Deep Black: Reloaded PC

Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 20
  2. Negative: 13 out of 20
  1. Mar 12, 2012
    50
    Ultimately, this game is an attempt by an indie company to make a good-looking, story-driven action arcade game. Bottom line, if you're looking for a really dynamic, fast-paced combat game, you'll want to consider looking somewhere else. If you're interested in seeing what an indie developer can do with a genre that hasn't really been tapped yet, then feel free to check it out. This game is different from your usual shooter, attempting to add depth (wow...bad pun?) to a possibly worn-out style of game. Did they succeed? Not really. I feel bad, because I wanted to like this game, but it's really just a beat up car with a nice paint job.
  2. Apr 16, 2012
    63
    Deep Black: Reloaded is a third person shooter with great potential in gameplay and graphics, but the level design is simple, the gameplay offers no special features and one fights against the same enemies all the time. However, if you search for an uncomplicated shooter and don't mind some problems in gameplay, graphics and story, you could give Deep Black: Reloaded a try.
  3. Mar 12, 2012
    69
    For what the game does, it works relatively well. There are a few hitches here and there, but it was never enough to have me quit playing the game. For a cheaper title, you can definitely do a lot worse than Deep Black. If you're looking for a decent little shooter and don't mind a few inconsistencies here and there, you might want to check this game out.
  4. May 11, 2012
    50
    Deep Black: Reloaded shows potential that may never be reached. The proprietary engine shows some promise, and the underwater action isn't that bad compared to what other games try to do. However, the land-based gameplay is quite poor with pretty bad AI, and the hit system lacks consistency. Your hero lumbers around way too much to make the player feel powerful, the weapon variety isn't imaginative or useful, and the water mechanic isn't used for anything interesting. With nothing of value to bring to the table, there's little reason for anyone to pick up this game over other, better executed titles.
  5. May 4, 2012
    60
    After Depth Hunter, Biart shows once again their ability to manage the underwater worlds. Deep Black Reloaded though, is a FPS that has many problems, but it could also be the starting point for more successful products.
User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 8 out of 13
  1. Mar 23, 2012
    2
    Like so many others, the conceit for this game was fascinating. Underwater open environments! New and interesting ways to fight in aLike so many others, the conceit for this game was fascinating. Underwater open environments! New and interesting ways to fight in a dystopian, cyberpunkian future ruled by merciless corporations! Lots of other stuff that, at most, gets passing mention in this game and has no bearing on the gameplay whatsoever! Actually playing the game is the deepest (...hah.) of disappointments. Thrill at having trouble getting onto a half-submerged staircase! Marvel at the stiffest protagonist movement since Resident Evil 1! Experience the pulse-pounding irritation of trying to make the sloppy, broken aiming work! This game not only did not learn from the current generation of FPS games' mistakes, it's still not sure that the mistakes of the 90s were really something from which to learn. Did I give this game a fair try? No, not really. After about half an hour of already repetitive, narrow corridors, enemies so bland I'm still not sure whether there was more than one enemy character model, godawful broken shooting, and getting caught on boxes and corners while trying to run around, I gave up. Still, as the game is fairly pretty (except when it's actually moving or trying to do anything) and boasts mediocre voice acting to go with the atrocious script, as well as having at least attempted something novel, I feel that it has earned its 2. This would have been significantly higher, no doubt, had they opted for a novel, interesting concept which they had some sort of idea for using.
    This game is like neon underlighting for your toaster. It's a kinda neat, odd idea that looks cool for a little while then makes you regret spending your money on such an utter waste of technology.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 22, 2012
    1
    Plus: A nice idea. Normal: normal modern/scifi settings. Bad: Clunky unagile movement, bad controls both above ground and below. CharacterPlus: A nice idea. Normal: normal modern/scifi settings. Bad: Clunky unagile movement, bad controls both above ground and below. Character cannot jump! A million invisible walls. Stupid enemies. Chest high walls. Cannot grouch unless in front of a afore mentioned chest high wall. A crappy crappy crappy console port. I'm sorry about offensive language, but the port is absolutely awful that I cannot stipulate it enough. I need to say that I usually play pc-end shooters an bought this just to see what the commotion was about. The port between a xb pad and mouse is so damn horrible that stay away! Full Review »
  3. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    wow..this game like a dead space :v but its still hard to finishing this game :v
    you can kill like a profesionnal killer :v how about graphic
    wow..this game like a dead space :v but its still hard to finishing this game :v
    you can kill like a profesionnal killer :v how about graphic ? i think its good and gameplay of this game i think its great..but one.. BAD its no include parkour move for supporting defence .. nice game and i say thanks to developer :v
    Full Review »