Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. 100
    Heaps of new content provides hours of fun, even though the campaign could use a little extension. But if you’re a fan, this is a must. [Issue#241]
  2. Apr 16, 2014
    100
    This is the game that should have come out two years ago, and while it’s sad that we didn’t have it then, it’s great to enjoy right now.
  3. Apr 1, 2014
    100
    Here we all are, in a game without end, a game exponentially better than it was when it came out a few years ago. It’s almost like Blizzard called this thing Reaper of Souls as a joke about the game itself instead of just a reference to whoever that guy was in the boss battle at the end of Act V that I’ll never have to play again.
  4. Apr 1, 2014
    100
    A lot of the positive changes were brought on by patch 2.0.1 prior to the expansion launching, but Reaper of Souls continues to build on that with its new content.
  5. Apr 11, 2014
    96
    With a thankfully redefined purpose and a much more enticing endgame, Diablo III: Reaper of Souls is probably the game you were hoping for years ago.
  6. Apr 4, 2014
    95
    Reaper of Souls is a Blizzard expansion through and through, an example of the developer's willingness to re-examine every decision to make a game that old players can find new again, and new players can get into just as easily.
  7. Mar 31, 2014
    95
    This is the way Diablo III should have been from the very beginning.
  8. Mar 28, 2014
    95
    The best way to sum up Reaper of Souls is to unfortunately badmouth the original release, as this is the definitive version of Diablo III, which makes the version we all played two years ago seem like a work-in-progress. Everything has been changed for the better, and when you factor in all the new content and the fantastic new Crusader class, you have what is arguably the best entry in the series.
  9. Mar 26, 2014
    93
    With a staggering revamp that touched upon almost all aspects of the game and modes that keep things interesting, Reaper of Souls isn’t so much an expansion as it is a completely new game.
  10. Mar 28, 2014
    91
    With Reaper of Souls, and the recent round of content patches, Blizzard has transformed Diablo 3 into something far more akin to what long-time fans like me wanted all along.
  11. Mar 27, 2014
    91
    Blizzard manages to turn Diablo III into the Diablo II sequel everybody wanted. If you ever enjoyed any of the episode of the series, you can spend hundreds of hours with Reaper of Souls.
  12. Jun 28, 2014
    90
    At last! Diablo III became the game I was looking forward to. Reaper of Souls does more than just improve the original – it reinvents it and helps it reclaim the hack’n’slash throne. [05/2014, p.50]
  13. May 14, 2014
    90
    Blizzard did the obvious: literally transformed Diablo 3 to what it should have been from the start. It took them some time, but finally Blizzard got the message and moved finally to the right direction. While we expect the next expansion, fans of action / rpg can now sleep peacefully ... the king is here!
  14. May 11, 2014
    90
    Diablo III Reaper of Souls boasts great graphics, sturdy gameplay and a very interesting story that will have both veterans and newcomers entertained.
  15. May 3, 2014
    90
    The revamped characters, loot system and Adventure mode breathe new life into Diablo III. [June 2014, p.58]
  16. Apr 18, 2014
    90
    Reaper of Souls is to be evaluated only with superlatives. The expansion pack fixes plenty of the original game's flaws, and it adds tons of new content, showing how a proper action RPG should look like.
  17. Apr 15, 2014
    90
    The story of Act V may come off as a bit of an afterthought, but the new changes and classes breathe new life into Diablo III. [May 2014, p.60]
  18. Apr 11, 2014
    90
    It's bigger than any of the other four acts of the game, offering new monsters, three major bosses, a kind of mini-bosses, and of course, lots of elites around the maps. On the way to level 70 you unlock new skills, and even a space for a passive ability.
  19. Apr 11, 2014
    90
    The Auction House is gone, the loot system is fixed and we finally have a proper end-game that will keep both new and experienced players fighting for many hours to come.
  20. Apr 11, 2014
    90
    After nearly two years on the market, the PC version of Diablo III was crying for an expansion just like Reaper of Souls. Blizzard has rebalanced and fine-tuned small and meaningful parts of the game, similar to a chef crafting their masterful gourmet meal, and released a product with nothing but positive changes to the core gameplay.
  21. Apr 10, 2014
    90
    If this release doesn't consume your very essence for days on end, then perhaps random-dungeon loot-hunting isn't your thing.
  22. Apr 10, 2014
    90
    If you’re a Diablo fan, then this expansion is already on your wishlist, but if you haven’t delved into the series before then I strongly urge that you do so right now.
  23. 90
    The fresh new skills are great, as is the loot. Adventure mode's just heavenly, and the new classes have exceeded my expectations. As soon as Blizzard integrates a ladder and gets the PVP straightened out, the competition will be done for years to come.
  24. Apr 8, 2014
    90
    It took Blizzard almost two years, but with Reaper of Souls they have finally perfected Diablo III, showing us why we keep coming back for more even if sometimes we're unfaithful to it with similar games.
  25. Apr 7, 2014
    90
    Reaper of Souls isn't filled with new innovative ideas but thanks to the new content, together with a most needed patch, Diablo 3 have taken a big step towards its full potential. The classic feeling of "only one more time" is stronger than ever.
  26. Apr 2, 2014
    90
    The past week of my life has been devoted to the Reaper of Souls and I have to say it wasn’t easy getting out of the game. The damn thing had me hooked so bad I had to explain my mysterious absence to all my friends and family.
  27. Apr 2, 2014
    90
    This expansion is Diablo III as it should be - should always have been. A welcome return to form.
  28. 90
    Diablo III: Reaper of Souls is a victory for Blizzard and it’s more than just an expansion; it’s an overhaul of the entire game, finally bringing it to where it should have been right from the start.
  29. Mar 31, 2014
    90
    With Reaper of Souls, Blizzard concludes the journey started with the launch of Diablo III.
  30. Mar 31, 2014
    90
    Reaper of Souls is a huge improvement for Diablo 3; it does what was needed and a whole lot more besides. It's overkill - right down to the removal of any cap on the endgame Paragon system, which now invites you to play forever, taking your characters' stats to infinity and beyond.
  31. Mar 31, 2014
    90
    Reaper of Souls is an expansion without serious flaws - it's definitely a very good game. New gameplay solutions fix most serious sins of the basic game and everyone that had even a little bit of fun playing Diablo III should taste the Reaper. It won't satisfy everyone, but with Reaper of Souls under its wing, Diablo III is one big step closer to the magnificence that is Diablo II.
  32. Mar 28, 2014
    90
    Reaper of Souls, in conjunction with the Loot 2.0 patch, finally brings us the Diablo III we want and that fans deserve.
  33. Mar 27, 2014
    90
    You have to admire Blizzard's approach to Diablo III. They fixed it. The game itself now absolutely superb. Reaper of Souls finishes the job.
  34. Blizzard did a splendid job when it comes to listen to its fans and nearly created the entire game from the scratch brilliantly. It's the expansion pack Diablo III deserves AND needs.
  35. Mar 27, 2014
    90
    It’s a somehow even darker world, brought to life death by incredible music and superb use of light and colour.
  36. Mar 26, 2014
    90
    If the purpose of an expansion is to not only introduce new content, but also extend the life of its core game, Reaper of Souls delivers. Act V might seem a little light, but Reaper of Souls' new features and Adventure Mode make it an essential purchase for anyone with even a passing interest in Diablo III.
  37. Mar 26, 2014
    90
    Diablo III may have lost its allure after a first months of play, but Reaper of Souls has sucked me right back in again. Most of these additions should have been in the base game from the get-go, but there's no denying that they're welcome changes.
  38. Mar 25, 2014
    90
    Diablo III: Reaper of Souls is a great experience and an excellent add-on to Diablo III. With the Adventure mode and Nephalem's Rift, Blizzard erases almost perfectly every inherent problems of Hack'n Slash games. It's actually quite difficult to find real defects in this add-on.
  39. Mar 25, 2014
    90
    By taking the chains off of the game mechanics, removing the disruptive Auction House, and refining the game mechanics that serve as the base of Diablo III, Reaper of Souls is finally the loot-grabbing adventure we all wanted.
  40. May 11, 2014
    89
    Diablo III: Reaper of Souls makes the necessary changes to make Diablo 3 a legit good and fun game. Removing the auction house and bringing in Loot 2.0 is the correct move, but will the game suffer long term from essentially removing trading all together? Adventure Mode, with the random Nephalem Rifts in particular is a wonderful addition that should bring a ton of longevity. Especially because it lets one skip the lackluster way Diablo 3 still handles the strong plot elements from the earlier games. [Apr 2014]
  41. Apr 10, 2014
    87
    This is the Diablo III we should have gotten at launch. loot is the most important element and the adventure mode is great.
  42. Mar 31, 2014
    87
    This new expansion in the Diablo universe puts great effort into what really matters in the franchise: the tireless search for the most epic of equipment for your character. Every feature in Reaper of Souls is a highly rewarded activity that will captivate old a new players alike.
  43. Mar 27, 2014
    87
    The story is lacking, but great environments, a new class, and more freedom—partially from the free patch—make for a better Diablo III.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1269 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Mar 25, 2014
    4
    Average ARPG at best. This is DLC disguised an expansion. It's a cash grab. That's pretty much all it is. Luckily I can review this havingAverage ARPG at best. This is DLC disguised an expansion. It's a cash grab. That's pretty much all it is. Luckily I can review this having played at a friends and therefore saved £32.99.

    Oh and people giving it extra points due to a "smooth launch" are ridiculous. Smooth launches should be standard practice.

    Oh how standards and expectations have slipped.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 25, 2014
    4
    I know that as an aRPG fan and Diablo 2 veteran I'm no longer blizzards key demographic and that Blizzard is more about bringing games toI know that as an aRPG fan and Diablo 2 veteran I'm no longer blizzards key demographic and that Blizzard is more about bringing games to people who never played video games before - i.e. Bashiok's (ex D3 CM) grandmother.
    But still I feel like I have to at least voice my opinion on this. Okay let's go ahead:

    Good about RoS is, that they finally introduced a mode were you don't have to experience the sad excuse of a storyline. Even if you don't know the Diablo lore you probably think the story is annoying, obvious and feels like reading a really bad comic book. As a Diablo fan you will recognize many inconsistencies with previous games/books and the story is an insult and disgrace.

    The new adventure mode allows you do go whereever you want - great, but can someone please tell who the f*ck seriously thought that not being able to switch acts is good? I mean how BAD, just how goddamn bad of a designer do you have to be.

    Now on to the problems that STILL persists:

    The loot is one-dimensional, some people actually think that "loot 2.0" fixed it, but they will come back complaining when they hit the next upgrade wall. Again, the real problem is that loot is one-dimensional. More is always better, there are no interesting choices what piece of gear to use. This doesn't change just because the legendary items now have some gimmicky proc effects.

    As the itemization, the skill system also has 0 depth. Zero. You chose 6 skills and 6 runes and now 4 passive skills. Wow. Such choice. There is NO way to customize your build besides gear - which doesn't have the necessery depth to make up for this horrible excuse of a skill system. The reason point based skillsystems ARE more interesting is because having the same skills does not equal having the same playstyle. Think of a necromancer (there still isn't a summoning class in D3 - lol) that has an attack spell/support and his minions. Although people chose the exact same skills, in a point based system they can have a different focus - thus CUSTOMIZING a given build to their playstyle.

    Skill damage is dependend on you weapon damage and main attribute. This is one of the most r*etarded things ever designed, whoever did this - please leave the industry for good. I mean seriously, I don't know how but they managed to make the attributes even more shallow and boring than Diablo 2 - where at least you had to decide max block yes/no etc.

    Blizzard, why have you forsaken us? I refuse to believe that catering to a wider, more casual audience means you have to leave the fans of the prequels in the rain. You could have made a real Diablo 3 and the casual people would have still played through it one or two times and would have had a blast and the Diablo2 vets would have had a true successor for the next 10 years.

    All in all 4/10 - below average.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 25, 2014
    1
    Just one character and raising the level cap is worth $40? For shame! This is not an expansion, it is a patch!
    So sad to see our once beloved
    Just one character and raising the level cap is worth $40? For shame! This is not an expansion, it is a patch!
    So sad to see our once beloved Blizzard fall to such new lows.
    Full Review »