Dungeons & Dragons: Daggerdale PC

Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 13
  2. Negative: 6 out of 13
Buy On
  1. Jun 23, 2011
    35
    If only Daggerdale could offer fun gameplay, we would have forgiven it for dull story, horrible visuals and buggy multiplayer. Alas, the combat is beyond redemption as well.
  2. Jul 4, 2011
    20
    A game that's functional in the strictest sense of the word, but still ugly and uninspiring.
  3. CD-Action
    Jul 4, 2011
    30
    A grotesque game that makes you run around in circles in three small areas filled with endlessly respawning enemies and proofs of developer's incompetence. Daggerdale is dumb, tiresome and extremely bugged. [July 2011, p.80]
  4. Jul 7, 2011
    30
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. Jul 14, 2011
    35
    Slow, clunky, and prone to glitchiness, playing Daggerdale feels like a sentence to an actual dungeon.
  6. Jun 7, 2011
    45
    Dungeons And Dragons: Daggerdale barely has any memorable features to it, as it is nothing more than a generic dungeon crawler. This is worsened by the repetitive missions and a lack of checkpoints. The decent controls and the co-op add a little enjoyment, but cannot save this game from disaster.
User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 16
  2. Negative: 8 out of 16
  1. May 31, 2011
    3
    This game is not even worth the $15 entry fee. Skip it. Numerous bugs. Game breaking bugs. Want to lose all of skills? Want to lose allThis game is not even worth the $15 entry fee. Skip it. Numerous bugs. Game breaking bugs. Want to lose all of skills? Want to lose all of your progress? Empty vendors? Textures missing so your character looks like a smurf, nothing but a blue blob walking around. Standing corpses. Now bugs aside, this game is a total console sellout. There is NOTHING different for the PC. No graphics settings. No 16:10 resolution support. No sound settings (set your computer to stereo only if you have no sound in surround sound). No difficulty settings. You can choose anything other than the 4 race/class/sex premades they have for you. You can't be a female dwarf cleric only the male premade. Just like Diablo from how far back? They did not even bother to take out the "Press (B) to Cancel" for the PC version. Pressing B on your keyboard does nothing. The storyline is bland. The graphics are blah, and belong more in a late 80's $10 game than a $15 2011 game. The "quests" are just... I don't know... Silly and uninteresting. The plot lacks any depth at all. I guess if you enjoy running around in a bland dungeon bashing barrels for loot as good as the stuff you get from monsters, all the while having almost no customization then go for it. I seriously LOVE just about anything D&D and the only thing that says D&D from this title is the dice rolls that happen in the background. I can't believe that publishers and developers are allowed to release stuff like this. Imagine if car company's were allowed to release unfinished products... Oh sorry mate, we will release a "brake" patch in a few weeks. Until then please try not to drive your car. Full Review »
  2. Jun 20, 2011
    0
    EDITED REVIEW: Originally giving the game a 5 after I finished 3/4 of it, I've now dropped my score to a zero. DO NOT BUY. I was unable toEDITED REVIEW: Originally giving the game a 5 after I finished 3/4 of it, I've now dropped my score to a zero. DO NOT BUY. I was unable to finish Daggerdale after the game glitched and froze all characters during the final boss scene and kept glitching at this point when I tried restarting/reloading the game - the worst payoff ever. The game has semi-tolerable bugs throughout, an awful game camera, and an overall unfinished, rushed-out-the-door feel to it, but not being able to finish the game is inexcusable. Extremely disappointed, and this game was a gift. Full Review »
  3. Jun 23, 2011
    1
    So I bought this game, installed it, and it look ok at first. I decided to make a fighter because the rogue class appeared to be an archer,So I bought this game, installed it, and it look ok at first. I decided to make a fighter because the rogue class appeared to be an archer, which wasn't what I wanted. There is NO character customization beyond feats/skills or what not. Most RPG's of this genre allow you to customize your guy or girl to suit your preferences. Anyways, not here. The opening cut scene where some chick tells you about some dark thing or mine (as you can see it really left an impression) is very dull and uninspiring. The music felt tacked on and listless as well. I started my game and was greeted by a bunch of cookie cutter-looking dwarves that don't even talk, they moan and sound like they're taking a crap. No personality whatsoever. The camera sucks, it's way to sensitive and spins out of control, making it a real workout. The graphics are unimpressive for this day in age. Fires looked ok, but character animations and combat are sub par. Also, I bought this fire retardant armor that made my fighter all purple and white. I really don't understand why it did that. Part of the mines quest is to smash all these things in a mine to help the mumbling, moaning dwarves for some reason and kill all the goblins. After awhile I started to run into the D&D staple, skeletons. While they were wimpy, they usually came with a champion (as did the goblins) that was hard to take down. My "Knee Breaker" skill didn't do a whole lot to champions. I was almost finished the mine and had saved after every fight, and finally a couple of archers killed me because I had run out of healing potions. When the game loaded I WAS BACK AT THE BEGINNING OF THE MINE AND HAD LOST ALL PROGRESS AND ITEMS! This game sucks, and I'm not picky. The should call it DaggerFail instead! Full Review »