Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 227 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DC Universe Online is an MMO based on DC comic book universe and lets you fight along side or against DC superheroes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Feb 1, 2011
    100
    This isn't the sort of MMO that asks you to park for hours on end several nights in a row. It's more of a co-operative or competitive multiplayer action game, perfect for short intense visits. And because your character doesn't sport rows of tiny icons for a thousand different skills, DC Universe is also perfect for less frequent visits.
  2. Jan 17, 2011
    88
    If you're a fan of action, MMOs, or comic books, and if you're looking to commit a lot of time to a single game, DC Universe Online will not disappoint you.
  3. Jan 27, 2011
    85
    They have achieved to turn into a hit a title which might have passed unnoticed. Being a superhero or villain has never been so fun, and we can share it with thousand of players.
  4. Jan 28, 2011
    70
    Great atmosphere and an addictive character creator, but the quests are a bit too repetitive.
  5. 70
    If you are a fan of comics, then this is your dream come true. To fight against the Joker with Catwoman? Wow! But unfortunately, the game is not as fun as the comics, nor as colorful as the superhero's costumes. [Issue#201]
  6. Mar 3, 2011
    60
    DCUO never really takes off. It suffers from numerous bugs and glitches, and the structure of the quests looks more suitable for a single-player RPG rather than an MMO.
  7. Feb 4, 2011
    40
    SOE tried, and failed, to straddle the line between action game and MMO. Think Crackdown -- but with all of the concessions, limitations, and annoyances of a mediocre massively multiplayer game.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 100
  2. Negative: 30 out of 100
  1. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    The best free mmo I've ever played, my problem with mmo's is that you have to invest way to much time in them to achieve some thing, This game you can ujst play for a few hours and put it down, Its a shame the customization is limited but you can still creat some cool characters based on your favourite super heros and villains. The combat is pretty good as are the mechanics, my main problem is the waiting time to join a game, the first time I joined it was quick but over the weekend it was about 30 minutes, hopefully that will calm down in time as alot of people joined when it became free. Overall a very good MMO for light players, well worth the download..........for free. Expand
  2. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    I continue to be surprised by DCUO. I had heard that the combat was different, dynamic, and more action-oriented. And well....it actually is. And done really well. It's not just frantic clicking though, there's a surprising amount of depth, with counters to moves, counters to the counters, etc. And that's just scratching the surface. There's solo content, 2-player content, small and large group content. PVE and PVP. Different forms of currency to gained, and exploration and collection side activities. It has a fast leveling curve, but that's because there's even more content once you hit max level. All in all, I am very pleased with DCUO. Expand
  3. Jan 12, 2011
    10
    This game is fantastic. You shouldn't compare it to WoW, it's not a typically MMO it's an action game wrapped in an MMO wrapping. The graphics are beautiful, the voice work is top notch, the battles are crazy fun, the powers, combos, loot, levels, it's all a great bundle of fun. Can't recommend the game highly enough! Expand
  4. Jun 1, 2012
    8
    The game is great in every field, graphic, music, gameplay, customization. it really catures how a DC universe would be and let u live in it. it is a solid 10 for me. But i am only going to give it an 8 since the rock paper scissor on the pvp is obviously a fail. like theres been many times i fail to baddies just becasue their class eats mine. other than that this is a must try game as u know it is free now. Expand
  5. May 10, 2012
    6
    It's nice to see all of my favourite DC heroes and villains in one game (with few exceptions, for DLCs, I guess), but the control for PC ruins it. Still, it's a fun game. 6 out of 10. Expand
  6. Mar 19, 2011
    4
    The port to PC feels unfinished. The graphics, at times, are very nice and it's a refreshing break from fantasy MMOs. The chat system is next to archaic as is the friend/league system. The game is pretty fun until level 30 and then..theres not a lot to do. You can do duos or raid but thats..pretty much it. For people who like to explore..theres little to explore besides the two cityscapes which get very repetitive after a while. I've gotten two characters to level 30 and I feel like it's a single player game - because it's so hard to interact with others. Expand
  7. Sep 11, 2014
    0
    The leveling process is the most fun, which can be done in one day. All end game content is boring, repetitive, and way too easy.

    The
    community (including the current SOE community manager for dcuo) is even worse than the actual game. The community manager revels in threatening posters on the forums. If they make a complaint about something, he threatens to make it worse. He used the words "be careful what you wish for" while twisting the words of a poster. Google "dcuo forum the current prestige cap isn't going to work" the green name on the third page of the thread to see the way he manages the community he was hired to manage. "Be care what you wish for..." and he made good on that threat, the very next game update addressed the issue at hand in the most sadistic way imaginable.

    The devs used to know what they were doing, but recently they've been adding boring and monotonous game mechanics that cater to three-year-olds and then the devs (especially the current creative director) openly insult their customers in the game's forums. Every week they make a new decision that is a deal breaker for people who used to be fanboys of the game.

    If you start playing it and you enjoy it, it will be a completely different game within a year. If you decide to pick it up and you love the game, the question in the back of your head should be: How long until they introduce my deal breaker to the game? Because players that were at one point the biggest supporters and fanboys of this game are now leaving en masse (I used to love this game and said many times I'd be playing this game till the servers shutdown). Right now the universally decided most obnoxious fanboy is fuming about the most recent changes, other forumites are trolling him reminding him of how he previously always said the devs are always right, and telling him he could never make good on his threat to quit the game because he has previously proclaimed that his league is like family and he loves them.

    Check out the dcuo forums and I can almost guarantee you'll see long time players begging the devs not to introduce some bull crud mechanic that will destroy the fun of the game.

    The game is buggy and you disconnect a lot, but for a longtime I convinced myself that all games will be buggy and glitchy and kick me out from time to time, it's the willful decisions that the devs make to dumb down the game and their constant underestimation of their players' intelligence and skill that got me to quit playing what was my favorite game for two years.
    Expand

See all 100 User Reviews