Dreamfall: The Longest Journey PC

  • Publisher: Aspyr
  • Release Date: Apr 17, 2006
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 45
  2. Negative: 2 out of 45
Buy On
  1. Dreamfall ends on a cliffhanger. If it's all the same to the creators, we'd rather not wait another six years for a resolution.
  2. So, having sacrificed gameplay in favour of story, what's left is a product that isn't really much of a game at all. If you can put up with the tedium of puzzles and stealth sections, the rich story and compelling characters will furnish you with a rewarding experience.
  3. 74
    While Dreamfall attempts to incorporate action elements, it just doesn't work. The stealth and battle systems are woefully underdeveloped. This wouldn't have been a big deal if there was still an enjoyable array of puzzles, but those too were drastically simplified.
  4. If you’re interested in interactive storytelling, you’re an adventure gamer in need of a fix, or you’re a big fan of The Longest Journey, pick this up; no one else should feel compelled to bother.
  5. There aren’t enough interactive moments in the action-adventure, and the few that are there aren’t interesting enough or complicated enough to make the game worth playing.
  6. The switch to 3D was a welcome addition, but one saddled with camera and control issues.
  7. It still has an interesting story, but the characters are less memorable, and the bland Zoe is a poor replacement for April Ryan. April is a relatively minor character in Dreamfall, yet her passion and embitterment are far more compelling than Zoe's listless puzzlement.
  8. 65
    Fans of the original, or people who enjoy a game that offers little challenge, but strong narrative, may want to check this out. If it’s action and involving gameplay you're after, leave this one well alone.
  9. The story fails to ignite and it just felt like the developer of the game was trying to be really intellectual and those that did not see the real focus of the game, enjoy the engaging story and all the other subtle touches were either stupid or didn't appreciate the real value of what is being offered!
  10. Unfortunately, this gripping tale is marred by weird fighting and stealth sequences that don't seem to mesh with the rest of the lush narrative.
  11. The biggest concern is that the game's conclusion leaves many unsatisfying loose ends.
  12. It’s a shame that with such outstanding production values and such a beautifully realized story and world, Dreamfall doesn’t do more as a video game. It adheres quite strictly to its adventure roots but fails to provide a satisfying challenge.
  13. Edge Magazine
    70
    If you share director Ragnar Tornquist's view that being engaged in dialogue is a form of gameplay, then there's a richness here that few other titles have the ability or luxury to create. [June 2006, p.86]
  14. games(TM)
    70
    Enjoyed for what it is, this is bold and compelling – it draws from the traditional and the contemporary to deliver a uniquely modern and elegantly told adventure. [July 2006, p.131]
  15. If you liked the world of the original, buy it, you’ll get a kick out of everything, but if you’ve not even played the first one, then buy The Longest Journey and see what Dreamfall should have been; like its predecessor, focussed on the puzzles.
  16. PC Gamer
    73
    Dreamfall is worth the effort but could've done without the fighting; those scenes aren't essential to the plot, add nothing to the gameplay, and will only turn off die-hard fans of The Longest Journey. [July 2006, p.98]
  17. PC Zone UK
    67
    Dreamfall never taxes the brain, and progression is more often than not a case of running to the next location and having a bit of a chat. [July 2006, p.75]
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 533 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 172
  1. M.Alex
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    A bit like an interactive movie and "quite" linear (which I don't necessarily consider a con), the magnificent story kept me glued to A bit like an interactive movie and "quite" linear (which I don't necessarily consider a con), the magnificent story kept me glued to the screen for over 24h. If you can cope with plot linearity, try this one out. Full Review »
  2. Aug 5, 2011
    4
    Dreamfall has a very engaging story until toward the end when the story just abruptly ends. Very confusing. Where are the Cliffs notes? AsideDreamfall has a very engaging story until toward the end when the story just abruptly ends. Very confusing. Where are the Cliffs notes? Aside from a confusing ending, the graphics were great, hats off to the artists. The puzzles detracted from the story and had nothing to do with the storyline, which is probably typical for an adventure game. But this wasn't much of and adventure game anyway, just a story pretending to be an adventure game. Full Review »
  3. Blueroom
    Apr 26, 2007
    1
    This was a total waste of money. hours and hours of going back and forth between characters and listening to long drawn-out dialogue with This was a total waste of money. hours and hours of going back and forth between characters and listening to long drawn-out dialogue with little or no relevance to the overall story. i thought this game was supposed to be for mature gamers? most of the puzzles are juvenile and linear - I've lost my cat! find it and i'll help you!' or 'i need spices! find some and i'll help you!' ffs what a joke. the thing that pisses me off the most though is that the environments are so amazing to look at (the best i've ever seen) but i can't stand playing the game so I'm probably not even going to bother finishing it. the graphics aren't all good tho. the characters are animated badly and the facial expressions are horrendous. zoe spends a lot of time looking like an inflatable sex doll but i think it's a lame attempt at a surprised facial expression. the music is awesome and so are the ambient sounds. the dialogue is well acted but so incredibly tedious. this game must have had some amazing production values but they didn't spend any of it on gameplay and every time i see a review touting it as 'adventure game of the year' (or indeed anything with a score greater than 5/10) i can't help but be reminded of the emperor's new clothes. Full Review »