Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 156 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In The Knife of Dunwall you assume the role of Daud, the legendary assassin who killed the Empress, and access his weapons, gadgets, allies and supernatural abilities. After assassinating the Empress, and forever changing the fate of Dunwall, you embark on a search for redemption. The Outsider reveals the key to your atonement, but who-or what-is Delilah? Accompanied by the Whalers, your loyal band of mercenary assassins, your search will take you through never-before-seen districts of Dunwall as you face off against new and terrible foes. Employ a unique arsenal of new weapons and powers that enhance Dishonored's dynamic combat, mobility and stealth systems. In the struggle to hang onto the last shred of your humanity, the choices you make will ultimately determine your fate. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Apr 23, 2013
    93
    If you enjoyed Dishonored you know exactly what you are in for here.
  2. May 13, 2013
    89
    The Knife of Dunwall is a very good DLC for a great game! [May 2013]
  3. Apr 18, 2013
    86
    This episode is the beginning for the Daud character, and offers an enjoyable alternative for Dishonored's storyline.
  4. Apr 16, 2013
    80
    Dishonored has a good DLC in The Knife of Dunwall. Daud's story begins, with average length, but some adjustments that make it fun to kill and hide. It's more accurate, and very dark and challenging.
  5. May 13, 2013
    80
    Revisiting Dunwall was very rewarding and also motivated me to complete the original campaign of this great game for the second time. [CD-Action 06/2013, p.77]
  6. Apr 22, 2013
    80
    After finishing Dishonored I wanted more, and The Knife of Dunwall gives me exactly that. Hell, at moments I even completely forgot that I was no longer playing Corvo, as both he and Daud do play in generally the same way.
  7. Jun 10, 2013
    65
    Don’t expect to witness the events of the original game in a new light. Daud, the new player character, has a story of his own that is spread thin over three disappointingly short missions.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    Well, I am a fan of Dishonored, and I decided to buy this DLC. And it's really awesome. This story about Daud is perfect. This DLC helps you to understand his actions. If you have some money and Dishonored, you should buy it. Expand
  2. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    [DishonoredDLC KnifeOfDunwall BrigmoreWitches Steam PC 9/10]

    Dishonored takes the top honor as the best game I ever played…. and the DLCs
    are the best DLCs I have ever played. This is the same review for both DLCs The Knife of Dunwall and The Brigmore Witches and they should be played back to back.

    At first I was Sad to play the first DLC I started with a new character The Assassin Daud. I was Sad that all the character building and equipment was lost…. but this quickly changed I was still very good because of all the skill I picked up through the first campaign and Daud begins to level up…. and I chose different skill tree sets and then I was happy very happy…. The storyline and goals are as fun and the maps as great. KnifeOfDunwallBrigmoreWitches is really all one game. And be forewarned choices you made in the primary campaign come back to surprise you. Salivate you Pavlov dog Add to Cart and Enjoy.

    [MyPC 2011] i7-2600K 3.4GHz ASUS Z68 ProGen3 8G RAM Radeon 6870 W7 PRO SP1 Samsung 275T @1920x1200 Logitech G15 Kensington ExpertMouse

    [MyFavorites] [ExcitedAbout] BrokenAge [NowPlaying] TombRaider [Win7] Dishonored KnifeOfDunwall BrigmoreWitches TheDreamMachine Ep1-4 30FlightsOfLoving Fez BioshockInfinite Antichamber Stacking Metro2033 Rochard Crysis&Warhead&2 JustCause2 Rage [XP] Papo&Yo DeuxExHR&TheMissingLink DeadSpace1&2 Fallout3&NewVegas HalfLife1&2 Bordelands1&2 BatmanArkumAsylum AssassinsCreed Magicka RedFaction Portal1&2 FromDust MrRobot Sam&MaxSeasons1&2 CulpaInnata TheSecretOfMonkeyIsland DreamfallTheLongestJourney Syberia1&2 CrayonPhysicsDeluxe DefenseGridTheAwakening PlantsVsZombies Prototype Bioshock1&2 UnrealTournament3 Quake4 [360] AfroSamurai BrutalLegends [XBOX] HALO KOTOR1&2 Crackdown ArmedAndDangerous AggressiveInline BeyondGoodAndEvil DeadOrAlive1&2&3&ExtremeBeachVolleyball Psychonauts [AppleG4] FullThrottle DeusExMachina ONI ReturnToZork Suspended UnrealTournament TombRaiderSeries [Born] 1964 [PS: I do not know anybody who works in the game industry I just enjoy games
    Expand
  3. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    Very minor spoiler. The knife of Dunwall adds 3 big maps to the game.The first map is set in Rothchild Slaughterhouse, a huge factory where the not-so-good people of Dunwall process whale oil. I felt sorry for poor whales and fishes while I snaked my way through rooms filled with gutted sharks, meat hanging from hooks and blood everywhere. The whole map had a very inhumane and dark mood to it. You can also read books about the cruel methods of whaling here (Perfect anti whaling game). On this map you can fight with a new type of enemy that is hard to take down in combat. The second map is set on the wealthier city district, including a huge building which was fun to sneak through and rob. The third map is set on a map familiar from Dishonored: Daud's base. Every map is rather huge with many ways to approach every enemy and situation. Side quest, lethal or non-lethal mission are also present. There are some new weapons (electric mines, Choke Gas etc.) and some new powers and bone-charms. Overall I enjoyed the game, and will do a second play through. The story was good, but felt unfinished (I guess other campaign DLC's will explain and further develop some thing.) Overall Knife of Dunwall adds some memorable gaming hours to the original game, and further expand the lure of the world. Recommended. Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2013
    8
    If you've been wanting more Dishonroed, and you weren't really interested in the Dunwall City Trials Pack like i was, then Knife of Dunwall is for you. I wish I could say that this DLC is perfect, but it isn't. For as many things as it does right, it does quite a few wrong. The story, for one, is a bit lacking in narrative. The main character you'll be playing as, Daud, is a bit flat. He doesn't seem quite as fleshed out as I was hoping he would be. They start off the story with him being a bit remorseful over the killing of the Empress but they quickly drop that. I won't go any further than that, but suffice it to say the story is every bit as flat and uninteresting as the main story's was. However, the DLC does do qutie a number of things right. For one, it's more Dishonored. So you can expect more fantastic and awe-inspiring locales to visit. The first place, called "Rothschild Slaughterhouse", is probably the best in the pack of 3 places you'll visit. The second, the "Legal District", is pretty interesting if not a bit recycled. The third, which is "Daud's Hideout", is completely recycled. Im hoping the next pack, which will be entitled "Bridgmoore Witches", will have more locales like "Rothschild Slaughterhouse". The gameplay is pretty much the same with the exception of a couple more gadgets which are unfortunately essentially useless if you plan on playing this full stealth. Hopefully the next pack can give us stealth players a few more options other than the sleep dart and the choking option. Suffice it to say, though, that this pack is worth picking up for $10. It should give you about 10 hours or so if you plan on sucking it all in and playing on stealth. If you like to go full bore and shoot everything up, expect maybe 2 or 3 hours. Expand
  5. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    Dishonored: The Knife of Dunwall, where you play as master assassin Daud, is a nice experience, instead of playing Corvo, who seeks revenge and to complete his noble quest, you instead play as Daud, who works for his own benefit. His weapon of choice is his assassins blade, wristbow, his equipment and a hint of dark magic. The Knife of Dunwall is quite a nice little campaign even though it's only 3 maps. Daud's own spells and weaponry are so much better than Corvos, which gives it more enjoyment. I definately recommend. Expand
  6. Apr 25, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a love letter to fans of Dishonored who really liked Daud and was interested in who and what the Outsider is to others, The way the game starts *minor spoiler* with Jessamine Kaldwin's assassination from Daud's perspective really draws you in and just doesn't let you down! Expand
  7. Sep 18, 2013
    5
    Got this in the summer steam sale. I think I would have given this a higher score if I hadn't just beaten Bioshock Infinite right beforehand. Comparatively, this one nowhere near as compelling, especially where the story is concerned. I didn't finish the game out of boredom and having gone to play something else. Collapse

See all 22 User Reviews