Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. I highly recommend picking up this title as soon as you can sink your teeth into it.
  2. I'm not really happy with Dracula: Origin. At places we get nice old-school gameplay with demanding puzzles. But Origin isn't very extensive, the characters aren't very charming, the story is unspectacular and from time to time the puzzles are extremely hard. Advanced Fans of Adventures will have fun, everybody else will find more accessible alternatives.
  3. Personally, it feels a little unbalanced to me. I like adventure games because of the "adventure" aspect, the blend of a compelling story, immersive dialogue and logical deduction. This game favours the last element at the expense of the first two, and therefore left me somewhat unsatisfied.
  4. This is yet another modern adventure game that's competent without offering anything out of the ordinary. The environments provide a great framing for the experience and the vampire hunter Van Helsing isn't difficult to like. There is a great wealth of challenging puzzles, as there should be. If you're a fan of vampires and the puzzle solving adventure genre you should definitely take a closer look.
  5. The game weaves a great yarn, full of mystery, surprises, and developments that will keep you drawn to the monitor.
  6. Despite the fact that Dracula: Origin is rather short, Frogwares has achieved the apex of what designing intelligent and entertaining puzzle/adventure games is all about, thus making Origin’s twenty-dollar price tag seem unfit.
  7. One of the best point-and-click adventures we’ve seen in a very long time.
  8. 80
    An elegant piece of work visually, using well-known fictional characters and blending it into a fun and challenging adventure game. Everything ranging from the puzzles to the music fit in perfectly with the story. Note that this game is not ground-breaking in any way.
  9. A strong adventure title that gives an excellent, updated treatment to the vampire hunting classic. It looks amazing, plays well, and the quality storytelling is bound to suck you in immediately.
  10. For Origin, since it's a little easier than the norm, and since it has modest system requirements, it might be best for players who are new to adventure games or who have aging computers.
  11. There’s tension and frustration, but a good balance of each. Brain busting obstacles are easier to handle - when the journey is laid out in a good format. That objective is mostly achieved.
  12. It's well presented, incorporates some intriguing puzzles and actually involves a good deal of thinking. It's also repetitive, obtuse, and frustrating with game mechanics that seem a little dated.
  13. Spooky atmosphere and a great story save Dracula: Origin from being a formulaic pixel hunt.
  14. As a light adventure outing, I can recommend Dracula: Origin if only for the puzzle elements because even though the source material is treated with a great of respect and care there's not a lot present to keep the tension up to find out what happens next.
  15. Definitely worth playing for adventure fans, or gamers curious for something different.
  16. Despite the criticism that prevent it from realizing its potential, this is by no means a bad game and could serve you well if you're looking for something new to try.
  17. Dracula: Origin is an enjoyable point-and-click adventure with a solid story, recognizable characters, and great atmosphere that is slightly betrayed by some truly difficult puzzles that are more frustrating than fun.
  18. All in all Dracula Origin is not a bad game, it just seems to fall flat in some areas that are important to AG players.
  19. In many respects, the game feels as though it was rushed out the door several iterations early, before they had a chance to clean up the place-holder artwork and streamline the gameplay.
  20. It won't appeal to everyone, but those who like adventure games and vampire mythology should feel right at home here.
  21. Beautifully written and visualised. Adventure fans will be seduced. [Issue#9, p.59]
  22. Dracula: Origin is an average point-and-click Adventure game with a few cool new features. The Dracula theme is the game’s biggest plus, and starved adventure fans may have fun with it as long as they think outside the square. [Jul 2008, p.56]
  23. A nice Dracula themed point'n click adventure, which comes with decent voice acting and beautiful graphics. Unfortunately the game doesn't exploit the potential of the characters of Van Helsing and Count Dracula. Half of the story is wasted in weird Egypt episode. Luckily the story gets back on the track in the last third of the game. All in all, the inventive puzzles raise the game over the mediocrity and make it worth playing. More vampires next time, thank you. [Sept 2008]
  24. Classy, demanding and atmospheric - but it won't suit everybody. [Aug 2008, p.83]
  25. What it lacks in logic, it more than makes up for in mood and atmosphere. [Sept 2008, p.114]
  26. It's not without its share of the frustrating aspects of the adventure game genre, but Dracula: Origin still manages to provide an interesting story and some good gothic atmosphere.
  27. Frogwares invites us to go after the Prince of Darkness, in this interesting and traditional point'n'click adventure, which delivers us impressive and polished backgrounds . However, the quality of the whole game seems to be diminished by its linear plot and also its lack difficulty.
  28. A good puzzler if you're prepared to not only outwit, but second guess the quirks of the development team. [Sept 2008, p.75]
  29. But it seems that developer Frogwares spent more time attending to the genre's flaws than crafting an engaging adventure game. [Sept 2008, p.72]
  30. Dark, moody, and full of hate. Your reviewer the day after the diary puzzle. [Aug 2008, p.89]
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 2 out of 4
  1. Jun 17, 2013
    7
    It is by far not the best adventure game, but it has that charming limitation of relatively old games I personally like. You must read allIt is by far not the best adventure game, but it has that charming limitation of relatively old games I personally like. You must read all documents you find, for many times the answer is in them. I actually like that, and the texts are not long nor too many so reading them isn't boring at all. You can talk just to a few people and just about certain things, but most of them would be the ones you would have asked for, so you don't get that 'hey, I want to know about this other thing!' feeling. In the game you keep taking items from the scenario, not knowing really why you can take those and not others until you actually need them. I think it would make much more sense if it didn't allow you to take anything until you knew that you need it. In any case, that's a general issue of many adventure games, not only this one. Also, as in most adventure games, you'll have to combine the items in your inventory many times to discover others, which is a good feature. The game is not hard, but if you have trouble spoting items, by simply pressing the space bar you can see what you can do in an scenario, which is quite useful in a specific part of the game. As I said, the game is not very hard, for most cases when an item is needed the game shows where (a hand icon appears when you put your mouse over the spot) and (by clicking on it) Helsing says 'I need something more', so you only need to figure out which item could fit the place. However some puzzles simply stand there and you have to solve them with no previous explanation of what you should do. I found this really cool, for it feels more like the real thing, but you may find some of them a little more challenging, which I particularly liked. As to the graphics of the scenarios and characters, I didn't expected much, and maybe due to that the game looked really good to me. There are even some cutsceenes that, although short, make the game more enjoyable. The only problem about them were the low volume they had, but I just raised the volume whenever one of them started and that's it. As to the sound, I found the music very appropriate, not standing out but just giving the game a bit of its mystery atmosphere. And I actually liked the spanish voice of Helsing, although sometimes the emotions were a bit exaggerated. As to the duration, it took me just 9 hours to complete it, so it isn't very long, but in these days it's easy to find it in offers for 2€ or less, so if you aren't very demanding and like puzzle-adventure games it is worth a try. Graphics: 7.5. Sound: 7.0. Gameplay: 7.5. Duration: 6.0. Price(without offers): 6.5. Replayability: No. Final Mark: 6.9 Full Review »
  2. Marz
    Jan 5, 2009
    4
    Must say I was a bit disappointed by this one. I was expecting a Gabrial Knight-type mystery/adventure, and got a myst-like puzzle solvingMust say I was a bit disappointed by this one. I was expecting a Gabrial Knight-type mystery/adventure, and got a myst-like puzzle solving game instead. The puzzles are simple and good, but sometimes infuriating. The atmosphere didn't really immerse me in the game, and van Helsing's voice annoyed me. I was expecting more cutscenes to advance the story, instead the plot mostly advances through stilted interactions in in-game graphics, and via diary entries and newspaper clippings. If I wanted to read the story... I would've bought the book! :) I guess I've been out of the adventure game genre too long? Saved from a lower score due to the pretty graphics and music. Full Review »
  3. Nov 2, 2013
    8
    Although I can understand some criticism about this game (which certainly is not perfect, and it cannot be considered a classic) I do notAlthough I can understand some criticism about this game (which certainly is not perfect, and it cannot be considered a classic) I do not understand some ratings... some very negative.

    I must say, despite the general graphics (not up-to-date, not for the 2008) and some enigmas (a bit 'too difficult sometimes), the interesting setting, the very complete and mature plot, the sense of growing tension, and some small "gems" that I do not reveal (spoiler), made ​​me really appreciate this game.

    Overall, it is a perfect 7-rating-game, but considering the length and the care given to the plot, I will go for an 8.
    Full Review »