Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mar 28, 2013
    97
    For such a simplistic game, I’m amazed at how deep it can be.
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    85
    A fast-paced puzzle game that manages to put a new twist on match-3 gameplay.
  3. May 29, 2013
    80
    Dungeon Hearts is a perfectly fun puzzle mash-up that is marred by inconsistent difficulty and lack of a narrative. While the actual combat is fun, it's a shame that players are forced to start over every time the game ends. Even with its problems, there are enough good ideas here to make it worth the low retail price.
  4. Apr 30, 2013
    80
    Overall, Dungeon Hearts is an excellent addition to the genre. Its combo of rpg and match play is really quite fun, especially if you don’t mind spending some time with it. While not the best for a quick pick up and play, there’s enough depth to keep it installed on my machine for a long time.
  5. Apr 5, 2013
    70
    Whether you are a fan of fast-paced, challenging puzzle games or an old-school RPG fan, Dungeon Hearts' charm will rub off on you. And if you are a fan of both of those things, you won't even mind its shortcomings, in time.
  6. Apr 2, 2013
    70
    Long story short, Dungeon Hearts is a viciously difficult match-three puzzle game that loosely resembles RPG battle mechanics. And while it hints at other RPG elements such as questing, leveling up, and story progression, it does not truly offer them in any real way.
  7. May 6, 2013
    60
    Despite all the hints of the RPG genre, Dungeon Hearts is a typical match-3 puzzle.
  8. Apr 4, 2013
    60
    As it stands, the Steam copy of Dungeon Hearts fails to fulfil its potential. It's visually charming if a bit bland, and the core mechanics are a solid base for what should be an enjoyable game, but it ends up being little more than a decent distraction.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Jan 31, 2014
    3
    Dungeon Hearts is - I imagine - a pretty good touch screen time waster. Unfortunately tablet controls haven't translated well to the mouse world and all that's left is a bland and frustrating colour matching game.

    I can't think of any reason - given that you're sitting in front of a PC - why you'd be playing Dungeon Hearts instead of something else.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 9, 2014
    7
    A cute little game worth its cost. it's bright and pleasant to watch at.,soundtrack's nice, gameplay's not really tense, but not too casual as well( may cause slight joint pain on mouse, but you'll get used to it). Overall a nice game to relax from big titles. Full Review »
  3. May 19, 2013
    3
    This game flew under the radar, it seems, and it's probably best that it did. It's got ham-handed gameplay that could've been better designed. The design of the game looks great, but it seems they focused more on that then on the balancing issues. I just can't find myself deliberately losing all the time to rack up XP in order to justify playing this game for hours on end. I gave it 3 for the aesthetics, but I would've given it a higher score if the gameplay wasn't so teeth-grinding on the first mini-boss. I got as far as the second mini-boss once. Full Review »