User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3070 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnG
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    I usually don't stop to rate games on review websites like this, but seeing the lousy 8.6 score gave me a bit of pause. I believe that this is far and away the most immersive RPG I've ever played. It is also the first RPG that actually made me feel that the choices I made had real consequences. The dialogue options have a lot of variety and at times I find myself wondering what I usually don't stop to rate games on review websites like this, but seeing the lousy 8.6 score gave me a bit of pause. I believe that this is far and away the most immersive RPG I've ever played. It is also the first RPG that actually made me feel that the choices I made had real consequences. The dialogue options have a lot of variety and at times I find myself wondering what would have happened in response had I chosen something else. The combat system is wonderful, I love the tactics involved. Although the system of pausing and issuing orders makes combat seem almost turn based in complicated situations it also feels more rewarding to me personally after having out matched my opponents on a strategic level. The only real critism I have is that outside of specialization, character customization is a bit limited, there aren't really many important talent trade offs. Any time I make a Tank character it's pretty much going to be the same build or if I make a rogue or archer or healer or mage. I would have liked it more had I been forced to choose talents that would make a more magic oriented tank or more single target oriented damage dealer etc. Maybe I was just looking for a more fleshed out specialization system. Anyway back to how awesome the game is; Dragon Age Origins is definitely a game that I recommend buying even just as a salute to the developers for great game making. Even though I haven't finished the game I already see myself spending hours and hours repeatedly playing it through with different classes and on different difficulties; and even now I feel a bit anxieous that I might finish it too soon and have to dread waiting for a new expansion or sequel. Expand
  2. andrzejr
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    Love it. I'm enjoying this way more than Baldur's Gate, and I was very happy with that one. This is definitely a successor to that in every way that matters and then some. Too bad all the console gamers won't get to enjoy the visual beauty that the pc version offers.
  3. Mark
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    Dragon Age Origins is not a perfect game, but I can't rate it at an even 9. The game takes you into a fantasy world that you don't want to leave. It is a single player experience that I haven't had since I played Oblivion. While the gameplay is not exactly like that of the Elder Scrolls series, it is close in its theme. I had never played an RPG like this before, because I Dragon Age Origins is not a perfect game, but I can't rate it at an even 9. The game takes you into a fantasy world that you don't want to leave. It is a single player experience that I haven't had since I played Oblivion. While the gameplay is not exactly like that of the Elder Scrolls series, it is close in its theme. I had never played an RPG like this before, because I found the whole concept rather tedious. After my friend saying that he was pretty jazzed about getting this game, I vowed to give it an honest try. By the time I'd finished the origin portion of the game, I was completely hooked. The voice acting is excellent for the most part, and the graphics are pretty good, although the PC version requirements seem to be considerably high for the graphics quality. My son has no trouble with playing it with his dual core AMD CPU, but he has a pretty good graphics card. I guess the best thing I could say about the game, is that I don't want it to end. After playing for more than 50 hours I still have a way to go before finishing my first play through. I will play it through again after giving it a break for a couple of months, and try my hand at a different class of character. That must tell you something. Expand
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    The best. Ever. Sure, game preference is entirely subjective, but I cant help but feel that the negative review scores this game received were provided by people who never actually played the game. From the start, it's clear that the world of Thedas is an epic place, with conflict, nuances, and thousands of years of history. Likely you disagree, but don't believe the gamers giving thisThe best. Ever. Sure, game preference is entirely subjective, but I cant help but feel that the negative review scores this game received were provided by people who never actually played the game. From the start, it's clear that the world of Thedas is an epic place, with conflict, nuances, and thousands of years of history. Likely you disagree, but don't believe the gamers giving this game a poor score. Beyond being a sublime game, dragon age origins pushes the boundaries of emotion, choice, and freedom within gaming. DAO doesn't simply faithfully receive Baldur's Gate II's mantle of best game out there, it rips that mante from BG2's cold, dead hands, then uses it as a weapon to single handedly enslave every other game in existence. Expand
  5. KennethR
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Out of dozens and dozens, this is one of the few 100 hour games I played to the end, and the only one I played twice in a row to the end. I had to say something...the criticisms are mostly wildly off target. I'm a professional writer, and this is the only game where I played long scenes just to hear the dialog and get the backstory. Micromanagement? Yeah, but you can still win just Out of dozens and dozens, this is one of the few 100 hour games I played to the end, and the only one I played twice in a row to the end. I had to say something...the criticisms are mostly wildly off target. I'm a professional writer, and this is the only game where I played long scenes just to hear the dialog and get the backstory. Micromanagement? Yeah, but you can still win just by making quick guesses. No graphic sex? Duh, read the label it reads "Partial Nudity". It's obviously a PC game? You Xbox and PS don't know what a relief it is not to have some dumbed-down version of a game made to suit those who don't have a mouse. One day, we'll actually be able to type letters in. (Again) The biggest con is the load times...I have RAID, without it, there's occasionally enough time to make a quick sandwich. Small potatos. Expand
  6. N.V.
    Nov 21, 2009
    10
    Huge game, tons of replay value. Interesting story. No need to follow a specific line through the game, but you can decide more freely where to go and when to go there (granted you need to do major plot quests to advance, but the order you do it in is up to you). Overall, it is a highly recommended RPG game for anyone that love the genre. Personally I have spent well over 300 hours in Huge game, tons of replay value. Interesting story. No need to follow a specific line through the game, but you can decide more freely where to go and when to go there (granted you need to do major plot quests to advance, but the order you do it in is up to you). Overall, it is a highly recommended RPG game for anyone that love the genre. Personally I have spent well over 300 hours in this game now, wich results in nearly 100 hours a week. Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    This is one of my favorite games. Extremely interesting story, with a lot of replayability. I ripped through it, and then instantly started again, one of the only times I have done that on any game.
  8. ChuckS
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    Others here have done a great job at describing game mechanics. I started with a female wizard. After only the introductory scenario I was blown away by the scripted events that follow. Dark fantasy indeed. Then soon afterward I was treated to another video interlude that was the most spectacular, soul stirring two minutes I have experienced in my long gaming life. I restored the game so Others here have done a great job at describing game mechanics. I started with a female wizard. After only the introductory scenario I was blown away by the scripted events that follow. Dark fantasy indeed. Then soon afterward I was treated to another video interlude that was the most spectacular, soul stirring two minutes I have experienced in my long gaming life. I restored the game so I could save and replay that moment again. If this is what I get in the first day of play, I lick my chops at the prospect of what follows. Expand
  9. TomB.
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    An incredible game. At the end of the third decade of PC gaming, a near perfect role playing game was delivered to us gamers. Superb and intuitive game controls (on the PC) combined with a way to tell the stories that I am surprised again and again.
  10. JanX
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    I was a bit sceptical when I learned that they weren't getting a license for the D&D universe this time, but what BioWare has provided us with here simply blows my mind. I've played every BioWare rpg from Planescape Torment on and the experience of Dragon Age surpasses even Baldur's Gate 2 for me. Yes, it is pretty linear and sometimes I thought to myself "okay, this would I was a bit sceptical when I learned that they weren't getting a license for the D&D universe this time, but what BioWare has provided us with here simply blows my mind. I've played every BioWare rpg from Planescape Torment on and the experience of Dragon Age surpasses even Baldur's Gate 2 for me. Yes, it is pretty linear and sometimes I thought to myself "okay, this would have worked differently without EA" - but the world they created is so vivid and believable you instantly become immersed in it and want to play it again several times with different characters, because it will be a whole different experience depending on your race, class and good/evil alignment. Expand
  11. TobiasB
    Nov 5, 2009
    10
    If you enjoy classic RPG gameplay, then you will love this fabulous game. Great story telling, combat, graphics and more. The only complaint is that the interface could be slightly improved, but outside of that it's near perfection. If you are an ADD twitch FPS type gamer, this is not for you.
  12. CerealLover
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    Do NOT buy/play this game if you do NOT have a lot of time on your hands. This game is highly addictive and can make you completely lose track of time passage. I regret buying this game so soon because I spent too much time on it and too little time studying for my midterm... The game's story is pretty much all inter-connected so it's very difficult to "finish this part and Do NOT buy/play this game if you do NOT have a lot of time on your hands. This game is highly addictive and can make you completely lose track of time passage. I regret buying this game so soon because I spent too much time on it and too little time studying for my midterm... The game's story is pretty much all inter-connected so it's very difficult to "finish this part and stop". If you DO have lots of time on your hands though, totally go for the game. The story will suck you in. Expand
  13. Zac
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    Incredible RPG experience, they story is compelling and the decisions you make effect the outcomes making for a very satisfying experience. Party interactions are very amusing at times, and add to the overall atmosphere of the game, really making it come alive.
  14. Tom01255
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    Traditional RPGs seem to have fallen out of favour of late. Whilst turn based games have almost certainly seen their demise on main stream consoles and PCs; replaced with their action-RPG counterparts, there seem to have been even fewer Baldur
  15. AustinM
    Nov 8, 2009
    10
    This is an epic fantasy RPG like we have come to expect from Bio-ware. The combat is fast paced, and depending on the level of difficulty, very tactical. The voice acting is amazing, better then any I have ever heard. The writing is as good as any New York Times bestseller, keeping you at the edge of your swivel chair the whole way through. The only complaints are almost irrelevant, long This is an epic fantasy RPG like we have come to expect from Bio-ware. The combat is fast paced, and depending on the level of difficulty, very tactical. The voice acting is amazing, better then any I have ever heard. The writing is as good as any New York Times bestseller, keeping you at the edge of your swivel chair the whole way through. The only complaints are almost irrelevant, long loading times and somewhat subpar graphics. But honestly, those will matter so little to you as soon as you hear your characters exchange a few pieces of witty dialog (mix and match your party members for some absolutely hilarious exchanges, Alistar and Morigran and Lelina and Sten have particularly funny bits) that they do not impact the game at all. A 9.5 at the least. Expand
  16. ironmike
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    A game that doesn't "go with the flow": it's very long, difficult and with a story and characters well made...casual players please stay away.
  17. Jet
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    Just stopping by to say that DA rocks! If you love old BG series and the witcher, you'll bathe in sunlight in this latest title from Bioware.
  18. Dec 23, 2010
    10
    Firstly this is the best fantasy RPG ever released, it has its problems but none of them take away from its epicness.

    Gameplay The gameplay, which is instantly familiar to anyone who has played Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic which itself it another Bioware wonder, is based around a team of 4 controlled in a semi real time manner, meaning the game is based of a background clock
    Firstly this is the best fantasy RPG ever released, it has its problems but none of them take away from its epicness.

    Gameplay
    The gameplay, which is instantly familiar to anyone who has played Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic which itself it another Bioware wonder, is based around a team of 4 controlled in a semi real time manner, meaning the game is based of a background clock which is sometimes refered to as ticks, so for instance your character may swing there weapon every 4 ticks. you choose one of 3 classes which each have the own starting story to expllain how they got the start of the game. the biggest complaint i have seen is that your ai partners are sometimes a bit slow, however there is a option to give them custom tactics and set parameters for activating moves, changing targets, when to use items etc. Some people who clearly missed the point say that bioware just couldnt be bothered to script the ai itself, where as i say that they have given the ai the ability to the basics of there build such as a healer healing but they have also constructed a command input system that will allow you to set up a custom team just as you like. if u cant be bothered with this ai is perfectly capable. The gameplay is smooth and easy to maintain control of with a zoom feature from over the shoulder to a battlefield view, which is this kind of game is possible the most useful feature ever i cannot praise the zoom featue enough. But should the combat get out of hand u can just hit space and pause the game give your team the commands to help tip the balance and then unpause as you watch your actions lead your team to victory ( lol i sound like a roman general/nerd). When your not fighting you will be talking to NPC's or exploring, your repsonce is not spoken instead you select it from a list of responses, but all major and some non major characters have full diologue in other words the only things you have to read are a few lines at most. The characters are voiced beautifully and the actors give some amazing performances worthy of any voice over movie. Should be the reading type then you can hunt for entries to the codex which is basically a history of dragon age book, and will tell u all about the extensive backstory and lore of the game.

    Graphics Well what can i say but WOW, i have a high end gaming machine hooked up to a 32 inch Hd-TV and the game looks absolutly amazing, to anyone with a good pc ignore the console versions of this game its much better on with added depth from the modding community but more on that later. The characters both major and non major look stunning., with great facial animations and movement. In combat all enemies look stunning and without spoiling anything some of the early cinematics are just jaw droppingly good. The animations in general are top notch with anything from swing a sword to waving goodbuy looking awesom. My personal faveorite part though are called death animations and these are basically random when fighting most enemies with a few exeptions and your character will kill the target in some sort of cool way, especially on the bigger monsters/creatures you fight they are a joy to watch. Linear Vs non linear This game is not fully open ended, such as fallout 3 or the eldar scrolls oblivion, but i have never had a problem with scripted games. This game gives the impression of a go any where do anything which is my opinion is harder to do than a big game world full of trees. All it means is that the bits that you see are beautiful to behold the dwarven cities being right up my street. At the game time though the game is no so linear as to force a player down a path and there are many to choose from esepcially when choosing to help/kill weather to be good/evil etc.

    The modding community
    2 words "amazingly epic", so many well done mods out and a great community to ask for help should you need it. The modders on sites like dragon age nexus are masters of the craft and should be hired this second by a company such as bioware. Bioware themselves are pretty clever giving an easy way to install/remove mods from your game. Conclusion
    Going into this game i was not sure as i am not the biggest fan or these kinds of combat systems but i have eaten my words with my foot in my mouth, it blew me away. Not once during this game have i ever felt stressed. I have enjoyed every minuite of playing this game, and being a game with 50 hours+ in one play though and having completed the game around 9 times (yes im sad but it should tell u how good it is lol ), it is alot of time. I know i said at the start of this review there are bad points and well erm i suppose i should mention one, erm............ errrrrrrrr..................hmmmmm well i cant think of any :P oh yeah it consumed a lot of my time lol. i would have mentioned the story in detail but no enough words, so i will simply say that which ever way you take the story its epic.
    Expand
  19. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    Easily the best RPG I've played for at least a decade, if not ever. It's like Baldur's Gate all over again without all the glaring deficiencies of the old D&D ruleset. Great story, great characters, good voice acting, and it's a party-based RPG! The biggest downside to the game is that it has to end at some point. Oh, and the AI is a bit daft if left to its own devices. If you're evenEasily the best RPG I've played for at least a decade, if not ever. It's like Baldur's Gate all over again without all the glaring deficiencies of the old D&D ruleset. Great story, great characters, good voice acting, and it's a party-based RPG! The biggest downside to the game is that it has to end at some point. Oh, and the AI is a bit daft if left to its own devices. If you're even mildly interested in the premise of the game, you really should play Dragon Age: Origins. I want more of the same please! Expand
  20. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    One of the best games that I have played in all my live. It is one of the few ones that you will be able to remember some years later as one exclusive experience. Original, entertaining, long and the most important, exciting. Only a few games will leave you this way.
  21. Macca
    Jan 24, 2010
    9
    I tend to review games I play once I've played about 50% the way through. I reserved my judgement on DAO until I completed it. The first thing i'd say is that this game is definately the best RPG on release at this moment. With a few more games coming out here in 2010, fans of this genre are in for some good times, and if you haven't yet played this game then you really I tend to review games I play once I've played about 50% the way through. I reserved my judgement on DAO until I completed it. The first thing i'd say is that this game is definately the best RPG on release at this moment. With a few more games coming out here in 2010, fans of this genre are in for some good times, and if you haven't yet played this game then you really should. Graphically, if you have a high end card and a halfway decent CPU then you are in for a visual treat. I played 50% of this game on an 8800gtx and the last 50% on an ATI 5870. The difference between the two allowed me to max out my screen at 1920x1200 and also max out all the settings in-game and whack on some AA. The game looked amazing. Not to say the ageing 8800 couldn't handle it, because it could, but I had to play it in 1680x1050 and lower some of the settings. The game has a main storyline which is a bit Lord of the Rings, but without the rings, and the mass of orcs replaced by Darkspawn, which in essence are the same kind of thing, basically marauding humanoids hellbent on wiping out humanity, which is kind of ironic. To achieve your goals you will have to take part in a series of subplots, which in themselves are rather epic in scale. Tie this in with a large dose of sidequests and you will soon find yourself overwhelmed with quests in your log. So, where does DAO drop from a 10 to a 9? Well, as i'm sure others have mentioned, sometimes the sidequests are very "chorelike" and you can find yourself quickly being taken away from the main objectives you want to achieve for large chunks of time. If you become addicted to the game and play for 5-6 hours solid per session, you could end up sporadically feeling that you haven't achieved much in the session. I myself, played some days like that, and other days I would play for an hour or two, and some days I'd leave it alone completely. When coming back to it, I would feel refreshed and ready to plough on. As for difficulty, playing the game on it's default level is a real challenge for many players i'm sure. Being an old timer myself, and having played too many RPG's to list, I found the challenge on the default setting just right. I died in places I expected to once stepping into a fight I knew were going to require a learning curve to beat, and once beat, I felt a real sense of achievement. Fortunately the combat mechanics in DAO are very well implemented. The tactics you can give to your team are in depth, and the game provides easy to use setups should you not want to spend time mastering your own tactics for each character. The game comes with DLC that you can purchase for a reasonable cost, and if you didn't get the deluxe version that comes with most of it, then buying it is definately something you want to do, especially Soldier's Peak which provides you with a chest for storage. From start to finish, Dragon Age Origins is a masterpiece on the PC. It has very few technical issues (at least on my machine), and plays smoothly. A definate recommendation. Expand
  22. MarkS
    Nov 11, 2009
    9
    Actually I'd like to rate this at a 9.5, but I can't give it a 10. This, from what I've read is old school type of RPG. This is different from Oblivion, which for newcomers to the RPG type game, was very easy to pick up. Dragon Age: Origins (DAO) has a different mechanic than that of Oblivion and Fallout 3. At first I found it intimidating, but now with more than just a few Actually I'd like to rate this at a 9.5, but I can't give it a 10. This, from what I've read is old school type of RPG. This is different from Oblivion, which for newcomers to the RPG type game, was very easy to pick up. Dragon Age: Origins (DAO) has a different mechanic than that of Oblivion and Fallout 3. At first I found it intimidating, but now with more than just a few hours under my belt, I'm really into this game. The quests come in fast and furious and the main story line and voice acting are excellent. The combat is fun as well, once you get a handle on the controls, and setting up your party. I guess you could blow through the campaign just to get to the end as fast as you can, but I'm enjoying the atmosphere of the game. The dialoge between your party members while you walk adds to the community feeling within a single player game. A tutorial would have been nice, but thankfully both my sons are old pros at these games and I now no longer need their help (errr. . .for the basics. . .) A really good game and I highly recommend it to even non-RPG players. Put an effort into learning the game mechanics, and you may enjoy it more than Oblivion Expand
  23. MK
    Nov 15, 2009
    9
    Ok, I ve been playing the game for 8-9 hours straight. The first impression is that it is a solid, well thought out, with good graphics and a very (very) interesting story with many turns in the plot old school RPG. I haven't been this exhilarated with an RPG since BGII almost a decade ago. Some say about the graphics that are dated, in my opinion there is no such issue. I find them Ok, I ve been playing the game for 8-9 hours straight. The first impression is that it is a solid, well thought out, with good graphics and a very (very) interesting story with many turns in the plot old school RPG. I haven't been this exhilarated with an RPG since BGII almost a decade ago. Some say about the graphics that are dated, in my opinion there is no such issue. I find them way better than most recent RPGs out there. Innovations, there are a couple (one is the use of tactics and tactic slots) but not many to make the game a breakthrough in the genre. The gameplay is one of the bes with, old Bioware-Activision top notch dialogues, a very helpful and immersive CODEX (a kind of encyclopedia), almost real characters and a very helpful UI and intuitive interaction menus. All in all, for me, a great and classic game. Expand
  24. RutgerV
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    Been playing this for a few days now and I got the same rare captivating magic feeling as I did with The Witcher, Elder Scrolls, and Fallout3. What an excellently detailed game in every aspect. This game breathes developer's dedication. Nice work EA/Bioware. Worth every cent.
  25. AlexR
    Dec 10, 2009
    9
    No matter the frustrations one might feel with the game's flaws (ie. the over-hyped choice-and-consequence factor, the sometimes creepy "uncanny-valley" problems with NPCs, the familiar "hero vs.a- threat-everyone-else-is-not-taking seriously" plot, the cut-scene graphical issues like characters' hands going through bodies and facial hair floating away from the face or No matter the frustrations one might feel with the game's flaws (ie. the over-hyped choice-and-consequence factor, the sometimes creepy "uncanny-valley" problems with NPCs, the familiar "hero vs.a- threat-everyone-else-is-not-taking seriously" plot, the cut-scene graphical issues like characters' hands going through bodies and facial hair floating away from the face or disappearing through fabric, etc.), the game is still the best RPG of 2009. What technical glitches or loading screens that annoy the player is more than compensated for by the characters the PC encounters and the emotions they can draw from him/her. These emotions are what Molyneaux, of the Fable franchise, tried to coax out of the players, but failed to do so. Dragon Age makes you care for your companions, who get mad at you for doing something stupid and who may develop change-of-hearts due to you nourishing your relationships with. This is what role-playing should be able to do: make you care for the people you meet and the world you are in. Of course, you can also choose not care. You can frustrate your companions, anger them until some are forced to draw their weapons against you. You can damn the world by electing poor leaders, or massacring groups of people, or dooming souls for your benefit. That is something this game does well, the element of role-playing. In the end, as far as the year has gone, no other game executes the same element as well as Dragon Age does. That's why there is no denying it is the best 2009 has to offer in RPGs, even the naysayers and flamers have no coherent argument to the contrary. Expand
  26. BradG
    Dec 29, 2009
    9
    I think its important to put the game into the proper context. To contest some of the negative user reviews and forewarn potential buyers, you're not buying something akin to Diablo or The Elder Scrolls here. Dragon Age follows the tradition of relatively linear, but well told role playing adventures like Baldur's Gate, Neverwinter Nights, etc. Be prepared for a complex story I think its important to put the game into the proper context. To contest some of the negative user reviews and forewarn potential buyers, you're not buying something akin to Diablo or The Elder Scrolls here. Dragon Age follows the tradition of relatively linear, but well told role playing adventures like Baldur's Gate, Neverwinter Nights, etc. Be prepared for a complex story and great character development (in terms of loot, stats, and stories), not a big free-roaming world or endless waves of monsters to click on. There are plenty of side quests and places to wander off the beaten path, but the game generally keeps you focused on the central plot. With that in mind, Dragon Age is a truly epic game. Bioware have gone from developing excellent games in other people's universes to producing equally excellent titles with completely new worlds to support them. If you can stomach some serious micromanaging and almost as much dialogue as gameplay, don't pass this title up. Its the best RPG I've played since... well... the last Bioware title. Expand
  27. JohnL
    Nov 18, 2009
    9
    Dragon Age is a serious update to the old-skool Bauldur's Gate style of play and while it definitely follows in the footsteps of BG and takes its story cues from the likes of Lord Of The Rings, it also manages to have its own identity via little touches in the back story as well as gameplay enhancements. It's not perfect, but it is very very good.
  28. ToddR
    Nov 23, 2009
    9
    Awesome story, decisions come back to bite you in the rear end. Diverse back stories. Endings are totally flexible depending on choices made during game play. Engaging plot and characters. Would have given a 10, but AI, even with the scripting tool, was clunky and not exactly trustworthy.
  29. JonD
    Nov 26, 2009
    9
    This is a very big and elaborate game. There are a lot of cutscenes, quantity enough to be imbalanced at first, but once you get deep enough into it--hours into the game--the actual gameplay finally balances out. I never played Baldur's Gate 2 so I can't compare to that, but the game does remind me a lot of Oblivion in some ways, at least as far as NPC interactions go, outside This is a very big and elaborate game. There are a lot of cutscenes, quantity enough to be imbalanced at first, but once you get deep enough into it--hours into the game--the actual gameplay finally balances out. I never played Baldur's Gate 2 so I can't compare to that, but the game does remind me a lot of Oblivion in some ways, at least as far as NPC interactions go, outside of party interactions. You might call it a cross between Mass Effect in interactions+exploring+fighting gameplay style, Oblivion in setting style, and some 2D RPGs like Neverwinter Nights in party-forming and DA's optional overhead isometric viewing (perhaps this is where Balders Gate 2 comes in? .. I wouldn't know). I do have a complaint about some of the textures, some of them look and feel awfully low-res, but they're at least made up for with lots of hi-res ones. The actual gameplay is fun, but the time it takes to level my main character up enough to have more than three or so special attacks is arduous. Overall, it's a great game. I only play AAA top-notch games anymore these days--too little time to play the merely "good" games--so the fact that I'm still playing Dragon Age should say a lot. Expand
  30. Duncan
    Nov 8, 2009
    10
    Been playing this all night and now it's 7 in the morning. Probably not very wise, but very enjoyable. One of the most epic, funny, moving, fun, intelligent games I have had the pleasure of playing. I love Bioware's stuff, loved KOTOR, Mass Effect, but this, I think, is something else. They've captured something truly epic here. I'll just say the word epic again, but Been playing this all night and now it's 7 in the morning. Probably not very wise, but very enjoyable. One of the most epic, funny, moving, fun, intelligent games I have had the pleasure of playing. I love Bioware's stuff, loved KOTOR, Mass Effect, but this, I think, is something else. They've captured something truly epic here. I'll just say the word epic again, but in caps: EPIC. It's like being in the lord of the rings. Expand
  31. Apr 2, 2011
    10
    This is probably one of the best RPG's i've played. The Origins stories and multiple endings really add to the replayability, as if you don't get enough entertainment and playtime in one playthrough. The combat system is exciting, and i like the tactical element.
    Overall a fantastic game.
  32. Jan 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great and fabulous game! I have played it at least 3 times, doing all possible quests, always as a mage... i love being a mage. But now i'm playing as a human noble, and it is fantastic!!! i have all dls'c and awakaning has sucha nostalgic feeling, makes em get deeply evolved and missing the original game!!! i realy got evolved and touched by the game story and gameplay is marvelous!!! nice graphics... the only problem is that the main character should speak like in mass effect!! well, have fun, it's realy worth the try!! Expand
  33. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    As time goes on, I look back with more and more fond memories of Dragon Age: Origins. When I first played the game, I was lukewarm to it. I thought it was decent, but too much of an old-school RPG. But as I played the game more, and after I beat it the second time, I realized that Dragon Age may be one of the finest RPGs ever created. The same warm feelings I have for classic RPGs likeAs time goes on, I look back with more and more fond memories of Dragon Age: Origins. When I first played the game, I was lukewarm to it. I thought it was decent, but too much of an old-school RPG. But as I played the game more, and after I beat it the second time, I realized that Dragon Age may be one of the finest RPGs ever created. The same warm feelings I have for classic RPGs like Baldur's Gate, Icewind Dale, and Neverwinter Nights are now applying to Dragon Age as well. Bioware's singular ability to create a world and populate it with interesting characters, events, and locations is on full display. It's such a shame that Dragon Age 2 was a disappointment. Hopefully DA3 will live up to this amazing game. Until then, I shall be playing this game over and over, and forgetting that DA2 even exists. Expand
  34. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    An absolutely engrossing RPG with compelling companions, huge strategic battles and a memorable (if slightly generic) background story. I played this one through non-stop over the course of a few days. It was difficult to tear myself away. And I went back and played it a few more times through as different classes and genders. I enjoyed each play-through thoroughly. There are some minorAn absolutely engrossing RPG with compelling companions, huge strategic battles and a memorable (if slightly generic) background story. I played this one through non-stop over the course of a few days. It was difficult to tear myself away. And I went back and played it a few more times through as different classes and genders. I enjoyed each play-through thoroughly. There are some minor annoyances such as shuffling during fights and the many 'fetch' quests that plague most RPGs but the story more than makes up for it along with a beautiful world and unforgettable companions. Epic and engrossing. Expand
  35. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    Dragon Age Origins is the best Rpg game that i have ever played, and i have played many rpgs like : gothic,diablo,elder scrolls,dungeon siege,mass effect,fallout and many more, but none of them made me lose track of time or being so fascinated by the world which they delivered like Dragon Age Origins. This game is my most favorite game and i can't even explain of how amazing this game is.Dragon Age Origins is the best Rpg game that i have ever played, and i have played many rpgs like : gothic,diablo,elder scrolls,dungeon siege,mass effect,fallout and many more, but none of them made me lose track of time or being so fascinated by the world which they delivered like Dragon Age Origins. This game is my most favorite game and i can't even explain of how amazing this game is. The story is amazing one of the best which i experienced, the gameplay is very unique and i guess some will not like the gameplay but for me the gameplay was perfect, character are funny,amusing,interesting and very easy to like, the graphic for me is very beautiful and i didn't encounter any bugs or any kind of technical issue. All the rpg elements like customization,dialogue,exploration,side missions,items and inventory,skills,abilities,experience and levels all of that is executed perfectly. In the end the only thing i can say about Dragon Age Origins that this is the best game i have ever played in my life Expand
  36. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    With Dragon Age Origins Bioware showed quite well that when it comes to telling a story and putting you at the head of it, their are still the best around. Someone could complain that the interface is not perfect, the graphics now always top level, the battles somewhat repetitive after a while. But in the end what makes the game great is that you have a run through a wonderful story whileWith Dragon Age Origins Bioware showed quite well that when it comes to telling a story and putting you at the head of it, their are still the best around. Someone could complain that the interface is not perfect, the graphics now always top level, the battles somewhat repetitive after a while. But in the end what makes the game great is that you have a run through a wonderful story while meeting truly memorable characters which will hold a place in your heart all along those from your favourite movies and books. And this is something which largely compensate for every minor flaw, making it rather irrelevant... Expand
  37. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Player through this game 6 times and found something new each time. Read both books, The Stolen Thrown and The Calling. Great story telling and attention to detail; truly epic.
  38. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    Awesome game, I highly recommend it! Just completed it and I want to start again. I can honestly say I haven't played such great RPG for very long time. Grab this masterpiece.
  39. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    One of the best RPG's released in a decade. The story is riveting and deep, the characters are believable and fun to interact with. The options in every situation that affect the outcome of the game are thoughtful and well implemented.
  40. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    One of the best rpg's ever! The only downside is that battle can be challenging, but is that really a downside? Playing the elf mage I think has the best storyline. The dialogue/conversations are as realistic as any game i've ever played. great voice acting. Do yourself a favor by getting Origins as opposed to Dragon Age 2 which is the complete opposite.
  41. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    As a fan of RPG games, this game with Baldurs Gate take first place in my RPG list. This game taking your whole mind into this magic world. The story is made perfectly, side quest are interesting, the choices which you are making makes diffrence in the future, there`s everything what good RPG game should have. If you haven`t played it... just DO IT.
  42. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    This is one of my favorite games. I just love almost everything in this game: gameplay, characters, cutscene, graphics, and even control I really liked, well, nothing I can not help myself! =) Another great game from the hardcore BioWare!
  43. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    One of my all-time favorites. This is a shameless D&D style nerdfest of an RPG and I wouldn't have it any other way. The combat is a bit clunky, but it was crafted that way on purpose. The fighting has more of a chessboard feel, really.
  44. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    Played through to about three-quarters of the PC version of the game so far, so I would say I'm not being too quick to give my rating. Engaging storyline, fun mechanics, natural and well paced leveling up (unlike most leveling systems - makes you feel stronger but not overpowered, and fun even playing warriors, unlike traditional hack and slash, there are actually fun clickable abilitiesPlayed through to about three-quarters of the PC version of the game so far, so I would say I'm not being too quick to give my rating. Engaging storyline, fun mechanics, natural and well paced leveling up (unlike most leveling systems - makes you feel stronger but not overpowered, and fun even playing warriors, unlike traditional hack and slash, there are actually fun clickable abilities for them). Their stats system is quite enjoyable - there are no "wasted" stats - even Magic (something like intelligence in classical DnD) is specifically useful for a warrior. Be warned though, battles are challenging - in some cases, you'll need several reloads trying out different tactics or just hoping for the best (along the lines of: COME ON! DANG MAGE, JUST LET YOURSELF BE STUNNED ALREADY and don't unleash that damn lightning storm... ), especially if you refuse to lower the difficulty to easy mode (which I insisted on) (also please heed the advice by the game: don't always expect a full frontal assault of your party of four versus twenty enemies to work - please... you're powerful, but not godlike powerful...). You'll also need to master the pause button (IT"S NOT MEANT TO BE A REAL-TIME BATTLE SYSTEM), much like the Baldur's Gate series, which may be a bit confusing for some players, but once you get the hang of it, it is actually very enjoyable - e.g. it lets you tell the character to cast the high level blizzard storm, and you can watch the effects only when you are ready, and prepare combo spells to follow up without it being a confusing click-fest. As for the critics, who seem to be mainly the Oblivion converts (I payed to play it too, and it is fun in its own way), but this is a different type of RPG - one where the focus is on a strong story line, and less on things like getting lost in a maze or spending eight hours doing something mundane like fishing and perhaps never managing to get on with the story (as per Oblivion). The most impressive facet of this game to me is the amount of detail put into it - every SINGLE line is actor-voiced, and you can actually feel the emotions. The back story is also rich, including mini-treatises and actual wordings on plot items, but the game mechanics give you the option to read them only if you feel like it (warning: if English isn't one of your language, you may not be able to enjoy it much, some side quests require you to do "reading comprehension" to get it right; and you may also not appreciate the often interesting and amusing banter between companions). The developers also make sure to include snippets in the game that flatter the player, which actually succeed in making you feel smug about yourself when they do happen. Note: you're not doing justice to the game if you aren't playing in maximum graphics capability. Anyway, after I first played it for like five hours, and it was only starting to dawn on me that the attention to details were actually going to persist throughout the game, I was going like - "OMG! I can't believe I payed only thirty (Singapore) dollars (~20 USD) to play this game. How in the world are the developers going to recoup their losses from hiring all these graphic designers and voice actors? They must have spent a gazillion hours making the game. Please don't go bust anytime soon, I really want more of these priceless pieces of art...". Apparently, there are also different back stories depending on which class and race you choose to play (no, I'm not going to spoil them by wiki-ing them up), so there's going to be replayability. You can also pick different companions for next time, or just rotate them as you like - backbenchers will level up together with your main party, so you don't have to farm for xp (there's actually not much mindless farming you can do in this game). All in all, you won't regret buying this game UNLESS 1. you want to live in an alternate world literally and maybe never get on with the story (get Oblivion instead, it's a great game too), 2. you want a five minute learning curve ("why can't i just click UP UP DOWN DOWN LEFT RIGHT and make the enemy drop dead instantly?"), 3. you want to play ONLY a single player ("Can dang Morrigan and Alistair just do your own thingies without me needing to tell you what to do? I don't care if you two can make wonderful sophisticated combos out of the range of the capacity of any computer AI, I'm only interested in controlling ME AND ONLY ME!!!"), 4. you don't actually want a DnD-ish RPG title and got to this page by mistake, 5. you are a disgruntled EA employee fired for scolding your boss's mum a whore or something like that, 6. I can't think of a 6... Expand
  45. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    Great story line. The characters are very well defined. The play could use a bit of work, but the game is so addictive that, you probably won't care. The comments your party make are very funny. I often change up members just to hear the different interactions.
  46. Dec 18, 2012
    9
    At first I was not attracted by the tactical gameplay approach that Bioware had chosen. However, Dragon Age: Origins quickly changed my mind with its compelling storyline and perfect balance between action and dialogue.

    In the character selection you can select between different races, origins and classes, which will influence your game experience. This results in extremely customizable
    At first I was not attracted by the tactical gameplay approach that Bioware had chosen. However, Dragon Age: Origins quickly changed my mind with its compelling storyline and perfect balance between action and dialogue.

    In the character selection you can select between different races, origins and classes, which will influence your game experience. This results in extremely customizable characters. You will need to choose one of six unique origin stories, which will determine how the different races of Ferelden will treat you throughout the game.

    With blood, gore, and dragons you will experience scary cutscenes that introduces you to the life as a Grey Warden. You travel through Ferelden trying to free the country from the darkspawn and the arch demon. Murder, treason and politics; all interfering with your epic quest. It is now up to you and your comrades to liberate this country. The experience was a perfect balance between beautiful outdoor areas and the frightening depths of the Deep Roads lurking with darkspawn.

    The innovating gameplay implemented by Bioware does work brilliantly and instead of the usual hack-n-slash RPG you get a more strategic and at times more challenging adventure. At any time, you will have the opportunity to pause and consider the situation. This gives you a chance to regroup and plan the perfect way to get rid of your foes. Another twist compared to the Elder Scrolls and The Witcher series is that you do not only control your protagonist, but you control a band of heroes fighting your way through hordes of darkspawn, bandits and dragons! Bioware has truly created a game with an epic storyline. The personalities you will meet throughout the game are creative and original because of the intelligent voice acting that brings the characters to life. Even when you walk through town they will chat about numerous things, such as their pasts, races and classes.

    As player you should expect gorgeous graphics, but also a challenging game with difficulties that can get even the most hardcore players on their toes! The game mechanics are easy accessible and very fast to learn. Dragon Age: Origins is definitely a must buy for all RPG fans!

    Dragon Age: Origins is one of the best roleplaying games of this decade all up there with the Elder Scrolls and Fallout.
    Expand
  47. AlexG.
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    Though I do not believe this game to be flawless, I hold it's score much nearer 10 than 9. Engaging storyline, captivating characters, fantastic moral decisions, etc etc. Put simply, everyone who loves, or even just likes RPGs should play Dragon Age: Origins.
  48. MikeK
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    Despite a few minor annoyances, this is by far the best fantasy RPG to come out in the last 10 years. Anyone looking for a story driven RPG should play this game. Within the first couple hours you will already be plotting your second playthough.
  49. MohJ
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    This game is on the top list of my favorites games ever. Listen to what I'm going to say next, and listen carefully .... I'm 20+ hours into the game and I've only completed 14% of it! 20 Bloody hours and only 14% completion and 25% world explored! Hooowaa... The only bad thing is that I have too many exams and this game isn't giving me the chance to study for them.
  50. BlaiseJ
    Nov 27, 2009
    10
    I've been a long time Role Player and I must say this game boasts some of the best story telling I've ever seen in a game. Coupled with excellent character development and great game play this is not a title you want to pass up.
  51. TimJ.
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    The RPG ive been waiting for since I saw the end-credits roll on Baldurs Gate 2. Although only about 8 hours in, Its an incredible experience. A few minor glitches, but nothing that detracts from it being the best game from Bioware in a long time. Heres to more adventures into the amazing world of Dragon Age! Cheers!
  52. NathanT
    Nov 4, 2009
    10
    Wow this game just keeps getting better and better as I play it and am only 10+ hours in. The combat is a challenge but that is a good thing. And I find as I play it more I understand the way my party is set up to fight and how to approach groups of enemies without having to waste all my pots to stay up. The combat is something that will take many many hours to get really good at and Wow this game just keeps getting better and better as I play it and am only 10+ hours in. The combat is a challenge but that is a good thing. And I find as I play it more I understand the way my party is set up to fight and how to approach groups of enemies without having to waste all my pots to stay up. The combat is something that will take many many hours to get really good at and almost impossible to completely master. Like some reviews say, this is the best RPG of the decade. GOTY contender along with borderlands and UC2. Expand
  53. JamesC
    Nov 4, 2009
    9
    Dragon Age is an amazing game. That is no doubt. The voice-work is top notch and the story is immersive and very well written. Every character you encounter, from the lowly guard to the players in your party, has a unique attitude. Interacting with these characters can be a challenge if you're trying to be the 'good guy' because a lot of the choices are unclear as to being Dragon Age is an amazing game. That is no doubt. The voice-work is top notch and the story is immersive and very well written. Every character you encounter, from the lowly guard to the players in your party, has a unique attitude. Interacting with these characters can be a challenge if you're trying to be the 'good guy' because a lot of the choices are unclear as to being right or wrong. Do you kill the child and slay the demon with it or do you sacrifice his mother to save the boy? To make matters more confusing are the extremely different perspectives of your party and how they think of you for doing certain things. Trying to balance a happy party is tough work but with a little help from gifts you acquire along the way, it is feesable to make most of your party pleased with you. Combat is challenging to say the least. Managing your partys actions in combat can be a chore at times. You have very limited combat tactics slots to start with and even as you gain more, you get more and more skills along the way to fill up those few slots. Leaving your team to do their own thing works for the most part using this system but to kill harder foes, you'll more than likely need to take control of them manually in order to access all of their abilities. And trust me, you'll need to use all of the tricks up their sleaves. The mosters of DA:O are no push overs. These aren't your run-of-the-mill RPG trash monsters you crush for XP and money; every battle counts. Even early on you'll find yourself running low on health potions and such. I recommend rolling a healer to start, honestly. I started off as a 2-handed sword swinging brute and later regretted it as combat became more and more difficult without a healer to back me up in the early parts of the game. I could go on for a while about DA:O but I won't delve too much deeper on a Metacritic review. Overall the game is fantastic. Rich lore, great story, exciting (and bloody) combat, amazing sound effects (the combat sounds real), a variety of armor and weapons, skills and items, and downloadable content already out with more to come, I'm sure, make this game definately worth the price tag and then some. $50 bucks for 100 hours of gameplay with numerous endings and extremely high replayability. Can't beat that anyway you look at it. Expand
  54. sakij
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    As of this post i have been playing for 12 hours, and every minute of the game (the part where you decide just how bushie your characters eyebrows are going to be does not count) had me screaming "BWEST GAME EVAR!", the combat is smart and requires tactic and the story, even the stupid side quests that rpg's are famous for, are incredibly well written and the voice acting is superb, As of this post i have been playing for 12 hours, and every minute of the game (the part where you decide just how bushie your characters eyebrows are going to be does not count) had me screaming "BWEST GAME EVAR!", the combat is smart and requires tactic and the story, even the stupid side quests that rpg's are famous for, are incredibly well written and the voice acting is superb, even if this game removed the combat i would still give it a 9, definitely a must buy for every rpg fan out there, but if your in to straight forward action then you can do better than Dragon Age : Origins. a perfect score from me. Expand
  55. ShawnB
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    Very well done. I don't have any complaints at all. Epic in scope, epic in execution. George RR Martin fans are in for a treat.. and everyone else will soon be GRRM fans... you've managed to capture what he created and expand.... bravo Bioware! Standing ovation!
  56. DaleF
    Nov 7, 2009
    10
    I worked on this game, playing it as a job for the past year. Once it was released I took it home and played it as a GAME, and it's like I'm playing it for the first time, and I'm completely addicted!
  57. PeterW
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    This is my first on metacritic, but I have found this game to be so entirely amazing, I felt compelled. I am a huge rpg fan, finding them to be multiple times more stimulating than any fps. And this is the best Game I have played for a long time! The characters are diverse and intriguing, the combat is exciting and keeps it from becoming tedious due to having to think about tactics- each This is my first on metacritic, but I have found this game to be so entirely amazing, I felt compelled. I am a huge rpg fan, finding them to be multiple times more stimulating than any fps. And this is the best Game I have played for a long time! The characters are diverse and intriguing, the combat is exciting and keeps it from becoming tedious due to having to think about tactics- each fight is a real push! I haven't been this addicted to a game for a very long time! It seems that peoples only trouble is the extent to which it is an original game? My argument is that the fantasy genre has been done so many times that its hard to innovate. There is the danger of being so bogged down in doing something new that it ruins the game, the storyline becoming too convulated and weak. The game play becomes complicated in its innovation, and it becomes tedious to play. The only problem with a lack of originality is that because you have seen it all before it doesn't stimulate you. However dragon age origins doesn't have this probowm beauase it is the top pf the genre. All in all get this game you won't regret it! Expand
  58. GeoffreyG
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    Amazing. It's the same formula that made the Baldur's Gate series popular brought to a whole new level. The world is remarkable largely for it's amazing depth, and the true three dimensionality of the characters and relationships between them. Easily the best RPG of the year, and a good contender for the RPG of the decade.
  59. ChrisB
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    This game is astounding in every fashion. If you find one things wrong, there are 20 very RIGHT things to counter it. Get this game, and don't listen to the nay-sayers.
  60. AppleOrange
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    First on metacritic, but I have to point out some of these reviews are being completely unfair. This game held me attention from beggining to end, it wasn't a game where I EVER felt tired to play. From the gameplay to graphics to story, the game Bioware created is top notch, and will join the league of great games that were created by them. It is definately a must buy. Fans of RPGs First on metacritic, but I have to point out some of these reviews are being completely unfair. This game held me attention from beggining to end, it wasn't a game where I EVER felt tired to play. From the gameplay to graphics to story, the game Bioware created is top notch, and will join the league of great games that were created by them. It is definately a must buy. Fans of RPGs and strategy will extremely enjoy this game. Expand
  61. DanielB
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    This is a real return to form for Bioware. It's hugely reminiscent of Baldur's Gate in gameplay, although I could see it being confusing for people who weren't fans of the genre back then. It's not a simple game, by any means. I really don't understand what people are talking about when they say it's like last gen's graphics; i've got the settings This is a real return to form for Bioware. It's hugely reminiscent of Baldur's Gate in gameplay, although I could see it being confusing for people who weren't fans of the genre back then. It's not a simple game, by any means. I really don't understand what people are talking about when they say it's like last gen's graphics; i've got the settings maxed out on my pc and honestly, it's pretty stunning. Voice acting is really well done, and party members bounce off one another superbly. There have been some lines that made me laugh out loud while playing. Keeping everybody happy is proving to be quite a challenge too, much more so than Mass Effect of KOTOR were. I welcome the challenge; it makes you really consider everything you do much more carefully. Speaking of which, I've been moaning for years the polarity of 'morality choices' in these games. I applauded the initiative to make choices matter, but found the execution lacking. Everything was always 'be good' or 'be evil', with no interesting choices. Bioware have really nailed it in this game. So far, at around 30 hours into the game, I've encountered situations where there is no good or bad choice; rather I've found myself confronted by agonising decisions where there are no right answers, and every choice could conceivably have disasterous outcomes for all involved. The major decisions in this game carry a lot of weight, and I'm really looking forward to seeing how they play out through the rest of the campaign. This is the most engaging RPG i've played in nearly a decade, and although it's not perfect, and definitely not for everyone, it's a comfortable 10 from me. Expand
  62. sdOK
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    Simply spectacular. I get very easily bored of tolkienesque generic fantasy settings. And this game is very much in that genre. But Dragon Age is just so superbly executed any minor quibbles are rendered irrelevant. If you like epic fantasy; this is it. Mature, intelligent and exciting. I dont think I have ever been moved by the characters in a game so much. And I would also say as an Simply spectacular. I get very easily bored of tolkienesque generic fantasy settings. And this game is very much in that genre. But Dragon Age is just so superbly executed any minor quibbles are rendered irrelevant. If you like epic fantasy; this is it. Mature, intelligent and exciting. I dont think I have ever been moved by the characters in a game so much. And I would also say as an avid and voracious reader of scifi/fantasy fiction this is the first time that I would say a game could rival a decent fantasy novel. Plus after playing the game to the conclusion with some very long sessions the game ran like a dream. Absolutely no bugs or crashes. 10/10 Expand
  63. AndiM
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    Finally, an RPG without the "action" moniker stuck in front. Though there's plenty of action to be had, it's in the tactical combat and amazing story, not how fast i can press a button on my mouse.
  64. JenniferC
    Nov 28, 2009
    10
    This is my kind of RPG. I love the interactive fiction/movie aspect of it. It has a very well written story, a well fleshed out world, and is a lot of fun to go through and see what other options will do for the story.
  65. Aug 21, 2010
    9
    This is one of the best story driven RPG's ever released. The great strength of this game lies in its immersive story and compelling characters. Bioware has created an epic fantasy world that draws you in from the opening scenes and holds you up till the final credits and beyond. The sound track is hauntingly beautiful and sets the mood wonderfully.
    The weakness of this game is that the
    This is one of the best story driven RPG's ever released. The great strength of this game lies in its immersive story and compelling characters. Bioware has created an epic fantasy world that draws you in from the opening scenes and holds you up till the final credits and beyond. The sound track is hauntingly beautiful and sets the mood wonderfully.
    The weakness of this game is that the game play does not quite match up quality wise to the story. The graphics, while not horrible, aren't overly impressive either. The combat can get repetitive after a while and the AI can be buggy in places. And it's almost too easy even on higher difficulties. Despite these flaws I found it to be a highly riveting game. It's like an epic fantasy novel that you can play instead of read. If your the kind of person who can get lost in a good book for hours on end, then Dragon Age: Origins is a must have. If however you play RPG's strictly for the combat and item collecting, you may be disappointed with this title.
    Expand
  66. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    I loved this game, same style gameplay as KOTOR. The combat was fun to watch, and I really was able to get into the storyline. The dialogue was very well done IMHO. This was one of my favorite games now, and will always have a spot on my hard drive (except for alot of the DLC, most of it was done very poorly)
  67. Mar 11, 2011
    9
    Pretty good, overall. I enjoyed the storyline and the world it set up. I can imagine Bioware will have a few sequels for this.
    It's no NWN or BG, but we're not gonna see anything like those for a while, I imagine. They're just not popular anymore.
    Characterisation was great, dialogue was good, voice acting was good, graphics were good, plot was interesting. Combat was good, although the
    Pretty good, overall. I enjoyed the storyline and the world it set up. I can imagine Bioware will have a few sequels for this.
    It's no NWN or BG, but we're not gonna see anything like those for a while, I imagine. They're just not popular anymore.

    Characterisation was great, dialogue was good, voice acting was good, graphics were good, plot was interesting. Combat was good, although the blood effects were over the top. Disappointed me that there were party members committed to fighting the blight who just sat around in camp all day doing nothing, but the only way around that is to have less party members.

    One of the best RPGs I've played. Sure, it's not the best, but I enjoyed it.
    Expand
  68. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    Now since I restarted DAO cause of DA2. I look over everything I see. Story, detail, graphics, music, game play and Reply value.

    The Story: It is amazing for this game. Well thought and well Detailed. Spread over the whole map. The main story line is amazing it drags you in from the get go. Straight to the end of the game. The side quests are great to again all over the map. Certainly
    Now since I restarted DAO cause of DA2. I look over everything I see. Story, detail, graphics, music, game play and Reply value.

    The Story: It is amazing for this game. Well thought and well Detailed. Spread over the whole map. The main story line is amazing it drags you in from the get go. Straight to the end of the game. The side quests are great to again all over the map. Certainly gives you that extra bit to work on even if it only gives a little extra bit of game play. Even with character stories to. Some meld together. Even the interaction talks while wondering about. It all works together perfectly.

    The Detail: Tones in my book. Just perfect for a long RPG. Which is what it should be. Certainly a lot to read to give you more detail and draw you into the game world. Which it should. Cause that moment you start to play it should drag you in which it dose with this. Many might say that tones of reading is boring. But this is always a key point to good RPG. No way you could have some one just speak it all out. Some might say that would be better some would say not. Hence why having both in it. Is much better. The detailed conversations from the characters and npc's down to the codex notes which give you information.

    The Graphics: Perfect and still now perfect in my books for an RPG like this one. The Characters are life like, even in the cinematic's. The towns and Cities are well detailed and work with the time period of the game. The npc's and even the animals. The darkness in it work even well better for game and story. Some might say it dose not. But I beg to differ.

    The Music: It is great. It enhances the game amazingly, drawing you into the game even more. So much work put into it, It is certainly one of the things I love in this game. Nothing more I can say.

    The Reply Value: The reply value of this game. Is great to reply as the other classes certainly makes it worth while indeed. Even go different ways with them in the sense of character. Yes there is mods out there you can use to further enhance that. But on just the game it is perfect. It is certainly one game I will reply many times out of my large and I use that loosely game collection.

    Overall: This game is one all you RPG players should certainly have. Graphics, story, Detail. Everything works perfectly for this game. I give this 100% and 10/10
    Expand
  69. Mar 16, 2011
    9
    A script and dialogue to rival Planescape: Torment. That's the highest praise I could ever give a game. Play it through and be prepared to be engrossed, captivated, and moved in equal measure. As far as a sidenote in terms of gameplay, its rather micro-managed combat can take a bit of getting used to, but is ultimately rewarding and challenging. Looks great, plays great, reads evenA script and dialogue to rival Planescape: Torment. That's the highest praise I could ever give a game. Play it through and be prepared to be engrossed, captivated, and moved in equal measure. As far as a sidenote in terms of gameplay, its rather micro-managed combat can take a bit of getting used to, but is ultimately rewarding and challenging. Looks great, plays great, reads even better. Utterly superb. Expand
  70. Sep 5, 2011
    9
    If you have the ultimate edition like me, you'll find this is one of the best RPGs in long time, unlike the sequel which is pretty crap due to console button bashing gameplay, this game maintains a PC grade experience who prefer a bit of strategy and planning. Excellent story, decent graphics, easily 100+ hours of gameplay.
  71. Jun 24, 2011
    9
    One reviewer called this game a love letter to the classic RPG, and it's true. Huge, epic story on the scale of BG2, side plots, romance and a climactic final battle. Dragon Age: Origins brings the formula up to date. It has top-down-view tactical combat with a custom ruleset that works far better than the D&D one -- no "resting", and warriors and rogues have a range of abilities now!One reviewer called this game a love letter to the classic RPG, and it's true. Huge, epic story on the scale of BG2, side plots, romance and a climactic final battle. Dragon Age: Origins brings the formula up to date. It has top-down-view tactical combat with a custom ruleset that works far better than the D&D one -- no "resting", and warriors and rogues have a range of abilities now! Multiple endings, and even a gay romance plot that's been the subject of controversy but that I thought was rather good and a step forward for the genre. A little cliche and with some slow bits, but basically excellent. Expand
  72. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    Dragon Age Origins has a different feel than most RPG's that i am used to, though i still enjoyed the game the story sucked me right in yet it wasn't perfect the mechanics were fun but took some getting used too gameplay was more strategic than action this is were it hurts me the most i like Action Role Playing Games like Diablo 2 LOD and Dragon Age Origins took some getting used to. OverDragon Age Origins has a different feel than most RPG's that i am used to, though i still enjoyed the game the story sucked me right in yet it wasn't perfect the mechanics were fun but took some getting used too gameplay was more strategic than action this is were it hurts me the most i like Action Role Playing Games like Diablo 2 LOD and Dragon Age Origins took some getting used to. Over all this game is worth the money If you are interesting don't hesitate its should be relatively cheap now. Expand
  73. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Simply one of the best role playing computer games ever made, a fascinating world that sucks you in with superbly realized characters and a great game mechanic. One of Bioware's best, and that's saying something,
  74. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Excellent RPG, I rank this game up there with the first Neverwinter Nights. It's also cheap enough now where you can pick up the expansion and all the DLC for a reasonable price. Give it a try, I would be very surprised if you come away disappointed.
  75. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    Epic rpg, great story, great combat, BW hit it out of the park. Its one that you need to think taticly with every member of your squad.One unique feature is the ability to play as one of your companions, additionally as experience yo set the actions off your team to take.
  76. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dragon Age: Origin thrusts you into a brand new fantasy world, on that borrows from some of the greatest series the fantasy genre has to offer, and blends them into a perfect game. You are a Grey Warden, warriors from all corners of the world, from all races, and all talents, to fight the blight, where thousands of Darkspawn and other horrid monsters serve the Archdemon, and the only ones that can kill an Archdemon; are the Grey Wardens.

    Incredible characters and story, make this game personal. All the characters are well thought out, and unique, and all have special abilities. The story is engrossing, and you choose from one of six origin stories: Human Noble, Circle Mage, Dwarven noble, Dwarven commoner, City Elf, and Dalish Elf. All origin stories are different, and effect the way characters treat you.

    Gameplay, is for the most part, great. You can choose to be a Warrior, Rogue, or Mage, and all are very different and fun to play.

    The graphics, aren't very good. There are mods that make it look better, and it looks fine without mods, but it's not Battlefield 3.

    Overall, the story, characters, gameplay, and world make this game a must have. And through multiple playthroughs, the mainquest, sidequests, and deeds, you will spend hundreds of hours on this game.
    Expand
  77. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    Hands down the best and most true RPG to date. This is/was and always will be, BioWare's best work - the best masterpiece created in video-gaming history, ever... !
  78. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Awesome game is awesome, the combat was a bit slow and your characterr beeing mute is a bit awkward from time to time, but the story and companions is well written.
  79. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    A perfect ten for me -- Dragon Age: Origins is probably the best game I have ever played, at least since the 1980s; at least as good as Neverwinter Nights if not even better. I don't know a way to put it other than an enormous RPGasm of truly epic proportions that virtually never ends: when you feel you must be reaching the end of the humongous game, you're not even a third into it.

    There
    A perfect ten for me -- Dragon Age: Origins is probably the best game I have ever played, at least since the 1980s; at least as good as Neverwinter Nights if not even better. I don't know a way to put it other than an enormous RPGasm of truly epic proportions that virtually never ends: when you feel you must be reaching the end of the humongous game, you're not even a third into it.

    There is all the flexibility you expect from an RPG and replay value that is simply ridiculous: you can play the game several times and get truly different stories. The bang for the buck you get from Dragon Age: Origins is simply unheard of in an RPG. By the standards of contemporary games, the graphics are far from impressive. The game is so good it doesn't matter.
    Expand
  80. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    The last RPG made by Bioware. This game truly worth for "Baldur's Gate's spiritual successor" title. It is hard to understand how Bioware could make a disaster like Dragon Age 2 after this piece of art. Dragon Age: Origins addresses both RPG veterans and newbies. I strongly recommend this game to all gamers.
  81. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    I wrote this review, because of the negative marks and low average score this game got. I mean, 8.5 REALLY This game is true to the baldur's gate inheritance and has amazing scenario, graphics, music, ethical choices, spell and fight system and I got the best thief-assasin character ever... For me it is a clear 10
  82. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    Wow, Just wow. This game is quite simply a masterpiece, and i made an account here just to praise it. The story is absolutely riveting. The characters are complex, deep and quite often you may even feel like you're talking to a real person. And for some reason the negative comments have lead me to believe that those people have never actually played the game.
    If you're a fan of RPG's then
    Wow, Just wow. This game is quite simply a masterpiece, and i made an account here just to praise it. The story is absolutely riveting. The characters are complex, deep and quite often you may even feel like you're talking to a real person. And for some reason the negative comments have lead me to believe that those people have never actually played the game.
    If you're a fan of RPG's then i could not recommend this game enough!
    Expand
  83. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    Definitely one of my all-time favourite games. It is worth playing for the story alone but the gameplay is flawless and the graphics are first rate. It's a game I've come back to several times over the last few years and I'll no doubt keep playing it for years to come, there's not many other games I can say that about.
  84. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    The problem with Dragon Age is that it ruins any future RPG experience. Once you finish it, every new RPG you play will be held up to DA:O in comparison and likely won't come close. This vast, immersive and fantastical world is full of everything you want from an RPG experience. One of the things I liked the most was the party-based combat system. You really have to think through eachThe problem with Dragon Age is that it ruins any future RPG experience. Once you finish it, every new RPG you play will be held up to DA:O in comparison and likely won't come close. This vast, immersive and fantastical world is full of everything you want from an RPG experience. One of the things I liked the most was the party-based combat system. You really have to think through each battle carefully and approach them tactically, not just picking your favourite weapon and hacking through as fast as you can. I really hope DA:Inquisition is similar in interface/style, because I'm worried I'll never get to play a game like this again. Expand
  85. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    There is no better RPG than this one. The graphics are superb and the dialogue is immensely entertaining. What I can't understand is how the creators of the game could have abandoned this tremendous game in favor of the direction they took with the sequel. The is a must-have game for this genre.
  86. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    I'm a huge fan of games such as Baldur's Gate 2, Fallout 1+2, etc. I like RPGs with well-written characters, good story, and challenging, tactical combat. Dragon Age: Origins delivers on all these fronts and gave me one of the if not the greatest gaming experience I had in the last 10 years. No, it is not a perfect game and yes, there will be people who don't enjoy the combat, but if youI'm a huge fan of games such as Baldur's Gate 2, Fallout 1+2, etc. I like RPGs with well-written characters, good story, and challenging, tactical combat. Dragon Age: Origins delivers on all these fronts and gave me one of the if not the greatest gaming experience I had in the last 10 years. No, it is not a perfect game and yes, there will be people who don't enjoy the combat, but if you like challenging RPG combat and are not opposed to a mixture of turn based and real time, do yourself a favor and give this game a shot. In my humble opinion it is a game worthy of being considered one of the true all-time great RPGs. I played it on nightmare dificulty, and it's been a very long time since beating bosses was so satisfying. Add the great dialogue, awesome characters, detailed fantasy world with a lot of interesting and immersive lore, and you get a RPG masterpiece. A review like this is never fully objecitve, but for me as an RPG fan, it was an absolutely excellent game and I can't not give this one a 10 out of 10. Expand
  87. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    This game is like the old school Neverwinter Nights 1 and 2 games, nowadays games focus too much on graphics and not gameplay and atmosphere. This game is a welcome reminder of the great games of past and itself is truly a masterpiece if you like the old school D&D games. I only say one thing more about this game GREAT!
  88. Dec 7, 2013
    10
    Dragon Age: Origins is the best game I ever played(according to me of course).The relationships between you and your companions are so intense that I am really "role playing". Combat system is very good story is good, characters are great.Love this game
  89. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    Truly masterpiece.Amazing game with epic storyline and great tactics system. Just simply love it.Finished this game 20 times including dlc. Great dialogs and great atmosphere. The feeling that you are transfered into this fantasy world and take the role of grey warden. Companiens are truly amazing with their own origin. You start from simple grey warden and in the end hailed as the hero.Truly masterpiece.Amazing game with epic storyline and great tactics system. Just simply love it.Finished this game 20 times including dlc. Great dialogs and great atmosphere. The feeling that you are transfered into this fantasy world and take the role of grey warden. Companiens are truly amazing with their own origin. You start from simple grey warden and in the end hailed as the hero. Rich choices in a dialog. Amazing abilities. And different endings and choices that will change the world. Even if dragon age 2 was not that good i cant wait for dragon age inquisition. This is gonna be Epic. I would give this game 10 out of 10. Sound music storyline tactics gameplay missions and all other aspects are truly amazing.One of the best games i have ever played Expand
  90. JamesW
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    Delightfully addictive, even for the most jaded gamer, despite a few minor flaws. I confess that recently I've been thinking about DA:O tactics and adventure when I should have been listening to my wife. . . apparently.
  91. AndyP.
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    I've spent 36 hours on this game in the last three days. (And, by the way, I think I'm only about a third of the way through the story). If that simple fact is not recommendation enough, allow me to expand on that... although the world of Dragon Age is hardly revolutionary in its setting, it is consistent, believable and convincing. The plot and story are engrossing, the I've spent 36 hours on this game in the last three days. (And, by the way, I think I'm only about a third of the way through the story). If that simple fact is not recommendation enough, allow me to expand on that... although the world of Dragon Age is hardly revolutionary in its setting, it is consistent, believable and convincing. The plot and story are engrossing, the background is interesting, the characters (some likeable, some not) are all, well, characterful and the battle system is excellent. The interface is extremely well polished and so far I've only encountered two minor bugs. This game is polished to the nth degree. I am loving playing it and expect to be spending time on it for a while to come. I cannot recommend this game enough. Expand
  92. RansakB
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    It's been a long time since a RPG has actually came out that wasn't completely devoid of any real plot. I've been playing this game since release and I'm still floored by how well the story is done. RPGs used to be about telling a story with you as the hero/villain. Diablo sadly took this and threw it out the window leaving us with the 'action RPG' genre It's been a long time since a RPG has actually came out that wasn't completely devoid of any real plot. I've been playing this game since release and I'm still floored by how well the story is done. RPGs used to be about telling a story with you as the hero/villain. Diablo sadly took this and threw it out the window leaving us with the 'action RPG' genre taking over. I loved the original Baldur's Gate trilogy as well and so far this game ranks amongst them. Expand
  93. Oct 22, 2010
    9
    Great RPG. Amazing customisation of how you want your party members to respond to different situations. Once you start getting some levels into you and your party and opening up tactic slots the game becomes a LOT of fun as you can set all their tactics up to deal with most situations allowing you to just concentrate on how your player wants to fight and then jumping over to your otherGreat RPG. Amazing customisation of how you want your party members to respond to different situations. Once you start getting some levels into you and your party and opening up tactic slots the game becomes a LOT of fun as you can set all their tactics up to deal with most situations allowing you to just concentrate on how your player wants to fight and then jumping over to your other party members if something extraordinary is going on and requires specific potions/buffs. Lots of choices to make throughout the game that DO change the experience enough to allow at least 3 different playthroughs. Really interesting environments, good enough graphics. Sounds and atmosphere are spot on. I guess i'm taking a point off for minor graphics issues and some annoyance at some story arcs. This is easily made up for with the multitude of side quests allowing me to get 80 hrs out of my first playthrough with this almost perfect game. Play it if you want to enjoy the best of modern RPGs out there. Expand
  94. Dec 6, 2010
    9
    Hacking down enemies and fighting an evil demon spawn; sounds like a generic role-playing game. Dragon Age Origins is anything but ordinary because of the depth of its story, the highly interactive environment, and the complexity of the non-player characters. Created by BioWare for PC, Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3, Dragon Age Origins is a fantasy RPG that was at the cutting edge of videoHacking down enemies and fighting an evil demon spawn; sounds like a generic role-playing game. Dragon Age Origins is anything but ordinary because of the depth of its story, the highly interactive environment, and the complexity of the non-player characters. Created by BioWare for PC, Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3, Dragon Age Origins is a fantasy RPG that was at the cutting edge of video game technology when it was created and an inspiration for a whole new breed of video game. Before the game began I was able to select my characterâ Expand
  95. May 20, 2011
    9
    dragon age origins is pretty much the best PC RPG since Balur's Gate II, My first rpg is Baldur's Gate II which is still the pinnacle of the PC rpgs till this date imho. Dragon age origins is hugely reminiscent of Baldur's Gate II in concept and gameplay, although I could see it being confusing for people who weren't fans of the genre back then. Yet the D&D fans (I am not one of them) maydragon age origins is pretty much the best PC RPG since Balur's Gate II, My first rpg is Baldur's Gate II which is still the pinnacle of the PC rpgs till this date imho. Dragon age origins is hugely reminiscent of Baldur's Gate II in concept and gameplay, although I could see it being confusing for people who weren't fans of the genre back then. Yet the D&D fans (I am not one of them) may not agree with this since DAO's combat mechanics is modernized. However, the witty writings, characters, interactions and puzzles really draw myself back to Baldur's gate II. the interactive cinematic in the game is highly inspired by kotor, but this is not a bad thing since keeping everybody happy is still important. RPGs used to be about telling a story with you as the hero/villain. sadly the most popular rpgs right now like diablo and TES threw the core of rpgs out the window. But DAO shows a new way combining modernized tactical combat, dramatic story telling, and involving characters together to form a true epic. Expand
  96. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    The game really looks and shocking still, even after its release it very fun to play, and want to hope that these games will be in the future. This Masterpiece!
  97. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    Simply one of the best RPG i ever played. A real mature story, with real choices which guides your epic adventure. The relations with companions are really fantastics, and romance give a funny touch (I will never forget Morigan ;) ) . Game-play and characteristic of each companion could be configured. Sure the world isn't open than Oblivion but the rest give a real immersive game.
  98. Mar 20, 2011
    9
    Fantastic game in a lot of ways, but the best is the story/character immersion. The graphics could have been sharper, but personally I can forgive that. Gameplay is decent; it's not the greatest but by the end of the game you do have a lot of options on your task bar and several playstyles within the tree design to choose from (a community mod that allows you to respec your Warden is aFantastic game in a lot of ways, but the best is the story/character immersion. The graphics could have been sharper, but personally I can forgive that. Gameplay is decent; it's not the greatest but by the end of the game you do have a lot of options on your task bar and several playstyles within the tree design to choose from (a community mod that allows you to respec your Warden is a must). The game included a toolkit for mod makers, and there are a ton of options to improve the game experience that you can choose from. Expand
  99. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    I found the artwork absolutely gorgeous, and the interface extremely slick. Some things were 'streamlined' compared to the first, but I much preferred the new interface. Combat was still challenging and required strategic placement and use of skills - though I did miss friendly fire on Hard mode. I loved the new ability trees and crafting mechanics, which didn't feel like a chore.I found the artwork absolutely gorgeous, and the interface extremely slick. Some things were 'streamlined' compared to the first, but I much preferred the new interface. Combat was still challenging and required strategic placement and use of skills - though I did miss friendly fire on Hard mode. I loved the new ability trees and crafting mechanics, which didn't feel like a chore.

    But what I really play Dragon Age for is the story. This one did not disappoint. It felt a bit slow at the start, since Act I is mostly building up your character through various tasks without really being able to see where it is going. The threads fairly quickly begin to weave together though, into very satisfying second and third acts. The story isn't quite as epic as the first one, but I think a more personal story is actually the better choice here, rather than a "save the world again" rehash. My character went through moments of tragic loss, impossible moral dilemmas, and a shocking betrayal.

    The new companions can give the old ones a run for their money, and having a protagonist that isn't silent is a big improvement in character interaction. Secondary characters are extremely well done; the Arishok was a particular favourite.
    Expand
  100. Mar 28, 2011
    10
    This game is the best rpg since baldur,s gate, the story is great, also graphics are great, this game has no bad sides, the best part of game is that you can choose how you want to start the game.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. If you're into rpgs, or rather if you love roleplaying in general, there's really no need to waste time reading any reviews of this game. The same goes if you regard games like Planescape: Torment, Fallout 2 and the Baldurs Gate-series among the best computer games ever made. Because this game is everything a person like you look for in a game, and so much more. Be aware though, Dragon Age: Origins is not a revolution of the genre, rather it is an evolution, where Bioware has refined everything that made them into a formula as close to perfection as possible. Without a doubt one of the strongest Game of the year-candidates so far this year and a game we will remember with warm feelings many years to come.
  2. An outstanding story-driven RPG with fantastic writing, RPG depth and tough tactical combat. It's BioWare's best RPG since Baldur's Gate 2. [Holiday 2009, p.38]
  3. Dragon Age Origins will keep you in front of your computer for hours! Graphics, sounds and the controls couldn’t be much better!