User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 193 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 193

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 19, 2011
    2
    This game is somewhat entertaining but downright repetitive and poorly coded. Don't spend your hard earned on money on a game from developer who doesn't value their customer's time. This game is horribly buggy. You will lose your first character from a bug more likely than an actual death. You might try a second time on the default "permadeath" mode until you encounter yet more bugs andThis game is somewhat entertaining but downright repetitive and poorly coded. Don't spend your hard earned on money on a game from developer who doesn't value their customer's time. This game is horribly buggy. You will lose your first character from a bug more likely than an actual death. You might try a second time on the default "permadeath" mode until you encounter yet more bugs and vanishing saves, rendering your 10, 20+ hours invested a total waste. At this point you might turn off permadeath so you can reload but then Gaslamp will release an *update* (1.02 to 1.03) that invalidates your saves and forces you throw yet another 10-20+ hour investment down the drain because they were too lazy to write an old save to new save conversion routine. Then they give you an achievement to joke about wasting your time. From their blog post about the 1.03 update: "Your old save games from Dredmor 1.02 almost certainly do not work with Dredmor 1.03. We apologize for the inconvenience. Iâ Expand
  2. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    Wonderful team of developers intent on making a great game. The game is difficult and enjoyable. I love how gaslamp games have brought a roguelike to the masses like it was nothing. I love this game and I am looking forward to the content that will be forthcoming. Huge recommendation to all!
  3. Jul 28, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing game. Insane amount of game for such a low price, fantastic levelling system and randomised dungeons means every play through is different, and a vast amount of items and enemies encourages you to explore. Occasional bug can force a restart, but nothing game breaking, and constant updates means it should be near enough bug free soon.
  4. Jul 30, 2011
    8
    Dungeons of Dredmor is a Roguelike that you can proudly show your friends, as it offers graphics and sound instead of ASCII characters. For the unfamiliar, itâ
  5. Jul 21, 2011
    8
    I saw the store page before and thought "This looks pretty lame" but then my friend posted a recommendation on Steam on how much he loves it and I thought it might be better than it looks (I didn't think Minecraft or Terraria looked good before playing them, oh how wrong I was) and it was. I've only played it for a few hours but I already think it was worth my money. The exploration is funI saw the store page before and thought "This looks pretty lame" but then my friend posted a recommendation on Steam on how much he loves it and I thought it might be better than it looks (I didn't think Minecraft or Terraria looked good before playing them, oh how wrong I was) and it was. I've only played it for a few hours but I already think it was worth my money. The exploration is fun and the humor appeals to me. Combat could be a bit more exciting though, and the player character looks pretty bad, as though he was drawn in paint, it would be better if the player looked better and equipped items showed up on the player, but these problems are completely aesthetic and don't affect the game at all. The soundtrack is great and it has everything a dungeon-crawl should, it's worth your money, you cheapskate. Expand
  6. Sep 11, 2011
    7
    Good points - Good game for what it does, varied attack options, lots of levels, lots of skills to enjoy. Details is good but not amazing - not in the Nethack league for example

    Bad points - slightly repetitive, not funny at all (in my opinion anyway - how anyone finds this amusing is beyond me!), lack of documentation on different classes is somewhat annoying (to start with at least),
    Good points - Good game for what it does, varied attack options, lots of levels, lots of skills to enjoy. Details is good but not amazing - not in the Nethack league for example

    Bad points - slightly repetitive, not funny at all (in my opinion anyway - how anyone finds this amusing is beyond me!), lack of documentation on different classes is somewhat annoying (to start with at least), updates breaking the save system isn't that funny either, several crashes that has lost me my character.
    Expand
  7. Sep 7, 2011
    6
    Want to know what this game is like? Knock on the door of every house on the block. Punch everyone who answers in the face. If you win the ensuing fight, loot their house. If you lose...well...yeah game over. Obviously I'm not encouraging you do attempt this in real life, but percentage wise, the chance of failure in this game is extremely high. I would wager to guess that I might actuallyWant to know what this game is like? Knock on the door of every house on the block. Punch everyone who answers in the face. If you win the ensuing fight, loot their house. If you lose...well...yeah game over. Obviously I'm not encouraging you do attempt this in real life, but percentage wise, the chance of failure in this game is extremely high. I would wager to guess that I might actually have a better chance of winning the punch a neighbor out experiment than I do of getting through a single level of Dredmor on hardmode with perma-death. It's sadomasochism at heart, and although rewarding in some levels, at the end of the day, you do sort of just feel like you payed someone $14.99 to kick your ass. There's a whole lot of backstory with rogue-likes etc, but when it comes to the average gamer, I bet most just want to have fun. Fun is to be had, but again...it's the type of fun where you have to enjoy it in the moment because your beloved character is always literally one door or corner or misplaced trap from death. Expand
  8. Jul 23, 2011
    8
    A lot of fun and variety to be had here. You get a ton of bang for your buck, and the graphics are a lot better than the standard, rougelike ASCII!
    Reccomended.
  9. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    This game is really awesome. It holds your attention for hours on end and will give you tons of replay value for the really cheap $5 price tag. It's a graphic take on roguelikes, and it does a really good job for being new to the scene. I've probably put 100+ hours into the game already and I've barely touched all the possible builds and ways to play the game. It does get a littleThis game is really awesome. It holds your attention for hours on end and will give you tons of replay value for the really cheap $5 price tag. It's a graphic take on roguelikes, and it does a really good job for being new to the scene. I've probably put 100+ hours into the game already and I've barely touched all the possible builds and ways to play the game. It does get a little repetitive, but most games do. Expand
  10. Dec 21, 2011
    9
    Dungeons of Dredmor is part tribute to, and part parody of old school roguelike games. At it's core, the game is full of addicting monster hacking, spell casting, loot hoarding goodness. The graphics are cheesy, and the story is pretty much non-existent, but I'm finding myself not caring because the game is just so much fun. I'm really enjoying the humor in the game as well. On theDungeons of Dredmor is part tribute to, and part parody of old school roguelike games. At it's core, the game is full of addicting monster hacking, spell casting, loot hoarding goodness. The graphics are cheesy, and the story is pretty much non-existent, but I'm finding myself not caring because the game is just so much fun. I'm really enjoying the humor in the game as well. On the negative side, the inventory management can be a bit clunky at times, and the game occasionally crashes, which stinks if you don't have a recent save to fall back on. Also, this game isn't for everybody. Be prepared to die a lot. If you can't deal with that, you may want to toggle off permadeath, or even skip this game completely. Hardcore roguelike fans might find this game too watered down for their tastes. Despite its flaws, DoD is a great value for your gaming dollar. Expand
  11. Aug 28, 2011
    8
    Dungeons of Dredmor is a rare combination of roguelike and hilarious. The comedic presentation does an excellent job at counterbalancing the insurmountable (usually not so glorious) death the player will likely face. The music and hand drawn aesthetics are casual, lighthearted and, imho, brilliant; setting an atmosphere where dying isn't really as bad as it seems, even if permanently.
  12. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    A wonderful rogue-liek adventure romp, filled with dry british humour and lots of fun. The game is also dangerously difficult, just as this genre is meant to be.
  13. Jan 10, 2012
    8
    When I started this game, I got about three or four rooms in, then I died. I restarted, got a few more rooms in, and I was killed again. I repeated this more times than I care to count, but you know what, I kept coming back. It is an immensely satisfying roguelike, with an easier mode( not that I can call any of Dredmore truly easy) for those of us who are not masochists. For 4.99 onWhen I started this game, I got about three or four rooms in, then I died. I restarted, got a few more rooms in, and I was killed again. I repeated this more times than I care to count, but you know what, I kept coming back. It is an immensely satisfying roguelike, with an easier mode( not that I can call any of Dredmore truly easy) for those of us who are not masochists. For 4.99 on steam, it's a must have. and a word of advice for anyone starting the game, use at least a few warrior skills, they really come in handy. Expand
  14. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    This game is truly awesome. So much to do and so much of that classic RPG goal-accomplishing and relentless dungeoning. You can really play this for much longer than anything else worth $5.
  15. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    Simply put, a rougelike for the masses. Hardcore Rougelike fans may not like that, but honestly if more people become interested in the genre, that's good. Anyway, good developers and decent support so far, nice content and it seems like they are listening to the fanbase for more.
    Gameplay is good, great sense of humor along with good game mechanics. The game reminds me more of Oblivion
    Simply put, a rougelike for the masses. Hardcore Rougelike fans may not like that, but honestly if more people become interested in the genre, that's good. Anyway, good developers and decent support so far, nice content and it seems like they are listening to the fanbase for more.
    Gameplay is good, great sense of humor along with good game mechanics. The game reminds me more of Oblivion than DoomRL (my first RL), but in a good way, like 'Oblivion should've been more like this.' For the price, the game is amazing. There are bugs and control oddities, but those should be worked out soon. You don't have much to lose, except many hours spend giggling at item descriptions and dying to the randomest enemies you've probably seen. Buy it! Buy it for Krom!
    Expand
  16. Aug 5, 2011
    8
    A very fun and ultra-replayable game that will suck time away like nothing. The theme of a roguelike (see wikipedia) is you get one life and see how far you can survive. This game has simple graphics, but is rich in possibilities, and tons of humor. Character creation, sheer number of items, and crafting abound, plus the price is right and cannot be faulted. My only major complaint wouldA very fun and ultra-replayable game that will suck time away like nothing. The theme of a roguelike (see wikipedia) is you get one life and see how far you can survive. This game has simple graphics, but is rich in possibilities, and tons of humor. Character creation, sheer number of items, and crafting abound, plus the price is right and cannot be faulted. My only major complaint would be the poor bestiary which is quite limited overall. More creatures and variety would be nice. Expand
  17. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    I'm happier with this $5 pc game than I've been with the last few $50 pc games I've purchased. The game is difficult and not dumbed down for the lowest common denominator like so many games these days, and also very fun and addictive. I forgot how much fun roguelike games were since its been so long for me!
  18. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    I love this game. I have yet to get to Dredmor and I've been playing for over 30 hours. I do have permadeath on and it makes you actually upset when you lose your character. There is a huge amount of customization available for your character, from a hybrid to a pure of anything. My personal favourites are Viking Magic, Promethean Magic, and Psionics. Melee classes include dual wieldingI love this game. I have yet to get to Dredmor and I've been playing for over 30 hours. I do have permadeath on and it makes you actually upset when you lose your character. There is a huge amount of customization available for your character, from a hybrid to a pure of anything. My personal favourites are Viking Magic, Promethean Magic, and Psionics. Melee classes include dual wielding anything (even staves, and shields!) and you can mix and match any aspect of Mage, Warrior or Rogue to fit your liking. Permadeath can be turned off (but why would you?)

    Also, The music in this game is phenomenal and the humour is spot on. It makes fun of everything a roguelike RPG is, with silly tool-tips and dialog coming from the npcs. An update has been planned and that's a good thing. For the $5 this game costs and the amount of replay value the gamer gets from it, it is totally worth the purchase and I highly recommend it to anyone.
    Expand
  19. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    A roguelike game with modern elements such as skills, magic and a crafting system. I don't hand out '10's' easily but the only flaw I can think of that this game may have, is that it is too addictive. If you have played Rogue and long for a better interface, enhanced graphics and some more depth to the gameplay, this is for you. If you are unfamiliar with Rogue but enjoy dungeon-crawling,A roguelike game with modern elements such as skills, magic and a crafting system. I don't hand out '10's' easily but the only flaw I can think of that this game may have, is that it is too addictive. If you have played Rogue and long for a better interface, enhanced graphics and some more depth to the gameplay, this is for you. If you are unfamiliar with Rogue but enjoy dungeon-crawling, 80's and 90's RPG's and a hearty sense of humour, you should try Dungeons of Dredmor out. Collapse
  20. Jul 28, 2011
    10
    This game is fantastic. It has so many different items and enemy you just cant help but explore.And the randomised dungeons make every adventure a different one. The developers who made this game clearly put a lot of love into it as you can see by the humour and character this game has. I recommend this to everyone
  21. Sep 18, 2011
    9
    To people complaining about the patches deleting saves, I don't really see the big deal to be honest, it's a rogue-like RPG and the idea of that is to play on perma death and not get attached to your characters. You are going to lose a lot of characters to dying, that's the idea, losing one character because they bought out a new patch is hardly a big deal. Anyway in terms of the view, forTo people complaining about the patches deleting saves, I don't really see the big deal to be honest, it's a rogue-like RPG and the idea of that is to play on perma death and not get attached to your characters. You are going to lose a lot of characters to dying, that's the idea, losing one character because they bought out a new patch is hardly a big deal. Anyway in terms of the view, for the price it's certainly a good buy, it offers something unique and very challenging when you play it on normal and perma death. A huge amount of skills to choose from allow you to pick different setups each time and try and further your score from your last adventurer, even if some of the skills are a bit rubbish. I haven't encountered a bug in this game yet and I bought it when it came out and it has only crashed for me once. It's a game where losing all your progress and equipment isn't something to make you never want to play the game again, due to its highly addictive nature. Music is very nice and the humor and names certainly adds to the gameplay. Overall it's a fun little game, with a small price tag and a huge amount of fun and addictiveness. Certainly worth picking up to kill quite a few hours while you try and fail to complete the game. Expand
  22. Sep 13, 2011
    9
    A hell of a lot of a game for the price, particularly if you play the oldschool "permadeath" mode. Keep in mind it's an indie effort and don't expect AAA graphics and cutscenes - just great gameplay and replayability, something some of the "big" titles seem to have forgotten. Highly recommended.
  23. Jul 17, 2011
    9
    This is a great little indie game that will absorb a disproportionate amount of your time compared to its price. I would highly recommend this to anyone with a sense of humor who isn't concerned with graphics and loved dungeon crawling in games such as Oblivion.
  24. Jul 23, 2011
    9
    Your magnificent foot smashes the door!

    After sealing away the evil powers, the world was safe, and it remained so for several years. Unfortunately, the powers of good always seem to work in stupid ways, and because of that the evil creature that is called Dredmor was once again free to rule the world! But the gods were kind enough to send a brave hero to defend the world (again) and
    Your magnificent foot smashes the door!

    After sealing away the evil powers, the world was safe, and it remained so for several years. Unfortunately, the powers of good always seem to work in stupid ways, and because of that the evil creature that is called Dredmor was once again free to rule the world! But the gods were kind enough to send a brave hero to defend the world (again) and destroy Dredmor for once while he is still inside his dungeons, unfortunately this hero is you! With that premise, appears Dungeons of Dredmor, the new kid in the block, always trying to be funny and cool, but that in the end isnâ
    Expand
  25. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    it's an oldschool roguelike with punishing difficulty, permadeath, and a graphical interface :P what more could you want! If you've never played a roguelike It's like an RPG version of Spelunky (which you can get here free BTW "http://www.spelunkyworld.com/original.html" ) which is another fantastic indy game... the Devs for this game are also great and their actaully supporting it withit's an oldschool roguelike with punishing difficulty, permadeath, and a graphical interface :P what more could you want! If you've never played a roguelike It's like an RPG version of Spelunky (which you can get here free BTW "http://www.spelunkyworld.com/original.html" ) which is another fantastic indy game... the Devs for this game are also great and their actaully supporting it with features the communty ask for! Expand
  26. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    You are going to love this game and then hate it because you are going to waste so much time with it. Funny and complex but with a simple interface. There isn't anything like it. Yes there is a ton of roguelikes, but not with this graphics and easy ui.
  27. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    This game is incredible, and is easily one of the biggest indie releases of the year. The graphics are reminiscent of the old SNES RPGs with a lot more polish, the music is fantastic, and the game play is both fun and complex. The game is easy to pick up but difficult to master (especially when perma-death is enabled!) Also, updates to the game have been really quick, and the developerThis game is incredible, and is easily one of the biggest indie releases of the year. The graphics are reminiscent of the old SNES RPGs with a lot more polish, the music is fantastic, and the game play is both fun and complex. The game is easy to pick up but difficult to master (especially when perma-death is enabled!) Also, updates to the game have been really quick, and the developer really pays attention to the community. Surprisingly, all of this is only $5, which is a steal considering all it brings to the table. Expand
  28. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    Amazing game that is highly entertaining. If you enjoy roguelikes, or are interested in them in the slightest, this game is worth checking out. This game is difficult, and you will die (a lot), but that makes it that much more fun and rewarding. The dialogue is humorous and riddled with references that will easily get a laugh out of you. The game also has hand-drawn graphics that make theAmazing game that is highly entertaining. If you enjoy roguelikes, or are interested in them in the slightest, this game is worth checking out. This game is difficult, and you will die (a lot), but that makes it that much more fun and rewarding. The dialogue is humorous and riddled with references that will easily get a laugh out of you. The game also has hand-drawn graphics that make the experience all the more enjoyable (which is doubly worth noting, considering most roguelikes use ASCII or low-res tilesets).

    Dungeons of Dredmor is, without a doubt, worth the asking price; it is a high-quality game that will keep you entertained for hours. Gaslamp Games has a ton of potential, and are definitely a developer to keep an eye on for any of their future releases.
    Expand
  29. Sep 15, 2011
    8
    This game is hands down the best Roguelike like I have played as of writing this. The graphics are charming, the items unique, and the shear amount of replay value is through the roof.
    The game has you choose your difficulty, then permadeath on or off, then your starting skills. If you are like me, then choosing random skills with permadeath on is the best way to have fun and use survival
    This game is hands down the best Roguelike like I have played as of writing this. The graphics are charming, the items unique, and the shear amount of replay value is through the roof.
    The game has you choose your difficulty, then permadeath on or off, then your starting skills. If you are like me, then choosing random skills with permadeath on is the best way to have fun and use survival skills to try for a high score or see how far you can make it.
    Some negatives about the game are you can't customize, change, or even see any equipment changes to your cahracter. You will always be the young lad with large eyebrows. I'm sure the developers could add a character creator, but to not see your character wearing that kick ass skull sword, fury wand, or goggles, is kind of dissapointing.
    The game also doesn't take itself seriously at all. There is so much humor and parodies packed into this game that it's oozing out from the seams. You can't pick an item up, kill a monster, or read dialogue without seeing some of the funniest RPG nerd jokes.
    As it stands, for $5 on Steam, you have no reason not to pick this title up and support the developers who really put their blood and sweat into making a game they obviously really cared for. If you are a dungeon crawling gamer, or love roguelike games, I urge you to check it out.
    If not, and you have some cash, try it out. The few flaws far outweigh the great time you will have for hours and hours this game provides.
    Expand
  30. May 30, 2012
    9
    Playing this game with many patchs gone through, i cant see the bugs people have mentioned, although this is likely due to the many patchs the game has had, and the reviewer saying it has horrible system lag is retarded, the game runs on my crappy laptop with intel HD graphics perfectly fine.

    The difficulty in the game is quite well done, the normal mode is definitly not easy, but not so
    Playing this game with many patchs gone through, i cant see the bugs people have mentioned, although this is likely due to the many patchs the game has had, and the reviewer saying it has horrible system lag is retarded, the game runs on my crappy laptop with intel HD graphics perfectly fine.

    The difficulty in the game is quite well done, the normal mode is definitly not easy, but not so much challenge to the point of insanity, but it is unlikely on your first full games that you will beat the game. Contrary to several reviews, the game DOES have a definite goal, its to reach level 10 and kill Lord Dredmor, the final boss. Although I have been unable to get this far down, I am therfore unsure how the DLC works, as it adds levels 11-15.

    The character creation is a nightmare for first time players. It is a list of about 35 skills (about 42 if you have DLC) which you chose 7 of. These decide your base stats and starting gear, while many are obvious (swords, maces, axes, staffs, prothean Magic etc.) Others are difficult to guess. And their descriptions do not help. A few examples could be 1. Archaeology - Start with a fedora, how am i supposed to know what its stats are since the game has nothing to do with Archaeology? 2. Mathemagic, all the abilities it gives have little to do with math, and this is rediculas. This in theroy is a good thing, it makes the player experiement, allowing the player to try abilities that they would otherwise not choose that they might like. But honestly, it should tell you what they do, let us see the skill tree or something.

    The games leveling system is simply everytime you level up, you choose to upgrade one of these skills, (yes it tells you, usually, what these do) which gives you a stat bonus and/or spell and/or chance ability, some being quite unique. This system works very well and still manages to give you a definite boost while avoiding the boring list of numbers problem that RPGs seem to be fixing nowadays.

    The game has a few features for difficulty, the usual uniquely named Easy, normal and hard modes, with a permadeath feature (which without, ruins the feel of the game) and small levels mode which allows less grinding for people who don't want grinding.

    The game is quite fun to play, with a LARGE array of weapons and armor to choose from, including randomly boosted upgrades and general strange things to find throughout the dungeons, with MANY MANY references (my favourite being My Little Anvil - Smithing is Magic) While many of the jokes are hit and miss, some with definitly make you smile.

    The graphics are fine for a roguelike, playable on bad computers while ok to look at, thanks to a great art style.

    The only truely annoying feature is the lack of your characters look changing when getting new armor or weaponry, evetually it can be annoying looking at the characters oversized eyebrows.

    The background music is very very good, and fun to listen to.

    For people who dont mind turn based RPGs will love this game, and i highly reccomend it as it gives hours of entertainement for a very small price, with the added benifit of supporting a indie company.
    Expand
  31. May 11, 2012
    10
    Dungeons of Dreadmor is a rogue-style game, in which you control an 8-bit hero (or, in the expansion, heroine) who is slaying his way through increasingly tough monsters in order to defeat the evil Lord Dredmor. The game is very hard and should be played with permadeath (I can imagine it being a bit boring without it). Character creation offers you a wide range of options, as you create aDungeons of Dreadmor is a rogue-style game, in which you control an 8-bit hero (or, in the expansion, heroine) who is slaying his way through increasingly tough monsters in order to defeat the evil Lord Dredmor. The game is very hard and should be played with permadeath (I can imagine it being a bit boring without it). Character creation offers you a wide range of options, as you create a character by picking seven skills form a long range. Want a fireball throwing, Odin worshipping, axe swinging berserker-vampire-archeologist? Go right ahead! The game doesn't take itself very seriously and has a good sense of humor. The sound track is very catchy and would be worth the cost by itself imo. I immensely enjoyed playing it, even when it was handing my ass to me over and over on level one, and I simply had to play it till I got through it. Of course it doesn't provide you with amazing graphics, an epic plot or such - these things are not what the game sets out to do though ... what it does set out to do it does excellently, and if you like looting, character building and a hard challenge this is the game for you. Expand
  32. Jun 15, 2013
    8
    Dungeons of Dredmor is one of those games that offers more of a great laugh than a lasting gameplay experience. Ironically enough, I've spent +50 hours enjoying that joke and with its 5€ price I'd say its a bargain.

    The game has tons and tons of references and jokes, and the core gameplay is also brilliant. Through lots and lots of trial and error you come to understand the vaguely
    Dungeons of Dredmor is one of those games that offers more of a great laugh than a lasting gameplay experience. Ironically enough, I've spent +50 hours enjoying that joke and with its 5€ price I'd say its a bargain.

    The game has tons and tons of references and jokes, and the core gameplay is also brilliant. Through lots and lots of trial and error you come to understand the vaguely described skill sets you choose in the beginning of your run, and finally you manage to prepare for every peril before you: enemies, traps, backfiring abilities and even thugs coming after your stolen goods (stealing, SERIOUSLY NOT COOL).

    Although knowing your bit of pop culture and gaming history adds to the experience, Dredmor can be just as captivating and fun even if you grew up in a barrel under a rock. Developing strategies and hoping not to fall to a trap you didn't have the sufficient skill to see and/or disarm can keep you entertained for a long, long time.

    I also highly recommend getting the DLC for the game (one of which is free, others 3€ each). This is the steam sale must-buy.
    Expand
  33. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    This is an incredible game. I can't praise it enough! Expect at least 10 hours for a full playthrough, but don't expect to be playing that playthrough for quite a few attempts.
  34. Sep 24, 2011
    6
    A cheap, entertaining game riddled with bugs and the sort of sense of humour found in the Munchkin card game. It loses marks because despite the true random element in loot spawning and level design, it lives in the shadow of far better roguelike games like ADOM, Nethack, Transcendence and the innumerable mods of these games which took interaction with the game itself to a whole new level.A cheap, entertaining game riddled with bugs and the sort of sense of humour found in the Munchkin card game. It loses marks because despite the true random element in loot spawning and level design, it lives in the shadow of far better roguelike games like ADOM, Nethack, Transcendence and the innumerable mods of these games which took interaction with the game itself to a whole new level. Unlike the majority of unmodded roguelikes the game has a shiny, easily interpretable GUI with menus, difficulty options and the ability to save (if desired). It also comes with a very indepth crafting system. These are definite pluses, but they are mitigated by the horribly buggy skill system, the disgusting system lag (even on top end computers) and the limited fashion that one can engage with the dungeon environments.

    Worth a few dollars and a few hours of game play.
    Expand
  35. Aug 2, 2012
    7
    Great game. **** 'retro' graphics though.
    With the graphic potential of modern hardware, graphics that look like a mid 80's Commodore game just seems like cutting corners.
    Still, the game has lots of replay value as no to games are the same.
    Permadeath is on by default, and I recommend playing that way.
    Makes it a lot more interesting.
    Easy worth full price if you love old school RPG.
  36. Sep 16, 2011
    5
    This game is one to add to your collection if you want something to play while watching a movie while splitting a screen, or on your second screen. It really doesn't have any story (or at least you won't encounter one by your first death). It's buggy, and lacks a definite goal. The game attempts humor based on the knowledge of other games. This happens so much it starts to make you thinkThis game is one to add to your collection if you want something to play while watching a movie while splitting a screen, or on your second screen. It really doesn't have any story (or at least you won't encounter one by your first death). It's buggy, and lacks a definite goal. The game attempts humor based on the knowledge of other games. This happens so much it starts to make you think you should be playing a real game. It's fun, but not engrossing enough. I regret buying it. Expand
  37. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    A hardcore RPG, and great fun. The writting of the game is hilarious, and if you can be unlike the modern day gamer and not just sit down to win(which the game wasnt really meant to be won) but to just take your time and play, you will get hours of enjoyment out of this game. I understand with what modern gaming has done, that most people will never enjoy this game, because it wasnt meantA hardcore RPG, and great fun. The writting of the game is hilarious, and if you can be unlike the modern day gamer and not just sit down to win(which the game wasnt really meant to be won) but to just take your time and play, you will get hours of enjoyment out of this game. I understand with what modern gaming has done, that most people will never enjoy this game, because it wasnt meant for you to save every 5 seconds and have no penalty for death, it was meant to be hardcore and take you weeks on end to actually get good enough to beat it. Play the game as it was meant to be played, with permadeath, and dont expect to win every time you start, and you will then be able to love this game for every bit of what it is. Expand
  38. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Fantastic Rouge-like. Good for anyone who likes fun! I've sunk more hours than I care to count into this game, and I haven't even beaten yet. For $5, its a steal!
  39. Dec 13, 2011
    9
    Thank you Gaslamp Games for this creation. A rogue-like game that gives you the option of restarting on death- just to see how far you can get, or saving as you go- to beat the game; both of which have their own challenges.This game is both addicting and fulfilling. So many ways to play that you will get your money's worth($5) playing just the first hour alone in this 'cheesy-humor' game.Thank you Gaslamp Games for this creation. A rogue-like game that gives you the option of restarting on death- just to see how far you can get, or saving as you go- to beat the game; both of which have their own challenges.This game is both addicting and fulfilling. So many ways to play that you will get your money's worth($5) playing just the first hour alone in this 'cheesy-humor' game. The only downside in this game is that the bugs are not yet at a minimal, and when you find one it can sometimes ruin an entire saved game of many many hours. Looking forward to more games from Gaslamp. Expand
  40. Jan 15, 2012
    9
    This game is the biggest paradox of modern gaming: no plot, no stunning graphics, no multiplayer, a monstrous amount of hours players have passed dungeoneering hoping not to die drinking acid from a fountain. Gaslamp games have developed a little masterpiece of humour and design, a game with nothing but the essential and, at the same time, a huge quantity of things to do and see. MixingThis game is the biggest paradox of modern gaming: no plot, no stunning graphics, no multiplayer, a monstrous amount of hours players have passed dungeoneering hoping not to die drinking acid from a fountain. Gaslamp games have developed a little masterpiece of humour and design, a game with nothing but the essential and, at the same time, a huge quantity of things to do and see. Mixing all together with a very balanced difficulty experience, Dungeons of Dredmor results in the sandbox role-playing equivalent of Minecraft: how can you not love it? Expand
  41. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    I made an account just to review this game and give my score and i truly stand by it. This game to me personally is a 10/10. If you have the slightest interest in rogue-like games or games with permadeath you should definitely buy this game. It's not expensive either 4.99 for this game that i have put a lot of hours into
  42. Nov 2, 2011
    7
    Sorry, meant to write a review for another game. Never played this one but I want to clear the old review, so I'll just give it a 7 and hope people don't get too mad. :)
  43. Jan 23, 2012
    4
    This game seems an enjoyable enough distraction until the constant crashes and endless stupid bugs just make it a complete waste of time. The worst thing about it is the deeper you get in the dungeon the more likely a crash seems to be. The fact that the game has permadeath option on as default when most of the time your biggest enemy is game failure is a joke.
  44. Feb 27, 2012
    8
    This game is incredibly addictive, has an insane amount of content, and one of the best valued dlc's in the history of best valued dlc's. There are some problems with steam achievements unlocking (of which there is hundreds) and the game can get repetitive when played for hundreds of hours. Still, if you liked randomly generated game worlds with randomly generated loot - this could end upThis game is incredibly addictive, has an insane amount of content, and one of the best valued dlc's in the history of best valued dlc's. There are some problems with steam achievements unlocking (of which there is hundreds) and the game can get repetitive when played for hundreds of hours. Still, if you liked randomly generated game worlds with randomly generated loot - this could end up being something you adore just as much as me. The snes graphics might put off some - give it time. It really does grow on you. Expand
  45. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    As a fan of many roguelikes, I have to say that this game isn't terribly good. It's your standard roguelike with less complex mechanics in favour of eyecandy. On top of that you have to pay for it, when you'll get a much more rich experience from the countless FREE roguelikes that are infinitely deeper. Its basically ToME with "humour" which wasn't terribly amusing.
  46. Nov 28, 2011
    6
    Roguelike rpg ? Can this be enjoyable in 21st century ? It can and surely is. Example - Dungeons of Dredmor! Apart of real graphics instead of ASCII, this game is typical rouglike rpg with random generated levels. There's plenty of good humour too. Unfortunatly, graphics could be a little bit better. I know, it's indie production but... Well, we should be grateful there's graphics atRoguelike rpg ? Can this be enjoyable in 21st century ? It can and surely is. Example - Dungeons of Dredmor! Apart of real graphics instead of ASCII, this game is typical rouglike rpg with random generated levels. There's plenty of good humour too. Unfortunatly, graphics could be a little bit better. I know, it's indie production but... Well, we should be grateful there's graphics at all, developers seem to say. Game lacks story, but that's not a flaw - you dont need a story in a game like this. It's just about fun, exploring, leveling up and killing your enemies. Of course, there is the last, final boss in the last 10th level of dungeon (Mr.Dredmor, indeed)... and a couple of minor bad guys on the way. You would not be bored;) Another interesting thing - Dungeons of Dredmor features permadeath - long forgotten, now revoked! Of course you can choose to switch it off, if you value your sanity. Try losing your character after couple hours of gameplay... ;) But if you want to play as if it's still 1995, go ahead!:) Some gamers reported bugs and crashes with DoD. I guess it's all patched, because im playing without any problems. In conclusion - nice little game, but marked for a small group of players. If you like classical rpg's, dungeoneering style games, you'll like Dungeons of Dredmor. For rest of you guys, this game gets boring and repetitive after half an hour. Expand
  47. Oct 7, 2011
    6
    I enjoyed this game. It's a solid attempt at a modern roguelike. It's very replayable, and discovering new ways to use the many, many skills and items is rewarding. Turnbased may seem like the obvious choice for a roguelike crawler, but I much preferred how Binding of Isaac handled combat - having it real-time. Due almost solely to their decision to keep it turn-based, combat is tedious.I enjoyed this game. It's a solid attempt at a modern roguelike. It's very replayable, and discovering new ways to use the many, many skills and items is rewarding. Turnbased may seem like the obvious choice for a roguelike crawler, but I much preferred how Binding of Isaac handled combat - having it real-time. Due almost solely to their decision to keep it turn-based, combat is tedious. Nethack was saved from being tedious due to the unique level of detail in the game. There were hundreds of types of monsters, hundreds of different items, a fascinating "BUC" system, deities, factions, and on and on. Dungeons of Dredmor does not match this level of detail, as others have noted -- we're talking about a much more shallow game, with maybe 20 different NPC types, ~100 items, poor inventory management, a fairly clunky GUI, and adequate graphics. Don't forget -- while DoD has a low price tag, Nethack is free and easy to modify. OTOH, the crafting system is an addition.... but the items aren't particularly interesting, and the poor inventory management ends up leaving you unable to craft what you want as there isn't enough inventory space, and this ends up turning DoD into a bit of a "inventory management game." While I recommend trying out DoD, I don't believe their attempt at "bringing roguelikes to the masses" was much more than stripping out most the work that went into Nethack and putting a mediocre graphical overlay atop it. Nethack was also able to get away with lack of balance (that is, one game could be dramatically easier or harder than the last based on one randomly-generated item you happened to find) because everything had strengths and weaknesses. In DoD, there isn't much room for strategy -- you hit the target, the target hits you - back-and-forth until someone dies. It's kind of like cover-based FPS games, but without any of the intensity. With all this criticism, there are some glimmers of great design within, and I hope we'll see continued development from Gaslamp Games. Expand
  48. Apr 5, 2013
    9
    Now with the expansion packs added on, this game has gone from great, to absolutely legendary. It's staggering and exciting when you start to think about the endless skill combinations available here. There's just so much variety within the maps, items, and skills, that it's never the same game twice, and with it's perma-death (if you're playing it right ;p) it always keeps you on yourNow with the expansion packs added on, this game has gone from great, to absolutely legendary. It's staggering and exciting when you start to think about the endless skill combinations available here. There's just so much variety within the maps, items, and skills, that it's never the same game twice, and with it's perma-death (if you're playing it right ;p) it always keeps you on your toes even when you are nearly sure you've reached that godly state, you open the door and a named monster has you running for your life. Exceptionally balanced, easy to get into, hard to let go of, entertaining humor and style. For 5 bucks, you'd be hard pressed to find a better use of your money. It's really quite a feat, and if you've been holding off, (and you're into these sort of games) then you're really missing out. Expand
  49. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    Gaslamp Games' debut is a stellar achievement from the indie developer. Dungeons of Dredmor is a modern tribute to the once hugely popular roguelike genre. There's great variation between the enemies, weapons and armour, and the huge amount of skills on offer will keep you experimenting with different strategies for hours. The humour is self-parodic, and often hilarious. At $5, and with aGaslamp Games' debut is a stellar achievement from the indie developer. Dungeons of Dredmor is a modern tribute to the once hugely popular roguelike genre. There's great variation between the enemies, weapons and armour, and the huge amount of skills on offer will keep you experimenting with different strategies for hours. The humour is self-parodic, and often hilarious. At $5, and with a ton of replay value, Dungeons of Dredmor is an inexpensive and excellent entry-point for gamers wishing to get into dungeon crawlers. Expand
  50. Jan 13, 2012
    7
    The beauty of the game is not in its balance of the RPG element, but in its funny description of all the things in it. For example - you will not find out what certain character traits do by simply reading them! :) The gameplay, however, is rather monotone - it gets boring pretty fast, simply because there is no STORY in the game! And what is an RPG without a story and strong NPC's?!
  51. Feb 24, 2012
    7
    Dungeons of Dredmor is a modern, turn-based, roguelike RPG, comparable to The Binding of Isaac. In it, you will enter randomly generated dungeons with various levels to explore, and a large amount of loot to collect and experiment with. The artwork is charming and adequate, albeit not too creative. There is even a crafting system, for those interested in hoarding items for the hope ofDungeons of Dredmor is a modern, turn-based, roguelike RPG, comparable to The Binding of Isaac. In it, you will enter randomly generated dungeons with various levels to explore, and a large amount of loot to collect and experiment with. The artwork is charming and adequate, albeit not too creative. There is even a crafting system, for those interested in hoarding items for the hope of usage as you progress. There is a tutorial with several chapters, but even then it fails to explain and introduce a few aspects of the game to the player, which leads to a slow-paced approach to learning how to play. Dungeons of Dredmor is more focused on exploration, rather than action. There are many items to find and experiment with, as well as the innumerable crafting combinations. It is also more difficult and less forgiving than The Binding of Isaac. Death comes from various means, and there will be many times where you will be overwhelmed by the enemies. There are also many skills to choose from when creating a new character, which makes each attempt at the game different each time. Personally, I have no interest in crafting. To be able to craft valuable items, you must hold on to many different items needed for a very long time, in hope that you eventually will be able to craft something worthwhile. This means that your inventory will be populated by mostly garbage. Besides, if you proceed through the levels deep enough, you will encounter good, quality items to equip your character with. This to me, makes crafting practically abandoned. As you go deeper in the dungeon, the appearance of the levels change, and become more interesting. There will also be more unique and challenging enemies to fight against. As with everything else in the game, the shopkeeper is populated in the levels at random. This means that sometimes you will need to go up or down a few levels to sell your loot. Dying and losing everything is part of the genre, but that doesn't stop it from being slightly frustrating. The game also tends to crash sometimes, which means you will lose all your progress and be forced to start over. The developers even added a Steam Achievement for this. Dungeons of Dredmor is a difficult game. More difficult than The Binding of Isaac. You will die much more often and much easier than you ever did in The Binding of Isaac, while accomplishing much less. Even though the game is filled with what is supposed to be clever humor, I personally did not find any of it funny, but it does not ever get in the way of the game's enjoyment. Unfortunately, any items that you equip during the game do not change the appearance of the character in any way. I feel that this particular shortcoming detracts from the indulgence of the game, as there are many items that would make the game much more interesting if they actually changed the character's looks. The constant dying and lack of real progression through the dungeon in this roguelike leaves much to be desired overall. It simply isn't as exciting or as rewarding as The Binding of Isaac. With that said, Dungeons of Dredmor is still a title that should be kept installed for future casual ventures as a more classical style of roguelike game. In moderation, and with much patience there is plenty of fun to be had with this game. Expand
  52. Nov 7, 2011
    5
    I get it... I do.. Nice idea to make a Hack n Slash roleplayer that self generates levels and at first you think, "wow, this'll last me for ever" until you realize that without a narrative there's not a lot to it and you don't (or at least i didn't) get the feeling of progression you get from a lot of RPGs. Shame. I really wanted to think this was great.
  53. Oct 25, 2013
    4
    The sad part is that this game is actually kinda fun. However it is extremely unstable. 75% of the time when i start the game up Steam tells me that my files failed to sync the last time i shut the game down. The game will often crash and on rare occasion your steam achievement progress will be completely reset. Also, the developers added an achievement to the game where you have to buyThe sad part is that this game is actually kinda fun. However it is extremely unstable. 75% of the time when i start the game up Steam tells me that my files failed to sync the last time i shut the game down. The game will often crash and on rare occasion your steam achievement progress will be completely reset. Also, the developers added an achievement to the game where you have to buy them a beer in real life and then they will manually add the unlock the achievement on your account. Seriously? I mean, I've never seen such a stupid move made by a developer in making an achievement for a game. Something that is supposed to be obtainable in-game and be FUN. It's a good game, but terrible stability and a piece-of-crap developer makes it not worth your time. Expand
  54. Dec 17, 2011
    7
    Where to start? Here. The humour is funny and keeps you amused, in fact, the whole thing to me seems like the devs took a load of jokes then stuck them in a engine. This is what came out. Colourful, the skills trees are awesome, the interface is easy to use, but its just to reptitive. Crawl all the way through dungeon no.1. Go down to next floor. Proceed. Go to next floor. Oh look you diedWhere to start? Here. The humour is funny and keeps you amused, in fact, the whole thing to me seems like the devs took a load of jokes then stuck them in a engine. This is what came out. Colourful, the skills trees are awesome, the interface is easy to use, but its just to reptitive. Crawl all the way through dungeon no.1. Go down to next floor. Proceed. Go to next floor. Oh look you died from a monster zoo, well done silly billy. The games tutorials (and trust me there are alot of those) dont explain much and are very hard to remember. They basically say: Kill the diggle using new type of weapon, well done you are a dungeon master. The difficulty is unmatched and i wouldnt buy it unless you love beating your brains out for being stupid or throwing your laptop out of the window. Think of bop-it on a computer screen. Expand
  55. Mar 11, 2012
    5
    If you like roguelikes, you will think this game is great. I liked it but after playing BOI, I can't play any other rogue like games even though BOI isn't really a roguelike. I just don't like it.
  56. Jan 8, 2012
    6
    While attempting to present the core of a roguelike, but simplified, it's actually more difficult to get into due to a complete lack of documentation, confusing crafting, non-obvious skills, and other problems.

    Needing to reference an internet wiki (frequently!) to figure out what ingame items are is a sign of shoddy workmanship.
  57. Jul 25, 2012
    8
    A surprisingly fun game, despite the old school graphics and lack of story, Dungeons of Dredmor is definitely worth the current price tag of $7.49 for the full game and both expansions. Even better, wait for a 60-75% off sale, and you'll pay less than $3 for all of it like I did. The game randomly generates dungeons, monsters, loot, shops, and side quests, and has a sense of humor thatA surprisingly fun game, despite the old school graphics and lack of story, Dungeons of Dredmor is definitely worth the current price tag of $7.49 for the full game and both expansions. Even better, wait for a 60-75% off sale, and you'll pay less than $3 for all of it like I did. The game randomly generates dungeons, monsters, loot, shops, and side quests, and has a sense of humor that will appeal to some, but not all. For example, there's an item that pays homage to Monkey Island, a fair amount of lutefisk jokes, and monster taunts can get a bit ridiculous at times. The game has three difficulty modes, and you can decide whether or not to play with permadeath on or off. Personally, while learning the game, I played with permadeath off, but am finding value in replaying on the hardest level with permadeath on. Lots of deaths, but lots of fun. Usually when I die, I just laugh and make a new character -- sometimes with the same skills, sometimes I let the game randomly assign skills for me. Dungeons of Dredmor also has lots of mod capabilities, so if you like to mod, you'll have even more to do. Overall, if you like RPGs with random elements, need a break from deep immersive games that require huge commitment times, and don't mind a bit of silly humor, this game is probably for you! Expand
  58. Jul 22, 2013
    8
    Its a rogue-like (Binding of Isaac/Faster Than Light genre), meaning its less about trying to beat the game and more about trying to see how far you can get before you die (farther you get higher your score).

    And you will die. For instance, the game comes with a tutorial designed for people who have never played a video game before in their life. I died in there twice. The game
    Its a rogue-like (Binding of Isaac/Faster Than Light genre), meaning its less about trying to beat the game and more about trying to see how far you can get before you die (farther you get higher your score).

    And you will die. For instance, the game comes with a tutorial designed for people who have never played a video game before in their life. I died in there twice. The game congratulated me for dying then gave me a Steam Achievement for it meaning the devs not only know you can die in there... they wear it as a badge of honor. *Note: You can turn off perma-death if you wish.

    - Combat:
    Dungeons of Dredmor is the standard hack-n-slash loot fest (Diablo/Torchlight genre) except it uses a turn-based system. This means winning is not about quick reflexes/clicking, but rather how you choose to utilize the skills at your disposal. It works well and the turns are pretty much instantaneous so fights/exploring plays out as fast as you want it to.

    - Loot:
    Loot is plentiful. So plentiful in fact you will quickly learn to stop picking up things that do not suit your character's build. The game has a crafting system for food, potions, armor, weapons, traps, etc. giving you even more ways to obtain items. And a few shops located around should you choose to buy items.

    - Character Customization:
    At the beginning of the game you have 50+ different base skills at your disposal of which you get to choose 7 to take along with you on your adventure. As your character levels up related skills get unlocked giving a high level character 40-50+ skills. The skills are quite varied and allow you to create all kinds of weird character combinations. Mage skills, range combat, warrior, thief, assassin, trap specialist, alchemist, smithing, banker, etc. Its all here. If you want somekind of weird warrior vampire mushroom loving tourist you can make one.

    The stats for each character are also pretty deep. 7+ different types of damage resistances/types to go with 23 different stat categories (dodge, critical chance, trap skills, magic, health regen, smithing, etc). This is definitely an old school RPG at heart.

    - Replayability:
    As mentioned the character customization is pretty deep so starting over can feel like a completely different experience. The monsters, loot, store inventory, crafting recipes you find, and other in-game items are all randomized for each play through. Its even moddable so new loot, recipes, character skills, and features (loot deconstruction to extract raw materials) can be added.

    - Some Minor Cons:
    a) Some things are quite vague. Whats this potion do? What does this skill do? Why not just tell me in the tool-tip?

    b) You don't get to visually see your character progress from peasant to mighty warrior. Equip a traffic cone on your ragdoll it won't show up on your actual character. Bummer.

    c) Screen seems to be always locked on your character. Cannot use the mini-map to view parts of the dungeon that you have already explored.

    d) Tried and true user friendly RPG elements are missing. A way to compare the stats of loot you find with the current loot you are wearing would have been great.

    e) I thought the music sucked. Mute it and use your own collection or play in silence.

    - Final Thoughts
    The screenshots/video might not blow you away, but I thought the actual gameplay was pretty good and at $1.25 for the base game or $2.50 for the game+all DLCs I feel its a no-brainer purchase. Works great on Linux as well.
    Expand
  59. Nov 21, 2014
    0
    Are you f****** kidding me? I bought this game in a package deal, not knowing what I was getting into. I haven't played a garbage game like this since the 80's. In this day and age, I can't accept anything with graphics and gameplay inferior to the SNES, much less inferior to the NES. Disclaimer: I called it quits in less than 10 minutes.
  60. Mar 3, 2013
    7
    A true "Rogue-like" with improve graphics, controls, and interface functionality for a modern audience. Character customization is fantastic with many diverse skills, unique build options, and damage types to choose from. On "Normal" difficulty you can pretty much play however you want provided you are careful with your positioning and kiting. Although more forgiving than many permadeathA true "Rogue-like" with improve graphics, controls, and interface functionality for a modern audience. Character customization is fantastic with many diverse skills, unique build options, and damage types to choose from. On "Normal" difficulty you can pretty much play however you want provided you are careful with your positioning and kiting. Although more forgiving than many permadeath games, it is easy to get cornered and beaten to death; My biggest complaint about this game is how some enemies have very unpredictable movement sets. Many enemies will also have very high resistances to specific damage types, leaving you unable to kill them. With the right skills, you can teleport and parry your way down 10 gigantic floors that are packed with plenty of loot, puzzles, secret passages, and a wide variety of traps. Expand
  61. May 3, 2013
    9
    Steam平台难得的Roguelike RPG。剧情精简为闯地牢杀魔王,但所有其它经典元素都悉数保留下来,回合制的战斗,丰富的角色属性,随机的地牢、怪物和装备,开门惊喜,以及独创的自定义职业组合系统,使你的每一次冒险都充满未知和挑战。包括对Steam Workshop的支持都使这款游戏始终保持着独特的魅力。
  62. May 13, 2013
    9
    The game is actually pretty awesome. Lots of different builds you can try, simples yet effective crafting system, fun to explore, and it is very difficult. I love the fact that you can't just run around killing stuff and stepping on traps, even in the lower difficulties.
    The only bad side is the lack of information about the skills in the character creation phase. You have to either take
    The game is actually pretty awesome. Lots of different builds you can try, simples yet effective crafting system, fun to explore, and it is very difficult. I love the fact that you can't just run around killing stuff and stepping on traps, even in the lower difficulties.
    The only bad side is the lack of information about the skills in the character creation phase. You have to either take a look at it after you create your character or look it up online.
    Also, you're paying about 5 usd total(game dlcs) for an "infinite" gameplay. This game definitely worth a shot.
    Expand
  63. Mar 15, 2013
    8
    Here's what I like about this game-
    -It's Canadian
    -It's silly and funny.
    -It's a RPG.
    -It's a good RPG.

    What I don't like-
    -Glitches (But on steam, you get a achievement for it!)
    -Music gets repetitive.

    If you like the RPG games, try this one out. If you can tolerate some glitches (There's less glitches here than in the War Z, thank the lord Dredmor), then this is worth your time.
  64. Aug 14, 2013
    9
    This game's humor is really awesome. It is entertaining and the longer you play you really get into it. The graphics are not so good, but they fit to its humor. The gameplay is awesome and I recommend you to play it at least once.
  65. AWG
    Jul 17, 2013
    5
    I have really nothing original to say about this unoriginal game, so just read MrKeats' review twice and you'll know what I think about Dungeons of Dredmor.
  66. Jul 15, 2013
    7
    This game is better than what I expected. You chose the skills of your character (and there are a lot). The rpg style of this game is somewhat complete. However, I would like to see this game in multiplayer in the futur. The game could be a little bit repetitive and the music is not exceptional.
  67. Aug 7, 2013
    9
    A very fun little rouge-like game where you have a lot of synergy with many off the abilities, some of which are just made for humor like vampire and the ability to sparkle or communism and a ability to drop a bomb. It's one hell of a time waster, but at the same time you can actually cut down the size of the dungeon with NO reprecussions. None. No achievements are affected either. Really,A very fun little rouge-like game where you have a lot of synergy with many off the abilities, some of which are just made for humor like vampire and the ability to sparkle or communism and a ability to drop a bomb. It's one hell of a time waster, but at the same time you can actually cut down the size of the dungeon with NO reprecussions. None. No achievements are affected either. Really, it's a lot of fun, especially as you can wear some light armour with magic which paths the way to making something like a Magus from Pathfinder's Ultimate Magic or Arcane duelist from D&D 3.5 or, again, Pathfinder. Expand
  68. Feb 19, 2014
    9
    amazing game, the little jokes and references make the game more fun to play and the game has a good, fair difficulty level and the skill system is really cool too.
  69. Jun 26, 2014
    5
    Dungeons of Dredmor is a quirky game. The designers' sense of humor is readily apparent and that's probably its best feature. There are a lot of options for class/skill differentiation, but they don't seem to make a ton of difference.

    DoD gets old really fast. The dungeons get repetitive and there's not real sense of purpose to playing after a couple hours.
  70. Jun 27, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is opposite from most games I played in a very nice way.
    To begin with, every time I die, and that happened frequently, I’m happy that I can start a new game.
    Because the game is fair and always when I have to start over, what is certainly a pleasure, I know it’s my own fault.

    The music in this game is exactly what I want to hear in a game like this. It’s a way too much orchestra song kind of music what really give the feeling of a middle age castle period.
    Call to arms and conquer!! Tadadum tadum tadum…Very good choice!

    The interface and menu is very detailed and clean. Compared to the graphics of the dungeon itself it’s modern style.
    The dungeon is old style, but with enough diversity and eye candy to not feel boring or repetitive. Even that the dungeons are randomly generated every game plays like his own story. Every random set up is like handcrafted by an experienced level designer. The placement of monsters and goodies is a surprise every time, but always very well balanced. Behind every door you open on a gigantic random map is a whole new game generated before your eyes. Within every room dozens of monsters to fight and dozens of pick-ups to find.

    Every character you build, chosen from tons of skills yourself or totally randomly, is unique. But really unique. Not unique because the skill you are good in blocks your access to all other skills, but because the skill you develop really makes sence. Every skill point you spend for a skill is game play changing in real time.

    Another very good balanced, well designed aspect of this game is that for the first time (I played hundreds of RPG’s and TBS games) you can use all your skills on many, many places of every map.
    The fighting is fun, fast and rewarding and it’s even turn based, so you really have time to make every turn and every action you make count. Also it’s very easy to understand and again perfectly fair for the AI and for the player. Fast because every action is just one point, so your turn or the computer’s turn doesn’t take more than a second to make. What is also groundbreaking is that the turn based gameplay in battles and the exploring part of the map is seamlessly. So you don’t have to push the end turn button a thousand times if you are not in a fight but exploring the map.

    It was running flawlessly the first few hours after installment and without any glitches, lags or crashes on a three years old laptop with a build in video adapter.

    The only bad thing was that one time I had to kill my own summoned monster, a golem, myself because he was blocking my only way out. This was done in a second, but it was just horrible to kill my own loving pet with my axe.

    This game is also original in many ways. The art, the item and spell description and the subtle, delicate jokes all around the game. Sometimes just written on walls or as little text balloons above NPC’s or monsters. But again it is done so balanced and it fit so naturally in the rest of the game.

    The last time I walked from my PC to take a piece of paper to write a secret code on it to gain access to a secret portal was 15 years ago. Cést magnifique!
    This game is just brilliant in many ways and I can only thank the developers to let me play this game for a few bucks.
    It’s really worth more!
    Expand
  71. Jul 18, 2011
    0
    A roguelike game with modern elements such as skills, magic and a crafting system. I don't hand out '10's' easily but the only flaw I can think of that this game may have, is that it is too addictive. If you have played Rogue and long for a better interface, enhanced graphics and some more depth to the gameplay, this is for you. If you are unfamiliar with Rogue but enjoy dungeon-crawling,A roguelike game with modern elements such as skills, magic and a crafting system. I don't hand out '10's' easily but the only flaw I can think of that this game may have, is that it is too addictive. If you have played Rogue and long for a better interface, enhanced graphics and some more depth to the gameplay, this is for you. If you are unfamiliar with Rogue but enjoy dungeon-crawling, 80's and 90's RPG's and a hearty sense of humour, you should try Dungeons of Dredmor out. Collapse
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. May 9, 2012
    70
    If you can accept some mechanical quirks in exchange for a torrent of indie exuberance, check it out.
  2. Jan 15, 2012
    50
    Dungeons of Dredmor is like a year-round tyre: it will do its job but no one is going to be enthusiastic about it. Masochists will find this game too soft, while common gamers will find no amusement at all.
  3. Jan 3, 2012
    72
    Dungeons of Dredmor isn't without problems, but the good humour and addictive gameplay make it an amiable purchase. It might not be to everyone's tastes, and the random generation can be frustrating, but for only a few dollars it's pretty easy to recommend.