Driver: San Francisco PC

Driver: San Francisco Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 328 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Driver: San Francisco marks the return of the established video game series that has sold 14 million copies worldwide. Gamers will play as Detective John Tanner on a relentless manhunt for crime lord Charles Jericho through the hills of the City by the Bay. Thanks to a groundbreakingDriver: San Francisco marks the return of the established video game series that has sold 14 million copies worldwide. Gamers will play as Detective John Tanner on a relentless manhunt for crime lord Charles Jericho through the hills of the City by the Bay. Thanks to a groundbreaking gameplay feature, players can now seamlessly "shift" between well over a hundred licensed vehicles, keeping them constantly in the heart of the action. With its timeless setting, unique car handling and renewed playability, Driver: San Francisco will revitalize the classic free-roaming, cinematic car chase experience for the current generation of gaming platforms. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. PC Games (Russia)
    Sep 19, 2011
    90
    A true salvation for a nearly-dead franchise. [October 2011, p.68]
  2. Oct 7, 2011
    85
    The car's handling is great, San Francisco is nearly perfect and the progression system and on-line modes are great. There is so much to do in the new Driver.
  3. Oct 18, 2011
    85
    Despite the very unusual screenplay, Driver: San Francisco offers a lot of fun. It suprises the player until the last mission, and the "shift" system works very well. With this chapter, Driver won't be anymore perceived as a GTA-clone.
  4. 80
    The Shift ability is the element that makes Driver: San Francisco an interesting game. No matter how stupid the idea behind it is, the possibility to use any car (not just those affordable to you) gives huge freedom. And mixed with varied missions and a good multiplayer, but with a crippled AI and some control issues, Driver manages to revive not only the cop, but also a series that almost no one believed to be viable anymore.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Nov 15, 2011
    80
    We were worried that the new Driver would be just "good one" but expectations were exceeded by far. Great story, driving physics and a top soundtrack made new Driver a game to remember. [Nov 2011]
  6. Nov 9, 2011
    80
    Hardly the drive of your life, but easily one of the most memorable--and a great one-time gimmick done well. [Holiday 2011, p.78]
  7. PC PowerPlay
    Dec 4, 2011
    60
    Family-friendly smash-ups and a goofy concept. There's something refreshing in this game's profanity-free self-confidence. [Christmas 2011, p.64]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 61
  2. Negative: 15 out of 61
  1. Oct 8, 2011
    10
    Excellent production values and an enormous fun factor. The city, music, cars and story create a 'Starsky and Hutch' style. Humor in variousExcellent production values and an enormous fun factor. The city, music, cars and story create a 'Starsky and Hutch' style. Humor in various dialogues is genuinely funny. Driving/shifting mechanics are perfect. The handling, feel, response, and sound of each vehicle feels very right. This is a brilliant driving game! Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    I have been playing for 3 weeks. The game is great it!, it will getting better the more advance yo go on story and city or side missions.I have been playing for 3 weeks. The game is great it!, it will getting better the more advance yo go on story and city or side missions. With all type of missions stunts available I'm having a lot of fun, the handling of driving the cars is like a simulator quite realistic also as you go forward in the game you will be driving a lot of new cars suv 's, trucks and sports as well as racing machines and some off road vehicles.

    Also graphics are on top notch to be handled by DX9 every single part of the city, road, cars, crash, civilians, effects are all well detailed ...

    This game is like having 3 in one; NF most wanted, something of Dirt 2, and something of mafia 2.

    I highly recommend it. I know Ubi soft has bad reputation to have screwed some games but this one, is not one of them.
    Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Was I surprised when they introduced "shifting" ability early on. Great, innovative idea. First thing I though about is whether I would be able to shift into a truck (from opposite direction) while chasing a suspect. xD And it worked! That was refreshing. Plenty of diverse challenges and dares. After some remapping, controls and general mechanics are intuitive and well though out. It got out much better than I expected.
    Car models are solid, graphics a bit dated and rough but ok, music and sound are brilliant.
    Expand
  4. Jun 22, 2016
    8
    It takes two kinds of driving games to hold my interest. The first has guns. The second is more vaguely defined, but Driver: San FranciscoIt takes two kinds of driving games to hold my interest. The first has guns. The second is more vaguely defined, but Driver: San Francisco fits the bill. It is surprisingly fun to play when compared to other driving games of late, such as the most recent Need For Speeds and Fuel. Realism is a secondary concern here. Though set in the present day, the plot, music and overall setting ooze the best elements of 1970's era cops-and-robbers television, and the cars have characteristics to match: roaring engines, spectacular burnouts and looooong four-wheel drifts. The jewel in this game's crown is the "Shift" mechanic, which murders the thing I hate most about driving games- the low margin of error. Say you're trying to stop a bad guy, but drift too wide around a turn and slam into a wall or oncoming truck. In most other games, that would mean yet another mission restart. Not here. Mindjack some unsuspecting schmuck and continue the chase in a whole new car! Tip: Beware Ubisoft's DRM. Expand
  5. Sep 27, 2011
    7
    After spending mere 15 hours with the game, it seems more clear than not that the makers wanted to go for GTA4 meets San Francisco, but theirAfter spending mere 15 hours with the game, it seems more clear than not that the makers wanted to go for GTA4 meets San Francisco, but their laziness got in the way. So we have great graphics, nice choice of cars and a big, stunning map plus a lot of challenges and all sorts of diversions. And the idiotic storyline, which makes even 10 year old ask, WTF? The map is big, but the world is not opened. I'm far from telling you why - you'll have to judge that by yourself. Driver SF is a fun game, but it's not a game changer, and withing a couple of months, gamers will forget about it. It offers what most gamers take for granted - the SHIFT gameplay is definitely a great invention, but it can't carry the title to the gold. The game gets boring after 2 days of playing, and in today's reality, you really expect more. Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2015
    6
    It is one of the best game, but he has something interestingIt is one of the best game, but he has something interesting . Expand
  7. Jul 22, 2012
    0
    This game is filled with bugs and has a black border around it. Cant even play the game because it puts a black border around the whole gameThis game is filled with bugs and has a black border around it. Cant even play the game because it puts a black border around the whole game making the viewing window very small on a big screen. For anyone who enjoys gaming I would avoid this game. it also has DRM from ubisoft on it which is known to ruin computers. Expand

See all 61 User Reviews