Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1004 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dead Space 3 embodies deep space terror. Players embark on a ride through space that takes them to a hostile new planet, Tau Volantis. Fortunately, they are not alone this time around. The fully integrated drop-in/drop-out co-op feature gives players the option to play alone or team-up withDead Space 3 embodies deep space terror. Players embark on a ride through space that takes them to a hostile new planet, Tau Volantis. Fortunately, they are not alone this time around. The fully integrated drop-in/drop-out co-op feature gives players the option to play alone or team-up with a friend anytime. Players that choose to take down the terror together experience additional story details, side missions and gameplay mechanics only found when playing as John Carver. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    91
    With a weak start, enjoyable middle parts and a great ending, Dead Space 3 is a game not to be missed. With such a heavy emphasis on gore, the game could've used a touch of psychological horror. Still, you can't really fault Dead Space 3 for lack of strong atmosphere. [Feb 2013]
  2. Feb 16, 2013
    90
    Dead Space 3 for PC is a good port, with plenty of advanced video options but standard res textures and no DirectX 11 support. That said, the game itself is stunning and the fans will not be disappointed.
  3. Feb 8, 2013
    81
    Dead Space 3, despite its strengths in presentation, atmosphere and sound remained well below the class of its predecessors. Too bad if you consider that this is probably due to targeting a wider audience.
  4. Feb 15, 2013
    79
    In reality, Dead Space 3 could almost be regarded as a stand-alone expansion pack for Dead Space 2. The single player gameplay is largely identical to the previous instalment. But, since I found Dead Space 2 an enjoyable experience, I find no fault with that at all.
  5. Feb 25, 2013
    75
    Sure, it’d be nice to see the kind of PC support title such as Battlefield 3 and Crysis 3 are getting, but Dead Space 3 is more than a straight port and still quite a bit of fun.
  6. Mar 30, 2013
    70
    Dead Space 3 brings refreshing gameplay options without sacrificing the gritty, believable universe, but scares are few and far between. [Apr 2013, p.92]
  7. Feb 15, 2013
    60
    Perfectly decent and enjoyable enough, but the lack of scares hurts it more than you might think.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 213
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Haters gonna hate. This is just as good as Dead Space 1 2 honestly. The coop is actually a neat addition to the series and the game is stillHaters gonna hate. This is just as good as Dead Space 1 2 honestly. The coop is actually a neat addition to the series and the game is still scary if you play it at a higher difficulty setting. Weapon Crafting is handled well and adds a nice layer of customization. For anyone having issues with the FPS being locked to 30: Turn vsync off in the game and force vsync through your GPU control panel. After doing that I was able to play the game maxed out 150fps. Expand
  2. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    The game just pushes the excellent story forward and as such it is just as great as previous ones. It has moments on space ships which areThe game just pushes the excellent story forward and as such it is just as great as previous ones. It has moments on space ships which are similar to DS1 & DS2 and then it moves the story to the planet's surface. Yes, it is more shooter like then, but as I said, the story defined how it would look like and as such is perfect. The co-op is also brilliant. I liked the previous save system better, during the gameplay you just longed to see the save point and the new auto-save makes it easier and less scary, but anyway this is still Dead Space for me. Expand
  3. Feb 9, 2013
    9
    This franchise is among my favorite in the entire industry. This first game was one of the scariest thing I've ever experienced and the secondThis franchise is among my favorite in the entire industry. This first game was one of the scariest thing I've ever experienced and the second one was a great game but I did find my self scared a jump scare or two got me but that was it. This game had quite a lot of attempts at scare but, much like the second, not many got pass. The overall mood of the game is mildly tense in a scary way but there is a large amount tension in not knowing what is going to happen next. The mood of the game best shows through during solo play, save co-op for your second play through. Overall, much like the second game, it does less than stellar in the horror genre, unless you are easily gotten by jump scares. On the earlier mention not of co-op, it works great when you have no one in your game then there is no AI to follow you around leavening the feel of the game intact, rather than making you fell like a babysitter for your AI partner. The combat is as great as ever and the weapon crafting system is easy and one of the most fun this about the game can be making new weapons. If you like the old weapons than have no fear they all make a return. There is even a mode unlocked upon beating the game that is unlocked where you can only use those guns. Speaking of other modes there are 4 in total, not including new game that add in things that make the game more interesting, like hardcore where you have to play the game without dying once or pure survival where you must craft med-kits and ammo as you find none through. This helps to boost replay value even higher which is amassing considering that this games cut-scenes are short and none feel unneeded. The pacing of the story is great if you like to explore your game worlds, if not it might be a little slow, the last two chapters, out of the nineteen in the game, felt a little rush as the story accelerated towards the finale. Exploring is rewarded in this game with not only achievements but in game rewards every time you complete a set, which range from text log to weapon parts and even artifacts.

    So to summarize if your looking solely for a horror game then look elsewhere but that is not to say the game is not great. The combat and mechanics are great and work flawlessly. The atmosphere is mildly tense and will keep you guessing on what will happen next. the graphics and sound design are beyond stellar. Replay value is high.
    Expand
  4. Feb 28, 2015
    7
    Good game, a lot of stress . We hesitate to each corridor corners . the scenario is crazy but we want to understand why.
    Excellent horror
    Good game, a lot of stress . We hesitate to each corridor corners . the scenario is crazy but we want to understand why.
    Excellent horror games in space and yet I am not too ammateur the genre. But this third version is too easy
    Expand
  5. Jun 24, 2013
    6
    Dead Space 3: The Perfect Necromorph

    My expectations were big for Dead Space 3, even if the game didn't seem spooky anymore and well, you
    Dead Space 3: The Perfect Necromorph

    My expectations were big for Dead Space 3, even if the game didn't seem spooky anymore and well, you know, EA was in charge. I really appreciated the first 2 games and I wanted to see the finally. I got what I wanted, but at a certain price..

    First things first, Dead Space 3 was developed for consoles and unfortunately for us PC gamers, it's a straight port. The controls are awful and absolutely not intuitive. A good example would be the key to exit menus, sometimes it's TAB, sometimes ESC. I strongly recommend re-mapping the hot-keys unless you want your hand to feel like a spider on the keyboard. The graphics are the same as on console and they're aren't any fancy settings like FOV. I don't understand why EA would put zero effort in the PC version of a game they want to sell massively and be successful. It's like EA still doesn't care about PC Gamers and think they are a minority.

    At least EA did us a favor, they added micro-transactions to the game, cause hey, we love micro-transactions, don't we.. Not only is there micro-transactions, co op was added to the game! But don't worry, not the lame local co op were you get to play with your friend on the couch and have a great time. Instead, both have to pay for the game, full price and play online on stable servers. Thank you EA for your generosity, kindness and openness to customer feedback!

    For the core game-play itself, it's not that bad. You can only carry two guns with you, instead of four, but the dismemberment still feels good and that's important for a third game in a franchise that's about killing alien zombies. The Necromorphs also still feel dangerous and scary, that last aspect being a concern for a lot of players before release. Visceral Games decided to renew the crafting system or as they call it the "bench". You can now create your own weapons and items from materials which are scavenged by bots you send out. It's a fun addition, but I had so many health packs I never felt I needed to make some until the very end. Another poor aspect of the game-play were boss fights. They were completely unoriginal and way too simple, including the finally. Developers seem to have a hard time making good boss fights these days. If your going to have boss fights in your game, at least make them fun and challenging or don't put them at all.

    The last aspect that I haven't talked about is the reason why I bought the game: the story. The background story, the main plot, is the best part of the game and it's what saves it. If you are a Dead Space fan like me, you've always wanted to know the truth behind those Markers and that Visceral Games delivered. There is only one thing that bothered me in the story: the relationship between Isaac and Ellie. In the first game, our favorite engineer is in love with his girlfriend Nicole and misses her terribly. In the second game we meet Ellie, but Clarke has visions of Nicole and is still clearly in love with her. Nothing special happens between Ellie and Isaac, they simply help each other out. Now apparently, we haven't seen Ellie since, but we are heartbroken and miss her terribly. I don't get the sudden change. The whole story I never bit the new romance. It's like they completely forgot about Nicole and replaced her with Ellie. Isaac doesn't even mention her once or think about her, even if she was a very important character in the first two games.

    Dead Space 3 is exactly like one of it's horrible creatures: the transformation from console to PC was horrible, it's hungry for you(or your money), it's not too friendly about having fun with someone else, the flesh around it is rotten and you can't feel much compassion for it, but at it's core, it is what it is, a Dead Space game. That's what saved it, but to get there, I had to go through a lot of rotten flesh and that's a hard price to pay(apart from the 60$) just to have a bit of fun and learn the truth. I would only recommend the game to real Dead Space fans, that have played both first games and I also suggest you wait for the price to lower(around 20$). EA should leave this franchise alone for a couple of years, before it completely decays. I know there's a DLC for the game, but that should of not even existed. Maybe EA is using the Dead Space games to pass subliminal messages to players: "Make us whole EA, make us whole!", but so far I don't think that's working out too good for them.

    Verdict
    A good Dead Space game at it's core, but the flesh around it leaves a bitter taste.

    Score: 6.5/10
    Recommended Price: 20$

    + Background story
    + Dismemberment
    + Ambient and sound effects
    - Boss fights
    - Straight port
    - The love story
    - Micro-transactions
    - No local co op
    Expand
  6. May 6, 2013
    5
    The Dead Space franchise moved forward, and sadly it has also been corrupted by EA's PureGreed engine.
    resources to be grinded for no reason,
    The Dead Space franchise moved forward, and sadly it has also been corrupted by EA's PureGreed engine.
    resources to be grinded for no reason, weapon ammo dumbed-down, game pace speed up AGAIN they had already done it on dead space 2 diverging the game even more from the horror roots.

    Weapon crafting system almost nice, but too obviously just a plot to convince people to throw away money to build their perfect weapon, along with an overly long and infinite achievement list to unlock certain weapon parts and armor, again to push no bully the gamer which already purchased the game with an AAA price tag to throw even more money towards EA.

    Worse still, all the hallucination scenes and the last game chapters were seemingly ripped off the base game and tacked on a DLC to gaugue more money from the players, giving the story an odd pace on both the base game with its non-ending, and the 'expansion'.

    The franchise would deserve a better number, but unfortunately it has to be averaged with EA's low rating, making it deserve no more than a 5.
    Expand
  7. Aug 15, 2014
    0
    Not scary at all. Dead Space 2 was amazing. This was an abomination. It will completely ruin your view on the franchise. They removed the saveNot scary at all. Dead Space 2 was amazing. This was an abomination. It will completely ruin your view on the franchise. They removed the save feature! It only autosaves which doesn't save during long side missions which you can accidently stumble across and lose hours of play. Even when you finish the side missions it doesnt always save. This is not a bug they chose to add this feature. The incompetence in EA is mind boggling.

    They added a roll feature to try to make it like gears of war so you can dodge the groups of necromorphs sprinting at you, there's country music playing, the entire time I was like wtf. Weapon crafting is so much worse and the menu purposely is not visible so you have to spend more hours on the game. All the original weapons now suck even with upgrades and there's soooo many medkits so looting has become a complete bore.

    The first Dead Space was good, the second they improved on it and it was critically acclaimed. I don't know what posseses them to change the gameplay. Some games shouldn't be changed, like you don't change Super Mario. Dead Space could've been one of the greater trilogys ever but EA screwed up they'll never get those fans back. This game was a 100% cash out
    Expand

See all 213 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.