Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Nov 9, 2012
    75
    Dishonored rarely challenges the players, but it doesn't take them for fools, either, so that's an achievement compared to other games in the genre. Just don't expect strokes of genius like the Shalebridge Cradle level from Thief: Deadly Shadows.
  2. Oct 18, 2012
    85
    You could say that Dishonored has a sufficient amount of alternative paths and mission outcomes to warrant several playthroughs (again, something you won't find in many games today). The PC version was spared of a few graphical issues that appear to be plaguing the consoles editions, so I guess that's another good reason to go with this variant.
  3. Oct 8, 2012
    90
    Pure FPS fans may not be too excited and there are a few minor problems, but this is a rare gem that anyone looking for a more cerebral action game should be paying serious attention to. And by "paying serious attention", I mean that you should buy it.
  4. 100
    Dishonored made me feel like a person struggling to retain the things that were important to me in a world gone mad. It goes beyond "role-playing" to challenge players to draw their own personal moral line in the sand, but does so without being preachy or judgmental.
  5. Oct 7, 2012
    90
    It's a rare delight to play a game with such consistency of vision, its art design, level architecture, rulesets, storylines and writing all working in lockstep.
  6. 100
    It should be a crime not to play this amazing videogame. Please, do not miss this adventure, let CorvoAttano conquer your heart.
  7. Oct 11, 2012
    90
    Arkane Studios gives us a hybrid single player experience between a first person shooter and a stealth game. Telling a dystopian world, with fun gameplay and astonishing design, Dishonored is one of the best experience in this late 2012.
  8. Oct 7, 2012
    88
    The console versions of Dishonored have more graphical hiccups like framerate issues and screen tearing (especially on PS3). The textures look a little muddy no matter how you play, but go for PC if you have the option.
  9. Oct 8, 2012
    90
    But in most other respects this is an incredibly assured first-person adventure that grants a dozen hours of top-notch escapism in a brilliantly fleshed-out world, and practically demands an immediate replay so that all its delights may be sampled.
  10. Oct 27, 2012
    90
    Dishonored is a love letter to everyone who has longed for more stealth action games in the vein of Thief. With its vast levels, openness, and its plethora of different ways of play this is a game that should be a great fit for practically everyone.
  11. Oct 10, 2012
    95
    Dishonored is one of the defining games of this generation... A dark, stirring and beautiful game. The new Master Assassin. [Dec 2012, p.63]
  12. Oct 15, 2012
    90
    A candidate for the game of the year. This game is the most important title for all of you, Thief fans. A vengeance story becomes the gamer's freedom with countless choices how to deal with countless missions. I assure you that even after the credits roll you are going to return to Dunwall again and again.
  13. Oct 7, 2012
    90
    It's a rare game that feels so compulsively replayable, but Dishonored is such a game. The compelling abilities, the bold artistic design, the colorful characters, and above all, the freedom of choice--these are the things that mark Dishonored as one of the truly remarkable games of this year.
  14. Oct 7, 2012
    90
    Drawing its strength from such greats as Thief, BioShock, Batman: Arkham City, and Portal, Arkane Studios' latest manages to deliver that magical formula of intimately familiar and refreshingly new. It doesn't shine as brightly as it should on PC, and it might not offer the challenge stealth-action fans are used to, but it's an impressive accomplishment that immediately stands out as one of the best things we've seen this year.
  15. Oct 8, 2012
    84
    Quotation forthcoming.
  16. Oct 8, 2012
    93
    Whether you like to sneak, like to slay mercilessly, or somewhere in between, there is something here for you. Dishonored is very easily a contender for Game of the Year.
  17. Oct 17, 2012
    95
    Many contemporary action games lead the player through a script-filled corridor and Dishonored is a breath of fresh air in this particular area. The developers have proven that there is still a place for new brands and unique ideas. The concept of a small, simulated virtual world has been pushed further than ever before. Freedom in Dishonored is greater than in the Thief and Deus Ex series, but basic gameplay elements - combat, movement and stealth - are pristine as well. Arkane's game is simply a great achievement.
  18. Oct 10, 2012
    80
    Dishonored is as if Deus Ex had a beautiful child with Bioshock whose ancestors were that of Half-Life descent. While it certainly has its issues, such as a plot that isn't as fleshed out as it could be, and low-resolution textures inhabiting the world, it's still one of the better new intellectual properties this year. By offering multiple combat systems, a superbly crafted world and a high volume of alternate paths to take, Dishonored accomplishes great feats that will pave the way for future action-adventure games.
  19. Oct 7, 2012
    92
    It's a shame that Dishonored's story isn't greater than the sum of its decidedly memorable parts, but its gameplay absolutely is.
  20. Oct 8, 2012
    95
    If you can buy one game in 2012, it should be Dishonored. From production to its ingenious gameplay, Arkhane Studios' title is outstanding, with its multiple references to many games such as Deus Ex, Thief, Bioshock or Half Life 2. It's simple, Dishonored is a 2-in-1 game you can finish either with violence and lots of action sequences, or with discretion, applying stealth strategies to kill your enemies without being seen.
  21. 100
    Dishonored injects new life into stealth actions and their sophisticated worlds. Awesome work in every detail. [Nov 2012]
  22. Oct 8, 2012
    91
    This is a wonderful game if you're going to play it in stealth mode and use all the time you need to plan your assassination. And you have to do it in that way!
  23. Oct 16, 2012
    85
    While I am disappointed that the story failed to deliver in the end, Dishonored is still easily a top contender for Game of the Year 2012. The gameplay is just that fun and special.
  24. Oct 7, 2012
    92
    A gorgeous, complex and slick assassination sim, with fascinating systems to play with and huge open levels to explore.
  25. 91
    Sporting a memorable combination of superb stealth gameplay and gripping action, Dishonored offers simply one of the best single-player experiences in videogames this year.
  26. 90
    We can draw comparisons with other titles all day, but everything is based on something. Dishonored remains a unique gem in a beautiful, yet chaotic world, with flawless gameplay. [December 2012]
  27. Oct 28, 2012
    100
    Dark, ambiguous and deathly refined, Dishonored delivers a world as strikingly beautiful as the stacked simulations within. A masterpiece. [Nov 2012, p.58]
  28. Oct 10, 2012
    94
    While the teleporting seems like a cheap alternative to a proper climbing mechanism, Dishonored is still a first class sneak'em up. It manages to find a perfect balance between linear storytelling and free-form gameplay. The unique visual stylings make the game all the more enjoyable. [Oct 2012, p.17]
  29. Oct 8, 2012
    90
    The guys at Arkane crafted a fine gem. It's been a while since we had so much freedom and such an amazing gameplay in a title. Chapeau.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2773 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 54 out of 568
  1. Oct 16, 2012
    4
    I have learned my lesson. Never again will I trust the word of a video game "journalist." It's quite obvious these guys are being paid forI have learned my lesson. Never again will I trust the word of a video game "journalist." It's quite obvious these guys are being paid for favorable reviews. My fault for ever believing them, I guess. Dishonored is a shallow, boring, tedious game. The stealth mechanic- so highly touted in previews and trailers- is utterly lacking in complexity and challenge. "Blink" behind a guy, choke him to sleep, stash his body in a dumpster, rinse, repeat. That's the whole game right there. It gets old very quickly, as do the sword fighting and gunslinging. Playing with all the toys in your arsenal is fun at first, but the charm quickly wears off and descends into boredom. The story is thin as matzo. The setting is cool, sure, but no effort is put into characterization, especially with Corvo- yet another dull, silent protagonist- and the game suffers for it. You don't care about the heroes, and you don't hate the villains. The big twist isn't shocking in the least, and the ending feels rushed and incomplete. The writing is passable, but nothing special. This dreck would barely earn a C in an entry level creative writing course. The graphics and art design are Dishonored's saving grace. Dunwall is gorgeously realized, and the game runs beautifully on the PC. The world Arkane has created is truly a work of art. If only they had harnessed its full potential. In the hands of a better developer, this game could have reached its full potential. Full Review »
  2. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    I haven't quite completed the game yet, but after 15 hours in (i'm quite close to the end, on normal difficulty with all ui elements disabled)I haven't quite completed the game yet, but after 15 hours in (i'm quite close to the end, on normal difficulty with all ui elements disabled) I have more or less come to a conclusion about the game.

    It's **** fantastic. Very well may be the best money I spent all year on games.

    The stealth is engaging, the combat is visceral, the story is interesting, the visuals (i.e. environment design, art direction) are phenomenal -- probably the best I've seen since say, Bioshock. I wish I could give it a 10, but there's minor issues here and there that keep it from being perfect -- but it's definitely above a 9. 9.5 maybe.

    Wow!
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 10, 2012
    4
    Although not a horrific game, I think this is a step back for the "Deus Ex genre" - or whatever you want to call it. A hybrid of stealth andAlthough not a horrific game, I think this is a step back for the "Deus Ex genre" - or whatever you want to call it. A hybrid of stealth and action - the action falls flat. You can run and gun in this game, but there's no omph to it. It's on par with the original Deus Ex in terms of pure gunplay. Or, maybe that's too generous - Deus Ex gives you a wide array of weapons over a decade ago. In Dishonored, you have three kinds of bolts to hurl with your tiny dart-slinger, and a shabby pistol. Action just isn't there, with gameplay revolving around running straight at enemies, using up your small ammunition stockpile, and then chugging mana potions while you hurl rats and wind about. There's very little to engage you, as most of the levels are extremely linear if you choose to take the action route. ||| The stealth side of things is better than I was expecting, but most of the depth of stealth is lost thanks to Blink. Granted, you can choose not to use the spell, but the stealth is balanced around it. And choosing not to use it simply makes every level a chore. In Deus Ex, sneaking involves passing through guard patrols, crawling through vents, utilizing security systems, and hacking. In Dishonored, stealth is patiently waiting about for your enemies to turn their heads toward the sea for a moment and seldom more than that. Occasionally you encounter a security system you need to bypass, but the ways of approaching those security systems involve blink, at least until you can slow down time. ||| What I'm trying to imply is that the depth of choice in Dishonored falls a little flat. It's easy to see that they tried, but the most striking failure of Dishonored is its lame level design. For a game as short as it is ( Full Review »