User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3785 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Rukam
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    this is definitely one of my favorite games of all time so far cant wait to c more updates and the demo for dragon age orgins 2
  2. KennethR
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Out of dozens and dozens, this is one of the few 100 hour games I played to the end, and the only one I played twice in a row to the end. I had to say something...the criticisms are mostly wildly off target. I'm a professional writer, and this is the only game where I played long scenes just to hear the dialog and get the backstory. Micromanagement? Yeah, but you can still win just Out of dozens and dozens, this is one of the few 100 hour games I played to the end, and the only one I played twice in a row to the end. I had to say something...the criticisms are mostly wildly off target. I'm a professional writer, and this is the only game where I played long scenes just to hear the dialog and get the backstory. Micromanagement? Yeah, but you can still win just by making quick guesses. No graphic sex? Duh, read the label it reads "Partial Nudity". It's obviously a PC game? You Xbox and PS don't know what a relief it is not to have some dumbed-down version of a game made to suit those who don't have a mouse. One day, we'll actually be able to type letters in. (Again) The biggest con is the load times...I have RAID, without it, there's occasionally enough time to make a quick sandwich. Small potatos. Expand
  3. DanD
    Jan 13, 2010
    8
    I fully enjoyed the playthrough of this and felt more like I was taking part in a movie than playing a game. The cinematics were pretty amazing and the storylines were fun and entertaining. The skill trees for the different classes were where the game was weak. The Mage class certainly had a good number of choices to customise the style of mage you wanted, but the warrior and rogue were I fully enjoyed the playthrough of this and felt more like I was taking part in a movie than playing a game. The cinematics were pretty amazing and the storylines were fun and entertaining. The skill trees for the different classes were where the game was weak. The Mage class certainly had a good number of choices to customise the style of mage you wanted, but the warrior and rogue were very limited. I found that about half of my skillpoints were useless and wished there was something better I could have put the points into. The general skills were mostly useless and disappointing. Trapmaking takes too much effort and buying all of the recipes is too expensive, then collecting all of the ingredients... Poison is even worse because if you don't have poison skill you can't apply poison - ie: can't have 1 person in the group that makes the poison and hands it out. Even then, the poisons do so little damage and last such a short time that they aren't worth it. If I had to rate just the skills, I'd give a very low score, but the graphics and storyline were quite entertaining. Oh specialisations... Also half of them are useless, but I liked how once you unlock them, you can use them in new games without re-discovering them. Expand
  4. VireV
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    One of the best RPGs I've ever played. Great graphics, gripping story, lots of choices and very fun combat.
  5. InfinityEnginne
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    More than worthy successor to the amazing Baldur's Gate series with great character-development and huge amounts of very well (and often funny) written dialogues. Without any doubt one of the richest and most complex microcosms ever created.
  6. laengsiL
    Jan 9, 2010
    9
    This game is damn epic! Of course it has a few bugs or w/e but still the best RPG I've played so far. It's just so big, it makes TES IV look like shit :D SO many possibilities you really can't discover everything, but that's what makes it such an epic game!
  7. JamesG.
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    This game is amazing! i think it should be said that it matters if one has played this masterpiece on a console or pc. i've tried both the ps3 and the 360 versions. the ps3 framerate was horrid. the 360 textures were non existant so the emersion factor important to rpgs fell short. and in both console versions the combat felt awkward if not slightly impaired be lack of options. i This game is amazing! i think it should be said that it matters if one has played this masterpiece on a console or pc. i've tried both the ps3 and the 360 versions. the ps3 framerate was horrid. the 360 textures were non existant so the emersion factor important to rpgs fell short. and in both console versions the combat felt awkward if not slightly impaired be lack of options. i played for a while then grew bored and traded it at gamestop. then i got my computer. it feels like im playing a completely different game! Graphics: wonderful story: deep and engrossing and the combat !? WOW! deep strategic challenging but rewarding. pc owner, must buy! console gamer, rent it or wait for a price drop. Expand
  8. ChinaZ
    Nov 10, 2009
    8
    Well optimized, the quality of the game is 9, good job QA(except for the limited faces in-game(i often find lookalikes)). But the desing is 8.. and i always care about the content. It could have been more.. but the limited options in-game destroy the nice dialogues. And the lore, bleah, it's weak in parts.
  9. CarlosF
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Excellent narrative. Very interesting tactical battles that you can't sleep through (be wary of magic users). May be my new favourite RPG
  10. Thales
    Nov 4, 2009
    10
    It's a great story driven RPG a suberb classic, a perfect merge of old gameplay with new tecnologies delivering a world where you choises changes the world for better or worse. People keep talking about "its not revolutionry", but again i ask, a game to be good it must be revolutionary? I'm rather stick with a classic than be fooled by a empty game with lots of new mechanics. If It's a great story driven RPG a suberb classic, a perfect merge of old gameplay with new tecnologies delivering a world where you choises changes the world for better or worse. People keep talking about "its not revolutionry", but again i ask, a game to be good it must be revolutionary? I'm rather stick with a classic than be fooled by a empty game with lots of new mechanics. If you look at Diablo 3 i bet people will say the same thing "its not revolutionary, the same ISO view with some new stuff" , It apears to me that what only metters is an easy game with loads of actions and few but voiced dialogues. What makes me intrigued it's how people that really dont like long stories with large dialogues and tactical battles still trying to score something they don't like. It's the same that watching Saw series and in the end of the movie someone talks "i dont like it, they dont have romance and car crashes" Nowdays what most gamers want are easy games with lots of action and lack o story telling, that's why most RPG are blending with FPS or Action. Expand
  11. TimT.
    Nov 5, 2009
    10
    From what i have tried so far its the best RPG after BG2. I cant wate to get to know my characters better, or to explore the world. I have never ever goten this hooked on a rpg before. Giving it anything under a 10 wont be possible for me!
  12. CoolicyIce
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    Much more story-telling than combat, the combat-part is rather challenging for a person (like me) that has never played similar games by BioWare, but can be very satisfying as soon as I got used to it. The story deserves a full 10 stars, but mostly for the narration rather than teh actual story progression. The story is the usual pattern for the genre, evil forces approaching, must unite Much more story-telling than combat, the combat-part is rather challenging for a person (like me) that has never played similar games by BioWare, but can be very satisfying as soon as I got used to it. The story deserves a full 10 stars, but mostly for the narration rather than teh actual story progression. The story is the usual pattern for the genre, evil forces approaching, must unite all forces and races to repel evil, IMO nothing too refreshing. What this game excels in, however, is the way the story is presented and the way it draws you into the game. It really makes you feel involved with your character and your decisions actually feel important and make an impact to the game-environment. I can only think of very little flaws with the game, and of those flaws only one of them really bother me: the quests can sometimes get a little tedious. You progress through a quest, you go to places A-B-C-D, but you can only fulfill the requirements to a certain extent, and when you're done at location D, it requires you to go back to A, B, C to finish up. The loading times and the walking can get really annoying at times. (to ppl who played the game, i am referring to the mage quest). nonetheless, the game still deserves a full 10/10, and I am definitely going for a 2nd playthrough to try out the alternatives possible. Expand
  13. EdgarL
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    Think Mass Effect meets the Witcher. Although not without any missteps, BioWare have shown they can reach new levels of quality with each of their games. From its witty writing, lovable quirky characters and its fully fleshed-out folklore to the game-changing moral choices, Dragon Age oozes quality: and boy, does it SO NOT lack quantity. Anyone doing at least a portion of side-quests will Think Mass Effect meets the Witcher. Although not without any missteps, BioWare have shown they can reach new levels of quality with each of their games. From its witty writing, lovable quirky characters and its fully fleshed-out folklore to the game-changing moral choices, Dragon Age oozes quality: and boy, does it SO NOT lack quantity. Anyone doing at least a portion of side-quests will easily clock at least 100 hours: mind you, this is not due to repetitiveness of side-quests (nor quests), or having to travel a lot; it's because the game isn't very easy, even on Easy. And make no mistake, if there's a tough fight, you'll definitely be pausing the game A LOT to micro-manage your troops. Not that it's very hard once you get the hang of it: around level 10 your party of 4 should start having very little trouble dispatching groups of up to 10 enemies. However, up till the point where you manage to find the right choice of spells and skills to utilize in action, the Normal difficulty level can provide considerable challenge. As far as eye-candy goes, even if the visuals aren't as crisp as in most other so called "next-gen" AAA titles, that's because BioWare has definitely managed to optimize their use of Unreal Engine since Mass Effect. Rest assured, the game will run even on low-end machines. If you liked any of previous BioWare games, any of the KotOR games, The Elder Scrolls series and Fallout 3, you'll probably like this one. Expand
  14. BobbyD
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    This has to be the best single player RPG I have played since Final Fantasy 7. If you enjoy Bioware games, or played and liked "The Witcher" this is a must buy. It was challenging and had about 70 hours of gameplay first time through on Normal mode with over 75% of the optional quests completed. A must have for any RPG enthusiast. Very nice to have a traditional and original RPG with This has to be the best single player RPG I have played since Final Fantasy 7. If you enjoy Bioware games, or played and liked "The Witcher" this is a must buy. It was challenging and had about 70 hours of gameplay first time through on Normal mode with over 75% of the optional quests completed. A must have for any RPG enthusiast. Very nice to have a traditional and original RPG with depth and so epic to boot. Expand
  15. Mike
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    This is the best game i´ve played since KotOR. The storyline is entertaining, the cutscenes are AMAZING, the characters are interesting. It´s a way better game than Oblivion or Assassin's Creed - every place in the world has a meaning and history. Bioware created a fascinating world. I don´t understand how people can say this is a bad game - I undertand that you This is the best game i´ve played since KotOR. The storyline is entertaining, the cutscenes are AMAZING, the characters are interesting. It´s a way better game than Oblivion or Assassin's Creed - every place in the world has a meaning and history. Bioware created a fascinating world. I don´t understand how people can say this is a bad game - I undertand that you don´t like it because it´s a slowed based game, but it´s definately not bad. 10/10 Expand
  16. BalerianF
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    This game was by far one of the best RPG's that I have played to date. I am very impressed with its questing, witty banter and most importantly overall gameplay.
  17. KennyO
    Dec 8, 2009
    9
    I just finished my first time through on a PC version of the game playing it on the hard difficulty - it took a little over 100 hours. [I'm going to guess that it's unplayable on XBOX (as was Oblivion) - but that's the platform and not the game's fault.] The relationship dynamics and choosing story line is engaging. This is easily the best video game I've ever I just finished my first time through on a PC version of the game playing it on the hard difficulty - it took a little over 100 hours. [I'm going to guess that it's unplayable on XBOX (as was Oblivion) - but that's the platform and not the game's fault.] The relationship dynamics and choosing story line is engaging. This is easily the best video game I've ever played, regardless of genre, because the storyline requires thinking in terms of relationships, past conversations, and future outcomes. Hard difficulty means having to pause during battle often to micromanage, unless you find some good tactics and have programmed the individual character tactics effectively. Early in the game the incessant conversations can be tedious, and late in the game the incessant battles become a little tedious too - but overall this is a stunning and beautiful experience. Expand
  18. RyanB
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    Dragon Age Origins is one of those kinds of games that when you look at it, you go "Oh hey, Bioware makes great RPGs". But DAO surpasses the expectations that many gamers have, with its gritty realism in difficult sequences, it's lack of moral compass, amazingly well thought out combat system, and its superb RPG elements. It leaves near nothing to be desired, and Bioware is Dragon Age Origins is one of those kinds of games that when you look at it, you go "Oh hey, Bioware makes great RPGs". But DAO surpasses the expectations that many gamers have, with its gritty realism in difficult sequences, it's lack of moral compass, amazingly well thought out combat system, and its superb RPG elements. It leaves near nothing to be desired, and Bioware is determined to make it even more of a hit with the new expansion pack on its way later this year. The almost constant flow of addons produced by Bioware is also a big plus for many of us gamers, as well as the many player-made mods. Overall, it is an amazing game, and will be the epitome of RPGs for years to come...unless Bioware releases something better :P Expand
  19. DuaneD
    Jan 1, 2010
    8
    Good; very good! Not perfect, by any stretch, but what is? All in all, very enjoyable.
  20. IvanG
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    This is one of the BEST RPGs out there. And i need to say again that this is not a game like fallout, world of warcraft that you rush in and kill all NPC's in a room, this is a TACTICAL game you need to use tactics to survive. The best feature is to pause the game and plan the tactics of every character. A MUST HAVE
  21. MichaelD
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    I really enjoyed this game - currently playing through a third time. Well worth a look. Note: I played the PC version. Also this game does deserve its age rating - it's a kids game.
  22. CaseyD.
    Jan 29, 2010
    9
    It took some time to start enjoying this game. Once I got the hang of it, I couldn't stop playing it. The story is solid, the graphics are great, and best of all I feel like I got my money's worth. Good job BioWare. Looking forward to the expansions!
  23. JoeP
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    The character personality for most of the companions is unmatched compared to other games. Although the game can be very difficult, with enough strategy you can defeat anything. I also like the idea of mod-able games like Fallout 3 where you can see fan made mods which unlocks 10 times more content that developers can ever make for free (if given time).
  24. ErikT
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    This is one of the greatest RPGs ever to grace the PC platform. It moves from strength to strength with the characters and story taking centerstage. All the things that matter such as combat system and world lore etc. are all top notch, but the part that really surprised me was the emotional impact of the characters. Excellent writing and perfect voice casting. Bioware are the undisputed This is one of the greatest RPGs ever to grace the PC platform. It moves from strength to strength with the characters and story taking centerstage. All the things that matter such as combat system and world lore etc. are all top notch, but the part that really surprised me was the emotional impact of the characters. Excellent writing and perfect voice casting. Bioware are the undisputed kings of computer rpgs. Mass Effect II, here I come! Expand
  25. JimH
    Feb 14, 2010
    9
    I had been disappointed by the last couple rpg's put out by Bioware. Neverwinter Nights 1 was so bland, NWN2 was a little better with the return of party based play. The combat in Mass Effect was so terrible I was disgusted I spent even 15 bucks on it. Dragon Age blows them out of the water. The combat is terrific and demands careful thinking and different tactics battle to battle. I had been disappointed by the last couple rpg's put out by Bioware. Neverwinter Nights 1 was so bland, NWN2 was a little better with the return of party based play. The combat in Mass Effect was so terrible I was disgusted I spent even 15 bucks on it. Dragon Age blows them out of the water. The combat is terrific and demands careful thinking and different tactics battle to battle. If you're hoping to control only your main character and let the AI handle the others ala kotor or nwn1 FORGET ABOUT IT! If you love the care needed in BG2 and managing every character carefully this is the game for you. I couldn't get enough of the constant challenge. Furthermore I was very impressed that every single piece of dialogue in the entire game is spoken and voice acted very well. Several NPC interactions had me laughing out loud. Yes, many of the conversations are long but you won't hear me complaining about more game. My only complaint is that the rogue class seemed useless, although that is only after my first play through. In fact I would never use them at all, instead using a mage, mage, tank, tank line up and ignoring locked chests. Overall, the quests were well varied, the plot was great, the combat was near perfect, the graphics were terrific and my expectations were exceeded. Bravo to Bioware for a return to form. Expand
  26. PaulS.
    Feb 6, 2010
    10
    An incredible game. The combat is perfectly balanced and requires tactical thinking, and the multitude of skills you can choose for your characters combined with the easy swap-out of party members creates a huge variety of options in how you approach each battle. The plot, writing of the characters, voice acting, and presentation are among the best of any game I've ever played - only An incredible game. The combat is perfectly balanced and requires tactical thinking, and the multitude of skills you can choose for your characters combined with the easy swap-out of party members creates a huge variety of options in how you approach each battle. The plot, writing of the characters, voice acting, and presentation are among the best of any game I've ever played - only other Bioware games are in the same league. Best of all, unlike many role-playing games, in this game you actually play a role - your choices have a believable impact on every encounter, and though you aren't free to enter every house or visit every hilltop, you ARE free to play exactly the kind of character you would want to be. It's a thought-provoking and memorable artistic experience, as well as a polished and challenging tactical game. Top-notch. Expand
  27. NielsB
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Got this game 3 days ago and while i expected it wouldnt run on my dualcore 2,66, i couldnt wait for a computer upgrade and installed it anyway. I couldn't believe how smooth it ran on high settings for 90% of the time, so 3 days later i'm 10 hours into the game with my human noble warrior. Being a bioware/black isle fan for a long time and having played from baldurs gate 1and Got this game 3 days ago and while i expected it wouldnt run on my dualcore 2,66, i couldnt wait for a computer upgrade and installed it anyway. I couldn't believe how smooth it ran on high settings for 90% of the time, so 3 days later i'm 10 hours into the game with my human noble warrior. Being a bioware/black isle fan for a long time and having played from baldurs gate 1and 2, planescape torment, icewind dale 1 and 2, neverwinter nights 1 and 2, fallout 1,2,3 mass effect and about all other games from them i can say this is another epic gem. The graphics aren't the best we seen this year, but the models are all high textured and have some of the best animations i have seen in a rpg. Some reviewers called the biggest downside of DAO the combat system, but to me it's 1 of the most satisfying of this genre. Bioware did a good move by creating his own combat system rather than a computer version of the D&D rules... the DAO combat system is actualy quite simmilair to that of a MMORPG(especialy WoW) Powerfull spells have cooldowns, and lesser spells can be spammed. Also a nice touch is bringing back friendly fire which is something that was lost after the baldur's gate days, which makes positioning and planning your most powerfull spells more important than just spamming your fireballs into the melee's The warrior class has different skills to specialize into, ranging from 2handed weapons, dualwielding, sword and shield to bows. Again quite like WoW you can learn skills like shieldwall and shieldslams as a tanking warrior to powerfull blows and various damage skills as damage warrior. Overall the combat is very satisfying and requires constant atention rather than grinding groups of lesser mobs, and again thanks to the excelent animations the fights where really cool to watch. Outside the combat there was a amazing story to be told and interesting characters to meet. Too keep it short, this is THE game you want to buy if you enjoyed old bioware/black isle games. Expand
  28. GregC
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    Dragon Age: Origins is simply the most outstanding RPG in a LONG while. The combat is great, the movement is great, the story is excellent, and the freedom you have in the game is AMAZING. You are the one to decide how the story goes. You'll be finding yourself playing the game more and more! There are barely to none downsides to it!
  29. MattiaZ
    Nov 20, 2009
    9
    Amazing game, it's nothing progressive or totally new think about it as a really refined baldur's gate. There are some bugs, that's why i give it a 9, but the overall experience is amazing. Characters and plot are very well written. I just couldn't wait to start it again once i finished it.
  30. BryanR.
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    I have found this game to be phenomenal on PC so far, it is easily the match of its predecessors, Baldur's Gate I and II as well as Neverwinter Nights I and II. It is everything a fan of single-player western RPGS could ever hope for. What it lacks in originality (and it does try to inject some here and there) it makes up for in quality and presentation. Definitely give this game your time.
  31. JacobK.
    Nov 3, 2009
    9
    Simply, it is on any real RPG fans top 10, even if it is 10 you will find it there, most people with personalities will find it fully enjoyable for many months (and years for me) to come. And with the addition of DLC's, it can only get better. Endings are some of the best by the way. Good work Bioware.
  32. RaxRaxous
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    Played this as part of "Team UK" during the 24-hour "Wardens' Quest" event in London. Let me be quite clear and say that after 20+ hours of playing it straight I still can't wait to get hold of it and get playing again! It is a true master piece, combining the best elements of Baldurs Gate, Diablo, Fallout, Oblivion, Morrowind, Ultima, Planescape Torment, UFO, etc into a Played this as part of "Team UK" during the 24-hour "Wardens' Quest" event in London. Let me be quite clear and say that after 20+ hours of playing it straight I still can't wait to get hold of it and get playing again! It is a true master piece, combining the best elements of Baldurs Gate, Diablo, Fallout, Oblivion, Morrowind, Ultima, Planescape Torment, UFO, etc into a complete, beautiful, rich and expansive world. The lore is amazing, the characters totally believable, the story engrossing, the effect of your choices truly tangible, the stat / skill / talent system absorbing, equipment and items are detailed and impactful, crafting is streamlined yet powerful, it's amazing in so many ways! I have been playing games for very nearly 30 years and this is definately the peak of all that which I find enjoyable in a game. I feel 10 again, I am so excited for this and ask that you buy and play it, do yourself a favour! You will not regret it!! :-) Expand
  33. JeffD
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    After playing only 2 hours. It is one of the few games I cannot get out of my head. I can't wait do get out of work, rush home, and dive into some of the best storytelling I've encountered in a RPG that I can ever remember. Bravo Bioware!!!
  34. SquareBear
    Nov 5, 2009
    9
    Dragon Age Origins is 80% Baldur's Gate, 10% World of Warcraft and 10% Neverwinter Nights. Yes Baldur's Gate II fanatics, rejoice. You have waited 10 years... suffered through endless pathetic dark alliance clones, shed tears over the blandness of NWN, and endured the countless mockery of the console crowd as you continued to replay your dusty copies of BG2 like some old timer Dragon Age Origins is 80% Baldur's Gate, 10% World of Warcraft and 10% Neverwinter Nights. Yes Baldur's Gate II fanatics, rejoice. You have waited 10 years... suffered through endless pathetic dark alliance clones, shed tears over the blandness of NWN, and endured the countless mockery of the console crowd as you continued to replay your dusty copies of BG2 like some old timer in front of a drugstore with nothing better to do than talk about the good ol' days. Well now the good ol' days are back. Dragon Age Origins is the real deal. It has a very worthy and thoughtful story, non-linear progression, sidequests, dialogue, character interaction, challenging tactical battles and all the other features that will make you rejoice at the return of the classic Pc Rpg. First off the graphics are amazing. Beautiful even. Its very obvious that the game was designed to bring the vivid backgrounds of BG2 to life on the screen in 3d. You will see for yourself when you get into the game how each screen looks as if it could become a still portrait and have little avatars plod along it. Character animation and combat animation are also superb. The character closeups even your detailed main character, whom you can fine tune nearly every feature of, is shown live in the cutscenes which appear to be movie quality. The combat animations are also forceful and realistic. Fireballs especially, as they explode into jets of rolling flame and blast their targeted pack down and outward from the point of impact. The combat system revolves around abilities and talent trees in a way that you can compare closely to World of Warcraft. Each character class has several mini talent trees to choose from depending on how you wish to play and specialize. For instance, warriors can choose 2 handers, dual wielding or sword and shield and their talents will all enhance that style of play. And there really are a lot of talents available for each of the classes. The story is probably the game's strongest element. It's grizzly and entrancing, truly living up to its title as a "Dark Fantasy Epic". Bioware has created a world of their own and fleshed it out with countless details and history. You also have many moral directions to take the story to, and the gameplay progression branches off from its linear path to half a dozen different ones right after the first chapter. There are also 6 different ways to start the game and you will be assigned a background story depending on which class and race you choose. This background will stay with you throughout the game and has an impact on many of your interactions. As far as the characters go, I'm very happy to say that they are up to the standard that you would expect from a spiritual sequel to BG2. All are well written, well acted and have frequent interjections, outbursts, arguments and discussions that really immerse you in the game. You can converse with any of them at any given time to pry stories from them or learn special skills. Characters can be given gifts that suit their personalities and will gain bonuses when their approval rating of you increases. There's even a bit of romance possible and a female bard that's a dead ringer for Imoen (Knock yourselves out fellas). My only complaints about the game come from an obsessive fanaticism for the ancient (10 year old) Baldur's Gate 2. And they are as follows... I don't like that you cannot zoom the camera out far enough to see the battlefield as it is somewhat leashed to your character. The top down tactical view seems to be the 7th deadly sin in the console world, but I'm pretty sure it can be implemented completely for us old fashioned PC users who miss their classic gaming. The second thing is the 4 character limitation to your active party. I'm sure there was some technical or balance reason for this, but again, we infinity gamers liked our 6 character parties and really hoped to not have any kind of silly limitation. The good news is that your characters that you "Collect" always remain in your party, just not in your active party. When you are in camp you get to interact with them all at once. And unless your in a dungeon you can swap between them in what is pretty much the character select screen from Diablo 2. An ironic testament to the blatant copycatting between Blizzard and Bioware in the olden days. (Maybe this is a signal to blizzard that their old nemesis is back). The last thing that I don't especially approve of is the instant healing between battles and automatic revivals after battle. This is somewhat of a realism killer and removes the need to have a cleric around. But the game does such a good job of making the actual battles challenging enough to where you will definitely want a healer. It also penalizes you for dying by giving you stacks of injuries that lower stats and cannot be cured too easily. Overall, if your a fan of the old Infinity Engine Rpg's your going to love this, plain and simple. It blends the very best of the old and the new in a way that should make all but the most brain dead of console cretin cutscene skippers or the most fanatical infinity engine junkies happy. Now someone needs to put Minsc in there pronto. Expand
  35. NathanW
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    words escape me for my newfound love of this game. the game is brilliantly panned out, the quests are interesting, and dynamic. each quest can end a variety of ways, and can be finished a variety of ways. its interesting to have the option to listen to the enemy you were slaughtering and decide to hold a meeting between the two agressive parties for a compromise.. the mere fact that there words escape me for my newfound love of this game. the game is brilliantly panned out, the quests are interesting, and dynamic. each quest can end a variety of ways, and can be finished a variety of ways. its interesting to have the option to listen to the enemy you were slaughtering and decide to hold a meeting between the two agressive parties for a compromise.. the mere fact that there are no correct answers, but different shades of everything makes this RPG stand a head above the rest. the only downside i see is the odd combat difficulty, some battles are too easy, some are insanely hard. it feels weird going into the menu to make an encounter harder, or to make an encounter easier. hopefully this is something that can be patched. overall, i recommend this to any gamer who loves a good story, because the story in this RPG is not only intensely rich, but actively interesting. Expand
  36. RodrigoQ
    Nov 7, 2009
    10
    Though it feels like the gamecould have easily been MUCH better on the originality side, this is easily the best RPG I have played since BG2 and Planescape:Torment. Although not incredibly polished (yes I´m looking at you, armor-penetrating dwarf beard) I think thegraphics are sometimes just stunning, and beautiful. A truly immersive RPG experience!
  37. qoobah
    Nov 7, 2009
    9
    A superb RPG experience, but be warned - it's not for everyone. It's easy to succumb to its charms if you remember Candlekeep or running away from Irenicus. If you're more accustomed to quick action, immidiate gratification and "soft cusion", idiot-proof gameplay (which are not bad game traits in their own right - you just won't find them here) then you can be in for a A superb RPG experience, but be warned - it's not for everyone. It's easy to succumb to its charms if you remember Candlekeep or running away from Irenicus. If you're more accustomed to quick action, immidiate gratification and "soft cusion", idiot-proof gameplay (which are not bad game traits in their own right - you just won't find them here) then you can be in for a rough ride. But as far as I'm concerned, it's a ride well worth taking. Expand
  38. RM
    Nov 8, 2009
    10
    I knew I would enjoy Dragon Age Origins, but after playing for about 40 hours, I realized that I wanted to marry this game and make sweet love to it by the campfire while my Mabari War Dog watches. It simply is the best CRPG I've played since Baldur's Gate 2, and in some ways, is even better. The story is engrossing, the characters are wonderful and well fleshed out, and the I knew I would enjoy Dragon Age Origins, but after playing for about 40 hours, I realized that I wanted to marry this game and make sweet love to it by the campfire while my Mabari War Dog watches. It simply is the best CRPG I've played since Baldur's Gate 2, and in some ways, is even better. The story is engrossing, the characters are wonderful and well fleshed out, and the gameplay is challenging and fun. It's been a long time since I've played a game that felt so rewarding and made me jump on for "just a few minutes" before work, or made me skip going out on a Friday night so I could keep playing. Yes, there are slight glitches, and I'm not crazy about the inventory system or the lack or a permanent inventory container, but my overall score is much closer to 10 than 9. Replayability is also not an issue, I can't wait to make my next character and see how different things can be with them. Expand
  39. PeterC
    Nov 8, 2009
    10
    I am a old school rpg fan. Games like Baldur's Gate 2 (BG2) and Planescape: Torment still sit proudly on my desk waiting to be loaded and played. Sure, other good rpg came and went, like Elder Scrolls 4: Oblivion or Mass Effect, but for a rpg junkie like me, nothing really took the edge off till Dragon Age: Origins came along. Initially, I was not overly impressed. Starting as a I am a old school rpg fan. Games like Baldur's Gate 2 (BG2) and Planescape: Torment still sit proudly on my desk waiting to be loaded and played. Sure, other good rpg came and went, like Elder Scrolls 4: Oblivion or Mass Effect, but for a rpg junkie like me, nothing really took the edge off till Dragon Age: Origins came along. Initially, I was not overly impressed. Starting as a mage, I felt that the origin introduction could be more fleshed out. The game seems to be rushing to chase me out of the tower. Some conversation tree options do not really make sense and there was an elven mage in the corner who appears to be seated on thin air. Nevertheless I persevered, and by the time I was 10 hours into the game, I was hooked. Combat is challenging, in hard mode, I found myself loading the same battles again and again trying different tactics, trying to prevent my characters from dying. The new combat tactics menu required some time getting used to and a little programming knowledge to master. However, once set up properly, fights will become much easier. Naturally, there are minor flaws that marr the game - the hands are too big, fingers appear as if there was an extra joint; there are no bowstrings on bows - but all in all, I found myself being slowoly absorbed into this rich new gameworld of Thedas through a magical osmosis. Expand
  40. KyleA
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    Can't get enough! This is perhaps the best title ever released by Bioware and that is saying a great deal. Deep, intricate and sometimes funny dialog with all characters, challenging fights and excellent battlefield control, engaging and intricate storyline, gorgeous graphics and landscapes ... the list of great qualities is a long one. I have not beaten the game yet but a good 40+ Can't get enough! This is perhaps the best title ever released by Bioware and that is saying a great deal. Deep, intricate and sometimes funny dialog with all characters, challenging fights and excellent battlefield control, engaging and intricate storyline, gorgeous graphics and landscapes ... the list of great qualities is a long one. I have not beaten the game yet but a good 40+ hours in so any quick thrills would have faded by now. This game really delivers on every level a good solid strategy and/or RPG fan can really ask for and after playing through Neverwinter Nights 1 and 2, Mass Effect, Baulder's Gate 1 and 2, Icewind Dale, and Planescape: Torment ... Dragon Age: Origins is, thus far, the best written, conceived, designed, and implemented strategic RPG I have played any any system including PC. Expand
  41. ChuckS
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    Others here have done a great job at describing game mechanics. I started with a female wizard. After only the introductory scenario I was blown away by the scripted events that follow. Dark fantasy indeed. Then soon afterward I was treated to another video interlude that was the most spectacular, soul stirring two minutes I have experienced in my long gaming life. I restored the game so Others here have done a great job at describing game mechanics. I started with a female wizard. After only the introductory scenario I was blown away by the scripted events that follow. Dark fantasy indeed. Then soon afterward I was treated to another video interlude that was the most spectacular, soul stirring two minutes I have experienced in my long gaming life. I restored the game so I could save and replay that moment again. If this is what I get in the first day of play, I lick my chops at the prospect of what follows. Expand
  42. ArshadS
    Dec 11, 2009
    9
    9 because of the camera angles and the number of times you have to pause the game if you want to survive. Other than that the graphics and voice acting is excellent and the Custom character creation is almost limitless. Choices you make might give you something you wouldnt expect from the npc which i felt as a new feel and different from other rpgs.
  43. Mark
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    Dragon Age Origins is not a perfect game, but I can't rate it at an even 9. The game takes you into a fantasy world that you don't want to leave. It is a single player experience that I haven't had since I played Oblivion. While the gameplay is not exactly like that of the Elder Scrolls series, it is close in its theme. I had never played an RPG like this before, because I Dragon Age Origins is not a perfect game, but I can't rate it at an even 9. The game takes you into a fantasy world that you don't want to leave. It is a single player experience that I haven't had since I played Oblivion. While the gameplay is not exactly like that of the Elder Scrolls series, it is close in its theme. I had never played an RPG like this before, because I found the whole concept rather tedious. After my friend saying that he was pretty jazzed about getting this game, I vowed to give it an honest try. By the time I'd finished the origin portion of the game, I was completely hooked. The voice acting is excellent for the most part, and the graphics are pretty good, although the PC version requirements seem to be considerably high for the graphics quality. My son has no trouble with playing it with his dual core AMD CPU, but he has a pretty good graphics card. I guess the best thing I could say about the game, is that I don't want it to end. After playing for more than 50 hours I still have a way to go before finishing my first play through. I will play it through again after giving it a break for a couple of months, and try my hand at a different class of character. That must tell you something. Expand
  44. welltell
    Dec 2, 2009
    8
    Okay it feels like Neverwinter nights... or that some one at bioware took the neverwinter nights game engine and decided to create a better game. Dragon ago is a lot of fun, it would of been better if the graphics were more like what Bathesda did in OBLIVION.
  45. VladimírS
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    I dont know what to say... it has got something specific like other GREAT RPGs (like gothic, witcher etc). But this has a taste of everything! I recomend it!
  46. JamesH.
    Dec 5, 2009
    8
    There is a lot not to like about this game, but even more to like. I agree with much of what other reviewers have said regarding negatives, but I can't stop playing this title. Onto the pros and cons: GRAPHICS: The graphics are good over all, but it' clear that they were designed for the overhead "classic" RPG view, because when you zoom into explore mode, the graphics look very There is a lot not to like about this game, but even more to like. I agree with much of what other reviewers have said regarding negatives, but I can't stop playing this title. Onto the pros and cons: GRAPHICS: The graphics are good over all, but it' clear that they were designed for the overhead "classic" RPG view, because when you zoom into explore mode, the graphics look very old-school. Low quality textures even at the highest setting. The graphics don't compare to say, Oblivion, but then again, this isn't Oblivion. The artistry of the graphics is fantastic and the facial modeling is actually light years better than Oblivion; every person actually looks like a different individual as opposed to other games where it's the 5 male and female faces every time. The towns and forests are well done and really suggest their environments well. In short, more polygons and higher quality textures are needed, but for what it is, it's great and doesn't detract from the fun. SOUND: Can't say enough about it, the soundtrack is phenomenal. I'm glad to see such effort put into a game soundtrack. GAMEPLAY: Definitely different from older BioWare games. Most battles aren't evenly matched in terms of numbers. It's not uncommon to fight your four adventurers to say, 12 bandits or undead at a time. However, when in tight spaces, it's easy to draw out enemies a few at a time into an ambush, but for the plot battles, it's always in a giant room and four versus 15. So often it's the old shtick of how-many-health-potions-can-you-use-to-get-through-a-battle. And these enemy numbers aren't fodder. Enemy archers are absolutely lethal and rogues appear out of thin air and back stab, and the fighters always seem better equipped. Enemy mages are usually weak oddly enough. In fact, mundane bandit battles are much harder than major plot battles. The AI is fair at best. Enemies mindlessly target your mages, even when being battered by your fighters. Large groups of enemies are easily duped into ambushes, and won't attack until you until you're very close to them. Enemies have no fear and won't attempt to flee, nor will they use health poultices. It's clearly a leveled system, but there are always battles/enemies that are beyond the groups level which serve to conceal this fact (Revenants and High Dragons anyone?) The combat system is classic BioWare and well done. If you liked KotoR and NWN then you will like DAO. The tactics menu is a little to complex in my opinion. You can assign a behavior to an NPC for nearly any scenario imaginable. The skills and spells are well thought out and classes are very customizable with the specialization slots. Weapons and equipment are very well done. No longer do you pine for powerful magic weapons, because regular weapons are also capable due to the interesting variety of fantastical materials they can be made from (veridium, ironbark, etc.) and their crafter (dwarven, Elvish, etc.). Yes, it's the same thing as magic weapons, but it's nice to use a simple dwarven silverite sword instead of Unholy Blood Sword of Wrath a la Diablo. STORY: The story is very creative, although it mimics real politics and religion a bit too much. There's a bit of a departure from the Tolkien standard of the races (dwarves, elves, humans) in the role of the elves, but I have to admit, it's very interesting. The plot flows well and the game constantly reminds you of it in the mundane encounters. When you run into a battle while traveling, sometimes it will be a group of mercenaries sent by Loghain to hunt you, or darkspawn fighting an ally that you won over recently. The main quest is very well integrated into the game and is never "forgotten" as in Oblivion. CONCLUSION: A must-have title for a BioWare fan, but this may disappoint if you're expecting a game like Oblivion or the Witcher. It's old school and that's what makes it great. In regards to the other reviewers gripes about unbalanced foes and poor party members, it's simply a matter of using tactics. If you find that are losing battles a lot and getting overwhelmed, change your tactics. Use different party members. Use the tactics menu. A BioWare game means having to pause constantly during a battle and reevaluate tactics. And if you still are losing, then leave it be and wait until you advance. Many battles aren't meant to be winnable under a certain level. All the plot battles are balanced though, even with large numbers. The game is meant to be playable straight through the main quest, but much of the challenge lies in the side quests. Expand
  47. AllenC.
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    This is hands down the best RPG game of all time. I've played all the bioware games except for Mass Effect and Oblivion, and Morrowind and I have to say this one just stands like a god among the rest of the RPG's i've played. You go through and just don't want the game to end, This is the only game that has had me sitting in front of the computer playing for over 12 This is hands down the best RPG game of all time. I've played all the bioware games except for Mass Effect and Oblivion, and Morrowind and I have to say this one just stands like a god among the rest of the RPG's i've played. You go through and just don't want the game to end, This is the only game that has had me sitting in front of the computer playing for over 12 hours straight, once it grips you, it just doesn't let go. Expand
  48. StephenS.
    Dec 9, 2009
    9
    Really what I wasn't expecting in this game. There was a great story line between each character you choose and the replay value of this game is extremely high. Endless possibility's with characters, game play and much more. Not much you can't do in this game. Defiantly worth buying.
  49. Bjorn
    Jan 11, 2010
    8
    Dragon Age is a great game with a few flaws. It has a great story, a lot of choices that are not just black and white, but complicated enough so you keep wondering if you chose the right thing long after the choice was made. (even if they usually don't affect the game play significantly) The weakness in dragon age belongs to the combat parts, which are designed with threat like most Dragon Age is a great game with a few flaws. It has a great story, a lot of choices that are not just black and white, but complicated enough so you keep wondering if you chose the right thing long after the choice was made. (even if they usually don't affect the game play significantly) The weakness in dragon age belongs to the combat parts, which are designed with threat like most MMOs. (Wrong in my opinion the enemy should be trying to kill the party, not toy around because someone screams at them). Also the targeting system tends to lose targets when making changes and I gave up trying to design scrips halfway through the game, and instead resorted to pausing 80% of each fight. There's also a number of magic spells that are so powerful it's almost ridiculous (freeze the boss for ~20s, yes he can take damage, of make boos immune and freeze him for ~30 with a 35 sec cool down) The good side of fights them is that combat is challenging and will force you to truly explore you option even on normal difficulty. They are also, for being a RPG, refreshingly varied. Expand
  50. RevlynT
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    Anything less then 8.5 is an insult this game is truely one of the best game releases from 2009-2010.
  51. Peter
    Jan 10, 2010
    8
    Enjoyed this one as much as KOTOR. But graphics are not up to date and theres a lack of cutting-edge content to rate it a 9 or 10. Oh ... and there should be more unique weaponry to loot. A coherent and solid game, but nothing more.
  52. OrwellGeorge
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    If you like deep RPGs with great character development, lots of chances to role play, and have the patience to take things slowly and figure things out then this game is for you. Disregard the negative reviews here as they seem to be from people who don't understand great storytelling, got confused by the tactics system, didn't read the manual, loved the heavy metal in the If you like deep RPGs with great character development, lots of chances to role play, and have the patience to take things slowly and figure things out then this game is for you. Disregard the negative reviews here as they seem to be from people who don't understand great storytelling, got confused by the tactics system, didn't read the manual, loved the heavy metal in the trailers, want to hate something popular to be cool, hate reading, hate problem solving, hate people who have girlfriends, are upset with the way their lives have gone, are not well educated, have never read a book in their life, enjoyed Avatar, believe Boondock Saints is great film making, whine a lot, are spoiled brats, get into long forum debates regarding XBOX vs PS3, spend hours of their day wondering how X company could ruin their lives by releasing X game, or simply have a taste in games akin to a brain dead cow. If none of this sounds like you, then I can almost assure you that you will enjoy this game. It's the best RPG in the last ten years, don't miss it. Expand
  53. CrowBar
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    This truly is the best RPG thats come out since the original Bards Tale for the Apple IIe. The control you have over the characters is extreme, and I suppose for some that might not be a plus, but for myself, and obviously thousands like me, it's not only a plus but an integral part of the gameplay. I love being able to micromanage my characters, from their equipment to their attacks This truly is the best RPG thats come out since the original Bards Tale for the Apple IIe. The control you have over the characters is extreme, and I suppose for some that might not be a plus, but for myself, and obviously thousands like me, it's not only a plus but an integral part of the gameplay. I love being able to micromanage my characters, from their equipment to their attacks and spells and where and when they move. Bioware has always done an excellent job at game developing, and Dragon Age: Origins is probably the best game yet. Limited bugs on release, my one complaint is their lauded DLC. They claimed that DLC would be forthcoming on a regular basis, and so far the only thing that we've yet to see is a short campaign to get the Wardens Keep back, and a constant delay in their next, "Return to Ostagar." They have announced the next in the series already, "Dragon Age: Awakenings" which is all well and fine, but it's not released until March and "RtO" was supposedly slated for the "Holiday Season" and then the 5th of January, which are both long past and still no word for when they plan on getting it out to us. Ive given the game a 10, but if you throw in the DLC id drop the rating to an 8. They are certainly dropping the ball on that part of the game. Expand
  54. VargreX
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    There are enough good votes on here that explain in depth why the game is good, so Im going to avoid that and point out the negative things people have said about the game. If you look through them all, you'll notice that most of them seem to have been written by someone around 10-12 years of age. This is not a game for the young. Its an adult game, complex in story and plot. It take There are enough good votes on here that explain in depth why the game is good, so Im going to avoid that and point out the negative things people have said about the game. If you look through them all, you'll notice that most of them seem to have been written by someone around 10-12 years of age. This is not a game for the young. Its an adult game, complex in story and plot. It take a lot of thought to get through. Playing on easy, the AI IS easy. That's how its supposed to be. But knock up the difficulty to hard or nightmare and you've got a serious challenge on your hands. The people that have written negative comments on Dragon Age should stick to games they know: Mario Kart and the like. The combat system is excellent, if you know what your doing. If you let your characters loose and dont bother trying to micromanage their attacks/ spellls, your going to lose. A lot. Thats part of the game. Getting deep into it, what everyone does. Graphics are beautiful. Those that complain, id like to ask what they consider to be "good" graphics? There are some instances where the characters feel a bit "robotic" but the voice acting and the story more than make up for any glitches in the graphics. Story wise, its long, intense and interesting. Yes, there is a lot of dialogue. But you can skip it, just by hitting escape, if it gets that monotonous. Ive also heard complaints about the over-use of gore. Well, turn that off in the options and you dont have to deal with that either. Sex? Nudity? Well, there isnt any. During the "sex" scenes the characters are shown in positions of holding and caressing, not in flagrente delecto, although their are mods that you can get to remedy that. Its far from the violent porn that these idiots claim. Some people are never happy, and the better something is, the more they want to tear it down. While I've read a few viable complaints about the game, most of them are from juvenile miscreants who wouldnt know class and skill if it came up and bit them in the arse. This game is not for the idiotic people that spend their time playing Halo and Half Life2. Its for thoughtful people that are just as happy with a good book as they are with a good game. And Dragon Age is just that; an excellent book that you control the outcome of. If you have a brain, and enjoy using it, then get Dragon Age, you will not be disappointed. ((the one complaint that stands out, or rather the one good thing in a list of complaints. It seems to me that its the torchholder for the rest of these naysayers..."I did like one thing, having people begging me on their knees for mercy. That was the one good thing about Dragon Age." That quote seems par for the course for those that gave a negative review. Those are the people that DONT like the game. Go figure.) Expand
  55. NikolayP
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    BioWare did it again. Truly an art piece. It reignited my passion for gaming. For this I thank you. And for all of you who find this game very difficult just switch it to easy, but not waste a gem like this.
  56. Macca
    Jan 24, 2010
    9
    I tend to review games I play once I've played about 50% the way through. I reserved my judgement on DAO until I completed it. The first thing i'd say is that this game is definately the best RPG on release at this moment. With a few more games coming out here in 2010, fans of this genre are in for some good times, and if you haven't yet played this game then you really I tend to review games I play once I've played about 50% the way through. I reserved my judgement on DAO until I completed it. The first thing i'd say is that this game is definately the best RPG on release at this moment. With a few more games coming out here in 2010, fans of this genre are in for some good times, and if you haven't yet played this game then you really should. Graphically, if you have a high end card and a halfway decent CPU then you are in for a visual treat. I played 50% of this game on an 8800gtx and the last 50% on an ATI 5870. The difference between the two allowed me to max out my screen at 1920x1200 and also max out all the settings in-game and whack on some AA. The game looked amazing. Not to say the ageing 8800 couldn't handle it, because it could, but I had to play it in 1680x1050 and lower some of the settings. The game has a main storyline which is a bit Lord of the Rings, but without the rings, and the mass of orcs replaced by Darkspawn, which in essence are the same kind of thing, basically marauding humanoids hellbent on wiping out humanity, which is kind of ironic. To achieve your goals you will have to take part in a series of subplots, which in themselves are rather epic in scale. Tie this in with a large dose of sidequests and you will soon find yourself overwhelmed with quests in your log. So, where does DAO drop from a 10 to a 9? Well, as i'm sure others have mentioned, sometimes the sidequests are very "chorelike" and you can find yourself quickly being taken away from the main objectives you want to achieve for large chunks of time. If you become addicted to the game and play for 5-6 hours solid per session, you could end up sporadically feeling that you haven't achieved much in the session. I myself, played some days like that, and other days I would play for an hour or two, and some days I'd leave it alone completely. When coming back to it, I would feel refreshed and ready to plough on. As for difficulty, playing the game on it's default level is a real challenge for many players i'm sure. Being an old timer myself, and having played too many RPG's to list, I found the challenge on the default setting just right. I died in places I expected to once stepping into a fight I knew were going to require a learning curve to beat, and once beat, I felt a real sense of achievement. Fortunately the combat mechanics in DAO are very well implemented. The tactics you can give to your team are in depth, and the game provides easy to use setups should you not want to spend time mastering your own tactics for each character. The game comes with DLC that you can purchase for a reasonable cost, and if you didn't get the deluxe version that comes with most of it, then buying it is definately something you want to do, especially Soldier's Peak which provides you with a chest for storage. From start to finish, Dragon Age Origins is a masterpiece on the PC. It has very few technical issues (at least on my machine), and plays smoothly. A definate recommendation. Expand
  57. PrudiiS
    Jan 3, 2010
    8
    Ok its long i mean really really really long. I mean i just finished my first play though with a time of 91 hours and i did not even do all the side quests. This truly is an immersive game yet despite this it reminds me so much of SW: KotOR I and II. Sure dialogue options change things and it seems like things are changed but when you think about it the over all plot is not changed its Ok its long i mean really really really long. I mean i just finished my first play though with a time of 91 hours and i did not even do all the side quests. This truly is an immersive game yet despite this it reminds me so much of SW: KotOR I and II. Sure dialogue options change things and it seems like things are changed but when you think about it the over all plot is not changed its just like the dark light ending of KotOR. No matter which you follow Malak still dies. They try to sell the game by saying you control what happens. Well you don't you control the how, why, and when. For example this play though i will go to see the dwarfs before i go to the capital city. And you have to micro manage everything and be careful. I learned this on the first boss. I kept charging right in and dieing over and over again. You have to double and triple cheek your tactics settings or you die. Expand
  58. TravisH
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    Pros : This is the best game I have played in some time from the gamplay and graphics to the amazing storyline that makes you stay up till just 2 hours before you have to go into work just so you can find out what happens next! I can't say enough good thing about this game, the only true way to understand is to play it. Cons: This game is Amazing for PC but it was obviously made for Pros : This is the best game I have played in some time from the gamplay and graphics to the amazing storyline that makes you stay up till just 2 hours before you have to go into work just so you can find out what happens next! I can't say enough good thing about this game, the only true way to understand is to play it. Cons: This game is Amazing for PC but it was obviously made for PC and won't be the same on console. Also the game as some replay value but after the initial race quests at the begining the storyline is the same for all races/classes except for different dialog later in the game. Expand
  59. BrandonM
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    One of the best RPG's in the past 10 years!! Right there with Mass Effect, Baldur's Gate 2 and FFX (could have been better if we didn't have to read all the dialogue).
  60. Jargo
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    Hands down the best game I've played in a good deal of years. The writing is great and the voice talent that went with the writing is not only appropriate but well picked. It challenges the player's intellect and beliefs in a way similar to how Mask of the Betrayer did. It really makes you think about what you're doing if you take the game seriously and read the text. Hands down the best game I've played in a good deal of years. The writing is great and the voice talent that went with the writing is not only appropriate but well picked. It challenges the player's intellect and beliefs in a way similar to how Mask of the Betrayer did. It really makes you think about what you're doing if you take the game seriously and read the text. It's one of those games that when you're done you are sad it is over because you feel attached to the world and feel you could do so much more for the world in that setting. Expand
  61. HenkR
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    This game has urged me to make my first post on this website. The reason behind this: I had to up the number on this game! This game is the first game in about 10 years that finally gave me the same feeling as the Baldur's Gate series of Planescape Torment gave me: of sheer and utter pleasure. Now i admit to the fact that this game is in fact not for everybody. Moreover, it's This game has urged me to make my first post on this website. The reason behind this: I had to up the number on this game! This game is the first game in about 10 years that finally gave me the same feeling as the Baldur's Gate series of Planescape Torment gave me: of sheer and utter pleasure. Now i admit to the fact that this game is in fact not for everybody. Moreover, it's very likely that most of u won't even like this game. I mean, read the ra(n)tings of some people below me. The reason for this is that Dragon Age was defeloped as a (semi) hardcore squad-based rpg that closely resembles D&D. The fact that the game is rather hardcore shows in the way u have to use a variety of tactics, pause a lot, personally command your companions and actually think about the actions u make in this world. U can't expect to stomp through this game, u have to take your time, let it grow and make sure u spend a shitload of time tinkering your squad and gear (especially on higher difficulties) Because seriously: the AI ain't bad, you're just supposed to do it yourself. Just pause, reposition your squad, pick the abilities they need to use and just do it yourself. This is no diablo, this is baldur's gate revisited! The game doesn't do shit if you don't do it yourself and some people (like me) love the fact that you are truly in controll. Heck, it's either command or die and i love it. Expand
  62. OliverS
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    This is a positively engaging, beautiful and epic game. While unashamedly retro, you can make it as deep as you want. If you want to pause between every fight and manage your team's AI, you can. But if you want the computer to deal with AI and play in real-time, you can also do that. But the real shine in this game is from the dialogue, depth, amount of choices and just purely how This is a positively engaging, beautiful and epic game. While unashamedly retro, you can make it as deep as you want. If you want to pause between every fight and manage your team's AI, you can. But if you want the computer to deal with AI and play in real-time, you can also do that. But the real shine in this game is from the dialogue, depth, amount of choices and just purely how engaging it is. If you want to play a game purely for fun, maybe not so much for you. But this is like reading a fully interactive novel where you can explore every facet in any amount of detail. I realise many find this boring simply because story and dialogue are not so important to them. But that is really where this shines :D. Expand
  63. JohnB
    Jan 8, 2010
    8
    Good game but very buggy. Can rarely play without the game crashing.
  64. ScottN
    Jan 9, 2010
    9
    This is, without a doubt, one of the greatest games i have ever played. That being said, it is not without fault. The tactics system, while incredibly customizable, is rather clunky; even with tactics in place, sometimes i will see a warrior off in a corner twiddling his thumbs. There are so many glitches that are exploitable to break gameplay as well: you can be level 20 before even This is, without a doubt, one of the greatest games i have ever played. That being said, it is not without fault. The tactics system, while incredibly customizable, is rather clunky; even with tactics in place, sometimes i will see a warrior off in a corner twiddling his thumbs. There are so many glitches that are exploitable to break gameplay as well: you can be level 20 before even leaving Ostagar with a min/max build where you take points from other stats and pump them all into one choice stat. The difficulty level is also a bit odd...it spikes. You can smash your way through a dungeon with no issues, try to leave, and get annihilated by a random encounter with a small band of Darkspawn within 3 seconds flat. The overall difficulty is not an issue, it's the spiking up and down and up and down incessantly. But all of this can really be dealt with and ignored, and the captivating storytelling and tactical combat merge to create one of the greatest fantasy epics in video games in recent years. Expand
  65. DmanG
    Feb 14, 2010
    8
    An Incredibly deep story driven game. It will probably not appeal to 2 hardcore RPG audiences. The first are the Diablo/Korean-RPG, grind-fest, fans, as this game has no grinding, enemies never re-spawn, and once you clear an area, that's that. This adds a HUGE additional challenge, as XP points are as valuable as rare items, and leveling must be taken with great care. I hate An Incredibly deep story driven game. It will probably not appeal to 2 hardcore RPG audiences. The first are the Diablo/Korean-RPG, grind-fest, fans, as this game has no grinding, enemies never re-spawn, and once you clear an area, that's that. This adds a HUGE additional challenge, as XP points are as valuable as rare items, and leveling must be taken with great care. I hate grinding more than anything in the world, so I loved this "feature". The other people who will probably not like this game are the hardcore D&D fans. Much of the nuances of D&D are not in this game, and for me that is welcome. I don't think walking empty fields in games like Oblivion and Fallout 3 is fun, granted that every once and awhile you find a "cool" hidden area or side quest, its not worth the time, for some mundane quest with little to nothing to do with the storyline. Every quest in Dragon Age, down to the leveling "Request Board" quests, are expertly crafted into the main plot and often branching. No, there are no find the +16 mace in the randomly generated dungeon with the same enemies you have been fighting for the last 120 hours...and I'm fine, no I'm ecstatic, about that. I play a game to enjoy it, but to complete it in a "timely" fashion, so I can move on to the next game. For me, games like Diablo and Neverwinter nights cheaply increased there length with pointless side-quests or by including equally mundane multiplayer, and I don't understand how they can be fun other then by the mind trick they employ, of using a gauged-reward system (similar to what you find with slot machines in a Casino). Dragon Age trims the fat, and while there is plenty to explore, a after-work gamer will still be able to beat it (for the first time) in a month or 2 and probably a month if you want a second go...which for me, is perfect. But don't get me wrong, this isn't halo were you can beat the game with your eyes closed, on the normal difficulty the game is challenging and will require you to think, which I really enjoyed. I logged 45 satisfied hours at my first run, and after beating some of the new games that are out. I will most surely give it another go. 3 major problems though. 1. the DLC sucks, i got all 3 and they were all a waste of money, they are also integrated into the main game so much that you feel almost as if you "have" to do them...they are all skip-able. 2. To many pointless NPC interactions, half the time you can give 2 different responses and get the exact same answer, I'm not a real "role-player" maybe if you are one, this makes the game more "realistic" but for me, it was just annoying. 3. The game has memory leaks, if you sit for a long session the loading times get longer and longer and longer, this is fixed by a restart of the game, but an annoying problem never-the-less Highly Recommend for any normal gamer like me, who enjoys a well thought out, well put together game for (I can't after reading the other reviews on here emphasize this enough) NORMAL people. Expand
  66. HannahT
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    Beautiful, from the individual personalities scripted to each important NPC and party member to the highly varied backdrops of each area this game and all it's aspects were given love and care by it's devs. Game of the year in my opinion 'cause I doubt it will be topped!
  67. MarkS
    Nov 11, 2009
    9
    Actually I'd like to rate this at a 9.5, but I can't give it a 10. This, from what I've read is old school type of RPG. This is different from Oblivion, which for newcomers to the RPG type game, was very easy to pick up. Dragon Age: Origins (DAO) has a different mechanic than that of Oblivion and Fallout 3. At first I found it intimidating, but now with more than just a few Actually I'd like to rate this at a 9.5, but I can't give it a 10. This, from what I've read is old school type of RPG. This is different from Oblivion, which for newcomers to the RPG type game, was very easy to pick up. Dragon Age: Origins (DAO) has a different mechanic than that of Oblivion and Fallout 3. At first I found it intimidating, but now with more than just a few hours under my belt, I'm really into this game. The quests come in fast and furious and the main story line and voice acting are excellent. The combat is fun as well, once you get a handle on the controls, and setting up your party. I guess you could blow through the campaign just to get to the end as fast as you can, but I'm enjoying the atmosphere of the game. The dialoge between your party members while you walk adds to the community feeling within a single player game. A tutorial would have been nice, but thankfully both my sons are old pros at these games and I now no longer need their help (errr. . .for the basics. . .) A really good game and I highly recommend it to even non-RPG players. Put an effort into learning the game mechanics, and you may enjoy it more than Oblivion Expand
  68. jamess
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    the game is brilliant, every character is well developed, well voiced and great to talk and listen to. the party banter is some of the best in any RPG. the combat is tactical and challenging, with kick ass death animations. the role playing is deep and multifaceted. the levelling system makes you really think carefully about the choices you make. this is the best RPG since baldur's the game is brilliant, every character is well developed, well voiced and great to talk and listen to. the party banter is some of the best in any RPG. the combat is tactical and challenging, with kick ass death animations. the role playing is deep and multifaceted. the levelling system makes you really think carefully about the choices you make. this is the best RPG since baldur's gate 2. the only thing disappointing about it is the fact that you only have a 4 member party, the characters are just too good to only have 4. morrigan is one of the best female characters in a game for a long time aswell. this people is how RPG's should be. Expand
  69. johndoe
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    awesome RPG with lots of things to do this includes sex,chopping of the limbs off,slaying dragons and a good story! def a buy if you like RPGs.
  70. JaysonL
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    Although the character/races/backgrounds are not really trying anything new the story is excellent and feels very real. The game is addictive because you are always left wondering what could happen next. You are also called upon to make very difficult decisions. Ive put in over 40 hours thus far and i feel i have about 40 more to go.
  71. JamesW
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    Delightfully addictive, even for the most jaded gamer, despite a few minor flaws. I confess that recently I've been thinking about DA:O tactics and adventure when I should have been listening to my wife. . . apparently.
  72. RandyP
    Nov 12, 2009
    8
    Negatives: Crashes, really long loading screens, and some very trite, tedious quests. Positive: Gripping gameplay, intriguing history and plot. Neutral: Digital actors are well done. Some of them are so well done but annoying you want to kill them, sacrificing the approval rating of your whole party!
  73. Beef
    Nov 12, 2009
    9
    Exceptional scope, writing and character development make this a must own game for any fan of RPGs. The graphics are at times a little lackluster, the difficulty can spike unpredictably and the core gameplay itself offers little innovation but this is more than offset by the experience as a whole. After 30 hours of playing, I have barely managed to complete 1 third of the game.
  74. TravisRoot
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    Being one of the most addictive rpg's from story alone created an amazing game, adding on to that with extremely satisfying gameplay i can play this game for hours. Plus the toolset that comes as a free seprate download. this game is a perfect value.
  75. TomB.
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    An incredible game. At the end of the third decade of PC gaming, a near perfect role playing game was delivered to us gamers. Superb and intuitive game controls (on the PC) combined with a way to tell the stories that I am surprised again and again.
  76. NotImportant......
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    WoW. i gotta say this game is one of its kind. I have actually never tried an RPG before so this is my first and i gotta say its freaking AWSOM. Iv always Liked Fps games much more than the boring RPG games like Kotor. Iv played it for 5 days almost and Iv only gotten 25% of the game and i usally play 2 hours or something like that. I Recomend this game to everyone even the Fps players :D
  77. JanX
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    I was a bit sceptical when I learned that they weren't getting a license for the D&D universe this time, but what BioWare has provided us with here simply blows my mind. I've played every BioWare rpg from Planescape Torment on and the experience of Dragon Age surpasses even Baldur's Gate 2 for me. Yes, it is pretty linear and sometimes I thought to myself "okay, this would I was a bit sceptical when I learned that they weren't getting a license for the D&D universe this time, but what BioWare has provided us with here simply blows my mind. I've played every BioWare rpg from Planescape Torment on and the experience of Dragon Age surpasses even Baldur's Gate 2 for me. Yes, it is pretty linear and sometimes I thought to myself "okay, this would have worked differently without EA" - but the world they created is so vivid and believable you instantly become immersed in it and want to play it again several times with different characters, because it will be a whole different experience depending on your race, class and good/evil alignment. Expand
  78. N.Ja
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    That game was so fun to play. It brings out again the good game I loved to play Baldur's gate but with nice graphics. Nice history and long play time. it's also nice to be able to play again.
  79. MK
    Nov 15, 2009
    9
    Ok, I ve been playing the game for 8-9 hours straight. The first impression is that it is a solid, well thought out, with good graphics and a very (very) interesting story with many turns in the plot old school RPG. I haven't been this exhilarated with an RPG since BGII almost a decade ago. Some say about the graphics that are dated, in my opinion there is no such issue. I find them Ok, I ve been playing the game for 8-9 hours straight. The first impression is that it is a solid, well thought out, with good graphics and a very (very) interesting story with many turns in the plot old school RPG. I haven't been this exhilarated with an RPG since BGII almost a decade ago. Some say about the graphics that are dated, in my opinion there is no such issue. I find them way better than most recent RPGs out there. Innovations, there are a couple (one is the use of tactics and tactic slots) but not many to make the game a breakthrough in the genre. The gameplay is one of the bes with, old Bioware-Activision top notch dialogues, a very helpful and immersive CODEX (a kind of encyclopedia), almost real characters and a very helpful UI and intuitive interaction menus. All in all, for me, a great and classic game. Expand
  80. DreeL.
    Nov 17, 2009
    8
    This game has the best beginning portion of any RPG, however, it has too many repetitive combats that may make players get bored quickly.
  81. PeterM
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Best game at the moment!. Im at 36% in the game and the characters and story is so far very thrilling. Combat system and tactical overview nice done and made. Great quest variety. Nice graphics and cut scens. Basiclly very hard to let go when you start playing it as the story drives you forward and you just have to know more about the world and evolve your character.
  82. RutgerV
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    Been playing this for a few days now and I got the same rare captivating magic feeling as I did with The Witcher, Elder Scrolls, and Fallout3. What an excellently detailed game in every aspect. This game breathes developer's dedication. Nice work EA/Bioware. Worth every cent.
  83. AnonynousX
    Nov 19, 2009
    10
    A great game, with great innovation and a lot of freedom. Although the story might not be the most original when looked far apart, but the specific detail into each action to solve the conflict are quite intriguing. I wont say everything I liked about the game, since everyone has pretty much already said it 50 times :P but I do have to mention sound, character interaction, graphics A great game, with great innovation and a lot of freedom. Although the story might not be the most original when looked far apart, but the specific detail into each action to solve the conflict are quite intriguing. I wont say everything I liked about the game, since everyone has pretty much already said it 50 times :P but I do have to mention sound, character interaction, graphics (Maximum on PC) , and the tactical combat system overrule any small flaws. And I wanted a hard game, and I got a hard game, and so I was alright with multiple retries and attempts. One tip: quick-save OFTEN (after every battle is a nice choice) Expand
  84. N.V.
    Nov 21, 2009
    10
    Huge game, tons of replay value. Interesting story. No need to follow a specific line through the game, but you can decide more freely where to go and when to go there (granted you need to do major plot quests to advance, but the order you do it in is up to you). Overall, it is a highly recommended RPG game for anyone that love the genre. Personally I have spent well over 300 hours in Huge game, tons of replay value. Interesting story. No need to follow a specific line through the game, but you can decide more freely where to go and when to go there (granted you need to do major plot quests to advance, but the order you do it in is up to you). Overall, it is a highly recommended RPG game for anyone that love the genre. Personally I have spent well over 300 hours in this game now, wich results in nearly 100 hours a week. Expand
  85. ChuckG
    Nov 20, 2009
    9
    It has that epic feeling, but the story isnt still as good as BG. The game play and story is far reaching though and by far the best rpg i have played in the past few years. just buy the game and you will be sucked in.
  86. MizunoA
    Nov 22, 2009
    8
    Although this game rests in a somewhat generic fantasy universe, credit to Bioware for fleshing it out, and putting a dark, mature spin on things. In summary, A Song of Ice and Fire meets Lord of the Rings. The combat system is without flaw, and almost every other fight will require a different approach. The realtime / pause mechanism is wonderful and allows the player to orchestrate Although this game rests in a somewhat generic fantasy universe, credit to Bioware for fleshing it out, and putting a dark, mature spin on things. In summary, A Song of Ice and Fire meets Lord of the Rings. The combat system is without flaw, and almost every other fight will require a different approach. The realtime / pause mechanism is wonderful and allows the player to orchestrate difficult boss battles, or glide through low-threat encounters with ease. This game will easily suck you in for a good 40 hours before you start to tire of it; hardcore players will spend upwards of 120+ if they can muster the strength to do every side quest. For most of us, 70-80 hours playtime will see the game through. There is a definite replayability factor with intensely hard difficulty levels, 4 unique sub-classes for the main 3, and a large amount of sidequests to complete. In summary, a polished, accomplished tactical RPG let down somewhat by lack of innovation in story, setting and gameplay mechanics. Expand
  87. CanonY
    Nov 25, 2009
    10
    I've played games most of my life, and of all genres I'm a big fan of role playing games. I remember the joy of playing final fantasy 5 for the first time. This is the pinnacle of all RPGs - a lot of work has gone into the game, and the depth shows. Dialogue appears to be endless. Literally, you could spend all day listening to the rumours in the tavern. It's much like I've played games most of my life, and of all genres I'm a big fan of role playing games. I remember the joy of playing final fantasy 5 for the first time. This is the pinnacle of all RPGs - a lot of work has gone into the game, and the depth shows. Dialogue appears to be endless. Literally, you could spend all day listening to the rumours in the tavern. It's much like reading a novel, but more involving. The action is fast and bloody. You learn to care about the characters in your party and each has their own past and personalities. I feel privileged having played such a game, it brings a big smile to my face. If you're more into button bashing or have a short attention span, then this game may not be for you but for everyone else - this is about as good as it gets. A classic in every respect. Expand
  88. Craden
    Nov 25, 2009
    10
    This may be the best game I have ever played. At first, the controls were frustrating. I'm not used to a click to move set up. But since I've grown accustomed to that, I've found very little wrong with this game. If there is a defining characteristic of this game, it is depth. The characters have depth, the combat system has depth and the world at large has depth. The fact This may be the best game I have ever played. At first, the controls were frustrating. I'm not used to a click to move set up. But since I've grown accustomed to that, I've found very little wrong with this game. If there is a defining characteristic of this game, it is depth. The characters have depth, the combat system has depth and the world at large has depth. The fact that there is always something going on between the characters, be it banter or a more expanded dialogue, really brings this game to life. Some game worlds (Oblivion) feel lonely, like the world is scarcely populated and only by cutouts but in place to further your goals, this game is not one of them. The characters seem to have opinions and motivations independent of the player. It is true that the game incorporates a number of cliches and that the game world isn't exactly original. It is also true that the romantic interaction is a bit juvenile. But the first of these criticisms is true in general for video games. Nearly all game settings are genre based and generic to some degree (with certain exception). And as far as I'm aware, there have been few, 0 in fact, game plots that are of Pulitzer caliber. And more generally, all video games suffer from a juvenile male disposition. These things noted, this game takes small steps forward toward making video games a narrative art rather than simply a form of entertainment. This game is very much like what Borges described in his short story "The Garden of Forking Paths." It is a small glimpse at the future of interactive narrative. And for all it's flaws, it is the forebearer of the types of games that will gain video games respect in an artistic community and this, in itself, is no small accomplishment. Expand
  89. JCV
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    Short review: Amazing. The voice acting is the best I've heard in a game which really helps get you into the story. The gameplay is superb, and the overall experience is breathtaking.
  90. TarenceK.
    Nov 3, 2009
    9
    A worthy RPG and absolute delight. Strong flow and direction, still allowing the explorers to do their thing. Easy control and guidance of multiple character. Simple recognizable interface and archetypes. Much nicer voice overs and flow of story. Its only pitfall would be its generic fantasy plot and setting. Not a bad thing, but Bioware could do good breaking away and providing us with A worthy RPG and absolute delight. Strong flow and direction, still allowing the explorers to do their thing. Easy control and guidance of multiple character. Simple recognizable interface and archetypes. Much nicer voice overs and flow of story. Its only pitfall would be its generic fantasy plot and setting. Not a bad thing, but Bioware could do good breaking away and providing us with something new. I hope to see it in extra content. Expand
  91. DanielF
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    Having played many RPG games over the last 20 years or so (yes I know... dating myself :)) I have to admit this game threw me a little askew at first. Very little concentration on traditional magic in a fantasy game.. hmm... A bit odd there... but then I remember stories like George R.R. Martin and some of the later works by Raymond Feist and I remember the most intriguing parts of any Having played many RPG games over the last 20 years or so (yes I know... dating myself :)) I have to admit this game threw me a little askew at first. Very little concentration on traditional magic in a fantasy game.. hmm... A bit odd there... but then I remember stories like George R.R. Martin and some of the later works by Raymond Feist and I remember the most intriguing parts of any story isn't the powerful magic, but all the plots and subplots.. the twists and turns behind every quest and subquest. Delving a bit deeper into the storyline I really had a difficult time remembering that I was playing a game and not witnessing a rich story unfold from a fictional text. The story is immense, the combat challenging, and the replayablility makes me wonder why more games can't be like this. Kudos go to the Bioware team that developed this game and Kudos to anyone who takes the time to pick up this fantastic game. I can't wait to see all the additional content that will be developed for this game by the community. Expand
  92. TobiasB
    Nov 5, 2009
    10
    If you enjoy classic RPG gameplay, then you will love this fabulous game. Great story telling, combat, graphics and more. The only complaint is that the interface could be slightly improved, but outside of that it's near perfection. If you are an ADD twitch FPS type gamer, this is not for you.
  93. IshT
    Nov 5, 2009
    9
    Great RPG. What RPG's should be like. I played SACRED 2 and KOTOR and MASS EFFECT. But this feels like a RPG/ACTION. But the Graphics. Eh... who cares i sacrifice this for the great story and gameplay. Oh yeah way better than FABLE II. Honestly am I the only one that thinks Fable Sucks? Cuz the controls are way better and the dog interaction is more beliavable than Peter Molyneux dog Great RPG. What RPG's should be like. I played SACRED 2 and KOTOR and MASS EFFECT. But this feels like a RPG/ACTION. But the Graphics. Eh... who cares i sacrifice this for the great story and gameplay. Oh yeah way better than FABLE II. Honestly am I the only one that thinks Fable Sucks? Cuz the controls are way better and the dog interaction is more beliavable than Peter Molyneux dog interaction thing. Expand
  94. CerealLover
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    Do NOT buy/play this game if you do NOT have a lot of time on your hands. This game is highly addictive and can make you completely lose track of time passage. I regret buying this game so soon because I spent too much time on it and too little time studying for my midterm... The game's story is pretty much all inter-connected so it's very difficult to "finish this part and Do NOT buy/play this game if you do NOT have a lot of time on your hands. This game is highly addictive and can make you completely lose track of time passage. I regret buying this game so soon because I spent too much time on it and too little time studying for my midterm... The game's story is pretty much all inter-connected so it's very difficult to "finish this part and stop". If you DO have lots of time on your hands though, totally go for the game. The story will suck you in. Expand
  95. Zac
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    Incredible RPG experience, they story is compelling and the decisions you make effect the outcomes making for a very satisfying experience. Party interactions are very amusing at times, and add to the overall atmosphere of the game, really making it come alive.
  96. AndrewK
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    Probably the most fun I have had playing any game in the last few years - the perfect balance of combat, cinema, RPG, and delicious choices. Indeed, looking forward to this for 18 months did not get my hopes up nearly high enough! I look forward to playing through the game more and more with different classes and different styles!
  97. MaartenP
    Nov 6, 2009
    9
    This is not really a review but since a lot of PC-users had problems with redeem-codes and DLC I decided to write this little piece of info. Get the Dragon Age Updater running in the background. Then create a account (pretty straightforward), then redeem your codes. Keep the updater running all the time and start up the game. Everything should download perfectly now and function in-game. This is not really a review but since a lot of PC-users had problems with redeem-codes and DLC I decided to write this little piece of info. Get the Dragon Age Updater running in the background. Then create a account (pretty straightforward), then redeem your codes. Keep the updater running all the time and start up the game. Everything should download perfectly now and function in-game. Have fun with this great game. Expand
  98. Tom01255
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    Traditional RPGs seem to have fallen out of favour of late. Whilst turn based games have almost certainly seen their demise on main stream consoles and PCs; replaced with their action-RPG counterparts, there seem to have been even fewer Baldur
  99. AustinM
    Nov 8, 2009
    10
    This is an epic fantasy RPG like we have come to expect from Bio-ware. The combat is fast paced, and depending on the level of difficulty, very tactical. The voice acting is amazing, better then any I have ever heard. The writing is as good as any New York Times bestseller, keeping you at the edge of your swivel chair the whole way through. The only complaints are almost irrelevant, long This is an epic fantasy RPG like we have come to expect from Bio-ware. The combat is fast paced, and depending on the level of difficulty, very tactical. The voice acting is amazing, better then any I have ever heard. The writing is as good as any New York Times bestseller, keeping you at the edge of your swivel chair the whole way through. The only complaints are almost irrelevant, long loading times and somewhat subpar graphics. But honestly, those will matter so little to you as soon as you hear your characters exchange a few pieces of witty dialog (mix and match your party members for some absolutely hilarious exchanges, Alistar and Morigran and Lelina and Sten have particularly funny bits) that they do not impact the game at all. A 9.5 at the least. Expand
  100. RickA.
    Nov 9, 2009
    9
    Not very innovative but the essence of old school rpg gaming; not to be missed but bring some tolerance for failing and retry.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. If you're into rpgs, or rather if you love roleplaying in general, there's really no need to waste time reading any reviews of this game. The same goes if you regard games like Planescape: Torment, Fallout 2 and the Baldurs Gate-series among the best computer games ever made. Because this game is everything a person like you look for in a game, and so much more. Be aware though, Dragon Age: Origins is not a revolution of the genre, rather it is an evolution, where Bioware has refined everything that made them into a formula as close to perfection as possible. Without a doubt one of the strongest Game of the year-candidates so far this year and a game we will remember with warm feelings many years to come.
  2. PC Gamer
    92
    An outstanding story-driven RPG with fantastic writing, RPG depth and tough tactical combat. It's BioWare's best RPG since Baldur's Gate 2. [Holiday 2009, p.38]
  3. Dragon Age Origins will keep you in front of your computer for hours! Graphics, sounds and the controls couldn’t be much better!