User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 116 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 116
  2. Negative: 35 out of 116

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DuV
    Jan 5, 2009
    6
    I feel the story and atmosphere which Doom 3 was all about, lacking, but having parts with time limits ,(air or toxic suite ticking down), makes you really appriciate the new "time stop" artifact, as it's what gets you through those moments of 10hp left and in deep dodo. Obviously, to get these experiences, you need to play at Veteran difficulty, else I reckon it'd be just a I feel the story and atmosphere which Doom 3 was all about, lacking, but having parts with time limits ,(air or toxic suite ticking down), makes you really appriciate the new "time stop" artifact, as it's what gets you through those moments of 10hp left and in deep dodo. Obviously, to get these experiences, you need to play at Veteran difficulty, else I reckon it'd be just a bore! So, not bad, not great, scary enough when played on the right difficulty, I just arrived at Delta labs to be teleported to hell, looking forward to the change of scenery! Expand
  2. AnsonG.
    Aug 1, 2006
    0
    In future ID company can best serve their versatility by never doing anything like this again.
  3. Joggeri
    Jun 4, 2005
    8
    Nice... not great but better than most shooters.
  4. GoatBoy
    Apr 10, 2005
    2
    Do you like power cells? I hope you like power cells. You see, for the first five levels of the game, you're going to be rummaging through areas looking for power cells. Man, is that fun or what? I think it takes a lot of arrogance to release an expansion pack which ignores almost all of the flaws of the original. It seemed all they cared about improving were the double-barreled Do you like power cells? I hope you like power cells. You see, for the first five levels of the game, you're going to be rummaging through areas looking for power cells. Man, is that fun or what? I think it takes a lot of arrogance to release an expansion pack which ignores almost all of the flaws of the original. It seemed all they cared about improving were the double-barreled shotgun and the gravity gun. I could forgive that if they had spent their imagination and creativity on some other aspect of the game... But I'm hard pressed to figure out what exactly they were trying to do, other than prove that Nerve is apparently staffed by a bunch of 12-year olds. Instead of "scaring" me or building up a plot that got me interested in the game, I found myself actually laughing at stuff. Did anyone else just flat out laugh when they got to the room with the "glowing balls zipping back and forth"? And what's with Dr. Elizabeth McBoob? Who was the schizo retard that designed that character? It's like whoever was designing the character couldn't make up their mind about what they wanted. Ah well, puberty will do that to a game developer. I could go on and on, but suffice to say, this expansion pack just isn't very fun. Expand
  5. Lisch
    Apr 22, 2005
    9
    For some reason, the geeking community has a bee in their bonnett regarding doom 3. Perhaps they feel if the admit it is good, it will encroach upon their beloved Half lifes' recognition (for some reason geeks/gamers feel they have a stake in HL2). But anyone saying this game is "terrible" or "sucks" is just plain lying. Like someone saying "this whopper burger is DISGUSTING!" as For some reason, the geeking community has a bee in their bonnett regarding doom 3. Perhaps they feel if the admit it is good, it will encroach upon their beloved Half lifes' recognition (for some reason geeks/gamers feel they have a stake in HL2). But anyone saying this game is "terrible" or "sucks" is just plain lying. Like someone saying "this whopper burger is DISGUSTING!" as they stuff it all in their mouths enjoying every last bite. The game has the best graphics ever seen in a computer game, along with the original doom 3, the game design and presentation is brilliant. It does lack a little in originality. but for an arcade style shooter with a bit of story, its great. Expand
  6. JS
    Apr 22, 2005
    2
    Gravity Gun Rip Off: -25% Same Repetitive Gameplay: -25% Same Friggen Monsters: -25% No engaging storyline: -25% Same Friggen Environments: -50% No Multiplayer Co-Op: -50% Complete ignorance of capabilities of GUI Surfaces: -75% Intolerable Ignorance of weapons balance: -75% - Total: -350% Double Barrel Shotgun: +50% Comparability to other similar games: +320% - Final score: 20%
  7. SteveoT.
    Apr 30, 2005
    1
    if you enjoyed playing doom 3 then you need help and deserve to waste your money on this pap. anybody who thinks this is a good game really needs help or work for id. check out something worthwhile like half life 2 instead, that game lives up to it hype, unlike this crap, shame on you reviewers.
  8. KevC.
    Apr 7, 2005
    0
    Gow awful. I mean it too. this is terrible. what a huge dissapointment. I had such mediocre hopes for this, and now they are crushed. This really is terrible.
  9. Sean
    Apr 8, 2005
    4
    Slapped-together. Gimmicky. Annoying. This 'expansion' truly shows what happens when you take a class A+ title and try to further it without the writing and design skills that built the original. The D3 engine is a beautiful tool for creating engaging worlds, but in the hands of less competant individuals it clearly isn't enough by itself to form a worthwhile title. Wait Slapped-together. Gimmicky. Annoying. This 'expansion' truly shows what happens when you take a class A+ title and try to further it without the writing and design skills that built the original. The D3 engine is a beautiful tool for creating engaging worlds, but in the hands of less competant individuals it clearly isn't enough by itself to form a worthwhile title. Wait till this bugger is in the bargain bin and you're desperate for a 1st-person shooter, until then don't bother. Expand
  10. AlBee
    May 16, 2005
    10
    Great game. Unmissable.
  11. JamieS.
    Jun 5, 2005
    4
    God what a boring game. ID put all their efforts into the visuals - which are good. But hey, guys, what about the game??? The best "plot" they could come up with was a futuristic setting (Mars) with retro-style zombies etc attacking you. For god's sake, that was the original Doom too!!! The extra interaction (a PDA that communicates with you and gives you logs etc and panels you can God what a boring game. ID put all their efforts into the visuals - which are good. But hey, guys, what about the game??? The best "plot" they could come up with was a futuristic setting (Mars) with retro-style zombies etc attacking you. For god's sake, that was the original Doom too!!! The extra interaction (a PDA that communicates with you and gives you logs etc and panels you can click a mouse on) was done in 1994 by the original System shock! (Eleven years ago !!!) It's a damn shame. Here we have a game by coding wizards who unfortunately are content morons. These guys should stick to writing engines, and let somebody else make games. The problem is, this is what people have been telling them for years - and they still haven't learned. Unless they change their ways ID is DOOMED. Expand
  12. AlBundy
    Jun 7, 2005
    5
    I got screwed buying doom 3, so this one I checked on the friends machiene before i commit. Bottom line: mindless walking around, zombies, dark places, then more zombies...all over again.
  13. ArmageddonPotato
    Jun 5, 2006
    5
    IMO this was better than doom 3 itself, as the slowdown effects were new. The ghetto gravity gun was obviously ripped off from hl2, but honestly anything they can learn from better FPS games is fine by me, they need to study =/. It's still the same all graphics little/no gameplay.
  14. BlueDive
    Dec 1, 2005
    10
    Truly loved this; excellent add-on to Doom3!
  15. AndyDennis
    Mar 30, 2005
    0
    Terrible, terrible game, cmon! try and be original! copying the half-life 2 grav gun word for word? how pathetic! halo 2 succeds where this game fails, and that is in every aspect imaginable. The final boss turns out to be a angel, and you have to kill him using the "love" of mankind. WTF! what were they smoking?! this is horrible! Wow! i still cant believe how much money i spent buyingTerrible, terrible game, cmon! try and be original! copying the half-life 2 grav gun word for word? how pathetic! halo 2 succeds where this game fails, and that is in every aspect imaginable. The final boss turns out to be a angel, and you have to kill him using the "love" of mankind. WTF! what were they smoking?! this is horrible! Wow! i still cant believe how much money i spent buying this game, they should have payed me to play it. stupid posers. Expand
  16. Rockitmanasdfasdf
    Apr 12, 2005
    0
    This only proves that these Paid OFF game raters are a bunch of liars only rating games by how much money the developer gives them.
    I, myself always take the reviews of the end user over those inflated paid off ratings. Shame on you corporate America. Bunch of greedy liars!
    Don't buy this pitiful excuse of an expansion.
  17. s.k
    Apr 15, 2005
    1
    I have to say that this game is really bad. I paid 60$ for this game , it isn´t worth a dollar. Same sh.. just shorter.
  18. SLAYERDEATH
    Apr 26, 2005
    10
    THE EXPANSION WAS GREAT BUT SHORT IT TOOK ME 4 HOURS TO SLAY ALL OF THEM AND THE FINAL BOSS WAS DEMANDING.IT HAD EVERYTHING THAT THE ORIGINAL DIDINT ADVENTURE MORE MONSTERS AND MORE DIFFICULT ONES BETTER ENVIROMENTS AND LOTS OF SHOOTING.GUYS IF U DONT LIKE THE GAME LET ME HELP U D O N T B U Y I T !!!!!!
    GO PLAY THAT EXTREMELY BORING GAME AND OVERHYPED HALF LIFE 2 OR HALO 2 DONT
    THE EXPANSION WAS GREAT BUT SHORT IT TOOK ME 4 HOURS TO SLAY ALL OF THEM AND THE FINAL BOSS WAS DEMANDING.IT HAD EVERYTHING THAT THE ORIGINAL DIDINT ADVENTURE MORE MONSTERS AND MORE DIFFICULT ONES BETTER ENVIROMENTS AND LOTS OF SHOOTING.GUYS IF U DONT LIKE THE GAME LET ME HELP U D O N T B U Y I T !!!!!!
    GO PLAY THAT EXTREMELY BORING GAME AND OVERHYPED HALF LIFE 2 OR HALO 2 DONT TELL ME THAT THEY WERENT BORING AND GO GIVE YOUR 0 TO THEM.MY LAST WORD IS THAT 2 GAMES I ENJOYED THE PAST YEAR 1 WAS DOOM3 AND THE OTHER WAS FAR CRY AT LEAST THIS SHOULD BE CROWND KING OF GRAFICS AND NOT THAT CRAPY HALF LIFE 2
    Expand
  19. JessicaField
    Apr 6, 2005
    0
    Terrible, just terrible. the level you have to play is so short, i beat the game in 10 MINUTES! that is ridiculous, no game should be this short and make it to the shelves of game stores. the 3 weapons you have to choose from are all pretty much the same, and the gravity gun is a Cliche that i am getting sick off, and it sucks ass in this game. This game is crap, plain and simple.
  20. JaysonB.
    Apr 8, 2005
    0
    I paid $40 for an extra two short levels, the same graphics, and limited gameplay. The plot was haphazard and insignificant. No matter what any critic tells you, don't spend more than $2 on this incredible disappointment, or better yet, ill I'd give you mine, but I already threw it away. Literally.
  21. JohnM.
    Apr 9, 2005
    0
    This is the most pathetic peice of garbage i have ever played! its terrible! HOW can you play this?
  22. HorribleGame
    Apr 9, 2005
    0
    Is this for real? its so unstable i cant even play it for 3 minutes without it crashing! this sucks!
  23. AB
    May 23, 2005
    3
    Doom 3 was mediocre at best, and Resurrection of Evil can't be called "mediocre" under any circumstances. "Horrendous" will do just fine. The graphics haven't changed at all, making them the best part of the game by far. The sound and level design are the same, as well. Also on the "developer too stubborn to change it" list is the inability to hold a flashlight and a gun at the Doom 3 was mediocre at best, and Resurrection of Evil can't be called "mediocre" under any circumstances. "Horrendous" will do just fine. The graphics haven't changed at all, making them the best part of the game by far. The sound and level design are the same, as well. Also on the "developer too stubborn to change it" list is the inability to hold a flashlight and a gun at the same time. It makes for some extremely frustrating moments. Basically, id took a game that was slightly below average, and re-released it again, after the gamers have played superior games such as Resident Evil 4 and Half-Life 2. This just makes it too difficult, as we have to make the transition from great to horrid. Expand
  24. JeffS.
    Jun 27, 2005
    2
    Hire some designers who have experience, that's all I can say. It's obvious these guys had some good ideas going in, but they decided to fill the rest of the game with tired fluff, up to and including the final boss. If you got tired of Doom 3 about a quarter of the way through (I certainly did), you'll be tired of this one before you've settled into your chair. They Hire some designers who have experience, that's all I can say. It's obvious these guys had some good ideas going in, but they decided to fill the rest of the game with tired fluff, up to and including the final boss. If you got tired of Doom 3 about a quarter of the way through (I certainly did), you'll be tired of this one before you've settled into your chair. They actually put jumping puzzles and bottomless pits in this highly anticipated sequel. Tsk. Tsk. Expand
  25. JamesC.
    Aug 2, 2007
    5
    A bit less linear and boring then doom 3. However still completely mediocre gameplayer. Graphics graphics graphics, where's the gameplay? Why is it so linear? M E D I O C R E Rmeinded me of a worse Black.
  26. MatthewF.
    Apr 11, 2005
    0
    I can't believe the nerve of these game developers. Doom 3 was a huge dissapointment first of all, then for an encore they want to charge you $40 for a pile of garbage cleverly disguised as a video game? Not worth your time. Anyone who was bored to death rummaging through those endless dark cooridors with the same godamn serpent thing that you kill 5000 times, avoid this at all I can't believe the nerve of these game developers. Doom 3 was a huge dissapointment first of all, then for an encore they want to charge you $40 for a pile of garbage cleverly disguised as a video game? Not worth your time. Anyone who was bored to death rummaging through those endless dark cooridors with the same godamn serpent thing that you kill 5000 times, avoid this at all costs. Is it me, or does Mobius L's review smell like a corporate plant? Expand
  27. DanielM.
    Apr 12, 2005
    8
    I dont know what you guys are talking about it improves on almost every part of th e orignial this is an awesome game.
  28. Mike
    Apr 26, 2005
    1
    I liked doom 3, but I felt that it lacked something. I figured the expansion pack would take the game into a new direction. But guess what?? its the SAME thing, only WORST. I couldnt believe it! small enviroments! I mean come on! how boring is that!!!! same monsters, Everything is the SAME!!! Funny how it takes place 2 year after and everyone acts like "whats happening??" and that gravity I liked doom 3, but I felt that it lacked something. I figured the expansion pack would take the game into a new direction. But guess what?? its the SAME thing, only WORST. I couldnt believe it! small enviroments! I mean come on! how boring is that!!!! same monsters, Everything is the SAME!!! Funny how it takes place 2 year after and everyone acts like "whats happening??" and that gravity gun is a joke!!! I cant believe they copied Half life 2 only one thing, you pickup an object and you can see anything in front of you! they copied HL2 and made it worst.! Good job! Expand
  29. PatM.
    Apr 27, 2005
    0
    Horrible, horrible game. i really felt screwed outta something here.
  30. TheTwo
    May 24, 2005
    8
    I'm with Lisch about his comments, fanboys can get blind. About the game, was a blast. It had bad story, was a little short and the ending wasn't totally satisfactory, but the final battle, and boss battles in general, rocked, as well as some particular sequences. I liked the grabber, it felt different from HL2 gg, since it is more of a weapon and not a tool for puzzles; the I'm with Lisch about his comments, fanboys can get blind. About the game, was a blast. It had bad story, was a little short and the ending wasn't totally satisfactory, but the final battle, and boss battles in general, rocked, as well as some particular sequences. I liked the grabber, it felt different from HL2 gg, since it is more of a weapon and not a tool for puzzles; the deforming effect when you grab something is fantastic, and works as weapon balancing since you can use the grabber to catch enemy projectiles (revenant rockets included) and even small enemies. The Artifact was cooler than the Soul Cube; while you gain more powers for it, the game forces you to use them. The double barrel shotty and the new ambient effects are excellent, and with 3 simple arcade machines in the game, GUI surfaces never felt more alive. About multiplayer, CTF is quite fun but 8 players per server are still too few. Expand
  31. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    It was great to have some new weapons in the game in the expansion. The new monster zombies are cool looking and really alot of fun to kill. This expansion really makes you understand the story of it all more. If you loved playing DOOM 3 then you cant go wrong in buying this one too. I like it that it creates new ways of killing the enemies. It is alot of fun to play! It is a must buy forIt was great to have some new weapons in the game in the expansion. The new monster zombies are cool looking and really alot of fun to kill. This expansion really makes you understand the story of it all more. If you loved playing DOOM 3 then you cant go wrong in buying this one too. I like it that it creates new ways of killing the enemies. It is alot of fun to play! It is a must buy for DOOM lovers! Expand
  32. Oct 19, 2011
    3
    More of the same. A few more hours of gameplay, with a few added features (the gravity gun thing was cool, if a little derivative).If you enjoyed Doom 3, you'll enjoy this. If, like me, you weren't a fan of Doom 3, don't bother with this. I did play it all the way through to give it a fair chance, but literally the first thing I did after winning was click "uninstall".
  33. MobiusL.
    Apr 5, 2005
    9
    At last a great expansion for a great game, I know there are people out there who thought Doom III was not what it was cracked up to be, but for those of you who are fans of id Doom III you will love this expansion. Upon starting the game you are exposed to a short sequence to set the story then it
  34. [Anonymous]
    Nov 20, 2007
    6
    I don't understand how anyone can give this game a 10 or a 0. Lets try a little objectivity people. This is not a great game but there have been worse. Yes, for many of us Doom 3 has been a let down. For myself I have found it to be very boring, Mostly eye candy. I wasn't very happy with any of the weapons except for the new shotgun. The flashlight issue is also annoying. The I don't understand how anyone can give this game a 10 or a 0. Lets try a little objectivity people. This is not a great game but there have been worse. Yes, for many of us Doom 3 has been a let down. For myself I have found it to be very boring, Mostly eye candy. I wasn't very happy with any of the weapons except for the new shotgun. The flashlight issue is also annoying. The visuals though beautifully rendered become extremely repetitive. HL2 is also overated but at least has some variation in scenery and doesn't spend all of its time being too dark. Most FPS type games are linear so it amuses me that so many people are hung up that. A good FPS makes you forget that it's linear by distracting you in other ways, things like old arcade style games or giving you a little room for exploration. Doom 3 simply did not do a good job of this. There is no place to explore and nothing to find. This game also could have benefited from a more interactive environment, silly little things like being able to shoot out lightbulbs or turn lights on and off via a wall switch. It's often the little things that make a game more fun. It seems that most companies these days are spending so much time on making there games look good that they have forgotten would made this genre fun in the first place. Expand
  35. DickC.
    Sep 29, 2007
    9
    Much better than the original Doom 3 campaign. Better graphics and more interesting encounters.
  36. SimonO.
    Sep 9, 2007
    5
    You think they would of invented a gun with a flashlight attachment after the last mess on mars. Graphics are ok, mindless shoot-em-up, kept thinking to myself sarcastically "Oh look an empty room with dark corners, I sure hope nothing jumps out at me!".
  37. TimC
    Apr 28, 2008
    5
    Doom 3 was masterful, whereas Resurrection Of Evil lacked in so many areas. It did not create or even build on the same atmosphere as Doom 3, more of a gun-fest then a gritty horror. The introduction of the "Grapper" gun boarders on pointless, the new enemy characters are uninspired reskins of previous models. Not enough Hell much like D3 which is a big let down. The Artifact is much like Doom 3 was masterful, whereas Resurrection Of Evil lacked in so many areas. It did not create or even build on the same atmosphere as Doom 3, more of a gun-fest then a gritty horror. The introduction of the "Grapper" gun boarders on pointless, the new enemy characters are uninspired reskins of previous models. Not enough Hell much like D3 which is a big let down. The Artifact is much like the Grabber in the sense that it is does not suit the game play or style of game in the slightest. I am a big fan of the doom franchise, i have litterally grown up with them,however Resurrection of Evil is just a plain obnoxious add on pack. Expand
  38. Sotamarsu
    Dec 1, 2006
    9
    It's one of the best addons in Linux. It's also easy and fast to install in Gentoo, but the game is quite short. Most of the enemies you can kill easily with new weapons (was that suprising?), double-barrelled shotgun (enormous firepower at close distance) and grapper (kills small enemies by one shot and bigger with barrels or boxes). Last boss was quite hard.
  39. KevinS
    Dec 28, 2009
    9
    When playing Doom 3: RoE I had a lot more fun than when playing the original game. Primarily, I found that the action during the expansion was a lot more interesting, most of the issues that I had with the original game were taken care of. The primary cannon fodder was a little more challenging, the weapons more interesting, and the expansion was 'short and sweet' as opposed to When playing Doom 3: RoE I had a lot more fun than when playing the original game. Primarily, I found that the action during the expansion was a lot more interesting, most of the issues that I had with the original game were taken care of. The primary cannon fodder was a little more challenging, the weapons more interesting, and the expansion was 'short and sweet' as opposed to very long and drawn out. Expand
  40. RaulR
    Dec 28, 2009
    10
    This Game expansion was great and just as good as the normal doom 3. My question is...?When is the next one?
  41. Aug 12, 2012
    2
    Nerve software needs to stick to console conversions. The story is weak, the modified gameplay is even weaker. The versatility of the new weapons doesn't do much to counteract the major annoyances of the original Doom 3, which were turned up to eleven in this sequel.
  42. Nov 26, 2013
    4
    Letdown. Simply too short for the full price, introducing us the double barreled shotgun in the third installment. Now where they aiming HL2 with the Grabber? I cant tell. But if they did, they destroyed theyr own chemistry. It felt uninspired and slapped quickly together for the bucks...
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. The game we were all hoping Doom 3 was going to be in the first place. It just took a few more months and the help of Nerve Software to get there. The difficulty is much higher now, but with the added power of the double-barrel shotgun and the innovative uses of the grabber, plus the insanely cool artifact gameplay balances out nicely.
  2. 84
    While RoE provides much more interesting and tactically useful environments, it still doesn't quite offer the challenges we've become accustomed to with shooters like "Far Cry" and "Half-Life 2."
  3. It adds enough new weapons and enemies to make the expansion feel like a solid companion to the original. If Doom 3 left you wanting more, you'll find what you're looking for in Resurrection of Evil.