Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 929 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dead Space 3 embodies deep space terror. Players embark on a ride through space that takes them to a hostile new planet, Tau Volantis. Fortunately, they are not alone this time around. The fully integrated drop-in/drop-out co-op feature gives players the option to play alone or team-up with a friend anytime. Players that choose to take down the terror together experience additional story details, side missions and gameplay mechanics only found when playing as John Carver. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    91
    With a weak start, enjoyable middle parts and a great ending, Dead Space 3 is a game not to be missed. With such a heavy emphasis on gore, the game could've used a touch of psychological horror. Still, you can't really fault Dead Space 3 for lack of strong atmosphere. [Feb 2013]
  2. Feb 16, 2013
    90
    Dead Space 3 for PC is a good port, with plenty of advanced video options but standard res textures and no DirectX 11 support. That said, the game itself is stunning and the fans will not be disappointed.
  3. Feb 8, 2013
    81
    Dead Space 3, despite its strengths in presentation, atmosphere and sound remained well below the class of its predecessors. Too bad if you consider that this is probably due to targeting a wider audience.
  4. Feb 15, 2013
    79
    In reality, Dead Space 3 could almost be regarded as a stand-alone expansion pack for Dead Space 2. The single player gameplay is largely identical to the previous instalment. But, since I found Dead Space 2 an enjoyable experience, I find no fault with that at all.
  5. Feb 25, 2013
    75
    Sure, it’d be nice to see the kind of PC support title such as Battlefield 3 and Crysis 3 are getting, but Dead Space 3 is more than a straight port and still quite a bit of fun.
  6. Mar 30, 2013
    70
    Dead Space 3 brings refreshing gameplay options without sacrificing the gritty, believable universe, but scares are few and far between. [Apr 2013, p.92]
  7. Feb 15, 2013
    60
    Perfectly decent and enjoyable enough, but the lack of scares hurts it more than you might think.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 202
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Haters gonna hate. This is just as good as Dead Space 1 2 honestly. The coop is actually a neat addition to the series and the game is still scary if you play it at a higher difficulty setting. Weapon Crafting is handled well and adds a nice layer of customization. For anyone having issues with the FPS being locked to 30: Turn vsync off in the game and force vsync through your GPU control panel. After doing that I was able to play the game maxed out 150fps. Collapse
  2. Mar 13, 2013
    9
    Never played DS1 or DS2. However, I read the plots and watched the movies before going into Dead Space 3. I'm one of those random few (apparently) that actually enjoy games like RE5, LP2 and BL2. In short, I'm a coop whore. If you're not, good for you and this review is not for you. I've already completed the game with a friend and I will say that as a coop game, DS3 is a good game. The visuals are pretty intense and I don't even want to know what the texture budget was. There are some minor plot holes and some surprises, but I couldn't help feeling that some of the plot seemed ripped out of the Mass Effect or Halo series. Its got all the hallmarks of a "massive race intent on harvesting all life and wiping the galaxy clean". Its passable for a single game but it leaves one to wonder how it will damage the series as a whole. As for gameplay, I thoroughly enjoyed it. Coop partner and I would cover each other through many events. The coop missions, which have one player hallucinating and seeing out-of-place objects, was a very nice touch. "Dude, do you see the presents and birthday cake!?" "Um... no... I see a crate... with blood on it. Its like every other crate we've seen" "So you don't also see the big banner that says 'happy birthday'?" "Nope." It is a conversation I will not soon forget. As far as the bench system is concerned, it is a nice touch but I found myself wanting more suit upgrades. The weapons are very customizable but the suits upgrade are pretty basic. For anyone wondering, the suits themselves are cosmetic only and have no effect on the game. Suit upgrades transfer between suits automatically. The one downside of the bench system is that in coop games, one partner may find themselves waiting on the other. A more user friendly interface for the bench (showing all upgrade menus, etc.) at once would've streamlined the process.

    I will admit that the space interior and exterior environments in the first half of the chapters were the best in the game. Aside from the fact that half of the crew must have spent most of their lives in the many elevators (loading screens) in the game, it all felt connected and that you were actually in a game world. The planet side chapters often felt disconnected even though there was no clear cut-off or drop-in moment aside from when you arrive. I could have done without the rappel mountain sequences. If they would have made the entire game take place in space, I wouldn't have minded.

    As far as difficulty (on normal), in coop it didn't seem insurmountable except for one long occasion in the second to last chapter when waves of enemies pour in. However, that same room/environment is reused three times in that chapter so the attack doesn't come as a surprise. The last chapters reuse a lot of the environment and feels a little rushed.

    For the record, I was also not a fan of the last boss. It seemed nearly identical to the last boss in Mass Effect 2. Big boss, weak points, and done. I don't want to penalize the entire game though for one weak boss considering I was pleased with a majority of the game.

    For this PC version, I will say I'm not a fan of Origin but it isn't very bothersome in this game and I've learned to loathe it less. EA has made some good strides in recent years, but they seem to be spending too much on games and betting too much at the Craps table. That argument applies to Dead Space 3 as well. The game has incredibly high productions values, but it makes you wonder where they could have walled the garden a bit more and spent less. Betting that your game will sell more than five million copies to turn a profit is a tough sell. I hope they will continue with their plans for a Dead Space 4 (albeit reign it in) and retain coop but only time will tell.

    I am looking forward to working my way through pure survival mode next in coop.
    Expand
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    9
    I have read many of the reviews and I dont think people got the memo that this was not gonna be a horror game like its predecessors. Its an Action/FPS/RPG now and I think some players got a bit hurt about that. I have found the storyline well written and the voice over work to be well done. The shooting works well and the game moves smoothly through a very well rendered world of space mutant necro-bugs. If you liked Mass Effect then you will like this game. Dead space 1 and 2 are totally different games and Im thankful they decided to go another route with this one. Expand
  4. Jul 10, 2014
    7
    Dead Space 3 doesn't deserve the all of the derision it has gotten from gamers and critics even though it doesn't quite live up to its predecessors. Ditching some of the pure horror elements of the franchise was appropriate for the story and setting of the game and it actually outshines DS1&2 in some areas. Environments are detailed and beautifully realized. Level design is great and offers some non-linear elements that reward you for exploration. There is also a very deep weapon and equipment customization system that allows you to gather a wide range of resources use them to create and upgrade. You are required to manage resources wisely to advance.

    The problems with the DS3 lie along two lines. First, the developers seem to think you constantly need hordes of enemies to shoot at and this can lead to sections of the game were the action is Call of Duty style over the top. Over the course of an almost 20 hr campaign this can get exhausting and even dull. There should be some quieter moments to allow you to explore the large environments, provide exposition or allow for character interaction. Second, while the overall plot is pretty good, the story pacing can sometimes drag and instead of progressing it can belabor the same points. Also, The characters outside of Isaac and Ellie are poorly developed and their actions are sometimes hard to understand.

    Overall the experience could best be described as "Bioschock 2 in space" and it should be enjoyed on those terms instead of being compared to its predecessors.
    Expand
  5. Jun 24, 2013
    6
    Dead Space 3: The Perfect Necromorph

    My expectations were big for Dead Space 3, even if the game didn't seem spooky anymore and well, you
    know, EA was in charge. I really appreciated the first 2 games and I wanted to see the finally. I got what I wanted, but at a certain price..

    First things first, Dead Space 3 was developed for consoles and unfortunately for us PC gamers, it's a straight port. The controls are awful and absolutely not intuitive. A good example would be the key to exit menus, sometimes it's TAB, sometimes ESC. I strongly recommend re-mapping the hot-keys unless you want your hand to feel like a spider on the keyboard. The graphics are the same as on console and they're aren't any fancy settings like FOV. I don't understand why EA would put zero effort in the PC version of a game they want to sell massively and be successful. It's like EA still doesn't care about PC Gamers and think they are a minority.

    At least EA did us a favor, they added micro-transactions to the game, cause hey, we love micro-transactions, don't we.. Not only is there micro-transactions, co op was added to the game! But don't worry, not the lame local co op were you get to play with your friend on the couch and have a great time. Instead, both have to pay for the game, full price and play online on stable servers. Thank you EA for your generosity, kindness and openness to customer feedback!

    For the core game-play itself, it's not that bad. You can only carry two guns with you, instead of four, but the dismemberment still feels good and that's important for a third game in a franchise that's about killing alien zombies. The Necromorphs also still feel dangerous and scary, that last aspect being a concern for a lot of players before release. Visceral Games decided to renew the crafting system or as they call it the "bench". You can now create your own weapons and items from materials which are scavenged by bots you send out. It's a fun addition, but I had so many health packs I never felt I needed to make some until the very end. Another poor aspect of the game-play were boss fights. They were completely unoriginal and way too simple, including the finally. Developers seem to have a hard time making good boss fights these days. If your going to have boss fights in your game, at least make them fun and challenging or don't put them at all.

    The last aspect that I haven't talked about is the reason why I bought the game: the story. The background story, the main plot, is the best part of the game and it's what saves it. If you are a Dead Space fan like me, you've always wanted to know the truth behind those Markers and that Visceral Games delivered. There is only one thing that bothered me in the story: the relationship between Isaac and Ellie. In the first game, our favorite engineer is in love with his girlfriend Nicole and misses her terribly. In the second game we meet Ellie, but Clarke has visions of Nicole and is still clearly in love with her. Nothing special happens between Ellie and Isaac, they simply help each other out. Now apparently, we haven't seen Ellie since, but we are heartbroken and miss her terribly. I don't get the sudden change. The whole story I never bit the new romance. It's like they completely forgot about Nicole and replaced her with Ellie. Isaac doesn't even mention her once or think about her, even if she was a very important character in the first two games.

    Dead Space 3 is exactly like one of it's horrible creatures: the transformation from console to PC was horrible, it's hungry for you(or your money), it's not too friendly about having fun with someone else, the flesh around it is rotten and you can't feel much compassion for it, but at it's core, it is what it is, a Dead Space game. That's what saved it, but to get there, I had to go through a lot of rotten flesh and that's a hard price to pay(apart from the 60$) just to have a bit of fun and learn the truth. I would only recommend the game to real Dead Space fans, that have played both first games and I also suggest you wait for the price to lower(around 20$). EA should leave this franchise alone for a couple of years, before it completely decays. I know there's a DLC for the game, but that should of not even existed. Maybe EA is using the Dead Space games to pass subliminal messages to players: "Make us whole EA, make us whole!", but so far I don't think that's working out too good for them.

    Verdict
    A good Dead Space game at it's core, but the flesh around it leaves a bitter taste.

    Score: 6.5/10
    Recommended Price: 20$

    + Background story
    + Dismemberment
    + Ambient and sound effects
    - Boss fights
    - Straight port
    - The love story
    - Micro-transactions
    - No local co op
    Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2013
    5
    As the third installment in the pretty brilliant Dead Space series, it has become increasingly difficult to remain as scary and touching as the series was at its inception. Dead Space 3 does many things very well, but seems to have fallen short on exactly those strengths that made this franchise unique. Dead Space 3 has turned the franchise into a very straightforward 3rd person shooter, with some scary moments.

    Gameplay-wise, Dead Space 3 offers a revamped Weapon system, where players can create completely custom weapons that combine any two weapon types, most of which we have seen before, and some of which are brand new. While heralded by many reviewers as a great feature, it actually manages to completely destroy one of the principles that made Dead Space what it was: surviving on the bare minimum, being short on everything, having to adapt your playstyle to availability of Shops, ammo and weaponry. No more of this with the new Bench, you will have the most destructive weapon you could possibly build, within the first few hours of play.

    And of course it IS fun to play around with the bench and blast away the uglies. But it gets boring very quickly, and then you realize the new customization options completely destroy the game's feel of tension and fear. It gets worse, though. At some point you have the materials you need to start upgrading your already overpowered weaponry through Circuits, to ensure the need to progress slowly and with care is now completely obliterated.

    Where Dead Space 1 offered a quality storyline like few games can and have done, Dead Space 3 has reduced the story to a bare necessity to justify the large amount of content it has. Because yes, there are many levels to play and places to discover, though all of them are fairly linear and offer little in terms of surprise or shock.

    In conclusion, I feel it is safe to say that Dead Space 3 is a very solid 3rd person action game, but no longer a very solid Survival Horror game. If you are looking for and expecting the latter like most players of the franchise, this can be a bit unsettling.
    Expand
  7. Jun 28, 2014
    0
    Dead space 1 was fantastic, and dead space 2 was 2x as good, almost perfect, but dead space 3 is just terrible for 3 majors reasons. #1 - The weapons are ineffective. Remember that time when combat felt satisfying and your guns actually killed what you shot? You can forget that in 3. The game was clearly designed for co op so a single player experience is beyond terrible because enemies move too fast, you can't kill them even with fully upgraded weapons, and you'll find yourself having to lower the difficult to casual just because you get attacked constantly. Combat never felt this unfair. # 2 - Ridiculously long and tedious scripted events... DS1 and DS2 knew how to use quick efficient scripted events to enhance the experience, but I've already beaten 3 once, and upon an attempt to try to play it a second time, on new game +, I found myself having to sigh for 30 minutes before I finally got to put on an EVA suit, all the while having to ignore an extremely douchey guy complaining over the radio. 3 - The story is epic fail. Frankly DS 1 and 2 were so cool the story came as a secondary feature, like icing on the cake, but since the combat sucks in 3, all you have is to try to hang onto an absurdly convoluted saga. I honestly don't even remember what I did all throughout 3 because it was so confusing and forgettable. 3 is rated F for fail. The producers clearly lost what made Dead Space so good from the beginning, like making Isaac feel weak, and the enemies frightening, but if you were smart and planned ahead, you could destroy waves of necromorphs with a real sense of accomplishment. 3 devolves into the same scenario over and over again. You see enemy. 3 more enemies spawn. Now the enemies are all around you, and they're hitting you, but your guns suck so badly that you have to devote 2 clips from your primary weapon to kill one single necromorph spastically trying to rip you to pieces. I hope they make a Dead Space 4 and return to the original formula. Oh, and the secondary character, the idiot in the red suit that screams angry 14 year old, we can do without him and characters like him entirely thank you very much. Expand

See all 202 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.