Dungeons of Dredmor PC

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 206 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 206

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    Wonderful team of developers intent on making a great game. The game is difficult and enjoyable. I love how gaslamp games have brought a roguelike to the masses like it was nothing. I love this game and I am looking forward to the content that will be forthcoming. Huge recommendation to all!
  2. Jul 19, 2011
    2
    This game is somewhat entertaining but downright repetitive and poorly coded. Don't spend your hard earned on money on a game from developer who doesn't value their customer's time. This game is horribly buggy. You will lose your first character from a bug more likely than an actual death. You might try a second time on the default "permadeath" mode until you encounter yet more bugs andThis game is somewhat entertaining but downright repetitive and poorly coded. Don't spend your hard earned on money on a game from developer who doesn't value their customer's time. This game is horribly buggy. You will lose your first character from a bug more likely than an actual death. You might try a second time on the default "permadeath" mode until you encounter yet more bugs and vanishing saves, rendering your 10, 20+ hours invested a total waste. At this point you might turn off permadeath so you can reload but then Gaslamp will release an *update* (1.02 to 1.03) that invalidates your saves and forces you throw yet another 10-20+ hour investment down the drain because they were too lazy to write an old save to new save conversion routine. Then they give you an achievement to joke about wasting your time. From their blog post about the 1.03 update: "Your old save games from Dredmor 1.02 almost certainly do not work with Dredmor 1.03. We apologize for the inconvenience. Iâ Expand
  3. May 30, 2012
    9
    Playing this game with many patchs gone through, i cant see the bugs people have mentioned, although this is likely due to the many patchs the game has had, and the reviewer saying it has horrible system lag is retarded, the game runs on my crappy laptop with intel HD graphics perfectly fine.

    The difficulty in the game is quite well done, the normal mode is definitly not easy, but not so
    Playing this game with many patchs gone through, i cant see the bugs people have mentioned, although this is likely due to the many patchs the game has had, and the reviewer saying it has horrible system lag is retarded, the game runs on my crappy laptop with intel HD graphics perfectly fine.

    The difficulty in the game is quite well done, the normal mode is definitly not easy, but not so much challenge to the point of insanity, but it is unlikely on your first full games that you will beat the game. Contrary to several reviews, the game DOES have a definite goal, its to reach level 10 and kill Lord Dredmor, the final boss. Although I have been unable to get this far down, I am therfore unsure how the DLC works, as it adds levels 11-15.

    The character creation is a nightmare for first time players. It is a list of about 35 skills (about 42 if you have DLC) which you chose 7 of. These decide your base stats and starting gear, while many are obvious (swords, maces, axes, staffs, prothean Magic etc.) Others are difficult to guess. And their descriptions do not help. A few examples could be 1. Archaeology - Start with a fedora, how am i supposed to know what its stats are since the game has nothing to do with Archaeology? 2. Mathemagic, all the abilities it gives have little to do with math, and this is rediculas. This in theroy is a good thing, it makes the player experiement, allowing the player to try abilities that they would otherwise not choose that they might like. But honestly, it should tell you what they do, let us see the skill tree or something.

    The games leveling system is simply everytime you level up, you choose to upgrade one of these skills, (yes it tells you, usually, what these do) which gives you a stat bonus and/or spell and/or chance ability, some being quite unique. This system works very well and still manages to give you a definite boost while avoiding the boring list of numbers problem that RPGs seem to be fixing nowadays.

    The game has a few features for difficulty, the usual uniquely named Easy, normal and hard modes, with a permadeath feature (which without, ruins the feel of the game) and small levels mode which allows less grinding for people who don't want grinding.

    The game is quite fun to play, with a LARGE array of weapons and armor to choose from, including randomly boosted upgrades and general strange things to find throughout the dungeons, with MANY MANY references (my favourite being My Little Anvil - Smithing is Magic) While many of the jokes are hit and miss, some with definitly make you smile.

    The graphics are fine for a roguelike, playable on bad computers while ok to look at, thanks to a great art style.

    The only truely annoying feature is the lack of your characters look changing when getting new armor or weaponry, evetually it can be annoying looking at the characters oversized eyebrows.

    The background music is very very good, and fun to listen to.

    For people who dont mind turn based RPGs will love this game, and i highly reccomend it as it gives hours of entertainement for a very small price, with the added benifit of supporting a indie company.
    Expand
  4. May 11, 2012
    10
    Dungeons of Dreadmor is a rogue-style game, in which you control an 8-bit hero (or, in the expansion, heroine) who is slaying his way through increasingly tough monsters in order to defeat the evil Lord Dredmor. The game is very hard and should be played with permadeath (I can imagine it being a bit boring without it). Character creation offers you a wide range of options, as you create aDungeons of Dreadmor is a rogue-style game, in which you control an 8-bit hero (or, in the expansion, heroine) who is slaying his way through increasingly tough monsters in order to defeat the evil Lord Dredmor. The game is very hard and should be played with permadeath (I can imagine it being a bit boring without it). Character creation offers you a wide range of options, as you create a character by picking seven skills form a long range. Want a fireball throwing, Odin worshipping, axe swinging berserker-vampire-archeologist? Go right ahead! The game doesn't take itself very seriously and has a good sense of humor. The sound track is very catchy and would be worth the cost by itself imo. I immensely enjoyed playing it, even when it was handing my ass to me over and over on level one, and I simply had to play it till I got through it. Of course it doesn't provide you with amazing graphics, an epic plot or such - these things are not what the game sets out to do though ... what it does set out to do it does excellently, and if you like looting, character building and a hard challenge this is the game for you. Expand
  5. Jun 15, 2013
    8
    Dungeons of Dredmor is one of those games that offers more of a great laugh than a lasting gameplay experience. Ironically enough, I've spent +50 hours enjoying that joke and with its 5€ price I'd say its a bargain.

    The game has tons and tons of references and jokes, and the core gameplay is also brilliant. Through lots and lots of trial and error you come to understand the vaguely
    Dungeons of Dredmor is one of those games that offers more of a great laugh than a lasting gameplay experience. Ironically enough, I've spent +50 hours enjoying that joke and with its 5€ price I'd say its a bargain.

    The game has tons and tons of references and jokes, and the core gameplay is also brilliant. Through lots and lots of trial and error you come to understand the vaguely described skill sets you choose in the beginning of your run, and finally you manage to prepare for every peril before you: enemies, traps, backfiring abilities and even thugs coming after your stolen goods (stealing, SERIOUSLY NOT COOL).

    Although knowing your bit of pop culture and gaming history adds to the experience, Dredmor can be just as captivating and fun even if you grew up in a barrel under a rock. Developing strategies and hoping not to fall to a trap you didn't have the sufficient skill to see and/or disarm can keep you entertained for a long, long time.

    I also highly recommend getting the DLC for the game (one of which is free, others 3€ each). This is the steam sale must-buy.
    Expand
  6. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    This is an incredible game. I can't praise it enough! Expect at least 10 hours for a full playthrough, but don't expect to be playing that playthrough for quite a few attempts.
  7. Aug 2, 2012
    7
    Great game. **** 'retro' graphics though.
    With the graphic potential of modern hardware, graphics that look like a mid 80's Commodore game just seems like cutting corners.
    Still, the game has lots of replay value as no to games are the same.
    Permadeath is on by default, and I recommend playing that way.
    Makes it a lot more interesting.
    Easy worth full price if you love old school RPG.
  8. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    A hardcore RPG, and great fun. The writting of the game is hilarious, and if you can be unlike the modern day gamer and not just sit down to win(which the game wasnt really meant to be won) but to just take your time and play, you will get hours of enjoyment out of this game. I understand with what modern gaming has done, that most people will never enjoy this game, because it wasnt meantA hardcore RPG, and great fun. The writting of the game is hilarious, and if you can be unlike the modern day gamer and not just sit down to win(which the game wasnt really meant to be won) but to just take your time and play, you will get hours of enjoyment out of this game. I understand with what modern gaming has done, that most people will never enjoy this game, because it wasnt meant for you to save every 5 seconds and have no penalty for death, it was meant to be hardcore and take you weeks on end to actually get good enough to beat it. Play the game as it was meant to be played, with permadeath, and dont expect to win every time you start, and you will then be able to love this game for every bit of what it is. Expand
  9. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Fantastic Rouge-like. Good for anyone who likes fun! I've sunk more hours than I care to count into this game, and I haven't even beaten yet. For $5, its a steal!
  10. Dec 13, 2011
    9
    Thank you Gaslamp Games for this creation. A rogue-like game that gives you the option of restarting on death- just to see how far you can get, or saving as you go- to beat the game; both of which have their own challenges.This game is both addicting and fulfilling. So many ways to play that you will get your money's worth($5) playing just the first hour alone in this 'cheesy-humor' game.Thank you Gaslamp Games for this creation. A rogue-like game that gives you the option of restarting on death- just to see how far you can get, or saving as you go- to beat the game; both of which have their own challenges.This game is both addicting and fulfilling. So many ways to play that you will get your money's worth($5) playing just the first hour alone in this 'cheesy-humor' game. The only downside in this game is that the bugs are not yet at a minimal, and when you find one it can sometimes ruin an entire saved game of many many hours. Looking forward to more games from Gaslamp. Expand
  11. Jan 15, 2012
    9
    This game is the biggest paradox of modern gaming: no plot, no stunning graphics, no multiplayer, a monstrous amount of hours players have passed dungeoneering hoping not to die drinking acid from a fountain. Gaslamp games have developed a little masterpiece of humour and design, a game with nothing but the essential and, at the same time, a huge quantity of things to do and see. MixingThis game is the biggest paradox of modern gaming: no plot, no stunning graphics, no multiplayer, a monstrous amount of hours players have passed dungeoneering hoping not to die drinking acid from a fountain. Gaslamp games have developed a little masterpiece of humour and design, a game with nothing but the essential and, at the same time, a huge quantity of things to do and see. Mixing all together with a very balanced difficulty experience, Dungeons of Dredmor results in the sandbox role-playing equivalent of Minecraft: how can you not love it? Expand
  12. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    I made an account just to review this game and give my score and i truly stand by it. This game to me personally is a 10/10. If you have the slightest interest in rogue-like games or games with permadeath you should definitely buy this game. It's not expensive either 4.99 for this game that i have put a lot of hours into
  13. Dec 21, 2011
    9
    Dungeons of Dredmor is part tribute to, and part parody of old school roguelike games. At it's core, the game is full of addicting monster hacking, spell casting, loot hoarding goodness. The graphics are cheesy, and the story is pretty much non-existent, but I'm finding myself not caring because the game is just so much fun. I'm really enjoying the humor in the game as well. On theDungeons of Dredmor is part tribute to, and part parody of old school roguelike games. At it's core, the game is full of addicting monster hacking, spell casting, loot hoarding goodness. The graphics are cheesy, and the story is pretty much non-existent, but I'm finding myself not caring because the game is just so much fun. I'm really enjoying the humor in the game as well. On the negative side, the inventory management can be a bit clunky at times, and the game occasionally crashes, which stinks if you don't have a recent save to fall back on. Also, this game isn't for everybody. Be prepared to die a lot. If you can't deal with that, you may want to toggle off permadeath, or even skip this game completely. Hardcore roguelike fans might find this game too watered down for their tastes. Despite its flaws, DoD is a great value for your gaming dollar. Expand
  14. Jul 30, 2011
    8
    Dungeons of Dredmor is a Roguelike that you can proudly show your friends, as it offers graphics and sound instead of ASCII characters. For the unfamiliar, itâ
  15. Jul 21, 2011
    8
    I saw the store page before and thought "This looks pretty lame" but then my friend posted a recommendation on Steam on how much he loves it and I thought it might be better than it looks (I didn't think Minecraft or Terraria looked good before playing them, oh how wrong I was) and it was. I've only played it for a few hours but I already think it was worth my money. The exploration is funI saw the store page before and thought "This looks pretty lame" but then my friend posted a recommendation on Steam on how much he loves it and I thought it might be better than it looks (I didn't think Minecraft or Terraria looked good before playing them, oh how wrong I was) and it was. I've only played it for a few hours but I already think it was worth my money. The exploration is fun and the humor appeals to me. Combat could be a bit more exciting though, and the player character looks pretty bad, as though he was drawn in paint, it would be better if the player looked better and equipped items showed up on the player, but these problems are completely aesthetic and don't affect the game at all. The soundtrack is great and it has everything a dungeon-crawl should, it's worth your money, you cheapskate. Expand
  16. Jan 10, 2012
    8
    When I started this game, I got about three or four rooms in, then I died. I restarted, got a few more rooms in, and I was killed again. I repeated this more times than I care to count, but you know what, I kept coming back. It is an immensely satisfying roguelike, with an easier mode( not that I can call any of Dredmore truly easy) for those of us who are not masochists. For 4.99 onWhen I started this game, I got about three or four rooms in, then I died. I restarted, got a few more rooms in, and I was killed again. I repeated this more times than I care to count, but you know what, I kept coming back. It is an immensely satisfying roguelike, with an easier mode( not that I can call any of Dredmore truly easy) for those of us who are not masochists. For 4.99 on steam, it's a must have. and a word of advice for anyone starting the game, use at least a few warrior skills, they really come in handy. Expand
  17. Jul 23, 2011
    8
    A lot of fun and variety to be had here. You get a ton of bang for your buck, and the graphics are a lot better than the standard, rougelike ASCII!
    Reccomended.
  18. Sep 11, 2011
    7
    Good points - Good game for what it does, varied attack options, lots of levels, lots of skills to enjoy. Details is good but not amazing - not in the Nethack league for example

    Bad points - slightly repetitive, not funny at all (in my opinion anyway - how anyone finds this amusing is beyond me!), lack of documentation on different classes is somewhat annoying (to start with at least),
    Good points - Good game for what it does, varied attack options, lots of levels, lots of skills to enjoy. Details is good but not amazing - not in the Nethack league for example

    Bad points - slightly repetitive, not funny at all (in my opinion anyway - how anyone finds this amusing is beyond me!), lack of documentation on different classes is somewhat annoying (to start with at least), updates breaking the save system isn't that funny either, several crashes that has lost me my character.
    Expand
  19. Aug 28, 2011
    8
    Dungeons of Dredmor is a rare combination of roguelike and hilarious. The comedic presentation does an excellent job at counterbalancing the insurmountable (usually not so glorious) death the player will likely face. The music and hand drawn aesthetics are casual, lighthearted and, imho, brilliant; setting an atmosphere where dying isn't really as bad as it seems, even if permanently.
  20. Sep 18, 2011
    9
    To people complaining about the patches deleting saves, I don't really see the big deal to be honest, it's a rogue-like RPG and the idea of that is to play on perma death and not get attached to your characters. You are going to lose a lot of characters to dying, that's the idea, losing one character because they bought out a new patch is hardly a big deal. Anyway in terms of the view, forTo people complaining about the patches deleting saves, I don't really see the big deal to be honest, it's a rogue-like RPG and the idea of that is to play on perma death and not get attached to your characters. You are going to lose a lot of characters to dying, that's the idea, losing one character because they bought out a new patch is hardly a big deal. Anyway in terms of the view, for the price it's certainly a good buy, it offers something unique and very challenging when you play it on normal and perma death. A huge amount of skills to choose from allow you to pick different setups each time and try and further your score from your last adventurer, even if some of the skills are a bit rubbish. I haven't encountered a bug in this game yet and I bought it when it came out and it has only crashed for me once. It's a game where losing all your progress and equipment isn't something to make you never want to play the game again, due to its highly addictive nature. Music is very nice and the humor and names certainly adds to the gameplay. Overall it's a fun little game, with a small price tag and a huge amount of fun and addictiveness. Certainly worth picking up to kill quite a few hours while you try and fail to complete the game. Expand
  21. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    Amazing game that is highly entertaining. If you enjoy roguelikes, or are interested in them in the slightest, this game is worth checking out. This game is difficult, and you will die (a lot), but that makes it that much more fun and rewarding. The dialogue is humorous and riddled with references that will easily get a laugh out of you. The game also has hand-drawn graphics that make theAmazing game that is highly entertaining. If you enjoy roguelikes, or are interested in them in the slightest, this game is worth checking out. This game is difficult, and you will die (a lot), but that makes it that much more fun and rewarding. The dialogue is humorous and riddled with references that will easily get a laugh out of you. The game also has hand-drawn graphics that make the experience all the more enjoyable (which is doubly worth noting, considering most roguelikes use ASCII or low-res tilesets).

    Dungeons of Dredmor is, without a doubt, worth the asking price; it is a high-quality game that will keep you entertained for hours. Gaslamp Games has a ton of potential, and are definitely a developer to keep an eye on for any of their future releases.
    Expand
  22. Sep 15, 2011
    8
    This game is hands down the best Roguelike like I have played as of writing this. The graphics are charming, the items unique, and the shear amount of replay value is through the roof.
    The game has you choose your difficulty, then permadeath on or off, then your starting skills. If you are like me, then choosing random skills with permadeath on is the best way to have fun and use survival
    This game is hands down the best Roguelike like I have played as of writing this. The graphics are charming, the items unique, and the shear amount of replay value is through the roof.
    The game has you choose your difficulty, then permadeath on or off, then your starting skills. If you are like me, then choosing random skills with permadeath on is the best way to have fun and use survival skills to try for a high score or see how far you can make it.
    Some negatives about the game are you can't customize, change, or even see any equipment changes to your cahracter. You will always be the young lad with large eyebrows. I'm sure the developers could add a character creator, but to not see your character wearing that kick ass skull sword, fury wand, or goggles, is kind of dissapointing.
    The game also doesn't take itself seriously at all. There is so much humor and parodies packed into this game that it's oozing out from the seams. You can't pick an item up, kill a monster, or read dialogue without seeing some of the funniest RPG nerd jokes.
    As it stands, for $5 on Steam, you have no reason not to pick this title up and support the developers who really put their blood and sweat into making a game they obviously really cared for. If you are a dungeon crawling gamer, or love roguelike games, I urge you to check it out.
    If not, and you have some cash, try it out. The few flaws far outweigh the great time you will have for hours and hours this game provides.
    Expand
  23. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    This game is truly awesome. So much to do and so much of that classic RPG goal-accomplishing and relentless dungeoning. You can really play this for much longer than anything else worth $5.
  24. Aug 5, 2011
    8
    A very fun and ultra-replayable game that will suck time away like nothing. The theme of a roguelike (see wikipedia) is you get one life and see how far you can survive. This game has simple graphics, but is rich in possibilities, and tons of humor. Character creation, sheer number of items, and crafting abound, plus the price is right and cannot be faulted. My only major complaint wouldA very fun and ultra-replayable game that will suck time away like nothing. The theme of a roguelike (see wikipedia) is you get one life and see how far you can survive. This game has simple graphics, but is rich in possibilities, and tons of humor. Character creation, sheer number of items, and crafting abound, plus the price is right and cannot be faulted. My only major complaint would be the poor bestiary which is quite limited overall. More creatures and variety would be nice. Expand
  25. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    This game is really awesome. It holds your attention for hours on end and will give you tons of replay value for the really cheap $5 price tag. It's a graphic take on roguelikes, and it does a really good job for being new to the scene. I've probably put 100+ hours into the game already and I've barely touched all the possible builds and ways to play the game. It does get a littleThis game is really awesome. It holds your attention for hours on end and will give you tons of replay value for the really cheap $5 price tag. It's a graphic take on roguelikes, and it does a really good job for being new to the scene. I've probably put 100+ hours into the game already and I've barely touched all the possible builds and ways to play the game. It does get a little repetitive, but most games do. Expand
  26. Jul 17, 2011
    9
    This is a great little indie game that will absorb a disproportionate amount of your time compared to its price. I would highly recommend this to anyone with a sense of humor who isn't concerned with graphics and loved dungeon crawling in games such as Oblivion.
  27. Jul 23, 2011
    9
    Your magnificent foot smashes the door!

    After sealing away the evil powers, the world was safe, and it remained so for several years. Unfortunately, the powers of good always seem to work in stupid ways, and because of that the evil creature that is called Dredmor was once again free to rule the world! But the gods were kind enough to send a brave hero to defend the world (again) and
    Your magnificent foot smashes the door!

    After sealing away the evil powers, the world was safe, and it remained so for several years. Unfortunately, the powers of good always seem to work in stupid ways, and because of that the evil creature that is called Dredmor was once again free to rule the world! But the gods were kind enough to send a brave hero to defend the world (again) and destroy Dredmor for once while he is still inside his dungeons, unfortunately this hero is you! With that premise, appears Dungeons of Dredmor, the new kid in the block, always trying to be funny and cool, but that in the end isnâ
    Expand
  28. Jul 28, 2011
    10
    This game is fantastic. It has so many different items and enemy you just cant help but explore.And the randomised dungeons make every adventure a different one. The developers who made this game clearly put a lot of love into it as you can see by the humour and character this game has. I recommend this to everyone
  29. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    it's an oldschool roguelike with punishing difficulty, permadeath, and a graphical interface :P what more could you want! If you've never played a roguelike It's like an RPG version of Spelunky (which you can get here free BTW "http://www.spelunkyworld.com/original.html" ) which is another fantastic indy game... the Devs for this game are also great and their actaully supporting it withit's an oldschool roguelike with punishing difficulty, permadeath, and a graphical interface :P what more could you want! If you've never played a roguelike It's like an RPG version of Spelunky (which you can get here free BTW "http://www.spelunkyworld.com/original.html" ) which is another fantastic indy game... the Devs for this game are also great and their actaully supporting it with features the communty ask for! Expand
  30. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    You are going to love this game and then hate it because you are going to waste so much time with it. Funny and complex but with a simple interface. There isn't anything like it. Yes there is a ton of roguelikes, but not with this graphics and easy ui.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. May 9, 2012
    70
    If you can accept some mechanical quirks in exchange for a torrent of indie exuberance, check it out.
  2. Jan 15, 2012
    50
    Dungeons of Dredmor is like a year-round tyre: it will do its job but no one is going to be enthusiastic about it. Masochists will find this game too soft, while common gamers will find no amusement at all.
  3. Jan 3, 2012
    72
    Dungeons of Dredmor isn't without problems, but the good humour and addictive gameplay make it an amiable purchase. It might not be to everyone's tastes, and the random generation can be frustrating, but for only a few dollars it's pretty easy to recommend.