is definitely a good game. The animation style is really interesting. The combat system is fun but has room for improvement. It isDarksiders is definitely a good game. The animation style is really interesting. The combat system is fun but has room for improvement. It is worth a try. Expand
  6. Jul 23, 2012
    7
    The game is descent. Perhaps it is good for a console, but it is just ok for the PC:
    basically, you run around with a sword, and kill
    The game is descent. Perhaps it is good for a console, but it is just ok for the PC:
    basically, you run around with a sword, and kill nasties with different combo moves which basically are performed only using left mouse button. The story is cheesy - i mean, come on - Angels Fighting Demons! Man! Who's God then?.. Anyway, the graphics are good, but you are stock in a narrow point of view mode which you cannot change. There is no leveling up system - but your weapons do level up and increase in damage with time (depending on kills). The store (where you can buy stuff for souls) actually sucks asc - some character customization would be much more welcome (let's say a green-glowing scythe), than a combo move (you can actually kill anything without combos)!
    Overall, a 7/10 game. Killed a few hours with it. Switching to Fallout: New Vegas!!!! ):D
    Expand
  7. Sep 24, 2011
    0
    Played this expecting something worth my time but I was wrong. Boring linear game play, and almost no character progression, not exactly aPlayed this expecting something worth my time but I was wrong. Boring linear game play, and almost no character progression, not exactly a recipe for a winner. I wasn't able to play much of it which that in itself says it all. I know some people will say, "how do you know if you didn't even play all the way through." and to that I say, you don't have yourself locked into torturous human experimentation lab on the off chance that you might get a lollipop when you leave. Expand

See all 139 User Reviews

Trailers