Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 1 Critic Awaiting 3 more reviews What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 34 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Left for dead on Tau Volantis, Isaac Clarke and John Carver face a daunting journey. As madness takes hold, they find they can't trust their eyes or each other. The trek leads to the ship Terra Nova, now home to a sadistic cult of Unitologists. The horror continues as the Dead Space saga enters its darkest chapter. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Mar 15, 2013
    65
    Want to see the actual ending to the adventures of Clark and Carver on Tau Volantis? That’ll be $9,99, please.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 5 out of 10
  1. Mar 14, 2013
    9
    This is what the main game should be like, tension, scare and hallucination, these are the things makes you feels like a dead space game. Although it is short, but it's a brilliant experience, I hope more DLC like this will be on the way. Expand
  2. Jun 28, 2013
    8
    Honestly this game's been getting a lot of terrible terrible reviews, and I understand why, it's turning into an action adventure.. But I tried out this DLC and still feel it's being given too much hate, actually this new content's being hated waaaay too much. This update was a step in the RIGHT direction! Mind you a short one. The playtime was, a few hours, but damn was it scary again.. This game hasn't scared me once since the first game, but this, this got me. The hallucinations are back baby! And so, SO much scarier! It really feels like a nightmare again, like the world's pinned against you! If you want this series to be scary again for you, try this DLC out. It'll help fund the series, and tell the gamemakers you want a real terror game! Collapse
  3. Jun 16, 2013
    8
    I appreciate the direction of Dead Space and having played all 3 in sequence its a great narrative piece and while this is an expensive DLC for the content it adds, its content you will not want to miss if you like the story aspects of Dead Space. Overall this series is fantastic and well developed. I am dinging it several points as the DLC should have been included in the main game as the final scene sort of like the final climax in Dead Space 2 where the final boss was NOT the final scene.

    If you like story and want to get a feel for what Dead Space 4, if there is one, will be like, I suggest picking it up.
    Expand
  4. Aug 4, 2013
    4
    Awakened is extremely short and not really scary. Surely there are cultists and their leader and nightmares, but none of it feels like it matters because deep down in your heart you know that anything that jumps at you will eat lead (or plasma) and die.
    Moreover imaginary enemies drop physical loot when they perish. Which makes the whole scare thing even more ridiculous.
    Did I mention it's short?
    Expand
  5. Mar 15, 2013
    3
    Although the DLC reminded me of the original Dead Space, the credits literally lasted longer then the content, simply to promote a sequel. No where near worth 10 bucks. Expand
  6. Mar 20, 2013
    2
    The game only last for around 1 to 1.5 hours, which is too short to deserve for such price. The so-called disturbing content is just some decoration made in repetitive environment from original DS3. I only find 2 new scenes which are not using the environment model from original DS3. For the game play, the enemies cheat even more than in DS3, since most of your enemies are just hallucinations, they often spawn right in front of or behind you instantly, and the camera angle just suck in narrow environment, causing annoyance and unexpected health loss. Moreover, the plot doesn't make too many sense, with all people suddenly going crazy, and Issac has a suit repaired already, and so have the disturbing content. The over-emphasis of hallucinations doesn't make the series return to original series, as it is not scary. The distortion of player vision, and the frequent switch from hallucination to reality, and vice versa, just cause too much annoyance, making the combat not smooth to carry out. Overall, the effort put into such DLC doesn't worth the price, I only find that the last 10 minutes game play of the DLC (i.e. from boss battle to the end) is fun. Expand
  7. Jul 27, 2014
    1
    This was pure garbage. Am I hallucinating or does this game suck? Am I really typing these keys? Suck. Suck. Suck. Suck. I totally regret even torrenting this for free. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews