Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 963 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dead Space 3 embodies deep space terror. Players embark on a ride through space that takes them to a hostile new planet, Tau Volantis. Fortunately, they are not alone this time around. The fully integrated drop-in/drop-out co-op feature gives players the option to play alone or team-up with a friend anytime. Players that choose to take down the terror together experience additional story details, side missions and gameplay mechanics only found when playing as John Carver. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    91
    With a weak start, enjoyable middle parts and a great ending, Dead Space 3 is a game not to be missed. With such a heavy emphasis on gore, the game could've used a touch of psychological horror. Still, you can't really fault Dead Space 3 for lack of strong atmosphere. [Feb 2013]
  2. Feb 16, 2013
    90
    Dead Space 3 for PC is a good port, with plenty of advanced video options but standard res textures and no DirectX 11 support. That said, the game itself is stunning and the fans will not be disappointed.
  3. Feb 8, 2013
    81
    Dead Space 3, despite its strengths in presentation, atmosphere and sound remained well below the class of its predecessors. Too bad if you consider that this is probably due to targeting a wider audience.
  4. Feb 15, 2013
    79
    In reality, Dead Space 3 could almost be regarded as a stand-alone expansion pack for Dead Space 2. The single player gameplay is largely identical to the previous instalment. But, since I found Dead Space 2 an enjoyable experience, I find no fault with that at all.
  5. Feb 25, 2013
    75
    Sure, it’d be nice to see the kind of PC support title such as Battlefield 3 and Crysis 3 are getting, but Dead Space 3 is more than a straight port and still quite a bit of fun.
  6. Mar 30, 2013
    70
    Dead Space 3 brings refreshing gameplay options without sacrificing the gritty, believable universe, but scares are few and far between. [Apr 2013, p.92]
  7. Feb 15, 2013
    60
    Perfectly decent and enjoyable enough, but the lack of scares hurts it more than you might think.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 209
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Haters gonna hate. This is just as good as Dead Space 1 2 honestly. The coop is actually a neat addition to the series and the game is still scary if you play it at a higher difficulty setting. Weapon Crafting is handled well and adds a nice layer of customization. For anyone having issues with the FPS being locked to 30: Turn vsync off in the game and force vsync through your GPU control panel. After doing that I was able to play the game maxed out 150fps. Expand
  2. Mar 13, 2013
    9
    Never played DS1 or DS2. However, I read the plots and watched the movies before going into Dead Space 3. I'm one of those random few (apparently) that actually enjoy games like RE5, LP2 and BL2. In short, I'm a coop whore. If you're not, good for you and this review is not for you. I've already completed the game with a friend and I will say that as a coop game, DS3 is a good game. The visuals are pretty intense and I don't even want to know what the texture budget was. There are some minor plot holes and some surprises, but I couldn't help feeling that some of the plot seemed ripped out of the Mass Effect or Halo series. Its got all the hallmarks of a "massive race intent on harvesting all life and wiping the galaxy clean". Its passable for a single game but it leaves one to wonder how it will damage the series as a whole. As for gameplay, I thoroughly enjoyed it. Coop partner and I would cover each other through many events. The coop missions, which have one player hallucinating and seeing out-of-place objects, was a very nice touch. "Dude, do you see the presents and birthday cake!?" "Um... no... I see a crate... with blood on it. Its like every other crate we've seen" "So you don't also see the big banner that says 'happy birthday'?" "Nope." It is a conversation I will not soon forget. As far as the bench system is concerned, it is a nice touch but I found myself wanting more suit upgrades. The weapons are very customizable but the suits upgrade are pretty basic. For anyone wondering, the suits themselves are cosmetic only and have no effect on the game. Suit upgrades transfer between suits automatically. The one downside of the bench system is that in coop games, one partner may find themselves waiting on the other. A more user friendly interface for the bench (showing all upgrade menus, etc.) at once would've streamlined the process.

    I will admit that the space interior and exterior environments in the first half of the chapters were the best in the game. Aside from the fact that half of the crew must have spent most of their lives in the many elevators (loading screens) in the game, it all felt connected and that you were actually in a game world. The planet side chapters often felt disconnected even though there was no clear cut-off or drop-in moment aside from when you arrive. I could have done without the rappel mountain sequences. If they would have made the entire game take place in space, I wouldn't have minded.

    As far as difficulty (on normal), in coop it didn't seem insurmountable except for one long occasion in the second to last chapter when waves of enemies pour in. However, that same room/environment is reused three times in that chapter so the attack doesn't come as a surprise. The last chapters reuse a lot of the environment and feels a little rushed.

    For the record, I was also not a fan of the last boss. It seemed nearly identical to the last boss in Mass Effect 2. Big boss, weak points, and done. I don't want to penalize the entire game though for one weak boss considering I was pleased with a majority of the game.

    For this PC version, I will say I'm not a fan of Origin but it isn't very bothersome in this game and I've learned to loathe it less. EA has made some good strides in recent years, but they seem to be spending too much on games and betting too much at the Craps table. That argument applies to Dead Space 3 as well. The game has incredibly high productions values, but it makes you wonder where they could have walled the garden a bit more and spent less. Betting that your game will sell more than five million copies to turn a profit is a tough sell. I hope they will continue with their plans for a Dead Space 4 (albeit reign it in) and retain coop but only time will tell.

    I am looking forward to working my way through pure survival mode next in coop.
    Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2013
    9
    I played Dead Space 1 and 2 and as far as I'm concerned, this is a great 3rd installment. I'm now replaying it on "Survival" mode and enjoying it.

    My favourite parts of the game were in orbit above Tau Volantis, going from ship to ship, looking for stuff and the great vista of being in space and above that world.

    I liked the differences between this game and the others making my own weapons, upgrading them with different circuit boards and attatchments. I think this 3rd Dead Space game needed changes otherwise it would just be the same formula all over again. Seems to me the developers did a smashing job of keeping what was really great about the other 2 games and adding in new aspects.

    There were more problems than usual with some glitches, like not being able to pick up ammo or some other things. I recommend not getting the voice "personalities" for the bots it gets really annoying after a while and it's like they never shut up sometimes.

    Considering they made this game in 2 years, compared to Aliens: Colonial Marines" five years well, they did an amazing job. And the Co-op is well implemented thanks Visceral for another great effort, much appreciated !

    Story was okay for me, ending too this is one of the best games I've played this year not sure what people are complaining about. I wonder sometimes if some gamers are becoming way way too demanding and critical jeepers Stop the whining and enjoy this game already :D
    Expand
  4. Jul 10, 2014
    7
    Dead Space 3 doesn't deserve the all of the derision it has gotten from gamers and critics even though it doesn't quite live up to its predecessors. Ditching some of the pure horror elements of the franchise was appropriate for the story and setting of the game and it actually outshines DS1&2 in some areas. Environments are detailed and beautifully realized. Level design is great and offers some non-linear elements that reward you for exploration. There is also a very deep weapon and equipment customization system that allows you to gather a wide range of resources use them to create and upgrade. You are required to manage resources wisely to advance.

    The problems with the DS3 lie along two lines. First, the developers seem to think you constantly need hordes of enemies to shoot at and this can lead to sections of the game were the action is Call of Duty style over the top. Over the course of an almost 20 hr campaign this can get exhausting and even dull. There should be some quieter moments to allow you to explore the large environments, provide exposition or allow for character interaction. Second, while the overall plot is pretty good, the story pacing can sometimes drag and instead of progressing it can belabor the same points. Also, The characters outside of Isaac and Ellie are poorly developed and their actions are sometimes hard to understand.

    Overall the experience could best be described as "Bioschock 2 in space" and it should be enjoyed on those terms instead of being compared to its predecessors.
    Expand
  5. Edd
    May 3, 2013
    6
    After playing the first dead space I was surprised after playing the second I was like :THIS IS AWESOME after playing the third i was like I mean the plot is kinda poor It will not compare like the other two dead space,the guns are awkward,When you need to upgrade your gun you don't use anymore power up to upgrade your guns,rig,etc you just simply collect scrap metal to upgrade them It was better off with the old upgrade what I liked in the game was the enemies you fought even humans in the game but also it was hard a little .
    So the reason why I gave it a 6 was it had well good graphics and the enemies this is the good part but the worst part is because of the storyline,the upgrade,the guns even Isaac's space suits
    Expand
  6. Sep 21, 2013
    5
    Okay gameplay, nice story. Do not like the weapon system that much. I like to cut monsters in half or to blow them up and i saved up for an awesome gun, or actually a couple and found them disappointing. The Graphics was disappointing as well. Looked like something from 2005. But it was okay to play. Luckily i got it cheap on Humblebundle.com :D Expand
  7. Aug 15, 2014
    0
    Not scary at all. Dead Space 2 was amazing. This was an abomination. It will completely ruin your view on the franchise. They removed the save feature! It only autosaves which doesn't save during long side missions which you can accidently stumble across and lose hours of play. Even when you finish the side missions it doesnt always save. This is not a bug they chose to add this feature. The incompetence in EA is mind boggling.

    They added a roll feature to try to make it like gears of war so you can dodge the groups of necromorphs sprinting at you, there's country music playing, the entire time I was like wtf. Weapon crafting is so much worse and the menu purposely is not visible so you have to spend more hours on the game. All the original weapons now suck even with upgrades and there's soooo many medkits so looting has become a complete bore.

    The first Dead Space was good, the second they improved on it and it was critically acclaimed. I don't know what posseses them to change the gameplay. Some games shouldn't be changed, like you don't change Super Mario. Dead Space could've been one of the greater trilogys ever but EA screwed up they'll never get those fans back. This game was a 100% cash out
    Expand

See all 209 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.