DC Universe Online Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 242 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DC Universe Online is an MMO based on DC comic book universe and lets you fight along side or against DC superheroes.
Buy On
  • Developer: WBIE
  • Genre(s): Role-Playing, Massively Multiplayer Online, Massively Multiplayer, Fantasy, Fantasy
  • # of players: Massively Multiplayer
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: T
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Feb 1, 2011
    100
    This isn't the sort of MMO that asks you to park for hours on end several nights in a row. It's more of a co-operative or competitive multiplayer action game, perfect for short intense visits. And because your character doesn't sport rows of tiny icons for a thousand different skills, DC Universe is also perfect for less frequent visits.
  2. Jan 17, 2011
    88
    If you're a fan of action, MMOs, or comic books, and if you're looking to commit a lot of time to a single game, DC Universe Online will not disappoint you.
  3. Jan 27, 2011
    85
    They have achieved to turn into a hit a title which might have passed unnoticed. Being a superhero or villain has never been so fun, and we can share it with thousand of players.
  4. Jan 28, 2011
    70
    Great atmosphere and an addictive character creator, but the quests are a bit too repetitive.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 23, 2011
    70
    If you are a fan of comics, then this is your dream come true. To fight against the Joker with Catwoman? Wow! But unfortunately, the game is not as fun as the comics, nor as colorful as the superhero's costumes. [Issue#201]
  6. Mar 3, 2011
    60
    DCUO never really takes off. It suffers from numerous bugs and glitches, and the structure of the quests looks more suitable for a single-player RPG rather than an MMO.
  7. Feb 4, 2011
    40
    SOE tried, and failed, to straddle the line between action game and MMO. Think Crackdown -- but with all of the concessions, limitations, and annoyances of a mediocre massively multiplayer game.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 104
  2. Negative: 32 out of 104
  1. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    This game is like when dreams coming through. Believe me, I am an Rpg player and yes I liked Comics in my childhood, but this game catches meThis game is like when dreams coming through. Believe me, I am an Rpg player and yes I liked Comics in my childhood, but this game catches me with the one thing you can catch a gamers heart. It has soul. A gamer is looking after THAT game and maybe DCUO is it not for everybody, but its the very best I played in years. YEARS! Its not static like Wow, or a simple smash and bash like CoH or Champions Online. This game has the Elements you need, it looks awesome. The story, the dialogues and everything else are fare beyond bad results and reviews.
    And yes, I hate platformer Ports too, but Dcu Online and Sony did whats possible to a human developer. I very like it. Its catchy and you have so many ways of customize your hero, customize your skills, so much different ways. People who like it on day and decide to not login anymore and people which are able to forget this ridiculuos game experience.. I am sorry for that people, cuz there is not much better in the world of gaming these days.

    Have Fun and Cu ingame.
    Expand
  2. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    I've played DC Universe Online for about 50 hours now and I really, really like the game. It handles great using the PS3 controller and theI've played DC Universe Online for about 50 hours now and I really, really like the game. It handles great using the PS3 controller and the whole world immerses you into the DC Universe perfectly. The character customization allows you to create your own Identity while keeping the stat bonuses of a strong piece of armour which is very important. I have yet to meet anyone who looks like my character except for people using the same colors and I've meet thousands of people in my 50 hours of play. The DCUO community is very friendly and joining a group is very easy. The gameplay is very addictive and there is hundreds of quests to do along with PVP game modes and other multi group activities. The choice of which mentor changes each playthrough in such a way that starting a new character with a different mentor and power changes the story and gameplay so much that it feels like your playing a different game altogether.

    If your an MMO fan then you should at least try the game out and if your a comic fan then you should definitely get DCUO. It doesn't disappoint.

    The game has a few issues right now with some minor bugs but considering the scale of the game and the fact that its a new MMO I'd say in 3 months the game will be perfect from every point of few.
    Expand
  3. Jan 12, 2011
    10
    This game is fantastic. You shouldn't compare it to WoW, it's not a typically MMO it's an action game wrapped in an MMO wrapping. TheThis game is fantastic. You shouldn't compare it to WoW, it's not a typically MMO it's an action game wrapped in an MMO wrapping. The graphics are beautiful, the voice work is top notch, the battles are crazy fun, the powers, combos, loot, levels, it's all a great bundle of fun. Can't recommend the game highly enough! Expand
  4. Jan 13, 2011
    7
    DC Universe Online is, in fact, pretty awesome in that it is a pretty good looking game and the combat system isn't all too bad either. TheDC Universe Online is, in fact, pretty awesome in that it is a pretty good looking game and the combat system isn't all too bad either. The character creation system is fairly good also, but I do wish there was a bit more variety then what is readily available. As for the powers, there are some interesting choices to pick from and what I thought was pretty cool is the ability to be able to pick up powers of real DC Heroes and Villains. About the only fault that I can really level against this game is the camera system, which automatically moves around as you move your mouse. While this does take some getting use to, after a couple of hours of play and you probably won't even remember that this was an issue. Expand
  5. Jan 18, 2011
    5
    Let us start by saying I am not a DC fan. I am actually not much of a comic book reader, even young I only read hard cover books. So whenLet us start by saying I am not a DC fan. I am actually not much of a comic book reader, even young I only read hard cover books. So when people go bug-eyed at wonder woman, with all the comic book baggage of their youth, all I see is some dude in a nice costume. But I like super heroe MMO, I liked champion online. Go figure. Another important point : I did too few PVP so I won't talk about it. So let us start by the technicals. Registration (important for MMO) : without a hitch. I see the one and two glitch reported , but it was smooth for the crushing majority of people. The launcher do not do a great job to show you how far you are (it only give you a number like 6.9 Gb out of 8.7 >Gb, but does not say anything about speed or how long it will take at current speed). But otherwise it is OK. Disclosure : my max Char level is 15 among 4. I have played since the 14th and it is today the 18th. Sound : voice acting is nice, corny at time, but that is *expected* rather than unwanted. The sound effect average, but OK enough for dungeon romp. the music is quite disturbing to play OTOH.

    Graphic : The model are good but not really great. You won't be paying too much attention to them in the heat of action. The environment are bland and a tad bit repetitive by zone, but change from zone to zone, while still staying urban (high rise zone, industrial zone, university zone , small shopping district zone, Chinatown zone etc...). I think the graphic are good enough, but do not offer much (up to level 15) difference. Speaking with a level 30 gave me the impression this stay the same all the game long. Not many option there, and unless you release vsynch, you are limited to 30 fps, and you have to trick around to add AA, but frankly that did not disturb me. As said, good graphic, but far away from being tip top hi tech. Gameplay : button smashing. Sure there are combo you can do, but up to level 15 by mixing restore, health gain power, and 2 interrupt/blocking break skill you can deal with nearly all the PVP content. I tried a few of the combo to see if it made a difference, and it sure did, but OTOH the fact that you have to remember half a dozen combination of tap and hold make it easier for people to use mostly 1 or 2. Sure I betcha I would get killed in pvp over and over, once people learn to combo and combo break, but come on. Tap 9 time then hold ? What the heck. Remind me of mortal combat. Content get repetitive in mission. Kill 20, gather 10, kill 15, repeat and rinse. Thankfully the story (if you pay attention to it) is stopping the gameplay to think too far. Anyway probably my own fault for finding the combo system too complicated. but buyer beware. There are a lot of common quest line, but the 6 sets of different power give replaybility. And two side, villain and heroes. OTOH you level pretty damn quick, I am a few day in and i have 3 level 10 char and 1 level 4 (I tried different power set, fire, ice, nature, and sorcery). The main problem is that the gameplay is always the same, and the quest don't seem to be different at level 1 or 15, only the mob level. Character creation : average at best. There is no much allowed except different skin and hair, and 3 sizes. Otherwise you pretty rapidely see people use the same combo. For example be it male or female with a rock skin, if you cover it all with a spandex, and a mask , that does not make sense. So most people with a different skin go with clothing showing that skin off. So I see a lot of dupes outside. UI: bad. Baaad UI. *Whack UI with a rolled paper journal*. Chat window is small and as far as i can tell not resizable. kiddy filter FORCED to be on, and it does a bad job at it. For example "about it" get censored, because filter ignore space and see TIT. Bahhhh. Can't assign more than 6 powers. If you want to use 6 differents, you have to use the clunky UI to reassign, you can't "save" different action bar there is only one. No interraction I could find like /bow , /curtsey, but maybe I missed it because the FORCED tutorial (not skippable) do a good job teaching you 2 or 3 basic then throw you out in the boiling water without explanation. POWER are very badly explained and result is sometimes surprising and make you regret having choose it. And i pass many other flaw. I am slowly running out of character so I need to conclude. At the moment the game is limited in gameplay, and end content is reported to be limited (by level 30). Don't expect much more than a few week content for 1 char from 1 to 30. Environment repetitive quest repetitive. if you are a DC fan, maybe this game earn a good 7.5 out of 10. If you are not, this game don't earn much better than a 5/10.

    In a way CO had a lack of content and end content like this game, but it allowed a MUCH much greater customisation and varied gameplay. If they add content/repair UI for PC, it might get a 6/10. Don't expect a lasting impression.
    Expand
  6. Oct 11, 2012
    4
    Great idea for a game, and full of potential that went to waste at the end. I Beta tested this game and I was really excited for it. It seemedGreat idea for a game, and full of potential that went to waste at the end. I Beta tested this game and I was really excited for it. It seemed that it would be a true revolution in MMO-RPG games, mainly because of the more casual-action combat based approach. I bought it when it came out and had a blast with it for several weeks, however, much like many companies do with MMOs, they front-loaded the good content and left the last levels and end game to rot. You do hit the level cap very fast and you will enjoy your way up there, specially with the creative action-buttom-mashing-combat that it has. But once you reach end game, you find yourself with nothing else to do, literally. PvP was fun the first few weeks, then everyone left and the lack of reaction by SOE to merge servers and manage population balance killed that part too. The nail in the coffin was SOE's slow reaction (if at all) in fixing pressing issues, (not only bugs), adding new content and being involved with the community. The controls, due to the console porting, were mediocre, the interface was way too simplified at the cost of functionality, they never got around fixing the chat system correctly, and bunch of other "small" issues that overall contributed to push away their player base. Conclusion: A sad result to what could've been an amazing game. While fun initially and during the short leveling period, the game has absolutely nothing good to offer at end game. Furthermore, SOE's lack of involvement with the community and quick reaction to fix major issues with the game ended up killing DCUO's player base. This game was full of potential, and it could've been a great MMO under the right hands. Expand
  7. Sep 11, 2014
    0
    The leveling process is the most fun, which can be done in one day. All end game content is boring, repetitive, and way too easy.

    The
    The leveling process is the most fun, which can be done in one day. All end game content is boring, repetitive, and way too easy.

    The community (including the current SOE community manager for dcuo) is even worse than the actual game. The community manager revels in threatening posters on the forums. If they make a complaint about something, he threatens to make it worse. He used the words "be careful what you wish for" while twisting the words of a poster. Google "dcuo forum the current prestige cap isn't going to work" the green name on the third page of the thread to see the way he manages the community he was hired to manage. "Be care what you wish for..." and he made good on that threat, the very next game update addressed the issue at hand in the most sadistic way imaginable.

    The devs used to know what they were doing, but recently they've been adding boring and monotonous game mechanics that cater to three-year-olds and then the devs (especially the current creative director) openly insult their customers in the game's forums. Every week they make a new decision that is a deal breaker for people who used to be fanboys of the game.

    If you start playing it and you enjoy it, it will be a completely different game within a year. If you decide to pick it up and you love the game, the question in the back of your head should be: How long until they introduce my deal breaker to the game? Because players that were at one point the biggest supporters and fanboys of this game are now leaving en masse (I used to love this game and said many times I'd be playing this game till the servers shutdown). Right now the universally decided most obnoxious fanboy is fuming about the most recent changes, other forumites are trolling him reminding him of how he previously always said the devs are always right, and telling him he could never make good on his threat to quit the game because he has previously proclaimed that his league is like family and he loves them.

    Check out the dcuo forums and I can almost guarantee you'll see long time players begging the devs not to introduce some bull crud mechanic that will destroy the fun of the game.

    The game is buggy and you disconnect a lot, but for a longtime I convinced myself that all games will be buggy and glitchy and kick me out from time to time, it's the willful decisions that the devs make to dumb down the game and their constant underestimation of their players' intelligence and skill that got me to quit playing what was my favorite game for two years.
    Expand

See all 104 User Reviews