User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3110 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 25, 2013
    0
    Really can't understand why this game has so many 10 ratings. This game is just a dumbed-down version of the original Deus Ex. The agent skill, weapon skill, augmentation upgrade and weapon upgrade system in original game is much simplified and combined to a simple grow chart, ruining the fun of decision making in specialization with various possibilities.

    The graphics is just of 2005
    Really can't understand why this game has so many 10 ratings. This game is just a dumbed-down version of the original Deus Ex. The agent skill, weapon skill, augmentation upgrade and weapon upgrade system in original game is much simplified and combined to a simple grow chart, ruining the fun of decision making in specialization with various possibilities.

    The graphics is just of 2005 standard with a yellow tone with no option to customize. (even the original in 2000 has option to customize that kind of thing) Even though the graphic is poor, the performance of the game is quite bad due to poor optimization for various cores of CPU in PC. Graphic glitches or stuttering is quite common among users with different specifications of PC.

    The story is quite boring due to the linear plot, i.e. someone is bad, we need to find him or her. Later, oh he or she is also being used by others. Let's find the man behind them. Rinse and repeat until your boss fight. The poor voice acting really test players' patience via introducing frequent cut-scenes with various characters, with lengthy conversation without any real value to plot or info. This just serves as a social simulator to test player to pick a correct option to please the character so that you can get the info. you need. A good RPG game is not about lengthy conversation, it focuses more on building of character and world as well as plot development. However, those boring conversations do not help in this aspect.

    The gameplay is also very boring like a hacking simulator to keep on playing the stupid mini-games to read emails, open door for your plot progress. Buildings look very similar as well, with same kind of locked door, wood door, windows, and vent. Level designs are linear and very poor, with nearly moving in vent is the only stealth way to move across level, excluding the strategy of hiding and taking cover in main corridor.

    The stealth system is also stupid, playing cut-scene all the time when player switching cover, performing takedown from back, moving down ladder, causing frequent switch between first-person and third-person views. This is just too annoying for a FPS.

    Health system and shooting system is also a dumbed-down version of original. Cross-hair is always accurate regardless of weapon proficiency, and the health management is also streamlined, further ruining the fun in strategy planning before surprise attack.

    Overall, by discarding the special features in original Deus Ex, together with a boring story, this game simply become a game very similar to other streamlined games like Hitman Absolution or Splinter Cell Blacklist, but even they shine more on the game's own features.
    Expand
  2. Sep 2, 2012
    9
    more of an 8.5, but for the sheer amazing story, design, soundtrack and pretty much everything i have decided to round up the score.
    the boss fights. a hot topic. if you are smart enough to make sure you always have an assault rifle with you and a stack of 200 ammo, you should be fine. they were hard, very hard. even on easiest setting.
    but as for the good stuff, well i decided to just
    more of an 8.5, but for the sheer amazing story, design, soundtrack and pretty much everything i have decided to round up the score.
    the boss fights. a hot topic. if you are smart enough to make sure you always have an assault rifle with you and a stack of 200 ammo, you should be fine. they were hard, very hard. even on easiest setting.

    but as for the good stuff, well i decided to just say the bad stuff, as there is so much good stuff you just cant say.

    if you love a rich, in depth world, a great story, or just stealthy gameplay and a big challenge, then this game is for you. it is amazing.. not that i should need to reccommend it as you should have already played it
    Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    This review is an excerpt I wrote for my local paper. Deus Ex: Human Revolution. If you know any Greek you would know that the tone is set in the title; "God of Human Revolution." This game is the prequel to the first; Deus Ex. The events take place in the near future when biotic upgrades can be given to improve one's attributes, whether it be physical or mental. The main character AdamThis review is an excerpt I wrote for my local paper. Deus Ex: Human Revolution. If you know any Greek you would know that the tone is set in the title; "God of Human Revolution." This game is the prequel to the first; Deus Ex. The events take place in the near future when biotic upgrades can be given to improve one's attributes, whether it be physical or mental. The main character Adam Jensen, a so called "cyber-punk", is the head of security for the largest corporate contributor of the biotic upgrades, also known as "Augmentations." Adam starts out talking with his ex-girlfriend, Megan, who is the head scientist of the same biotic corporation "Sarif Industries." They plan to release a new found science that would change the face of medical history permanently. After a quick debrief, Adam is notified that an "accident" occurred on one of the research floors. He quickly responds, only to find some highly armed mercenaries had broken into the building. Equipped with strength enhanced augmentations, the mercenaries throw Adam through a wall and some glass, fatally injuring him. His last moments of life are spent seeing the murder of his ex-girlfriend.
    Because Adam was the head of security at Sarif Industries, he was considered a valuable asset and was treated with care in a costly effort to bring him back to life. With the treatment successful Adam was spared his life, but is now roughly 80% augmentation, 20% human. Six months of recovery left him asking questions of the attack, but no one knew any details. The only person recovered was Adam, and no one else experienced the mercenary attack.
    The full game then picks up from there. Now that Adam is mostly made up of augmentations, he is available to upgrade his mechanics. He can only upgrade them slowly over time, however, otherwise what's left of his real body might reject the radical changes in performance. Some upgrades include an invisibility suit upgrade, and another is a sort of Electromagnetic Parachute which slows falls from large heights, reducing any chance of injury.
    The game is spent uncovering the reasons of the mercenary attack, because Adam is led to believe it's purely about augmentation competition, but he feels it goes deeper than that. As the player you are able to make any decisions in conversation to try and get to the bottom of your main quest, as well as many variable side quests which can have impact on the game in future events.
    The game is also set up to fit 3 different playstyles; Stealth, Force, and Adaptation. The amazing thing about the level design is that there's obviously one way in, but if you are determined enough you can find up to 4 different routes to your objective. There's the front door, back door, window, or air ducts to explore, and each option provides different challenges including: hacking, stealth assassinations, diversions, pure unadulterated stealth, or simply guns blazing.
    In the end, there is a crystal clear ultimate goal which until the final boss fight is as murky as an oil spilled mud puddle. It keeps you going to the end, and once you're there you have ultimately 4 history altering options to chose from. Ultimately, you are the god of human revolution.
    Expand
  4. May 18, 2012
    9
    A perfect combination of Crysis, the old Deus Ex, Metal Gear Solid, X-Files and Mass Effect, Deus Ex: Human Revolution is a shooter, semi RPG, cyberpunk-themed game that sucks you in.

    The stealth missions, the shooting, the mini quest, the free roaming, the inventory arranging, the weapon's choices, and last, the augmentations. Those are the goods of Deus Ex: Human Revolution. The bad?
    A perfect combination of Crysis, the old Deus Ex, Metal Gear Solid, X-Files and Mass Effect, Deus Ex: Human Revolution is a shooter, semi RPG, cyberpunk-themed game that sucks you in.

    The stealth missions, the shooting, the mini quest, the free roaming, the inventory arranging, the weapon's choices, and last, the augmentations. Those are the goods of Deus Ex: Human Revolution.

    The bad? Boss fights. The boss fights will never, ever fit in the game. Just like a "Z" Tetris' puzzle piece, it's annoying and you can't make it disappear (or skip it). For a game that promote stealth, it's quite surprising that the developer could think of boss fights will fit well in the game.
    Expand
  5. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    Finally we have a good deus ex game again. after the pathetic failure that was invisible war honor is finally restored to one of the single greatest game franchises of all time.
  6. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    The best game I've purchased in a long time. Interesting, challenging and fun. PC graphics include DX11 goodness and FXAA. Sound is awesome. Lots of choices and alternate outcomes. High production values. It's a winner.
  7. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    Deus EX human Revolution... What a game. everything is perfect, except one thing. It stutters on Dual Core processors because it's not using all the cpu memory but i found out, setting the game priority to High fixed 90% of the stutter.
    I can enjoy every single mission on it, i love the music background, voiceacting is superb. Graphically the game isn't bad at all, for an old engine they
    Deus EX human Revolution... What a game. everything is perfect, except one thing. It stutters on Dual Core processors because it's not using all the cpu memory but i found out, setting the game priority to High fixed 90% of the stutter.
    I can enjoy every single mission on it, i love the music background, voiceacting is superb. Graphically the game isn't bad at all, for an old engine they did the textures and image quality quite beautifully.
    What i love the most on this game is it's atmosphere. The enhancements are awesome, the producers thought about everything and the game is worth every penny of the 60euros spend..
    I highly recommend buying that game, it's one of the best. Excellent work Eidos Montreal, i'm proud of you guys
    Expand
  8. Sep 5, 2011
    9
    Best game i have been playing in 2011. Great atmosphere, great storyline, great music. Everything on it's place. Definitely worth buying. My Game of the Year favorite.
  9. Sep 5, 2011
    9
    Deus Ex Human Revolution is one the Role-playing game in this year. It's a worthy continuator of original game. Interesting story, varied game-play, nice game design. Everything about Deus Ex.
  10. Jun 3, 2014
    6
    The game is reminiscent of Mass Effect but not half as good. It was mostly aggravating. Always low on ammo and energy while the the bad guys had a never ending supply. Navigating the maps was a pain in the ass as well with their multi freaking levels. The developer could have taken a clue from Dead Space with some way of pointing out the correct direction. I spent 20 minutes at oneThe game is reminiscent of Mass Effect but not half as good. It was mostly aggravating. Always low on ammo and energy while the the bad guys had a never ending supply. Navigating the maps was a pain in the ass as well with their multi freaking levels. The developer could have taken a clue from Dead Space with some way of pointing out the correct direction. I spent 20 minutes at one point trying to locate my destination. I was above it and below it but never could find a way TOO it. At that point I deleted the damned game. It was beyond tedious traversing huge areas. Finally, the load times after being killed, and transitioning areas was beyond annoying. It took forever watching that circle go 'round and 'round and 'round. Wait for the bargain bin. Can't believe that there are so many positive reviews. Folks must be hard up for entertainment, only this game was barely entertaining. Expand
  11. Apr 4, 2012
    8
    A good game overall. One of the biggest downfalls, as many players have pointed out, are the lack of challenge in the boss fights. Once you figure out the "shortcuts", the boss fights are insultingly easy. The plot also gets a bit convoluted as you progress. Other than that, it has generally solid gameplay. Most weapons can be upgraded, you can install Augmentations to enhance yourA good game overall. One of the biggest downfalls, as many players have pointed out, are the lack of challenge in the boss fights. Once you figure out the "shortcuts", the boss fights are insultingly easy. The plot also gets a bit convoluted as you progress. Other than that, it has generally solid gameplay. Most weapons can be upgraded, you can install Augmentations to enhance your abilities, and you have an XP system, where you acquire a Praxis kit for each time you level up to select said Augmentations. Stealth is an optional approach, as are non-lethal means of neutralizing bad guys. Using cover in your combat environment is a must - going Rambo will get you killed quickly. There are plenty of side quests to take on throughout the game as well. I have not played the first two Deus Ex games though, so I'm not in a position to compare it to earlier games in the series. Regardless, gamers should try this one out if they haven't already. Expand
  12. Sep 7, 2011
    6
    How can a game live up to deus ex in the console era of gaming? It can't. They try to satisfy both PC gaming and console markets and fail. It really doesn't matter if you blow everybody away or use stealth I spent 5 hours playing one city using stealth and then went back and played the same part rambo style except this time it only took me about 2 hours. There seems to be no significantHow can a game live up to deus ex in the console era of gaming? It can't. They try to satisfy both PC gaming and console markets and fail. It really doesn't matter if you blow everybody away or use stealth I spent 5 hours playing one city using stealth and then went back and played the same part rambo style except this time it only took me about 2 hours. There seems to be no significant consequence for your chosen play style. It's a decent game when compared to all the other garbage out there but as a deus ex game it just can't compare. The gaming industry needs some kinda revolution because the high cost to produce games today stifles creativity.... or maybe I should just stop playing games. Expand
  13. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    In the age of EA games, rushed sequels are commonplace. These games invariably end up being absolutely terrible - Dragon Age II anyone?
    This is not one of those games.
    This game is simply stunning from start to finish. The opening sequences are extremely exciting, and that excitement stays at fever-pitch throughout the game. This is a true sequel to the greatness that was the original
    In the age of EA games, rushed sequels are commonplace. These games invariably end up being absolutely terrible - Dragon Age II anyone?
    This is not one of those games.
    This game is simply stunning from start to finish. The opening sequences are extremely exciting, and that excitement stays at fever-pitch throughout the game.
    This is a true sequel to the greatness that was the original Deus Ex - even though it seems to not follow the original plot-line whatsoever.
    Buy this game, buy it now. And don't buy EA produced games - please.
    Expand
  14. Jul 22, 2012
    6
    Great game at heart, but hampered unnecessarily by several issues. The story is pretty good but seems to borrow heavily from other classic movies and games. The graphics and art style are excellent; the neon yellow theme is really cool. The upgrade system is straightforward and interesting, not to mention practical and useful. With each upgrade you feel like you're purchasing somethingGreat game at heart, but hampered unnecessarily by several issues. The story is pretty good but seems to borrow heavily from other classic movies and games. The graphics and art style are excellent; the neon yellow theme is really cool. The upgrade system is straightforward and interesting, not to mention practical and useful. With each upgrade you feel like you're purchasing something you will take advantage of, and you do. Now on to the cons. For much of the first year post-release the game suffered from a debilitating stuttering issue. The fact that the game was sold in such a condition is disgraceful. Square Enix should be embarrassed and I never want to see a game released in such condition again. However I believe the stuttering issue has been fixed close to a year after release. Aside from the technical problems, there are other issues with the game. The controls are not customizable enough on PC (e.g. there is no way to hold sights instead of toggle sights) which I found very annoying. Also there is an almost overbearing emphasis on stealth. Sometimes I found missions taking forever to complete because of the difficulty of the AI. You are extremely vulnerable even with armor upgrades. This means that you're almost forced to stealth your way through the entire game. I'm not saying it's too hard... it's hard, but I'm fine with that. I just wish there was a way to play other than sneaking around everywhere, hiding behind boxes for 30 seconds at a time and timing your movements precisely. That gets boring and repetitive after a while. Overall, it's a 6/10 but still worth checking out. It's got many positive aspects and the things that bothered me might not bother someone else. Expand
  15. Mar 30, 2012
    8
    Whether or not you're a fan of the Deus Ex series is irrelevant. The simple fact that the game combines so many solid gaming elements, from third person cover shooting to stealth game-play, means the game is going to be enjoyable to any demographic. The story itself is a little hard to follow and the writers throw quite a bit of philosophical jargon into the mix, but it's really just aWhether or not you're a fan of the Deus Ex series is irrelevant. The simple fact that the game combines so many solid gaming elements, from third person cover shooting to stealth game-play, means the game is going to be enjoyable to any demographic. The story itself is a little hard to follow and the writers throw quite a bit of philosophical jargon into the mix, but it's really just a means to take you from one area to the next and give you as many options for tackling an objective as you can think of. From guns blazing to sneaking through areas as a ghost, every tactic you use to complete your mission really makes you feel like an augmented bad-ass. Throw in some great art design and a stirring cyberpunk soundtrack and you've got one awesome game. I could mention the sometimes glitched AI and the often cumbersome and ambiguous map system, but that's really just nitpicking on something that is a really solid package. Expand
  16. Aug 23, 2012
    9
    The world and characters really make this game what it is. Contrary to other popular shooters, its story has depth and the conspiracy is more than just a shock betrayal. The gameplay is good, though some parts restricts the player to just use stealth or die and the boss fights play just like a shooter; which is a shame because in all other respects Deus Ex: Human Revolution isn't JUST aThe world and characters really make this game what it is. Contrary to other popular shooters, its story has depth and the conspiracy is more than just a shock betrayal. The gameplay is good, though some parts restricts the player to just use stealth or die and the boss fights play just like a shooter; which is a shame because in all other respects Deus Ex: Human Revolution isn't JUST a shooter. The world feels great but doesn't look great due to the mediocre to good graphics that lodge somewhere between the perfectness of Crysis 2 and the far up awe but close up disgust of Skyrim. However, the Blade Runner-esque world design and colours do combine to make an engrossing experience that is as fun as it is thought provoking. Expand
  17. Aug 31, 2011
    9
    Game of the year contender for sure. From graphics to gameplay this game doesn't disappoint. The replay-ability due to the 6 endings and many ways to tackle each mission and side mission. Game will take between 20 to 50 hours depending on difficulty and weather or not you will want to collect all the collectibles and do side missions.
  18. Jul 1, 2013
    9
    This is what I call a great game! Very good history, good gameplay and graphics. I really apreciate this game and recommend it to everyone that likes a good RPG.
  19. Apr 13, 2012
    7
    Deus Ex Human Revolution is a great game with an awesome cyberpunk atmosphere but the technical problems with stuttering on the PC destroy the experience. Eidos and Square Enix never managed to fully fix those. With the latest patches and drivers it got a bit better but the stutter is not gone entirely.
  20. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    Fantastically desinged world, the feeling of control over your character's decisions and the revival of the Deus Ex series. All of that contribute to well executed title with some minor flaws.
    The game generally encourages you to avoid shooting, as it is the game's biggest flaw. It feels sluggish and precision is absent on occasions, Yet it can deliver realism, when the effect of your shot
    Fantastically desinged world, the feeling of control over your character's decisions and the revival of the Deus Ex series. All of that contribute to well executed title with some minor flaws.
    The game generally encourages you to avoid shooting, as it is the game's biggest flaw. It feels sluggish and precision is absent on occasions, Yet it can deliver realism, when the effect of your shot depend on the ammo you hold or if the enemy is equipped with a helmet.

    The story is uneven. I just couldn't get myself into it as much as I wanted to know. Sure, I finished HR in three stints, but felt somewhat dissapointed at the end.
    It doesn't mean that this game dissapointed me. On the contrary. It gave me much more choice than almost anywhere else, the stealth approach felt right and the character development options tugged me back 20 years ago, when every choice for improving my stats was always difficult. Every direction is both correct and bad in some ways. It's up to you to decide whether to follow it to the end or start readjusting your strategy in the middle of the game.

    It's a must buy for anyone, who prefers a bit of freedom instead of being pulled through the whole adventure by the developers.
    Expand
  21. May 7, 2014
    9
    I almost never start a review like this, but .... Anyone that gave this game less than a 6 probably shouldn't be on the internet.

    Its done lovingly and with deep respect for the original. Its not close to as good as the original, but its a great game both on its own merits and as a sequel. DX1 was a sublime moment in open-ended gameplay. Both as an individual title and for the
    I almost never start a review like this, but .... Anyone that gave this game less than a 6 probably shouldn't be on the internet.

    Its done lovingly and with deep respect for the original. Its not close to as good as the original, but its a great game both on its own merits and as a sequel.

    DX1 was a sublime moment in open-ended gameplay. Both as an individual title and for the entire industry. This follows in the same vein with unfortunate console limitations. Anyone that wants to truly understand the travesty that the console generation has caused, need only see the limits imposed on this game by the hardware architecture of the aging consoles.

    It's atmospheric as hell and provides that suspension of disbelief that is required for a game like this to work. I STILL say everyone should play DX1 THEN play this. But, if you cannot tolerate older graphics or gameplay more complicated than something by Bioware, you should play this game.
    Expand
  22. Nov 11, 2015
    10
    t's like magic, guys. Time disappears when this game and I are together, and I never want it to end strongly recommend the game, because of the great atmosphere, story and interactive choices
  23. Jun 25, 2012
    8
    This is MOSTLY a good game. Fine graphcs, passable story, very good gameplay and a very good setting. For the first time in my life, the hacking minigame does not suck either, and the soudtrack is good too. The real problem with this game are the boss fights. Most of the game is a pretty realistic experience: a few bullets are enough to kill you, and the same is true for your enemy. SomeThis is MOSTLY a good game. Fine graphcs, passable story, very good gameplay and a very good setting. For the first time in my life, the hacking minigame does not suck either, and the soudtrack is good too. The real problem with this game are the boss fights. Most of the game is a pretty realistic experience: a few bullets are enough to kill you, and the same is true for your enemy. Some may wear hevier armor (as you can buy better implants), but the idea is the same, and often the best way to deal with a group of enemies is to strike from the shadows or just avoid them altogether, maybe finding an alternative route. You are also free to either kill or stun your enemies, with an arsenal of non-lethal weapons. As soon as a boss appears, forget all of this: you can shoot whole magazines right in their heads. You can stun them, but should you try to finish them off with the blades conveniently attached to your cyber arms they will be ready to fight back. This game has a strangely arcade approach to boss fights. One moment you're a cyberninja, the other you're jumping over the head of a boss blindly charging forward. And there is no choice between letal, nonletal and alogether non violent approach. I guess the japanese publisher takes the blame, but this quite conflicts with the spirit of the game. Too bad, this coul have been a real 10/10. Expand
  24. Aug 31, 2011
    0
    A couple things changed since I updated my review last time. First they patched the game so many of the bugs that it released with have been fixed (tho, Steam forums are still populated with people having problems). Second my opinion of the game got worse. There is nothing good at all in this game. The AI is the single worst I have ever seen. The graphics (despite DX11) are very badA couple things changed since I updated my review last time. First they patched the game so many of the bugs that it released with have been fixed (tho, Steam forums are still populated with people having problems). Second my opinion of the game got worse. There is nothing good at all in this game. The AI is the single worst I have ever seen. The graphics (despite DX11) are very bad with overly simplistic environments made up of the same prop copied over and over. Likewise the sounds are repetitive and enemies will get on your nerves repeating the same thing over and over again. Character models look at least 4 years old, to compare I went to Half Life 2 which is 6 years old, about the same. The story is so full of unbelievable stupid downright thoughtless missteps and pitfalls its more of a parody of something, tho what I have no idea. It will have you doing things like covering for employees stealing from your company, though you are the security chief and as far as you know the company saved your life. Later you will be asked to collect debts and steal things, none of which have anything to do with....anything. Your actions have ZERO impact on the story or outcome. To be sure of this I started a second play through and murdered everyone in Detroit, except quest givers, but I did murder quest objectives before I had received their quests. No change in anyone's behavior, guy A tells me to "take care of" guy B and so on. I even killed all the cops in the station which didn't seem to bother any cops outside, or even on a different floor of the station while I was doing it. There are no consequences for any of your actions unless maybe you kill a quest giver before you finish his quest. On the hardest difficulty the game is pathetically easy because the dumb AI will all stand in a row for you waiting to get shot. Out of ammo? No problem, just duck behind a corner or box for about 5 mins and they will forget about you. Also the freedom and open gameplay which is so prominently advertised is nonexistent. Your choice is to get from point A to goal B by either crawling through vents (and for a 40 hour game, do you want to stare at the insides of duct work for that long?) or by shooting your way there. It's as linear as linear gets, the goals never change, the order never changes and once you are done with an area it's done, there is no going back to explore more. I am genuinely dumbfounded that anyone likes this game and is willing to look past its multiple and glaring short comings. If you enjoy good graphics, a solid story that makes sense, intelligent enemies and challenging gameplay look elsewhere. Expand
  25. Nov 14, 2012
    8
    This is a solid and polished title, and it raise some interesting question about our future in the great tradition of deus ex games, could have been a little bit longer.
  26. Jan 17, 2012
    9
    Excellent in almost every possible way. Deus Ex: Human Revolution provides people who are not very big fans of open world settings with a comfortable gameplay style that isn't too linear or too open ended. It offers many different choices to each possible scenario, may it be combat, stealth, or even talking your way through at specific points. DE: HR is a perfect example of GOOD consoleExcellent in almost every possible way. Deus Ex: Human Revolution provides people who are not very big fans of open world settings with a comfortable gameplay style that isn't too linear or too open ended. It offers many different choices to each possible scenario, may it be combat, stealth, or even talking your way through at specific points. DE: HR is a perfect example of GOOD console porting with its numerous and lovely DirectX11 bells and whistles. It will barely strain your PC, but still possess some lovely visuals. The characters do look rubbery and sometimes undetailed, but the environments are quite often stellar looking. All this eye candy runs at max framerate for me! But graphics alone don't make a game. The story, characters, and setting are all quite immersive. There is conspiracy and corruption abound within the dystopian future of DE: HR, and it provides us with emotionally powerful moral and philisophical implications! A highly reccomended game!! Expand
  27. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    Had a great time with this one. Initially, I took upgrades to stealth, which became crippling at several of the boss fights. The level design, progression, writing were all very strong. Cover system, also brilliant, emulating a 'hold' style similar to rainbow six vegas. A more superior combat/rpg than any of the mass effects.
  28. Oct 26, 2011
    9
    Just an awesome game!!!! Lots of fun and great rpg elements. RPG and shooting combined. Really good combination that really is cool in this game. I really enjoyed it and could hardly put it down from beginning to end. I would recommend it to almost anyone that likes shooters or RPG's. Really good and awesome game!!!!
  29. May 22, 2015
    10
    Beautiful and inspiring visuals, fantastic soundtrack, solid gameplay, relevant themes, Jensen's grumpy voice and you can punch the crap out of that guy with spiky hair, who dances like a dunce. This game has everything for an unforgettable experience and a worthy successor to the original.
  30. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    Extremely fun game to play and I love the choices at the end and videos and commentary that followed under each option. Well done game. I hope they develop a sequel that is just as fun as this was. I played it constantly from start to finish, something I rarely do.
  31. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    This is what I would imagine the original would be like if remade. It is really that true to its roots. Just from watching friends I've found around 4 completely unique approaches to playing the game that get drastically different results, so far: angel of death (stealth killing everything), white knight (only nonlethal takedowns), sniper (creating commotions from afar and using theThis is what I would imagine the original would be like if remade. It is really that true to its roots. Just from watching friends I've found around 4 completely unique approaches to playing the game that get drastically different results, so far: angel of death (stealth killing everything), white knight (only nonlethal takedowns), sniper (creating commotions from afar and using the confusion to your advantage), and rambo (killing everything that can be killed from the beginning). That's just from around 30 hours of playing and watching... who knows how many ways this will effect the story. I can honestly see sinking 100s of hours into this masterpiece. Expand
  32. Jul 25, 2012
    6
    Tallow summarized this game pretty well from experienced stealth player point of view, like me. Although if someone wants to just quickly shoot-and-punch-them-all, the game will be fun for sure. So why my 6/10? Because I've been told to go stealth road by the game itself, chosen that road and while it was playable for a while, I eventually got to first boss. I was thrown into a small area,Tallow summarized this game pretty well from experienced stealth player point of view, like me. Although if someone wants to just quickly shoot-and-punch-them-all, the game will be fun for sure. So why my 6/10? Because I've been told to go stealth road by the game itself, chosen that road and while it was playable for a while, I eventually got to first boss. I was thrown into a small area, wearing stun and tranq weapons, stealth and hacking augs and had to fight a terminator, with a leading cutscene so UTTERLY DUMB that I lack words to describe it (he - my lovely player avatar hero - waltzed in into a room and got ambushed! HE - I WASN'T EVEN IN CONTROL WTF). Bottom line I ran around and saveloaded for like 2 hours, there just wasn't enough equipment and possibilities to take this "thing" down at easy (EASY!) level, and getting into meele resulted in a funky oneshot punch in my face! Or maybe there was a way, but 2 hours was enough trying for me. I've uninstalled and I'll go back to it maybe in a year to fastforward it terminator way, the way I SHOULD have been playing apparently. The main reason I did that, was simply being told by game itself to go stealth, avoid combat and be a pacifist and then be literary SCREWED OVER, put into exact opposite without any out of jail card available. This is nothing like original deus ex, even tho that game sucked in so many ways, it did give me one redeeming quality - that I could just equip GEP gun and oneshot that annoying boss aug when he ran at me, with his goodies all turned off, trying to initialize dialogue. No, this game designs the gameplay, it tells me what is the right way, what is the wrong way, it sterilizes everything to narrow the possibilities to JUST THAT and it does this so badly as to ruin not only my fun, but literally the game I'm playing, forcing me to start over!!! It is like old tabletop rpg where some jack*** game master suddenly tells you a cow fallen on you from the sky and it's game over. This story repeats over and over in every single super duper rated popular highly marketed AAA title I reach for, so I'm gonna filter them from now on and just outright ignore. Expand
  33. Dec 4, 2011
    7
    THe game is quite overrated. it is interesting, but it is definitely not 10/10 type of game. music is great, offers a lot of option during gameplay, but the game in general very repetitive in many cases. the storyline is amaizing and it feels a bit streched. even though it seems like an open world it really isnt, because htere is so much you can do. also you get to hate the limit ofTHe game is quite overrated. it is interesting, but it is definitely not 10/10 type of game. music is great, offers a lot of option during gameplay, but the game in general very repetitive in many cases. the storyline is amaizing and it feels a bit streched. even though it seems like an open world it really isnt, because htere is so much you can do. also you get to hate the limit of piraxies you can purchase Expand
  34. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    Very rich storyline, great graphics and game play. Truly an outstanding successor to the original Deus Ex. One thing you may not like about this game is the overwhelming amount of mini-game that involves hacking into computer terminals: for door security, camera, storyline or whatnot. Although the game does not require you to do so, but you will want to do it anyway on your firstVery rich storyline, great graphics and game play. Truly an outstanding successor to the original Deus Ex. One thing you may not like about this game is the overwhelming amount of mini-game that involves hacking into computer terminals: for door security, camera, storyline or whatnot. Although the game does not require you to do so, but you will want to do it anyway on your first play-through so you collect all the information. Still, this is a great game to play. Expand
  35. Feb 6, 2012
    6
    Ok, I have finished playing Human Revolution and I must say my first rating and review was a bit overreacted (I gave 4). On the other hand there is number of issues with this game.

    For me the major concern is related to the character moving too fast and total absence of smooth graphics in-game (and itâ
  36. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    I really enjoyed this game, great in depth story, lots of ways to optimize your gear and paths to completing the goal. I just wish it had kept going and that they had done more dlc or at least released mod tools. Of course when compared to the original Deus Ex it doesn't hold a candle, on its own though it is well worth the price.
  37. Jul 31, 2013
    8
    I'll put it simply. Deus Ex: Human Revolution is a great return to the old fashioned, multiple choice, role playing games of long ago. The first Deus Ex revolutionized the way we viewed not only action RPGs, but gaming in general. And what was the reason we all liked Deus Ex so much, as well as Deus Ex: Human Revolution? I'll give you one reason. Choice. The game lets you choose how youI'll put it simply. Deus Ex: Human Revolution is a great return to the old fashioned, multiple choice, role playing games of long ago. The first Deus Ex revolutionized the way we viewed not only action RPGs, but gaming in general. And what was the reason we all liked Deus Ex so much, as well as Deus Ex: Human Revolution? I'll give you one reason. Choice. The game lets you choose how you play in all situations. You are hardly ever forced to do something you don't want. For example, you need to get into a police station to gather information. You can sneak in through vents, hack the security and find a different way in, climb to the roof and enter from the top, or you can just walk right through the front door and shoot everyone. But there are also some choices in the game that are so subtle that you may never know that you made them.

    Story, atmosphere, great gameplay... this game has all of it. Check it out if you can.
    Expand
  38. Oct 22, 2014
    10
    Played this game at least 6 times to date. Visuals are stunning, the music really creates a sense of atmosphere and gameplay is polished. One of the best games of it's generation.
  39. Apr 13, 2016
    10
    Lo Bueno:Atrapante, Genial!. Las Horas pasan muy rápido con este bien logrado juego. Admito que me lo compré sin saber nada de él, pero que ha sido una sorpresa y un agrado jugarlo.
    Si esperas un shooter puro este juego no va con ese tinte. Mezclado con estrategia, rol, acción y el famoso pero para mí, poco experimentado mundo de los juegos con "Stealth Mode".
    La jugabilidad del juego es
    Lo Bueno:Atrapante, Genial!. Las Horas pasan muy rápido con este bien logrado juego. Admito que me lo compré sin saber nada de él, pero que ha sido una sorpresa y un agrado jugarlo.
    Si esperas un shooter puro este juego no va con ese tinte. Mezclado con estrategia, rol, acción y el famoso pero para mí, poco experimentado mundo de los juegos con "Stealth Mode".
    La jugabilidad del juego es lo que más atrapa, la estética es muy buena también y el sistema de pirateo es complejo y a la vez muy entretenido.
    Lo Malo: Algunos bugs, pero aceptables
    Expand
  40. Aug 31, 2011
    5
    The gameplay is all over the place, the AI is absurd, the animated art is tatty and actual interactivity (and forget "story interativity") is very weak, almost non-existent. I don't understand all the hype and craziness. This is no LGS legacy game, much less one of Ion Storm. It's a mainstream disappointment.
  41. Jan 6, 2015
    10
    Game of the decade, certainly. Just a year after and I'm very sure that nothing is going to contend this game for that title. Great story, gameplay, stealth, you do what you want to do. Another plus is that Elias Toufexis has an incredibly unique and awesome voice, you get to listen to that the whole game!
  42. Aug 21, 2013
    6
    Much like the first Deus Ex, this game feels quite flawed and incomplete. Much about he game also leaves you feeling disconnected: the voice acting, the character's behaviors, the truncated settings, the clumsy combat and nonsensical storyline.

    If you want a game like this, I'd suggest just playing through Vampire the Masquarade Bloodlines again. But if you've already gone through all
    Much like the first Deus Ex, this game feels quite flawed and incomplete. Much about he game also leaves you feeling disconnected: the voice acting, the character's behaviors, the truncated settings, the clumsy combat and nonsensical storyline.

    If you want a game like this, I'd suggest just playing through Vampire the Masquarade Bloodlines again. But if you've already gone through all the clans and combat styles, then maybe check this game out.
    Expand
  43. Oct 10, 2012
    6
    This game is not for the faint of heart or people looking for a walk in the park. It will challenge you. I liked the combat system, the music, and the atmosphere of the game a lot. The art and graphics were not so good. I thought that it needed a lot more polish.

    The game's design is the result of a LOT of iteration and it really shows. The story was mediocre to boring plus it was
    This game is not for the faint of heart or people looking for a walk in the park. It will challenge you. I liked the combat system, the music, and the atmosphere of the game a lot. The art and graphics were not so good. I thought that it needed a lot more polish.

    The game's design is the result of a LOT of iteration and it really shows. The story was mediocre to boring plus it was incredibly linear, though I didn't really mind that too much. What really keeps you playing the game is the combat. It takes a lot of patience and planning to get through from room to room. This gives the game a feeling of length and it's something that makes it drag on just a bit too much. Overall it was a good game and I had fun playing it, but I played it over 6 months and logged some 24 hours into it, so hardly addictive or suspenseful to the point that I couldn't put it down. I usually beat games in a week to two weeks for reference.
    Expand
  44. May 3, 2012
    7
    Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed my experience with DE:HR, but I can't help but feel it's more popular than it deserves, the story is consistently pleasing throughout, it's what kept me playing to be honest, I didn't enjoy combat and tried to avoid this at all costs, sadly thanks to certain compulsory boss fights I couldn't use this approach throughout and this ruined my time with the game.Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed my experience with DE:HR, but I can't help but feel it's more popular than it deserves, the story is consistently pleasing throughout, it's what kept me playing to be honest, I didn't enjoy combat and tried to avoid this at all costs, sadly thanks to certain compulsory boss fights I couldn't use this approach throughout and this ruined my time with the game. The game world is also very detailed and very rewarding for people like myself who like to explore every corner of the map. I can't fault the graphics or sound in any way either. All in all a good game in most respects, but I can't help but feel cheated by being offered the option of stealth only to have this snapped up at the tedious boss fights. Expand
  45. Dec 15, 2012
    9
    This is a brilliant game. It's quite demanding but once you're familiar with your gadgets, the controls and the games incredible mechanics DeusEx:HR is a joy to play and very immersive. The tactical options available to the player via highly explorable environments and intricate upgrade paths is mind blowing. Special kudos goes out to the art team who have done an outstanding job ofThis is a brilliant game. It's quite demanding but once you're familiar with your gadgets, the controls and the games incredible mechanics DeusEx:HR is a joy to play and very immersive. The tactical options available to the player via highly explorable environments and intricate upgrade paths is mind blowing. Special kudos goes out to the art team who have done an outstanding job of making a unique futuristic world that's both gritty and utterly beautiful. It could of easily been done with a generic cyberpunk style but there is unique flare and creativity in all aspects of HR's design that gives the game a life of it's own. Best stealth game yet. Expand
  46. Jan 1, 2012
    9
    This is an excellent cyber-punk game with very nice rpg gameplay, amazing graphics, and a deep cyber story with references to Phillip Dick, William Gibson. The only negative to this title is the boss fights.
  47. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    A massive improvement over the first Deus Ex, the combat and overall gameplay of this game are incredible. However, I had to do some tweaking to even get it to work properly. Probably ported from consoles or it just doesn't like AMD-based computers. Still, 9/10.
  48. Feb 26, 2015
    6
    A great game, but it doesn't deserve 'Deus Ex' in the title because of casual gameplay and poor level design as well as bad design choices.

    Maybe, it could have turned out to be a good game if they had forgot about consoles, remastered edition, non-gamers, and CoD players.
  49. Aug 6, 2012
    1
    The worst thing is having to listen to the god awful dialogue. The writers in this game... I want to kick them very hard. I preordered and the sheer amount of stuff they gave to preorders was angering. This game is probably good on a lower difficulty setting where the issues don't pop out at you so much. When you play any game at a higher difficulty it either shines or turns to **** DeusThe worst thing is having to listen to the god awful dialogue. The writers in this game... I want to kick them very hard. I preordered and the sheer amount of stuff they gave to preorders was angering. This game is probably good on a lower difficulty setting where the issues don't pop out at you so much. When you play any game at a higher difficulty it either shines or turns to **** Deus Ex turns to ****. Expand
  50. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    After FINALLY finished this game after about 50+ hours (I explore everything - twice when you revisit locations; amazing what you missed or can access with new augs!!), it's still a 10, like a rated it after 6 hours of play. Sure the inventory control is sticky (why?) and many NPCs have the shakes (um why?) but it is true to the original - nonlinear play (um, this isn't a sandbox likeAfter FINALLY finished this game after about 50+ hours (I explore everything - twice when you revisit locations; amazing what you missed or can access with new augs!!), it's still a 10, like a rated it after 6 hours of play. Sure the inventory control is sticky (why?) and many NPCs have the shakes (um why?) but it is true to the original - nonlinear play (um, this isn't a sandbox like Oblivion tho) should you cloak and zip passed the cameras, or evade the guards, or walk around the roof and float down if you have the right aug to get to your objective, etc. It is very PC friendly (with one exception below), allowing you to save almost anywhere at any time and good remapping of key ability. It has COMMON SENSE - thank you for not making us RE-FIGHT the last boss to see all the endings. Sheesh I hate that. My only real criticisms are (1) I had trouble mass delete saved games; i.e. i couldn't go into the directory and delete 80 games at once, b/c it would still think they were there - very frustrating and (2) it should let you have more than 100 saves. Finally, sometimes it felt a bit too easy even on the very hardest difficulty (3) I tried very hard to get a pacifist rating but i guess i blew it somewhere without knowing it - sigh; would have been nice to know where so I could re-load... (4) and finally, I felt like maybe there should be more enemies if you get caught or something. I played non-lethal all the way (so I thought; maybe i screwed up the beginning scene) and sneaked passed everyone or took them out quietly. But you could play through WAY faster just popping everyone in the head.MINOR BUT NECESSARY SPOILER (below): XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXWait out the credits for secret scene. Expand
  51. Aug 29, 2011
    10
    This is the real Deus EX 2 !!!. As an older player (30) I realy thought that old times, where games were tough, full of choices and consequences are over. DXHR teaches me that im wrong. :)
  52. Sep 1, 2011
    5
    Its literally the hardest game i have ever played and i beat ninja gaiden 1 and 2 on master ninja. This game completely relies on stealth and hacking, gun fights are boring and its duck, peak for 2 seconds, duck, peak for 2 seconds, duck. The map design is boring, find a vent and your home free. The only thing i like about the game to be honest is the "think out of the box" gameplay. ThereIts literally the hardest game i have ever played and i beat ninja gaiden 1 and 2 on master ninja. This game completely relies on stealth and hacking, gun fights are boring and its duck, peak for 2 seconds, duck, peak for 2 seconds, duck. The map design is boring, find a vent and your home free. The only thing i like about the game to be honest is the "think out of the box" gameplay. There is at least 3 ways to do a mission, and by that, most of them are going to rely on stealth, maybe one or two involves gun-play and your mostly going to quit because your always getting ambushed. If the game had a better atmosphere, funner gun-play, and the ability to have allies or do co-op, this game would have a 10. And i refuse to lower my difficulty from hardest settings because everyone says the replay value of this game is below absolute zero. Expand
  53. Sep 9, 2011
    8
    Amidst much expectation Deus Ex: Human Revolution has arrived and in doing so gives fans of the award-winning series more what they have been waiting for. The game is set in 2027 which makes it a prequel to the previous two games. Players take on the role of Adam Jensen, the security chief for Sarif Industries who on the eve of a series of meetings with lawmakers is brutally attacked by aAmidst much expectation Deus Ex: Human Revolution has arrived and in doing so gives fans of the award-winning series more what they have been waiting for. The game is set in 2027 which makes it a prequel to the previous two games. Players take on the role of Adam Jensen, the security chief for Sarif Industries who on the eve of a series of meetings with lawmakers is brutally attacked by a hostile force. The attack leaves Adam near death and forces his employers to augment his body with numerous cybernetic enhancements in order to save his life. Six months later and returns to work and must get to the bottom of the attack which as the investigation unfolds seems to indicate a lot of high-ranking people in the government. The free-roaming environment, Adam is able to explore futuristic Detroit which is awash in neon and numerous questionable in dangerous areas were at a must explore in order to find the truth. When interacting with various NPCâ Expand
  54. Aug 28, 2011
    9
    A clever game and a worthy addition to the franchise. Dx3 is indeed all about choice and this comes through with the level design and the augmentation system working hand in hand. Just little things can be done so many ways through vents, sewers, rooftops. Then throw in a variety of upgradable weapons and you have a game with a very high replay value. Hopefully we see more of it in theA clever game and a worthy addition to the franchise. Dx3 is indeed all about choice and this comes through with the level design and the augmentation system working hand in hand. Just little things can be done so many ways through vents, sewers, rooftops. Then throw in a variety of upgradable weapons and you have a game with a very high replay value. Hopefully we see more of it in the near future. Expand
  55. Aug 24, 2011
    6
    To put it simply, this game is nothing special. Uninspired and surprisingly linear, Human Revolution fails to live up to the Deus Ex name. This game is a copy/paste of the dozens of cover-shooting "RPGs" already on the market. In fact, it could arguably be a direct copy of Mass Effect 2 with the added elements of climbing ladders and crawling through vents. That is not a compliment. TheTo put it simply, this game is nothing special. Uninspired and surprisingly linear, Human Revolution fails to live up to the Deus Ex name. This game is a copy/paste of the dozens of cover-shooting "RPGs" already on the market. In fact, it could arguably be a direct copy of Mass Effect 2 with the added elements of climbing ladders and crawling through vents. That is not a compliment. The shooting is stiff, the graphics are dated, the quests are glitched, and some of the augmentation upgrades are practically necessary if you want to experience anything resembling nonlinear gameplay. Hacking is a perfect example of this. It's used everywhere for almost everything. Be prepared to fully upgrade the hacking augmentation before doing anything else (unless you just want to run from cover to cover shooting people until you reach the end of the level). Overall the game leaves an impression of poor planning and stale mechanics. Expand
  56. Oct 3, 2011
    9
    Rented on Redbox and took it back the next day just so I could buy my own copy. It's an awesome game with a lot of freedom and variability in how you play. Not just a normal FPS, but a good and interesting game with RPG and FPS elements.
  57. Sep 3, 2011
    9
    I have mixed feelings for this game. The best thing about HR is the atmosphere. The world feels vivd and I was fully immersed very quickly. Graphical design is very good and the music is fantastic. The german voice acting is phenomenal. The game feels very polished and the production values are really impressive.

    The characters feel very intreresting from the moment you see them, but
    I have mixed feelings for this game. The best thing about HR is the atmosphere. The world feels vivd and I was fully immersed very quickly. Graphical design is very good and the music is fantastic. The german voice acting is phenomenal. The game feels very polished and the production values are really impressive.

    The characters feel very intreresting from the moment you see them, but unfortunately many dont really develop thoughout the game. You get to know them only on the surface. Some immediately seem very interesting but are only statists after all. This feels unsatisfying and I would have liked to know more about them.

    Also, I didnt like the story so much. Although the setting is fascinating, the embedded story feels thin and the pacing is awkward. It doesnt do justice to the great atmotphere of the game. I would have liked more different quests to connect more to the world.
    And while the cities are incredibly well done and rich in detail. The other areas feel a bit bland and monotonous in comparison.
    I would rate this game between 8 and 9.
    Expand
  58. oso
    Mar 6, 2012
    2
    Again i've wasted Money for a incredible boring Game. The firefights are so far not that bad, its just the lack of any interesting story line and stupid gameplay features that pisses me of. There is also the incredible bad Graphics (esp. character design/facial expression) which seem to be from a different century.
  59. Sep 28, 2014
    7
    Good game, but there are some bad things.. AI is so stupid, handgun is more precise than sniper, good weapons arrive when the game is almost over. Many unskippable scenes...
  60. Dec 3, 2016
    8
    9, would've been for a more gripping story. 10, would've been if it played through flawlessly. The game mechanics are well developed over the last, everything that was added in features adds to the richness of the game. Even on Give me Deus Ex though, it was easy. The cover system works so well, and there's such a plethora of alternative routes, getting around a formation, zigging your way9, would've been for a more gripping story. 10, would've been if it played through flawlessly. The game mechanics are well developed over the last, everything that was added in features adds to the richness of the game. Even on Give me Deus Ex though, it was easy. The cover system works so well, and there's such a plethora of alternative routes, getting around a formation, zigging your way through a dozen vent shafts, this game was cake. Cake in the kind you still want to eat, but that leaves you feeling a little bored. Still, refreshing, worth a play certainly. If you're being exhaustive about the side missions, playing stealthily, was worth maybe 24 hours of game play. Expand
  61. Jul 18, 2014
    8
    This game is excellent. However, you do have to muscle through the early stages, which might make you doubt your purchase. Keep at it, because the game quickly turns a corner into greatness.

    As with many PC games, you'll see complaints about some ugly graphics that were outdated even in the year of the game's release, and they're not wrong. The sky boxes are almost fascinatingly ugly,
    This game is excellent. However, you do have to muscle through the early stages, which might make you doubt your purchase. Keep at it, because the game quickly turns a corner into greatness.

    As with many PC games, you'll see complaints about some ugly graphics that were outdated even in the year of the game's release, and they're not wrong. The sky boxes are almost fascinatingly ugly, with extremely low resolution and low colour textures smeared across the heavens like the dawn of Minecraft. Some models show clear signs of being animated by some kind of b-team, and make jerky movements like mannequins. However, as with so many games, your brain quickly accepts this initially odd world and works around it.

    What matters is the game itself, and it's a treat for stealth fans, especially if you buy the Director's Cut with the extra missions. It also handles shooting well, and the upgrades to Adam's cybernetic form are good bait to ensure that you willingly stay in character and work as a good-guy detective. There are opportunities to think creatively and feel like you did the right thing, with a little extra planning and effort.

    At first I thought I'd just be following along with Adam's story, thinking it would be impossible to empathise with his rather unpleasant surface facets, but by the end I'd become a lot more invested in the outcome. It stayed with me for a long time afterwards, and I'll look forward to a sequel. Otherwise, I'll happily play DE:HR again one day.
    Expand
  62. Sep 14, 2011
    3
    Perhaps if I'd played the original I would have liked this one more (maybe +1 to my score of 6).
     
    Anyway this game had some enjoyable moments but for me personally it was just a little too boring. Kinda great like MGS 4 but then those ultra long cut-scenes came along. Well DE:HR comes across like that quite often too...oh look another hacking "mini-game" when I can hack level
    Perhaps if I'd played the original I would have liked this one more (maybe +1 to my score of 6).
     
    Anyway this game had some enjoyable moments but for me personally it was just a little too boring. Kinda great like MGS 4 but then those ultra long cut-scenes came along. Well DE:HR comes across like that quite often too...oh look another hacking "mini-game" when I can hack level 5 equipment and score the codes off of enemies (just a little too easy for me...they should have reduced the rate at which you level up Mr J.

    I will probably never finish it (still with over 16 hours in so far...at LEAST ("reload" "reload" "reload"...lol..."reload").
    Expand
  63. Jun 29, 2012
    8
    Deus Ex HR is made for stealth and exploration. Plain and simple. Enemy A.I. is too dull for firefights, and exploration is what rewards you most (in terms of gaming pleasure). Thus if you like shooters, don't mess with this game. But if you are looking for a more stealth/RPG/intelligent experience, this game is pure awesomeness. The environments are wide and detailed, with lots ofDeus Ex HR is made for stealth and exploration. Plain and simple. Enemy A.I. is too dull for firefights, and exploration is what rewards you most (in terms of gaming pleasure). Thus if you like shooters, don't mess with this game. But if you are looking for a more stealth/RPG/intelligent experience, this game is pure awesomeness. The environments are wide and detailed, with lots of alternate routes and hidden stuff to find. The places you visit are very different from each other, and the cities are a thing of beauty, inspired by the crowded streets and architectures of Blade Runner (as the first Deus Ex was). Story is mesmerizing and well told, and the same goes for side-quests. While playing, you really feel that there is a load of possibilities to reach a goal, to sneak around some guards, to decide the turn of the story. The way augments (the cybernetic "superpowers" you develop with experience) work is perfect. You decide which ones to grow, and you never feel like you're getting those experience points too slowly or too quickly. And it's very fascinating to go back to already-visited areas, but with the newly-gained ability to jump higher, or to fall without being hurt, and thus discover new locations. Best sci-fi game I played in a long time. If you're a completist like me, it will last for dozens of hours. I even preferred it to Mass Effect 2, both for the environments than for the additional freedom. Only reason I don't give it a 10 is because of boss fights - hard and out of contest, for a game that is best played in stealth mode - and because the ending sucks: Eidos clearly wanted to trace the first Deus Ex steps, and go for a "strong" ending, but instead it just looks illogical and dumb. Expand
  64. Sep 1, 2011
    10
    Big fan of the original. This is great, immersive, every aspect is top notch, including the dialogue, combat, cover system, stary etc etc. There are weaknesses in any game, just depends on whether they detract from the overall experience. They certainly don't here
  65. Sep 5, 2011
    9
    When I first saw this game, I didn't know what to expect. The box art and story sound interesting, so I go it. I was instantly amazed. Human Revolution combines storytelling with shooting, stealth, and makes players think about how they re going to accomplish a task. My favorite part, however, is the stealth combat. It never gets old to sneak up on and unsuspecting guard, hit circle, andWhen I first saw this game, I didn't know what to expect. The box art and story sound interesting, so I go it. I was instantly amazed. Human Revolution combines storytelling with shooting, stealth, and makes players think about how they re going to accomplish a task. My favorite part, however, is the stealth combat. It never gets old to sneak up on and unsuspecting guard, hit circle, and beat him senseless.This type of game that combines all aspects of gaming that people enjoy is what keeps the gaming industry alive. Expand
  66. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    This game was amazing. The original back for the xbox was easily my favourite game for that system and even back than that game could compete with some of trash put out these days.
    However Deus Ex Human Revolution was amazing from the gun-play to the stealth and close combat and even the mini game hacking and conversations have all been deeply entertaining.
    To top it off the entire time I
    This game was amazing. The original back for the xbox was easily my favourite game for that system and even back than that game could compete with some of trash put out these days.
    However Deus Ex Human Revolution was amazing from the gun-play to the stealth and close combat and even the mini game hacking and conversations have all been deeply entertaining.

    To top it off the entire time I played through this game all I could think is "I can't wait to do it all again but in a different way" I am now on my pacifist play through and simply can't wait to do a guns blazing play through right after!
    Expand
  67. Jun 15, 2012
    3
    To me, this game was dead the moment I shot the first bullet. The controls are just unresponsive, and even though you hit, you don't, or vice versa.
    In order to be playable, a game has to get at least the basics right, and this game just doesn't cut it.
  68. Sep 24, 2015
    8
    Nice game, managed to give the feelimg of the first deus ex, a worthy addition to the series. Although I prefer the first games scenario and gameplay. The only thing I disliked was the city designs. Really hard to find your way and the streets felt lifeless and empty.
  69. Aug 25, 2013
    6
    Graphics look simple,but OK for the yellow mood is quite "unique".Faces in the game are mostly crude judging with the standard of the year 2011.
    Individual sequences are not accessible to play individually.I know that they are a whole play built upon what we have chosen through playing and cannot be divided,while I'm not feeling entertained for this a bit "hardcore" set of gameplay.
    Graphics look simple,but OK for the yellow mood is quite "unique".Faces in the game are mostly crude judging with the standard of the year 2011.
    Individual sequences are not accessible to play individually.I know that they are a whole play built upon what we have chosen through playing and cannot be divided,while I'm not feeling entertained for this a bit "hardcore" set of gameplay.
    Maneuver of 3rd person is not so convenient,with the "take cover" part functions like Hitman:Absolution but worse.
    Good game,but not so good as I imagined.
    Expand
  70. Mar 26, 2014
    9
    Theirs a few games that mid way through the first 4 hours of play will utterly dazzle you with solid gameplay and story. It even fools you into an almost sandbox feel, seeing the many ways of handling each mission.
    I hate stealth games, it broke me into wanting to play stealth. For the first time i enjoyed stealth.
    Graphic 9
    gameplay 9
    story 9
  71. Oct 4, 2011
    6
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution is a prequel to the old "Deus Ex" duology. Set 25 years before the original Deus Ex it is more of a prequel in spirit and overall world development.
    The timespan is huge enough to allow Eidos to do something set in the same world without being tied down by specific ends to the plot, complete with a separate cast of characters and its own focus.
    While the "Human
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution is a prequel to the old "Deus Ex" duology. Set 25 years before the original Deus Ex it is more of a prequel in spirit and overall world development.
    The timespan is huge enough to allow Eidos to do something set in the same world without being tied down by specific ends to the plot, complete with a separate cast of characters and its own focus.

    While the "Human Revolution" might have been an interesting plot to explore, it ultimately falls short in the game. While it is clearly noticeable that the population is uneasy about the technological developments and the dangers of augmentations, only at the end of the game will real riots break out - alongside the path of Adam Jensen.
    You feel like an outsider, kept from the actual events that tear the population apart. While being fed information via emails, ebooks, TVs and other sorts of media, the game fails to involve you into its setting.

    Upon hearing that James Swallow, one of the better Black Library authors, is involved, I felt the urge to experience this title.
    The experience I got was unexpectedly forced and seemed awkward. While a lot of the ebooks provided a good read, the story told in the actual game felt shallow, leading you from one job to the next without even realizing its full potential.
    Instead of building up a solid connection to the characters by adding relevant material, you barely get to see them, and what they say is normally so limited, you simply cannot bond with them.

    Decisions don't have a real impact on the story either. Whether you choose to help a Quest NPC or not doesn't matter, even if you do, you'll see him once or twice right after the quest, gain your reward and that's that.
    Instead of incorporating these NPCs into later parts of the game, helping you out, they get abandoned asap. Characters Jensen seemingly knows from a past we've never even scratched appear and disappear without leaving marks in our lives, only adding a few credits to our pockets.

    One thing I regretted was letting my pilot, Faridah Malik die when we got shot down by Belltower soldiers. A short dramatic dialogue sequence via vox and once I passed that area, Jensen got contacted by Pritchard, who was seemingly shocked for seconds but then told Adam to not act out of revenge.
    When you later find her body in Triad-boss Tong's lair, there is no reaction, no line of regret, sadness, nothing. Abandoned.
    If I had rescued her, she'd have evacuated Megan Reed and her team later on, and disappeared afterwards. No impact.

    The end of the actual plot feels artificial, architected and unnatural. Eidos took all of the leading characters and threw them onto Panchea, and left the player with the decision to doom them all.
    Tying loose ends was supposed to work differently, especially when you don't even get a proper epilogue. Abandoned characters once again, Deus Ex Machina.
    Expand
  72. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    It's the best game I have played in years. I couldn't stop playing it...
    I explored as much as I could on my first play-through, it took 39 hours to complete and I loved every minute of it.
    As I was playing, I knew there were a ton of different ways I could approach the objectives and I am really looking forward to playing through the game again, but completely differently. The story is
    It's the best game I have played in years. I couldn't stop playing it...
    I explored as much as I could on my first play-through, it took 39 hours to complete and I loved every minute of it.

    As I was playing, I knew there were a ton of different ways I could approach the objectives and I am really looking forward to playing through the game again, but completely differently.

    The story is great, the characters are great, the gameplay is amazing whatever way you choose to play it (and there is plenty of choice).

    I actually think it deserves GOTY for being such a breath of fresh air.
    Expand
  73. Sep 16, 2011
    9
    Games don't really get better than this. Good story, solid voice acting, lots of replay value. Graphics are a bit dated, but the level of detail and thought that has gone into the world and characters surpasses that of most games.
  74. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    Amazing graphics, outstanding campaign, brilliant voice acting and excelent gameplay. Definetly one of the 7th generations best titles. A must-play.
  75. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    "Human Revolution" is a rare gem among today's watered down "AAA" blockbusters. There's so much here that is all-to-rare in modern games. A thoughtful story. Realistic characters. Attention to detail. And above all: Respect for the players intelligence and choices. While the game is multiplatform, the PC port is done with care and attention. I thoroughly recommend this outstanding game."Human Revolution" is a rare gem among today's watered down "AAA" blockbusters. There's so much here that is all-to-rare in modern games. A thoughtful story. Realistic characters. Attention to detail. And above all: Respect for the players intelligence and choices. While the game is multiplatform, the PC port is done with care and attention. I thoroughly recommend this outstanding game.


    I can't wait to see what this talented team comes up with next.
    Expand
  76. MB_
    Sep 27, 2011
    9
    Just finished it. The best sneaking shooter game I've played since Thief 2 as far as I'm concerned. Sadly there's no shadows to hide within but I still had plenty of fun sneaking my way through a very convincing science fiction world. It has an interesting story and the varied missions kept me busy. Plenty to do and it had an easy learning curve too. Really nothing to moan about. Oh exceptJust finished it. The best sneaking shooter game I've played since Thief 2 as far as I'm concerned. Sadly there's no shadows to hide within but I still had plenty of fun sneaking my way through a very convincing science fiction world. It has an interesting story and the varied missions kept me busy. Plenty to do and it had an easy learning curve too. Really nothing to moan about. Oh except the cover, which I never used, oh and the 3rd person sequences which broke the 4th wall too often, I'm only climbing up a ladder stop reminding me I'm playing a game damnit. Perfect 10 without that! Expand
  77. Aug 27, 2011
    7
    Playing this game i have the feeling i am playing through a Mass Effect DLC, and not the best one... until i am brought back to reality by its Modern Warfare-like combat and the stealth "routes" available. Those are the main differences between the two games. There is the same dialog system, the same lack of weaponry choice of ME2, the same hub-dungeons mechanic, the token "hacking"Playing this game i have the feeling i am playing through a Mass Effect DLC, and not the best one... until i am brought back to reality by its Modern Warfare-like combat and the stealth "routes" available. Those are the main differences between the two games. There is the same dialog system, the same lack of weaponry choice of ME2, the same hub-dungeons mechanic, the token "hacking" mini-game and even the original augment system works in the same way as Mass Effect's character progression (with exp points granting points to expend in new abilities and powering up old ones), although some modifications provide effects similar to those of Crysis' famous combat suit. I can't help feeling the whole game is a massive sense of deja-vu topped with lack of creativity. Only the concept design and art sometimes go above the average. Even with my settings maxed i found the graphics to be lacking and the backgrounds mostly unappealing, at about the level of the first Mass Effect, if not less. The music score is interesting and it's clear a skilled writer was hired for the occasion, but both fall flat because of the repetitive and unoriginal gameplay. Perhaps after playing through all of the FPS games of the last decade i have grown insensitive to the appeal of the genre, but i still play quite a few of them and the third installment of Deus Ex doesn't provide anything substantially new to the standard. Even though i am a fan of the more rough and unforgiving combat i have no reason to play through Deus Ex: Human Revolution again. Wanting an engrossing story and captivating scenery Mass Effect is by far superior, while Battlefield Bad Company 2 or Modern Warfare 2 go the extra mile in terms of realism, stealth action and weaponry choice. I can hardly contain my disappointment and stupefaction in front of the acclaim a game like this is receiving, but i will give it the rating i believe it deserves: a 7, mostly for its good production value, polished gameplay and cool (although easily guessed) story climax. Le sigh. Expand
  78. May 6, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect is **** compared to this.-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  79. Feb 7, 2012
    8
    This is a fun and challenging game, I will agree that PC gaming has been held back by the weaker console ports. The game has A LOT of style, but the animations, graphics, lighting, and more is weak. I used a graphics mod to fix this. I liked this game but I never played the first. I found the stealth fun and my favorite over the shooting. This is a fun game but has its flaws.
  80. Apr 2, 2012
    9
    This game is not perfect, but it's REALLY GOOD. It does everything a Deus ex fan wants correctly. The graphics are a bit dated, and the acting can be hilariously bad at times (Which somehow adds to the fun) but overall, Deus ex is a great game and a great prequel to another great game.
  81. Apr 30, 2012
    8
    I did not finish this game as I'm not into stealth. That being said, the 8 hours I invested were thouroughly enjoyable and the games merrits were certainly appreciated. The gameplay was crisp, the visuals gave a great level of interest and painted the futuristic city well. The upgrade system was very rewarding and the story was interesting. Not my cup of tea but highly recomended to thoseI did not finish this game as I'm not into stealth. That being said, the 8 hours I invested were thouroughly enjoyable and the games merrits were certainly appreciated. The gameplay was crisp, the visuals gave a great level of interest and painted the futuristic city well. The upgrade system was very rewarding and the story was interesting. Not my cup of tea but highly recomended to those who enjoy the genre. 8.5 Expand
  82. Aug 7, 2014
    9
    Awesome stealth action RPG, with a very smart, well written and interesting story. The game has a great art style and near future aesthetic, but the graphics are disappointing even by the standards of 2011.
  83. May 27, 2016
    8
    Che cosa rimane di Deus Ex HR una volta finito? Innanzitutto la sensazione che dà il PROGETTARE l'attraversamento di un ambiente: lo studio del percorso dei nemici, dei tempi che intercorrono tra quando il soldato di sentinella comincia a camminare, si volta per guardarsi indietro, e si rigira per fare qualche altro passo. L'adrenalina nell'aprire il portello del condotto ed infilarsiChe cosa rimane di Deus Ex HR una volta finito? Innanzitutto la sensazione che dà il PROGETTARE l'attraversamento di un ambiente: lo studio del percorso dei nemici, dei tempi che intercorrono tra quando il soldato di sentinella comincia a camminare, si volta per guardarsi indietro, e si rigira per fare qualche altro passo. L'adrenalina nell'aprire il portello del condotto ed infilarsi all'interno un istante prima di essere avvistato. La soddisfazione nell'eseguire un doppio atterramento non letale, dopo essere riuscito a strisciare, non visto, in mezzo a due guardie. La consapevolezza di aver intrapreso, ancora una volta, il percorso secondario, di aver attraversato la finestra sul retro, di aver scelto la strada meno ovvia. Bisogna notare, comunque, che alle volte queste sensazioni sono solo illusorie (ovvero, le strade secondarie sono messe lì per essere trovate e sfruttate). Perchè Deus Ex HR NON si merita un 10, o un 9? Per via di un insieme di scenari, soprattutto nella prima metà di gioco, ripetitivi (uffici, scrivanie, computer), non aiutati da una scelta dei colori che uniforma gli ambienti anche nei casi in cui ci si spinge in vicoli suburbani o perfino in fognature, o piattaforme in mezzo all'oceano. Anche il gameplay non è vicino alla perfezione, in particolare lo shooting (seppure sia secondario, data la natura del gioco che predilige evitare uno scontro piuttosto che vincerlo). Non ispirati alcuni dialoghi, probabilmente indeboliti dal doppiaggio in italiano (avrei dovuto giocarlo in lingua originale, con sottotitoli). Resta comunque un grande gioco, un buon RPG,ed uno dei migliori stealth a cui abbia giocato. Expand
  84. May 11, 2013
    4
    Alpha Protocol meets Vampire: Bloodlines, without the bugs, or ambition, of either of them. The result is something usually smooth and playable but never compelling.
  85. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    Pros: The excellent story and paranoid atmosphere of the original is replicated here, with the benefit of a much improved "metal gear style" combat system. XP rewards for the harder stealth and non-lethal approaches. Cons: Good but not great soundtrack compared to the first. Ending is not as climatic. Unlike the rest of the game, boss fights force stealth or social players into straightPros: The excellent story and paranoid atmosphere of the original is replicated here, with the benefit of a much improved "metal gear style" combat system. XP rewards for the harder stealth and non-lethal approaches. Cons: Good but not great soundtrack compared to the first. Ending is not as climatic. Unlike the rest of the game, boss fights force stealth or social players into straight combat. The hacking minigame, while originally interesting, becomes repetitive. Expand
  86. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    This game is an awesome installement in the franchise, but isn't as good as its predecessor. But that's to be expected, since the original Deus Ex is, in my opinion, the best game ever made. You shouldn't regret buying this if you are looking for an awesome adventure.
  87. Oct 24, 2011
    5
    Game starts out decent but quickly goes downhill. The game play is meh, stealth mechanics feel dated, like Deus Ex dated. The cover system is finicky and often times you'll have trouble sticking to surfaces until you turn on the "Toggle Cover," which is still infuriating. The games enemies are predictable and there's not a lot of variety between them other than bigger guns and colorGame starts out decent but quickly goes downhill. The game play is meh, stealth mechanics feel dated, like Deus Ex dated. The cover system is finicky and often times you'll have trouble sticking to surfaces until you turn on the "Toggle Cover," which is still infuriating. The games enemies are predictable and there's not a lot of variety between them other than bigger guns and color scheme. They don't seem to get any smarter and there's little variety in game play amongst missions. Generally you run around quietly, find some boxes, move the boxes and enter vent. Hacking is way too central to the game and action orientated players will be somewhat sad as the game forces you into a more stealthy character as there aren't a lot of augmentations for combat characters other than recoil and armor. The game's settings especially the city hubs are poorly laid out, the side quests are awful, and having to walk 1 to 2 minutes back and forth multiple times in hubs gets extremely annoying. They should've been omitted completely and stuck to a more traditional format instead of the awful hub. The story was extremely boring because it's so predictable. Anyone who has at least read some literature for pleasure can easily pick up who's the bad guy and what's going to happen. The dialogue and voice actors in general are terrible and really grated me, especially Jensen's voice. Overall the game's average and I'd have a hard time recommending it to anyone unless it's $10. Expand
  88. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    Intense, in depth, fun to play, doesn't get old, DLCs that are worth it, smooth engine and amazing graphics, gameplay that makes you feel badass. It's like somebody took the game disks for Bioshock, Metal Gear Solid, LA Noire, Batman, and Timesplitters, and glued them together with pure **** This game is that good. Oh, and if the gameplay and game throughout didn't seal the deal for thisIntense, in depth, fun to play, doesn't get old, DLCs that are worth it, smooth engine and amazing graphics, gameplay that makes you feel badass. It's like somebody took the game disks for Bioshock, Metal Gear Solid, LA Noire, Batman, and Timesplitters, and glued them together with pure **** This game is that good. Oh, and if the gameplay and game throughout didn't seal the deal for this being the best game ever, you know what did? The endings. Every single one is amazingly written, and collectively I think they could be called the best ending(s) in the history of video games. Sorry Earthbound. Buyer analysis: It seems to go on sale a lot lately, but I would even say this one is worth buying at full price. The DLC too. Expand
  89. Jun 17, 2012
    8
    I give 8 because it has an amazing story. The ending makes player to think what is going on. Very interesting way to think about human gene modification. For a first person shooting game, I can't say they did a good job on shooting. But I like it has many interesting weapons, and hacking into enemies' computers are quite fun.
  90. Aug 6, 2012
    8
    4/5 (Good)

    Using a stealthy approach is satisfying and the DE:HR universe is really interesting.

    Graphics are good, difficulty ramps up nicely, the atmosphere is exciting... Try it!
  91. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    I put about 60hrs into this game. It was great. No problems running on steam. You get to customize your character and be a killing machine or a stealth machine.
  92. Sep 14, 2011
    7
    I climbed through an f-ton of vents and shafts. I ran around invisible a lot. Hell, I didn't even need a real gun except for the out of place boss fights. Interesting, but graphically dated game. It's not open world-e, and the open world-esque parts just make you feel claustrophobic. The voice of Sarif sounds familiar.
  93. Oct 2, 2011
    8
    The story telling is really superb as well is the dialogue scenes, you choices are more life like, if you do not choose an answer soon for all characters you will suffer consequences. I love how your pressured into completing missions. If you take to long, such as strolling around minding your own business ignoring the task at hand people can die. The game play is much more fluent then IThe story telling is really superb as well is the dialogue scenes, you choices are more life like, if you do not choose an answer soon for all characters you will suffer consequences. I love how your pressured into completing missions. If you take to long, such as strolling around minding your own business ignoring the task at hand people can die. The game play is much more fluent then I expected it to be. The options to approach each mission are very smart in choice for the player, had fun playing it. Expand
  94. Sep 18, 2011
    8
    I am a huge fan of the original so Deus Ex Human Revolution had to meet some pretty high expectations to get a good review from me. Deus Ex HR does remain true to the Deus Ex formula and is not another Invisible War farce. The kind of game play here has been seen more recently in the Mass Effect games ironicaly borrowed heavily from the original Deus Ex 1. So we have 2 series of gamesI am a huge fan of the original so Deus Ex Human Revolution had to meet some pretty high expectations to get a good review from me. Deus Ex HR does remain true to the Deus Ex formula and is not another Invisible War farce. The kind of game play here has been seen more recently in the Mass Effect games ironicaly borrowed heavily from the original Deus Ex 1. So we have 2 series of games driving each other forward it seems. Deus Ex 1 introduced us to missions that could be completed more than one way and upgrades that decided which way we did them. Unfortunately the original Deus Ex 1 got a little lost half way through the game and stopped supporting that, becoming a plain old shooter in the end with half hearted steps and the multi choice mission design. Which made the early game the favourite part of the original for most hard core fans. Deus Ex HR does not make that mistake, you have choices all the way through the game and best of all Deus Ex HR does a far better job of it than the original Deus Ex 1 did. So the gameplay is best described as Deus Ex 1 Statue of Liberty level on some very strong drugs. Every single level jn HR blows that original Deus Ex level away on game play terms and in terms of choices.

    The tools used to active this are simple, multiple paths to every destination exist, passwords can often be found on computers for security systems. So all you really need to do is decide if you want to be stealthy or gun ho and configure your character accordingly.

    Believe me you can take good 70% of the upgrades by the end of the game, so there is lots of room for experimentation here. Perhaps a little too much room actually. The difficulty levels are easy normal and hard though they use different words to describe them. I found Normal gets you killed just enough to make you think about each level. Thus turning HR in to an RPG rather than a shooter. If you play on easy, you find it becomes more of a shooter than an Deus Ex game and if you play on hard, which is called "Give me Deus Ex" difficulty, I fully expect you to be completely reliant on your upgrades to succeed. So the balance is great, though the bosses are more annoying cop outs than a real end of level story update that should have taken place. A sign of a problem that this game has actually. Unfortunately HR lacks a strong story line and its characters are too shallow to care about. You will not care about saving the main quest character the game is about. You will not care which NPCs around you die. This game is more action that story and you jump around from one place to the next so fast that the little details that made the first game special and where important to game in some ways are lost in translation in HR.

    HR is a far shallower game than the original Deus Ex as a result. And at about 25 hours long for the main story and side quests on the first play through, it is a short game than Deus Ex 1 too. Going by my £1 per hour rule to gage value for money, if you only play this game once, you will be ripped off by £5 if you buy it at full price. If you can make it to 30 hours it will be good value for money but given all those details I spoke about are missing, I am having a hard time working out where those extra 5 hours will come from. Still if do not care about such things than fine but you should because without a firm expected guide to game length you end up paying £30 for games that struggle to make the 10 hour make like Batman and Bioshock 1.

    So HR gets the game play right but fails on the story line and characters, basically it is swings and around about is. It is a good Deus Ex game, it delivers the gameplay we expect in spades and even sets new standards for future Deus Ex games. So it beats the original in some very important areas and falls short in other important areas. Which means its a great sequel because there are clearly ways this game can be improved in the net one and its not going to be hard to achieve next time now the formula is right for the game play again.

    PS avoid Deus Ex the invisible war, it is a farce from the start and has little or no relation to any other Deus Ex game.

    If you like Mass Effect, Vampire - The Masquerade Bloodlines, knights of the old republic or Deus Ex 1, then you will like Deus Ex HR too. This is a genre has a lot of fans when the formula is right and it is almost right here.
    Expand
  95. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    I never thought I'd play a game this good again. It's the perfect blend of freedom, exploration and tight storytelling. You have to play this game.
  96. Aug 31, 2011
    9
    Great game, but not the second coming. Classic Deus Ex upgrades + multiple routes for different builds. Story and VO lacking, but the rest of the game is great.
  97. Feb 12, 2013
    10
    Out-F'ing-standing!! This game exceeded all of my expectations. Storyline 10, tech 10, graphics 10, fun 10, action 10, difficulty 10, immersion 100. If there were more games like this, I would never sleep! I hope that Deus Ex: Human Revolution inspires other developers to put forth the same level of love and attention to detail!! Outstanding! (oh.. nanotech 10, and moral/scientificOut-F'ing-standing!! This game exceeded all of my expectations. Storyline 10, tech 10, graphics 10, fun 10, action 10, difficulty 10, immersion 100. If there were more games like this, I would never sleep! I hope that Deus Ex: Human Revolution inspires other developers to put forth the same level of love and attention to detail!! Outstanding! (oh.. nanotech 10, and moral/scientific reflection 10!!) Expand
  98. Oct 4, 2011
    8
    This game was awesome Story line, 9/10 story, 9/10 mechanics, Sadly Graphics were a bit lacking for me... Has the crisp look of decent graphics an wants to maybe something great but everything has this fogged haze look to it... I dunno if they were trying to set a enviroment with that or what... but I give the graphics 6/10 for the title I expected.
  99. Nov 15, 2011
    7
    An enjoyable game, but too derivative with little or none of the innovation we expect from RPG shooters. It's interesting that a lot of the criticism levelled at the first Deus Ex sequel could easily be applied to HR, but wasn't. Like Invisible War, HR is essentially a console version of the first game, much bigger and shinier granted, but with most of the original's RPG elements simplyAn enjoyable game, but too derivative with little or none of the innovation we expect from RPG shooters. It's interesting that a lot of the criticism levelled at the first Deus Ex sequel could easily be applied to HR, but wasn't. Like Invisible War, HR is essentially a console version of the first game, much bigger and shinier granted, but with most of the original's RPG elements simply reduced rather than improved or streamlined.
    The inclusion of end of level bosses did feel out of sync with the rest of the game, but they weren't a huge departure the original. Also, it amazes me that although hours and hours of dialogue must have been recorded for the NPCs, they could only come up with two or three basic animations whilst they delivered their lines! I'd rather have more convincing animation from the characters I encounter in an RPG, that actually matches the speech, rather than hundreds of pointless side-quests that only 10% of people will actually bother attempting.
    Expand
  100. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    Awesome game to begin with particularly for those who like a perfect blend of stealth and shooting (more emphasis on stealth actually). The game takes time to pick up the pace but once it does, it's a complete amusement. With the awesome conspiracy story which keeps changing it's course, innovative way-finding gameplay and an awesome character Adam Jensen, this game really makes youAwesome game to begin with particularly for those who like a perfect blend of stealth and shooting (more emphasis on stealth actually). The game takes time to pick up the pace but once it does, it's a complete amusement. With the awesome conspiracy story which keeps changing it's course, innovative way-finding gameplay and an awesome character Adam Jensen, this game really makes you absorbed in its own world.
    The only flaw is the boss battle because they are total hardcore action but Jensen can't keep up with any boss practically and because the game is mainly stealth oriented, it pisses you off sometimes.
    In a nutshell, it's a great game with awesome story line and innovative gameplay mechanics. I would rate it #2 in my list of Best Games of 2011 after Witcher 2.
    Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 52
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 52
  3. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 30, 2011
    100
    There are only a few games this year we suggest to 16-yrs old gamers and their fathers together. Human Revolution for sure is a Game of the Year nominee. [Oct 2011]
  2. 90
    So despite the odds being stacked against it, Eidos Montreal accomplished the impossible and brought us a Deus Ex in the true sense of the word, probably the best one that we could have hoped for considering the current "requirements" for being commercially successful nowadays.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 10, 2011
    94
    A worthy successor to one of the greatest games ever. It offers a lot of choice on many levels and feels like an RPG from years past - in a very good way. One of the best, if not the best game of 2011. [Oct 2011]