Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 149 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DiRT Showdown is an arcade spin-off of the Dirt series featuring over-the-top Hoonigan, Demolition, and Race events.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. May 24, 2012
    85
    Dirt Showdown is an unexpected exploit. Thanks to an accessible gameplay, this arcade racing game is exciting and thrilling. Fast, rich in content and technically brilliant.
  2. May 24, 2012
    85
    The likes of Flatout and Motorstorm have provided ample competition in the mud-filled Americana stakes previously, but there's something about the driving model in Showdown that satisfies in a fashion that few other games manage. Whether that's a result of simple expertise or just iteration over a number of titles is something only Codies can answer, but whatever the formula was for the success, you have to be happy they've gotten here.
  3. May 24, 2012
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Jul 12, 2012
    78
    Dirt Showdown provides thrills while it lasts, but afterwards you're left wanting the deeper experience of its parents. [Sept 2012, p.60]
  5. 70
    Showdown is not such a bad game. The only problem is that its timing is totally wrong and every ace is played too soon. When you play Showdown for one hour you will have seen everything that the game has to offer. [June 2012]
  6. May 30, 2012
    70
    Playing Showdown is like to jump off the plane and then remember you have no parachute. This game is entertaining enough to get under your skin, but this state won't last forever. There is this low quality of contemporary games in general.
  7. Jun 10, 2012
    40
    DiRT: Showdown delivers bargain-basement entertainment value for the high, high price of $50. With its neutered physics, limited driving venues, clunky multiplayer, and diminished off-road racing options, discerning arcade racing fans should just write this one off as an unanticipated pothole in Codemaster's trailblazing DiRT series.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 33
  2. Negative: 16 out of 33
  1. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    Yes, it has some issues. There is some lag online at times, and some glitches. However, this game has to be the most fun derby game in a very long time, and not only that, but you can go online and have crazy matches. I think this game is severely underrated because it has the Dirt name, which disappoints previous Dirt game fans, and scares away people that didn't like Dirt 1-3. Demos are out on all platforms, and even though there isn't much to see on them, anyone who likes smashing cars owes it to themselves to play at least the demo if not the full game. Expand
  2. May 30, 2012
    9
    Good graphics and nice fun :)Yes maybe something come from Codemasters but its also nice game.Maybe not powerfull as NFS but its ok :) i recommend game for who like arcade play style racing Expand
  3. Jul 27, 2012
    8
    I don't understand why everyone hates this game. It's for people who love demo derbies. If you don't like demo derbies, don't play this one. Anyway, the game is very fun. The graphics are extremely beautiful, the car models are nice, the damage engine runs very well, and there are only a few flaws here and there. I have one major issue though: Profile corruption. When I play about 30-100 races, my profiles go corrupt, and I can't play it anymore and I have to start over, it happened many times and I finally started to quit this game. Overall, it was good while it lasted. Expand
  4. Oct 31, 2013
    5
    This game is your average demolition derby game. The graphics are great, but the damage of the cars could use improvement. Online mode is sometimes glitchy, but otherwise OK. The features in this game will first make you addicted in this game, but after, lets say 10hrs of game-play, you might just lose interest. Another average demolition game. Expand
  5. Oct 26, 2013
    4
    It's definitely a deviation from the DIRT series, which used to honor Colin McRae pretty well. Hopefully they return to a regular rally based game. There's no manual transmission option, no speedometer, just a health and refilling turbo bar in a cheesy looking tire image. The damage mechanics aren't too bad but get repetitive after a while. The cars don't feel like they have any actual variations besides models. Races themselves, especially demolition, feel like they're a crap shoot for points, the gymkhana inspired mode is perhaps the best. Overall it's quite passable. Expand
  6. May 31, 2012
    2
    I don't get all hot and bothered about names so i didn't mind playing a FlatOut style game named Dirt. Especially considering how much last FlatOut sucked. New Dirt however isn't much better. It's main problem isn't abandoning it's roots. It's the fact that it is just a poor game. Primitive tracks, primitive driving, primitive progress structure, primitive damage model. The appeal of destruction derby is missed completely. Cars get destroyed waaay too quickly. And then they respawn. There is no thinking involved. No careful trading of ones car health for opponents damage. No satisfaction of barely surviving. No challenge of driving severely damaged car (barely alive one drives like new). The only positive thing to me was car design. It's fairly imaginative. Obnoxious general style (I'm not your bro or dude FFS) forced down your throat and an annoying soundtrack from the kind of bands who are sure that any music is good if its played sufficiently loud and that lyrics do not matter as long as front man shouts them complete the picture.

    Not only isn't it a Dirt 4 (not a problem in my book) but it is also a very tasteless and pathetic attempt at a FlatOut. Avoid.
    Expand
  7. May 2, 2013
    0
    A horrible waste of time!

    This game feels like taking Blur, dumbing down the graphics a couple of years, and going back to controls from
    the early 90's (Think Destruction Derby 1). However unlike Blur the levels are ridiculously small, the selection of cars laughable and handling decidedly bad (even when taking into account that this is a arcade-game, regardless of the false marketing claims in using "DiRT" in the title). This has NOTHING to do with the "real" DiRT-games, let alone the Colin McRae-rally-games. You can't even select which gear to use anymore! If only Codemasters had the decency of giving back the money i paid for this game, because it is by far the worst game i've played for years! Oh yeah, and the menus and music makes even Dirt 3 seem quick and nice-sounding. They're ridiculously slow, and the "hey, bro"-style of the commentators and general (unskippable...) speak is painfully bad, and makes me want to choke myself in my headphones' cord.

    No matter what you're looking for, you wont find it in this game, move along!
    Expand

See all 33 User Reviews