Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 440 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The world has ended. There is no hope. No new beginning. Only the survivors. DEADLIGHT follows the journey of Randall Wayne, a man searching for his family across Seattle during the aftermath of a 1980s event that has decimated life on earth. This visually stunning Cinematic SurvivalThe world has ended. There is no hope. No new beginning. Only the survivors. DEADLIGHT follows the journey of Randall Wayne, a man searching for his family across Seattle during the aftermath of a 1980s event that has decimated life on earth. This visually stunning Cinematic Survival Platformer will challenge you to run, jump, climb, and struggle for your life as you look for answers and the ones you love. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 12, 2012
    90
    I found Deadlight very entertaining, and consider it one of the best platformers I have ever played. I highly recommend it to pretty much anyone who likes the sound of a fast-paced horror action platformer that also has a decent story and amazing visuals.
  2. Oct 29, 2012
    84
    Deadlight is a fantastic game with wonderful platforming segments and magnificent art direction. It is a it short, but it's an adventure that worth enjoying.
  3. 84
    I could not tear myself away from the screen, during the five hours it took me to complete Deadlight. There are some design issues, mainly regarding the controls, but overall it was a worthy experience. [December 2012]
  4. Nov 29, 2012
    75
    The three acts of Deadlight cater to three different tastes. One is for the people who love rainy film noir, the other is for fans of hardcore platformers, the third one feels like a summer blockbuster. It's a pity that Deadlight is too short to satisfy the appetites of even one of these groups.
  5. Jan 7, 2013
    75
    The PC porting of Deadlight does not disappoint the fans. Mixing platforming, action and survival in a wise manner, the title conquer all the favors of the public.
  6. Nov 27, 2012
    73
    Deadlight makes good use of its premise, even though the whole zombie apocalypse thing has been done one too many times. And it's nice to see a game that bears resemblance to classics like Flashback or Another world. Sadly, the good atmosphere and beautiful visuals cannot fully compensate for some frustrating level design, short length and the occasional control issues.
  7. 70
    Survival platformer suffers from some minor bugs but its atmosphere and gameplay elements are catchy and satisfying enough to give it a try. [Christmas 2012]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 101
  2. Negative: 28 out of 101
  1. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    The atmosphere of this game is phenomenal, and the score for this game is absolutely incredible. Deadlight is no Triple A title, but these twoThe atmosphere of this game is phenomenal, and the score for this game is absolutely incredible. Deadlight is no Triple A title, but these two features say different. This is one of those few games that truly is an emotional experience, even for how simple this game really is. This game does have minor flaws when it comes to the melee combat system, but the platforming system works well. Aside from a view frustrating parts, its a fairly easy game. I can only say, let yourself get lost in this games atmosphere. Its dreary, saddenning, and melancholy, and it all works together with a sad story that has a sad twist you may not see coming. When I purchased this on Steam, I really had no knowledge of how this game was put together, but this game surprised me in so many ways that I can only hope Tequila Studios (Microsoft Studios published this game) goes on to produce more games of this quality. Collapse
  2. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    This game is another of those low key classics that have been illegally slept on.The side scrolling perspective feels fresh and is theThis game is another of those low key classics that have been illegally slept on.The side scrolling perspective feels fresh and is the highlight of this wonderful game.The graphics are stunning and did i mention the story? Its brilliant.The flashbacks that occur through the game keep you guessing and really allows you to get sucked into this world.

    This game is currently on offer on steam (23/3/13) and I can not encourage you enough to give this game a try.

    Having read some review below I can only assume the 'physics' and 'horrible controls' where due to the xbox version of this title as the pc version looks and plays amazing.
    Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2013
    8
    I think this is a great game and well worth the money I spent.

    Generally, the gripes I see about Deadlight are: 1) It is a basic
    I think this is a great game and well worth the money I spent.

    Generally, the gripes I see about Deadlight are:

    1) It is a basic side-scroller. Someone compared it to "Contra" from the NES. True, but not so much; yes, it is a side-scroller, but the 3D depth adds great atmosphere and makes the game beautiful and immersive; the levels are well-designed; and the controls and game play are, for the most part, very smooth (except I had a little difficulty with switching directions accidentally when clinging to tops of obstacles, costing me my life on more than one occasion.

    Also, I would say it is more like Prince of Persia than Contra. It's not a run-and-gun some have complained about the lack of guns/ammo, but like any good zombie game, limited resources and how you manage them are part of the package here, and pretty nicely balanced.

    2) The length. True, it's only about 5 hours long (I finished in 4.5, I believe, and I was trying to explore everywhere I could and pick up all the little tokens and items), but that's 2-3x your average movie length, and far more engaging and entertaining, so when you look at it that way...

    3) The pricetag. Okay, I think $15 might be a little steep, and I don't know that I would be willing to spend that, considering the game reminded me a lot of Limbo, a $5 indie game (which was only a little bit shorter in length.) But at the $2.99 I spent for it in a Steam sale, I feel like I more than got my money's worth...

    The graphics and atmosphere are great. The character and zombie movements and animations are smooth and fluid. The music is excellent. The attention to detail really adds that special touch, with things like the lengthy journal/backstory, the dream/flashback sequences, and even the death screen all done very well (I love the color tint contrast-push effect on dying, for example. Very smooth.)

    This review would be a 9, but I have to take off one point for a glitch/bug I encountered in the game, which killed the mood and the immersion a bit: all sound/music would cut out during most of the cut-scene animations. It would be working perfectly fine, and then as soon as a cut-scene (animated comic-book style sequence) would show up, the audio would completely go mute about 70-80% of the time, then come back to normal when the cut-scene was over...
    Expand
  4. Feb 20, 2014
    6
    Yes, the atmosphere is good. The action, though sparse, is actually pretty good. I enjoyed using guns to dispatch zombies, although I canYes, the atmosphere is good. The action, though sparse, is actually pretty good. I enjoyed using guns to dispatch zombies, although I can almost guarantee that less than half of the zombies you kill will be killed with guns. Even less with the shotgun, which is only acquired after you're more than halfway through the game.
    The biggest downside to this game is the level design. There are so many chase scenes that will spontaneously kill you if you don't perform all the moves that the game wants you to perform at just the right time. For example, you knock down a door to a warehouse. For some reason, that starts off a chain reaction that leads to the whole building collapsing, and the game will randomly kill you if you don't make all the right moves. Fortunately, the game is fairly forgiving with its checkpoints, but not necessarily with it's save points, if that makes sense. Whenever I quit the game and came back, I found myself much further behind where i thought I had left myself. I presumed that cutscenes would cue autosaves- this is not the case. So the game is unforgiving in how much of it you find yourself replaying over and over. Also, the story is very tripe and generic. Other than that, the game is positive; it's just far from epic. I can't think of a single person I would go out of my way to recommend this game to.
    Expand
  5. Dec 29, 2012
    5
    Deadlight have an interesting story, cool graphical-novel like cutscenes and absolutely beautiful visual design. The gameplay however isn'tDeadlight have an interesting story, cool graphical-novel like cutscenes and absolutely beautiful visual design. The gameplay however isn't all that good. The platforming works alright and the game shines when you are running away from horde of monster in an open street. The visual design however can make it hard to tell the difference between stuff you can grab and stuff you cant which can be a bit annoying in a tight spot to say the least. The combat in the game is quite bad. The melee weapons in the game feels clunky and the firearms are annoying to control. Throw in some endlessly respawning enemies and some annoying checkpoints and you are in for a nasty treat. Some levels works better than others but the gameplay is average as best when everything works. I should also mention that the games campaign is rather short (around 3 hours). The games story and atmosphere manages to pull the score up to an average five but know that the gameplay could be improved to say the least. Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2012
    4
    While all can agree that the game has good background atmosphere there is a lot more to be desired by Deadlight. You would expect much moreWhile all can agree that the game has good background atmosphere there is a lot more to be desired by Deadlight. You would expect much more for a game that costs only about $15 but you will be in for disappointment so save your money and don't buy this game. This game is basically a very bad version of Contra mixed with The Walking Dead theme mixed in a combination with an even worse version of Pitfall/Prince of Persia style with short puzzles. Controls are not the best because when you try to jump over certain areas you either (A.) Over-jump or (B.) Under-jump and fall to your doom. The weapons are very limited and in the end you only get a fire axe, a .38 Revolver, and a shotgun. Konami's 1987 release of Contra had more guns than that which makes you think where the developers had gone wrong. With limited weapon choices the replay-ability of the game is poor since Nightmare mode is unlocked after completing the game in normal. Nightmare mode is only available on the PC version. Upon the limited choices the worst part is that the zombies are extremely tough to take down using the fire axe. The fastest way to kill any zombie is using either the .38 revolver or the shotgun with limited ammo. This game was rushed as you can tell because there wasn't enough testing involved. In certain parts of the games if you didn't solve the puzzle fast enough you get swarmed by the infinite zombies and it would lag your PC out so bad because there were too many zombies on the screen. I would also have to agree that the voice acting is bad or not congruent with the theme they're trying to pull off. The main character sounds more like an old school Max Payne narrating the story which doesn't really fit into the theme of a Zombie Apocalypse. Voice acting overall was terrible and unbelievable.

    Don't feel bad to hit the uninstall button after you finish your first run through because that's exactly what I did.
    Expand
  7. Aug 3, 2013
    0
    This game has decent storyline, voice acting and graphics. The one thing that killed this game is the control and gameplay. I have never beenThis game has decent storyline, voice acting and graphics. The one thing that killed this game is the control and gameplay. I have never been so frustrated playing a game in my entire life. Expand

See all 101 User Reviews

Trailers