Democracy 3 PC

Democracy 3 Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 138 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Have you ever wanted to be president? or prime-minister? Convinced you could do a better job of running the country? Let's face it, you could hardly do a worse job than our current political leaders.
    Crime, Unemployment, National Debt, Terrorism, Climate Change...Have you got the answers
    Have you ever wanted to be president? or prime-minister? Convinced you could do a better job of running the country? Let's face it, you could hardly do a worse job than our current political leaders.
    Crime, Unemployment, National Debt, Terrorism, Climate Change...Have you got the answers to the problems that face western industrialized nations? Here is your chance to find out...
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    88
    The first glance at Democracy 3 can cause an immediate "it's too complicated" reaction, but the well-designed interface enables a fairly quick understanding of how to manage the policies required to create your own personal political utopia. For those that are into this kind of thing, Democracy 3 is a great way to test pet political theories in a (mostly) consequence-free way.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Nov 25, 2013
    80
    Political simulations are not everybody's cup of tea, but this one goes down smoothly. It'll show you how hard it is to please citizens so they don't run you out of office. [Issue#236]
  3. CD-Action
    Dec 13, 2013
    80
    In terms of gameplay mechanics it’s a very simple game but it does much more for understanding democracy than any citizenship lesson. [13/2013, p.72]
  4. Oct 21, 2013
    70
    Democracy 3 is a title with a very interesting level of complexity but many important aspects are left unsaid. Though it has evolved since its second installment it forgot to include some elements that would have made the game a really complete political simulator. Its excessive standardization relegates the game with a choice for casual entertaining and it will be difficult to explode this Positech Game's proposal for long. Once corrected its technical mistakes and when the mods start to rise, we may be able to take this game to a higher, different level.
  5. Jan 24, 2014
    69
    It bites off a little more than it can chew. Starting out with the premise of being a full political simulator in the end it is little more than an turn-based interaction with a population. But on this level you’ll get the high complexity that you’ll miss in macro management.
  6. Nov 12, 2013
    68
    Fascinating, fast, and friendly but far too forgiving. Wait for the patches and iron man/lady mods.
  7. Nov 4, 2013
    50
    If you’re already a fan of the series, it’s impossible to recommend a bare-bones expansion like this at its current price point. If you’re not… well, I have a hard time imagining that you’d enjoy the third installment at all.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 41
  2. Negative: 13 out of 41
  1. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    I really enjoyed my experience with the game and most of the problems people have with this game will be balanced out in the near future. ThisI really enjoyed my experience with the game and most of the problems people have with this game will be balanced out in the near future. This is one of the best games of this sort out there and you can really get sucked into the game. Collapse
  2. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    Though, not for everyone. It is a complex and wonderfully fun game with a great modding community. It has a complex yet simple layout withThough, not for everyone. It is a complex and wonderfully fun game with a great modding community. It has a complex yet simple layout with each country having very different qualities, I'd recommend it for those who love politics or elections. It does need to be harder though. Expand
  3. Jul 7, 2014
    9
    In english at the bottom...

    Si te gustan juegos como mech commander, romance of the three kingdoms, civilization, age of empieries, caesar
    In english at the bottom...

    Si te gustan juegos como mech commander, romance of the three kingdoms, civilization, age of empieries, caesar y te gusta solucionar los problemas de manera pacifica, y los juegos dificiles? este es tu juego.

    Es un juegos de simulacion de decisiones politicas, puedes apoyar a tus creencias politicas, apoyar las energias renovables, proponer un sistema de salud y educacion gratuito, incrementar el bienestar de tus electores o perjudicarlos, puedes adoptar medidas populistas e incluso te pueden matar (alguien recuerda a kennedy?)

    si buscas un juego de accion, buena musica, excelentes graficos y multijugador, este no es tu juego.

    ----

    If you like games like MechCommander, romance of the three kingdoms, civilization, age of empieries, caesar and like to solve problems peacefully, and if you like hard games, this is your game.

    It is a game simulation of policy decisions, you can to support your political beliefs, support renewable energies, propose a system health and free education, increase the welfare of your constituents or hurt them, you can adopt populist measures and may even kill you, do you remember Kennedy ?

    if you want an action game, good music, great graphics and multiplayer, this is not your game
    Expand
  4. Nov 29, 2013
    7
    Getting this game, I thought I would be the greatest political ruler since Gandhi. Unfortunately, I was quite mistaken.
    Democracy 3 takes
    Getting this game, I thought I would be the greatest political ruler since Gandhi. Unfortunately, I was quite mistaken.
    Democracy 3 takes you through what seems like a promising political career, but what you realize is only a pile of kissing up to the various parties that have power. Just like real life.

    Waive the mandatory drinking age? The masses love you, but violent crime spikes.

    Legalize drugs and prostitution? Liberals and socialists are fin, but the religious and conservative bunch really want you out of office then.

    Playing through, I never thought I would do half the things I ended up doing, especially since at the end, I was trying to run a country similar to Communist Russia, all while looking back, wondering what had gone wrong.

    My main complaint with the game, is that while you can change many of the the stats about your country, you can not change the religious population. Many times I've had to change what would have been a very good plan for the country because of strong opposition from the religious front.

    All in all, I'd call this a solid game. 7.5 Will play again kind of thing.
    Expand
  5. Dec 9, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is very difficult to pull off on its own, and the style is suited for the type of game, but overall I'm not truly impressed. It honestly feels like, even when you create the best of paradises, your cabinet will always be out to get you, and won't bother supporting you when you need them most, which is after all the policies you want are in effect. It's nice for burning a few hours on, but not really worth more than a few hours.

    It's just really annoying that you can't eventually somehow sway people in your cabinet to think a certain way after pretty much brainwashing an entire country into whatever your whims may be. You'd think they'd learn a thing or two and actually step down so people who care about what you want done will step up and help out. In other words, this game forces you to lose after awhile of balancing. While on paper that kind of thing sounds like fun, but not when you just want to run your own country without listening to someone scream about how ineffective the road system is while people are busy clocking into work from home anyway.

    An odd tangled mess, in my opinion.
    Expand
  6. Feb 14, 2014
    4
    Ok this game isn't that bad. But I feel there is many problems. First, the variety of ministers at the beginning is absurd. I have never seenOk this game isn't that bad. But I feel there is many problems. First, the variety of ministers at the beginning is absurd. I have never seen a government like that in the world. Every decision to convince one will deceive one or more others... Since when is there all type of politics type in ONE government? And second, as soon as one branch of population is unhappy, there is no strike, they just kill you... This is ridiculous! I like this game but there is so many problems. I bought it on promotion on steam, but I still feel that it was way too much for a game that don't seem finished. I'm disappointed and I feel I shouldn't have bought it. Expand
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    0
    It bills itself as the most complex political strategy game ever made... maybe.. but it is the most boring one ever made. I tried to play itIt bills itself as the most complex political strategy game ever made... maybe.. but it is the most boring one ever made. I tried to play it 3 or 4 times, and each time I turned it off within 20 minutes, there simply is nothing exciting or fun about tediously balancing approval ratings. Expand

See all 41 User Reviews