• Publisher: Kalypso
  • Release Date: Feb 7, 2012
User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 36
  2. Negative: 14 out of 36

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 4, 2011
    3
    Ah......nope.....i don`t get it....even through i played the Disciples 3 Renaissance,it still.....same,
    and even worst,the animation was obviously poorer than D3R game,gameplay......repetitive happen.....
    Just Graphics makes the game looks great? Nah,i prefer gameplay instead of graphics.
  2. Dec 30, 2011
    0
    I wish that I could say something to recommend this game, but given how completely absurd the only race you are allowed to play is, I cannot. Music seems just like all the other music in the series, the only race in campaign is the undead, who get 1 turn for ever 2-3 turns that their opponents get on normal difficulty, not hard, but normal. Graphics are decent for the series, but nothing to really brag about. Now before I get into more detail, please keep in mind that I have loved strategy/rpg games for years, dating back to the first Disciples games and Heroes of M&M, and typically have no issues besides a few bugs here or there that developers fix rapidly.

    The main hero in the campaign is an undead spellcaster, whose only good point is that his attacks strike all enemy targets, downside is, he has so little health he dies in 1-2 hits it seems just starting the game out, plus, he receives turns at what seems to be the slowest rate in the game. He has no real armor, no strength, no health, no initiative, or movement. The initiate is the typical spell caster, damaging all enemies within 1 hex of the target, with minimal damage. He has so little health as to negligible as well. 1-2 hits and he is done. He has the same initiative as the hero, which is to say, none.

    Skeletons, a necessary evil, but still so weak, slow, and powerless as to be unable to do anything. Movement is 2 hexes, they might be able to go turn for turn against enemies, unlike the rest of the army, but are so worthless that they are surrounded and killed within moments. Health is low-medium for a warrior-class unit, damage is around 50 points, 80 for a critical. No real armor value either.

    Thankfully I bought this game off of Steam as part of a holiday special, when it was only 2-5 dollars rather than 10 or 20. Save your money for a better game and forget about this one. When your first fight in the game is against a few wolves, or 2 goblins and 1 orc, and your army get' crushed as though it doesn't exist, then the game developers have failed horribly. Get Heroes of M&M or just play Disciples 3 Renaissance.
    Expand
  3. Jun 27, 2012
    3
    i loved Disciples I for its awesome visual style and laconic jRPG battles, Disciples II was kinda good as well (although AI was total brain dead), played the game for all races and all the expansions. i didn't bother with Disciples III: Renaissance because of very low ratings, but decided to give Resurrection a go. ================================================================================ boy, what a frustration! the very first map, normal difficulty. i can kill the first mob but on the second one (2 squires and 2 archers) i lose my melee unit no matter how many times i try. i can not kill the third one (since it has lvl9 wolf). i just can't get how am i supposed to play? wait several turns doing nothing waiting for enough money-mana to spam spells? wait 50 turns to buy a werewolf? or do continuous corpse-runs? that's not what i would call 'fun' or 'strategic'. ================================================================================ second. health of my units doesn't replenish after battle, okay. but again, what am i supposed to do, return to town/fountain after _every_ battle? wait several turns after _every_ battle? (only works if i chose to be a warrior lord btw). do i miss something here? why not make a proper tutorial then?
    ================================================================================ third. new unit attributes (end|str|agi|int|dex) were implemented in the most confusing way possible. tooltip says that strength gives melee attack power, intellect - magical one, dexterity - ranged. okay. the very first hero Salaar - his info says that:
    * his class is a Mage, * attack type: ranged, * attack source: weapon.
    screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/GyCn0.jpg
    so what attribute would increase his attack power? after some thought i would guess that it's dexterity (since he's clearly ranged unit, and his attack type isn't magical despite him being a mage). but no, dex does nothing for him, you should put points to str to gain anything. where's the logic in that? other units are pretty confusing in the same way (thug is melee but his main attributes are both str and dex, wtf?)
    ================================================================================ i can go on an on (like i built rogues|thugs building and can't find anywhere what it 'unlocks' or how can i use it) but i put here enough letters already, thanks for reading. ================================================================================ TL;DR: D3: Resurrection is hard in a 'cheap' way and pretty confusing, both gameplay and user interface. i wish they would make true D1-2 remake the next time.
    Expand
  4. Jan 13, 2012
    1
    This game is an insult to the strategy genre. The AI is lousy. The story is just a web to force you to walk long agonizing distances for english dialog the looks cobbled together by 3 germans and a first grader.
  5. Aug 9, 2014
    3
    The game continues the spirit of the Disciples series, but at a much lower quality. There are several annoying bugs, as well as some that are plain gamebreaking, which makes it all seem half-assed. It feels more repetivite than the previous games, and the campaign is either too easy or too hard, there doesn't seem to be any middle ground.
    If you loved the previous games, you may enjoy
    this one as well for a short time, but it isn't really worth the money. Expand
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. 60
    Standalone add-on cannot cover that Disciples are no match to reborn Might and Magic series. If you are a devoted fan you will probably appreciate longer playtime and the few improvements. [Christmas 2011]
  2. Jan 10, 2012
    65
    There are a few glimmers of brilliance. [Jan 2012, p.141]
  3. 60
    Overall, Disciples III: Resurrection is an expansion that features plenty of turn-based gaming hours, but these come bundled with technical issues and a couple of design choices that get more and more annoying as you progress through the campaign.