Dust: An Elysian Tail Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 460 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Immerse yourself in a gorgeous hand-painted world on a search for your true identity. As the mysterious warrior, Dust, your action-packed journey will take you from peaceful glades to snowy mountaintops and beyond. At your disposal is the mythical Blade of Ahrah, capable of turning itsImmerse yourself in a gorgeous hand-painted world on a search for your true identity. As the mysterious warrior, Dust, your action-packed journey will take you from peaceful glades to snowy mountaintops and beyond. At your disposal is the mythical Blade of Ahrah, capable of turning its wielder into an unstoppable force of nature, and the blade's diminutive guardian, Fidget. Battle dozens of enemies at once with an easy-to-learn, difficult-to-master combat system, take on a variety of quests from friendly villagers, discover ancient secrets and powerful upgrades hidden throughout the massive, open world, and uncover the story of an ancient civilization on the brink of extinction as you fight to uncover your own past. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Sep 19, 2013
    100
    Dust is energetic like a tornado. It has its artistic touch to it. This gem is like the best of the video games history, to shine upon the present days. [Issue#232]
  2. Jun 2, 2013
    90
    There's great gameplay, graphics, music, and heart here, and I have no reservations whatsoever in wholeheartedly recommending it to anyone that enjoys these kinds of games.
  3. May 28, 2013
    86
    An absolutely must-have for any PC user. This adventure is an eye-popping effort, with tons of frenetic battles, exploration and fun.
  4. May 27, 2013
    80
    The PC version is also an excellent port, offering a steady framerate, crisp visuals and well-established controls. If you missed out on this grand adventure when it was on the Xbox 360, here’s the perfect opportunity to fix that.
  5. Jun 4, 2013
    79
    It’s a bit rough around the edges but the smooth action, beautiful visual design and engrossing story made Dust a trip to Elysium for me.
  6. Jun 6, 2013
    79
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Jul 8, 2013
    79
    Highly entertaining, substantial and a visual treat but with a slight whiff of Gorgonzola in the story department.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 108
  2. Negative: 8 out of 108
  1. May 25, 2013
    10
    This game is everything you could want in an action rpg. Dust has an amazing art style with fluid, engaging combat. The music is fantastic andThis game is everything you could want in an action rpg. Dust has an amazing art style with fluid, engaging combat. The music is fantastic and the voice acting is some of the best I've ever heard.

    The story line is really fresh and makes you feel very sympathetic to it's characters. Not often am I impressed by a game this much. I would highly recommend this game. A game this polished, creative and entertaining to not be played would be a crime.
    Expand
  2. Mar 2, 2015
    10
    Dust an Elysian Tail may be rough here and there, and I admit I hated certain sgements, but looking back at the whole adventure, this isDust an Elysian Tail may be rough here and there, and I admit I hated certain sgements, but looking back at the whole adventure, this is easily one of the best games out there, and a shining example of how a PC game truly should be. Expand
  3. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    Even though the antagonist's voice sounds a bit premature occasionally it's still a stellar title that is certainly worth your money andEven though the antagonist's voice sounds a bit premature occasionally it's still a stellar title that is certainly worth your money and requires more fans! Expand
  4. May 28, 2013
    10
    Honestly, this game is beautiful, the gameplay is extremely fluid combat is very fun and the metroidvania style is really well represented inHonestly, this game is beautiful, the gameplay is extremely fluid combat is very fun and the metroidvania style is really well represented in the level design. The Sidekicks are pretty funny, the Nimbat is hilarious and her often silly behavior is a wonderful choice in contrast to Dust's cool demeanor.

    This game's story is really surprising, you can run through it, jaded, and ignore it if you want, the gameplay is fun enough and the personal evolution of your character and his choices by themselves are worth the price of admission, but if you start paying attention you'll uncover a rich plot covering issues like Racism, the Moral Struggle of Absolute Justice vs Acceptance, and little a brother not accepting the guy his older sister likes.

    The story, 30% in, is enough to start some conversations with a friend or gaming significant other :)

    The game will get a full 10 from me because for what it's worth, I can't find a problem with it worth nitpicking, but broken down this would be my score.

    Gameplay 9
    Menus 9
    Replayability 9
    Graphics 10
    Story 10
    Expand
  5. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    One of the best games I played this year. The adventure is great, nice music and voices, and fast-paced combat. The difficulty graduallyOne of the best games I played this year. The adventure is great, nice music and voices, and fast-paced combat. The difficulty gradually changes, and you get better items to fight the harder monsters, so you dont need to waste hours grinding
    The game is not expensive, and really worth buying
    Expand
  6. Mar 15, 2015
    9
    A thoroughly fun adventure through an anthropomorphic world with seemingly endless combos and enchanted swords. Well worth the money andA thoroughly fun adventure through an anthropomorphic world with seemingly endless combos and enchanted swords. Well worth the money and another notch on the belt of fantastic indie games. A bit of a button masher but if you loved Odin Sphere for PS2 you will absolutely love this game. Expand
  7. Jul 24, 2016
    0
    GREAT GAME is what i would say if i was dummmb i hate dust theAMAZINGN BILKO FOREVERR LOLLO te worst game I hate dust!?!?! meh game is ok.....GREAT GAME is what i would say if i was dummmb i hate dust theAMAZINGN BILKO FOREVERR LOLLO te worst game I hate dust!?!?! meh game is ok..... just KIDDING llolol Expand

See all 108 User Reviews