User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 755 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 95 out of 755

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AB
    Apr 28, 2005
    5
    It's surprising that such a highly anticipated game could be so disappointing (well, maybe not, I have played Enter the Matrix, Driv3r, and Metal Gear Solid 2). Doom 3 is a seriously underwhelming experience, especially after considering the fact that it took id so long to create it. The graphics are definitely its strongest point, but Half-Life 2 supplies graphics of an even higher It's surprising that such a highly anticipated game could be so disappointing (well, maybe not, I have played Enter the Matrix, Driv3r, and Metal Gear Solid 2). Doom 3 is a seriously underwhelming experience, especially after considering the fact that it took id so long to create it. The graphics are definitely its strongest point, but Half-Life 2 supplies graphics of an even higher caliber, and with great gameplay. The sound is nice, but not perfect at all. Also, there aren't enough enemies, but when they do finally jump out of some senseless place it can be a surprise. Even so, when I encountered most of the enemies, I had the flashlight equipped, so I had to switch to a gun. Doom 3 is fun for about 45 minutes, but after that time it's just repetitious and frustrating. Expand
  2. Sotamarsu
    Dec 1, 2006
    10
    It's one of the best games in Linux. It's also easy and fast to install in Gentoo. This game makes you hate dark places and breaking walls. Last boss is quite easy.
  3. AnonymousMC
    Mar 25, 2006
    4
    Pretty meh, the beginning was nice, the kind of, "Somethings wrong, I just don't know what," feeling, but then as soon as you see your first zombie its ruined and Doom 3 quickly becomes Doom 1 with shiny graphics, and none of the old school charm, it becomes less and less frightening as the hordes get larger and larger. And hell was kind of pathetic, several dark cobblestonePretty meh, the beginning was nice, the kind of, "Somethings wrong, I just don't know what," feeling, but then as soon as you see your first zombie its ruined and Doom 3 quickly becomes Doom 1 with shiny graphics, and none of the old school charm, it becomes less and less frightening as the hordes get larger and larger. And hell was kind of pathetic, several dark cobblestone corridors and billions of demons which for some reason wield rocket launchers, and the odd candle or two, rather uninspired, and a great potential for "the walls are trying to kill me kind of traps" is completley wasted on an interestingway to get across a chasm. Also, why does hell look different in the mortal world? It looks like the demons, slimy and bloody and tentacley in the real world, why not in hell itself? Point is, Doom 3 is creepier when nothing is happening, when you are just wandering the corridors, unapposed, ungreeted by a half a million demons. It just devolves into another shooting gallery, one thing I must congratulate Doom 3 on is the computer screens, though. Suffice to say, Id has championed the same type of gameplay and the same two franchises for it's entire career, I sincerely doubt that they will change their ways any time soon, judging from Quake 4. Expand
  4. AdamM.
    May 10, 2006
    1
    This game is lucky to even get a 1 from me! It is not original, graphics are not that amazing, and the gameplay is nowhere near as good as games like Quake 4 and Half-Life 2. I do not recommend this game!
  5. BalazsS.
    May 28, 2006
    6
    The graphics are awesome, but the story is ridiculous and the whole game is a mix of Half Life and System Shock.
  6. ChrisK.
    May 29, 2006
    7
    When you hear, "You can't have a flashlight out at the same time with your weapon," you immediately think, "Oh, that's not cool." You can't shut out a game simply because of one little minor inconvenience. The graphics are also a prequisite to Quake IV, more or less the same game engine. So please, don't differentiate the two. The story is probably the most common one When you hear, "You can't have a flashlight out at the same time with your weapon," you immediately think, "Oh, that's not cool." You can't shut out a game simply because of one little minor inconvenience. The graphics are also a prequisite to Quake IV, more or less the same game engine. So please, don't differentiate the two. The story is probably the most common one everyone's been up to date about, hell's broken loose and you're out to stop it or kill lucifer or so on. The story isn't original but the gameplay is actually well done. If you're out to find a good story, don't look to Doom 3 or any of the previous Doom series. If you're out to just kill or die fighting giant spiders, then Doom 3 is your game. Please check out the demo before buying and then complaining. What I love about this game is that it keeps that meaning, "You can run but you can' t hide." You think you're safe in that corner, be my bloody guest. Expand
  7. AnsonG.
    Jul 7, 2006
    3
    Nice graphics, display, music and sound. Else it SUCKS: Disjointed story. Boring environments and enemies. Cliched weaponry. No style. If the id software so smart, let them play to themself. Cheers!
  8. SimonB.
    Aug 16, 2006
    7
    Alright, alright. Now what went wrong with this game in particular? After a long arse install (quite short compared to Half-Life 2's install), Doom 3 opens on a rather classic menu with the classic game modes for the game. Depending on your level of skill , you will either play "Recruit", "Marine" or "Veteran". The game will therefore adjust itself to your skill. It will only do it Alright, alright. Now what went wrong with this game in particular? After a long arse install (quite short compared to Half-Life 2's install), Doom 3 opens on a rather classic menu with the classic game modes for the game. Depending on your level of skill , you will either play "Recruit", "Marine" or "Veteran". The game will therefore adjust itself to your skill. It will only do it once, so that you are constantly under the pressure of your skill. What makes the game hard in some points is that particular instinct of survival. If you play on "Recruit", you'll have a lesser feeling of survival. If you play on "Nightmare" (unlocked after beating the game), you will be much more interested on making quick and short meat of your ennemies than you would in easier modes. Of course, the game's story-line only makes you pissed at times, as it cuts the action thoroughly to make you shift through some audio logs and listen to some dead man's speech. Other times, you fiddle around rooms to know what you should be doing: A great hint, whenever there are ennemies, you're in the right place. A thing that helped a lot in ancient Doom games was the fact you could remember certain corpses layout according to places you went and came from. In Doom 3, aside from blood patches, you have no idea if you already went this way or are coming back from there. Though, that is a very rare case, unless you are the kind to get lost in all the generic environments of Doom 3. This game is very linear and should pose no threat to your brain's function, aside from thinking: "Should I dodge this guy?" or "Should I press the button?". Your brain is slightly a bit more turned on than Painkiller's level of IQ-requisite.(which is very low, I'm sure you'll agree)You get a bunch of weapons around you, counting from your "Marine-Fists" to the chunky and effective BFG. Monsters equally range from slow and overly dumb zombies to slow and overly dumb Hell Knights. What REALLY works about those big Knights is that they take a lot of place. So , the only stress about them is getting cornered because you weren't quick enough to kill them. Other monsters rush at you with speed or not. If they do not, they rush en masse. Okay, so... Good action at times, somewhat shy on the sides, Doom 3's BIGGEST troubles? A.I, storyline and gameplay. Isn't it wrong to see soldiers like those in Counter-Strike able to turn on a flashlight while wielding a PARA or a shotgun (both of which take two hands) or any other weapon... While Doom 3's idiotic mute Marine (whom grunts every now and then) can't even strap his flashlight to his machinegun? It's understandable that the UAC's base uses latest technology, but I'm certain that at some point... Technology would make sure that every marine unit would have some sort of night-seeing device or a flashlight that has no need to be wielded while there's an arsenal at your disposal? It adds to the atmosphere was an excuse, I think , that was used because some people forgot that most weapons nowadays have secondary fire options and flashlights attached to them. 7 For what looked like a possible great game, which was weighed down due to some incredibly big turn-offs. Expand
  9. A.H.
    Aug 17, 2006
    8
    i grew up playing the original doom games and this is not a sequel but a scary but slighltly repitive legacy to the orignals.
  10. PatrickS.
    Sep 17, 2006
    7
    It was good for an FPS, but, it just had a lot of disappointments. Overall, it was pretty good.
  11. LisacT.
    Jan 19, 2007
    5
    The first two parts of the famous serial were milestones in definition of the FPS genre. However, the third sequel didn't make it into the "hall of fame". Instead of bringing up the revolution (which the FPS genre needed for a long time), all it offers us is the good ol' rudimentary shootin' of everything that moves. Of course, it can be amusing to do that sometimes, but it The first two parts of the famous serial were milestones in definition of the FPS genre. However, the third sequel didn't make it into the "hall of fame". Instead of bringing up the revolution (which the FPS genre needed for a long time), all it offers us is the good ol' rudimentary shootin' of everything that moves. Of course, it can be amusing to do that sometimes, but it becomes boring soon. Scaring scenes are just another cliché, and the story sounds rather watered-down. All it counts are the candy-eye graphics and the sound effects, but the claustrophobic and repeating parts of levels combined with the repeating screaming sounds are just the way to make the game even more boring. Released in the year 2004 along with Far Cry, Chronicles of Riddick and Half-Life 2, the competitiveness of the Doom 3 against those games can be considered of a sheep thrown in front of the lions. Expand
  12. VictorU.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    It has an awesome atmosphere and a unique style of gameplay.
  13. Pete
    Aug 11, 2007
    8
    Great game, just need to have more and updated online content.
  14. PeterB.
    Aug 21, 2007
    8
    While somewhat repetitive, Doom 3 not only has a great atmosphere but, like every id game, has helped move the technology bar higher in gaming.
  15. JoumanJ.
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    Amazing game.
  16. EazyC.
    Aug 3, 2007
    9
    Doom 3 is awesome. I still play it all the time.
  17. SayreS.
    Jan 4, 2008
    0
    Too dark, maybe I'm being harsh but, did not play game for more then 5 minutes and shut it off.
  18. PaulL.
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    Many say it defined a genre from day 1, and that is still true and frankly, I don't see it changing for many years to come.
  19. KevinD.
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    This game was, the atmospheres playing it at night with headphone on was creepy and playing it on nightmare trying to kill the last boss was indeed hard.
  20. AnonymousMC
    Sep 11, 2008
    9
    One of the most frightening experiences you'll ever encounter in a PC or Xbox game. It should be understood, however, that Doom 3 delivers best in it's single-player and flops in its multiplayer. If you're expecting to relive the good ol' days of Doom's fast-paced, kill-em'-all style, then Doom 3 will disappoint.

    Worth playing through at least once, and if
    One of the most frightening experiences you'll ever encounter in a PC or Xbox game. It should be understood, however, that Doom 3 delivers best in it's single-player and flops in its multiplayer. If you're expecting to relive the good ol' days of Doom's fast-paced, kill-em'-all style, then Doom 3 will disappoint.

    Worth playing through at least once, and if you can handle it...twice.
    Expand
  21. DuncleP.
    Nov 10, 2004
    9
    Alright. Gather round. It's time for an important life lesson. Making a really inept attempt at disrespect regarding a game with a big budget from a big company like Id does not make you cooler. Becoming bitter and whiny because your PCs were not prepared for the graphics and you misspent your money does not make you cooler either. Ignoring the fact that Doom 3 does what it is meant Alright. Gather round. It's time for an important life lesson. Making a really inept attempt at disrespect regarding a game with a big budget from a big company like Id does not make you cooler. Becoming bitter and whiny because your PCs were not prepared for the graphics and you misspent your money does not make you cooler either. Ignoring the fact that Doom 3 does what it is meant to do FLAWLESSLY and instead joining a mass of unqualified morons in making lame insults that are meant to sound like something from a gaming magazine makes you much less cool. "Old game packaged in a new, shiny box"? For god's sake, take some anti-trite juice and wake the f*ck up. The actual professional game reviewers gave it OVERWHELMINGLY good scores. Stop wasting time trying to turn your dumbass stabs at cynicism into some sort of hip, anti-capitalist statement and buy a new video card. I'm finished here. Expand
  22. Caverna
    Nov 16, 2004
    7
    Good grafics..nice sound..but on-line sucks..!! Very disapointed..I was waiting more that that title.!
  23. MarkH.
    Oct 13, 2004
    9
    DOOM 3 is simply, in a word, DOOM. It is as it advertises itself, simple, but visceral. There are no loops thrown. If you have come for major innovation, you have come to the wrong place. But if you seek a game that makes no excuses about simply being a video game, a game that honestly doesn't need to be consistent, true to life, and overly complicated, as long as you get to destroy DOOM 3 is simply, in a word, DOOM. It is as it advertises itself, simple, but visceral. There are no loops thrown. If you have come for major innovation, you have come to the wrong place. But if you seek a game that makes no excuses about simply being a video game, a game that honestly doesn't need to be consistent, true to life, and overly complicated, as long as you get to destroy some frigging demons, then you've come to the right place. Personally, i enjoy the absence of peeking around corners and vehicles and silly dual function complicated weapons. this is as visceral and intense as it gets. For the flaws in the game, there'll be a mod coming sooner or later to fix that. To the Half-Life 2 fanboys lurking every which way, play through the entire game and see why DOOM3 reminds me of Half-Life so damn much. Expand
  24. MysterE
    Oct 14, 2004
    9
    What can we say? It's Doom all over again, and it cant be a bad thing. Finally John Carmack has made the game he always wanted the original to be. It's nothing revoutionary, but who said it was going to be? Just a good old fashioned shooter with oodles of atmosphere, great story line as far as it goes and some of best enemies to grace the PC.
  25. JustinR.
    Nov 6, 2004
    6
    The visuals in this game are amazing, however the gameplay is not. It leaves alot to be desired. Poor AI and repetitive gameplay set the game back. It had a lot of potential, however the game falls short.
  26. SpelareX.
    Dec 11, 2004
    5
    This game may be good looking if you have a monster computer. But man is it booooring! I downloaded the demo to see if my computer could handle the grafix. Not quite satisfying in that department, but what was worse, I found it so terribly boring I didn't even want to complete the demo-levels. Very unlike me when it comes to FPS and that's how useless the game is. All that hype This game may be good looking if you have a monster computer. But man is it booooring! I downloaded the demo to see if my computer could handle the grafix. Not quite satisfying in that department, but what was worse, I found it so terribly boring I didn't even want to complete the demo-levels. Very unlike me when it comes to FPS and that's how useless the game is. All that hype for nothing. I found it very disappointing. Expand
  27. Kevin
    Dec 30, 2004
    1
    Most unstable piece of crap ever. This game is NOT made for a wide variety of computers, like other games (such as Half-life-2), and will ONLY work moderatly well for a few super computers. Story sucks, weapons are terrible and many you wont even use. The final boss is A FRIGGIN JOKE! He has one attack, a missile that moves at a snails pace and doesnt even home in on you. Even the Most unstable piece of crap ever. This game is NOT made for a wide variety of computers, like other games (such as Half-life-2), and will ONLY work moderatly well for a few super computers. Story sucks, weapons are terrible and many you wont even use. The final boss is A FRIGGIN JOKE! He has one attack, a missile that moves at a snails pace and doesnt even home in on you. Even the strategy guide admits the final boss is too easy. If you die or even get hurt on the final boss, you must really suck. the only highlight of the game was the 'Hell' level, al of the other levels felt like a chore as opposed to being fun. It's no wonder half-life 2 has won against doom 3 in every contest that they have been put together against. I'm a fan of the original doom, and I still hated this game with a bloody passion. If you liked doom 3, its only because its either your first horror game, first fps game, or just first game period. Theres a LOT of games out there better then this. Dont waste your time and money with this god-awful game. Go play Half-life 2 (NOT illegal, downloaded version, which is what alot of you have been playing and complaining about, OF COURSE its glitchy, its the friggin alpha version! Why not try and actually buy the game? I bet doom 3 was just as glitchy during its alpha stage :/ ) This review is based on the actual game, not the demo or downloaded one. I bought the game before I reviewed it, maybe you people should try the same thing with the other games out there. Expand
  28. AnonymousMC
    Aug 11, 2004
    6
    I still remember the excitement I felt when I first played the original Doom. Actually I lie; I felt that when I played Wolfenstein 3D first. Here was a game that truly started the 3D revolution - it proved that an immersive, first-person experience was possible on the computer and in my eyes at the time, I saw a future of photorealistic environments obeying the laws of physics where a I still remember the excitement I felt when I first played the original Doom. Actually I lie; I felt that when I played Wolfenstein 3D first. Here was a game that truly started the 3D revolution - it proved that an immersive, first-person experience was possible on the computer and in my eyes at the time, I saw a future of photorealistic environments obeying the laws of physics where a story set in any world imaginable centred around you. As far as I was and are now, concerned this is where computer games will end up; the place where ordinary people can live extraordinary lives. Wolfy3D showed that the photorealism in computer games was going to be achievable, all it needed was a bit more beef under the hood of your PC. And so with relish (and not a little imagination) I ate up Wolfy. Then Doom. The sheer pleasure of exploring a basic, yet fundamentally believable environments - with guns - was every bit the revolution it deserved to be. Then came Doom 2, and I the magic was beginning to fade - I couldn't quite put my finger on it... the graphics were better, there were more demons... but I was enjoying it less... and not for the first time, I was reintroduced to the axiom; gameplay is king. Then came Quake, Quake 2 (fully 3D characters) and a multitude of followers. Every one improving on the previous one's graphics, making the world seem more real, but all forgetting the impetus that led them there. The search for the realistic world in your PC was continuing apace visually, but was neglecting the most importanct aspect; interactivity. Since then, the gaming community has periodically roused from it's creative slumber to give us the likes of Half-Life, Deus-Ex, Morrowind etc. Always we were waiting for what ID did next to point the industry back towards where it will eventually end up. And so we come to Doom 3. What are ID telling us now? Well for one thing, they are telling us that bump and specular mapping with polygon-heavy environs, dynamic lighting, physics, 5.1 sound, 2x antialiasing can run very fast on a moderate system (2.8G, 1G RAM, 9800PRO). To have created such a rich environment and have it run so well is truly impressive. And what they say about game 'polish' should be a lesson to all. Computer panel access, cut-scene integration, PDA, the use of positional sound and lighting - the whole game reeks of the time they took to make sure every last little experience is a cut above what has gone before - although I might have a small gripe about the quality of some bump and spec. maps (even on extreme) which are not always as detailed as some in Far Cry, or the heat effects which again are not always quite as realistic. But these are mere triffles when such a convincing world has been created as in Doom 3. But that is where the good ends. The only other thing to commend ID on is the name; this truly is the third Doom game. You walk into a room, you get attacked. Your press a button, you get attacked. You pick up armour; attacked. Don't look behind you? Attacked. New weapon lying on the ground? Attacked. Not been attacked for a while? Wall opens and you probably get the idea... Worse still, these aren't monsters that are waiting in corridors or ducts that you flush out or hear having an argument - you can't surprise these demons - they appear when you pass the pre-programmed point and not a moment before. Pass the point and you will no doubt hear the noise of a demon being conjured from an electric disturbance nearby (reminiscent of anything?) but even that is not needed. I once walked through a door backwards and saw two spiders literally appear out of nowhere. Okay you may say I am being picky, but that the designers could not have though of a better way to infest a world with shootables is very disappointing. You start to get the impression that ID spend the ENTIRE FIVE YEARS on the engine for this game but a week on the gameplay. Or maybe no time at all? All this really is is Doom 2004. If they took the time to copy the story of Half-Life (science installation goes wrong, opens portal from another dimension which infests installation with beasts), the beginning (walking round installation before disaster) and the method of beast appearance (ball of electricity) - you might as well just swap the word "Xen" with "Hell" - why did they leave out the friendly interaction and AI? Yes, there is NO AI in Doom 3 - demons see you as soon as they appear (i.e. you are close enough - even if hidden) and then go straight for you. The more I play thins game, the more it amazes me that they though so little about the games that have come before it (except Half-Life of course). There is no stealth, no headshots, no need for ammo conservation, no using friendlies, no branching routes, no branching story (you might think there is but there isn't), no respite from attack. No subtlety. Graphically, this game delivers as advertised; it is the benchmark. Concerning gameplay, it competes with the likes of Doom 1 and 2, Quake, Serious Sam etc. Quite how so many reviewers have ignored this is really quite amazing. But I guess there are many people out there who don't realise that gaming is about an immersive experience shaped by the player and the games where you run around shooting stuff that moves is a little... passe. This is a game has no brain and requires none from the player. For a game that took five years where we have lived as Freeman and Denton, I can only be disappointed in that. Expand
  29. kthuluTALESFROMMARS
    Aug 11, 2004
    10
    Excellent Graphics, loads of hardware demands though, i play on a 2.8 with 5900fx and 1k ram and i loose sometimes enough frames on 1024X768, still enjoy though. But other than this, graphics rock, but limited movement. I expected more, only because magazines made me to. I recon this game is worth playing and deserves respect. I expect my self to see new games using this awesome engine. Excellent Graphics, loads of hardware demands though, i play on a 2.8 with 5900fx and 1k ram and i loose sometimes enough frames on 1024X768, still enjoy though. But other than this, graphics rock, but limited movement. I expected more, only because magazines made me to. I recon this game is worth playing and deserves respect. I expect my self to see new games using this awesome engine. Also the PDA idea looks like stolen from Deus Ex, a game which its engine looks also similar to doom3, anyway im not that technichal to say excatly what looks the same but it has the same felling in its gameplay, and some dynamic lights, as well as graphics. I would love to play a game with Doom's3 Graphics and UNREAL 2004 gameplay. And i dont know if you read Carmacks review, but the guy said in the UKs pcgamer that in 10-20 years time the computers will have all the processing power they need to render games in proper photorealistic 3d environments. I agree with someone above that this game is the Engine. ISdefinatelly one step forwards. enjoy. Expand
  30. BitBurn
    Aug 11, 2004
    9
    I must say, I've just been playing my first 2-hour shift of Doom 3 and man it's pretty amazing to look at and, most importantly, to listen to! Graphic and audio alone blows away the competition. Gameplay, well, it's still pretty basic. Nothing new here and that's aiight. Typical FPS. Storyline so far is pretty cool. I dig it!
  31. DGM
    Aug 12, 2004
    4
    I can't believe how scared all those big-name reviewers are to tell the truth: after you look beyond the stunning visuals, or actually make that squint beyond the stunning visuals, since you can barely see anything most of the time, you realize that the gameplay has zero innovation. Even those reviewers who partially admit it, still gave the game 80 out of 100. What the hell is going I can't believe how scared all those big-name reviewers are to tell the truth: after you look beyond the stunning visuals, or actually make that squint beyond the stunning visuals, since you can barely see anything most of the time, you realize that the gameplay has zero innovation. Even those reviewers who partially admit it, still gave the game 80 out of 100. What the hell is going on? So the game has been in development for years, big deal. If it bites, it bites and that's the end of it. Anyone remember Master of Orion 3? Just admit it and move on. Expand
  32. TerryD.
    Aug 13, 2004
    10
    Man, I can't understand how anyone can give Doom3 anything less than a 10 rating! Everything is here - amazing visuals, outstanding sound, perfectly balanced game play, and the most twisted looking monsters ever, all in a totally immersive environment. So much so that I was playing the other night with the lights out and in full surround sound, creeping through a new area tactically Man, I can't understand how anyone can give Doom3 anything less than a 10 rating! Everything is here - amazing visuals, outstanding sound, perfectly balanced game play, and the most twisted looking monsters ever, all in a totally immersive environment. So much so that I was playing the other night with the lights out and in full surround sound, creeping through a new area tactically trying to figure out that the best approach would be when my wife stuck her head into the room and quietly said Expand
  33. GodGOD
    Aug 14, 2004
    10
    THIS GAME IS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! what are people talking about...the performance is great... This is my computer: 1.2ghz Celeron(under requirements) 512mb Sdram pc133 ATI Radeon 9200 128mb ddr I can play with 800x600 res...medium quality and all the special effects on...there are slowdowns but none of the slowdowns make it unplayable... OMFG Thief 3(1-15)fps and Deus ex: IW(1-19fps) ran THIS GAME IS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! what are people talking about...the performance is great... This is my computer: 1.2ghz Celeron(under requirements) 512mb Sdram pc133 ATI Radeon 9200 128mb ddr I can play with 800x600 res...medium quality and all the special effects on...there are slowdowns but none of the slowdowns make it unplayable... OMFG Thief 3(1-15)fps and Deus ex: IW(1-19fps) ran slower with low detail and 640x480 res and both those games graphics are crap compared to Doom 3!!! DOOM 3 IS AWESOME!!!!!! Expand
  34. BradG.
    Aug 18, 2004
    9
    Great game. Graphics are simply stunning. Ut2k4 DOES NOT look nearly this good. The single player is the real treat in this game. Great scares, good story, fun gameplay. I love this game. Multiplayer is lacking until more mods come out.
  35. AnonymousMC
    Aug 27, 2004
    6
    I still remember the excitement I felt when I first played the original Doom. Actually I lie; I felt that when I played Wolfenstein 3D first. Here was a game that truly started the 3D revolution - it proved that an immersive, first-person experience was possible on the computer and in my eyes at the time, I saw a future of photorealistic environments obeying the laws of physics where a I still remember the excitement I felt when I first played the original Doom. Actually I lie; I felt that when I played Wolfenstein 3D first. Here was a game that truly started the 3D revolution - it proved that an immersive, first-person experience was possible on the computer and in my eyes at the time, I saw a future of photorealistic environments obeying the laws of physics where a story set in any world imaginable centred around you. As far as I was and are now, concerned this is where computer games will end up; the place where ordinary people can live extraordinary lives. Wolfy3D showed that the photorealism in computer games was going to be achievable, all it needed was a bit more beef under the hood of your PC. And so with relish (and not a little imagination) I ate up Wolfy. Then Doom. The sheer pleasure of exploring a basic, yet fundamentally believable environments - with guns - was every bit the revolution it deserved to be. Then came Doom 2, and I the magic was beginning to fade - I couldn't quite put my finger on it... the graphics were better, there were more demons... but I was enjoying it less... and not for the first time, I was reintroduced to the axiom; gameplay is king. Then came Quake, Quake 2 (fully 3D characters) and a multitude of followers. Every one improving on the previous one's graphics, making the world seem more real, but all forgetting the impetus that led them there. The search for the realistic world in your PC was continuing apace visually, but was neglecting the most importanct aspect; interactivity. Since then, the gaming community has periodically roused from it's creative slumber to give us the likes of Half-Life, Deus-Ex, Morrowind etc. Always we were waiting for what ID did next to point the industry back towards where it will eventually end up. And so we come to Doom 3. What are ID telling us now? Well for one thing, they are telling us that bump and specular mapping with polygon-heavy environs, dynamic lighting, physics, 5.1 sound, 2x antialiasing can run very fast on a moderate system (2.8G, 1G RAM, 9800PRO). To have created such a rich environment and have it run so well is truly impressive. And what they say about game 'polish' should be a lesson to all. Computer panel access, cut-scene integration, PDA, the use of positional sound and lighting - the whole game reeks of the time they took to make sure every last little experience is a cut above what has gone before - although I might have a small gripe about the quality of some bump and spec. maps (even on extreme) which are not always as detailed as some in Far Cry, or the heat effects which again are not always quite as realistic. But these are mere triffles when such a convincing world has been created as in Doom 3. But that is where the good ends. The only other thing to commend ID on is the name; this truly is the third Doom game. You walk into a room, you get attacked. Your press a button, you get attacked. You pick up armour; attacked. Don't look behind you? Attacked. New weapon lying on the ground? Attacked. Not been attacked for a while? Wall opens and you probably get the idea... Worse still, these aren't monsters that are waiting in corridors or ducts that you flush out or hear having an argument - you can't surprise these demons - they appear when you pass the pre-programmed point and not a moment before. Pass the point and you will no doubt hear the noise of a demon being conjured from an electric disturbance nearby (reminiscent of anything?) but even that is not needed. I once walked through a door backwards and saw two spiders literally appear out of nowhere. Okay you may say I am being picky, but that the designers could not have though of a better way to infest a world with shootables is very disappointing. You start to get the impression that ID spend the ENTIRE FIVE YEARS on the engine for this game but a week on the gameplay. Or maybe no time at all? All this really is is Doom 2004. If they took the time to copy the story of Half-Life (science installation goes wrong, opens portal from another dimension which infests installation with beasts), the beginning (walking round installation before disaster) and the method of beast appearance (ball of electricity) - you might as well just swap the word "Xen" with "Hell" - why did they leave out the friendly interaction and AI? Yes, there is NO AI in Doom 3 - demons see you as soon as they appear (i.e. you are close enough - even if hidden) and then go straight for you. The more I play thins game, the more it amazes me that they though so little about the games that have come before it (except Half-Life of course). There is no stealth, no headshots, no need for ammo conservation, no using friendlies, no branching routes, no branching story (you might think there is but there isn't), no respite from attack. No subtlety. Graphically, this game delivers as advertised; it is the benchmark. Concerning gameplay, it competes with the likes of Doom 1 and 2, Quake, Serious Sam etc. Quite how so many reviewers have ignored this is really quite amazing. But I guess there are many people out there who don't realise that gaming is about an immersive experience shaped by the player and the games where you run around shooting stuff that moves is a little... passe. This is a game has no brain and requires none from the player. For a game that took five years where we have lived as Freeman and Denton, I can only be disappointed in that. Expand
  36. DemonicAngel
    Sep 25, 2004
    7
    A classic example, to plagiarise from CVG, of a "British Rail pie" game - all puffy crust and sod all inside. The "puffy crust" being the wonderful graphics, sound and scary atmosphere; and the "sod all" being the hideously repetitious gameplay. Play for a couple of hours and you will have about exhausted everything this game has to offer.
  37. NickH.
    Oct 21, 2005
    6
    Let me say this right now, up front. I won't pussyfoot around this - Doom 3 was frightening, tense experience. The graphics engine worked wonders, all while supported by great sound. The atmosphere worked. So, why the 6? Well, it's what was waiting in the dark, spooky atmosphere that hurt the gaming experience for me. I can really articulate it... so, picture this: you wander Let me say this right now, up front. I won't pussyfoot around this - Doom 3 was frightening, tense experience. The graphics engine worked wonders, all while supported by great sound. The atmosphere worked. So, why the 6? Well, it's what was waiting in the dark, spooky atmosphere that hurt the gaming experience for me. I can really articulate it... so, picture this: you wander into a dark room, there's a single light fixture swinging lighting your path every few seconds. The building is creaking and moaning, you can hear something moving about - near you. You have your flashlight out, sacrificing defense for sight. You begin moving down the hallway. The lights give out and all that's left is your flashlight. You keep moving, what ever has been moving around you has stopped... for some reason. You can hear a heartbeat. Then there's a hissing sound and you whip around to meet your foe. And what is your foe? A plastic-y looking burn victim who shoots fireballs out of his hands and yelps. Woooo! That's my problem with Doom 3, everything this game does to build up the scare factor is let down by uninspired monsters, scares, and plot. Everything looses it's novelty about 5-7 hours in. You fight the same 3 or 4 monsters for nearly 6 hours before meeting something new, and what's new is so bland and silly that you don't care about it. The scares, just like the monsters, fall flat. Sure you'll keep jumping for all 20 hours, but that's just human reflexes doing their job. If you think about it, it's not scary at all. The cliched "walk into a dark room to be ambushed by bad guys" thing looses it's charm rather quickly and eventually becomes annoying. The plot? The plot... eh, yeah: Satan escaped Hell through some strange experiment, you've been separated from your squad, and you have to save everyone. Got that? Now forget it and go kill Imps. A neat effect used to move this story along - Sarge talking to you via your radio - is grossly underused. I think it would have been something to have a guide through hell. But that would have rendered the "I'm so a-cared to be alone!" ploy. All in all, Doom 3's atmosphere is it's strongest point. It manages to cover-up the games obvious short comings - until you encounter those short comings head on. What happened id? Why did you make such an average, cliched (this game actually has you fighting generic marines in a laboratory) videogame? And why did it take so long to make? Oh, that graphics engine, time consuming you say - ah, I see. No style but sh*tloads of substance. You had all the pieces, id, to make a great game... but you didn't, you messed up guys. Nice try, though. == SCORE == Graphics: 9.1/10 - Sound: 9.2/10 - Control: 8.9/10 - Gameplay: 5.1/10 - Story: 5.2/10 - Originality: 3.9/10 - Value: 6.9/10 (if you get MP and the 'Last Man Standing' mod) == Overall: 6.4/10, My bottom line is that this is a game you can play for about an hour - and then stop for two because it's so damn uninspiring. Expand
  38. CraigS.
    Apr 15, 2005
    8
    This game was strangely compelling, calling me back to complete another level, but at the same time, exhasuting me after 1-2 hours. I enjoyed the throw back to simpler shooter fun (same appeal as Serious Sam). Only complaints are the cheap kills as monsters spawn behind you or jump out of closets, and the insessant need to find PDAs to access secured areas - I had 4 pages of notes in case This game was strangely compelling, calling me back to complete another level, but at the same time, exhasuting me after 1-2 hours. I enjoyed the throw back to simpler shooter fun (same appeal as Serious Sam). Only complaints are the cheap kills as monsters spawn behind you or jump out of closets, and the insessant need to find PDAs to access secured areas - I had 4 pages of notes in case I had to go back! Otherwise, an exciting and addictive ride to Hell and back. Expand
  39. AlexJ.
    Apr 17, 2005
    6
    What took so long? Surely not the music or enemy AI!? No no no, first off what's up w/ the other reviews, there's no gravity gun and the plot is exactly what it says on the box? Anyway, the story is basically the same as the first game, only the writing is MUCH worse, seriously, how could the story of the original, (told through TEXT interludes) go downhill to such utter What took so long? Surely not the music or enemy AI!? No no no, first off what's up w/ the other reviews, there's no gravity gun and the plot is exactly what it says on the box? Anyway, the story is basically the same as the first game, only the writing is MUCH worse, seriously, how could the story of the original, (told through TEXT interludes) go downhill to such utter cliche-ridden mediocrity?! I mean, the back of the box tells the whole plot, that's it, no twists, no turns, betrayals, friends dying, SO linear!! Also, what on earth happend to having MUSIC!!?? Even Quake had some good creepy techno/industrial tracks. Doom 3 has precisely ONE audio track, yes that's why on every demo, movie, commerical, its always the same crappy over-compressed guitar thingy. THAT'S IT FOR MUSIC, not even a different track for credits!! Quake 2 kicked D3's butt for music, and no "we wanted it to be immersive" because there is no ambient track either like that in Quake1, which in that game really boosted the fear. Aren't there leaky pipes? Aren't the monsters walking around? Shouldn't you be hearing SOMETHING more than the obvious sounds of objects within your viewing range? Phew, very very sub-par in everything except graphics, and even then there's very little in the way of true innovation or challenging artistic limits like in the original... I could have done without Doom 3, which is sad as the original was and is truly a uniquely exciting experience. Expand
  40. VerminD.
    Jun 14, 2005
    4
    I would have to say that this title is the epitome of everything that is wrong with today
  41. TheMagicalHippieKiller
    Nov 29, 2006
    1
    The only reason this game got a single point from me was the fact I could kill things with a chainsaw, actually EVERYTHING easily with the chaisaw, which is riduclous. This game was just a huge rip off Half-Life: Oh no! We've been secretly experimenting with teleportaion! But instead of aliens the devil came out! They even put the stupid health chargers on the wall. And this is NOT The only reason this game got a single point from me was the fact I could kill things with a chainsaw, actually EVERYTHING easily with the chaisaw, which is riduclous. This game was just a huge rip off Half-Life: Oh no! We've been secretly experimenting with teleportaion! But instead of aliens the devil came out! They even put the stupid health chargers on the wall. And this is NOT scary. People who r afraid of this must cry during thunderstorms. Ooh! A zombie! Whack! Killed it with the flashlight. Monster! Boom! A single shot from the shottie. All you had to do was turn up your mouse speed and pretend you were playing and arcade shooter like Time crisis or something. Horribly lame and way to linear, this amped up game was very disapoining. And on the graphics, they were good, but the way they drew all the characters and messed with the lighting was really stupid looking. P.S (the game also performed better with the shadows turned off, like F.E.A.R. Unfortunately, like F.E.A.R, the shadows are the only exciting thing) Expand
  42. AnonymousMC
    Nov 1, 2007
    9
    I don't know what is ppl thinking, this game owns
    When doom 1 got out, it was principally to scare people, in 1990 , when it got out, people got scared with those bloody demons trying to kill you.
    Doom 3 has fucken great graphics, which it makes it more scary / creepy. It has all the elements to have panic when demons getting near. People were talking about the story, who the hell
    I don't know what is ppl thinking, this game owns
    When doom 1 got out, it was principally to scare people, in 1990 , when it got out, people got scared with those bloody demons trying to kill you.

    Doom 3 has fucken great graphics, which it makes it more scary / creepy. It has all the elements to have panic when demons getting near. People were talking about the story, who the hell cares the story? This game was made to SCARE, understand? Scare u moronish shit, Its quite long too. And for people that thinks that this is repetitive and doom 2 not.... dunno what happen to em.
    I would give a 10 to this game, but i just give 10 to games that REALLY impact me
    Expand
  43. RodrigoK.
    Aug 14, 2007
    9
    It's a great game, great athmosphere. Doom 3 don't pretend to be inovative or revolutionary, just fun and it does!
  44. AnonymousMC
    Aug 26, 2007
    7
    idiots... You people are saying Graphics arent as good as quake 4 and hl2 well duh. Doom 3 came out in 2003, hl2came out in 04 with a new engine, and quake 4 in 05 and its the doom 3 engine so it wont be much of a change, It was exciting at first, but than the game does the same thing over and over. But a fun game
  45. ChrisC.
    Feb 21, 2008
    10
    Awesome graphics. Amazingly dark, fear-drenched atmosphere. And fun. The set-pieces, while VERY repetitive, are fun to carry through nonetheless, with extremely visceral, "Oh my God how did I survive that" combat against some scary demons. Some of the most detailed level design ever, with a Martian-facility theme that manages to pump out some very unique, distinguishable locales. A great Awesome graphics. Amazingly dark, fear-drenched atmosphere. And fun. The set-pieces, while VERY repetitive, are fun to carry through nonetheless, with extremely visceral, "Oh my God how did I survive that" combat against some scary demons. Some of the most detailed level design ever, with a Martian-facility theme that manages to pump out some very unique, distinguishable locales. A great game, scary and epic the first time through. Remember to turn the lights off, close the blinds, crank up the 5.1, and be ready to crap your pants! Expand
  46. AgulH.
    Feb 28, 2008
    9
    The graphics of this game were groundbraking. But I don't like the graphical Style in this game. But still this game is made to scare you. And it will. At least if you have a good Soundcard. The Music is brilliant and the Sounds are excellent.
  47. Doomlord
    Nov 21, 2004
    10
    I have seen some horrible reviews in the past but people just don't understand what a good game is anymore.The are some appalling reviews for Doom3 and it deserves much better.Doom3 has now surpassed every game's physics engine.doom3 is the best llooking game on the market.It is close to lifelike and the creatures can come from anywhere(moslty dark spots) but it is a perfect I have seen some horrible reviews in the past but people just don't understand what a good game is anymore.The are some appalling reviews for Doom3 and it deserves much better.Doom3 has now surpassed every game's physics engine.doom3 is the best llooking game on the market.It is close to lifelike and the creatures can come from anywhere(moslty dark spots) but it is a perfect add-on to the classic doom series and id could not have made it look better. Do not be thrown off buying it just because the graphics are far more than your computer can produce.My computer is 2.6GHz with 512MB and 128Ti4800 video and it runs fine on high settings.Truely a 10 and the engines used might get it over the line of Halo2 and half-life 2 but there is no denying that both rock.Keep it up id and good luck with Doom4. Expand
  48. Hellsing
    Dec 11, 2004
    10
    This game is great!! I don't understand the retards on here saying it sucks because it's just a better version of the old game. Of course it is! Thats why its so great! Same style just helluva lot better graphics and atmosphere, and scary as hell!
  49. Doom3killermaster
    Dec 23, 2004
    10
    I would give it a 100 but u dont have it. its the best game for metalheads period kill 4 fun haill to all doom fans.
  50. AnthonyS.
    Dec 11, 2006
    9
    To anyone who gave this game lower than an 8: You are completely missing the point. Before you review this game, take a moment and ask yourself where it has come from. You're forgetting the days of DOOM & DOOM II. This game takes the original concept those FPS's were designed around and actualizes it -- It is meant to be a psychologically crippling fright-fest FIRST and a FPS To anyone who gave this game lower than an 8: You are completely missing the point. Before you review this game, take a moment and ask yourself where it has come from. You're forgetting the days of DOOM & DOOM II. This game takes the original concept those FPS's were designed around and actualizes it -- It is meant to be a psychologically crippling fright-fest FIRST and a FPS SECOND. Anyone who spent their childhood growing up on the Doom series would understand where I'm coming from here. The games were repetitive as hell, but that didn't mean they weren't still fun as hell. That having been said, a well-thought out reviewer will compare this game to the originals - not to HL2, CS, Far Cry, or any of that stuff. (After all... they were the father of all that came afterwards.) In my opinion, this game does a very good job of improving on some of the mistakes of past games. First, although the gameplay may be linear, at least you don't go searching around levels for HOURS trying to figure out where to go next. Instead, you don't go in circles, and you're free to advance through the storyline. Which brings me to my second point: the storyline here is a 9/10 in my opinion. Very well written. Now you may say "It's been done before." True, but ID Software takes an old idea and brings it back to life! The story definitely adds to the psychological effect the game has on the player. (Which brings me to point 3) The game's lighting & graphics really bring out what the original creators were visualizing over a decade and a half ago. I could go on and on, though I guess I'll just say I'm happy with the outcome. (the lighting is astounding!!) The only negatives were that the guns weren't all that fun to use, (I ended up sticking to the shotgun almost the whole game) and monsters never came out from the ceiling or floor (really bummed me out.) Other than that, bravo iD Software!! Hope the next game's even better. Expand
  51. Mar 28, 2013
    7
    I made the mistake of waiting too long before playing Doom 3, but that didn't seem to drastically change my opinion of it. The graphics weren't mindblowing, but they were still extremely good. The weapons and gameplay are alright, and even by today's standards, I think still the game retains some original gameplay elements not yet seen in newer games (that I know of). I kept hearing theI made the mistake of waiting too long before playing Doom 3, but that didn't seem to drastically change my opinion of it. The graphics weren't mindblowing, but they were still extremely good. The weapons and gameplay are alright, and even by today's standards, I think still the game retains some original gameplay elements not yet seen in newer games (that I know of). I kept hearing the hype about how scary this game was, and come to find out, the hype was quite accurate. The game held up some great atmospheres and delivered the scares quite nicely. On the negative side, I found the controls a little awkward, the character development is a little weak and unoriginal and some things just drag on. That includes the audio diaries you can collect, and go on for like 2 minutes before you finally hear the access code you wanted so bad to some mechanical box or locker. It's really no secret that Doom 1 and 2 will live on while Doom 3 kinda fades into the gray void. Still, it's a good game from start to finish, but it doesn't fall into the "games that ALL types of gamers should try out!" category, but I still consider giving it a play if you happen to come across it. Expand
  52. Nov 2, 2013
    7
    When this originally came out it blew my mind. Unfortunately since then other people have took similar mechanics and ideas and took them to the next level so this is no longer an essential purchase. It is however worth it, especially for the atmosphere.
  53. Aug 5, 2012
    7
    I played for a total of 3 hours and stopped. Had no interest to play again. Great Graphics but not enough exploring feature to engauge the player. Seems ike a beef up graphics of the orginial story.
  54. Mar 21, 2013
    6
    Doom 3 is a fast paced old style first person horror shooter with exciting gameplay and will constantly remind you to be aware of your surroundings as you progress through the game. I had never played Doom 3 till now and the first thing I noticed is that the graphics although not great, are still remarkably good even in today's standards. Furthermore the lighting effects from the flashDoom 3 is a fast paced old style first person horror shooter with exciting gameplay and will constantly remind you to be aware of your surroundings as you progress through the game. I had never played Doom 3 till now and the first thing I noticed is that the graphics although not great, are still remarkably good even in today's standards. Furthermore the lighting effects from the flash light helped make the game look great and an all more fun experience when entered into rooms of pure darkness. The gameplay for Doom 3 is solid with a nice variety of weapons and enemies. As you get further into the game you will find yourself picking up new weapons and being entered into a cutscene to introduce a new mob you will be fighting throughout the game. The weapons themselves are great however I found myself only sticking to a minority of weapons due the play through since some were greatly more powerful and efficient than others. The enemies in Doom 3 are somewhat unique in there own ways and provide an enjoyable experience throughout the game as you learn how to avoid their attacks and learn their weaknesses however I found some enemies to be impossible to get around such as the mini gun enemies which give no opportunity to avoid getting damaged. Bonuses such as collecting PDA's is a nice touch in Doom as it allowed you to search through peoples PDA's to unlock bonuses in the game and find items earlier. This also increased the urge to explore as it would benefit you hugely as you progressed through a level. The occasion encounters of bosses are OK (except the final boss) and I found myself defeating the bosses on the first try on the medium difficulty which shows the lack of skill required since I usually just found myself spamming a rocket launcher in the bosses faces. Whilst the bosses do look cool, they didn't seem to do much other than run at you and smack you in the face or throw balls of poison, fire or whatever at you. For example in the final boss I found myself kiting the boss around in circles firing a launcher and another weapon for about 5 minutes. In general the level design is good however I found myself not knowing where to go and a lack of indication of where to go which in some ways I agree is good as it allows the game to seem less linear and allow for exploration, however are a few minutes or wandering around cluelessly it does get a little frustrating. The levels towards the end also to me became repetitive and spawning of enemies became extremely predictable. However there are some issues which I really did not like about Doom 3. The lack of an auto save feature. As you get really immersed into the game and die, you find yourself having to repeat half a level because of no autosave even in cut scenes or in boss encounters. Secondly were the small things such as dieing because a door closed when you were standing between it which I thought was unnessary. Finally I found the story was extremely weak which to be honest I don't really care about however a good storyline would have been a nice touch. In short Doom 3 is a fun action packed shooter and will have you always needing to be aware as mobs spawn in all directions as you progress though a level. The campaign is at a fine length, graphics are acceptable in today's standards and in general is longer than most of the latest FPS releases. However the lack of exciting bosses, predictable repetitive enemies, minor frustrating game elements and repetitive maze like levels really held the game back from getting a higher score than 7 in my eyes. The war between the 2004 FPS hits Half Life 2 and Doom 3 leads me to declare that Half Life 2 won this little battle however Doom 3 is still a great game and if given the opportunity, you should give Doom 3 a go. Expand
  55. Sep 10, 2013
    7
    Coming back to Doom 3 in 2013 I was surprised by how little I enjoyed iD's biggest title of last decade. The graphics still looked crisp but the shooting mechanics and physics have aged horribly. The storyline is delivered well but the fast-paced combat tended to nullify the game's attempts at horror segments.
    Compared to other heavyweight titles of the same year, like Half-Life 2, Doom 3
    Coming back to Doom 3 in 2013 I was surprised by how little I enjoyed iD's biggest title of last decade. The graphics still looked crisp but the shooting mechanics and physics have aged horribly. The storyline is delivered well but the fast-paced combat tended to nullify the game's attempts at horror segments.
    Compared to other heavyweight titles of the same year, like Half-Life 2, Doom 3 is not a classic game.
    Expand
  56. Aug 7, 2014
    10
    This game is the **** **** 8/8 m8 .
  57. Jun 18, 2013
    7
    Definitely short of a few missions compared to the originals however it was a great adaption and had what the old dooms did not have. although some of the creatures were quite disappointing in appearance, and some of the missions were quite boring. I still enjoyed the game but just wouldn't pick this over the originals.
  58. Mar 16, 2015
    5
    After ten years break I can finally play this game again... Just to understand why it failed.

    First thing you see is that it aged really, really bad. Even more so than Far Cry, not to mention Half Life 2, which still stays fresh - no matter when you play HL, it plays like it came out yesterday. Levels in Doom 3 are abysmal, graphics are bad and the only reasons it impressed people at
    After ten years break I can finally play this game again... Just to understand why it failed.

    First thing you see is that it aged really, really bad. Even more so than Far Cry, not to mention Half Life 2, which still stays fresh - no matter when you play HL, it plays like it came out yesterday.
    Levels in Doom 3 are abysmal, graphics are bad and the only reasons it impressed people at first was shadowing. Which aged really bad as well. The game tried to hide it's awfulness in design department by taking away as much ligh as it could, taking away flashlight from an every weapon. Some people called it "a feature", but it was just an excuse, because having or not having flashlight doesn't affect gameplay at all (thanks to mods you can test it yourself). Game itself is really, really slow and claustrophobic. Enough said that all levels up to the first boss are really just an introduction, where rarely we will be attacked by more than 2 or 3 enemies. The pacing is really off. Compared to classic Doom games it feels pathetic, unfortunately. There are no secrets, no puzzles whatsoever. Don't tell me that listening to badly recorded audio books for boxes' codes or finding a bonus ammo behind a crate are puzzles. The atmosphere could be good (visuals are there), but the overall voice department is mindboggling bad. Every weapons sounds (and indeed is) underpowered. Which leads us to the worst part: gameplay. The shooting is not exciting, most enemies are slow, unthreatening and I wonder who designed some of them. He/she should be fired (and I hope he/she was).
    It has its moments, but overall Doom 3 is just disappointing.

    I hope that Doom 4 will redeem the awful 3rd game. The recent renaissance in FPS genre (Hard reset, shadow warrior remake, less so wolfenstein) really gives me the hope.
    Expand
  59. Jun 25, 2014
    5
    Regardless of how suitable a sequel this game is, it's a mediocre FPS.

    Combat lacks challenge & nuance. It's unsatisfying as practically all enemies are bullet sponges, and stunning/suppressing enemies (an FPS staple- see Doom's "pain chance" mechanic) is almost nonexistent. The latter leads to goofy cartoon-gag pursuits around columns and such as the only means of avoiding damage.
    Regardless of how suitable a sequel this game is, it's a mediocre FPS.

    Combat lacks challenge & nuance. It's unsatisfying as practically all enemies are bullet sponges, and stunning/suppressing enemies (an FPS staple- see Doom's "pain chance" mechanic) is almost nonexistent. The latter leads to goofy cartoon-gag pursuits around columns and such as the only means of avoiding damage.

    Happily, sprinting is fast & doesn't prohibit gunfire. Mobility alone has a nice feel, and it might've redeemed the combat, but for the way it's framed. Namely: ambush after ambush. You are NEVER on the offensive in Doom 3. All good FPSes have a mix of offensive & defensive gameplay, while this one is hideously lopsided. The worst part is once you learn the handful of tricks used over and over by the level designers, you may as well have played the entire game. Not scary. Very obnoxious.

    Some high points are superlative ambient audio design, lots of good lighting design, nice texturework. Shame about the game.
    Expand
  60. Dec 3, 2013
    7
    This game is an old classic. its good horror and fun to play. i recommend this game for the fans of scary games. Now days this game is a little old fashioned and wont look that good i guess, but i think this game is great in any other way.
  61. Jun 28, 2014
    8
    This is a modern-version of the classic DooM.
    The enemies are familiar and so are the weapons
    The characters you encounter are quite decent and you can get along with their ways. The cut-scenes put you on the edge and make you exited for the next event however, the only problem i have encountered are the difficulty settings... To me there's "Very easy" "Easy" "Hard" and "impossible"
    This is a modern-version of the classic DooM.
    The enemies are familiar and so are the weapons
    The characters you encounter are quite decent and you can get along with their ways.
    The cut-scenes put you on the edge and make you exited for the next event
    however, the only problem i have encountered are the difficulty settings...
    To me there's "Very easy" "Easy" "Hard" and "impossible"
    I want something in between the "Easy" and "hard"

    Still, Great game.
    Expand
  62. Nov 15, 2013
    6
    I was somewhat dissapointed that they pushed Graphics beyond Gameplay. Sure it was nice to see familiar monsters with great textures. But the tight/tiny corridor feeling just wasnt Doom. 90s run and shoot action game turned into 20s stealth horror game. Remember when you pumped your shotgun into the monsters body thus screaming in agony and falling into the ground? Not anymore. They simplyI was somewhat dissapointed that they pushed Graphics beyond Gameplay. Sure it was nice to see familiar monsters with great textures. But the tight/tiny corridor feeling just wasnt Doom. 90s run and shoot action game turned into 20s stealth horror game. Remember when you pumped your shotgun into the monsters body thus screaming in agony and falling into the ground? Not anymore. They simply fall and vanish. Remember the kick ass music that got your adrenaline pumped? Well you dont need any music in this just listen to voice records, thats your music what you get b1tch! Remember the chaing gun and rocket launcher where you could go rambo? Well fyck you reload reload reload. Remember the DoomGuy that could fall from an skyscraper and dont feel a thing? Well this is a Marine that brokes hes legs when jumping off an two feet ladder. And what a joke the Cyberdemon was...What i liked about it was the lenght of the game but thats basically it. Expand
  63. Dec 12, 2014
    5
    I have the Steam UK version of Doom 3: BFG Edition and sometimes play the game as well as the expansions: Resurrection of Evil and the Lost Missions but as I still have the original CD's for The Ultimate Doom, Doom 2: Hell on Earth, Final Doom: Plutonia Experiment and Final Doom: TNT - Evilution games I can legally play these games via GZ Doom. I actually prefer to play the old Doom gamesI have the Steam UK version of Doom 3: BFG Edition and sometimes play the game as well as the expansions: Resurrection of Evil and the Lost Missions but as I still have the original CD's for The Ultimate Doom, Doom 2: Hell on Earth, Final Doom: Plutonia Experiment and Final Doom: TNT - Evilution games I can legally play these games via GZ Doom. I actually prefer to play the old Doom games via GZ Doom as I feel they have better gameplay than Doom3 and were truly groundbreaking for their time. Expand
  64. Mar 25, 2015
    8
    doom 3 combines elements of survival horror and traditional fps games very well. this game is truly quite scary for the majority of its run time and is bloody fun to play. I feel that it starts to get a little bit boring after you've gotten atleast halfway through because the story doesn't really add anything to the game and there is no variety to the gameplay besides shooting which isdoom 3 combines elements of survival horror and traditional fps games very well. this game is truly quite scary for the majority of its run time and is bloody fun to play. I feel that it starts to get a little bit boring after you've gotten atleast halfway through because the story doesn't really add anything to the game and there is no variety to the gameplay besides shooting which is fine I just wish that they could of incorporated some situations that acquired you to change tactics but you pretty much just want to strafe and shoot. besides the story being only acceptable and the gameplay getting a bit old near the last bit of the game doom is a great game and I can imagine it being a big deal during its time of release Expand
  65. Jun 19, 2015
    9
    O Jogo e Daora mas por um tempo começa a ficar entendiante o Grafico e mais ou menos , Controles Perfeitos , Jogabilidade Boa , Historia boa L. Resumindo nota 8/10
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. The graphics are amazing (mind you, even on a mediocre system), the sound is amazing (if you don’t have a 5.1 system yet, consider it), and the game is downright scary.
  2. DOOM 3 smashes through all the hype and delivers a grand slam of action, story, atmosphere, and pure terror.
  3. So perfectly constructed, so deliciously immersive and downright elegant, that demands for more seem crass. It might not be the very best shooter out there, but it's the more visually stunning and successfully atmospheric than any game we've had the pleasure to play.