Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Aug 31, 2012
    92
    A fantastic adventure game, featuring some extremely intelligent riddles that require deep thinking. At the same time, it narrates a beautiful story, one that takes place in a setting very different than those of most games. [September 2012]
  2. Jan 20, 2012
    90
    The backgrund ist literally junk, the game Deponia however the exact opposite. A brilliantly absurd story, a fitting comic style and strong speakers. Okay, it's a bit old school in temrs of bunkering stuff in your inventory – but from an in-world perspective, it makes sense: if it's not dross, keep it (like Roger Wilco did in Space Quest 3). After Harvey's New Eyes, Daedalic offers up yet another wonderfully bizarre adventure.
  3. Feb 2, 2012
    88
    Lucasarts has found a worthy heir: Daedalic from Germany. The game may deal with rubbish, dirt and crap, but there is only one word to describe Deponia: terrific!
  4. Feb 1, 2012
    87
    Deponia is an incredibly funny, affectionately designed adventure. The tale of the underdog who simply refuses to give up makes you smile again and again. The tasks need brains as well as patience, but stay logical most of the time. An entertaining addition to the adventure genre.
  5. Sep 10, 2012
    85
    Aside from the fact that some puzzle solutions can be quite far fetched sometimes, Deponia is one of the most entertaining point & click titles we've seen in the last couple of years. It's very hard not to play this game with a big smile on your face because of Rufus and his idiotic actions.
  6. Aug 20, 2012
    85
    One of the best example of point and click adventure of the last years, made by the award-winning German studios Daedalic Entertainment. Recommended to all fans of the genre and lovers of LucasArts classics.
  7. Aug 30, 2012
    84
    Deponia is a refined adventure game – beautifully drawn, creative, incredibly funny and so close to the classic definition of the genre that it takes your breath away.
  8. 84
    A beautiful adventure game with original characters, good humor, tricky puzzles and a great art style. Even though the story suffers from an abrupt ending and loses its focus after a couple of hours, it's still a must-have for those who crave for a good point-and-click-adventure.
  9. Oct 15, 2012
    81
    The only think we can ask for is a sequel. Recommended for everyone interested in the genre, with great puzzles and sense of humor. It offers a classic, challenging gameplay, which should be enough to keep fans of the adventures games playing till they finish it.
  10. Sep 6, 2012
    80
    Despite some of its shortcomings and a very sudden ending Deponia is a wonderfully crafted adventure game that will more than satisfy fans of the genre.
  11. Aug 29, 2012
    80
    Daedalic Entertainment once again proved that they know how to make a point' n' click adventure game. What sets Deponia apart from their earlier work is tons of humour strongly influenced by The Secret of Monkey Island and Discworld. [10/2012, p.63]
  12. Aug 24, 2012
    80
    This is a great classic adventure game that's maybe suffering from the old mechanics, but still it manages to hide its flaws by showing beautiful hand-drawn graphics and great humour.
  13. Aug 20, 2012
    80
    Despite some unfortunate pacing hiccups and esoteric puzzling, what we're left with is a joyous little journey for the dumpster-diving faithful. Back-of-the-box quote right here: It's solid.
  14. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    It brings absolutely nothing new to the genre, but it's legitimately funny, brilliantly produced and, aside from some slogging in the middle, moves quickly and smoothly from start to finish. It's not quite great, but it's awfully good.
  15. Aug 13, 2012
    80
    This odd point & click adventure will make you smile a lot and laugh quite a few times. It's hard not to be charmed by Deponia and its inhabitants.
  16. Jun 28, 2012
    80
    This is one of the best traditional point-and-click games out there--it oozes charm, keeps the puzzles sensible, and boasts a story that makes you laugh and warms your heart.
  17. 80
    You´ve got to hand it to Daedalic: They know, what an expertly crafted point and click adventure has to look like. Veterans of the genre and newcomers alike can give this one a go without hesitation, especially considering the low price tag.
  18. Oct 5, 2012
    78
    Deponia is a good point' n' click adventure game. It doesn't bring anything new to the genre, but it's very funny.
  19. Aug 22, 2012
    77
    If you enjoyed the Monkey Island series you will probably feel right at home dumpster diving on Deponia.
  20. Sep 5, 2012
    75
    Overall, Deponia has some pluses and minuses. The story doesn't make any sense, and the ending is terrible (nothing gets resolved; it's all a set-up for the presumed next title in the franchise), but the world is colorful and the dialogue is well-acted, and the situations are more funny than not. Given its mild $20 price point, Deponia is a reasonable adventure to try out.
  21. Nov 6, 2012
    73
    There's a bit of personality and charm in this adventure, but it still lacks a beating heart under the façade of hilarity and bright colours.
  22. Oct 30, 2012
    70
    A good start for the Deponia trilogy, this title has many cards in its sleeve but suffers for its indecision between the old and new approach to game adventure genre.
  23. 70
    Beautifully painted adventure brings lots of subtle humor to the environments of a devastated planet. Slightly weird concept might not be a good fit for everyone. [Sept 2012]
  24. Sep 18, 2012
    70
    Deponia is an adventure game for people who like adventure games. It's not going to convert any admirers out of detractors but it is a solid game that any fan of the genre will most likely enjoy.
  25. Aug 6, 2012
    70
    Despite a poor beginning and ending, I can't shake off the warm feeling Deponia left me with. It's a game with a big heart and some clever puzzles that recall a special time in the history of adventure games.
  26. Jul 2, 2012
    70
    With its 2D cartoon aesthetic, simple point-and-click interface, and challenging puzzles, Deponia is classic old-school adventuring in many ways, making it worth playing even when the storytelling falters.
  27. Jul 14, 2012
    67
    Not rubbish, then, but one to pick up from the bargain bin. [Aug 2012, p.103]
  28. Oct 11, 2012
    60
    Not bad, but far more likely to be remembered for its stunning artwork than for its plot or puzzles. [Oct 2012, p.74]
  29. Sep 20, 2012
    60
    Deponia looks lovely, but it squanders its wonderfully screwball setting on unremarkable puzzles and unlikable characters. In the end, that all adds up to a game that's completely disposable.
  30. Sep 17, 2012
    60
    A point and click adventure with a nice art style and good voice acting. Though it's a bit too slow and many puzzles are illogical and far-fetched.
  31. Aug 15, 2012
    60
    Deponia has a brilliant setting for a funny adventure and has a nice story to tell. Unfortunately it's held down by an uncharming main character and especially annoying mini-game puzzles. It also ends in an Empire Strikes Back-ish manner, which makes the wait for the next episode quite depressing.
  32. Jul 9, 2012
    60
    An average point and click-adventure with an unsympathetic protagonist and a lackluster plot. Deponia is heavily influenced by Monkey Island but doesn't come close to the LucasArts classic. The puzzles won't challenge a seasoned veteran, but could prove stimulating for newcomers to the adventure genre.
  33. 50
    Deponia's saved from being worse than Yesterday by at least having a simple understandable storyline and by not taking itself too seriously, but that's not saying much.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 191 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 42
  2. Negative: 6 out of 42
  1. Aug 13, 2012
    3
    First of all... great artwork, and a great theme and idea. Sadly, it's just poorly executed. Bad director I'd have to say.

    I was very
    disappointed with this game, and was so looking forward to it. It had great reviews, and an interesting looking trailer, so I'm not sure why I disliked it so much. The voice acting was OK, but the director of the sound wasn't too good. It's as though they didn't have a firm understanding of the English language, or the context of the words they were speaking. Where some lines were questions, they spoke them as statements and vice versa.

    I think the biggest problem was that I didn't like the main character. Generally, he simply wasn't a nice person. I didn't see anything at all that made me want him to succeed in his quest. Imagine Guybrush Threepwood, who only wanted to save Elaine because she was hot and could get him to an Island full of riches... that's it. Now imagine him screwing over every single person on his way, and having no likeable characters. No Wally, no Haggis McMutton, no Murray, heck, no LeChuck!

    Plot holes, loop hopes, and plenty of bugs. I managed to activate the same cut-scene 4 times, each showing me succeeding at a particular moment in the game. At one point, German subtitles appeared, and at another point, the main character spoke a series of sentences, rather than the correct one, showing that the audio file wasn't correctly edited.

    Point and click adventure games are all about the puzzles, and these were just messy. No real direction. I took a break from it for a day, came back to it and had no idea what I was doing. I managed to start a conversation with a man, asking for help on a puzzle I managed to finish a few hours previously. Luckily they had a 'skip' button for many of the most bizzare puzzles, but in all honestly, the majority of the time I just used a walk-through, and that's unheard of for most games I've played through, and I usually try not to, but some of these were so complicated and strange, that I had the choice of trying every possible combination of objects in my inventory with objects or just use a walkthrough. There was very little in the way of logic.

    The most disgusting thing was that the game just ends. Again, take Monkey Island for example. Imagine the game just stopping half way through, with no result with a "The End...?"

    I will not be buying the second game, and am so angry that I bought this one. It confuses me so much that it's getting such great reviews. I grew up on point and click games, so as I said at the beginning, I am so disappointed.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 30, 2012
    6
    Great story, characters, graphics and sound. The problem with this game is that the puzzles are too confusing, with no logic in them, i was really enjoying this game but at some point i was just tired and stopped to care. Full Review »
  3. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    The twist-filled story takes its off-beat characters all over trash planet Deponia, a unique game world!. The game shines when it comes to humor and has great in depth gameplay and storytelling. Puzzles are greatly amusing and shown with a lot of feelgood comments. Topgame! Full Review »