• Publisher: Kalypso
  • Release Date: Feb 7, 2012
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Oct 13, 2011
    76
    Despite some technical issues, Disciple III: Resurrection is somewhat better than the immediate predecessor and a solid successor for the Russian TBS series.
  2. 60
    Standalone add-on cannot cover that Disciples are no match to reborn Might and Magic series. If you are a devoted fan you will probably appreciate longer playtime and the few improvements. [Christmas 2011]
  3. Oct 24, 2011
    60
    Some will find its look and concept tired and defunct, but slow paced strategy titles are still big business. If anything, it's good to have the choice of another franchise in English. It's just a shame that the potential for something great has been squandered by a lack of sheen.
  4. Jan 10, 2012
    65
    There are a few glimmers of brilliance. [Jan 2012, p.141]
  5. Nov 25, 2011
    60
    The game could have been a real gem, but its unholy learning curve and stupefying voice acting kills that dream early on.
  6. 60
    Overall, Disciples III: Resurrection is an expansion that features plenty of turn-based gaming hours, but these come bundled with technical issues and a couple of design choices that get more and more annoying as you progress through the campaign.
User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 5 out of 11
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    6
    The Good: The Game is a classic turn based strategy game with an interesting unit progression system. The game also happens to be a great time sync, and is enjoyable to play once you get into it. ================================================================================ The Bad: The game tries to be epic, and fails at being epic pretty badly due to the horrible voice acting. There's really just no excuse for the voice acting to have turned out this badly. Werewolves sound like Fred Fredburger, the heroes sound goofy, and the narrator reads his script with such an obvious lack of professionalism that players may want to turn the sound off and simply read it themselves. The cut scenes are unimmersive and unenjoyably as anything other than comedy because of the horrendous and hilarious voice acting. There are also a few bugs, and units and objects are sometimes visually poorly represented on the campaign map so it may be hard to see what you're interacting with until you get used to it. ================================================================================
    Once you get past the game's flaws though, you'll find that underneath the ridiculously horrible voice acting and somewhat buggy gameplay is an enjoyable turn based strategy game that you can easily play for days
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 15, 2011
    8
    Came across a thread where the series was being compared to HoMM(impressive in itself) with many rather positive posts. So I gave it a go. Visuals are rather impressive(at least compared to HoMM 5) and the mechanics of the game are well thought through. Whenever I couldn't do something it was always due to me not having figured something out yet. I like the idea of having to level your creatures individually instead of upgrading a building and stamping them out in vast numbers. So as far as gameplay is concerned I'm very impressed and actually prefer this to any HoMM that came after the 3rd)) The reason I'm not giving this full points is the way the story in the campaign is delivered. 50% of the time the dialog seemed like a ridiculous waffle and the character personalities seemed to be created by someone who had to do it because nobody else wanted the job. The ancient undead warlord that comes up with expressions that would make a 12 year old seem wise and mature - come on, surely it can be done better! The story itself is reasonable enough, but I'm not too familiar with Disciples lore to say whether it correspond with previous releases.
    Anyway - the gameplay is imho a good enough reason to give this a go - especially if you like the HoMM series)
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 30, 2011
    0
    I wish that I could say something to recommend this game, but given how completely absurd the only race you are allowed to play is, I cannot. Music seems just like all the other music in the series, the only race in campaign is the undead, who get 1 turn for ever 2-3 turns that their opponents get on normal difficulty, not hard, but normal. Graphics are decent for the series, but nothing to really brag about. Now before I get into more detail, please keep in mind that I have loved strategy/rpg games for years, dating back to the first Disciples games and Heroes of M&M, and typically have no issues besides a few bugs here or there that developers fix rapidly.

    The main hero in the campaign is an undead spellcaster, whose only good point is that his attacks strike all enemy targets, downside is, he has so little health he dies in 1-2 hits it seems just starting the game out, plus, he receives turns at what seems to be the slowest rate in the game. He has no real armor, no strength, no health, no initiative, or movement. The initiate is the typical spell caster, damaging all enemies within 1 hex of the target, with minimal damage. He has so little health as to negligible as well. 1-2 hits and he is done. He has the same initiative as the hero, which is to say, none.

    Skeletons, a necessary evil, but still so weak, slow, and powerless as to be unable to do anything. Movement is 2 hexes, they might be able to go turn for turn against enemies, unlike the rest of the army, but are so worthless that they are surrounded and killed within moments. Health is low-medium for a warrior-class unit, damage is around 50 points, 80 for a critical. No real armor value either.

    Thankfully I bought this game off of Steam as part of a holiday special, when it was only 2-5 dollars rather than 10 or 20. Save your money for a better game and forget about this one. When your first fight in the game is against a few wolves, or 2 goblins and 1 orc, and your army get' crushed as though it doesn't exist, then the game developers have failed horribly. Get Heroes of M&M or just play Disciples 3 Renaissance.
    Full Review »