Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. An insanely fun, insanely addictive, experience. The very nature of the game promotes teamwork and communication, and there are always memorable moments to be had.
  2. Not bad for a project that started out in a college dorm.
  3. The sound of bullets whizzing past your ear or slamming into some nearby surface is disturbingly realistic. [Aug 2003, p.102]
  4. Thirty dollars may seem a bit hefty for a free modification, but the incredible experience is well worth the price of admission. [Aug 2003, p.72]
  5. Getting into a game is incredibly easy, and the action draws you in like a real war movie.
  6. 83
    A fun game that's worth playing, whether you download it for free or buy it. [July 2003, p.63]
  7. And, even with those minor lag issues and outdated graphics, we honestly recommend the game to both hardcore DoD modders and genre newbies.
  8. For those without "Half-Life" or the motivation to download the hefty mod files, Day of Defeat is a worthwhile contender for your time.
  9. Despite its flaws, Day of Defeat offers unusually intense gameplay with excellent pacing, good weapons, and a really fine combination of all-out action and teamwork.
  10. Day of Defeat isn't the most powerful gun in the armory, but it is the most reliable. [July 2003, p.73]
  11. 80
    The sense of satisfaction you feel in taking a crucial victory location or taking out four enemies in a row simply can't be beat.
  12. DOD irresistibly draws you back for more time and time again. The level designs shine above so many other team-based shooters and provide the perfect stage for some unbeatably tense shootouts.
  13. Valve has proved quite effectively that solid level design and an embarrassment of style will outshine all the fanciest smoke and mirrors that today’s cutting-edge technologies have to offer.
  14. The newly redone character models are quite detailed, and the sound, with whizzing bullets and explosions adding real tension, is fantastic. [Aug 2003, p.76]
  15. Once you go online, the adrenaline rush is unsurpassed. [June 2003, p.57]
  16. DoD still has incredibly good gameplay, and with things like realistic gun recoil and the near requirement to stand still or go prone for any sort of firing accuracy, it's much more difficult than most WWII games. [Sept 2003, p.84]
  17. The level design makes up for much of the graphical shortcomings.
  18. 75
    Combined with the budget presentation all around, Day of Defeat feels like a bit of letdown in the end.
  19. We admit that the dynamic has changed. Weaponry feels less accurate, the maps are smaller, though we don’t see the inherent problem in that. It’s true you can no longer hear the enemy’s footsteps, but this isn’t a fatal oversight.
  20. The problem is that it cannot escape its mod roots, looking very dated and feeling rather uninspired - ironic considering many of its features were the inspiration for the successful WWII titles that followed it.
  21. Compared to the new crop of tactical shooters such as "Return to Castle Wolfenstein," Day of Defeat may seem like a sparse offering but the straightforward gameplay is certain to captivate.
  22. 40
    The gameplay is limited in scope and the maps are repetitive in theme, if not design. The visuals are decent enough, but definitely not up to the standards of most modern releases.
User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 742 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 156
  1. MichalK.
    May 7, 2006
    10
    game is great I spent my whole free time playing it.
  2. NeilA.
    Oct 7, 2006
    10
    I've always loved first person shooting games, including the Halo games. It's fun to play with players oline. The game is a truely WWII experience and lets you see the exact weapons used in the WW. Full Review »
  3. schlub
    Mar 29, 2010
    1
    I played on one of the 'free weekends' of this a while ago and it is seriously one of the worst FPS games I've ever played. The guns are crap, and you spend half your time sneaking or crawling around only to get instantly killed by a sniper a million miles away. Apparently it's more 'realistic' but it's simply no fun at all. I am really, really surprised that anyone likes this game. Full Review »