Delta Force: Black Hawk Down - Team Sabre Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As the US army's elite special operations soldiers you are the most potent 'smart weapon' known to man. You are the 'tip of the spear' for covert operations around the world - you are the first line of attack. Nothing stands in your way. From the war torn streets of Somalia you have been re-deployed to take out targets in Colombia and Iran. As the US military?s preemptive strike force you must work with your team to get the job done. [NovaLogic] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. As a solo game, Team Sabre is a bit lacking.
  2. Bad A.I. and no realism, but who cares? The nonstop rat-a-tat-tat of automatic weapons in hostile environments gives Team Sabre its charm. [Apr 2004, p.91]
  3. Reasonably basic improvements.
  4. Team Sabre may not be realistic, but it's packed with explosions, wild gunfights, and quite a bit of fun--though it's also extremely frustrating at times, due to a limited save system coupled with some excruciatingly difficult gameplay.
  5. When it works, it works really well and it's a better game than the original. Unfortunately, the expansion doesn't work well all the time. In addition to that, its single-player facet is not particularly lengthy even if it is a bit harder and has lengthier missions than the original.
  6. While it’s nothing spectacular and it won’t last you forever, it’s a far more appetising than picking up one of the older games in the series up on budget.
  7. As a pure single-player action game, the expansion is a mixed bag, but there's still some great gaming to be had with the whole "Black Hawk Down" experience. [May 2004, p.64]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. FelipeZ.
    Apr 19, 2004
    10
    The is a real game because is a great adaptation of the real life to a game and you feel that could participate in this war.
  2. DeltaSniper
    Feb 9, 2004
    10
    I havent played Team Sabre yet but I was quite Disapointed about delta force black hawk down because the movie and the book were excellent and Unfortunately the game did not have the same theme. The october 3rd missions (from the movie) in black hawk down did not interest me much since it had such an inacurate plot and was nothing like the book or the movie. I hope the game would let you acess more features such as riding black hawks, Driving humvees or at least mh-60 blacks hawks spinning out from a downed tail rotor. Collapse
  3. ZigiN.
    Jan 19, 2004
    10
    Superb Multiplayer. Forget the single player.
  4. CIARAND.
    Feb 12, 2004
    10
    The first BHD gave a great sense of real life warfare as it realy makes you feel powerfull. Alot of people complain about the computers AI bein a bit poor but you need to remember you are a highly traind delta force OP and it would realy seem like that. the online game is the best experiance ever as me and my mate anth havnt found anything to to come to touch. i have playd SOF2, Halo, x2 the threat and AVP2 online and none of them even compare... BHD is a must have and soooooo adictive. team sabre according to reviews will make the game bigger and 10 times better online, i cant see anything being batter until V Late this year. Expand
  5. KyleK.
    Jul 15, 2005
    7
    Personally I like Land warrior better to me BHD game play feels cheap, something is missing.
  6. CraigS.
    Feb 9, 2005
    6
    I've played every Delta Force game since the original - but Team Sabre has by far the poorest single player campaign of the series. Enemy and friendly combat and pathfinding AI is weak. Both sides will shoot continuously into hills and walls and get trapped in corners. No one takes cover or has a sense of self preservation. Team mates will shoot anything that gets in their firing line (including you and other squadmates). I had to restart a mission because, even though all mission objectives were met, one of my teamates wouldn;t get in the helicopter to end the mission. I must have completed something in the wrong sequence. I've never played a game where shooting the gunner of an APC or hiting it with 3-4 rounds from an assault rifle will cause it to explode. You can throw hand grenades 400+yards. There literally is no need for the anti-tank weapons - simply take out armored vehicles with your trusty Colt 45 sidearm. This add-on had lots of bugs and felt like it was released incomplete. The original BHD was much better implemented. The multiplayer is the only saving grace. Expand
  7. Doug
    Jan 23, 2004
    1
    Same drivel different location. SP is embarrasing and MP. Well as long as you have no desire for any realism ie ballistics, movement penalties, recoil, this will be your type of game. It becomes real dull real quick, with every man and his dog grabbing a MG and blasting away. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews