Diablo III PC

User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 9594 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 15, 2012
    10
    So many haters....what did you expect when 37 million people are trying to log on to the servers at once? Connection issues aside this game is awesome.
  2. May 15, 2012
    10
    I don't think people know what they're talking about, there's a good reason the game has no offline mode and that's because real money auction house wouldn't exist with it. Also their game just launched, haven't you all figured out that online only games tend to get full on release no matter how big the publishers think the servers is? I've enjoyed the game thoroughly with and withoutI don't think people know what they're talking about, there's a good reason the game has no offline mode and that's because real money auction house wouldn't exist with it. Also their game just launched, haven't you all figured out that online only games tend to get full on release no matter how big the publishers think the servers is? I've enjoyed the game thoroughly with and without friends with several classes and it is without a doubt a genuinely entertaining sequel. Expand
  3. Jun 19, 2012
    8
    Diablo III is an action RPG set in a Dante-esque world constantly threatened by the lords of Hell. As far as action RPG's go, Diablo III is definitely a bash-in-the-door dungeon crawler, and it sticks to what it knows best: blasting things, looting, and blasting things harder. Most of the time, you'll be casually destroying weak enemies, but the real fun comes in when tackling the bossesDiablo III is an action RPG set in a Dante-esque world constantly threatened by the lords of Hell. As far as action RPG's go, Diablo III is definitely a bash-in-the-door dungeon crawler, and it sticks to what it knows best: blasting things, looting, and blasting things harder. Most of the time, you'll be casually destroying weak enemies, but the real fun comes in when tackling the bosses or the elite enemies. Some of them are very difficult, and won't be beaten without tight tactical play. The difficulty is curved nicely, for the most part, and if you can't beat an enemy, a switch of skills often does the trick, but sometimes you just need to farm to move past it.

    As a casual Diablo II veteran, I really enjoy the new direction Blizzard has taken with the series: no decision is permanent, which means that you can try things out, reverse non-optimal decisions, and switch play styles on the fly to see what works best or you. Character customization is therefore limited to the build you choose to play at any given time. However, many Diablo veterans dislike the more radical changes from previous iterations, so I won't say Diablo III is better, just that I like it a lot more.

    The auction houses add the ability to buy/sell items with other players, which can make a huge difference if the random loot you get doesn't leave you with, for example, good armor but a useless pair of pants. The downside is that a lot of the gear needed to perform well at the hardest difficulties can be prohibitively expensive, and isn't much of an improvement over farming.

    The always-online restriction does get annoying, especially because I've been in some areas since launch with bad Internet, but it's nice that all of single-player play won't be lost when I decide to play online co-op. It makes things harder, but ultimately doesn't ruin the game if you normally have access to a mediocre or better connection.

    All in all, it's hard to beat Diablo if you're interested in a good dungeon crawler. Don't go in expecting it to be like Diablo II, because it isn't. I recommend it, but beware that your mileage may vary, especially for the high cost.
    Expand
  4. May 17, 2012
    8
    It's the third day I'm playing along with mates from work at night and then discuss at day time. The game is LOTS of fun. The overall quality of the game is just incredible. Developers put so much attention into all small details, locations are beautiful. Story ? Who cares, as long as the gameplay is balanced (and trust me it is). I don't understand all the whining about constantIt's the third day I'm playing along with mates from work at night and then discuss at day time. The game is LOTS of fun. The overall quality of the game is just incredible. Developers put so much attention into all small details, locations are beautiful. Story ? Who cares, as long as the gameplay is balanced (and trust me it is). I don't understand all the whining about constant connection requirement. Guys, you've known about it for at least 6 months ! It's like to buy a XXXX beer and then drink it saying 'I hate the taste', why to buy it in the first place ? Servers issues - yes, but honestly I only had issues on the launch day, it's been buttery smooth since then. And again, is it a score for the game or for the launch ? Grow up and score THE GAME, not how you feel about its lunch. And I'm just gonna repeat myself: don't cry about the internet connection requirement, you knew about this from the beginning. Expand
  5. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    I have played for about 150 hours and while my desire to play now dwindles I got 150 hours of joy for 60 bucks. That is a darn good rate for entertainment in my mind.. I personally think much hate is overrated and while the game is not perfect to me it is fun and I want fun.
  6. May 21, 2012
    8
    I was disappointed with this game until I played it. I felt like they forgot what Diablo was supposed to be and WoW-ified it. After getting a couple chars. to lvl 25 I can say that it does feel like Diablo and it IS fun. The open beta wasn't a good indicator of the rest of the game. The beta was 'meh' but the game is fun. It isn't perfect but I'm confident that it will improve withI was disappointed with this game until I played it. I felt like they forgot what Diablo was supposed to be and WoW-ified it. After getting a couple chars. to lvl 25 I can say that it does feel like Diablo and it IS fun. The open beta wasn't a good indicator of the rest of the game. The beta was 'meh' but the game is fun. It isn't perfect but I'm confident that it will improve with patches. The story sucks and the voice acting and dialogue is terrible but once you play through once you are just going to skip it all anyways.
    The AH is a piece of crap right now but that will improve. Like with WoW i don't like that items sell for nothing to vendors to force you to put it on the AH. I find that a pain and I have 2 mule characters full of rares that I am procrastinating on auctioning.
    Graphics and Art: I understand why they went with low graphics: my bro has a new gaming rig and playing 4 player is complete chaos on the screen with the amount of stuff happening. There is just no way they can make the graphics higher end with the amount happening on the screen.
    The art style I originally thought was WoW-ified and not dark enough for diablo but it is actually dark and gory when you get into it. You don't notice any 'colourfulness' as being out of place when you're playing it.
    The online only aspect sucks but it's just the reality of the game and if you don't like it play something else pretty much. I think they did it to avoid hacking: not about anti-piracy.
    In the end I think the game got a huge backlash from a predictably shaky launch and from all of the changes that the fan base didn't like pre-release, but ultimately the game is worth the $60 bucks and is fun. Whether people will be playing it for years to come depends on how balanced the game mechanics end up being in the endgame and pvp, but it's not like we have to pay a monthly sub.
    Expand
  7. May 17, 2012
    9
    Latency issues and login errors almost stopped after 30 minutes of the release, and all servers are stable right now, stop trolling guys, no one in the right mind checks MC user reviews due to guys like you, the game definitely doesn't deserve 0 just because you couldn't log in for 15 minutes
  8. May 16, 2012
    8
    Great game, however the online servers have certainly made it difficult for us to play together this first day. Personally I like what they've done with the character customization, I don't like worrying about permanently investing points in strength or intelligence...etc. I like to tinker with them, but I would rather do it through items and not feel that I've ever "screwed up" my levelGreat game, however the online servers have certainly made it difficult for us to play together this first day. Personally I like what they've done with the character customization, I don't like worrying about permanently investing points in strength or intelligence...etc. I like to tinker with them, but I would rather do it through items and not feel that I've ever "screwed up" my level 60 character. Expand
  9. Mar 14, 2015
    8
    I m a single player gamer. Don't care for co op or other related build&trading stuff so to me this is a great H&S as it is NOW (don't know how it was in 2012. only recently bought the game and expansion)
    I have played first 2 games when they came out. Liked the first for what it was, never give into the hype of second, it was ok H&S even if a little bit too long. (probably because grind
    I m a single player gamer. Don't care for co op or other related build&trading stuff so to me this is a great H&S as it is NOW (don't know how it was in 2012. only recently bought the game and expansion)
    I have played first 2 games when they came out. Liked the first for what it was, never give into the hype of second, it was ok H&S even if a little bit too long. (probably because grind is not my thing).
    As a single player experience, Diablo 3 is an improvement as much as I can see it- the voice acting smoothens the story progression, its fun. The art style and dedication to details in this regard is top notch. The music is ok. Overall atmosphere is almost there as previous games.
    Of course there are some cons: limited leveling options, auto level stats, graphic is dated even for 2012.,real zoom and 360 camera rotation should be norm by now for this kind of isometric clickfeast.
    Overall im having fun I like the atmosphere and for people critiquing that its linear, please....the first 2 were go-kill-end quest. Now at least there is a little bit of dialogue to make it more interesting.
    Expand
  10. May 21, 2012
    9
    This is a no spoiler review. First of all, I will start with the bad things. Always online-DRM can get pretty annoying due to constant errors that DC you or won´t allow you to log in. But when I look back, the Diablo II launch was not really ideal either. Next minus is the story. I know this is a game with emphasis on action, but the story is just incredibly predictable. IThis is a no spoiler review. First of all, I will start with the bad things. Always online-DRM can get pretty annoying due to constant errors that DC you or won´t allow you to log in. But when I look back, the Diablo II launch was not really ideal either. Next minus is the story. I know this is a game with emphasis on action, but the story is just incredibly predictable. I like the voice acting, characters, follower stories, but the story in the whole was just too predictable - I am not lying when I said I knew what will happen next all the frickin time. A little bit broken thing are the legendaries in this game. My opinion and I think it was intended to be like this - is that the legendaries should be the most powerful. They are not, many of them are weaker then some blues sadly, hope that will be fixed. I do not really like the idea of the auction house, but that´s just my personal problem. This leads to the next problem - the armor/weapon design is very very poor. The final sets in this game are just plain boring. They don´t really give you the feeling of uniqness and power. Now to the good things. First, I want to give blizzard a big hug for the cinematics. They are just Amazing. The cinematic at the end of the act I just blew off my mind. The soundtrack is not bad, but is often not heard in the battles. But the OST play in the key parts of the game and otherwise works pretty well. The effect sounds are fantastic and the voice acting is in my opinion just astonishing (monk male, greatest quotes). Graphics are great and the gameplay is awesome. I love the rune system and the diablo action style is better then in diablo II. The exploration is highly enjoyable, you can find lore books, beast lore, rare enemies everywhere, as well as big amount of small dungeons, that are scattered troughout the whole world. Achievements are a WoW copycat thing sadly (they are identicalú, but I personaly adore the ach. system (me being PS trophy lover) so I am happy with that. I have not encountered any gameplay wise technical issues, co-op works great and the inferno difficulty is awesome. Which gets us to the great replayibility this game has - if you like item hoarding, this is the game for you, it is basically item porn. Still looking forward to PvP. So my verdict would be 9 out of 10. Minuses are the story, DRM and little fixable game issues. This game was worth the wait. Expand
  11. May 16, 2012
    10
    This game is wonderful. Sure there are a few launch issues but I got that good-old Diablo nostalgic hack and slash feeling that I wanted from this. Love it. I find all the "0" reviews here absolutely ridiculous. You knew what you were buying before you ever bought it. You knew you need an internet connection to play. You knew that there may be server issues (very common with new games).This game is wonderful. Sure there are a few launch issues but I got that good-old Diablo nostalgic hack and slash feeling that I wanted from this. Love it. I find all the "0" reviews here absolutely ridiculous. You knew what you were buying before you ever bought it. You knew you need an internet connection to play. You knew that there may be server issues (very common with new games). You knew that, and yet you STILL bought it, and played it.

    Quite a few of the things being complained about can always be added later or remedied by Blizzard, because of the fact that they have set up most of the game to be server-side. They could easily add more PVP areas, new monsters & bosses, new weapons, all of that. You don't need to pay monthly to play the game at all, which is cool considering they could have very well decided to charge for it. If you don't like the game, or God forbid, if you could program something BETTER, by all means please do so. Until such time, shut up and GTFO.
    Expand
  12. May 28, 2012
    8
    People complain about the story being stale (It is), graphics being crappy (Not really if you think of the processing power it takes to run all of the special effects and mobs going on), and the sound being mediocre (True). But people would rate it that low just on 3 points where this game is not even supposed to be a game of epic storylines and realistic graphics. It is a game to killPeople complain about the story being stale (It is), graphics being crappy (Not really if you think of the processing power it takes to run all of the special effects and mobs going on), and the sound being mediocre (True). But people would rate it that low just on 3 points where this game is not even supposed to be a game of epic storylines and realistic graphics. It is a game to kill demons and a massive load of them. I myself predicted what was going to happen in the end for the most part. I wasn't too happy that I was able to but oh well, I enjoyed shoving my wand up Belial's rear and blasting Azmodan off to space. One thing people forget about a game is how much you can put into the game. Pros: Great game play, epic cinematics, You can get a lot of enjoyable play time out of this game.

    Cons: The graphics look like from 2004 and the background stories are better than the major storyline.
    Expand
  13. May 18, 2012
    10
    so what diablo had connection issues who cares! the game is just fantastic so say the least. the game is a pretty good length with loads of replay value, all the characters are unique and should be played differently. people interested in PvP its coming of no charge! the game has so many types of loot to just go out and look for and the maps have great scale!
  14. May 16, 2012
    9
    Really good hack & slash game it not may be good as Diablo 2 but still it's one of best RPG in this year.
    Only thing i don't like is lvl based skill system that are same to all and only characters items are what make it different.
    By far i played first act one and i really like the story. Graphics are really good even it's not same "realistic **** graphics" like in Battlefield 3 that need
    Really good hack & slash game it not may be good as Diablo 2 but still it's one of best RPG in this year.
    Only thing i don't like is lvl based skill system that are same to all and only characters items are what make it different.
    By far i played first act one and i really like the story.
    Graphics are really good even it's not same "realistic **** graphics" like in Battlefield 3 that need way too lot power from PC but at least Diablo 3 runs very smoothly at all graphic setting maxed.
    Online base single-player is good thing and bad thing, good thing is with this way they can prevent hackers and botters to ruin this game that happened to Diablo 2 (And that why i never playd Diablo 2 online because of hackers and botters), but bad thing is you can't play it without internet connection and also it make some connection problems too.
    Mostly i really like the co-op system it's so easly to jump friends game, others games or make your game as public that any one can join.

    Overall game is solid and really fun to play hack & slash game.
    Expand
  15. May 16, 2012
    8
    I really hate how people are overreacting and giving the game a 0 because of the DRM and server issues. Review the GAME people! Combat is supremely satisfying, and I don't get how people are bashing the graphics. All those D2 fanboys will obviously complain and want to exact graphics style. Well, guess what. THE DIABLO SERIES WOULD BE DEAD IF BLIZZARD DIDN'T CHANGE ANYTHING. The thing thatI really hate how people are overreacting and giving the game a 0 because of the DRM and server issues. Review the GAME people! Combat is supremely satisfying, and I don't get how people are bashing the graphics. All those D2 fanboys will obviously complain and want to exact graphics style. Well, guess what. THE DIABLO SERIES WOULD BE DEAD IF BLIZZARD DIDN'T CHANGE ANYTHING. The thing that sucks away two points is Blizzard's always online Singleplayer. In the end, Blizzard does a great job. Expand
  16. May 17, 2012
    8
    First of all, I would like to say that I did not come here to protest (I understand that the many 0 point reviews here are not actually reviews, but rather protests against certain bad design decisions and poor launch circumstances of the game), so I will not factor in the poor game launch conditions in my review (server outages, 37, 75, etc.). It seemed like a rather amateur mistake,First of all, I would like to say that I did not come here to protest (I understand that the many 0 point reviews here are not actually reviews, but rather protests against certain bad design decisions and poor launch circumstances of the game), so I will not factor in the poor game launch conditions in my review (server outages, 37, 75, etc.). It seemed like a rather amateur mistake, unfit of Blizzard, but it's mostly corrected by now (at least I can get into the game pretty much whenever I want, and I don't randomly lose achievements or characters any more). There will also be a kind of duality in my review, because I can't really do justice to the game itself AND the underlying service with a single decimal value.
    With that out of the way, let's get to the core game itself. In a nutshell, I think it's fantastic, and it totally brings to the table what's expected of a Diablo game. I understand why many say that the character building part was dumbed down and made more casual, but I disagree. I agree, that in the first few hours the character progression is very linear and even boring, but after you have unlocked all the skills and a good number of runes, things become much more interesting. There is a lot of possibility for experimentation and customisation in the later parts of the game (nightmare and up), and I think the current slot system can yield much more diverse results than the previous skill tree system. I just like it better, and it's simply not true that there is no depth to it. Furthermore, I felt that Diablo II's stat point system was a sort of a 'there is only one way to do it right' system, and I don't really miss it.
    Graphically the game is OK. It's nowhere near cutting edge, but its not ugly either. The environments are very well designed and diverse, although the whole backdrop seems a bit washed out, bleak compared to the characters and effects on top of them. The sound design and visual effects are brilliant, and the art style is flawless too, although it could have been a bit darker/more grisly in general. Its true that the level design (layout) is missing it's predecessor's procedurally generated randomness, but I think it was worth to trade it in for the more capturing, detailed environments. The random elements are still there in the form of dungeons, events and challenges, and the gameplay is very dynamic and impactful. As far as difficulty goes, I haven't played on nightmare yet, and normal difficulty is in fact a bit too easy, but the way I see it, the more technical/tactical side of the gameplay begins on the higher difficulty levels, and normal mode is more oriented towards experiencing the story and getting used to the gameplay mechanics of your character. But this also means that with each playthrough the normal difficulty is more and more obsolete, eventually becoming a boring chore (as you roll new classes, the only things that keeps you playing through normal are the unique features of your new class, and reaching higher difficulty levels).
    So in a nutshell, the game itself is definitely the king of it's genre in my eyes, and apart from a few flaws and pitfalls, it's nearly flawless. In light of this, the core game gets a solid 8/10 from me.
    But not so the underlying service. The constant online requirement is a draconian DRM, that really only hurts the paying customers, causing only frustration for those who have particularly unstable internet connections and just want to play in single player mode. The real money auction house is a travesty, and I will simply avoid it at all costs. Although I like the AH (the in game currency one), this whole online only scheme seems to be a shameless money grab from Blizzard, and I would have very much preferred a totally separate online and offline experience, with my single player characters on my hard drive, and my single player experience having nothing to do with my ISP, or availability of Blizzard servers. So the underlying Battle.net service for Diablo III gets a shameful 2/10 from me.
    Expand
  17. May 15, 2012
    10
    Seriously? Stop trolling the reviews. Diablo 3 is a very solid game with great gameplay, great graphics, great sound, etc. Yes, there is an issue with the login servers. It should be fixed soon. By tomorrow or the day after, will you even remember the issues? As soon as they fix the issue (aka as soon as they don't have 2 million people logging on at once), you'll be fine. Until then, justSeriously? Stop trolling the reviews. Diablo 3 is a very solid game with great gameplay, great graphics, great sound, etc. Yes, there is an issue with the login servers. It should be fixed soon. By tomorrow or the day after, will you even remember the issues? As soon as they fix the issue (aka as soon as they don't have 2 million people logging on at once), you'll be fine. Until then, just find something else to do. Expand
  18. Jun 9, 2012
    8
    I thoroughly enjoyed both Diablo 1 & 2 and was eager to to play the third, and i love it. the combat is fun and every level up feels like an accomplishment. It's definitely a game that i could sink 100 hours into, much like i have done with previous entries in the series. sure there are somethings that blizzard could have done better, but that doesn't take away from the fact that it is aI thoroughly enjoyed both Diablo 1 & 2 and was eager to to play the third, and i love it. the combat is fun and every level up feels like an accomplishment. It's definitely a game that i could sink 100 hours into, much like i have done with previous entries in the series. sure there are somethings that blizzard could have done better, but that doesn't take away from the fact that it is a great game and should be played by all Expand
  19. Sep 22, 2012
    10
    Why does Metacritic have a 10-point system. A simple "Did You Like It? Yes or No?" would suffice. The user-reviews in here are so rediculous it makes me smile. There is absolutely no way in hell this game is worth 0 (zero) points. But that is what everybody gives it when they have one or two gripes with it. I liked the game a lot btw, and had my fun throughout. I got an extremely polishedWhy does Metacritic have a 10-point system. A simple "Did You Like It? Yes or No?" would suffice. The user-reviews in here are so rediculous it makes me smile. There is absolutely no way in hell this game is worth 0 (zero) points. But that is what everybody gives it when they have one or two gripes with it. I liked the game a lot btw, and had my fun throughout. I got an extremely polished game with a great single-player experience, and even better with friends. I dont play it anymore, because I got tired of it. I will however play the expansions to come.

    If this score-system had any real thought behind it, I would have rated Diablo 3 av clean 8/10. But since everything said on here is angry kids with problems with their internet connections, I'll give it a 10 to compensate.

    0 points? Are you people kidding me?
    Expand
  20. May 16, 2012
    10
    What? I really dont understand the negative reviews.... I think this is the best Diablo yet and definitely no where near as short as people say it is if you actually do everything
  21. May 16, 2012
    10
    It is a action RPG so pls dont cry that it lacks strategy. Go play Dota or WoW. Don't hare the skill system, after a while you will know how cool it is to play with all the opportunities. You can match your skilltree for every level or even weapon. I love the artwork. I think its a masterpiece. The only bad thing is that you have 2 be online even for singleplayer. But it does not ruin theIt is a action RPG so pls dont cry that it lacks strategy. Go play Dota or WoW. Don't hare the skill system, after a while you will know how cool it is to play with all the opportunities. You can match your skilltree for every level or even weapon. I love the artwork. I think its a masterpiece. The only bad thing is that you have 2 be online even for singleplayer. But it does not ruin the game and the servers are fine. So haters will hate and a lot of them complain that there are no card in a soccer game. Just ignore the and enjoy the awesome game. Expand
  22. Jun 3, 2012
    8
    In a nutshell, Diablo 3 is a well refined Diablo 2 for modern times. Visceral physics-based destruction, awesome monster models, realistic CGI cutscenes, full voice acting and pleasing special effects are all excellent additions to the Diablo franchaise, making the experience that much sweeter.

    It seems the nearly 11 years of development wasn't enough - some character voice acting
    In a nutshell, Diablo 3 is a well refined Diablo 2 for modern times. Visceral physics-based destruction, awesome monster models, realistic CGI cutscenes, full voice acting and pleasing special effects are all excellent additions to the Diablo franchaise, making the experience that much sweeter.

    It seems the nearly 11 years of development wasn't enough - some character voice acting (Female barbarian, for example) is terrible, with a lack of enthusiasm and a poorly imitated accent. The story and setting in the final act felt very rushed - the supposedly epic moment in the game featured very small areas, no main city, few monsters, and very rushed story - a lot happens at once, and it all resolves very quickly.


    The gameplay has a lot of much-needed refinements, notably the flexible and open skill talent system, single-potions removes the annoying potion spam and randomized 'events' add replayability and exploration. The combat is very satisfying and addictive, and looting monsters has never been better! Multiplayer features a lot of improvements, such as achievements, an auction house, simple partying, proper 'exclusive loot' system and cloud support. Unfortunately, Blizzard played it safe in this area, and unless you've never played previous Diablo games, you'll find very little new for gameplay.

    It's still a click-fest; Blizzard hasn't discovered the wonders of a WASD movement system, though admittedly the 'click area' for monsters is quite forgivable. There were issues around large monsters in trying to move your player instead of attacking - the 'click area' for these demons are usually huge and not very intuitive - I repeat, a WASD movement system would fix this easily. Lastly, the 5 different character classes are vastly out of balance, where the melee classes have very little difficulty, and certain skills are downright trash. Maybe they will be useful in PvP (which was not shipped with the game). Lastly, for $60, Diablo 3 doesn't offer a long game - levels are no longer completely randomly generated a-la Diablo 1, and it only took 17.5 hours to absorb the majority of the game's content! For 11 years of development, a little more substance was expected.
    The controversial 'always-on' requirement, aimed at reducing game piracy, causes solo players to suffer. Players can now suffer from lag and disconnects, and is not playable when the servers are down. Not the best decision by Blizzard, but it's not as bad as some say, since the game works great when the servers are up.

    Overall, Diablo 3 is a much-needed refinement to the Diablo games, well deserving of the "III" attached. Highly recommended to Diablo fans, those looking for fast-paced multiplayer co-op mayhem or those interested in the next best PC-exclusive title! Unfortunately, Blizzard played it safe with Diablo 3, with very few major gameplay features added and it still feels like an unfinished product, with a semi-operational auction house, promised PvP and vastly imbalanced gameplay. To end on a high note, Blizzard is known to support their games for years and years, so there's no doubt this review's complaints will become obsolete in the future!
    Expand
  23. May 17, 2012
    9
    This is SOOO BAD.... just delete....Absurd how badly blizzard screwed this up. There isn't even an offline mode. What kind of Diablo doesn't have offline gameplay? Other than this the game itself is very fun and plays smoothly, even on my macbook air.
  24. May 15, 2012
    9
    If this is not your first blizzard game, you should have known better. I have never seen a single smooth Blizzard launch. People are giving this game 0 scores while they haven't even played it, they are just raging and spoiled 12 year olds who can't play their game after their day of school, or people acting like them. I have currently played 4-5 hours into the story, and I really enjoyedIf this is not your first blizzard game, you should have known better. I have never seen a single smooth Blizzard launch. People are giving this game 0 scores while they haven't even played it, they are just raging and spoiled 12 year olds who can't play their game after their day of school, or people acting like them. I have currently played 4-5 hours into the story, and I really enjoyed myself, that is what I base my score on. Expand
  25. May 18, 2012
    9
    Good heavens Metacritic reviewers are a whiney bunch. "The launch didn't go flawlessly!" "The servers were down!"

    Ugh. Here's the skinny on the game itself, not my whining and crying and giving it a zero because I couldn't log in instantly upon launch. Did you love Diablo and Diablo II? Big surprise, you'll love Diablo III. Chopping and slaughtering my way through enemies with my friends
    Good heavens Metacritic reviewers are a whiney bunch. "The launch didn't go flawlessly!" "The servers were down!"

    Ugh. Here's the skinny on the game itself, not my whining and crying and giving it a zero because I couldn't log in instantly upon launch. Did you love Diablo and Diablo II? Big surprise, you'll love Diablo III. Chopping and slaughtering my way through enemies with my friends is a blast, and better still, we don't have to fight over loot because of the genius individualized loot in multiplayer. Better still, if you get something nice for a barbarian, yet you are playing a witch doctor, just toss it over to the barb in your group. Better chances for everyone to get loot they like the more people are playing.

    The classes each have a fun unique feel with their different sources of magic/power. The rune system is a little disappointing because everyone has access to the same set, however, I find myself switching around and trying new combinations all the time against different groups of foes and depending on whether I am solo or grouped. I know that PvP will add a whole new element to the runes as well.

    Knocking a point off for not having PvP on launch, but that just gives me time to get through the first difficulty and get on to the real loot so I can crush my enemies more effectively. Don't listen to the whiners. Diablo III is a good-looking and addictive sequel that is a ton of fun to play.
    Expand
  26. May 22, 2012
    10
    An incredibly fun game. People rating it zero are fighting an irrelevant idealistic battle. Some of the most fun I've had in a long time. The improvements over Diablo II are huge. Overall, it's simply a very very good game.
  27. May 18, 2012
    8
    While there are some issues with logins the first 2 days, I can honestly say that this game is awesome. Although a bit short and frustrating at times, I can finally kill thousands of demons with friends AGAIN. 8/10
  28. May 15, 2012
    10
    Story was amazing, and just enough change to make it interesting. I do NOT factor launch issues into the score as every online game has them. People need to suck it up and deal with that part. Someone said the game is short...but I felt D3 was longer than D2 and much more of a challenge. D2 was a cake walk and the acts were over in a gust of wind. This game has such a rich story comparedStory was amazing, and just enough change to make it interesting. I do NOT factor launch issues into the score as every online game has them. People need to suck it up and deal with that part. Someone said the game is short...but I felt D3 was longer than D2 and much more of a challenge. D2 was a cake walk and the acts were over in a gust of wind. This game has such a rich story compared to the others and it keeps you actually involved in it. The game feels like Diablo with some no twist "quest/ability system" But overall, i am in love with the game personally :D Expand
  29. May 18, 2012
    9
    Dianlo 3 is actually turned out to be a fun game to play with some friends. Needless to say the game focuses on the coop experience. The mechanics are nice, the gameplay is fun and the story is also quite decent. So yes you should definetly pick this game up, if you are interested in some good old coop fun.
    So that is all i gotta say? Nope.
    So there have been some Statements here which are
    Dianlo 3 is actually turned out to be a fun game to play with some friends. Needless to say the game focuses on the coop experience. The mechanics are nice, the gameplay is fun and the story is also quite decent. So yes you should definetly pick this game up, if you are interested in some good old coop fun.
    So that is all i gotta say? Nope.
    So there have been some Statements here which are just blitantly dumb. So I will pick up some of these to actually prove them wrong:

    Statement 1: The game is casual, therefore it is bad.
    Answer: Ok so the game is pretty much easy to access. Well so why would you say it is bad? Tetris is on e of the most casual Games out there and everyone loved it! I do not see any problem with a game being easy accessible and still being a good game.

    Statement 2: No character Customization.
    Answer: Totally wrong. Everyone is just whining about the fact that Blizzard decided to not go with the Skilltree system. Runes which can be attached to your Skills can actually change the way your skills work and therefore provide a wide range of playing styles. I found myself not knowing what combinations to choose, because there were to fricking many! By the way: Everyone who was deeply in love with the Skilltree system Diablo 2 offered should take of their Retro-goggles. Actually 70% of the Skills were either useless or not involved in any build. It was the most efficient to just skill down one path in order to dish out as many damage as possible. Synergy was all that counted.

    Statement 3: Diablo 3 is Pay2Win.
    Answer: Oh.. my... God. Would anyone please tell how the hell you can win a game that is focused around cooperative gameplay?! All that the RMAH is actually trying to prevent is that People will sell Items via ebay for high prices. That was by the way the case with Diablo 2 (you could buy runes and hellfire torches online). And the PvP System is just there on demand of the community. And what other solution is there, then to make an arena-mode where you can fight against each other. Open Wolrd PvP does not work with a hack n slay game!

    Statement 3: Diablo 3 has bad Voice-acting.
    Answer: Nope. I must admit there are plenty of weird accents in this game but it s not that bad.

    Statement 4: It looks like WoW , therefore it' s bad.
    Answer: Ok so some of the Hud elemnts are looking similiar to WoW and the chat-system is almost the same as in WoW (which is btw an evolved form of the Warcraft 3 Battlenet chat system). But actually I do not see any point there why exactly that makes Diablo 3 a bad game. WoW is not a bad game either. Actually it is a pretty good game, and the only bad thing there is to it, is that you have to pay a monthly fee. The game itself does almost anything right when it comes to MMORPG standards. And the Art-style completly differs from the one that has been used on WoW. So to end it here Diablo 3 is a damn good game that defies hack n saly mechanics. And if you look close you will notice that over 80% of the negative Reviews were posted on March 15th. So they are more people raging about the fact, that the log-in-servers were crushed by too many log ins at 12:01 than people who are actually reviewing the game.
    Expand
  30. May 16, 2012
    9
    Ok, giving a game a ZERO for having server issues on LAUNCH DAY is ridiculous, you're not a gamer, go cry somewhere else. OK, so I LOVED, Diablo 3. And I'm not a huge Diablo fanboy, I played D2 a bit, never went all the way through it, and it was pretty fun, at least what I remember of it. This time around blizzard stuns with their incredible rendered cutscenes... I really wish BlizzardOk, giving a game a ZERO for having server issues on LAUNCH DAY is ridiculous, you're not a gamer, go cry somewhere else. OK, so I LOVED, Diablo 3. And I'm not a huge Diablo fanboy, I played D2 a bit, never went all the way through it, and it was pretty fun, at least what I remember of it. This time around blizzard stuns with their incredible rendered cutscenes... I really wish Blizzard would make a movie out of their tech, the sheer quality of their cutscenes is amazing. The sound design is great, dungeons feel like dungeons, the voice acting is high calibur, and they even have a great song to listen to while you install the game, very well done Blizz. OK, now for gameplay, the game functions just as you'd think a dungeon crawler would, there's a bunch of different dungeons scattered all over the place and you must "crawl" them to find items, finish quests, etc... This works great, though some of the game is too linear for my liking, the game is fun to play. A little disappointing that there's no offline functionality... What if there's a storm that cuts the internet? Well then you can't play Diablo 3. Some gameplay elements are repetitive as crap, clicking repeatedly to kill people is really annoying, but there's enough variety in enemy types, and bosses to keep you trodding through the game. Though it would be nice if there was more customization... the weapons arent very fleshed out, with just reskinned arms granting different stat bonuses, and you can't customize your own skill trees... with all your abilities unlocking in sequence based on your level, you dont get to choose what to unlock at what time, being an RPG fan I think the ability to spend skill points and the like is a must have, and it was a bad move by blizzard to keep this out of D3. The story is farly interesting, with enough great voice acting to keep you playing through, but hey you can always skip audio and the like if you just don't care. The controls are solid, the game is fluid running at a steady 120 FPS on my machine, and it's addicting as all hell, give it some time when Blizzard works out all the kinks, and you won't regret your D3 purchase. Though being an avid loL player I wanted to remap the right and left click buttons so right was attack and move, while left was my ability... the mapping of the mouse buttons CANNOT BE CHANGED! I also think that's ridiculous. But anyway, grab some friends and diablo the crap out of your PC, it's a funtastic addicting time. Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 86
  2. Negative: 1 out of 86
  1. Aug 31, 2012
    90
    My one major complaint is that the game never feels very difficult, especially on Normal. There are frustrating moments, hordes of baddies, and increasing difficulty levels, but the same feeling of utter defeat never really happens as it did in the past.
  2. Hyper Magazine
    Jul 18, 2012
    80
    For all the game's missteps, though, you certainly can't accuse Blizzard of phoning it in - if anything, the game suffers from the tendency to try a little to hard at times to evolve the design. [Aug 2012, p.61]
  3. Jul 3, 2012
    80
    When it works, Diablo III is the best of the Diablo games. When it doesn't, all it does is make you mad. [July 2012, p.54]