Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jun 10, 2013
    65
    Don’t expect to witness the events of the original game in a new light. Daud, the new player character, has a story of his own that is spread thin over three disappointingly short missions.
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    80
    Some great level design and new abilities await those who take this welcome return to Dunwall, but we wish the visit lasted longer. [June 2013, p.90]
  3. May 31, 2013
    73
    A disappointingly uneven offering. [June 2013, p.96]
  4. May 13, 2013
    89
    The Knife of Dunwall is a very good DLC for a great game! [May 2013]
  5. May 13, 2013
    80
    Revisiting Dunwall was very rewarding and also motivated me to complete the original campaign of this great game for the second time. [CD-Action 06/2013, p.77]
  6. May 6, 2013
    70
    Still, if you loved Dishonored as much as I did, The Knife of Dunwall is worth your time; just be prepared for more of the same and less of the extraordinary. Except for Daud. Daud’s cool.
  7. Apr 24, 2013
    80
    Fortunately by being just generally being more challenging for both stealth and action gamers Knife of Dunwall is a decent piece of DLC no matter how it’s sliced. There may be only two real missions over five levels but there’s so much packed in those levels that I spend a good few days exploring them, and was left fully satisfied.
  8. Apr 23, 2013
    78
    While The Knife of Dunwall suffers in the story department, almost everything else about the pack is extremely well-polished, and the pathways through each mission are diverse and intricate, even if they’re not all as exciting as what’s in the main game.
  9. Apr 23, 2013
    93
    If you enjoyed Dishonored you know exactly what you are in for here.
  10. Apr 22, 2013
    85
    The Knife of Dunwall is clever and exciting, an enticing invitation to dive back into the engrossing world of Dishonored.
  11. Apr 22, 2013
    80
    After finishing Dishonored I wanted more, and The Knife of Dunwall gives me exactly that. Hell, at moments I even completely forgot that I was no longer playing Corvo, as both he and Daud do play in generally the same way.
  12. Apr 22, 2013
    70
    Who would say no to more background for Dishonored ? Especially if it's about taking control of a character as interesting as Daud, master assassin... There is not so much new stuff in The Knife of Dunwall, but more difficult levels that stealth fans will love.
  13. Apr 19, 2013
    80
    Almost exactly what it needs to be. Familiar without feeling the same, comprehensible but more demanding.
  14. Apr 19, 2013
    88
    Although playing as Daud might seem a strange choice, his complex life lends itself to an interesting narrative. This interesting narrative offers new insights into the city of Dunwall and one of the original game’s most unsympathetic characters.
  15. Apr 19, 2013
    84
    These missions don’t quite reach the same heights as the main campaign’s best moments, and we miss Corvo’s abilities more than we appreciate Daud’s (the constant companionship of that creepy heart Corvo carried around meant more to us than we realised), but there’s more effort, imagination and fun across these levels than plenty of big releases manage across their entire lengths.
  16. Apr 18, 2013
    75
    The Knife of Dunwall is satisfying to play, but fails to build much momentum in its story.
  17. Apr 18, 2013
    86
    This episode is the beginning for the Daud character, and offers an enjoyable alternative for Dishonored's storyline.
  18. Apr 18, 2013
    90
    Play it with care and attention, and this is another six hours or so of Dishonored for a mere £8. In short, this is the DLC I've been waiting for since October of last year.
  19. Apr 18, 2013
    85
    Despite the two-part approach, Knife of Dunwall is DLC done right. It takes the core fundamentals from the original game without sacrificing the integrity of it and provides its own spin on the formula. Honestly, at this point I wish Daud was the main character of Dishonored to begin with. If you even slightly enjoyed Dishonored, this is a no-brainer.
  20. Apr 17, 2013
    85
    After Dunwall City Trials, The Knife of Dunwall is a more "traditional" DLC that offers good quality and quantity of content. It's almost like a digest version of Dishonored, with the same kind of exploration, freedom and replayability. There's a bit of "been there, done that" feeling with the locations, but it's kind of inevitable. Fans of the original game should not miss it.
  21. Apr 16, 2013
    80
    Dishonored has a good DLC in The Knife of Dunwall. Daud's story begins, with average length, but some adjustments that make it fun to kill and hide. It's more accurate, and very dark and challenging.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 159 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    8
    Knife of Dunwall is more or less the same as the base game of Dishonored; well put together, but can be short depending on your playstyle. The only area that felt 'new' to me was the slaughterhouse, and the abilities/items added didn't really do a good job of differentiating Daud from Corvo. Still, a story about Dunwall is always welcome. Full Review »
  2. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    Very minor spoiler. The knife of Dunwall adds 3 big maps to the game.The first map is set in Rothchild Slaughterhouse, a huge factory where the not-so-good people of Dunwall process whale oil. I felt sorry for poor whales and fishes while I snaked my way through rooms filled with gutted sharks, meat hanging from hooks and blood everywhere. The whole map had a very inhumane and dark mood to it. You can also read books about the cruel methods of whaling here (Perfect anti whaling game). On this map you can fight with a new type of enemy that is hard to take down in combat. The second map is set on the wealthier city district, including a huge building which was fun to sneak through and rob. The third map is set on a map familiar from Dishonored: Daud's base. Every map is rather huge with many ways to approach every enemy and situation. Side quest, lethal or non-lethal mission are also present. There are some new weapons (electric mines, Choke Gas etc.) and some new powers and bone-charms. Overall I enjoyed the game, and will do a second play through. The story was good, but felt unfinished (I guess other campaign DLC's will explain and further develop some thing.) Overall Knife of Dunwall adds some memorable gaming hours to the original game, and further expand the lure of the world. Recommended. Full Review »
  3. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    Now I had no problem with Corvo, but Daud was a much more interesting character to play. The claim of new powers is basically false, they are simply slightly altered versions of Corvo's powers. However the change to Blink added alot of fun and made up for it, imo. At 10 bucks for this DLC it is JUST worth the price, a dollar more and I would have had to down-rate it. Unlike when I ended Corvo's story, I found myself wanting more of Daud when I ended the DLC. Full Review »