User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 9169 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 15, 2012
    10
    Blizzard has made an excellent, polished game that is genuinely fun. It was well worth my purchase. Many people are frustrated with some server instability on launch day, but maybe they should have thought ahead and not taken weeks off of work and checked their wives and kids into a hotel so they can be all alone with their precious... Feel free to ignore them, the game is excellent.
  2. May 15, 2012
    9
    I like Diablo 3. Diablo 3 is a good game because you can have spells. when i play Diablo 3, I like to use fire bats. Diablo 3 has very good graphics. Diablo 3 is one of my favorite games to play. Diablo 3 has some problems with its server but i like it anyway. Diablo 3 loves me and i love it. When i set stuff on fire in Diablo 3 it tickles me in the pants. That is all.
  3. May 15, 2012
    10
    TL;DR; The game is incredible.

    Where shall I start? First of all, this is a hack and slash game. A very good one. VERY good. This is miles ahead of Diablo 2. Your characters have many abilities, and each of those abilities has many different tweaks to make your abilities do different things. Using the abilities are extremely satisfying. Every hit feels incredibly, and it is extremely
    satisfying smashing your way through legions of enemies. Nothing is better than landing a critical hit with a lightning weapon and watching your enemy fly off of the screen in a bolt of lightning.

    Almost everything is a step up from Diablo 2. The graphics are not as dark as the previous games, but it looks incredible. The attention to detail is astounding. There are many destructible environments and things to smash, and the physics engine makes this extremely over the top. There are massive wars, with masses of enemies fighting in the background, making it seem like an all out war. Speaking of enemies, there are much more of them in this game than it's predecessor. And they are much diverse and do many different things requiring more strategy than ever before. The boss fights are incredibly engaging and require good strategies to overcome. The story is also over the top. Top notch voice actors along with incredibly movie quality cut scenes is incredibly involved. I won't get into the story since the game just came out, but it is really good. This game goes above and beyond everything Diablo 2 did in every aspect. If you liked the first and second Diablo games, give this one a try, it's incredible.
    Expand
  4. May 15, 2012
    10
    With over 3 million people trying to access the servers at once will cause problems no matter what. Great game and I will probably never get off. Ignore everyone being idiots because they're impatient.
  5. May 15, 2012
    10
    Loving it so far, the game feels really big and dynamic. The increased incentive to explore the vast areas, (instead of grinding bosses) amplifies story and gameplay. The characters also seem much more alive and interesting this time around, with plenty of stories and dialog in between the smashing of endless hordes of demonspawn. The overall story arc can seem obvious, but such is a small price to pay for a true successor to the diablo franchise. It is true that the game requires a constant internet connection to run, and this can of course be a problem. But such is reality, in order to support servers, and updates blizzard has chosen to create the real money auction house rather than rely on cheap ripoff sequels and in game commercialization. The always online part of the game is really to remove cheating in the game, this also serves to stop the constant spamming and selling of various artifacts by botfirms etc. that plagued diablo 2's online service. In conclusion, diablo 3 is definitely a game to play. Go play it! :D Expand
  6. May 15, 2012
    10
    People giving this game a negative review simply based on launch day quality of service are retarded. There has never been an online game that launched flawlessly. People giving this game a negative review because it isn't a copy cat of Diablo II character customization are also retarded. You should be ashamed to even call yourselves gamers. Innovation and change is what keeps the game industry moving and keeps gamers interested. The game is an amazing sequel. The interface is a bit rough, but I have faith that Blizzard will polish it up eventually. The gameplay is exactly what I want and expected out of a Diablo sequel. When PvP gets implemented later this year it will simply be icing on an already amazing cake. Expand
  7. May 15, 2012
    10
    Some of the best servers in the world. Game runs like butter on bread!! yum yum. If you really like stable games with lots of good servers and butter then get this game omg!!!!
  8. May 15, 2012
    10
    Keep it short and simple. This game is **** AMAZING!!!!!!!!! Drop rates, leveling, BALANCE all feel...right. To all the children that are throwing fits because of the server problems and giving this game a low rating- get real. IT JUST LAUNCHED! **** is going to happen. It's not like its down all the time...Personally I feel they (blizzard) have done a fantastic job with the time alloted online, considering all the maintenance they're going through. GROW UP! This game is will be played for YEARS to come... Expand
  9. May 15, 2012
    10
    Having a great time with Diablo III, and I am a huge fan of the original Diablo and Diablo II. The environments, sound, combat animations, and story are all top notch. The combat is just flat out fun. My barbarian mows through crowds of monsters sending zombie parts and bits of the scenery flying. I like that I can try different character builds without having to commit hours and hours of leveling up time, and that I can switch out my skills to handle different situations. The crafting system is more fun than the old gambling system, and the addition of randomly spawned special events make re-running an area more interesting. The followers all have their own story, and seem a lot more capable than the old D2 hirelings. They don't do much damage, but they do help you wrangle the huge mobs of monsters. My real rating is an 8, but given the obvious hater campaign against D3, I bumped it up to compensate. I'm saving my 9 for Guild Wars 2 when it's out of beta, and I am unable to imagine a game I would give an actual perfect sore to... Expand
  10. May 15, 2012
    10
    If you loved Diablo II, BUY THIS GAME. The rush leveling required to try out different builds is no longer necessary. I'm currently level 23 with a Witch Doctor and he is everything I wanted from a Necromancer. My guargantuan is a beast.

    I gave this a 10. I was tempted to drop 1 point due to the launch day stability - but seriously, there are likely 1 million people trying to play at the
    same time... think you can handle that engineering task flawlessly the first time? Expand
  11. Jun 16, 2012
    9
    Having brought 3 characters to level 50+ and one character to the level 60 post game in the past couple of weeks, I find that the game feels like something between playing slot machines and eating Kraft cheese singles. It is short, linear, repetitive, and, above all, boring.
  12. May 15, 2012
    10
    ok so my roomie just got diablo 3 i live in a household of 3gamers we paid 60 bucks for the game so we could all install and play it and tbh im totaly pist off u can only install to 1 computer then u have to buy it all over again this is some seriouse bs and im not happy
  13. May 15, 2012
    10
    I am a fan of the Diablo series and I can say I very much enjoy what Diablo 3 has to offer. The game play is great and stays true to the hack and slash RPG I fell in love with years ago. I would say 80% of the negative reviews on here are the launch day server issues. While understandably frustrating for many, it is no reason to pout and make a good game look horrid to future players. The other big complaint is the absence of single player mode and I understand. However, the reasoning behind this is because Blizzard implemented the "Real Money Auction House." The black market was notorious for selling items and in game currency so Blizzard is fighting back with this. It gives the normal player base a chance to get in on this market, Blizzard is able to make money from these kinds of transactions, and it puts a strain on the black market. Diablo 2 was plagued with hacked and duped items so for this to work Blizzard made the choice to go in this direction. People miss single player and LAN abilities, but in all honesty it was a going to be a relatively small market purchasing the game for that. Overall, this is a great game and will not disappoint. Expand
  14. aTn
    May 15, 2012
    9
    Most reviews done by users before the day of release (or a few hours after release) are simply rants against the DRM policy. Thanks to them for polluting the set of user reviews and making them have absolutely no meaning at all, except for the fact that many like to whine.

    I've been playing the game for about 5 hours and it is simply great. I will reserve judgement until I've completed it
    and the dust has settled a bit. I give it a 9 based on sound (the music is awesome, even the installer music !), graphics, lighting effects and the story. Expand
  15. May 15, 2012
    10
    Don't let the trolling wash your expectations...this is the PC' RPG of th year.
    Let's be honest and remember that DIABLO saga is almost in the perfection. Made not only by an entire dev team but with the help of the gamers (real ones) it selves.
    If you don't read about it, if you dont play the beta...if you dont play all the trash games around Diablo franchise (and say omg come soon
    diablo 3) then you are just a troll.
    This game's only sin, is the lack of complexity or sophistication in the talents and spells.
    Enjoy your copy and play always with friends.
    Expand
  16. May 15, 2012
    9
    Judging this game based on launch drama is silly. In a year when people are looking to see how Diablo 3 is, they'll need to see real reviews.

    This game is a lot of fun. I'm not a die-hard fan of the franchise, but I've played about 10 hours now and had a lot of fun doing it. The classes are fun, the missions are varied enough, and the story is great. I'd recommend this game a lot.
  17. May 15, 2012
    9
    Diablo III excels in the dungeon crawling genre. If you don't like these games, you won't like this one. If you do like these games, it's a great example of how to do this type of game correctly. I am playing on medium/high settings on a Mid-2010 MBP 13 inch, with good framerates. In other words, you can run it on integrated graphics and it'll still look decent/good. If you cannot reasonably expect to maintain an internet connection all the time, don't bother, since you do need one. HOWEVER, mine is incredibly slow and the game runs just fine with no lag, even with 3 other party members.

    Overall, it's a great game if you can get past the minor annoyance of having to be online. If that doesn't float your boat, skip it.
    Expand
  18. May 15, 2012
    10
    First of all I'm going to say that it's not Blizz's fault 3rd parties (and the gamers themselves) popped up with real currency buying and selling of game items/accounts/characters. The real currency Auction House is just the next step in the evolution of stopping scamming and piracy as gaming grows. Secondly, the DRM is to keep people from playing the game who have not purchased it themselves, and to keep hacked/modded items from popping up in the on line community. I have a very slow dsl connection (wireless) and have had no problems with internet speed stopping me from playing in single player. All the trolls putting up 0's have an internet connection to post this and that is enough for D3. Obviously stress testing can only go so far, as there is no way to actually have thousands of players online playing the game without it being fully released. People say blizzard doesn't care about the customers but I have had multiple experiences with customer service from D2->SC->WoW->SC2 and all of my problems(hacked accounts, technical issues, etc) have been resolved fairly and quickly. I believe this negative assumption comes from the sheer number of players playing their games. As far as the critics score goes please base your scores on the game itself not on your opinion of the company or its policies. I understand everyone has their own opinions on what services should be available but this score should be based on the game itself. It seems the server issues are the main reason people are putting up 0's and those issues will be solved comparatively quickly to the expected lifetime of the game (and the players themselves). Finally as far as game play is concerned; it is a great dungeon crawler and the different classes each have their own play style that keeps the re-playability high. You may be able to rush through the game on normal difficulty mode in short order but keep in mind that is maybe a tenth of the actual game due to difficulty modes. Also a lot of the charm from D2 was loot grabbing/ item finding which is just as evident in D3. The crafting addition is a fun little way to improve on this concept. All the haters just go back to D2. Its clear that's the game you want this to be and like anything new it has to evolve. Solid seamless cut scenes and virtually no load time into buildings/dungeon areas. Expand
  19. May 15, 2012
    9
    Loving the game so far. Playing a Demon Hunter and finding it very enjoyable. The game runs extremely smoothly, and in general looks very well polished. Had about two issues with monsters getting stuck in walls, but nothing else really.
    Mainly having an issue with being randomly removed from the game, but Blizzard is no doubt working on that. The game itself appears to be well worth the
    wait and money, with the only real issue being the servers. All in all, Blizzard is handling the issues that arise quite well though. Expand
  20. May 16, 2012
    9
    I am thoroughly enjoying this game. I have only been been on this game for approx 2-3 hours and taking it slow. The game flow is very fluid amd is very well put together for newcomers to the Diablo scene (ie myself). Users are complaining about options that were available in Diablo 2 and so on, but then this is Diablo 3... Ofcourse there are going to be big differences because its a brand new game. Most games now require an always on internet connection etc. I mean the game box clearly states internet connection required so how can you down rate a game when its actually part of the game!? I am giving it a rating of 9 as i still have some more of the game to play but currently, the game has a lot to offer. Putting all the errors and login issues that are pumping out to the side, its a well put together game! Expand
  21. May 16, 2012
    9
    So far very happy with everything I have seen out of this game, with the exception of server stability, but honestly that was to be expected. My two favorite things are the boss fights and the cinematic. The boss fights surprised me because they have evolved so much from D2, I can't wait to meet these bosses in the harder difficulties. My current favorite cut scene is between Act 1 and 2, all I can say is wow.

    My biggest worry coming into this was that the world would be too small. I had played the beta and thought it was very condensed and didn't feel like a classic diablo map. Luckily, it all changed right after the point where beta ended the next couple of maps blew me away with thier size, and how much fun they were to explore.

    Now of course the 500lb gorilla standing over there in the corner is the battle net stability issues. Now don't get me wrong, they are annoying, but like I said before it was expected. I know a lot of people will disagree with me on this, but I'm glad its online only. I think in the long run it will make for a much more stable community.The sad part is that the long run isn't here yet and we are forced to watch Battle Net crash and burn multiple times until they can get it working right, but I for one think they will.

    Here's to hoping you will enjoy this game half as much as I am so far!
    Expand
  22. May 26, 2012
    10
    First off, let me say that although I played Diablo II ~10 years ago I had no inclination of buying this game for $60. I enjoyed the Paladin in Diablo II for a time but never got into the other characters or played online. I smirked at the endless amount of time that they were taking to complete this and wrote it off as another hyped up overpriced disappointment. After it came out I decided to try out the trial version by purchasing a guest pass on Ebay. After trying it out I decided to buy it immediately. They have outdone themselves with attention to detail, an endless array of monsters, animations, artwork, and an overall superior product to anything that has come out in many years. Not sure what all the complaints are about.. the game retains the intense atmosphere, writing and superb voice acting of its predecessors and creates a visually stunning experience which is also superb in the performance department. My computer is somewhat last generation and it runs on max settings at a steady 60 fps and only slows down when you are surrounded by an obscene amount of enemies on screen.. all with an amazing array of effects. Its truly a masterpiece. Expand
  23. May 16, 2012
    9
    There is a lot of wrong going on in the gaming industry. Kids are getting spoiled and they're either complaining about games being to hard or too easy. But this game is not the one to blame!
    First of all, complaining about the requirement to be online to play? All I can say to this is that if you still don't have an internet connection in 2012, you would've probably pirated the game
    anyway.
    This game has never been designed with a focus on single-player. Anyone who prefers to play Diablo 3 solo has probably either never played Diablo2 on battle.net (so they're missing the point) or used one of those "external utilities" to "augment" your characters. If that's what you're missing and are angry about, then get back to Skyrim and mod your way to eternity.
    Next, complaining about real-money auction house? They basically cut off all the websites and services that were selling items for D2 for all those years illegally. Being this pay-to-play? This might be a slight issue in pvp, other than that - if you feel bad about playing with someone with purchased items, then don't play with them. And look at it this way - if you ever have a luck with dropping some rare legendary that you don't need, you can put it on auction yourself and make some money in the process and then use that money to buy something you might actually use. Besides that, I'm pretty sure that with this option, the auction house will be packed with legendaries within a year and the most expensive item will probably cost around $5.
    Next, dumbing down the game mechanics? You probably haven't played past skeleton king yet, have you? By the time you reach the end of normal difficulty, you're gonna have so many skill+rune combinations that you'll actually feel overwhelmed and also happy that you don't need to figure out the pointless distribution of primary stats. Everyone with at least a slight interest in making their characters the most viable build in D2 ended up distributing the stats the exact same way as the other guy next to you. Also, in D2 you only used 2 spells/abilities actively. Yes, you could keybind the others to use them if the occasion asked for it, but you had no real reason to use more than those two on a regular basis. Now, in D3, you have 6 slots for active spells/abilities, and believe me, you will have a pretty hard time trying to play this game by using only two of those. And figuring out the combination of spells+runes to play with is the fun and beauty of it. Yes, there might be some combinations that are a bit stronger or weaker than the other, but none of those are "wrong".
    I don't care about graphics in most of the games and I especially don't care about it in this game. This is not the type of game where you have the time to climb the mountain and then look down to the valley in awe how realistic it looks. If this is what you're looking for, you should probably go out with your friends more often. You'd be surprised how awesome mountaintop views look like in real life!
    Besides that, the art direction is actually very suitable for this game. This is an actionpacked game where hell's minions are destroying everything around them, regurgitating their descendants. There's nothing beautiful about it. Finally, this game was never intended to be story-based so, of course, the story is weaker. But it's still much better than it was in D2. Cinematics are awesome, the short class-based narratives after every important event and scripted/random events are also a very nice touch.
    Don't be so spoiled, give this game a chance - play it with friends (if possible) and you'll have a blast.
    The only reason I'm giving this 9/10 is because some of my friends are having connectivity issues and some of them are not getting any achievements (so I can't play with them, because they don't want to - until it's fixed).
    Every game has its issues after the release, especially games like this where people had high expectations even before it was announced. Blizzard is not asking for any monthly fee, just some patience. You all wanted to have this released ASAP and got angry with possible delays, so try to cope with the fact that it has some bugs.
    I have very positive reactions to this and I'm sure most you will eventually have that as well.
    Expand
  24. May 16, 2012
    9
    I really enjoyed this game. Sure the player build is structured and you cant distribute talent points anymore, but that is a small issue. The game play of the game is still very engaging and alot of fun to do with friends. Being able to have multiple abilities is an amazing step forward from D2. The idea that you can only do 2 things at once is a dated system. When was the last time you played a game where you only had 2 abilities. And i don't have any issue with having to be online the entire time. The game is more fun with friends anyway. All this being said, the game inst revolutionary, its not spectacular, but it is a solid title that will give hours of game play. I understand the people who get angry that the game is easy when they only play through it once on normal difficulty. Blizzard worked for a long time on this game and the quality of it is about what i expected. I look forward to plaything through this game with all of the characters on all of the difficulties and even some hardcore characters. Expand
  25. May 17, 2012
    10
    tras estar en el segundo acto y quedarme entusiasmado con lo grandiosa cinematica . escribo este mini analisis. un grandioso acabado grafico , una banda sonora y el sonido del juego sensacional , un doblaje
    precioso y muy divertido una jugabilidad de 10. la espera se hizo larga y tras estos años , sale un grandisimo
    trabajo de blizzard. problemas a la entrada del juego que
    en una hora ya puede jugar sin problemas.
    mientras me divertia mirando webs, hasta que la gran cantidad de gente que queria entrar se calmara y fueramos accediento al juego.
    en definitiva regresa el rey del rol arpg diablo 3 .... para mi un 10
    Expand
  26. May 17, 2012
    10
    Quit **** about this game. It has a few bugs and the servers are not working. Such is MMO Launch. Be chill. The game is exciting and we finally have the sequel. Stop raging. Wait a few weeks. 10.
  27. May 17, 2012
    10
    Aside from the terrible launch event followed by the servers going down on day one... the game is perfect!. The graphics although not modern are really well done, blood everywhere, monsters with great animations and dead effects, the particle system shines all over the place. The sound is impressively well done, it's hard to find games that sound good on any speakers setup... but this game really rocks on that department, I had never played a game with so good sound effects. The gameplay starts a little slow, it gets better once you start to aquire better weapons and abilities and runes which improve your abilities in amazing ways. The story is also fascinating and long enough to enjoy the game every second, you shouldn't storm this game to finish it fast... the best experience is when you listen to all the characters tell their gossips to you, sometimes it's hilarious and some times you'll get shocked.

    Honestly this is one of the best games ever!!!... Keep the good work Blizzard (and I hoped you learned from the mistakes done on day one)
    Expand
  28. May 17, 2012
    10
    AWESOME game a got no errors. Ficou muito bom tudo que foi feito no jogo. So a estoria que esta um pouco menos macabra mas ainda assim esta bem legal. Jogarei com todas as classes.
  29. May 17, 2012
    10
    D3 is pretty great. There is more to do and more to think about during each fight than D2. It is exactly what I wanted. I was jarred at first by the lack of a skill tree, but you actually gain more powers than you can use at once so your personal play style is flexible in the extreme and I always thought that the overspecialization encouraged by D2 was a bit boring.

    Diablo 3 is flat
    awesome. The fact that Azula is the voice of my Wizard makes it even better. Expand
  30. May 17, 2012
    10
    Omfg, stop whining about Diablo 3.
    It's a great game. It's a worthy sequel. The graphics are not next-gen BF3 or crysis, but the maps are designed to be amazingly pretty, so I don't give a **** It's even possible to play this **** in 3D, and it's actually pretty neat. It may not be the quintessential RPG like Diablo 2 was back when it hit the markets, but it's still ****loads better than
    most other games you find on the market. So wipe your tears and get back and defeat nightmare difficulty before you talk **** Jeez! Expand
  31. May 17, 2012
    10
    This game is great. I'm not sure why there is such a brigade of negative reviewers. Everything is polished, the combat is smooth, and most of all it's FUN and challenging. Really well done, I'll be playing for awhile.
  32. May 17, 2012
    10
    Blizzard again delivers. Smooth, elegant gameplay, low CPU requirements, easy to get into, takes a moment to master. Plenty of spell/ability choices, grouping is unbelievably fast and easy.
  33. May 18, 2012
    9
    All you drama queens that have given this game a zero have clearly not played it past level 20. I'll admit, I originally gave it an average score due to the fact that while they seemed to get a lot of things right, the performance of the engine and dumbing down of the skill system seemed to be a problem. Well I was wrong about both, and so are you guys. Blizzard has nailed the Diablo experience and it is only getting better. For those of you considering whether to buy, just recognize that the haters are playing this game right now as we speak. Expand
  34. May 17, 2012
    9
    To say that the game is bad just because that there are some problems with the login servers is just hilarious. This game is epic and then some, easy to get in to, hard to quit playing and a storyline that blows you away.
    The People that are writing bad reviews are just blowing of steam. Ofc there is always room for improvement, there is, as of yet, no game that is flawless. It would have
    been nice to be able to customize a few things, and I'm not taken with the ide of a AH with real money (but we cant review that, as its not online yet), but overall its still a mind blowing game. Expand
  35. May 17, 2012
    10
    I played this game for 10 minutes and it's the most amazing game I've ever played!!! I know, that sounds ridiculous... but it's no more ridiculous than those giving the game a zero simply because they can't play offline. I have to balance out the stupidity. I'll put up a real review when I actually play the game... unlike all these knee jerk reviews.
  36. May 17, 2012
    10
    Basing the quality of a game on an hour delay post launch? No thanks. A huge leap forward in RPG game design, a true champion of the Action-RPG genre, breathing new life into a dead genre.
  37. May 17, 2012
    10
    There are so many people on here who seem to not understand that when you review something you review the game itself, not your own petty feelings for the company. I wish the online gaming community was more mature at times, instead of acting like children. but anyway i thought the game itself was / is fantastic, i'm having a blast playing through all the difficulties, and the online fun with friends just adds another element of amazing to an already overly solid game. Expand
  38. May 17, 2012
    9
    Very close to perfection! Other than some minor launch issues, Blizzard has once again built the best Action RPG on the market. Gorgeous graphics, improved/simplified play mechanics (no more potion spamming), a simpler/better skill/runes system, and amazing voice acting and plot throughout. Appears to have 30-40 hours of solid gameplay to get through the single player acts and side quests. Much more if you play all the classes, play hard core, or play through all the difficulty levels. Loot system is amazing so people will be playing for years to get "one more drop". Great to see an auction house included! Expand
  39. May 17, 2012
    9
    I'm kind of amazed at all the people who gave it zero just because of a server issue on the first day of release. I doubt any of those people will come back and revise their score after they've beaten act 4 and are bragging to their friends about their 1337 gear. This game is as addicting as the first two in the series. People who claim that there is no character customization are simply incorrect. You are able to customize your character's abilities by simply checking a box in the options screen. This opens up a whole new world of possibilities. Simply put, if you enjoyed Diablo I and II, you'll love this game. The procedurally-generated levels are gorgeous, the combat is challenging, and after the rather linear feel of the first few quests, the game opens up quite a bit. The only reason I'm giving it a 9 instead of a ten is that you have to get quite far into the game for most of these options to open up, so people who have only played for 30 minutes will naturally feel restricted. One could say that Blizzard has overloaded the endgame to the point where new players might feel neglected. Probably the most disturbing feature of the game is the online-only play. Expand
  40. May 17, 2012
    9
    I'm majorly surprised at all the negative reviews. This game has to be hands down the most fun I've had in Diablo for a long time. Let's take a look at some of the things this game has similar to the second;

    -Characters: You'll see many reappearances of your favorite Diablo Lore characters in this game.

    -Art: The art style looks and feels like Diablo. Who could forget the Life Orb after
    playing D2?

    -Classes: A lot of the classes, while named differently, feel like advanced and fleshed out versions of the D2 classes. Witch Doctor; Necromancer. Barbarian (Same). Wizard; Sorceress. Monk; Paladin/Assassin Mix. Demon Hunter; Amazon/Assassin Mix.

    Ok, so what are the differences?

    -In-Depth Character Customization; Thousands of ways to build your toon with a forgiving system that doesn't lock you into a skill path. You can easily change your build out of combat with no penalties besides a small cooldown on the changed skill slot. Not to mention this new customization allows for gear optimization, allowing you to specialize certain ways for a bigger bang.

    Also, this seems trivial, but I love the fact I can dye my armors or use a vanishing dye to remove ugly pieces. Plenty of dyes to find and millions of pieces of gear to customize with.

    -Auction House; This is a very contested area in a review. Let me start by saying I disagree with the Real-Life Currency option and you won't find me doing it. With that said, the Virtual Currency (Gold) Auction House is incredibly useful. I've found magnificent gear for really low prices that have ubertized my toons, while also being able to sell old/found gear for a good amount.

    I think people need to take a chance to actually utilize the Auction House, because it is a really neat feature that can be extremely beneficial to your builds and toons.

    -Combat: Exciting, thrilling, and fast paced. Exactly what I expect out of Diablo. You no longer rely on health potions and instead rely on skill and Health Orbs that are strategically dropped by enemies throughout a fight. The new resources that each class has (Mana, Arcane Power, Spirit, Fury, and Hatred/Discipline) help to keep classes unique. While there are less skills to learn in this game, the Rune system allows you to deeply customize your character's abilities. No two toons should ever have the same build, simply because the Rune system adds a huge amount of depth to what your character can do.

    -Story: Beautifully told story, filled with TONS (and I mean TONZ) of voice acting for those who hate reading. The CGI cutscenes are nothing less than breathtaking, exactly what I expect out of Blizzard. My only complaints here is that the story is fairly linear without many choices involved, but all the Diablo games are like this so this may be a good thing if you liked the linear style the three games have always had. Definitely some interesting plot twists, and surprisingly the voice acting isn't cheesy.

    If you're a Diablo fan, this game shouldn't disappoint. If you're an action RPG fan, this game definitely won't disappoint. If anything, they've turned Diablo into a pseudo-MMO with much more depth involved.

    Also, on another note, the servers are a little bit unstable as of now, but it's been patched constantly. I expect all the kinks to be worked out within the next week or so. The online play isn't discouraging in the least bit, and encourages teamplay (which is a whole other level of chaos and fun!)

    If anything, this game is at least worth a try. Not a 10/10 perfect game, but an incredibly fun one never the less.
    Expand
  41. May 17, 2012
    10
    Staying up until Midnight and not being able to log on was disappointing and having problems was not ideal, but honestly that will not take away from the lasting effect that Diablo III will make on the action RPG genre or PC games in general. Things have already smoothed out and its a joy to play. I was skeptical about the new skill/rune system but I enjoy it very much. You can still do builds and you eventually get magic find bonus for sticking with on build and not changing runes. All my friends who played Diablo 2 back in the day as well as WOW have done nothing but rave about it and we consider ourselves hardcore. With the servers more consistent I am struggling to find anything to complain about or that I would change.

    My only complaint is it took so long to come out (I've been waiting personally for 10 years) and my free time is no longer existent with Diablo and Torchlight 2 coming out soon I have too much to play!

    Cheers Blizzard on a job well done!
    Expand
  42. May 17, 2012
    9
    what's wrong with all of you ? u guys gave 0 for this great RPG game. First off, I need to point out the launch was really bad, it took me over 2 hours to login. But if let the launch and connection aside, the game itself could easily deserve 8/10 if not more . The only thing that holds me back to give a 10/10 is the quest system, the storyline is great but the quest system make the game so rush, not a lot of side quest and the rewards are basically exp and gold. However, the hack - slash gameplay is hella fun and addicting, graphic and effects are great as well as the sound effect. It's more customization than people might think since the level points are removed. At first, I was like " damn, no more customization" but after finishing Normal in diablo 3, I think there are a lot of customization. For what I noticed, the customization's now based on items. Items now will upgrade any skill you want to upgrade, and increase any stats u want to increase.
    The online gaming could be inconvenient, but makes the game more addicting and fair since you can compete with other and nobody can use hack or cheat .
    Expand
  43. May 17, 2012
    9
    I feel compelled to review Diablo 3 not for the public but because of the public. For those giving this game a bad score for the necessary internet connection and launch bugs shame on you. Although I also don't agree with needing a constant internet connection this isn't the first game to do it and one of the biggest reasons to add this requirement is for any game now a days is because of piracy. Is it the best way to handle it? No. If your going to be mad about something like that be mad at the people who steal games. The people that think the game is worth playing but don't want to pay for it. As for the launch bugs, they will get fixed, calm down.

    Now, on to the real reason I'm defending the game. People keep saying its watered down and to "casual." To those people I say, wait till you unlock the other difficulty modes. I am also reading a lot of post about people being unhappy with character development. I think they did a great job. From what I gather people are pretty butt hurt about not being able to pick stats when you level. But I ask why, why do you want to do that so much? Blizzard took a step back and actually analyzed how people were playing their games. Just like in WoW if you didn't put talent point in certain skills, or in Diablo's case, stats, then you were essentially playing the class wrong. They instead said, and this is true with Diablo too, if they are always going to put their point into these stats lets find another way that people can customize their characters the way they want to without them feeling inferior to someone else playing the same class. That's where the introduction to these new skill types shine. For example my brother and myself are both playing Monk. We are both piling on the dexterity from items, because in order to do any type of good damage we need it. Which points back to why anyone wants "customize" their own stats, just let them do it. We all know where your going to put them anyway. Instead, where we get to customize is with our abilities, runes, and passive abilities. We play the character completely different yet were both feel just as powerfully and we enjoy playing the game in our own ways. I've tried his skills build and i hate it, and the same can be said when he tried how I play my monk. The game is deep, the art is gorgeous and a amazing example of why not every game needs "next gen" graphics. For everyone hating on the game for the mandatory internet connection and the launch bugs. I understand, I've said my share of comment about it, but grow up. Scores of Zero are childish.
    Expand
  44. May 17, 2012
    9
    I signed up for metacritic just so I could balance out some of these negative reviews. I think they're completely unjustified. I think it's an awesome game. I think they took some of the best of D2 and improved on it well. If you wanted just D2 with better graphics then I think you misunderstand how the video game industry works. Try Kickstarter or something. I can understand the complaints about server problems. I was quite disappointed in that and the inconvenience associated with the online only aspect deserves some lost points in the rating. But giving the game a zero for it is like throwing away good food because your waiter was rude.
    As for the complaints about customizability, even in my gaming heyday, in the era of D1 and D2, I didn't have the time to experiment with every possible customization. I thought that collecting runes and gems and set items was so tedious and time-consuming, I'm glad they simplified it a bit. Now for some of the things I like.
    I like the graphics. I adjusted the settings so that it runs really smoothly and the graphics are still beautiful and what I would have expected.
    I like that you can dye bits of armor to change your character's appearance. Simple thing but it shows they still understand that customization is important.
    Fun and simple gameplay. I don't need it to be the most challenging I do every day. And higher difficulties and hardcore characters still allow for more intensity for those who want it.
    I like the achievements. It's kinda par for the course with games these days but I think it adds something good to the game.
    I like not having to carry around mana or scrolls.
    These are just a few of the unique features that I love about D3. I think it's a great game. And I'll say it again, if you're disappointed that D3 isn't just D2 with better graphics, I think your expectations are unrealistic and it's no wonder you're disappointed.
    It's a great game with some minor flaws. Period.
    Expand
  45. May 17, 2012
    9
    Graphically acceptable - for more experienced fans of the francise it's probably a little bland. The always on line DRM a pain in the preverbial if you know what I mean. The simplified mechanics will appeal to the less experienced and casual gamers, and the younger element of plays who do not rememer the heritage of the Diablo brand
  46. May 17, 2012
    10
    The sour grapes on display here is quite pathetic. The critics score of 8.8. is about right. I played diablo 2 for several hundred hours, I was obsessed with it. And Diablo 3 is, I think, objectively far better in most respects. So the servers failed on day 1. Ok, rate battle.net badly, it has nothing to do with the actual game. Bunch of whiny kids on here.
  47. May 17, 2012
    10
    This game is great. If you're a PC gamer and you're not going to buy it you're an idiot. To people who are angry it's not like Diablo II, would you be more happy if they made the same game with updated visuals? No, because CoD does that every year with different guns and maps and the same visuals and all of us hate that. Things change, especially in the games industry. So get over it and play the game without complaining, you might actually enjoy it. Expand
  48. May 17, 2012
    10
    Everything I expected and more. The none stop action with blood and gore flying. Skill system you can adjust to the situation, do I wanna be more bursty dps or sustained? do I wanna be more tanky? np just adjust my skills and runes. The Graphics are very nice its like being in a living painting and it runs great on my radeon 6850 100+ fps max settings 1080p. Once you get past normal the game becomes challenging, making you need to use tactics and actually think.

    Awesome game, dont get all the negative reviews..must be trolls
    Expand
  49. May 17, 2012
    10
    Pretty awesome overall! I enjoy the classes (along with skill options) and the overall gameplay is great, as long as you enjoy the Diablo series. The graphics are also quite pretty, not as nice as a game like Trine 2, but still somewhat impressive. I think a lot of the other reviewers need to chill out, I understand the game has DRM, but you already knew this. I understand the game had a bad launch, and if you're a gamer.. you already knew this would happen. The only reason I think a game should be rated 3 and below is if it has a massive amount of bugs that never got patched, along with being an overall terrible game. Expand
  50. May 17, 2012
    10
    I'm sure all the server error problems will be fixed within a few days so if your having problems why not chill and do something else for a few days? I'm sorry for all the people who don't have an always on internet connection. I live in England and always on broadband is the standard here so anyone living in a technologically advanced country should have no problems with the always on internet connection (once Blizzard have ironed out the teething troubles). Gaming companies have the right to protect their products from piracy and as it's so rife its a wonder they still bother with PC games at all. I must admit that the enviroments do look a little boring but I guess they made the game so it can be played on old PC's too. Expand
  51. May 17, 2012
    10
    Was not really excited with this game after playing the beta but boy was i wrong. This is the most fun and addictive rpg i have played in a while. I was hoping for maybe a slightly longer game, but the difficulties and future expansions will keep me playing this game for a long time .

    I will probably get hated for writing this, but i am GLAD for the DRM. The worst part about diablo 2 for
    me was all the hackers/modders making bots while they are at work. The DRM should help prevent alot of haacking and bots which will save the auction house :) LOVE THIS GAME Expand
  52. May 17, 2012
    10
    Game is amazing and has the feel of a Diablo game. No, it is not an exact replica of D2 which it seems many are looking for, but it is truly addicting with more solid story to add to the dungeon crawl experience. Currently through Nightmare so I've played enough to make some sort of comment.

    I enjoy the rune system, and it is certainly not a linear progression (anyone thinking that is
    not optimizing their character) and I appreciate Blizz switching it up if at least just a little bit. RMAH will be interesting but not really my focus, just great to play with friends. Expand
  53. May 17, 2012
    10
    I caught the game to a monitor for hours. I am very happy that I could play Diablo 3 Blizzard is the best company in the market for the issuing of the game. Great fun, great fun and predominantly playability.
  54. May 17, 2012
    10
    Excelente juego apegado a su estilo de juego un poco más intuitivo y fácil de usar. La espera ha valido la pena. Cambiaría el puntero del mouse por algo más original pero esperemos que el futuro traiga estas y muchas mas mejoras
  55. May 17, 2012
    10
    A great production of the stable Blizzard. Long time not so well played, much less any production is not captured mnei to monitor how Diabo third I recommend not depending on age. And this low rocker assessment. The game is playable and climate, and most ot which a player could want.
  56. May 17, 2012
    10
    So it might be that I didn't play diablo 2 or that I didnt play opening night so I had no server difficulties but so far I love this game and don't have any problems with it
  57. May 17, 2012
    10
    The game overall is great, amazing story, intresting spells...ext. normal mode felt a bit casual but the difficulty increases significantly in nightmare, hell and inferno difficultys. The auction house is a nice touch and the ability to use real money if you want is a great way to eleminate gold and item sellers. The graphics are nice and not to demanding, boss fights are fun and difficult. Overall just a great game. Although there are sone bugs (to be expected with a 3day old game) and some balance issues. Its still one if not the best game i have played in 2012. Expand
  58. May 17, 2012
    10
    I'm stunned that some rate this game NOT on its actual content. I'm sure that some haven't even played the game. Anyhow (ignoring the internet connection and some minor problems that some might have), this game is one of the best action-RPGs that I have ever played. Great story, animation, brilliant, emotional and terrifying cinematics that truly makes you wish that Blizzard would make a movie out of the world of Diablo. As far as gameplay goes, it is a classic hack and slash (with a twist of strategy, because you have to sell, craft and sometimes make hard decisions on what suitable weapons or items you need and which ones you need to get rid of...or store). This brought back all the fun memories of Diablo and Diablo 2, it makes you want to play it more and more. The graphics in this game is different to that of Diablo 2 but I think for the better. it is very well done. Some scenes in the game are absolutely mind blowing, you will not be disappointed. Prepare to lose many hours on this one... Expand
  59. May 18, 2012
    10
    This is the best action RPG bar none,played it from launch here in the UK and had no problems whatsoever.A great lot of people slating the game,so i thought i would stick up for it as its such a great game,and no im not a fanboy.I have no problem with online play as i used to play WOW.If you dont like the idea of always connected dont buy the game.Blizzard said from the off this is how it would be.Graphics are spot on smooth as silk with great effects and multitudes of monsters on screen at once.Gamplay wise if you like loot games this is the daddy .Trying to find that next rare piece which will make your character that little bit better is so addictive.I cannot compare it to D1 D2 as i never played them but for me it does everything right.Ive played all sorts of dungeon crawlers from titan quest to path of exile and Diablo 3 takes the biscuit. Expand
  60. May 18, 2012
    9
    How many stupid reviews out there! The DRM is not a problem we live in 2012 not 1992 or even 2002. And on release, of course the servers will be overcrowded. On day 2 I had no problems at all. Get over it whiners! After 10 years of waiting I'm so happy, the graphics (as with D2 same complaints then) it's not over the top or ground breaking, but it is still very nice and the atmosphere is so addictive with elements referring to D1 and D2. I actually like that my actions decides how my attributes are distributed and then I can shift between my skills which is a great feature. It is well balanced and easy to control and master. The great thing about graphics is that we all see the same area so nobody gets an advantage. Only complaint is that I see lag from time to time even in single player which is frustrating. Expand
  61. May 18, 2012
    10
    Last time I checked the reason I play games is to have fun.
    Diablo 3 fulfils this requirement hands down. It is incredibly fun and addictive.

    Most of the negative scores are because of login issues. Come on people have a bit of patience, once the servers settle down this will be the best game to play for a long long time!
  62. May 18, 2012
    10
    Great game, don't mind the score for now. It's a silly **** mockup operation to get the score at 3.7, reference at the error 37 we encountered on release day.
    11 years worth of wait.
  63. May 18, 2012
    10
    definitely a step up in the franchise. Worried about customization? Just do the math. there is more options in D3 than D2. And end game content, and cheat-free CUZ ITS ONLINE THANKS BLIZZARD.
  64. May 18, 2012
    9
    Absolutely love the game. The at-launch issues were far less than I have come to expect with game launches of this scale, by far. Aside from some issues g in during the earliest hours of the launch, I've had zero issues with the game, in over 30 hours of play across 3 characters. The story was predictable, but Diablo was always more about the gameplay, loot drop and lore than main storyline. The 5 classes are all great to play, the crafting system adds to the already awesome loot drop system and creates another major gold-sink I always fled diablo needed. I've found that the complaints that others have had about the game are largely unreasonable, and often born of expectations that will never be met by any game. The always on DRM doesn't bother me, really. D3 is, and I believe should be, a social game. Gold selling is going to happen whether Blizzard supports it or not, only this way it's safe and controlled. If you look at D3 as a free to play MMO, with the RMAH being the "premium" paid content, which ultimately is what it comes down to, 99.9% of people's complaints about th game fall through entirely. Honestly, D3 has thus far exceeded my expectations, and I expected this to be one of only two games this year to matter to me. Expand
  65. May 18, 2012
    9
    As a sequel, the smartest thing would be to compare to Diablo 2, as fans are expecting D3 to provide a better game overall than D2, so this review will focus on comparing the differences between these 2 games.

    1. Character customisation: D2: Talent points and attribute points were assigned by players to their character.
    D3: Talent points are replaced by runes, and attribute points are
    spread automatically (not really mattering in the long run)
    Who wins? Diablo 3. Because in D2, the stats that were put by players were enough strength to wear an item, and the rest would get dumped in vitality. The mechanic was annoying, and the new attribute system takes care of that hassle. 2. Story
    D3 does not fail to deliver storywise. Where D2 revolved around the character, D3 revolves around the important figures of the world, with drama between all of them, and the Character as the mediator for world issues.

    3. Gameplay.
    Difficulty levels make a difference. In D2, a champion mob even on the highest difficulty setting would be just xp or gems/runes/magic items. In D3, a champion mob on a higher difficulty means dying most of the time.
    The bosses feel like a challenge, and no longer just an itemcheck. You need to think about the spells you bring in to the fight, and you need to have tactics.

    4. Art
    Cinematics and music is just superb, and this is already common for blizzard games. It is good to know that they invest in good quality cinematics and good ambient sound.
    Voice acting on the other hand was not of the highest quality, killing some of the immersion.

    5. Auction house:
    As items are not bind on equip/pickup, item value will decrease very fast. As far as gold action house goes, this will allow players to have access to items they wanted without the necessary grinding. As far as real money auction house goes, it is simply a way to make a passive income as a company, after the game has been launched, and prevent illegal gold selling. This is common business logic in today's market, that we as gamers have shaped. Certain products gained profit over this method and will continue to, so obviously every other game will have this feature. My opinion is we should not judge the game based on this, but rather the company.

    6. The Always-Online-DRM
    This is something no gamer agrees with. Although this may sound like an excuse, there is a reason behind it, and it is linked to the above point. Duping was a major issue in Diablo 2, and if the developers wanted to make a stable auction house, and especially a real money auction house, every item drop, stat, and inventory needs to have server side checking. This is why single player is online. So a user cannot simply hack items into his inventory so that he could earn a profit. This is understandable.
    What is not understandable on the other hand, is the fact that on a European server, with a 100 MBit connection, a user would have 300 ms lag(from Europe). Think about hardcore mode death due to lag for a second. 300 ms is a lot.
    Expand
  66. May 18, 2012
    9
    I'm all for constructive criticism, but some of you are just plain bashing this game due to some unforeseen technical difficulties and changes. Change is good, I love the way the new game is, so you can't customize your stats, so what. That makes the hunt for gear that much more fun. The graphics is awesome, sound is amazing I feel nostalgic every time I here the different sounds and effects. The whole playing a single player game online is a bit of a disappointment, but I understand why it has been implemented. Then on to Cutscenes superb cinematic, Blizzard is known for this. Great game. Expand
  67. May 18, 2012
    9
    The game is just pure fun to play. It has improved a lot over D2 while keeping true to the hack-n-slash-n-loot original and the overall quality is Bliz typical. It becomes actually less repetitive as you level up with new abilities, runes etc. People (me included) were not happy with the server issues of day1 but this does not have anything to do with the game in the long run.
  68. May 18, 2012
    10
    To the haters... get a life and review content on the merits it presents not issues that were out of Blizzard's control. Servers crash such is life. The game is extremely well polished. Don't take away from the system introduced. The ignorant chastise the auction house but it still promotes play. If you want items you need to farm which is totally epic when you get into hack & slash mode. As to no internet connection... do you live in a cave, get a life and get internet its 2012 baby booyah

    Now to the review. The new skill system with the introduction of skill runes is enjoyable. The game is very hard to put down once you in to it because the skills blend extremely well. Enemies are balanced but find normal mode too easy. Once you on Nightmare it moves it up a notch. Crafting and the upgrade of the NPC's area is pretty cool like that you can craft yr own rare items, encourages you to aim for end game and reap the benefits at the Auction house. Over all top class game, graphics need an overall but thats about it. Special effects and sound are great
    Expand
  69. May 18, 2012
    10
    If you liked Diablo 2, then buy this game. 90% of the bad reviews are because of server issues on the first day. Everybody that gave Diablo 3 a bad review because of server issues is a **** moron. Just read the professional reviews. It is kind of odd to play a single player game over the internet, but **** get over it. The game works fine most of the time. If it does hiccup, it starts you where you left off. Just buy the game already. Expand
  70. May 18, 2012
    10
    Best game ever, only have gotten 4 hours of sleep a night because of the enticement and pure bliss of the grind. Looking forwards to years of destruction and looting.
  71. May 18, 2012
    10
    Just an excellent game, the story is pretty good, the gameplay if you like this kind of games is perfect and it's a real challenge to finish the game !! Some problems the first day on connection but it is ok now and playing on-line is not a real problem really...
    Thx Blizzard !
  72. May 18, 2012
    10
    To me diablo 3 is the best game of the year thanks to its splendid decor these foolproof playability and replayability endless! taste it there, you'll be hooked
  73. May 18, 2012
    9
    At first it was Diablo 1. If was a turnover in the market because of it. Huge ideas came to life, everyone was impressed because they didn't know what to expect. Diablo 2 - the game that every person knows. Diablo 2 represents and idea perfected for it's years. It was so fun because it was different. But years started to pass, people got obsessed with the game. When Blizzard announced that that they are working on Diablo 3 great expectation from the fans started to build up like this : if one was an instant classic, two the best of the best, the tree has to be better. After 5 years people expected that in the moment they will open the game they will be blown away. It is wrong to think that. There is nothing in universe that will blow away after it is anticipated for 12 years.

    Because of this they started to judge the game from the missing feelings of greatness and they closed they eyes to see what the game really is.

    Diablo 3 is perfect.

    You always got a feeling of moving through a concept art.
    The story is great, pump at the right moment a new line to keep you in the hell illusion.
    Everything is perfectly match - the stats, the weapons etc.

    The skills know are great because low level skills still get used in high levels.
    The skills are now changeable and one more thing - are exactly what a human can handle with a two click mouse

    The stats, personally i don't care about putting stats point on my own, eventually you will all agree because if you start to look at Diablo 2 - all great characters have about the same build ups in stats.

    The online thing. Well it is the future even if you don't like it. And the reason you don't like it is because probably you have an expensive internet connection or a bad one. Another thing, the online only is great because your game is up to date instant and because you're connected with others. I don't get the hype about the online because everyone who complains about it does it online : here or on Facebook.

    From my point of view Blizzard did a great job about the game, it is just plain fun and has a lot of parts that will change the market again.
    Blizzard did delivered a superb game, a Diablo game for this decade.
    My only complain is that I had to wait 12 years for the third part.
    Expand
  74. May 18, 2012
    10
    The initial launch was fairly poor, but overall the best game in the series by a long shot, if not the best game of the decade. They took out everything that was bad about Diablo 2, and put in everything that genre needed. If you enjoyed the facade that was character customization in Diablo 2, you'll be disappointed at first. They took out skill points and stat points. Though in the long run every player should rejoice- you can no longer ruin builds. In the first years of D2, most players didn't know what they were doing and when confronted with Hell difficulty, they just couldn't do it.

    The only gripe I have is the current skill system is entirely TOO simple. It feels force fed, though it barely subtracts from the other great features of the game. Casuals and Hardcores alike will delight in this gaming experience.
    Expand
  75. May 18, 2012
    10
    Best hack & Slash since Diablo II
    Smashing demons is a pleasure Art style is excellent
    Bosses are funs
    Classes are goods and differents
    What are you waiting for ? BUY IT !
  76. May 18, 2012
    10
    Few issues on download and installation but eaisly sorted if you check the forums, excellent gameplay, awesome graphics and a very nice storyline to boot.....best £35 i have spent in a long time ... definitely recomend it for anyone wanting a change/break from your syandard RPG's
  77. May 18, 2012
    9
    Foreword. For some reason this game has a low meta, whether that's the work of some anonymous party or not is up to rumor, speculation, and the realm of possibility. I know one thing, loads of folks are buttmad and denying themselves one of the best gaming experiences of the past couple years. (It can't dwarf Portal 2, but it tried and was done by BLIZZARD.) I had negative if any expectations coming into Diablo III. That being said, Blizzard actually made a game that's very good for once in a long while. Chris Metzen and the dev team really poured their hearts into this game. The DRM was an obstacle for many people, but for me wasn't much of an issue. There were hiccups and all, but really the quality of the game makes up for that. That being said, time to get into an actual review by an actual Blizzard critic, Activision hater, et al. Diablo III's best experienced elements will now be outlined and then reviewed.A.Streamlining, what was done right for the gameplay style.a.The character streamlining adds to gameplay in my opinion, because in previous Diablo games, the skill system really just felt like a mess, even for the time. People who liked it probably had never really experienced a deep rpg. Diablo III's skill system gives you constant upgrades, probably about a thousand ways you can roll a character skillwise and has room to let you have fun in any capacity. b.Diablo 2 wasn't really an RPG, it was a hack and slash, and anyone who says differently obviously has no concept of real RPGs (a la isometric, et al.) Diablo III did you a favor and kept leveling, just in a way that would make it so that you wouldn't die to skeletons or eight hundred demons whilst attempting to level up.c.Town portals and identify scrolls are "free" and included into your character. Normally one would say that this is a shortcut, but when ransacking bookcases and such if you look closely you will see that those scrolls fall out. B.Art style, consistency, cutscene quality, storytelling, score.a.All of the above elements are of an exceptional quality, especially the cutscenes; the act one cutscene was one of the best I have ever seen honestly. It was an experience, now Diablo III in this regard is more of an experience than anything. I wouldn't say that it had a lot of early game depth, or ridiculous bugs, especially broken classes etc. The game is consistent in that you are powerful, but you are still weak; you are learning to be stronger and gaining experience as a veteran. You always feel like you're powerful, no matter what class you play you will feel like you're the best. Beyond the first act the cutscenes remain hopeful yet dark, inspiring you to keep going; to finish what you started. Diablo III is well fleshed out in lore, a lot has happened in twenty years and much has changed in Tristram and other places, the Horadrim are a focus for awhile, those of you that paid attention in D2. Companions and vendors all have their own stories and conversations, equipment and chatter.
    Diablo III is a well scored game, as are many Blizzard endeavors. However a lot is to be desired, it doesn't have an iconic score as did previous Diablo games. Some would argue that this is an improvement because if you're like me, you're done act 1 about eighteen times or more across D1 and D2. C.DIDO (Drop in drop out) optimizations, the removal of ninja looting entirely.a. Drop ins on your game are much more livable now in Diablo III, no longer can one speedrun your dungeon, killing the act boss and excluding you. Absconding with all of your loot. No, you get prompts for bosses. This change is welcome to people like me who tend to get lost, even with automap it's hard to find things sometimes.b. Loot is now instanced on your character. All players receive individual loot, the most brilliant gameplay change I've ever experienced. The previous systems were nightmares, whether a shouting match, or a ninja and log. I guarantee nobody will steal your legendaries, okay pal? D.Account wide achievements, vendor progress, and stash. a.Three things to spend your gold on to account for the up in magical item drop and usability, the blacksmith, the jeweler, and your stash. (Might I add that the jeweler is voiced by the wonderful James Hong. http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0393222/) The work that went into all of this seemingly simple idea had to be very difficult. Please don't underestimate how long that probably took. A risk that pays off well, and Blizzard taking risks post 2007 is something I never thought I would see.E.Lastly and most importantly, the gameplay. a.Constantly satisfying gameplay with the potential for great depth and some of the greatest mechanics seen since Deus Ex leaves Diablo III as a strong contender for game of the year from one of the companies owned by one of the worst companies in America IMO (unofficially) . You should buy this game, nuff said. Plus all of your friends are playing it, if you have friends that is.
    Collapse
  78. May 18, 2012
    9
    Plot:
    So the cool thing about not World of Warcraft 3 is that it follows nicely in the direction of not World of Warcraft 2. I'm not an avid fan on the Diablo series and I only know the vague plot of Diablo 2 however Blizzard have learnt from their story telling mistakes and made the plot of Diablo 3 easy to follow, not in your face obvious and given a medium to learn about what happen in
    past games (grant it you have to seek out said medium). Diablo 3â Expand
  79. lpf
    May 18, 2012
    10
    Despite all the changes, it still got this special Diablo feeling and it made me smile after all these years.
    The level design is one of the best yet and the overall art style is just amazing.
  80. May 18, 2012
    10
    a Huge honor for everyone who play the greatest game of 2012 the DIABLO III.blizzard u r the best.thank u .we support u.i like from DEMON HUNTER class.and after DH my choice is Barbarian
  81. May 18, 2012
    9
    Having a blast. Yes its more or less the same dingeon crawler as diablo II. Love that they got rid of the point systems and replaced it with runes and variety of passive skills, everyone casn sue combinations they want.

    Fun coopeartive game and addictive
  82. May 18, 2012
    9
    I was one of the fans that got the game for release. I was there ready to login right at Midnight on launch day in Europe. I went through all the same login issues as everyone else and was upset by it. That said these issues are temporary and like every Blizzard game we have come to know and love issues are dealt with; even 9 years after a game was released in some cases. That said, let us move on and review the game for what it is and not what it isn't.

    Diablo is a hack'n slash RPG and as far as this genre goes Diablo 3 delivers better than any other game in it's genre by a LARGE margin. It is highly addictive with co-op mode more readily available and anti-cheat countermeasures already in place (unlike Diablo 2 for those that recall how awful multiplayer was at times due to hackers).

    Some have complained about the lack of options and customization but I found just the right amount with it getting deeper as the game continues through ability customization and gear. Stat improvement is indeed automatic but through gear you can decide weather you want to be a glass cannon or be able to take some hits later in the game (think nightmare, hell and inferno difficulties).

    I am mainly posting this review as the voices of those that HATE the game seem to be very loud right now while those that love it are busy playing it because it is that addictive - any game that can keep you playing for 6 hours straight and want to keep going is definitely a good game (either that or it administers digital drugs to you or something).

    The only thing that keeps me rating this game a 10/10 is that it true that there is nothing 'revolutionary' about this game. Diablo 3 is what was promised, maybe a little more even, definitely not less. Some fans are displeased with the outcome and while I respect their opinion I would say they are the 'loud minority' and I expect the overall User Score to go up drastically as more players 'come up for air' to take the time and submit a review.
    Expand
  83. May 18, 2012
    10
    The unstoppable fighting, the pure joy of slaughtering waves and waves of enemies, Diablo 3 is all about mighty destruction. The game is epic in every sense, thousands of enemies, colossal bosses, dialogue reminds me of Dante's Divine Comedy. Yes, customization is simplified, crafting has made too easy, but these are not the reason you play this game. The Internet connection is required so Blizzard can validate all the loots. I don't see it's a big problem these days. The real money auction house is a bonus since we don't have to deal with black market anymore. There is no such thing as pay-to-win, you don't win in this game, you just kill, and kill, and kill. Expand
  84. May 18, 2012
    10
    Wow, you people have issues. Because you couldn't log in for 10 minutes you go on a spree of 0 out of 10 reviews. Oh well, the real figure games are judged by is sales figures, and this one has sold very, very well.
  85. May 18, 2012
    10
    The best game ! I loved it, the graphics are perfect, the levels are beautiful. The details may have changed but this is still fundamentally the same game as the 1996 original.
  86. May 18, 2012
    10
    Haters gonna hate. But please don't trash a really good game just because of some bugs, server issues or because it's not D2. I had similar feelings when I played the open beta, but I bought it nevertheless and I've not regret it.
  87. May 18, 2012
    10
    so what diablo had connection issues who cares! the game is just fantastic so say the least. the game is a pretty good length with loads of replay value, all the characters are unique and should be played differently. people interested in PvP its coming of no charge! the game has so many types of loot to just go out and look for and the maps have great scale!
  88. May 18, 2012
    9
    I hate the fact there are so many people giving this great game unfair scores, so I decided to get my own write up in here. I preordered the game without playing the beta and almost second guessed my decision based on the bad things I was hearing about the game before release from the beta testers. Thankfully I didn't cancel my order because after 15 hours of playing the game, I absolutely love it and I feel like its the best in the series.
    - Always online aspect of the game is something that naturally bothered me the first day because I couldn't play. And what normal person wouldn't be annoyed, even angry that they couldn't play a game that you waited so long for. But the server issues are stabilizing and the game is probably about 95% playable now, maybe even 100%. I for one absolutely love the always online feature of this game. And I can understand if I never played the game with friends and only did single player for every game I played, then I might be hating on the always online. But for me, the fact that I can always find my friends on B.net 2.0, whether they are on WoW, Sc2, or D3, is awesome. But to be honest, I never played Diablo 2 offline because I always felt that the game was better online. I mean what game isn't better when its played with other people? Diablo 3 almost seems like from the ground up it was designed to be an online game, that could be played solo. Much like MMOs today, solo quest until your max level, then start doing group stuff (on a side note, I think that is the major problem with MMOs today). The difficult scales to the number of characters in the game, which makes playing with friends and the game much more fun. Next always online capability, NO MORE HACKING, thank God. Diablo 2, even closed B.net was completely ruined by hacking. Now that a lot of the game is handled server side, especially loot, it seems, at least for now that Diablo 3 at the very least will be very, very difficult to hack. I like that. Actually, I like that a lot. If you got this game for single player only, I think you are missing one of the core functions of this game.
    - Story is decent and picks up more in the later acts than before. I keep reading about so and so beat normal mode, mind you did not same game, in 6, 7, 8, 10 and 12 hours. I am currently sitting at 15 hours played and I just reached Act 3, but I did what any good RPG and fan of the series did, I explored! And back to the always online feature, if I saw a friend that behind in levels or needed some help, I jumped into their game and helped them. So I haven't just got one, rushed through and finished it. Also, for anyone downrating this game because you rushed through normal and go to the story and are complaining that it is too short, you obviously do not know the point of the Diablo-series, higher difficulty settings! The next difficulties offer better loot, better crafting, and the best part of it all, more challenge. So if you are rushing through to get to those things, awesome, but don't complain about a game being too short when just playing normal mode was never how the game was supposed to be played. I hated the skill system in this game and I mean hated it. I felt like Blizzard was choosing my skills for me and making the leveling up system in D3 be completely automated... until I got to the later levels. Now its another feature that I am enjoying of the game, and not because its pretty much chooses for you, but because of the arsenal of abilities I have to use to kill stuff. For anyone that played Diablo 2, due to synergies, you basically had 2-3 attacks you used and that was it. And in elective mode, I have more freedom over the skills that I use in my bars and I dunno maybe most people aren't using elective mode and that's they don't like it, or maybe they haven't figured out how to change out skills. But this game already has infinitely more skills and ways to play your character than Diablo 2 ever did. So for that I commend Blizzard for making the game they way they did. So, in short, the skill system looks shallow at first, but as you get later into the game and start trying out different combos and different strategies with skills, you start to see how they visioned their skills system.

    Finally, graphics, yes technically they are not that impressive, especially if you are only looking at polygons and textures. But to be fair to Blizzard, the graphics were expected, at least from me. I have played every single Blizzard released and each of them were never known for their modern graphics. But the game is delightfully dark, morbid and disgusting, thanks in part to the new graphics, and of course the art direction. And once again, Blizzard excels in the art direction. I mean there are some really grotesque things going on, especially once you get into the dungeons. I love the game and I feel like it deserves praise and definitely worth every penny.
    Expand
  89. May 18, 2012
    10
    All the bashing of this game that's been going on here is totally unfounded. Network issues aside - I've had a few, but none too terrible - Diablo 3 is everything I've expected and more. Yes, the skill system is radically simplified, but people neglect to mention that what this means is a whole new level of customization: you can completely change up your character on the fly to deal with different situations. (By the way, I was a huge Diablo 2 and original Diablo nerd, so it's not like I don't appreciate the roots of this game or whatever) The combat is absolutely insane, with hordes of enemies on screen, and never once did it feel like anything but a Diablo game. As to the issue of the always-on DRM, whatever. It's an imperfect solution, but would you rather Blizzard just let everyone pirate their awesome game? Stop being children: piracy is stealing, people, and Blizzard is just trying to make money like every other company in existence. If they didn't take measures like this, then soon enough, there would be more viable entertainment options except for board games. In conclusion, buy this game, and stop raging about the DRM, you spoiled American babies. Expand
  90. May 18, 2012
    10
    Awesome game, one of the best ever. Great sequel, with a skill system that seems to be weird at first but then you learn the awesome depth beneath the system - allowing you to build a unique character with your chosen skills and passives, as well as runes, but not fixing you with one build so that you feel bad for choosing one path. It has an awesome story, great atmosphere (dark, gritty), unlimited loot, great co-op play, Auction House, and more. It has very well-randomized environements and events, as well as its loot - I've literally not found a single loot that is the same. This will be one of the best games for years to come. Don't mind the other user reviews here just bashing on the RELEASE DAY experience where they DIDN'T EVEN PLAY THE GAME because they couldn't log on. It was blizzard's fault and it was annoying, but after that it was smooth and they fixed it, and people will only remember the experience of playing the game and not just the few hours on the very release moment. Thanks to Blizzard for this amazing game! Expand
  91. May 18, 2012
    9
    This game is a lot of fun. I am not normally into games like these, or really most co-op games like this (borderlands is my other example), but so far, I am really enjoying myself. The graphics are up to par with WoW and the story is thoughtful and interesting. It is very straight forward, with no character customization outside of gender and class, and the class abilities are more based on play style rather than WoW's ability to give you dozens of abilities for a wide array of play options. That being said, someone looking for a hardcore game like the older Diablo or vanilla WoW should more so veer away from this title, however, those more casual and looking for a fun game to play with friends or even just a challenging world to explore at your leisure, will find endless hours of life-sucking fun. I give this game a 9 out of 10, being that it has proven to me that a co-op loot-grabbing game can be just as fun as anything else when put together in a way that cuts down the elitists and allows casual players to enjoy without feeling like lesser gamers. My only gripe is probably the graphics being sub-par to most games in this era, outside of Blizzard's famous CGI cut scenes, which would make anyone interested in a movie of anything Blizzard makes full of hope. Very enjoyable, with minor cosmetic short-comings. (And for those of you pulling a CoD on reviews for this game, try to review it as Diablo 3 and not say things like, "This game isn't Diablo 2 and I hate it!". The story is a sequel to the D2, and that is what sequel means, not that it is an exact copy.) Expand
  92. May 18, 2012
    10
    Heyyo, The witch Doctor is definitely an amazing addition to the game and I love how it's not the same **** repeated. Also? the game doesn't deserve a user score of 0 just because you didn't like the DRM or Graphics. The storyline is ok for a hack and slash... still more storyline than Diablo 1... I mean, OBVIOUSLY the game is going to be about Diablo so how much difference did you guys really expect? The only way they could drastically change the story is to change the location or time... and then you'd **** if they made a game like Diablo 40k or such and it wasn't just Diablo with different character models. Yeah the skill tree is really basic, but it makes fights more strategic since you have to think about what skills you want beforehand instead of being able to just cast as you please (btw check into the "Elective mode" setting ya n00bs) and if you try to rebind on the fly you get pwned.

    The server issues is by far the lamest thing about the game yes, but Steam had a rocky start... same with each new COD yearly game but you don't hear anyone ****ing about those anymore do ya? Same thing will happen here.

    I find this game more entertaining than Diablo II mainly for the fact it so far hasn't gotten boring after the half way point (I always get bored of D2 in the Jungle part and uninstall). Diablo III seems to be more of a homeage to Diablo 1&2 than it is a completely new experience, so treat it as that, and if you want a different experience? Try a game like Magicka, Torchlight or Silverfall. They are plenty good as well. :P
    Expand
  93. May 18, 2012
    10
    I don't know what everybody is complaining about. Just because the servers went down for a bit, doesn't mean you have to go crazy! The game being playable only if the player is online is the only major issue of the game. Other the that, the game is near flawless. The gameplay is innovative and different than Diablo II, yet its still engaging. The cinematic are one of the best out there. There are minor flaws in my opinion, such as the portals to town system, however its not something that would completely ruin the gameplay. On a side note, I wish Blizzard would have maintained the Necromancer class. That is just a personal preference... As for the storyline, it has twists and turns, with a bit of generic stuff going on there, not much to complain about. I would definitely recommend this game to any one who is into this type of genre, its a cannot miss! I'd give it a 9 or 9.5, but I gave a 10 here because I find it ridiculous how people are giving it anything under an 8. Expand
  94. May 18, 2012
    10
    To Everyone saying D3 SUCKS cause of server failures, that's not the games fault, that's Blizzard. If you go play right now it is fine so all you **** are just that. The actual game is awesome, nice randomized dungeons, the Bosses felt epic I enjoyed every last minute of the game. As always the loot is the main thing and it's awesome to see some of the **** I've gotten. Can't wait for PVP so I can kill some other folks. I have nothing bad to say about this game I've been more than happy with the result of this game. Expand
  95. May 18, 2012
    9
    The reason that this game has such low user review score is because of 2 things: it has Diablo in the title and there were server problems. Not being able to play the game when it comes out really sucks, but doesn't make the whole game deserve a 0, it's just a bad play by Blizzard. Just wait a day and calm down. Also, since it has Diablo in the title, people expect this game to be exactly like the previous games, rightfully so. However, just because it's not doesn't mean it deserves 0, its just different. The game (when playable) is streamlined, fast-paced, addictive, and a hell of a lot of fun to play. It has more of a focus on being an action rpg then a regular rpg because of the lower level of customization. So take it as that, not for something it isn't trying to be. Saying it is an awful game is wrong, it just wasn't what you expected Expand
  96. May 18, 2012
    9
    Diablo 3 is an awesome game. The fact is, the people giving the game bad reviews have a point. The first couple of days were horrible because you couldn't connect, therefore people feel that the game deserves a zero. Fair enough, but now that the rough patch is over, these user scores should really start to reflect the game itself.

    I start at 10 points.
    Minus 1 for online only DRM - I
    live in Australia and my latency occasionally causes problems.
    Otherwise that game is great. Story. Items. Acting. Gameplay. The gold auction house in awsome! And there is incredible attention to detail (from the UIs to readability of the screen while in battle).

    As to the game's graphics, I personally really like them. I was horrified when I first saw the early screenshots.
    But having played the game I can't imagine them any other way. I've played the PoE beta and while the graphics are technically impressive and more realistic, it made most environments look messy. When you add the detailed textures to the isometric view and the monochromatic color scheme, it was annoyingly hard to enjoy the monster design or the environment (not to mention seeing what was going on in the heat of battle). On the other hand, the graphics are not as cartoon-y as so many people say. It does use a lower polygon count and lower res textures, but it is all in the name of readability. So you can actually see what is happening on screen. Torchlight 2 is cartoon-y. Distorted proportions, saturated colors, outlines etc. This is what makes something cartoon-y, and D3 has none of it.

    Anyway, that's just my 5cents. I respect that many Gamers feel strongly about online only DRM, and I do too.
    But save it for petitions and voting with your wallet, don't tank the user review scores of a great game over a matter of principle. And to those who gave it a score of zero over the launch day difficulties, unless you plan to update your review after playing the game, then it was a bit of a dick move.
    Expand
  97. May 18, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, loads of fun. Didn't have a SINGLE error with servers and i don't mind the online requirement.
    Well spend 60$! I'm in Act 2 now on Nightmare.
  98. May 18, 2012
    10
    excelente juego!! me encanta mas alla de el tema de la conexion online el juego en si es muy bueno, sigue teniendo la esencia del 2 y sus requisistos son muy accesibles a casi toda la gente
  99. May 18, 2012
    10
    I love this game. Graphics are fine as hell I don't know what people are complaining about, gameplay excellent and story well scripted. Overall GOOD GAME! Although the internet problem is not a problem for me cause I'm constantly on the internet.
  100. May 18, 2012
    9
    Ill sum up all the bad reviews for you. People are complaining about: needing a network connection all the time, release day bugs, graphics, and even sound. These reviews are completely garbage because a game does not deserve a 0 because you cant jam to the sound track, or have blue ray quality graphics. Nearly none reference the actual game play experience which is a great hack n slash game with tons of loot. The added hardcore, permanent death mode gives the game a little edge when any mistake could cost your hours of play time. This is a solid game if you are expecting to play a more revised version of the old Diablo, not an entirely different game. Expand
  101. May 18, 2012
    0
    Foreword. For some reason this game has a low meta, whether that's the work of some anonymous party or not is up to rumor, speculation, and the realm of possibility. I know one thing, loads of folks are buttmad and denying themselves one of the best gaming experiences of the past couple years. (It can't dwarf Portal 2, but it tried and was done by BLIZZARD.) I had negative if any expectations coming into Diablo III. That being said, Blizzard actually made a game that's very good for once in a long while. Chris Metzen and the dev team really poured their hearts into this game. The DRM was an obstacle for many people, but for me wasn't much of an issue. There were hiccups and all, but really the quality of the game makes up for that. That being said, time to get into an actual review by an actual Blizzard critic, Activision hater, et al. Diablo III's best experienced elements will now be outlined and then reviewed.A.Streamlining, what was done right for the gameplay style.a.The character streamlining adds to gameplay in my opinion, because in previous Diablo games, the skill system really just felt like a mess, even for the time. People who liked it probably had never really experienced a deep rpg. Diablo III's skill system gives you constant upgrades, probably about a thousand ways you can roll a character skillwise and has room to let you have fun in any capacity. b.Diablo 2 wasn't really an RPG, it was a hack and slash, and anyone who says differently obviously has no concept of real RPGs (a la isometric, et al.) Diablo III did you a favor and kept leveling, just in a way that would make it so that you wouldn't die to skeletons or eight hundred demons whilst attempting to level up.c.Town portals and identify scrolls are "free" and included into your character. Normally one would say that this is a shortcut, but when ransacking bookcases and such if you look closely you will see that those scrolls fall out. B.Art style, consistency, cutscene quality, storytelling, score.a.All of the above elements are of an exceptional quality, especially the cutscenes; the act one cutscene was one of the best I have ever seen honestly. It was an experience, now Diablo III in this regard is more of an experience than anything. I wouldn't say that it had a lot of early game depth, or ridiculous bugs, especially broken classes etc. The game is consistent in that you are powerful, but you are still weak; you are learning to be stronger and gaining experience as a veteran. You always feel like you're powerful, no matter what class you play you will feel like you're the best. Beyond the first act the cutscenes remain hopeful yet dark, inspiring you to keep going; to finish what you started. Diablo III is well fleshed out in lore, a lot has happened in twenty years and much has changed in Tristram and other places, the Horadrim are a focus for awhile, those of you that paid attention in D2. Companions and vendors all have their own stories and conversations, equipment and chatter.
    Diablo III is a well scored game, as are many Blizzard endeavors. However a lot is to be desired, it doesn't have an iconic score as did previous Diablo games. Some would argue that this is an improvement because if you're like me, you're done act 1 about eighteen times or more across D1 and D2. C.DIDO (Drop in drop out) optimizations, the removal of ninja looting entirely.a. Drop ins on your game are much more livable now in Diablo III, no longer can one speedrun your dungeon, killing the act boss and excluding you. Absconding with all of your loot. No, you get prompts for bosses. This change is welcome to people like me who tend to get lost, even with automap it's hard to find things sometimes.b. Loot is now instanced on your character. All players receive individual loot, the most brilliant gameplay change I've ever experienced. The previous systems were nightmares, whether a shouting match, or a ninja and log. I guarantee nobody will steal your legendaries, okay pal? D.Account wide achievements, vendor progress, and stash. a.Three things to spend your gold on to account for the up in magical item drop and usability, the blacksmith, the jeweler, and your stash. (Might I add that the jeweler is voiced by the wonderful James Hong. http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0393222/) The work that went into all of this seemingly simple idea had to be very difficult. Please don't underestimate how long that probably took. A risk that pays off well, and Blizzard taking risks post 2007 is something I never thought I would see.E.Lastly and most importantly, the gameplay. a.Constantly satisfying gameplay with the potential for great depth and some of the greatest mechanics seen since Deus Ex leaves Diablo III as a strong contender for game of the year from one of the companies owned by one of the worst companies in America IMO (unofficially) . You should buy this game, nuff said. Plus all of your friends are playing it, if you have friends that is.
    Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 86
  2. Negative: 1 out of 86
  1. Aug 31, 2012
    90
    My one major complaint is that the game never feels very difficult, especially on Normal. There are frustrating moments, hordes of baddies, and increasing difficulty levels, but the same feeling of utter defeat never really happens as it did in the past.
  2. Jul 18, 2012
    80
    For all the game's missteps, though, you certainly can't accuse Blizzard of phoning it in - if anything, the game suffers from the tendency to try a little to hard at times to evolve the design. [Aug 2012, p.61]
  3. Jul 3, 2012
    80
    When it works, Diablo III is the best of the Diablo games. When it doesn't, all it does is make you mad. [July 2012, p.54]